Words only the Irish use.

Started by SidelineKick, December 05, 2008, 11:52:57 AM

Is this an Irish thing?

When my mother is calling me she will say my name and then list my 3 brothers names before settling again on my name.

(The names below have been changed to protect the innocent)

"Conor, Patrick, Seamus, Gerard, Conor, will you come in, there is someone on the phone for you!"

was driving the other day in Delaware (of all places) and nearly pissed my pants when I saw this store:

and remembered the immortal words when I'd screwed up in my youth (which was often)

"Take a redner son"

Quote from: Orior on February 15, 2013, 02:01:39 PM
Is this an Irish thing?

When my mother is calling me she will say my name and then list my 3 brothers names before settling again on my name.

(The names below have been changed to protect the innocent)

"Conor, Patrick, Seamus, Gerard, Conor, will you come in, there is someone on the phone for you!"

My ma is desperate for that Orior, the problem is I have two sisters and she manages to call me their names first before settling on mine!

Footer  pronounced Foo ter: To t**ker with.

Carn: ex "thon boy is an awful carn! not a good un.

Also, can anyone tell me why them eejits in Cork say  'so' at the end of their questions/ sentences???

O'Neills Therapist

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: seafoid on February 14, 2013, 09:07:24 AM
Answering a  question with another question or a sentence where an English person would use 'yes ' or 'no'.

Are you going to the match?
Irish A-why would I/ why wouldn't I ?
Irish B- I am/I am not
English default - Yes /no

I think thats hiberno english which comes from the Gaeilge structure
An bhfuil tú ag dul ag an cluiche?
Tá mé (I am)

In Derry City the common thing to say is
Are you going to the game?
Am are

Also iys probably already on here but other common uses of hiberno english are

Yousans (Derry City etc)
Youans(Dungiven)
Yeeans(Further South)

They are all used for you plural because it does not exist in english.

Another one

He bes doing that all the time-bíonn sé i gcónaí ag deánamh sin
Continuous present whci doesnt exist in english

Anoth one which is dying out Derry City now
Throughother-Trí na chéile
My mother was all throughother with stress

Arthur_Friend

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on February 15, 2013, 05:05:14 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 14, 2013, 09:07:24 AM
Answering a  question with another question or a sentence where an English person would use 'yes ' or 'no'.

Are you going to the match?
Irish A-why would I/ why wouldn't I ?
Irish B- I am/I am not
English default - Yes /no

I think thats hiberno english which comes from the Gaeilge structure
An bhfuil tú ag dul ag an cluiche?
Tá mé (I am)

In Derry City the common thing to say is
Are you going to the game?
Am are

Also iys probably already on here but other common uses of hiberno english are

Yousans (Derry City etc)
Youans(Dungiven)
Yeeans(Further South)

They are all used for you plural because it does not exist in english.

Another one

He bes doing that all the time-bíonn sé i gcónaí ag deánamh sin
Continuous present whci doesnt exist in english

Anoth one which is dying out Derry City now
Throughother-Trí na chéile
My mother was all throughother with stress

Very common in the Glens of Antrim. The use of the word that is.....

No Soloing

Throughother is a word I remember hearing often as a kid (S Derry).

My wife (Tyrone) says 'put the heart across you' when she gets a scare or a fright. I always found that a strange one.

Quote from: No Soloing on February 15, 2013, 05:18:35 PM

My wife (Tyrone) says 'put the heart across you' when she gets a scare or a fright. I always found that a strange one.
through other very common in South Down. Also "the shite was sideways in me"= scared

CorkMan

Quote from: stew on February 15, 2013, 04:39:22 PM
Also, can anyone tell me why them eejits in Cork say  'so' at the end of their questions/ sentences???

It's not done in the rest of the country I suppose so?

Quote from: No Soloing on February 15, 2013, 05:18:35 PM

Throughother is a very old word associated with the field system. Before hedges plots of land was divided up into rectangles, and as land got divided and passed down then owners sometimes had to cross others land to get to their own. Hence throughother.

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Dont know if its used outside Ireland- but you commonly hear " i was sitting in the middle of my dinner".

Also in Derry old people will use starving to describe being cold. Is this still used in other parts?

No Soloing

Did the meaning starving not originally relate to cold? And then was later applied to hunger. Thats what I always thought. My dad uses it to described cold. He also uses 'scarred' instead of scared and 'afeared' instead of afraid.

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on February 15, 2013, 06:36:17 PM
Dont know if its used outside Ireland- but you commonly hear " i was sitting in the middle of my dinner".

Also in Derry old people will use starving to describe being cold. Is this still used in other parts?

I often say I'm perished with the cold. My Dublin cousins always get a laugh out of it.

Quote from: stew on February 15, 2013, 04:39:22 PM
Footer  pronounced Foo ter: To t**ker with.

Carn: ex "thon boy is an awful carn! not a good un.

Footer and carn, two great words!

Ye doorty carn, ye! That's a regular around these parts.