Words only the Irish use.

Started by SidelineKick, December 05, 2008, 11:52:57 AM

dodo

Quote from: stephenite on December 10, 2008, 01:43:29 AM
Quote from: ludermor on December 09, 2008, 10:39:33 PM
There are a whole family of c***ts in northwest mayo but its not a curse word. It
Cuntish ( as in 'the weather is cuntish': the weather is not pleasant)
Cunthooks ( 'Come here to me cunthooks' : would you come over here to me you little rascal)
Cunteen (a young pup)
Cunty ( as a greeting 'well cunty')

Sitting up at the bar in a well known pub in Foxford, one 'oul man sits down at one end and asks the other old man at the other end;

Sean, How's things?

Cuntish, Peadar.

Class lads. We had cunthooks Conway in school with us.

I've only ever heard this one in my own part of Mayo, cuck/cook. Meaning as bad as bad can be.
John   'how did John play yesterday ? '
Paddy   'Ara, he was cuck'
Michael   'Ye, cuck alley'

When we were young buckeens we always had jokes about the minks in Ballyhaunis.....ie our friends in the travelling community

Can Any of the Derry lads explain...handlin..or even 'wile handlin"

the green man

Handlin, is something that has went wrong. Which covers a multitude of scenarios. ie:

"I met 5Sams the other night and called him a tosser. Got into a wile handlin for it."

It could also be used when/if you impregnated a girl outside of wedlock, that would be a wile handlin altogether.
It could cover anything that puts you out of your way, like having to drive to Armagh to lift a being, when you should be somewhere else.

Although its real and proper domain is fighting and sex

Quote from: 5 Sams on December 12, 2008, 10:54:34 PM

Handlin is not strictly a Derry word, it is used in Antrim too, in fairness by the more agricultural folk.

FermPundit

Quote from: Minder on December 12, 2008, 11:26:05 PM

Handlin is not strictly a Derry word, it is used in Antrim too, in fairness by the more agricultural folk.

Handlin or wile handlin is said frequently around Fermanagh as well
We'll win Ulster some day, not sure when.

Midman

A wee dander  - a short stroll
Have a duke - look round
Away and clamoul (claw mould - what hens do when digging in the dirt) - F*ck off

Plus about a thousand more that will come to me in time. This is a quare thread!

That's a standard Donegal one too.

"sum han'lin" forever immortalized by The ballynure Grousebeaters in the 1970s McEwans Lager advert.

he's a cyoof - he's a gipe
roddin - an overgrown ancient country track, often found in woods.

SidelineKick

Fella I work with just called somebody a "blether"  :D

Years since I heard that!
"If you want to box, say you want to box and we'll box"

my da used to call us bletherin shites

ca mere ye chicky pup ye
or another favorite term of my Da's "whistle and it'll jump into your hands"

i am sure it is more than just me and maggie

but do you mind..............

instead of

do you remember?

One my father used to use a lot was "haveral" (not sure of the actual spelling).

He used it in the same way you'd used "bastard" or "p***k" and so on.

Never heard it outside Donegal.

C_Berg_316

a fella i worked with in oz from tipp came out with a classic i thought:

'thats the craic she said with one leg up above on the table'   :D  :D

i also like get up them stairs and show me why i married ye

thats the crack she said with one leg up above on the table

Divilment. Shes full of divilment.

I wouldnt imagine thats used elsewhere.