Words only the Irish use.

Started by SidelineKick, December 05, 2008, 11:52:57 AM

QuoteOne my father used to use a lot was "haveral" (not sure of the actual spelling).

My Da used it too in that context, (Connemara man) and I always understood that it derived from something to do with changelings or fairy-folk.

dodo

Quote from: J70 on January 28, 2009, 12:39:41 AM
One my father used to use a lot was "haveral" (not sure of the actual spelling).

He used it in the same way you'd used "b**tard" or "p***k" and so on.

Never heard it outside Donegal.

This site doesn't look definitive but anyways

QuoteHaveral    -1
(views: 283, posted by: valhairy)   
n.
a very greedy person/someone who overindulges

"My word i made a haveral of myself at dinner last night/ see that haveral with food on his face..."

http://www.slang.ie/index.php?entryid=4335

From time to time my father would say "Well you can scratch my arse with a broken bottle!"  :D
Means something like 'not a hope in hell'.

He also says 'Faith and he would...' or 'tráth and he would...'

maggie

Faffing.
I'd say i spend 70% of my time doing this.  :-\

Santino

Quote from: maggie on January 29, 2009, 05:20:08 PM
Faffing.

I first heard that off a few english guys so think its more a British thing.
But i could be wrong....

Eoghan Mag

Feckless - As in 'he is a feckless eijet.' - an ineffectual person.
Dinked - As in 'he dinked the ball over the bar.' May come either from the sound 'dink' or the Irish word Dingcim meaning to stuff or squeeze something. 

pure

but in in the correct way.

was listening to two girls talking today and everything was pure good, pure great craic, pure this and pure that, they used the word that often it diddnt even sound right.

ardal

Quote from: Santino on January 29, 2009, 06:02:05 PM
Quote from: maggie on January 29, 2009, 05:20:08 PM
Faffing.

I first heard that off a few english guys so think its more a British thing.
But i could be wrong....

I've heard this a ton of times up and around Armagh, "wudya quit faffing (flaffing) abot and getta a move on", couoldn't imagine it being from the english

Surprising numbers of adults that are fond of the bisghetti too.

DoYerJob Linesman

"Gwen"

Not in the ladies name sense.

"Gwen f**k yersel"
17/03/02 - Semple Stadium Thurles - Heaven On Earth

cville

Quote from: Stall the Bailer on December 10, 2008, 02:03:00 PM
Whust – (hold your whust) – keep quiet
Bissim – a brush
Abeen (way abeen) – above/beyond
Loanan – lane
Buck (he's some buck) – person
A loch – a few
Gock (take a gock at that) – look at that
Yoke (that's a quare yoke) – some item/thing

The old Whist comes from the Irish 'Eist' ...listen... and culchie .. man of the woods?

Windy...a transparent rectangular area in the wall of a house for allowing light to come through and people to look out.

E.G. Often heard as the result of a domestic dispute...."He put her windies in".

SidelineKick

Also "wine" for wind.

"Jesus there's a quare wine out there the day"
"If you want to box, say you want to box and we'll box"

laceer

Quote from: hardstation on February 05, 2009, 11:31:57 PM
The closest thread I could find for what I'm about to talk shite about.

People who say 'chimley' instead of 'chimney'. I think it's a Belfast thing though. A boy in work was talking about his chimney, the last few days and constantly referred to it as a 'chimley'. He isn't a spastic or anything but it's one word that he can't say.

Have a listen to this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7G6hi6xoG7w&feature=related

What the deal with that? A bit like 'frunyel'.
An oul fella round our way used to talk about Sky Digikal