Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: trailer on January 15, 2024, 12:55:19 PM

Title: Ulster Workers Strike 2024
Post by: trailer on January 15, 2024, 12:55:19 PM
Not much chat about the strikes coming up on Thursday. Can't really see it having much effect other than to piss off those not striking. I see one of the Trade Unions is going full on militant and looking to block roads etc.
Have huge sympathy for Nurses, Doctors, Council workers, Translink staff and the rest but blocking roads and general civil disobedience might be a bit far.

Save for Teachers, who of course took the pandemic off, will find public sympathy in short supply and they'll need to tread carefully.
Title: Re: Ulster Workers Strike 2024
Post by: RedHand88 on January 15, 2024, 12:58:55 PM
Aye Thursday morning should be good craic getting to work.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 15, 2024, 01:00:34 PM
Quote from: trailer on January 15, 2024, 12:55:19 PMNot much chat about the strikes coming up on Thursday. Can't really see it having much effect other than to piss off those not striking. I see one of the Trade Unions is going full on militant and looking to block roads etc.
Have huge sympathy for Nurses, Doctors, Council workers, Translink staff and the rest but blocking roads and general civil disobedience might be a bit far.

Save for Teachers, who of course took the pandemic off, will find public sympathy in short supply and they'll need to tread carefully.
No point half assing it. An odd day here or there has no impact as well. Full strike to demands are met
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 15, 2024, 01:31:28 PM
Quote from: trailer on January 15, 2024, 12:55:19 PMNot much chat about the strikes coming up on Thursday. Can't really see it having much effect other than to piss off those not striking. I see one of the Trade Unions is going full on militant and looking to block roads etc.

Have some for teachers as I'm married to one. She she been teaching for 25 years or so and back then it felt she was in a well paid job whereas now it's far from it.

The pay for the most junior of doctors is poor but their earning capacity is fairly significant across their career. They really are eroding a a lot of goodwill in England with multi-day strikes and they have been fairly creative in their reporting of their salaries e.g. using nett hourly rates etc.
Post by: tonto1888 on January 15, 2024, 01:37:13 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 15, 2024, 01:31:28 PM

Have some for teachers as I'm married to one. She she been teaching for 25 years or so and back then it felt she was in a well paid job whereas now it's far from it.

The pay for the most junior of doctors is poor but their earning capacity is fairly significant across their career. They really are eroding a a lot of goodwill in England with multi-day strikes and they have been fairly creative in their reporting of their salaries e.g. using nett hourly rates etc.

and how is that being creative
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 15, 2024, 01:45:57 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on January 15, 2024, 01:37:13 PM

They don't get paid hourly.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 15, 2024, 01:48:28 PM
I've the MoT on Thurs, do I even bother washing the car? What's me chances sages of the board
Post by: tonto1888 on January 15, 2024, 01:56:22 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 15, 2024, 01:45:57 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on January 15, 2024, 01:37:13 PM

They don't get paid hourly.

Its hardly being creative stating what their wage works out as on an hourly basis is it?
Post by: Kidder81 on January 15, 2024, 02:02:22 PM
Do junior doctors pay not increase quite rapidly after the first year or two ? Unlike most in the public sector. I have no issue with that btw but some of the demands for 30% pay rises weren't exactly realistic
Post by: Rossfan on January 15, 2024, 03:07:05 PM
Cavan, Donegal and Monaghan going on strike???
Post by: trailer on January 15, 2024, 03:20:56 PM
I see they are now suspending gritting for a full week. And the weather forecast is for snow and ice! It's gonna be madness on the roads.

Post by: Armagh18 on January 15, 2024, 03:34:45 PM
Quote from: trailer on January 15, 2024, 03:20:56 PMI see they are now suspending gritting for a full week. And the weather forecast is for snow and ice! It's gonna be madness on the roads.

A strike that'll actually be felt!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 15, 2024, 03:42:58 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 15, 2024, 03:34:45 PM
Quote from: trailer on January 15, 2024, 03:20:56 PMI see they are now suspending gritting for a full week. And the weather forecast is for snow and ice! It's gonna be madness on the roads.

Aye be felt alright when you drive into a tree... They'll get little sympathy when the first road death due to untreated roads hits the headlines
Post by: RedHand88 on January 15, 2024, 03:43:07 PM

Ah here. That's disgraceful. This will cause deaths and for what? A pound or two extra an hour?
Post by: general_lee on January 15, 2024, 04:14:40 PM
All the main routes are subcontracted out anyway, motorways and dual carriageways.
Post by: bennydorano on January 15, 2024, 04:33:10 PM
There's a lot of pressure being exerted trying to get the Secretary of State to decouple the PS pay awards from the £3.3bn to restore Stormont. If the SOS does that, Thursday is cancelled in an instant, but he thinks increasing political pressure is being applied to the DUP  - it isn't,  they dont care - as we all know the DUP would sit by and watch NI burn to the ground to save the Union. If the SOS has any brains he will let the pay awards proceed without Stormont restoration, but he's a dick, so probably not.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 15, 2024, 04:59:31 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 15, 2024, 03:42:58 PM

Aye be felt alright when you drive into a tree... They'll get little sympathy when the first road death due to untreated roads hits the headlines
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 15, 2024, 03:43:07 PM

Ah here. That's disgraceful. This will cause deaths and for what? A pound or two extra an hour?
Hopefully the anger is directed to the right people, not the ordinary workers. No better way to show they're worth paying properly.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 15, 2024, 05:16:15 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 15, 2024, 04:59:31 PM

Hopefully the anger is directed to the right people, not the ordinary workers. No better way to show they're worth paying properly.

Aye, I'm sure the families of ones killed on ungritted roads will sympathise with the workers

Seriously? You're fucked in the head if you think for a second (hopefully it never happens) that the anger will be directed elsewhere.

They ain't doing it over money btw
Post by: SaffronSports on January 15, 2024, 05:30:45 PM
The reality is the direction of the blame will be guided by the media and they're bought and paid for by the scum who are refusing to give working people respectable pay increases. People have had enough.
Post by: marty34 on January 15, 2024, 06:00:32 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on January 15, 2024, 01:48:28 PMI've the MoT on Thurs, do I even bother washing the car? What's me chances sages of the board

You mightn't even get to it as the gritter lads are going on strike also.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 15, 2024, 06:05:45 PM
Quote from: SaffronSports on January 15, 2024, 05:30:45 PMThe reality is the direction of the blame will be guided by the media and they're bought and paid for by the scum who are refusing to give working people respectable pay increases. People have had enough.
Anyone with a braincell will know to blame the usual suspect i.e. the DUP and Tories.
Post by: Kidder81 on January 15, 2024, 06:11:46 PM
Quote from: marty34 on January 15, 2024, 06:00:32 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on January 15, 2024, 01:48:28 PMI've the MoT on Thurs, do I even bother washing the car? What's me chances sages of the board

MOT inspectors are civil servants so they will be on strike
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 15, 2024, 06:13:05 PM
All these people have free will and can leave for better paid jobs elsewhere if they feel so strongly about it. I wonder what is stopping them?  ::)
Post by: JoG2 on January 15, 2024, 06:20:45 PM
The Tory media are doing a fine job by the looks of it
Post by: marty34 on January 15, 2024, 06:30:16 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on January 15, 2024, 06:11:46 PM
Quote from: marty34 on January 15, 2024, 06:00:32 PM

MOT inspectors are civil servants so they will be on strike

It's so hard to get a MOT appointment.

When you log on almost 3/4 of the centres have no dates available while the other 1/4 is up to May time.

Ironically enough, you can get one for today, 15th Jan. Probably a late cancellation.

Post by: Armagh18 on January 15, 2024, 06:40:57 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 15, 2024, 06:13:05 PMAll these people have free will and can leave for better paid jobs elsewhere if they feel so strongly about it. I wonder what is stopping them?  ::)
Quote from: JoG2 on January 15, 2024, 06:20:45 PMThe Tory media are doing a fine job by the looks of it

Seem to be.

What do we do when they all leave for better jobs? Don't think robots can take over just yet.
Post by: imtommygunn on January 15, 2024, 06:46:22 PM
There's a website that promises to get you an MOT within your date for 12.99. I wonder is that the cause of it.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 15, 2024, 06:56:18 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 15, 2024, 06:40:57 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 15, 2024, 06:13:05 PMAll these people have free will and can leave for better paid jobs elsewhere if they feel so strongly about it. I wonder what is stopping them?  ::)
Quote from: JoG2 on January 15, 2024, 06:20:45 PMThe Tory media are doing a fine job by the looks of it

Seem to be.

What do we do when they all leave for better jobs? Don't think robots can take over just yet.
But we aren't in that position nor will we ever be in that position. There has to be some reason why people who are absolutely in dire straits through terrible pay and conditions (according to reports) don't think "enough of this" and apply for jobs elsewhere.
Post by: Duine Inteacht Eile on January 15, 2024, 07:07:14 PM
What did your wife say when you asked her?
Post by: bennydorano on January 15, 2024, 07:28:17 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 15, 2024, 06:56:18 PM

Seem to be.

But we aren't in that position nor will we ever be in that position. There has to be some reason why people who are absolutely in dire straits through terrible pay and conditions (according to reports) don't think "enough of this" and apply for jobs elsewhere.
Said that to your wife?
Post by: Brendan on January 15, 2024, 07:55:43 PM

Seem to be.

The majority of jobs out there are shit conditions and shit pay so nowhere better to go to surely not hard to realise that
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 15, 2024, 09:10:10 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 15, 2024, 07:28:17 PM

Seem to be.

Said that to your wife?

I say it to my wife all the time!! Mad job altogether!! Not sure of the benefits other that a half decent pension and summers off(which are getting shorter)

I'm off with work to Lisbon next month for a weekend jolly! My wife has to pay for extra photo copying lol!
Post by: trueblue1234 on January 15, 2024, 11:02:24 PM

Seem to be.

To be far the biggest issues is in healthcare. I don't think anyone now taking on nursing is doing so just for the money. It's a vocation, and fair play to anyone taking it on. They deserve an increase. The alternative means better candidates are walking away, leaving either the most dedicated or the candidates that can't get a job elsewhere. I don't think that's what we want for our healthcare.
Post by: seafoid on January 16, 2024, 02:37:24 AM
This is about inflation more than Stormont. The UK is in very bad shape and is facing stagflation.

https://www.ft.com/content/d490ef4e-3187-471e-84ff-9c065871a1a5"Stagflation matters because few economists agree on how to stop it once it has started. It also causes great, potentially long-term pain to businesses and middle class and lower-wage households. "In economic terms, growth is down and inflation is up," says Kristalina Georgieva, IMF managing director. "In human terms, people's incomes are down and hardship is up." Getting another job doesn't work if living standards are falling. Christy Moore wrote a song about stagflation.

You might know it
https://youtu.be/LIh5dUOz824?si=QfAdmSbqzj4YDjIp
Post by: johnnycool on January 16, 2024, 09:56:57 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 15, 2024, 05:16:15 PM

Aye, I'm sure the families of ones killed on ungritted roads will sympathise with the workers

Seriously? You're fucked in the head if you think for a second (hopefully it never happens) that the anger will be directed elsewhere.

I know you live just outside the big smoke but there's loads of ungritted roads in our area, who would we blame if someone was killed on them?
Silly point MR2.

Seem to be.

Isn't that what the nurses and doctors are doing anyway and look at the state of the NHS.

And even better, they hand in their contracts and then go through an agency and get paid even more for doing the same job but get to pick the more convenient shifts.

And that's how your tax is getting spunked against the wall.
Post by: lurganblue on January 16, 2024, 10:02:04 AM
I saw Jeffrey on the news last night chatting about how he understands the frustrations and knows that public sector workers have a mandate to strike, but his mandate is bigger. A complete bawbag.

Post by: imtommygunn on January 16, 2024, 10:04:45 AM
Yeah the issue is not entirely funding. Inefficiency is probably as big an issue mainly through layers of bureaucracy.

There are a number of reasons why people still in the jobs in the NHS - some feel it's a vocation and not everyone can move into private. Nursing wise etc there are significant staff shortages. That also gets me - if they could get loads more nurses for example they would but they won't pay the existing ones more. Also they won't get more until they pay the existing one more. I have doctor friends who refuse to work private - I'm sure they're far from alone too. Brexit has f**ked it too.

I still fail to understand how the UK has so little money given how much tax etc the f**kers are given. It's not like less tax is being paid.
Post by: trueblue1234 on January 16, 2024, 10:08:48 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on January 16, 2024, 09:56:57 AM

I know you live just outside the big smoke but there's loads of ungritted roads in our area, who would we blame if someone was killed on them?
Silly point MR2.

Seem to be.

Isn't that what the nurses and doctors are doing anyway and look at the state of the NHS.

And even better, they hand in their contracts and then go through an agency and get paid even more for doing the same job but get to pick the more convenient shifts.

General surgery was stopped in the SWAH because they couldn't get any surgeons. The problem is that we are already in that position, that people are walking away from the nhs. And there is going to be a boom in private healthcare which gives healthcare employees more options than staying with the nhs.
Post by: lurganblue on January 16, 2024, 10:10:20 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 16, 2024, 10:04:45 AMYeah the issue is not entirely funding. Inefficiency is probably as big an issue mainly through layers of bureaucracy.

There are a number of reasons why people still in the jobs in the NHS - some feel it's a vocation and not everyone can move into private. Nursing wise etc there are significant staff shortages. That also gets me - if they could get loads more nurses for example they would but they won't pay the existing ones more. Also they won't get more until they pay the existing one more. I have doctor friends who refuse to work private - I'm sure they're far from alone too. Brexit has f**ked it too.

I still fail to understand how the UK has so little money given how much tax etc the f**kers are given. It's not like less tax is being paid.

They've loads of money when it suits. 
Post by: imtommygunn on January 16, 2024, 10:17:47 AM
Exactly. Oh we need a war - here's loads of money. Oh we need to fund all of our mates PPE - loads of money.

Any wonder people go out of their way to avoid paying tax when that's what they do with it.
Post by: tonto1888 on January 16, 2024, 10:20:46 AM

go on and give up a pound or two an hour of your wage
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 16, 2024, 10:23:06 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on January 16, 2024, 09:56:57 AM

Silly point MR2.

Seem to be.

Johnny you don't make it worse than it is, b roads will never, unfortunately, be gritted to the extent that the A and motorway roads due to the number of cars that will be on them. You are clever enough to know that.

Not gritting any roads will, in this current weather is lunacy and whatever beef you have for non treated B roads should be taken up with your representatives.

On the roads today and my route does take me up country roads and they were in an awful state, though thankfully there was a gritter going up it and its a B road for most parts. 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 16, 2024, 10:24:38 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on January 16, 2024, 10:20:46 AM

Their strike is not for an extra  pound or two in their wages, its for other things not money related I think I heard them say on the news.
Post by: trailer on January 16, 2024, 10:51:58 AM
Are people really in dire dire straits? Like really? Some people are vulnerable surely but the vast vast majority I would argue are not. Otherwise they would change who they vote for. They would look to change things. From what I can see most people in NI are happy enough with the status quo of SF / DUP. And but extension happy enough with their standard of living.

Ordinary everyday people don't care about Health or Education or NI Water or other government departments or agencies. When SF boycotted Stormont and health waiting lists ballooned, their vote went up. It's the same story with the DUP and Jeffrey can face the unions and say comfortably that he has a mandate. He knows his policy is popular.

Everyday people don't give one f**k. And the Unions would need to consider that.
Post by: tonto1888 on January 16, 2024, 10:52:44 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 16, 2024, 10:24:38 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on January 16, 2024, 10:20:46 AM

Their strike is not for an extra  pound or two in their wages, its for other things not money related I think I heard them say on the news.

Im just replying to that dude who seems to make light of an extra pound or two an hour
Post by: JohnDenver on January 16, 2024, 11:53:27 AM
Quote from: trailer on January 16, 2024, 10:51:58 AMAre people really in dire dire straits? Like really? Some people are vulnerable surely but the vast vast majority I would argue are not. Otherwise they would change who they vote for. They would look to change things. From what I can see most people in NI are happy enough with the status quo of SF / DUP. And but extension happy enough with their standard of living.

Ordinary everyday people don't care about Health or Education or NI Water or other government departments or agencies. When SF boycotted Stormont and health waiting lists ballooned, their vote went up. It's the same story with the DUP and Jeffrey can face the unions and say comfortably that he has a mandate. He knows his policy is popular.

Everyday people don't give one f**k. And the Unions would need to consider that.

I don't know how, but every day you surpass yourself in being a complete tool
Post by: seafoid on January 16, 2024, 12:02:59 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 16, 2024, 10:04:45 AMYeah the issue is not entirely funding. Inefficiency is probably as big an issue mainly through layers of bureaucracy.

The subvention is fixed and UK inflation is the highest in Western Europe.
Electricity prices in the South are 90% higher than in 2020.
Foor prices in the South are increasing at 6% per year. Add whatever on top for the UK .

Most people in the North probably wouldn't be as fluirseach as the gaaboard contingent.
Inflation is loss allocation. A lot of people have no margins.

Fair play to anyone going on strike. At least they have some fight in them. 
Post by: seafoid on January 16, 2024, 12:07:40 PM

@georgeeaton

"We're about to discover what happens when you have the inflation of the 1970s with the gutted trade unions of the 2020s."

@UrbaneSlave

Replying to

@georgeeaton

"Another factor is marginal tax rates on the rich were vastly higher in the 1970, meaning a wage inflation effectively led to higher tax revenues that could counterbalance higher rates of public spending. Today, the tax take is less progressive and falls on middle-income earners"

The UK has a current account deficit. This means that it is spending more than it takes in tax. The rich have all the money. It's a structural problem.
Public sector purchasing power has fallen.

There are no easy solutions.
Post by: imtommygunn on January 16, 2024, 12:34:33 PM
A good start would be to get rid of the tories.
Post by: seafoid on January 16, 2024, 12:45:42 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 16, 2024, 12:34:33 PMA good start would be to get rid of the tories.
And bury them
Post by: seafoid on January 16, 2024, 12:46:37 PM
-On the plus side the worse the UK gets the more attractive the 32 county solution will look
Post by: seafoid on January 16, 2024, 12:52:26 PM
Quote from: trailer on January 16, 2024, 10:51:58 AMAre people really in dire dire straits? Like really? Some people are vulnerable surely but the vast vast majority I would argue are not. Otherwise they would change who they vote for. They would look to change things. From what I can see most people in NI are happy enough with the status quo of SF / DUP. And but extension happy enough with their standard of living.

Inflation means allocating losses to everyone so living standards fall. It means that people have less purchasing power than in 2021.

https://www.ft.com/content/5639bf4a-43dd-4565-a0bd-fd71c732d4d3

Lael Brainard, the Fed's vice-chair said tackling high inflation was the central bank's most "pressing challenge". She noted that "price stability is of greatest importance for lower-income families because they spend more than three-quarters of their paychecks on essentials like groceries, gas or bus fare, and rent — more than double the 31 per cent spent by higher-income households".

It would not be as extreme in the North but the poor still lose out more than anyone else, even all the ones who go on those huge foreign holidays that are mentioned on this forum so often.

Inflation really hurts. Stagflation is even wprse and it is coming to the UK. 
Post by: bennydorano on January 16, 2024, 01:13:55 PM
Your horn for UK bad news never quits. Why the obsession?
Post by: general_lee on January 16, 2024, 01:47:16 PM
Quote from: JohnDenver on January 16, 2024, 11:53:27 AM

X2. Stoops gonna stoop.
Post by: trailer on January 16, 2024, 02:03:53 PM

Such a detailed and coherent response.
Post by: imtommygunn on January 16, 2024, 02:24:53 PM
Trailer ordinary every day people do care. Some might argue people only care when it's too late but the health service is on it's knees and people will care about that. You're talking big problems for anyone with elderly family, you're talking missed cancer diagnoses etc etc. It has a massive impact on peoples lives. Life expectancy is going to start dropping. Education maybe slightly less so but I know enough who complain about it too. Houses get built left, right and centre and no more school places. You will enter a scenario where kids can\t get a school and this is already happening though thankfully not overly much yet.
Post by: trueblue1234 on January 16, 2024, 03:08:13 PM
Quote from: trailer on January 16, 2024, 02:03:53 PM

It's prob a reflection of the lack of ability in the other parties. I'd be under no illusion that any other party would make substantial difference. There's an inherent uselessness in most politicians regardless of party allegiances. I had hoped that given the depths the DUP have dropped to, the UUP could have made an hay. But they seem to be determined to be DUP lite.
Post by: trailer on January 16, 2024, 03:14:27 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on January 16, 2024, 03:08:13 PM

It's prob a reflection of the lack of ability in the other parties. I'd be under no illusion that any other party would make substantial difference. There's an inherent uselessness in most politicians regardless of party allegiances. I had hoped that given the depths the DUP have dropped to, the UUP could have made an hay. But they seem to be determined to be DUP lite.

I don't think if either the SDLP or UUP stood up and promised 10k in everyone's pocket it would make one iota of difference. The constitutional status of NI trumps everything for the vast majority of people. Evident by the DUP and their position on the sea border / WF.
You can say people care but I can see no evidence of it.
Post by: trueblue1234 on January 16, 2024, 03:31:37 PM
Quote from: trailer on January 16, 2024, 03:14:27 PM

I don't think if either the SDLP or UUP stood up and promised 10k in everyone's pocket it would make one iota of difference. The constitutional status of NI trumps everything for the vast majority of people. Evident by the DUP and their position on the sea border / WF.
But there isn't a huge difference in SF/SDLP viewpoint on the constitutional issue anymore. Or DUP and UUP either.
There would certainly be SF voters who would happily vote SDLP if they felt motivated enough and felt they'd gain more from it. Your giving the other parties a by ball there claiming it's not their fault.
Post by: lurganblue on January 16, 2024, 04:09:36 PM
Serious problems in all public sectors.  At least a decade of year on year 1% pay rises.  Even before inflation went mad after Covid, that was awful and represented an effective pay cut.  All around you see private industry workers getting pay rises between 6-12%, each year. Even Universal Credit rose 10.1% in April 2023, with 6.7% more in April coming.

The SOS can sort it, but instead is choosing to use public sector workers as a stick to beat the DUP with.

This will be a large strike day.  But overall, what will the impact be to services?  Probably very little. 
Post by: trailer on January 16, 2024, 04:16:51 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on January 16, 2024, 04:09:36 PMSerious problems in all public sectors.  At least a decade of year on year 1% pay rises.  Even before inflation went mad after Covid, that was awful and represented an effective pay cut.  All around you see private industry workers getting pay rises between 6-12%, each year. Even Universal Credit rose 10.1% in April 2023, with 6.7% more in April coming.

The SOS can sort it, but instead is choosing to use public sector workers as a stick to beat the DUP with.

This will be a large strike day.  But overall, what will the impact be to services?  Probably very little.

Quote from: trueblue1234 on January 16, 2024, 03:31:37 PM

But there isn't a huge difference in SF/SDLP viewpoint on the constitutional issue anymore. Or DUP and UUP either.
There would certainly be SF voters who would happily vote SDLP if they felt motivated enough and felt they'd gain more from it. Your giving the other parties a by ball there claiming it's not their fault.

Perhaps I am.

Quote from: lurganblue on January 16, 2024, 04:09:36 PMSerious problems in all public sectors.  At least a decade of year on year 1% pay rises.  Even before inflation went mad after Covid, that was awful and represented an effective pay cut.  All around you see private industry workers getting pay rises between 6-12%, each year. Even Universal Credit rose 10.1% in April 2023, with 6.7% more in April coming.

Exactly. Ordinary people won't really feel it. I support the workers in their dispute, my wife is a Nurse. But in general the everyday man and woman on the street won't really care deep down.
Post by: Norm-Peterson on January 16, 2024, 04:17:08 PM
Teachers complaining about money, they get paid more than they deserve anyway. I can remember the bludging they did at school, getting the class to fill in a worksheet or "read silently to themselves". I could maybe have sympathy for English teachers or others who have to grade those long miserable essays at home. Teaching seems to be a cop out of a career anyway, people go into it as it is a high status job and isn't entirely difficult as long as you have decent social skills. I bet the mods will give me warnings as usual.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 16, 2024, 04:23:54 PM

Private industry only increase staff pay when they can support it though their own revenue generation. The public sector is important but it is massively bloated and inefficient so any government is going to baulk at throwing money into what is an unsustainable model. It could be made more efficient and therefore sustainable to allow wage growth but some unions block efficiency at every turn as their mandate is to protect workers right at the cost of everything else.
Post by: AustinPowers on January 16, 2024, 04:35:39 PM

Half the Unionist voters  supporting DUP on their Stormont boycott are obviously  comfortably well off so  the  everyday issues arising from it,  doesn't affect them  very much.

The other half (the knuckle draggers)  are too stupid to  direct  their anger towards the DUP. They just blame everyone else  (SF/EU/Irish govt ) as instructed by the DUP

So the DUP will never be held accountable  or  suffer at  the polls.  Every DUP  MLA has  been paid £110k  the last two years.  Had they been paid zero since 2022,  this whole thing  would have been sorted a long time ago
Post by: Deerstalker on January 16, 2024, 04:37:31 PM
MLA pay has been reduced by about 30% for quite a while now, but I'm sure they all find a way of topping it up with expenses
Post by: seafoid on January 16, 2024, 04:55:55 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 16, 2024, 04:23:54 PM

Private industry only increase staff pay when they can support it though their own revenue generation. The public sector is important but it is massively bloated and inefficient so any government is going to baulk at throwing money into what is an unsustainable model. It could be made more efficient and therefore sustainable to allow wage growth but some unions block efficiency at every turn as their mandate is to protect workers right at the cost of everything else.
That is a hangover of the Troubles. Same as the subvention. The North cannot generate enough money itself to keep the show on the road. It is not going to be fixed this side of irish unity.
Post by: johnnycool on January 16, 2024, 05:01:54 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 16, 2024, 04:23:54 PM

It's even more inefficient to be paying agency staff almost twice the hourly rate someone on your payroll gets.

Some load of recruitment agencies getting wile rich off the back of this shítshow in the NHS in particular.

Unions have their issues alright, there's no denying that but the amount of privatised contracts from cleaning, food etc etc in the NHS poorly managed would scare you.

As for schools, the first thing cut is the extra provisions for kids with learning difficulties so count yourselves lucky that evidently most of you complaining aren't in that boat.

Post by: LC on January 16, 2024, 05:03:24 PM
Wonder what the GDP of the north is, I imagine it is pretty sh@t.

Never seems to be too many pharmaceutical and / or tech companies busting to get set up in NI and offering jobs at £40 -£50k+ salaries.
Post by: armaghniac on January 16, 2024, 05:08:58 PM
Quote from: LC on January 16, 2024, 05:03:24 PMWonder what the  GDP of the north is, I imagine it is pretty sh@t.

Never seems to be too many pharmaceutical and / or tech companies busting to get set up in NI and offering jobs at £40 -£50k+ salaries.

NI GVA per capita 2020   €26,785 (£23,035)
ROI GDP per capita 2020 €75,170

this difference is in these high tech places, smaller companies would not be so different.
Post by: imtommygunn on January 16, 2024, 05:18:50 PM
Quote from: LC on January 16, 2024, 05:03:24 PMWonder what the GDP of the north is, I imagine it is pretty sh@t.

There's plenty. NI tech scene is decent and would definitely be those salaries and then some.
Post by: bennydorano on January 16, 2024, 05:23:39 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 16, 2024, 05:08:58 PM
Quote from: LC on January 16, 2024, 05:03:24 PMWonder what the  GDP of the north is, I imagine it is pretty sh@t.

NI GVA per capita 2020    €26,785 (£23,035)

this difference is in these high tech places, smaller companies would not be so different.
GDP numbers like those are regularly shredded as a lot of it is corporate money  in transit to their US Overlords.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 16, 2024, 05:35:53 PM
Giving everyone pay rises will increase the price of things?

Is that the answer?

I thought there was good tech companies and pharmaceutical companies in the north also?
Post by: armaghniac on January 16, 2024, 06:12:41 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 16, 2024, 05:23:39 PM

GDP numbers like those are regularly shredded as a lot of it is corporate money  in transit to their US Overlords.

The GDP is accurate, that measures production and production value is high even if it is owned by shareholders resident elsewhere. If you want a measure of income then neither of these values is appropriate.
Post by: tonto1888 on January 16, 2024, 06:49:51 PM
Quote from: Norm-Peterson on January 16, 2024, 04:17:08 PMTeachers complaining about money, they get paid more than they deserve anyway. I can remember the bludging they did at school, getting the class to fill in a worksheet or "read silently to themselves". I could maybe have sympathy for English teachers or others who have to grade those long miserable essays at home. Teaching seems to be a cop out of a career anyway, people go into it as it is a high status job and isn't entirely difficult as long as you have decent social skills. I bet the mods will give me warnings as usual.

here we go
Post by: Eire90 on January 16, 2024, 07:03:27 PM
are the strikers in cahoots with the likes of gerry carrol is there palestine flags being waved at these strikes
Post by: bennydorano on January 16, 2024, 07:20:00 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 16, 2024, 06:12:41 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 16, 2024, 05:23:39 PM

The GDP is accurate, that measures production and production value is high even if it is owned by shareholders resident elsewhere. If you want a measure of income then neither of these values is appropriate.
Not contesting that at all, GDP can be a blunt tool to measure overall economic wellbeing is all.
Post by: RedHand88 on January 16, 2024, 07:31:08 PM
Question. Would people want pay parity with England if it meant paying for prescriptions, water rates etc like they do there?
Post by: Armagh18 on January 16, 2024, 08:43:08 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 16, 2024, 07:31:08 PMQuestion. Would people want pay parity with England if it meant paying for prescriptions, water rates etc like they do there?
I don't think England is anything to aspire to, is it?
Post by: armaghniac on January 16, 2024, 08:51:49 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 16, 2024, 07:31:08 PMQuestion. Would people want pay parity with England if it meant paying for prescriptions, water rates etc like they do there?

They are looting the education system so people can waste water and drugs.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GD6vWkHXIAAtNbP?format=jpg&name=900x900)

Post by: RedHand88 on January 16, 2024, 09:35:47 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 16, 2024, 08:43:08 PM
I don't think England is anything to aspire to, is it?

Is that not what the pay dispute is about? Pay parity with England?
Post by: markl121 on January 17, 2024, 12:06:32 AM
Would happily introduce prescription charges, even a small amount like the south. The 9 odd quid per item in England is excessive. 1-2 quid per item here would be enough to stop people ordering and hoarding every month "because I'm entitled to it"
Post by: Mario on January 17, 2024, 08:46:25 AM
Quote from: LC on January 16, 2024, 05:03:24 PMWonder what the GDP of the north is, I imagine it is pretty sh@t.

Pharmaceutical pay seems particularly low in NI, probably due to lack of competition but any tech role with a few years experience in Belfast will earn that level of Salary. Other jobs offering that level of salary in Belfast relatively early in careers would be accountancy, engineering, financial services, corporate law. These people would earn a lot more elsewhere which is a common argument for public sector strikes but the salary gap elsewhere is probably even bigger in the private sector, albeit from a higher base.
Post by: trailer on January 17, 2024, 09:40:41 AM

Happy to pay more if we get the same level of service. But we don't. We lag behind GB in every government department.
Post by: seafoid on January 17, 2024, 11:23:28 AM
Quote from: trailer on January 17, 2024, 09:40:41 AM

Happy to pay more if we get the same level of service. But we don't. We lag behind GB in every government department.
English and Welsh social spending is being squeezed unmercifully. Liverpool has just had to cut obesity care. Wales has to cut social services spending by £640m over 3 years. Neither Wales nor Merseyside have a fixed subvention from London. NI is luckier than people think.
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on January 17, 2024, 01:07:02 PM
shut the place down and be done with it

you get what you vote for and this is the outworking of things

of course the owc brigade will be outraged  ;D 
Post by: Eire90 on January 18, 2024, 09:04:41 AM
should there not be a general strike with the demand they go back to stormont.
Post by: Eire90 on January 18, 2024, 09:13:51 AM
Tories are not inconvienced by these strikes so will probably do nothing
Post by: Armagh18 on January 18, 2024, 09:18:09 AM
Quote from: Eire90 on January 18, 2024, 09:04:41 AMshould there not be a general strike with the demand they go back to stormont.
Would make more sense
Post by: Eire90 on January 18, 2024, 09:37:36 AM
dorothy on nolan show says its a disgrace they get 500 pound a week and they are moaning while she gets 150 a week
Post by: Armagh18 on January 18, 2024, 09:46:58 AM
Quote from: Eire90 on January 18, 2024, 09:37:36 AMdorothy on nolan show says its a disgrace they get 500 pound a week and they are moaning while she gets 150 a week
What does Dorothy work at?
Post by: Eire90 on January 18, 2024, 09:56:44 AM
shes an 80 year old
Post by: LeoMc on January 18, 2024, 10:41:34 AM
Quote from: Eire90 on January 18, 2024, 09:56:44 AMshes an 80 year old
Boomer!

Probably doesn't have a mortgage or kids to put through college.

If everyone in the public sector decided not to work and to live on £150 a week she would be just as outraged.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 18, 2024, 10:44:04 AM
Noticed a few contractors out gritting this morning on some roads I was travelling on
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on January 18, 2024, 10:58:59 AM
Be interesting to know how many of those striking today are DUP voters and how many will vote for the DUP again.
Post by: marty34 on January 18, 2024, 12:27:05 PM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on January 18, 2024, 10:58:59 AMBe interesting to know how many of those striking today are DUP voters and how many will vote for the DUP again.

There must be DUP members/voters in the various unions?
Post by: trailer on January 18, 2024, 12:56:19 PM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on January 18, 2024, 10:58:59 AMBe interesting to know how many of those striking today are DUP voters and how many will vote for the DUP again.

The union trumps everything. The Unions anger is aimed squarely at CHH.
I think the unions need to tread carefully. This strike is pointless. Everyone agrees they need fair pay inc the UKG. So what is the point of the strike?
Post by: Duine Inteacht Eile on January 18, 2024, 01:07:15 PM
Because "agreeing that they need fair pay" isn't much use to those who need it?
Post by: trailer on January 18, 2024, 01:16:45 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on January 18, 2024, 01:07:15 PMBecause "agreeing that they need fair pay" isn't much use to those who need it?

Yes but The DUP aren't going to be moved and I doubt CHH is either.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 18, 2024, 01:24:32 PM
What should they do then?
Post by: trailer on January 18, 2024, 01:46:24 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 18, 2024, 01:24:32 PMWhat should they do then?

A good start might be to call on the DUP to go into government rather than aiming their anger at CHH.
Post by: LeoMc on January 18, 2024, 01:48:09 PM
Quote from: trailer on January 18, 2024, 01:46:24 PM

A good start might be to call on the DUP to go into government rather than aiming their anger at CHH.

They don't need the DUP in Government to get a pay rise. CHH has it in his power.
Post by: Duine Inteacht Eile on January 18, 2024, 01:58:04 PM

I think there is certainly anger towards both but as pointed out above, CHH has the money in his hand and instead of giving it to those who he "agrees need it", he's playing politics with it against a bundle of backward buffoons. Quite obviously there's going to be a heap of anger coming his way.
Post by: The Trap on January 18, 2024, 02:04:49 PM
Why would anyone vote for the DUP?

The DUP are now seeing NI public services in the worst state ever

The DUP now have the worst relationship there has ever been with Westminster

The DUP have no friends in Europe

The DUP shunned the US President when he visited

King Charles had a warmer relationship with Sinn Fein than he did with the DUP when he was at Hillsborough

The DUP are isolated among all the main parties here. They don't want to share power even though Martin McGuinness was prepared to be deputy first minister under Ian Paisley.

And most of all the DUP brought all of this upon themselves by advocating for a Brexit that the majority of people here didn't vote for.

Post by: imtommygunn on January 18, 2024, 02:11:17 PM
Because them 'uns. Honestly that is near about the height of it.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 18, 2024, 02:12:16 PM

are they not blaming both?
Post by: johnnycool on January 18, 2024, 02:34:50 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 18, 2024, 02:12:16 PM

Not really, the DUP have gotten away quite lightly from the unions IMO, probably trying to avoid the usual sectarian trap, but in this instance it's either CHH who doesn't give a flying fúck about this place or the DUP who believe if they hold out for long enough the UK Government are going to magically change an international trade agreement they have with the EU!
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on January 18, 2024, 02:36:30 PM
CHH needs to either release the money or stop all MLA pay and abandon Stormont. IMO he should do both. This endless state of pandering needs to stop. He needs to make a move one way or the other. But he'll never make any decision other than kick the can down the road.

Post by: Duine Inteacht Eile on January 18, 2024, 02:55:47 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on January 18, 2024, 02:34:50 PM

Not really, the DUP have gotten away quite lightly from the unions IMO, probably trying to avoid the usual sectarian trap, but in this instance it's either CHH who doesn't give a flying fúck about this place or the DUP who believe if they hold out for long enough the UK Government are going to magically change an international trade agreement they have with the EU!

I could see how that is the case but there is more to it than that as well. The reason for the DUP not going into Stormont (the reason they are giving nor the real reason) is totally unrelated to the public sector pay increase and today's strike. The only person trying to link them is CHH. He is holding the DUP to ransom with another man's money. The other man is protesting about that today.
So, while the majority on this forum believe the DUP are wanchors and should return, it could still very well be a legitimate position for someone to feel that they are right not to return until "Act of Union blah blah" AND believe that public pay increases should be implemented.
Post by: trailer on January 18, 2024, 03:04:03 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on January 18, 2024, 01:48:09 PM

They don't need the DUP in Government to get a pay rise. CHH has it in his power.

I actually don't think he has. He would have to suspend Stormont to do that, AFAIK... but not 100% on that.
But playing devils advocate for a moment, if he does have the power then what's the point of Stormont? Surely then we just move back to direct rule? We're kind of riding two horses.... if you get me. That would be his argument I suppose. 

Post by: johnnycool on January 18, 2024, 03:04:27 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on January 18, 2024, 02:55:47 PM

I could see how that is the case but there is more to it than that as well. The reason for the DUP not going into Stormont (the reason they are giving nor the real reason) is totally unrelated to the public sector pay increase and today's strike. The only person trying to link them is CHH. He is holding the DUP to ransom with another man's money. The other man is protesting about that today.
So, while the majority on this forum believe the DUP are wanchors and should return, it could still very well be a legitimate position for someone to feel that they are right not to return until "Act of Union blah blah" AND believe that public pay increases should be implemented.

Well he and the Tories know the DUP can be bought and paid for (ala Teresa May and the confidence and supply agreement) and if you think the Tories somehow magic'd another few billion out of their arses just for NI workers then you're as gullible as the next.
The extra few billion was the carrot for wee Jeff to sell going back into Stormont as a win to his base, he failed to do so and there's no way CHH is going to stump up on that money if they don't.

Why do you think no other party has been able to see this "deal" other than the DUP?

The ordinary worker is indeed the pawn in all this, that's not right, but these are dirty feckers when it comes to politics.

Post by: Duine Inteacht Eile on January 18, 2024, 03:12:15 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on January 18, 2024, 03:04:27 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on January 18, 2024, 02:55:47 PM

Well he and the Tories know the DUP can be bought and paid for (ala Teresa May and the confidence and supply agreement) and if you think the Tories somehow magic'd another few billion out of their arses just for NI workers then you're as gullible as the next.
The extra few billion was the carrot for wee Jeff to sell going back into Stormont as a win to his base, he failed to do so and there's no way CHH is going to stump up on that money if they don't.

Why do you think no other party has been able to see this "deal" other than the DUP?

The ordinary worker is indeed the pawn in all this, that's not right, but these are dirty feckers when it comes to politics.

And that's why they are the focus of the anger.
Post by: armaghniac on January 18, 2024, 03:24:53 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on January 18, 2024, 02:55:47 PMSo, while the majority on this forum believe the DUP are wanchors and should return, it could still very well be a legitimate position for someone to feel that they are right not to return until "Act of Union blah blah" AND believe that public pay increases should be implemented.

The Windsor Agreement is related to Westminster and the wishes of the British people. The place to protest about it at Westminster, stopping Stormont is simply using the public sector workers as hostage.
Post by: AustinPowers on January 18, 2024, 07:53:49 PM
Quote from: trailer on January 18, 2024, 03:04:03 PM

I actually don't think he has. He would have to suspend Stormont to do that, AFAIK... but not 100% on that.
But playing devils advocate for a moment, if he does have the power then what's the point of Stormont? Surely then we just move back to direct rule? We're kind of riding two horses.... if you get me. That would be his argument I suppose. 

There is no  point to it
Post by: Duine Inteacht Eile on January 18, 2024, 08:29:42 PM
Quote from: trailer on January 18, 2024, 03:04:03 PM

That wasn't an argument when the British government gave Brandon Lewis the authority to implement abortion laws here.
Of course they can sort these pay deals and public funding without the Stormont executive. Unfortunately people don't matter to these hoors. It's all a game.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 18, 2024, 08:45:03 PM
Let's get back at it tomorrow. Milder weather on the way.
Post by: Eire90 on January 19, 2024, 09:37:52 AM

Stephen Nolan
@StephenNolan
26m
Senior DUP source tells Nolan Show Sir Jeffrey's plan is to "get it all up and running by next week and move on from the Windsor Framework
Post by: Eire90 on January 19, 2024, 09:41:23 AM
Dup meeting later today

its probably all pantomine
Post by: imtommygunn on January 19, 2024, 09:55:55 AM
The money is not coming unless they get back into government. The tories put that money together to get a government in place and the DUP didn't come through so if the tories give them the money with no government in place then they have got nothing in return for their money. If the tories give the money with no government then the DUP have shafted them and I doubt they'll let that happen.
Post by: LC on January 19, 2024, 10:15:57 AM
Quote from: Eire90 on January 19, 2024, 09:41:23 AMDup meeting later today

Would not surprise that they vote to come back in but then immediately take credit for getting the pay deals all across the line for the public sector, mind you Shinners will all probably also be looking a pat on the back as well.

There is obviously the reality of paying for it all so in a years time when our rates bill go up and and we are paying for prescriptions etc DUP / Sinn Fein will stand shoulder to shoulder and point the finger at Westminster as it will be all their fault.
Post by: Eire90 on January 19, 2024, 10:30:48 AM
some guy has left the dup because of bullying well i dont blame a lot of these political parties are basically cults
Post by: johnnycool on January 19, 2024, 10:42:28 AM
Quote from: LC on January 19, 2024, 10:15:57 AM
Quote from: Eire90 on January 19, 2024, 09:41:23 AMDup meeting later today

Would not surprise that they vote to come back in but then immediately take credit for getting the pay deals all across the line for the public sector, mind you Shinners will all probably also be looking a pat on the back as well.

There is obviously the reality of paying for it all so in a years time when our rates bill go up and and we are paying for prescriptions etc DUP / Sinn Fein will stand shoulder to shoulder and point the finger at Westminster as it will be all their fault.

CHH shook the money tree to free up more money before Christmas to allow Wee Jeffrey to sell this as a win and he failed to do so, but maybe now he's realising the WF/Irish Sea border is here to stay and the lesser of the two evils for Unionism is the return of Stormont...

There will be a split either way in the DUP so happy days.
Post by: Pub Bore on January 19, 2024, 10:48:56 AM
If the DUP don't go back soon I think Stormont is finished.

Very little of the promised money is actually "new".  It's a con job by the Tories.
Post by: imtommygunn on January 19, 2024, 10:54:57 AM
If stormont doesn't go back then this place has failed and it's as simple as that. I don't know how they don't see that.

Everything is a con job by the tories.
Post by: Pub Bore on January 19, 2024, 10:58:21 AM
English papers reporting that part of the "deal" is the renaming of the Green Lane as the "UK Internal Lane"  Is this what the DUP were holding out for?  It's gone beyond a joke.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 19, 2024, 10:59:59 AM
Quote from: Pub Bore on January 19, 2024, 10:58:21 AMEnglish papers reporting that part of the "deal" is the renaming of the Green Lane as the "UK Internal Lane"  Is this what the DUP were holding out for?  It's gone beyond a joke.
would you be surprised?
Post by: Rossfan on January 19, 2024, 11:01:05 AM
Or the "Orange Lane"
Post by: bennydorano on January 19, 2024, 11:31:47 AM
Hopefully it's passed at the DUP gathering or you'd have to say that probably is the end of Stormont and this place doesn't do vacuums very well.

The strike yesterday has probably given the DUP a bit of political cover and blindsided the Jim Allisters and Jamie Brysons of the world to get the Never gang mobilised in time.

🤞
Post by: trailer on January 19, 2024, 11:37:37 AM
If they don't go back where does unionism go from here? Boycotting the Assembly is not a viable long term position. They need it more than Nationalists. However, I am well aware that Unionism has a canny knack of not picking the best option for Unionism.
Post by: maddog on January 19, 2024, 11:53:54 AM
Will there be a puff of white smoke when the decision is made?
Post by: Eire90 on January 19, 2024, 12:00:44 PM
jamie Bryson, an influential loyalist activist in Northern Ireland who campaigns against the Irish Sea border, said: "You can call it the King Billy Red, White and Blue lane if you want and the Loyal Ulster agreement, it matters not. It's about the substance. Stop gaslighting unionists."
Post by: johnnycool on January 19, 2024, 12:06:57 PM
Quote from: trailer on January 19, 2024, 11:37:37 AMIf they don't go back where does unionism go from here? Boycotting the Assembly is not a viable long term position. They need it more than Nationalists. However, I am well aware that Unionism has a canny knack of not picking the best option for Unionism.

There's plenty of clips doing the rounds of how poor the DUP have been strategically since Brexit was first muted, they really were the dog chasing after a car but didn't know what to do when it caught up with the car...

They find themselves in another pickle entirely of their own making caused largely by them looking over their shoulder at Jim Allister and the die hard loons within their own party who don't want a taig about the place.
It's looking like ELP will be the proposed Deputy first minister although even that won't be straight forward for wee Jeffrey as there's some MLA's not wanting her their...

Popcorn time and the wee lad in Donaghadee will be tweeting like billyho in the next while.
Post by: trailer on January 19, 2024, 12:20:26 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on January 19, 2024, 12:06:57 PM
Quote from: trailer on January 19, 2024, 11:37:37 AMIf they don't go back where does unionism go from here? Boycotting the Assembly is not a viable long term position. They need it more than Nationalists. However, I am well aware that Unionism has a canny knack of not picking the best option for Unionism.

There's plenty of clips doing the rounds of how poor the DUP have been strategically since Brexit was first muted, they really were the dog chasing after a car but didn't know what to do when it caught up with the car...

They find themselves in another pickle entirely of their own making caused largely by them looking over their shoulder at Jim Allister and the die hard loons within their own party who don't want a taig about the place.
It's looking like ELP will be the proposed Deputy first minister although even that won't be straight forward for wee Jeffrey as there's some MLA's not wanting her their...

Popcorn time and the wee lad in Donaghadee will be tweeting like billyho in the next while.

ELP as DFM is an affront to Democracy. It is one thing being co-opted in as an MLA but to be crowned DFM is frankly scandalous. We should be having by-elections.

Post by: Rossfan on January 26, 2024, 02:42:42 PM
Agreement reached on Public sector pay.
10.25% increases next 2 years.

In the 26 of course.
Post by: Duine Inteacht Eile on February 03, 2024, 03:36:48 PM
Quote from: trailer on January 18, 2024, 12:56:19 PM

I think the unions need to tread carefully. This strike is pointless. Everyone agrees they need fair pay inc the UKG. So what is the point of the strike?
3 weeks down the line, I think it is fair to say it had some significance.
Post by: lurganblue on February 21, 2024, 02:13:33 PM
Bus and train strikes continuing at the end of the month https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-68356986 (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-68356986)

"Paul Givan said the current public sector budget was not enough to make a pay offer, according to GMB."

Junior doctors now planning a strike for the start of March... "Mr Swann said "frustration should not spill into industrial action that cannot achieve anything of substance"."

Post by: trailer on February 21, 2024, 02:48:23 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on February 03, 2024, 03:36:48 PM

Well as we can see they are going out on strike again, so like I said.. pointless
Post by: Saffrongael on February 21, 2024, 03:28:53 PM
Quote from: trailer on February 21, 2024, 02:48:23 PM

Well as we can see they are going out on strike again, so like I said.. pointless

It's a negotiating tactic to accelerate an offer being made
Post by: red hander on February 21, 2024, 04:34:48 PM

We'd still be living under a feudal system and eating grass to survive if it was down to people like you.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 21, 2024, 08:57:11 PM
Quote from: red hander on February 21, 2024, 04:34:48 PM

We'd still be living under a feudal system and eating grass to survive if it was down to people like you.
I have said on here before if your public sector job is so terrible just hand in your notice and move on somewhere else. No need to eat grass.
Post by: Armagh18 on February 21, 2024, 08:58:41 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 21, 2024, 08:57:11 PM

I have said on here before if your public sector job is so terrible just hand in your notice and move on somewhere else. No need to eat grass.
Good luck to you if you ever need a hospital then and all the workers have left.... Jesus Christ.   
Post by: trueblue1234 on February 21, 2024, 09:06:24 PM

Yeah let's get into a race to the bottom for nhs staff. That will help things.
Post by: Duine Inteacht Eile on February 21, 2024, 09:24:34 PM

You might want to stop saying it because you're making yourself look stupid. What type of society aspires towards that for their public sector?
Lazy comments like that are beneath you, Tony.
Post by: bennydorano on February 21, 2024, 09:26:01 PM
200,000 public sector workers too. All just up sticks and look for better jobs??
Post by: trailer on February 21, 2024, 10:22:18 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on February 21, 2024, 09:26:01 PM200,000 public sector workers too. All just up sticks and look for better jobs??

Certain areas of our Civil Service are bloated and inefficient. No one can deny this.
Post by: Armagh18 on February 21, 2024, 10:50:25 PM
Quote from: trailer on February 21, 2024, 10:22:18 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on February 21, 2024, 09:26:01 PM200,000 public sector workers too. All just up sticks and look for better jobs??

Certain areas of our Civil Service are bloated and inefficient. No one can deny this.

For sure. But don't think the solution for nurses not getting paid enough is for them all to leave and get another job.
Post by: lurganblue on February 22, 2024, 10:42:01 AM

What sections do you believe this to be the case?
Post by: trailer on February 22, 2024, 11:01:14 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on February 22, 2024, 10:42:01 AM

Agriculture
Infrastructure
Communities

All employ far far to many people. Lots of Admin and client services people.
Post by: bennydorano on February 22, 2024, 02:26:24 PM
Quote from: trailer on February 22, 2024, 11:01:14 AM

Agriculture
Infrastructure
Communities

Wouldn't dispute it for a second, NI is a basket case, Public Sector jobs were always the way to keep stable employment levels during the troubles when private industry faced too much upheaval to really thrive. Its never really moved on from this and there's definitely no political will to rationalise it. It will only ever be genuinely tackled if a United Ireland came into being - imo.
Post by: trueblue1234 on February 22, 2024, 05:17:17 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on February 22, 2024, 02:26:24 PM
Quote from: trailer on February 22, 2024, 11:01:14 AM

Agriculture
Infrastructure
Communities

Wouldn't dispute it for a second, NI is a basket case, Public Sector jobs were always the way to keep stable employment levels during the troubles when private industry faced too much upheaval to really thrive. Its never really moved on from this and there's definitely no political will to rationalise it. It will only ever be genuinely tackled if a United Ireland came into being - imo.
People have been leaving the civil service lately. In the past, this was unheard of due to the pay and benefits. Private salaries have not only caught up with but have surpassed the public sector. The problem this causes is that it's the better ones that are leaving.
Post by: LC on February 22, 2024, 06:38:09 PM
Moved in to the public sector a few years ago after 20+ years in the private sector.  Took a sizeable pay cut but joined mainly for pension, holidays etc plus less travelling.

No doubt about the public sector is full of a serious amount of arseh*les full of their own importance and would not last 5 mins in the private sector.  To them their job is crap but none of them will leave because they know if they went somewhere else they might have to work.

My 'welcome to the public sector' moment was when I asked one of my department members to do something one day and they turned around and said that it was not in their job description so they refused to do it.

Post by: Main Street on February 22, 2024, 08:56:55 PM
Quote from: LC on February 22, 2024, 06:38:09 PMMoved in to the public sector a few years ago after 20+ years in the private sector.  Took a sizeable pay cut but joined mainly for pension, holidays etc plus less travelling.

No doubt about the public sector is full of a serious amount of arseh*les full of their own importance and would not last 5 mins in the private sector.  To them their job is crap but none of them will leave because they know if they went somewhere else they might have to work.

My 'welcome to the public sector' moment was when I asked one of my department members to do something one day and they turned around and said that it was not in their job description so they refused to do it.

Was his name Tony?
Post by: Square Ball on February 23, 2024, 11:12:53 AM
Parts of the Nics have a high percentage of Agency staff at the Admin Officer grade, some super staff and have been there years, but there is a high attrition rate. Most of the new staff are between 18-20, makes me feel very old, first job and it's a massive shock when they realise what's involved. Seen training courses reduce by 50% before they even hit the floor.
Post by: 5times5times on February 23, 2024, 11:47:32 AM
Quote from: LC on February 22, 2024, 06:38:09 PMMoved in to the public sector a few years ago after 20+ years in the private sector.  Took a sizeable pay cut but joined mainly for pension, holidays etc plus less travelling.

I always thought it was a myth, that the public sector is where you want your career to end up? What # of hols are we talking compared to private sector? Generally private is 25 plus bank hols etc.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 23, 2024, 11:50:20 AM
My dad went private to public allbeit years ago. He would have a good work ethic and said you wouldn't believe some of the things you see.

I don't doubt there are good people in there but the general consensus would seem to be a good bit of deadweight too.
Post by: RedHand88 on February 23, 2024, 12:31:48 PM
Another public sector story I can share. The soap dispenser at work ran out and whoever noticed it put a sticker on it saying "needs refilled - contact head office" or something to that effect. Have also seen where a light bulb goes out a request is logged for it to be changed. Someone will come out, confirm said light bulb needs replaced, log the visit, then arrange for someone to come out to change it, which might be days later,
This is not a joke.
Post by: RedHand88 on February 23, 2024, 12:33:18 PM
Quote from: 5times5times on February 23, 2024, 11:47:32 AM

I always thought it was a myth, that the public sector is where you want your career to end up? What # of hols are we talking compared to private sector? Generally private is 25 plus bank hols etc.

I would get 28, plus a nicer pension and sick pay than probably 95% of private sector.
Post by: trailer on February 23, 2024, 01:17:00 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on February 23, 2024, 11:12:53 AMParts of the Nics have a high percentage of Agency staff at the Admin Officer grade, some super staff and have been there years, but there is a high attrition rate. Most of the new staff are between 18-20, makes me feel very old, first job and it's a massive shock when they realise what's involved. Seen training courses reduce by 50% before they even hit the floor.

Anyone with any ambition or "go" in them wouldn't stay in those jobs.
Post by: thewobbler on February 23, 2024, 03:44:47 PM
There are two major problems with the public sector.

The first is one they have built themselves, whereby decades of fastidious improvements to equality and fairness, has produced corporate structures and cultures so egalitarian that, ironically, they are plainly unfair.  The reward for working hard is the same as it is for doing nothing. The reward for being punctual, efficient and attentive is the same as it is for taking extended sick leave. Furthermore the only way to progress is to work between the lines; for the higher-ups have neither the interest nor the will to have the can shaken. They're closer to retirement than you, and upheaval is just not part of their plan.

But I still believe, wholeheartedly, that the public sector would continue to work (if more than a little inefficiently) if it wasn't for the second problem being faced, and one they cannot control. This is the price of housing.

See I fundamentally believe there are lots and lots and lots of good hearted, bright and gifted people in every country, who do not suffer from material greed, but instead take happiness from knowing they've helped others have a better day or a better ljfe. Basically, people who are perfect for public service. Problem is, every year, more and more of these people are being priced out of public service. They still want to serve. But when upwards on 75% of their salary is needed just to rent a place within an hour of their place of employment, being bright and gifted people, their choice is made up for them. They go to work in the private sector, then volunteer in other ways when they've time to do so. These are the people leaving the public sector. And as each one leaves, the mess becomes more obvious.

——

Anyone who has convinced themselves that it's possible to have a happy, functional society without a strong public sector, is absolutely f**king deluded.

It's in all our interests to fix this problem.

Saying "f**k them, let them leave" is not going to fix the problem. This is the attitude that will draw us into anarchy.
Post by: trueblue1234 on February 23, 2024, 07:55:04 PM

Just moved to public sector in last 2 years and took a fairly substantial pay cut. But family needs forced it. But I Have 25 day holidays going up to 30 after 5 years. Then 12 bank holidays which is good. But the biggest wtf is having flexi time. I still, after 2 years, Can't believe how good it is!! It has changed my life.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 23, 2024, 08:02:41 PM
I've got a few extra days for long service which puts me up to 37 days holidays which isn't too shabby for private sector.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 23, 2024, 08:09:46 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on February 23, 2024, 07:55:04 PM

Just moved to public sector in last 2 years and took a fairly substantial pay cut. But family needs forced it. But I Have 25 day holidays going up to 30 after 5 years. Then 12 bank holidays which is good. But the biggest wtf is having flexi time. I still, after 2 years, Can't believe how good it is!! It has changed my life.
Was chatting to a fella in work today who was saying he met a chap that left our place a few years ago is now working for the council and is loving life. No stress, clocks out at the end of the day and leaves his work behind him. A lot to be said for it. The constant stress in my work is the main downside of it and the older I get the more I wonder is it worth it. Another to get thru uni first (and get a car!).
Post by: JoG2 on February 23, 2024, 09:03:13 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 23, 2024, 08:09:46 PM

Was chatting to a fella in work today who was saying he met a chap that left our place a few years ago is now working for the council and is loving life. No stress, clocks out at the end of the day and leaves his work behind him. A lot to be said for it. The constant stress in my work is the main downside of it and the older I get the more I wonder is it worth it. Another to get thru uni first (and get a car!).

I made the leap (it was forced really, the company went into liquidation, bought over and relocated) from the private to the public sector about 8 years ago. Took a fair drop in wages, but it's the best thing (work wise) that's happened to me. The stress of the last place near drove me to the drink.
Loving what I do now, a good team of 12, not a bluffer in sight. Don't take the work home, great holiday entitlement. No Sunday blues. Would highly recommend  ;D
Post by: LC on February 24, 2024, 01:40:11 PM

There now a few years and between statutory holidays and annual leave entitlement I up to 44 days all in, was 29 in the private sector.  That combined with wfh a couple of days a week it has been a real game changer.  Bar winning the lottery we all now have to work to our late 60s so as far as I am concerned to all intents and purposes I have guaranteed for the next 20 years job security, holiday entitlements, fixed and high pension contribution and if I need (please God I dont) 6 months full sick pay.  Setting aside salary comparisons you will not find this in anywhere in the private sector.  My last private sector job was fairly pressurised to the point I do not think I could have stuck at it to 50 let alone made it to retirement age. Drive a sh*t car but still fairly happy with my lot, 5 years to go on the mortgage so hopefully this will help out when / if youngsters go on to 3rd level.
Post by: p3427977 on February 25, 2024, 08:23:13 PM
So 4.5% for NICS and £1500 below G6.
Post by: Kidder81 on February 25, 2024, 08:49:30 PM
Quote from: p3427977 on February 25, 2024, 08:23:13 PMSo 4.5% for NICS and £1500 below G6.

Not sure that would be accepted, I had heard late on Friday no offer on the table yet, as Translink have been made an offer of more than 5%
Post by: p3427977 on February 25, 2024, 09:05:17 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on February 25, 2024, 08:49:30 PM
Quote from: p3427977 on February 25, 2024, 08:23:13 PMSo 4.5% for NICS and £1500 below G6.

Not sure that would be accepted, I had heard late on Friday no offer on the table yet, as Translink have been made an offer of more than 5%
Looks like they're still getting the 5% but with £1500.

I'd be very unhappy with 4.5% if I'm being honest.

It'll be pushed through no matter what the Union say or do.
Post by: Kidder81 on February 25, 2024, 09:06:51 PM
Quote from: p3427977 on February 25, 2024, 09:05:17 PM

Where did you hear about the 4.5%?
Post by: p3427977 on February 25, 2024, 09:29:47 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on February 25, 2024, 09:06:51 PM
Quote from: p3427977 on February 25, 2024, 09:05:17 PM

Where did you hear about the 4.5%?
I was sent a picture of an email that was received in DoF on Friday. I'm not sure who it was for as it's just the text.
Post by: lurganblue on February 26, 2024, 09:19:09 AM
It will be interesting to hear what has been offered to the rail and bus workers.  I suspect we will hear that soon, with the 3 day strike now suspended.
Post by: Saffrongael on February 26, 2024, 09:28:02 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on February 26, 2024, 09:19:09 AMIt will be interesting to hear what has been offered to the rail and bus workers.  I suspect we will hear that soon, with the 3 day strike now suspended.

5% and £1500 lump sum apparently, that NICS offer mentioned above is not legit apparently.

Health workers being balloted on 5% and £1500 lump sum
Post by: p3427977 on February 26, 2024, 09:53:32 AM
Quote from: Saffrongael on February 26, 2024, 09:28:02 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on February 26, 2024, 09:19:09 AMIt will be interesting to hear what has been offered to the rail and bus workers.  I suspect we will hear that soon, with the 3 day strike now suspended.

5% and £1500 lump sum apparently, that NICS offer mentioned above is not legit apparently.

What makes you say that? The picture I was sent looked legit.
Post by: Saffrongael on February 26, 2024, 09:55:47 AM
Quote from: p3427977 on February 26, 2024, 09:53:32 AM

I asked a union member this morning and he said he had also seen it but has been advised there is no offer on the table yet. We will probably know soon enough
Post by: giveherlong on February 26, 2024, 09:58:36 AM
Quote from: Saffrongael on February 26, 2024, 09:55:47 AM

I asked a union member this morning and he said he had also seen it but has been advised there is no offer on the table yet. We will probably know soon enough

New Translink offer on the table following talks yesterday. Any news on the percentage figures?
Post by: p3427977 on February 26, 2024, 10:10:19 AM

Cheers
Post by: giveherlong on February 26, 2024, 10:57:58 AM
Unions representing healthcare workers in Northern Ireland are to ballot their members on a pay deal.
The proposed settlement would see the restoration of pay parity with England, and includes an uplift of 5% and a one-off payment of £1,505.
Post by: JoG2 on February 26, 2024, 11:30:28 AM
Quote from: giveherlong on February 26, 2024, 10:57:58 AMUnions representing healthcare workers in Northern Ireland are to ballot their members on a pay deal.
The proposed settlement would see the restoration of pay parity with England, and includes an uplift of 5% and a one-off payment of £1,505.

Minus the £500 covid payment
Post by: p3427977 on February 26, 2024, 02:07:19 PM
NICS offer out. 5% and £1500.
Post by: Square Ball on February 26, 2024, 02:39:53 PM
Quote from: p3427977 on February 26, 2024, 10:10:19 AM

Cheers
It is legit
Post by: Saffrongael on February 26, 2024, 03:24:05 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on February 26, 2024, 02:39:53 PM
Quote from: p3427977 on February 26, 2024, 10:10:19 AM

Cheers
It is legit

It wasn't, that screenshot doing the rounds said 4.5% and £1500
Post by: trueblue1234 on February 26, 2024, 07:58:52 PM
Yeah 5% + £1500. Happy enough. Slightly above inflation for first time in many years. Goes someway to offset last years clusterf**k.
Post by: p3427977 on February 26, 2024, 08:45:51 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on February 26, 2024, 07:58:52 PMYeah 5% + £1500. Happy enough. Slightly above inflation for first time in many years. Goes someway to offset last years clusterf**k.
It's from Aug 23. If you go back then it's below inflation. I'll not complain much though. I'm looking forward to news for Aug 24 pay.
Post by: JoG2 on February 26, 2024, 09:29:09 PM
Quote from: p3427977 on February 26, 2024, 08:45:51 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on February 26, 2024, 07:58:52 PMYeah 5% + £1500. Happy enough. Slightly above inflation for first time in many years. Goes someway to offset last years clusterf**k.
It's from Aug 23. If you go back then it's below inflation. I'll not complain much though. I'm looking forward to news for Aug 24 pay.

Oh, thought it was backdated to 1st April '23
Post by: lurganblue on March 12, 2024, 08:54:23 PM
Transport workers reject the 5%.