Cost Of Living

Started by Olly, July 03, 2022, 05:55:36 AM

There is the small matter of not having the money to do it if you are poor. If you are poor you are unlikely to have hedge fund investments.

Under Lights

The Pound tanking is a nightmare for the cost of oil and petrol. Oil is priced in USD for a weak pound makes it very expensive

Quote from: Under Lights on September 25, 2022, 10:38:53 AM
The Pound tanking is a nightmare for the cost of oil and petrol. Oil is priced in USD for a weak pound makes it very expensive

Yep.

Quote from: RedHand88 on September 25, 2022, 09:48:41 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 24, 2022, 09:04:54 PM
Not if their hedge funds are betting against the pound.

Anyone can open an IG Forex account and short the pound if they want, rich or poor.
You can even get it as an app on your phone.

It also helps if you go to a meeting in London attended by the PM a week before you announce a budget that shorter the £...
Guess what  a load of people in the room made million's on Friday.
Did your app send you an invite?

Quote from: johnnycool on September 25, 2022, 10:51:39 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on September 25, 2022, 09:48:41 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 24, 2022, 09:04:54 PM
Not if their hedge funds are betting against the pound.

Anyone can open an IG Forex account and short the pound if they want, rich or poor.
You can even get it as an app on your phone.

It also helps if you go to a meeting in London attended by the PM a week before you announce a budget that shorter the £...
Guess what  a load of people in the room made million's on Friday.
Did your app send you an invite?

It did not . But there were news articles about this last week. It was widely believed a Truss tax cuts budget would hammer the pound temporarily.
They were right and people with their eyes open made money.

Yes. Rich people with their eyes open.

Quote from: imtommygunn on September 25, 2022, 11:51:19 AM
Yes. Rich people with their eyes open.

Im sorry I cant be holed talking to you anymore.

Funny I was thinking the exact same about you so that works well  :D

Lads. Lads. LADS

Ah fcuk yis ive shit o me own to deal with

LADS

Youse are sore on the rich men.

Quote from: trailer on September 24, 2022, 06:32:46 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on September 23, 2022, 06:09:10 PM
is tax cuts not good

They absolutely are. This is a good budget for intelligent people.

This aged well.

Quote from: Franko on September 26, 2022, 04:11:09 PM
is tax cuts not good

This aged well.

Maybe trailer is in the 1% and rolling in it and won't be relying on the NHS or social care in his twilight years...

lenny

Quote from: johnnycool on September 26, 2022, 05:22:13 PM
Quote from: Franko on September 26, 2022, 04:11:09 PM
is tax cuts not good

This aged well.

Maybe trailer is in the 1% and rolling in it and won't be relying on the NHS or social care in his twilight years...

Scandanavian countries have the highest taxation rates in the world and yet they regularly are rated the best countries to live in with regard to contentment among citizens.  That's because people know their taxes are going to provide really high quality public services including excellent health care systems and care for the elderly.