Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Hurler on the Bitch on January 02, 2008, 07:46:57 PM

Title: The Big Freeze!!!!
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on January 02, 2008, 07:46:57 PM
Met a guy today who told me that the weather in the next few days will be like 1963. He says that every year though, not that I can recall 1963. We really have it too easy here with that old tropical wind etc. Over on the continent or New York, now that is really cold at this moment. Met a guy who brought his Missus to Prague in November and couldn't walk 20 yards through fear of freezing to death. It's all balls here (warm ones) - we don't know what a winter is. The worst one I remember is 1979 .. football pools panel (who?) sitting every Saturday - matches postponed 30 times etc. They say we need a good old winter here to kill off them wasps / rats etc, but I don't think we're gonna get it this year. Can anyone recall the last decent snow we had here? (Please don't suggest that global warming bollix)
Title: Re: The Big Freeze!!!!
Post by: ziggysego on January 02, 2008, 07:48:56 PM
I thought that was only over in the UK. Is it hitting Ireland too? Crap...
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 02, 2008, 07:49:36 PM
The sun is splitting the trees here

It's still -10 degrees centigrade but if feels like -20 with the wind chill
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 02, 2008, 08:26:46 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on January 02, 2008, 07:46:57 PM
Met a guy today who told me that the weather in the next few days will be like 1963. He says that every year though, not that I can recall 1963. We really have it too easy here with that old tropical wind etc. Over on the continent or New York, now that is really cold at this moment. Met a guy who brought his Missus to Prague in November and couldn't walk 20 yards through fear of freezing to death. It's all balls here (warm ones) - we don't know what a winter is. The worst one I remember is 1979 .. football pools panel (who?) sitting every Saturday - matches postponed 30 times etc. They say we need a good old winter here to kill off them wasps / rats etc, but I don't think we're gonna get it this year. Can anyone recall the last decent snow we had here? (Please don't suggest that global warming bollix)

I was in Prague in the middle of November and didn't find it any colder than Ireland..
Coldest place i ever was,was at a match in St James Park in Newcastle,England one November,I thought i was never gonna get the feeling back into my feet or hands,And there was some hard bastard Geordie in front of me wearing flip flops and a short sleeved Newcastle jersey
Post by: stew on January 02, 2008, 08:29:15 PM

I have a few concerns here. To me it's always winter in Ireland, the feckin country is freezing half the time and the damp gets into your bones, is it any wonder that half of ye over there are kilt with arthritus?

Global warming is real hurler, it can and does mess with our weather patterns world wide? why do you say it is bollix?
Post by: stew on January 02, 2008, 08:32:14 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 02, 2008, 08:26:46 PM

I was in Prague in the middle of November and didn't find it any colder than Ireland..
Coldest place i ever was,was at a match in St James Park in Newcastle,England one November,I thought i was never gonna get the feeling back into my feet or hands,And there was some hard bastard Geordie in front of me wearing flip flops and a short sleeved Newcastle jersey

If Newcastle is the coldest place you have ever been in you have not travelled much. Where I live the weather was a sunny 10 fareinheit yesterday and by midnight the temp had dropped to -10 with a wind chill of -20. To copmpare Newcastle with that kind of temperature is laughable.

By the way. Prague is far colder than Newcastle, London or any other place in Engerland.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 02, 2008, 08:42:21 PM
Quote from: stew on January 02, 2008, 08:32:14 PM

If Newcastle is the coldest place you have ever been in you have not travelled much. Where I live the weather was a sunny 10 fareinheit yesterday and by midnight the temp had dropped to -10 with a wind chill of -20. To copmpare Newcastle with that kind of temperature is laughable.

By the way. Prague is far colder than Newcastle, London or any other place in Engerland.

Prague may well be colder i never said it wasn't but i didn't find it that cold when i was there,and that's all i said.Im not saying Newcastle is the coldest place on earth i just remember that being as cold as i have ever felt..
Where or when did i compare Newcastle to other city's or where you live ??? I find it strange that you think it's laughable when i never made these comments,i was just giving a personal view of something i experienced..
And actually I  have travelled all over the world but mainly to hotter countries like Australia,Thailand,Vietnam,Singapore,Brazil,South Africa,Dubai,Egypt to name a few so less of the attitude please
Post by: Niall Quinn on January 02, 2008, 08:45:56 PM

Where I live the weather was a sunny 10 fareinheit yesterday and by midnight the temp had dropped to -10 with a wind chill of -20. To copmpare Newcastle with that kind of temperature is laughable.

-20 Fahrenheit with wind chill? Where the feck are you Stew? Makes Toronto seem tropical!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 02, 2008, 08:48:17 PM
Green Bay - it was right and cold when I was down there - felt a lot colder than here
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 02, 2008, 08:49:00 PM
Coldest I have ever felt was at the club finals on Paddy's Day 2006. I swear I nearly had frostbite sitting there for the two matches.
Post by: stew on January 02, 2008, 09:10:12 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on January 02, 2008, 08:48:17 PM
Green Bay - it was right and cold when I was down there - felt a lot colder than here

Thats why the call it the frozen tundra. I have to take the two dogs out and no matter how many layers I put on the feckin cold just eats at you, any skin that is not covered up is covered in frost within three minutes. When it hit -100 a few years ago (wind chill assisted) I went out for thirty seconds just to see how bad it was. It was the most incredible experience. You can hardly breath within seconds of being exposed to the air and as for moving, it is painful to walk and all you want to do is curl up into a ball but if you do you would die in five minutes or less.

We have it cold alright but it is bright and sunny most of the time during the winter months. North and South Dakota are the coldest places in the states. In the Dakotas the temperature drops so much that the towns have you plug your batteries in at the parking meters. They will  have multiple days and prolonged spells where the actual temperature will be -30 or -40 and the wind chill will be -8- to -100.

Post by: Tyrones own on January 02, 2008, 09:13:14 PM
   New Years Eve in the Bronx in 2000, -25 with the wind chill,
 never ever experienced anything like it where your face actually hurts within
 20 or 30 seconds of being out in it, how the homeless stay out in it is beyond me.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on January 02, 2008, 09:36:47 PM
Did the Bronx in 91 at Christmas - lips were blue and the wind coming off the lakes was pure wicked. We do not know we are born. The thing is that I can handle the cold as you can wrap up and protect yourself but see this feckin mizzle ... there is no need in this place to wear a hat, unless you are a poser!!! However, Newcastle.... must say that I was in Edinburgh one January and it was like something that we have never experienced. Also .. Belfast is on the same line of latitude as Moscow... just shows you the influence of the Gulf Stream...
Post by: Square Ball on January 02, 2008, 09:40:02 PM
Quote from: stew on January 02, 2008, 09:10:12 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on January 02, 2008, 08:48:17 PM

Thats why the call it the frozen tundra. I have to take the two dogs out and no matter how many layers I put on the feckin cold just eats at you, any skin that is not covered up is covered in frost within three minutes. When it hit -100 a few years ago (wind chill assisted) I went out for thirty seconds just to see how bad it was. It was the most incredible experience. You can hardly breath within seconds of being exposed to the air and as for moving, it is painful to walk and all you want to do is curl up into a ball but if you do you would die in five minutes or less.

We have it cold alright but it is bright and sunny most of the time during the winter months. North and South Dakota are the coldest places in the states. In the Dakotas the temperature drops so much that the towns have you plug your batteries in at the parking meters. They will  have multiple days and prolonged spells where the actual temperature will be -30 or -40 and the wind chill will be -8- to -100.

as HOTB alludes to, god bless the Gulf Stream

Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 02, 2008, 09:40:50 PM
Agree with you re Edinburgh,Was there the same weekend we were in Newcastle they are only a couple of hours apart
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on January 02, 2008, 09:45:15 PM
There was a FREE PEEE minister years ago that used to argue that They - free pees - were the descendants of the Lost Tribe of Israel and the reason that God wanted them to live in 'Ulster' was because that HE diverted the Gulf Stream to give them a land of milk and honey (and fuckin rain!)...
Post by: FL/MAYO on January 02, 2008, 10:00:59 PM
In the 50's here today ;D ;D,the Floridians are freezing it is funny to watch them as they have no concept of what real cold feels like.
Post by: stephenite on January 02, 2008, 10:08:12 PM
Hasn't been less than 29 here for the last week and I'm sweatin like hell. Would kill for a walk along Enniscrone beach right now!

Coldest place I ever was when I lived in Dundee :o
Post by: ziggysego on January 02, 2008, 10:10:29 PM
The coldest place I've been to, is a club game at Greencastle. Needed a duffle coat.
Post by: CiKe on January 02, 2008, 10:29:22 PM
nothing in particular stands out but whoever mentioned the 2006 club finals is absolutely right. fecking freezing altogether and to make it worse they lost the bloody thing!
Post by: Puckoon on January 02, 2008, 11:03:03 PM
We are expecting between 5 and 10 feet of snow in the mountains this weekend. As in toronto - sun is splitting the trees, but its baltic cold.

Coldest place Ive ever been was budapest, january time. Cold to the bone.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on January 03, 2008, 12:43:26 AM
The coldest that I can remember was the famous Winter of Discontent over the winter of 1978/79. As well as chaos in labour relations, the weather brought chaos, with temperatures locally dropping to the minus high teens (celsius). In the era before double glazing, I can well remember the insides of all the windows freezing over and local rivers freezing over! The coldest I ever remember.

As for snow, January 1982 was the heaviest that I can recall. First day back after the Christmas break, and play abandoned by lunch time - make your own way home  :-\ and subsequently off for another week or more!!    8)
Post by: ONeill on January 03, 2008, 12:48:24 AM
I remember Mickey Harte saying that the players told him that the Croke Park changing rooms in 2002 after the Sligo game was a 'cold, dark place' and that they never wanted to return to there for a while as he didn't like cold and dark places. Poor Joe Kernan didn't hear that interview and walked straight into it the following year. He was never the same again.
Post by: never kickt a ball on January 03, 2008, 12:54:17 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 03, 2008, 12:48:24 AM
I remember Mickey Harte saying that the players told him that the Croke Park changing rooms in 2002 after the Sligo game was a 'cold, dark place' and that they never wanted to return to there for a while as he didn't like cold and dark places. Poor Joe Kernan didn't hear that interview and walked straight into it the following year. He was never the same again.

Was that not Tallys experience in 96?
Post by: Seany on January 03, 2008, 01:44:43 AM
Cold dark places?  I prefer warm wet places ;D
Post by: Puckoon on January 03, 2008, 01:47:26 AM
You sound like you were lost in the amazon for a while alright with the machine gun post. :o
Post by: Abble on January 03, 2008, 08:17:30 AM
mid December 2000 - NFL game Chicago Bears at home to Green Bay....sitting in -20 for over 3 hrs !
would do it all over again though
Post by: FL/MAYO on January 03, 2008, 01:37:36 PM
Just left work and it was 35 degrees the coldest that it has got since I moved to South Florida 15 years ago, chilly enough since I was wearing shorts, t-shirt and flip flops, it is nice for a change but back up into the 70's tomorrow ;).
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 03, 2008, 01:40:44 PM
it's 8:30am and it's - 17°C
It's going to be +14°C on Tuesday

this country is fecked
Post by: Orior on January 03, 2008, 01:55:33 PM

Ah the memories
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on January 03, 2008, 03:13:55 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 03, 2008, 01:55:33 PM

Ah the memories

Yeah the Football Pools Panel ... if you saw Football Focus on Grandstand that lunchtime and there were shots of the Pools Panel arriving at the FA then you knew that MOTD that night was Friar Tucked! They were fecking useless - in that it was not in their interest to award draws logically as then the jackpot would be lost (or won) each week... Always some pipe-smoking guy (Major Such and Such) was the chairman... I think 1979 was the year that the Scottish Cup tie was postponed about thirty times ... also the last year that I can recall hay on the pitch etc - Arsenal were okay though as they had undersoil heating and their game was a cert for tv that night...
Post by: Square Ball on January 03, 2008, 05:10:03 PM
may as well use this thread.

Is it snowing where you are?

not in Belfast at the minute
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 03, 2008, 05:29:16 PM
Confirmed sighting of snow in Lucan..I know because the girlfriend wouldn't go out to the line to bring in the washing because it was to cold so i had to bring them in
Post by: ziggysego on January 03, 2008, 05:29:36 PM
Not a flake, but it's bitter cold.
Post by: ONeill on January 03, 2008, 05:42:47 PM
Hailstones in Derrylaughan earlier.
Post by: fearsiuil on January 03, 2008, 06:05:26 PM
It´s a warm 33C here in Rio de Janeiro.......heading for Ipanema beach, Posto 9 ¨where Rio´s most lithe and tanned bodies tend to migrate¨  ;D.
Post by: aontroim on January 03, 2008, 06:20:36 PM
Was in Deadwood, S. Dakota a few years back for NYE - never felt cold like it - but the drinking and all night gambling helped matters greatly!
Post by: J70 on January 03, 2008, 06:28:56 PM
Its the middle of the day in NYC. Temperature is -9 celsius. With the windchill, its -13. Was -20 this morning.
Title: The Big Freeze!!!!
Post by: 5 Sams on January 03, 2008, 06:51:22 PM
Ta neart sneachta i nDeisceart an Duin :o
Post by: his holiness nb on January 03, 2008, 06:54:15 PM
Kids are throwing snowballs outside in East Meath.
Good old sprinkling, sticking too.
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 03, 2008, 07:04:11 PM
Not a cloud to be seen over my head today, but twas awfully cold.
Post by: Square Ball on January 03, 2008, 07:09:35 PM
snowing in Belfast now, back later
Post by: FL/MAYO on January 03, 2008, 07:19:12 PM
Has not snowed here since 1977 so no chance.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 03, 2008, 08:06:09 PM
Place is covered white now....A bit like Hill 16 during the summer  ;)

Post by: Square Ball on January 03, 2008, 08:25:20 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on January 03, 2008, 07:09:35 PM
snowing in Belfast now, back later

still snowing in to get changed and out again.brilliant
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 03, 2008, 08:53:08 PM
Fair amount of snow's fallen in Belfast. Mightn't be fit to get home tomorrow after work if this keeps up. What's it like in Armagh?
Post by: never kickt a ball on January 03, 2008, 08:55:50 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 03, 2008, 08:53:08 PM
Fair amount of snow's fallen in Belfast. Mightn't be fit to get home tomorrow after work if this keeps up. What's it like in Armagh?

Sh1tty, but don't know what the weathers like. Weather warnings everywhere. Ice on road from Dungiven to Derry
Post by: balladmaker on January 03, 2008, 08:58:00 PM
It's to rain tomorrow, so the snow won't be hanging around.  Was talking to someone in Canada today, they had four foot of snow fall in 24 hours...puts things into perspective.
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 03, 2008, 08:58:40 PM
All ye who have snow are making me jealous!!! >:(
Post by: ONeill on January 03, 2008, 09:30:03 PM
Loughgeil covered.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on January 03, 2008, 09:46:09 PM
Bitter in New York today  >:(
-6 with wind chill -15!
Post by: Minder on January 03, 2008, 09:47:33 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 03, 2008, 09:30:03 PM
Loughgeil covered.

There wont be a cow milked in it tonight.....
Post by: new devil on January 03, 2008, 10:41:17 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on January 03, 2008, 09:46:09 PM
-6 with wind chill -15!

And i was working outside on a roof along the water  :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(
Post by: Square Ball on January 03, 2008, 10:46:15 PM
still at it here, must be 4 or 5 inches and I am away to the pub..... wish me luck.

Post by: Norf Tyrone on January 03, 2008, 10:49:14 PM
Snowed quite heavy here in Derry a hour so there.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on January 03, 2008, 10:50:09 PM
Quote from: new devil on January 03, 2008, 10:41:17 PM
-6 with wind chill -15!

lovely :D
Glad I was in a heated building!
Happy New Year by the way ;)
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on January 03, 2008, 10:52:54 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 03, 2008, 09:30:03 PM
Loughgeil covered.

Don't want to sound flippant, but that must rank up ther with the best of the 'who gives a flying f**k' statements.. Only joking! or am I?
Post by: stephenite on January 04, 2008, 12:58:11 AM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on January 03, 2008, 10:52:54 PM
but that must rank up ther with the best of the 'who gives a flying f**k' statements.. Only joking! or am I?

Who gives a flying f**k?  ;)
Post by: new devil on January 04, 2008, 01:00:50 AM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on January 03, 2008, 10:50:09 PM
Quote from: new devil on January 03, 2008, 10:41:17 PM
-6 with wind chill -15!

lovely :D
Glad I was in a heated building!
Happy New Year by the way ;)

The first day Ive worked outside since last July >:(
Same to you lad  :)
Post by: Square Ball on January 04, 2008, 01:22:14 AM
still snowing in Belfast
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 04, 2008, 01:40:54 AM
Fcuk you boys in North America and Australia, we have snow in North Belfast, bout 12 cms so far but she's falling good and i'm hoping no rain tomorrow - off work you see !! CLASSSSSSSSSSSSS  ;D
Post by: ziggysego on January 04, 2008, 02:11:33 AM
Not a flake in Greencastle.
Post by: J70 on January 04, 2008, 02:50:45 AM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on January 03, 2008, 07:19:12 PM

It was 85 degrees on a few of the days I was in Florida over the Christmas. Nothing like lounging in the pool on Christmas day!

They were warning of temperatures in the 30s for this week though.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 04, 2008, 02:52:35 AM
Quote from: J70 on January 04, 2008, 02:50:45 AM

It was 85 degrees on a few of the days I was in Florida over the Christmas. Nothing like lounging in the pool on Christmas day!

Thought you said that you where coming "home" for Christmas?
Post by: J70 on January 04, 2008, 03:00:21 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 04, 2008, 02:52:35 AM

Didn't say that, unless you misunderstood me at some point.

I won't be home again until the summer - around Ulster Final time (or the early stages of the qualifiers more likely! :P).
Post by: ziggysego on January 04, 2008, 03:00:40 AM
According to BBC, Mid Ulster will get 2 inches of snow fall tomorrow at midday.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 04, 2008, 03:04:46 AM
Quote from: J70 on January 04, 2008, 03:00:21 AM

I won't be home again until the summer - around Ulster Final time (or the early stages of the qualifiers more likely! :P).

Yeah your always full of optimism J70!  :P
Post by: Puckoon on January 04, 2008, 03:06:31 AM
The sky here as darkness arrived was one of those errie grey ones, full of threatening snow. The wind has been blasting all day. The storm is arriving tonight and tomorrow. Wont be out the door at the weekend I fear.

Post by: J70 on January 04, 2008, 03:16:55 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 04, 2008, 03:04:46 AM

Realistic, and maybe a bit fatalistic too. Years of bitter experience and dashed hopes!

Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 04, 2008, 03:20:58 AM
Quote from: J70 on January 04, 2008, 03:16:55 AM

Realistic, and maybe a bit fatalistic too. Years of bitter experience and dashed hopes!

Jezuz man-dear, how long have you been in the states? Surely you where there in "92"!

Optimism is Dun na nGall's biggest weapon!
Post by: J70 on January 04, 2008, 03:31:15 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 04, 2008, 03:20:58 AM
Quote from: J70 on January 04, 2008, 03:16:55 AM

Jezuz man-dear, how long have you been in the states? Surely you where there in "92"!

Optimism is Dun na nGall's biggest weapon!

That was 15 years ago! ;D

We've wandered the desert most of the time before and since!

Seriously though, I don't think we have what it takes to win an Ulster this year. We don't win enough possession or score enough when it matters, and I haven't heard of any new discoveries at midfield or in the full forwards since last summer.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 04, 2008, 08:21:28 AM
Wee Belfast town did get it pretty bad with the snow overnight but, unbelievably, blody northern Ireland snailways from Lurgan are still operating this morning despite Ciaran Rogan. In work as normal but not a Belfastie in here to be seen.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 04, 2008, 10:42:42 AM
Latest from the north of Ireland Met office, Friday 4 January 2008, 10am:

Snow depths after last night's unexpectedly heavy snowfall seem to be generally around 10-15 cm over parts of Cos Down, Armagh and South and East Antrim.

Widespread ice is currently affecting many untreated surfaces. A further active weather front will bring further sleet and snow eastwards later this morning and afternoon but this should slowly turn to rain at low levels.

The ensuing thaw of lying snow and rain will ensure a good deal of surface water late afternoon and early evening with the risk of some localised surface flooding - particularly where the heaviest snowfalls have occurred.
Post by: ONeill on January 04, 2008, 10:54:34 AM
Completely snowed in in Glenavy.
Post by: ONeill on January 04, 2008, 10:57:19 AM
(http://www.extremefunnyhumor.com/pics/Poor_snowman.jpg)
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 04, 2008, 11:49:01 AM
Completely covered in Ballina now just since 10'o Clock , Should be some craic getting home from work this evening
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 04, 2008, 11:52:52 AM
Nice avatar Deel Rover though it would be better without the green/red jersey the other player is grand though  ;)
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 04, 2008, 11:58:35 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 04, 2008, 11:52:52 AM
Nice avatar Deel Rover though it would be better without the green/red jersey the other player is grand though  ;)

Thanks LL i thought you would appreciate it, that was as close as he got to the ball that day ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 04, 2008, 12:02:52 PM
Which game was it
Was it the one where we had ye well beaten but then decided to let ye back into it so the GAA could have another big pay out with a replay  ;)
or was it he second game where we felt sorry for ye and let ye beat us  :-[
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 04, 2008, 12:07:23 PM
ah it was the 2nd day LL when we toyed with ye for 64 minutes yet still nearly lost the game when your Full Forward nearly fisted the ball in to the net, ah to think then that 7 days later we would beat the "mighty Dubs". I still can't put the Mayo  Dublin match on my Ipod even with the help that you have given :(
Post by: illdecide on January 04, 2008, 12:21:32 PM
Snowing like feck now in dirty Lurgan :D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 04, 2008, 12:26:03 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on January 04, 2008, 12:07:23 PM
ah it was the 2nd day LL when we toyed with ye for 64 minutes yet still nearly lost the game when your Full Forward nearly fisted the ball in to the net, ah to think then that 7 days later we would beat the "mighty Dubs". I still can't put the Mayo  Dublin match on my Ipod even with the help that you have given :(

Did you use that Videora program? I was able put 2003 Leinster Final on my ipod
Post by: uselessfootballer on January 04, 2008, 12:29:37 PM
Snowing again in Belfast, cue the early onset of the rush hour home that will clog up all the roads again just like this morning
Post by: stpauls on January 04, 2008, 12:39:03 PM
its only a light shower UF, nothing like last night, though as you said, give to about 2 and then watch out for the traffic reports!
Post by: clarshack on January 04, 2008, 12:42:29 PM
snowing in dungannon a fair bit now. was hardly any snow till now.
Post by: nifan on January 04, 2008, 12:47:08 PM
had to drive to drogheda last night and got hit with the snow en route
stuck for 1.5 hours at banbridge due to a lorry accident in front.
Took 4.5 hours all in.

Then had to come up this morning again, though it was a lot easier!
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 04, 2008, 12:52:40 PM
Just heard the civ in Stormount are getting let out at 1pm.  Utilitarianism's a great yoke.
Post by: Donagh on January 04, 2008, 01:06:21 PM
That's cat Fiodoir. Did you see the snowman I made this morning?  ;D
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 04, 2008, 01:07:49 PM
The future of academia is in safe hands, then, D!
Post by: balladmaker on January 04, 2008, 01:37:02 PM
Bucketing rain now in lovely Armagh.........its making short work of the snow. 

Talk about the news people blowing things out of all proportion.  I heard radio an hour ago advising people to only leave home if it was an emergency....ffs....you'd think the next ice age was upon us!
Post by: ziggysego on January 04, 2008, 03:32:34 PM
It's like something out of The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe.
Post by: redcard on January 04, 2008, 03:49:28 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 04, 2008, 02:11:33 AM
Not a flake in Greencastle.

There you go Ziggysego  ;)
(http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:hU7KYO8-ZITFlM:http://www.esnacks.com/img/full/flake.jpg)
Post by: Puckoon on January 05, 2008, 04:06:52 AM
4 inches here in the reno valley floor since 6pm (its now 8pm). Snow is pelting down. The donner pass is closed and they have set up emergency shelter for travellers at truckee high school. It rained from 10pm last night until the snow started, and the river that my house sits on has risen over 3 feet.
Post by: Tyrones own on January 05, 2008, 05:52:55 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 05, 2008, 04:06:52 AM
4 inches here in the reno valley floor since 6pm (its now 8pm). Snow is pelting down. The donner pass is closed and they have set up emergency shelter for travellers at truckee high school. It rained from 10pm last night until the snow started, and the river that my house sits on has risen over 3 feet.

No complaints here Puck, Southshore needs all it can get!
Life is good........
Post by: Puckoon on January 05, 2008, 05:57:13 AM
Snowing up a, well, storm here.
Post by: Puckoon on January 05, 2008, 06:01:58 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on January 05, 2008, 05:52:55 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 05, 2008, 04:06:52 AM

No complaints here Puck, Southshore needs all it can get!
Life is good........
My only complaint is that if it warms up at all any time soon, we are fucked again as our bottom wall is about 15ft from the riverbank of the truckee, which right now is thundering outside from all the rain and melt from the foothills. It was relatively warm all day, then the snow hit around 5. We got the bottom room flooded in 2005.
Stopped into hollywood video on the way home, stocking up supplies for a weekend indoors... The cue was wrapped around the store. Ive decided to watch re-runs and it will be a good chance to empty the freezer. :-\
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 05, 2008, 06:04:41 AM
Puckoon - that's a mighty fine dog ya have there
Post by: Puckoon on January 05, 2008, 06:09:16 AM
Cheers, thats memphis, he was the runt of the litter gabriel. Stuck them in there to reference the snow depth. We were out tearing about in it and now the pair of them are nackered.
Post by: Tyrones own on January 05, 2008, 06:32:50 AM

Which one deserved the avatar Puck, is there a reason for it?
Post by: ludermor on January 05, 2008, 06:36:47 AM
26 degress in Queenstown NZ im glad to report, got feckin scauled yesterday.
Post by: Puckoon on January 05, 2008, 06:41:20 AM
The one in the avatar is Elvis, the bigger red one. Im not sure why I put him in, I guess at the time it was the best picture for the purpose after they get all squished up. My camera takes the pictures right and big, and Im not one for footering about with changing the size and what not. He will be there for the duration I think.

When we got the dogs Elvis was and still is a bit more of an eejit, always up to something, and the smaller blonde memphis is very quiet and calm. My wife didnt like dogs when we got them so she bonded with the little one much quicker, so I guess I felt like I needed to take Elvis under my wing and he just kinda got labelled as being my dog.
They are still only puppies though, and have alot of growing left. They were born on St Patricks day, so I had to take them ;)
Post by: Tyrones own on January 05, 2008, 06:44:28 AM

Did you take a trip to graceland lately by any chance Puck?
Post by: Puckoon on January 05, 2008, 06:46:20 AM
Thats a whole other story TO... a whole nother story. I did wear a frank chism elvis jumpsuit on stage once, but we will leave it at that. :D

Anyways, Id rather feed my avatar than yours!

Havnt been to graceland, but its on the bucket list.
Post by: Tyrones own on January 05, 2008, 06:56:20 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 05, 2008, 06:46:20 AM
Thats a whole other story TO... a whole nother story. I did wear a frank chism elvis jumpsuit on stage once, but we will leave it at that. :D

Yea but the craic's good, I read the book "Is Elvis alive" before visiting Graceland
and by Jaysus did it make me a skeptic during my visit.. I do recommend it by the way!
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 05, 2008, 12:42:17 PM
Elvis is alive.
Post by: Hardy on January 05, 2008, 12:49:46 PM
Elvis is adog.
Post by: ziggysego on January 05, 2008, 01:01:06 PM
Elvis is King of the Dogs!
Post by: Square Ball on January 05, 2008, 02:01:19 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 05, 2008, 06:46:20 AM

Frank Chism, Oh my God, seen him a load of times in the Abercorn many many years ago,  is he still alive?
Post by: Square Ball on January 29, 2008, 07:01:46 PM
Guys

early weather warning for snow on Friday, bring it on, off work for two days to use up leave
Post by: ziggysego on January 29, 2008, 07:55:56 PM
I'm fed up with all the snow warnings. They're never as bad as predicted.
Post by: Square Ball on January 29, 2008, 08:18:09 PM
http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/weather/uk/ni/ni_forecast_warnings.html (http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/weather/uk/ni/ni_forecast_warnings.html)

get the thermals ready Zig
Post by: ziggysego on January 29, 2008, 08:29:57 PM
Damn, was hoping to go to the game on Saturday night.
Post by: Square Ball on January 29, 2008, 10:06:16 PM
I am hoping for the snow to keep me in, got a promotion board to do first thing on Monday so I need to stay in and do a wee bit of work for it.
Post by: Gold on January 29, 2008, 10:43:13 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 02, 2008, 08:42:21 PM

Prague may well be colder i never said it wasn't but i didn't find it that cold when i was there,and that's all i said.Im not saying Newcastle is the coldest place on earth i just remember that being as cold as i have ever felt..
Where or when did i compare Newcastle to other city's or where you live ??? I find it strange that you think it's laughable when i never made these comments,i was just giving a personal view of something i experienced..
And actually I  have travelled all over the world but mainly to hotter countries like Australia,Thailand,Vietnam,Singapore,Brazil,South Africa,Dubai,Egypt to name a few so less of the attitude please

i was in prague after christmas and i couldnt even begn to explain how cold it was

but i'll try!

the second i stepped out of the airport to get in a taxi i said to the woman--do u feel that--its strange but i thought my face was gonna be burnt off with the cold--its just like a wall of heat in spain or turkey etc in the summer hanging over you only its a wall of cold--i would have paid anyone 1million Krona for a pair of long johns--i had 5 layers on constantly but couldnt enjoy myself it was that cold--even during the day you could hardly shop or stroll round the sights

great city but cold to the bone--i could walk about in a t-shirt back here no bother all winter as its nothing compared to Prague--its hard to describe but my advice is never to go in that direction in winter!!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 29, 2008, 10:47:14 PM
Jesus lads - 10cm of snow - whatever will ya's do?  :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: stephenite on January 30, 2008, 01:59:05 AM
I'm sweltering here in a temp of 33; not built for this kind of weather. I'd love a bit of snow
Post by: Puckoon on January 30, 2008, 02:13:24 AM
Im ready for 101 again. Constant snow this past 14 days. Miserable when it melts and everything is salted.
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on January 30, 2008, 03:20:52 AM
Yep its 30 degree here and as the man says '' I am sweating like a paedophile in a Barney suit!''
Post by: Hereiam on January 30, 2008, 10:45:09 AM
Don't get ur hopes up for a good fall of snow. Havin looked at a few charts its not going to count for much with the rain coming in from the west on sunday evening and with this the temperatures will rising again. Its going to be cold for a few days but thats it. The days of the snow falling and lying for a few days seem to be at an end for now anyway.
Post by: armaghniac on January 30, 2008, 12:15:11 PM
There might be a fair amount of snow in the North-West, and Friday will be goolie freezer, but it won't last.

QuoteThe days of the snow falling and lying for a few days seem to be at an end for now anyway.

it's the faster pace of life nowadays, the oul fella used to tell us about how snow would stay for weeks, now it has to move on!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 30, 2008, 01:40:46 PM
Here's our next 5 days - the numbers in red are the high temperature for the day

(http://i25.tinypic.com/qz11fa.jpg)
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 31, 2008, 08:49:20 AM
Gabriel

Is that the airport that that Air Canada flight took off from with the pilot that went bananas?

Wee weather update for us liver-lillied ones at home - here's hoping norn iron's transport 'infrastructure' collapses overnight:

Today:
Some sunny spells but also plenty of showers, these turning increasingly wintry with snow and local blizzards on hills, some snow possible to low ground for a time. Strong to gale force westerly winds, occasionally severe gale force this afternoon. Maximum temperature 6 °C.

Tonight:
Showers turn increasingly to snow overnight, perhaps merging to give a longer spell of snow. Lying snow drifting in the strong to gale force, occasionally severe gale force, northwesterly winds. Minimum temperature 0 °C.

Friday 1 February:
Bitterly cold with frequent, occasionally heavy snow showers with some significant accumulations expected, the snow drifting in the strong to gale force northwesterly wind. The showers should become lighter later. Maximum temperature 4 °C.
Post by: Red Ranger on January 31, 2008, 11:27:38 AM
100% work from home day Friday then.  ;)
Post by: Aerlik on January 31, 2008, 01:06:41 PM
Stephenite, I wish it was 33C here.  It hit 56C here two weeks ago.  That's shade temperature.   Mind you I'm only 20mins flight time from Marble Bar, the Marble Bar.  Thank God I didn't have to fly that day. The hottest I ever experienced was 63C in the Goldfields but in the open sun on a bitumen airstrip back in 2003

The Aussies always say to me how can you stick the cold, well, I say to them it's easier to heat up than to cool down.  But anything below -5C is the exception.
Post by: FL/MAYO on January 31, 2008, 03:42:36 PM
It stays about 97degrees Fahrenheit (36C) here in Florida during the summer but the humidity is a killer as it zaps your energy away, it is just horrible.

But now it is 75 (25C) not a cloud in the sky, all the doors and window are open, its just beautiful, not bad for the end of January.  ;D ;D
Post by: new devil on January 31, 2008, 03:49:57 PM
Was in Florida 2 weeks ago it was pissing it down although didn't see much of the weather
Post by: Minder on January 31, 2008, 03:53:55 PM
Quote from: new devil on January 31, 2008, 03:49:57 PM
Was in Florida 2 weeks ago it was pissing it down although didn't see much of the weather

You are going to have to stay out of the knocking shops Devil.....
Post by: new devil on January 31, 2008, 04:00:59 PM
Yea i wish thats what it was  :-\
Post by: FL/MAYO on January 31, 2008, 04:04:52 PM
Quote from: new devil on January 31, 2008, 03:49:57 PM

Were were you? here we had 10 inches of rain in 3 hours one evening a couple of weeks ago the roads were like rivers, unusual for winter. The weather is unpredictable in January but from February to May it is usually dry.
Post by: new devil on January 31, 2008, 04:08:30 PM
Orlando...Sanford airport to be precise
Post by: Square Ball on February 01, 2008, 09:59:36 AM
wheres the snow? not in Belfast anyway!!!

is there any anywhere?
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 01, 2008, 10:06:25 AM
Personally Im praying for snow. In this part of england, ive seen frost twice this year and no snow what so ever. At least if we get some this week the planet isnt completely fucked...
Post by: Onlooker on February 01, 2008, 11:14:12 AM
There was a fall of snow here in South Tipperary this morning.  Most of it has thawed by now, but it is still on the higher ground.  Surprised that Belfast had no snow, when we had it this far south.   Must be something to do with all the hot air coming from the players' strike in Cork!!!.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 01, 2008, 11:27:11 AM
Savage bit of snow in Newport, Tipp, as well. It looked like a scene from up at home (Offaly) 20 years ago. Lovely to see, but the roads were a bit dicey. I'd say there was 3-4 inches accumulated on my car this morning.

Then when I hit Finnegan's roundabout in Limerick it was like a switch was turned off. Gone. Green fields again with a bare hint of snow.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 01, 2008, 02:28:06 PM
5 inches in 3 hours this morning  ;D
Post by: AZOffaly on February 01, 2008, 02:32:31 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on February 01, 2008, 02:28:06 PM
5 inches in 3 hours this morning  ;D

Was that in Toronto Gab? That's roughly how long it was snowing in Newport as well.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 01, 2008, 02:38:48 PM
aye - and it's still going - reckon it could be 10 by the end of the day

off home at lunch-time hopefully
Post by: ziggysego on February 01, 2008, 03:08:15 PM
Feck all down here in Greencastle.

Was watching the weather at 1.30pm.

"There might be snow. Don't know where or how bad. That is, if there is any snow!"
Post by: bert and ernie on February 01, 2008, 06:16:25 PM
It's amazing how weather forcasters can get it so wrong; if you got it so wrong in any other job, you'd more and likely get the road.
Post by: Son_of_Sam on February 01, 2008, 08:34:48 PM
Loads of snow in Mayo, not thawed out either, it fell several times today. Mountains are all completely covered in snow, but if you look towards Galway the mountains down there have no snow on them.
Post by: ziggysego on February 01, 2008, 09:14:03 PM
Not alot though.
Post by: ziggysego on February 01, 2008, 09:16:21 PM
Doubt it.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on February 01, 2008, 10:24:08 PM
Looks like its started in Beal Feirtse.............................................
Post by: Square Ball on February 01, 2008, 10:24:27 PM
Snowing now!!  8)
Post by: Minder on February 01, 2008, 10:24:47 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on February 01, 2008, 10:24:08 PM
Looks like its started in Beal Feirtse.............................................

Yep, snowing in the Wild West.....
Post by: Son_of_Sam on February 01, 2008, 10:42:11 PM
Snow quite heavy again in Castlebar area (Central Mayo)

Hows the snow in Derry??????????????????

Supposed to be going to the game tomorrow.

Also is there much snow in East Mayo, Sligo, North Leitrim, Donegal (i.e. the trip up)????????????????????
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on February 01, 2008, 10:46:32 PM
Sort of eased off in Bell Fursty .... but still freezing ..... could not see a lot of sport amarach if the cold snap continues overnight..
Post by: Square Ball on February 01, 2008, 10:51:09 PM
Still going on the Ormeau road
Post by: Square Ball on February 01, 2008, 10:54:05 PM
Hurler, where are you?
Post by: Sky Blue on February 01, 2008, 10:55:17 PM
Nothng to talk about in the capital.
Post by: Son_of_Sam on February 01, 2008, 11:01:44 PM
Quote from: Sky Blue on February 01, 2008, 10:55:17 PM
Nothng to talk about in the capital.

You in Galway City?
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on February 01, 2008, 11:09:48 PM
Reference - Where does Hurler on the Bitch Live ...?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Belfast

Still snowing ... could feck up the whole NFL and I'll give you even money that the Walsh Cup will not go ahead....
Bring back the league in the autumn...
Post by: FermPundit on February 01, 2008, 11:10:26 PM
Heavy enough snow now in Enniskillen. Started about 10 mins ago
Post by: FermPundit on February 01, 2008, 11:44:58 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 01, 2008, 11:42:00 PM
Stopped.

Still going strong in the west!
Post by: Son_of_Sam on February 01, 2008, 11:49:14 PM
Quote from: FermPundit on February 01, 2008, 11:44:58 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 01, 2008, 11:42:00 PM
Stopped.

Still going strong in the west!

You not calling Fermanagh the West are you? I was in a night club in Belfast last year & this girl started chatting me up. Of course one of the questions was Where are you from, I said the West, she said "O your from Fermanagh", I responded "No I'm from the real West, Mayo over in Connacht". She had to ask was that like in the Republic or something, she didn't really care what was beyond the border. So I gathered she was of an Orange persuassion not yet in the whole lets all get along frame of mind yet.

In short, Fermanaghs not the West.
Post by: MayoMan on February 01, 2008, 11:52:00 PM
Nice cold clear dry night in Dublin........  8)
Post by: Son_of_Sam on February 01, 2008, 11:55:44 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 01, 2008, 11:53:04 PM
Some people say that Twinbrook is not in the West.

Ok here goes, going to sound stupid, but wheres twinbrook?

Actually some of the Dublin Medja (Government of Occupation in the East) refer to Westmeath & Longford as the West, for Gods sake if its not West of the Shannon its not the West {Maybe, an exemption for calling Donegal, Cork, Kerry or Limerick the West when refering to the Western Seaboard, but not Fermanagh, Loingford or Westmeath}
Post by: Son_of_Sam on February 01, 2008, 11:59:13 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 01, 2008, 11:57:56 PM
The very west of Belfast. Some say it's in Lisburn.

Ya same happens up in Dublin with places like Lucan or even Ashtown. Wrecks my head.
Post by: ONeill on February 02, 2008, 12:06:25 AM
The Salmon's Leap?
Post by: Lecale2 on February 02, 2008, 12:12:05 AM
Quote from: ONeill on February 02, 2008, 12:06:25 AM
The Salmon's Leap?

Do they?
Post by: Minder on February 02, 2008, 12:13:37 AM
Quote from: hardstation on February 01, 2008, 11:57:56 PM
The very west of Belfast. Some say it's in Lisburn.
nobody in lisburn does!
Post by: ONeill on February 02, 2008, 12:22:30 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on February 02, 2008, 12:12:05 AM
The Salmon's Leap?

Do they?

Thon'd be after the s.
Post by: ziggysego on February 02, 2008, 12:25:12 AM
The Salmon's Leap?

So does Todd.

Bet you all though I was going to say something else ;)
Post by: Son_of_Sam on February 02, 2008, 12:34:51 AM
Then again I think Roscommon is basically the East of Ireland  ::) Pass Ballaghadeereen & your in that place over there, then cross the Shannon you might as well be in Bangalore or Bankock, damn Easties
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 03, 2008, 04:36:34 PM
practically roasting here today

7 degrees  :D
Post by: Puckoon on March 03, 2008, 04:40:56 PM
Am in the shorts today. A nice healthy high of 68. :D
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 03, 2009, 10:21:32 AM
oh its a cold one this moring -6 but a beautifull morning all the same.