Words only the Irish use.

Started by SidelineKick, December 05, 2008, 11:52:57 AM

Quote from: AZOffaly on July 02, 2014, 09:47:55 AM
Never heard of that.

What about 'tackies' for runners? (The kind you wear). Up in Offaly we'd say runners, I've heard others call them sneakers (probably from Yankee TV) but when I came to Limerick in 1991 I heard the word 'Tackies' for the first time.

They were also called gutties when I was a youngster.

Differences in pronounciation.

Naughton

Knockton and Noughton

Coughlan

Cowlan and Cocklan

Quote from: 5 Sams on July 02, 2014, 10:39:00 AM

Naughton

Knockton and Noughton

Coughlan

Cowlan and Cocklan

5 Sams,
    How is Coulter pronounced down your way?

We pronounce it more like coal-ter whereas when Benny gets a mention on RTE its cool-ter?

Quote from: johnneycool on July 02, 2014, 11:11:46 AM

Naughton

Knockton and Noughton

Coughlan

Cowlan and Cocklan

5 Sams,
    How is Coulter pronounced down your way?

We pronounce it more like coal-ter whereas when Benny gets a mention on RTE its cool-ter?

Same as youse Johnny. Never heard it pronounced any other way until Benny scored that goal in the 99 AI minor final. :D

We'd say Coal-ter as well.

I can't abide the Caw-lan pronounciation of Coughlan. At Munster matches I just couldn't call James Coughlan by the way he pronounces it himself. It was like a speech impediment for me.

Jaysus, you should hear the Massachussetts version of Coughlan - it's almost phonetic Cough (Coff)-Lan.  Still makes me shudder, 25 years after I first heard it. 

I know it Billy. the Coach of the New York Giants is Tom Cofflin (Coughlin)

Naughton

Knockton and Noughton

Coughlan

Cowlan and Cocklan

In south Down, the surname Campbell gets pronounced Camel. This is not good news if you live in the townland of Desert north of Newry...

Soldier at a checkpoint: "What's your name and where are you from?"

Local: "I'm a Camel from the Desert"

Soldier: "Right, out, and lie face down on the ground!"

Quote from: Orior on July 02, 2014, 12:28:20 PM

Naughton

Knockton and Noughton

Coughlan

Cowlan and Cocklan

In south Down, the surname Campbell gets pronounced Camel. This is not good news if you live in the townland of Desert north of Newry...

Soldier at a checkpoint: "What's your name and where are you from?"

Local: "I'm a Camel from the Desert"

Soldier: "Right, out, and lie face down on the ground!"

Reminds me of the joke about the Newry man who went off and joined the Foreign Legion. First day there he was asked by the Sergeant Major if he had ever ridden a camel. His response was "Yep sure have. I rid Mary and Theresa Camel...I think they're sisters." ;D ;D

'Hinches' meaning the sides of yer arse.

As in - 'Would ye look at that lazy fecker standin' there with this hands on his hinches'

Edit - pronounced hin-shez...

Quote from: ONeill on June 30, 2014, 04:38:57 PM
I've been out of Tyrone for a right while now...do they still say 'ken' for 'can' or was that just an East Tyrone wan one?

As in, 'ken ye pass me over that tin of corned beef there?' or 'Meath ken be tara dorty.'
Had a caretaker at primary school from that neck of the woods; would have roared the following at the kids for being noisy at lunch break before letting them out to the playground: 'Yis ken all stayyyyyy iiinnnnn...so yis ken"

Quote from: Franko on July 02, 2014, 03:29:09 PM

As in - 'Would ye look at that lazy fecker standin' there with this hands on his hinches'

I wonder would that be anything to do with 'haunches'. Like, get down on your haunches. (A crouch).

Quote from: AZOffaly on July 02, 2014, 04:22:18 PM
Quote from: Franko on July 02, 2014, 03:29:09 PM

I wonder would that be anything to do with 'haunches'. Like, get down on your haunches. (A crouch).

I'm sure it probably is - incidentally, round these parts a crouch like that would be described as getting down on your 'hunkers'.