Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Truth hurts on May 18, 2022, 02:29:13 PM

Title: Irish men Rosary
Post by: Truth hurts on May 18, 2022, 02:29:13 PM
are any of you part of these groups?  there was a group in Newcastle last weekend saying a Rosary in the middle of the town
Title: Re: Irish men Rosary
Post by: screenexile on May 18, 2022, 02:38:26 PM
This belongs in the Tyrone thread surely???
Post by: general_lee on May 18, 2022, 02:42:37 PM
Weirdos. Up there with Knights of Columbanus
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 18, 2022, 02:47:22 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 18, 2022, 02:38:26 PM

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FNGogDLXIAYO8G1?format=jpg&name=large)
Post by: thewobbler on May 18, 2022, 02:54:37 PM
I'm not what's you'd call up to date with the bible. But I'm pretty sure that it doesn't look well upon unnecessarily public praying.
Post by: Truth hurts on May 18, 2022, 02:57:30 PM
Quote from: general_lee on May 18, 2022, 02:42:37 PM
Weirdos. Up there with Knights of Columbanus

They do a lot of charitable work in communitys
Post by: bigarsedkeeper on May 18, 2022, 03:02:01 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 18, 2022, 02:54:37 PM
I'm not what's you'd call up to date with the bible. But I'm pretty sure that it doesn't look well upon unnecessarily public praying.

I'm a bit out of the loop with religious stuff - when did this become a thing?
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on May 18, 2022, 03:02:57 PM
The photo above is Magherafelt. That's what has Derry on a run. Time the rest of ye get on your knees ;D
Post by: Windmill abu on May 18, 2022, 03:06:31 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on May 18, 2022, 02:47:22 PM

That picture is of The Diamond in Magherafelt. When you look on Google Maps where they are facing, it is a Union Jack flying from a lamp post.
Post by: johnnycool on May 18, 2022, 03:16:23 PM
Quote from: Windmill abu on May 18, 2022, 03:06:31 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on May 18, 2022, 02:47:22 PM

That picture is of The Diamond in Magherafelt. When you look on Google Maps where they are facing, it is a Union Jack flying from a lamp post.

Has a big whiff of "look at me" about it.
Post by: J70 on May 18, 2022, 03:58:41 PM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on May 18, 2022, 03:02:57 PM
The photo above is Magherafelt. That's what has Derry on a run. Time the rest of ye get on your knees ;D

Post by: J70 on May 18, 2022, 04:00:14 PM
What are they praying for?

And why are they arranged in a series of neat single file lines?
Post by: balladmaker on May 18, 2022, 04:04:23 PM
Quote from: J70 on May 18, 2022, 04:00:14 PM

Praying that they won't get COVID. 

Socially distancing just incase they get COVID whilst praying.
Post by: Keyboard Warrior on May 18, 2022, 04:21:12 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on May 18, 2022, 04:04:23 PM
Quote from: J70 on May 18, 2022, 04:00:14 PM

Praying that they won't get COVID. 

Socially distancing just incase they get COVID whilst praying.

You mean "the COVID".
Post by: restorepride on May 18, 2022, 04:32:24 PM
Maybe they are praying for women to be made priests?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 18, 2022, 05:29:59 PM
I believe the right calls this sort of thing "virtue signalling."
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 18, 2022, 05:41:32 PM
Praying for Louth to win an AI in 3 years.....the supreme leader has set them to task....
Post by: screenexile on May 18, 2022, 09:35:36 PM
Not a Derry man among them Gabe they're all Loughshore men sure St Pius and the Convent were infiltrated by Tyrone wans for decades as you well know!!
Post by: Gmac on May 18, 2022, 11:10:52 PM
Isn't praying in public banned in NI
Post by: restorepride on May 18, 2022, 11:58:27 PM
Quote from: Gmac on May 18, 2022, 11:10:52 PM
Isn't praying in public banned in NI
There has to be a protocol about it!
Post by: Eire90 on May 19, 2022, 12:05:07 AM
have those groups not been infiltrated by the far right and the mcconnel from donegal guy.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on May 19, 2022, 12:14:00 AM
Quote from: Eire90 on May 19, 2022, 12:05:07 AM
have those groups not been infiltrated by the far right and the mcconnel from donegal guy.
I think you're right. While a lot of those involved are well meaning, there is a strong right wing anti vaccine, pro life influence
Post by: restorepride on May 19, 2022, 12:20:30 AM
Quote from: Eire90 on May 19, 2022, 12:05:07 AM
Our family rosary used to be infiltrated by the far left - so we all left the Hail Holy Queen to herself.
Post by: Loughshore2022 on May 19, 2022, 07:29:35 PM
The only times I've been involved in rosaries is at cemetery Sundays, just repeating the same prayer over and over. My uncle is going to one of those pilgrimages to Bosnia next week, another odd thing.
Post by: seafoid on May 19, 2022, 08:42:33 PM
The Rosary is faster as Gaeilge.
Post by: johnnycool on May 20, 2022, 09:11:55 AM
Quote from: seafoid on May 19, 2022, 08:42:33 PM
The Rosary is faster as Gaeilge.

You haven't heard my da going over the first part of the Hail Mary, kneeling into a chair, just a blurr,

"Hail Mary, blah blah... Jesus"
Post by: Rudi on May 20, 2022, 09:43:13 AM
I think prayer is a private thing. I don't like the idea of a collection of people taking over a square in a public area to say the rosary. Some people have innocent purposes, others more sinister.
Rosary should be confined to churches, religious centers & what people do on their own homes as consenting adults is their business.
Personally I say a decade of the rosary every morning on the way to work, my wife & kids wouldn't be aware of this. I got this from my mother, who took huge stock in prayer, but would never force it own any of her kids.

This public rosary for some appears to be a response to the muzzling of people with conservative views by a left wing media & political system. It should be ok for people to question vaccine passports, abortion, same sex marriage without been called bigots, conspiracy theorists etc. This constant filtering of people with conservative/ center right views has pushed some people to the margins.

I'm feed up of the constant media driven left is good, right is baad. Freedom of speech is great as long as you agree with the lefties. You won't get me saying the rosary in a public place all the same, but if a right leaning party with plenty of decent, courageous candidates like Peadar Tobin with some (not all) Gript media principles, I'm on it.
Post by: marty34 on May 20, 2022, 11:07:29 AM
Quote from: Rudi on May 20, 2022, 09:43:13 AM
I think prayer is a private thing. I don't like the idea of a collection of people taking over a square in a public area to say the rosary. Some people have innocent purposes, others more sinister.
Rosary should be confined to churches, religious centers & what people do on their own homes as consenting adults is their business.
Personally I say a decade of the rosary every morning on the way to work, my wife & kids wouldn't be aware of this. I got this from my mother, who took huge stock in prayer, but would never force it own any of her kids.

This public rosary for some appears to be a response to the muzzling of people with conservative views by a left wing media & political system. It should be ok for people to question vaccine passports, abortion, same sex marriage without been called bigots, conspiracy theorists etc. This constant filtering of people with conservative/ center right views has pushed some people to the margins.

I'm feed up of the constant media driven left is good, right is baad. Freedom of speech is great as long as you agree with the lefties. You won't get me saying the rosary in a public place all the same, but if a right leaning party with plenty of decent, courageous candidates like Peadar Tobin with some (not all) Gript media principles, I'm on it.

Are Aontú involed in these public rosary meetings?

Is it men only who are there?
Post by: Rudi on May 20, 2022, 11:20:02 AM
Quote from: marty34 on May 20, 2022, 11:07:29 AM

Are Aontú involed in these public rosary meetings?

Is it men only who are there?

Dont know much about it Marty, I thought by the thread title it was men only. Aontu have some poor candidates in the south, dont know if they attend these rosaries or not.
Post by: Keyser soze on May 20, 2022, 11:20:11 AM

If its right for people to question vaccines, moon landings and the roundness of earth etc it equally my right to laugh at them and call them arseholes. People on SM calling you a w**ker isn't a left wing media conspiracy.
Post by: Rudi on May 20, 2022, 11:23:57 AM
Quote from: Keyser soze on May 20, 2022, 11:20:11 AM

If its right for people to question vaccines, moon landings and the roundness of earth etc it equally my right to laugh at them and call them arseholes. People on SM calling you a w**ker isn't a left wing media conspiracy.

That's a whole load of nothing, much like what's between your ears.
Post by: Eire90 on May 20, 2022, 11:29:38 AM
i here some say sunday mass in ireland was just  one big virtue signal  people wanting others to see how much money they were handing over to the priest
Post by: trueblue1234 on May 20, 2022, 11:33:01 AM
Quote from: Eire90 on May 20, 2022, 11:29:38 AM
i here some say sunday mass in ireland was just  one big virtue signal  people wanting others to see how much money they were handing over to the priest

Well covid did for that. DD all the rave now.
Post by: Eire90 on May 20, 2022, 12:04:51 PM
whats dd
Post by: Armagh18 on May 20, 2022, 12:33:02 PM

You're making his point for him.... Christ.
Post by: trueblue1234 on May 20, 2022, 12:41:53 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on May 20, 2022, 12:33:02 PM

You're making his point for him.... Christ.

But you think it's ok for people on sm to tell others that they shouldn't get married? Or that people are sheeple for following covid regulations?
Post by: gallsman on May 20, 2022, 01:36:33 PM
Quote from: Rudi on May 20, 2022, 09:43:13 AMwith some (not all) Gript media principles, I'm on it.

Still pushing this shite I see.
Post by: Rudi on May 20, 2022, 02:09:20 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 20, 2022, 01:36:33 PM
Quote from: Rudi on May 20, 2022, 09:43:13 AMwith some (not all) Gript media principles, I'm on it.

Still the biggest scooby on the board I see. Intolerant far left, I'm right, your wrong.
If you were an icecream, you'd have yourself licked to death by now.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 20, 2022, 02:35:42 PM
Quote from: Rudi on May 20, 2022, 02:09:20 PM

Still the biggest scooby on the board I see. Intolerant far left, I'm right, your wrong.

Whatever happened to Iceman, he'd have loved this thread.. It was your icecream bit that reminded me lol
Post by: gallsman on May 20, 2022, 02:57:12 PM
Quote from: Rudi on May 20, 2022, 02:09:20 PM

"Intolerant". Laughably soft.

Enjoy your "I'm so hard done by, I suffer so much for my 'straight talking' ways" echo chamber. John McGuirk isn't the Messiah. He's not even a very naughty boy. He's just another incel mouthpiece with a microphone.
Post by: Rudi on May 20, 2022, 03:09:59 PM
"echo chamber" straight from the antifa / far left dictionary. The rest of your post is the usual inane drivel.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on May 20, 2022, 04:28:53 PM
Quote from: Rudi on May 20, 2022, 03:09:59 PM
"echo chamber" straight from the antifa / far left dictionary. The rest of your post is the usual inane drivel.

These are the guys who disrupted the Aisling Murphy vigil? Also have links to the far right and loyalists?
Post by: Rossfan on May 20, 2022, 05:06:07 PM
https://www.mensrosaryireland.com/

Ros, Longford, Laythrum, Cavan and Monaghan escaped them so far.
Post by: Rudi on May 20, 2022, 05:06:45 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on May 20, 2022, 04:28:53 PM

These are the guys who disrupted the Aisling Murphy vigil? Also have links to the far right and loyalists?

On the first point pretty sure your right, which is disgusting. Think they have some right wing connection, although some may be involved for good reasons, would doubt loyalists would be into the rosary in fairness. ;D
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 20, 2022, 09:03:10 PM

When did this happen?
Post by: Rossfan on May 20, 2022, 09:14:51 PM
A week after Bill Gates and George Soros invented the Corona Virus ;D
Post by: gallsman on May 20, 2022, 09:23:17 PM

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D Antifa!  ;D ;D ;D ;D

Absolutely incredible scenes. It's an echo chamber because very few people give the slightest toss about what you and your mates have to say. You rant and rave about censorship and free speech, blind to the fact that nobody is stopping you.

The fact the likes of McGuirk and Justin Barrett have little audience isn't anything to do with censorship or some deep state conspiracy or concerted effort from the renowned lefties in the FF/FG coalition or the Tory party.. It's that they're dickheads who an overwhelming majority of the population have no interest in listening to.

Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 20, 2022, 11:04:51 PM
Meanwhile red states keep on banning books. Remember, every conservative accusation is a confession.
Post by: general_lee on May 21, 2022, 06:02:15 AM
Left wing media and political system was enough for me  :o
Post by: The Subbie on May 22, 2022, 08:01:57 AM
They don't seem to be promoting real inclusiveness at all
Why don't they let the women join in ???

They'll hardly get any grants with exclusionary carry on like that
Who is advising them ?
Surly they need to get with the times , allow women to take part and possibly get an app going that will allow them to rosary away to their hearts content without blocking up the street
Microsoft rosary or the like
You unmute when it's your turn to offer up the sorrowful mystery of Mary and the wee ass

Post by: lenny on May 22, 2022, 08:26:44 AM

Give me even just one media source which is biased to the left. In the UK almost all newspapers are completely and totally right wing and it ranges from extreme like the mail, the scum and the telegraph, to just very right wing like the times. Tv coverage is also generally right wing like the bbc which toes the government line and lets them off the hook time and time again. The only channel which is remotely left wing is channel 4 and mad nad is going to change their ownership because they have the temerity to criticise this corrupt tory government. As for Aontu they appeal to a small fringe element of fundamentalists and their support will always be restricted to that element.
Post by: RedHand88 on May 22, 2022, 08:58:00 AM
Quote from: lenny on May 22, 2022, 08:26:44 AM

Give me even just one media source which is biased to the left. In the UK almost all newspapers are completely and totally right wing and it ranges from extreme like the mail, the scum and the telegraph, to just very right wing like the times. Tv coverage is also generally right wing like the bbc which toes the government line and lets them off the hook time and time again. The only channel which is remotely left wing is channel 4 and mad nad is going to change their ownership because they have the temerity to criticise this corrupt tory government. As for Aontu they appeal to a small fringe element of fundamentalists and their support will always be restricted to that element.

Thr Guardian. The Observer, The Independant, The Daily Mirror, Channel 4, Sunday Mirror....
Post by: general_lee on May 22, 2022, 09:36:50 AM
Channel 4 is not left wing, people who think it is tend to be tories. In fact, anything that isn't right wing, like the centrist Independent, is usually considered left wing by tories. The Observer is more centrist than left, likewise the Guardian. The Mirror/Sunday Mirror are pretty much centrist as well, which is about as far left as you can get in mainstream British politics these days.
Post by: RedHand88 on May 22, 2022, 09:48:28 AM
Quote from: general_lee on May 22, 2022, 09:36:50 AM
Channel 4 is not left wing, people who think it is tend to be tories. In fact, anything that isn't right wing, like the centrist Independent, is usually considered left wing by tories. The Observer is more centrist than left, likewise the Guardian. The Mirror/Sunday Mirror are pretty much centrist as well, which is about as far left as you can get in mainstream British politics these days.

One of the oddities of the modern world is that viewpoints held as left wing for decades are now considered centrist, even though they never actually changed. The meter shifted half a mile to the left and anyone that didn't shift with it is now a centrist or far right.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 22, 2022, 09:55:23 AM
The world, and consequently a few on this board, doesn't know it's right from it's left these days.
Post by: general_lee on May 22, 2022, 10:08:51 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on May 22, 2022, 09:48:28 AM

One of the oddities of the modern world is that viewpoints held as left wing for decades are now considered centrist, even though they never actually changed. The meter shifted half a mile to the left and anyone that didn't shift with it is now a centrist or far right.
They're called conservatives for a reason
Post by: Rudi on May 22, 2022, 10:39:41 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 22, 2022, 09:55:23 AM
The world, and consequently a few on this board, doesn't know it's right from it's left these days.

Who are the few that dont know on this board?

Define leff & right.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 22, 2022, 11:02:16 AM
So what's the craic with this thread now? From buck ejjits kneeling in the street and saying the rosary till political views! Christ
Post by: gallsman on May 22, 2022, 02:00:31 PM
Well there was a thread about the rosary and one particular individual decided to send it off on a tangent about free speech and censorship etc
Post by: Rossfan on May 22, 2022, 02:05:15 PM
These lads are free to pray where they want to and I'm not aware if anyone trying to censor them.
Mind you instead of blocking public space they could use any of the 5 or 6,000 Catholic Churches around the Country.
Post by: grounded on May 22, 2022, 02:25:14 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 22, 2022, 02:05:15 PM
These lads are free to pray where they want to and I'm not aware if anyone trying to censor them.
Mind you instead of blocking public space they could use any of the 5 or 6,000 Catholic Churches around the Country.

Fair enough, but in all truthfulness did they really cause an immense amount of disruption to the public?
         Kilkeel was for all intents and purposes closed of yesterday evening for an Orange March. Thats proper disruption for you.
Post by: Rossfan on May 22, 2022, 06:35:46 PM
Things are different in the 17th Century ::)
Post by: lenny on May 22, 2022, 06:47:56 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 22, 2022, 06:35:46 PM

Correct, I could understand it if it was a bunch of old women who were saying the rosary but I have to say I'm a bit shocked, disgusted and disappointed in a group of men coming together as a group to say the rosary.
Post by: lenny on May 22, 2022, 08:28:19 PM

It's the complete reverse. The current Tory party is populated by people who would have found a home in the national front in the 70s/80s. Any decent, reasonable centre right politicians were evicted from the party on the altar of brexit. Decent people and politicians like Anna soubry, Dominic grieve, Rory Stewart and quite a few others should be the kind of talent leading the party today. Instead the media have pushed their hard brexit to enrich an elite few and they've done it using blatant racism to play on peoples fears. People like Trump being in any way mainstream would have been unheard of 20/30 years ago with his right wing views and repeated racist comments.
Post by: RedHand88 on May 22, 2022, 08:59:42 PM
Quote from: lenny on May 22, 2022, 08:28:19 PM

It's the complete reverse. The current Tory party is populated by people who would have found a home in the national front in the 70s/80s. Any decent, reasonable centre right politicians were evicted from the party on the altar of brexit. Decent people and politicians like Anna soubry, Dominic grieve, Rory Stewart and quite a few others should be the kind of talent leading the party today. Instead the media have pushed their hard brexit to enrich an elite few and they've done it using blatant racism to play on peoples fears. People like Trump being in any way mainstream would have been unheard of 20/30 years ago with his right wing views and repeated racist comments.

What is it with you people and Trump. You won the election, we're nearly halfway through the next term and you're still crying about Trump. I almost feel like you're annoyed you've lost a bogeyman.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 23, 2022, 02:30:13 AM
He hasn't gone away, you know.
Post by: general_lee on May 23, 2022, 06:32:37 AM
Quote from: lenny on May 22, 2022, 06:47:56 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 22, 2022, 06:35:46 PM

Correct, I could understand it if it was a bunch of old women who were saying the rosary but I have to say I'm a bit shocked, disgusted and disappointed in a group of men coming together as a group to say the rosary.
If they were praying to allah what would the reaction be?
Post by: J70 on May 23, 2022, 12:04:07 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on May 22, 2022, 08:59:42 PM

What is it with you people and Trump. You won the election, we're nearly halfway through the next term and you're still crying about Trump. I almost feel like you're annoyed you've lost a bogeyman.

The point with Trump is that he hasn't been lost.

He's still ruling the American right with an iron fist and they've bought completely into his stolen election fantasy out of fear of their lunatic base. Have you seen some of the absolute whackjobs the GOP is putting up for the general election in November, including for statewide offices like governor? Just thank christ not all of them won their primary.

The Tories are not far behind them.
Post by: RedHand88 on May 23, 2022, 12:11:14 PM
Quote from: J70 on May 23, 2022, 12:04:07 PM

He's still ruling the American right with an iron fist and they've bought completely into his stolen election fantasy out of fear of their lunatic base. Have you seen some of the absolute whackjobs the GOP is putting up for the general election in November, including for statewide offices like governor? Just thank christ not all of them won their primary.

The Tories have Richi Sunak and Priti Patel in the 2nd and 3rd biggest jobs so they arent that bad with the old fulltime racism.
Post by: Rossfan on May 23, 2022, 12:30:07 PM
£££££££
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 23, 2022, 12:38:37 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 23, 2022, 12:30:07 PM
£££££££

The colour of money talks, not the colour of skin
Post by: lenny on May 23, 2022, 01:00:05 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on May 23, 2022, 12:11:14 PM

The Tories have Richi Sunak and Priti Patel in the 2nd and 3rd biggest jobs so they arent that bad with the old fulltime racism.

lol, patel is a despicable human being. Her, Sunak, Javid have all taken the soup, you won't see any of them sticking up minority ethnic rights. They're all in politics to further enrich themselves and they're already extremely rich, Sunak is one of the richest men in the UK.
Post by: Franko on May 23, 2022, 01:16:42 PM
Quote from: lenny on May 23, 2022, 01:00:05 PM

lol, patel is a despicable human being. Her, Sunak, Javid have all taken the soup, you won't see any of them sticking up minority ethnic rights. They're all in politics to further enrich themselves and they're already extremely rich, Sunak is one of the richest men in the UK. Sunak married one of the richest women in the UK
Post by: lenny on May 23, 2022, 03:02:52 PM

https://www.psypost.org/2019/09/people-with-lower-emotional-intelligence-are-more-likely-to-hold-right-wing-views-study-finds-54369

I've always thought this and the study linked proves it. The right wing posters on here also prove it with their lack of empathy for fellow citizens.