Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: lenny on January 06, 2015, 10:01:42 AM

Title: Moviebox or showbox
Post by: lenny on January 06, 2015, 10:01:42 AM
I've heard a few people talking about the moviebox and showbox apps lately. Just wondering if they are safe to download on my ipad or iphone and which should I choose.
Title: Re: Moviebox or showbox
Post by: JoG2 on January 06, 2015, 10:07:20 AM
Quote from: lenny on January 06, 2015, 10:01:42 AM
I've heard a few people talking about the moviebox and showbox apps lately. Just wondering if they are safe to download on my ipad or iphone and which should I choose.

is an android app. Not sure about moviebox Lenny
Post by: Boycey on January 06, 2015, 11:32:33 AM
Someone much cleverer than me will probably come along and put me right  ;D but my understanding would be that they are basically the same thing? Moviebox is on the ios and showbox on the android platform. I have them both installed on different devices and they look the same to me anyways.

Lenny I have moviebox on my iPad with no problems whatsoever. The iPad previously had to be jailbroken to get moviebox but now it can be installed directly with a bit of jiggery pokery... google it, there are plenty of links and simple instructions. If you're not sure drop me a message.
Post by: Gold on January 06, 2015, 12:20:51 PM
Showbox is lethal.

There's no downside to it that I've come across.
Post by: trueblue1234 on January 06, 2015, 12:27:56 PM
Downloaded Moviebox and it's asking me to use a free Virtual private network service to view some of the content. Do I just go ahead and do what they say?
Post by: JoG2 on January 06, 2015, 12:37:21 PM
Quote from: Gold on January 06, 2015, 12:20:51 PM
Showbox is lethal.

There's no downside to it that I've come across.

not getting enough sleep is a major downside for me ! Incredible app
Post by: gallsman on January 06, 2015, 12:43:41 PM
Showbox + Chromecast = dynamite.
Post by: BenDover on January 06, 2015, 12:52:42 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 06, 2015, 12:43:41 PM
+ 1 to that.

As well as these- check out Mobdro saved me a few times over the festive period
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2015, 01:34:05 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 06, 2015, 12:43:41 PM
Reading through the thread this was going to by question. Is it possible to install this on an iPad and then cast it onto the tv via Chromecast as I have no notion of watching movies on a 9" screen.
Post by: tyrone girl on January 06, 2015, 01:47:36 PM
What is showbox and how do i get it on my tablet? Im taking it that it is an app?
Post by: trueblue1234 on January 06, 2015, 02:03:29 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on January 06, 2015, 12:27:56 PM
Downloaded Moviebox and it's asking me to use a free Virtual private network service to view some of the content. Do I just go ahead and do what they say?
Can I double check this isn't going to cause any problems with the Ipad?
Post by: Boycey on January 06, 2015, 02:18:32 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on January 06, 2015, 02:03:29 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on January 06, 2015, 12:27:56 PM
Can I double check this isn't going to cause any problems with the Ipad?

I've never been asked to do this on moviebox. Where have you downloaded it from? Its possibly the site you have downloaded it from trying to get you to download a product of theirs? I'd be wary
Post by: AZOffaly on January 06, 2015, 02:26:23 PM
I'm getting asked for a password when I go to download moviebox?
Post by: AZOffaly on January 06, 2015, 02:29:09 PM
Have ye a safe URL for downloading moviebox for ios?
Post by: Boycey on January 06, 2015, 02:31:15 PM

Password is mb31

First: Go to Settings >> General >> Date & Time. Deselect Automatic and change the date to August 1st
Second: Open Safari and visit this page http://www.pgyer.com/mb31
Third: Tap the green button to install Movie Box
Fourth: Open MovieBox after it has installed and tap Trust on the developer notice
Fifth: Return to Settings >> General >> Date & Time and switch back to Automatic

Post by: gallsman on January 06, 2015, 02:34:13 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 06, 2015, 01:47:36 PM
What is showbox and how do i get it on my tablet? Im taking it that it is an app?

Google "showbox apk" and download from first search result. Make sure to turn off trusted sources in security settings.
Post by: tyrone girl on January 06, 2015, 02:55:14 PM
Class. Thanks a million :)
Post by: trueblue1234 on January 06, 2015, 03:18:34 PM
once I try and open a film on it, it says "video not available" And when I click the "Why
" button it says this.

QuoteSome internet service providers block our video content. We can offer you a solution to this problem.
The solution is to use a VPN (Virtual Private Network) to alternative connect to Movie box.
For example you can use free VPN service www.justfreevpn.com.
First of all go to this web sitehttp://www.justfreevpn.com you're going to need to make a note of a few details from the homepage. Just free VPN provide 3 servers in the USA, the UK and Canada make a note of the following details:
- server
- PPTP username
- PPTP password
Make a note of the details for the server which is closest to your Country and grab your device.

If you're on an IPad:
- Go to the 'Settings >> General >> Network >> VPN'.
- Click 'Add VPN Configuration';
- Select the 'PPTP' tab, adding fields as:
- Description: xx.juskreevpn.com (Or type anything you want here)
- Server: xx.juskreevpn.com (You made a note of this from the website earlier)
- Account: enter VPN username (You made a note of this from the website earlier)
- RSA SecurID: OFF
- Password: enter VPN password (You made a note of this from the website earlier)
- Encryption level: Auto Send All traffic: ON Click 'save'

If you're an iPhone or iPod touch:
- Go to the Settings Application.
- Go to General > Network > VPN > Settings.
- Select PPTP, in the Server field type "xx.juskreevpn.com" as the name of VPN Server.
- Enter VPN account name and password (You made a note of these from the website earlier), encryption level let it "Auto" and select "Send All Traffic", Press Save.

For setting it up that's pretty much all there is to it really.
Remember to click 'save' to store the VPN on your device. By doing this you can imply toggle the VPN on and off in future without having to re input all the details.
Now, make sure you have properly closed down Movie Box from backgrounder by deleting it from the App switcher.
Go back to Settings on your device and you should now have a VPN toggle underneath your WIFI settings.
Use the toggle to turn the VPN on and after a few seconds while your traffic is routed over the VPN.
Now open Movie Box again and as you can see the VPN has worked as the 'Download' and 'Watch now' buttons are now available :)

Do I just go ahead and do everything it asks?
Post by: Boycey on January 06, 2015, 03:38:05 PM
A quick scan on Google suggests it's ok.. Probably a pain in the arse as if I understood it right you will have to change the password on it everyday or ungrade to a paid vpn :-).

Who is your ISP by the way?
Post by: trueblue1234 on January 06, 2015, 03:40:20 PM
It's on my iPhone so I just went in through safari. (Would now be a good time to mention I'm pretty crap with IT!!  :-[ )
Post by: tyroneboi on January 06, 2015, 04:05:18 PM
Another Showbox fan here - has anyone else's app have very few updates to movies? There has only been one new movie on the updates section since 27 December.
Post by: tyrone girl on January 06, 2015, 04:44:00 PM
 Are there any new movies on it or is it just like netflix with older stuff?
Post by: The Iceman on January 06, 2015, 04:58:23 PM
I'm running a Raspberry Pi with XBMC. I've seen preloaded android boxes out there that come with XBMC, Moviebox and Showbox and other popular apps.
I have used Moviebox, Showbox and XBMC and although I prefer Showbox on a tablet I really love XBMC and the Pi for it's versatility.
Post by: gallsman on January 06, 2015, 06:06:07 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on January 06, 2015, 04:05:18 PM
Another Showbox fan here - has anyone else's app have very few updates to movies? There has only been one new movie on the updates section since 27 December.

Very few movies released is all in good quality. It's a free service, full of what should be premium content. I wouldn't complain too much.
Post by: JoG2 on January 06, 2015, 06:23:30 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 06, 2015, 04:44:00 PM
Are there any new movies on it or is it just like netflix with older stuff?

Far superior to Netflix.  Anything available to download on say Kickass or piratebay etc will be available. Some movies that are still in the pictures will be there.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on January 06, 2015, 06:53:32 PM
Link for movie box for iOS devices - http://ipa.othman.tv/ipa/mbox.php (http://ipa.othman.tv/ipa/mbox.php)

No need to change date and time or passwords.

Also if saying not available, download Hola from App Store, install the VPN profiles and use one of them to watch the content.

Only downside is that there is currently no option to send to chromecast through Moviebox like there is on Showbox for Android.
Post by: stiffler on January 06, 2015, 07:04:11 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on January 06, 2015, 06:53:32 PM
Link for movie box for iOS devices - http://ipa.othman.tv/ipa/mbox.php (http://ipa.othman.tv/ipa/mbox.php)

Also if saying not available, download Hola from App Store, install the VPN profiles and use one of them to watch the content.

Only downside is that there is currently no option to send to chromecast through Moviebox like there is on Showbox for Android.

Thanks for that URL Archie.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2015, 07:51:52 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 06, 2015, 02:34:13 PM

Google "showbox apk" and download from first search result. Make sure to turn off trusted sources in security settings.
Downloaded onto the wife's Samsung Galaxy s4 and the movies play on the phone but when I press the Chromecast icon it tries to search for my Chromecast it just returns My Device (the phone!). The Chromecast app is on the phone and it picks it up.
Post by: tyroneboi on January 06, 2015, 08:20:07 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 06, 2015, 06:06:07 PM

Very few movies released is all in good quality. It's a free service, full of what should be premium content. I wouldn't complain too much.

Definitely not complaining about it I was just wondering if it was a problem with my app!
Post by: tyroneboi on January 06, 2015, 08:22:20 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on January 06, 2015, 08:20:07 PM

Definitely not complaining about it I was just wondering if it was a problem with my app!

Also it's so good I'm continually surprised it hasn't been shut down by the tv companies!
Post by: gallsman on January 06, 2015, 08:38:17 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on January 06, 2015, 08:22:20 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on January 06, 2015, 08:20:07 PM

Also it's so good I'm continually surprised it hasn't been shut down by the tv companies!

I reckon that's the reason the app updates so much.
Post by: Boycey on January 06, 2015, 08:44:16 PM

Excellent work
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2015, 08:49:34 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2015, 07:51:52 PM

Downloaded onto the wife's Samsung Galaxy s4 and the movies play on the phone but when I press the Chromecast icon it tries to search for my Chromecast it just returns My Device (the phone!). The Chromecast app is on the phone and it picks it up.
Don't worry lads I did it myself. Casting away here like a hero from the wife's phone
Post by: gallsman on January 06, 2015, 09:58:35 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2015, 08:49:34 PM

Don't worry lads I did it myself. Casting away here like a hero from the wife's phone

Localcast probably the best app to use.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2015, 10:26:03 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 06, 2015, 09:58:35 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2015, 08:49:34 PM

Localcast probably the best app to use.
Aye that's what I used. Works a treat.
Post by: tyrone girl on January 06, 2015, 10:36:25 PM
It's saying there before I hit install it will get access to read phone status and identity modify or delete contents of your usb storage wtf that mean
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2015, 10:47:31 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 06, 2015, 10:36:25 PM
It's saying there before I hit install it will get access to read phone status and identity modify or delete contents of your usb storage wtf that mean
Just hit install.
Post by: The Worker on January 06, 2015, 10:58:41 PM
Any decent shows on showbox then ?
Post by: tyrone girl on January 07, 2015, 12:07:27 AM
Installed now its some job onto second broadchurch hooked already
Post by: gallsman on January 07, 2015, 12:15:38 AM
Worth pointing out for anyone who doesn't realise it that extensive use of Showbox or similar will blow through your broadband allowance (if you have one), just like any other streaming service, in no time.
Post by: JoG2 on January 07, 2015, 08:22:26 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2015, 10:47:31 PM
Just hit install.

Post by: fearsiuil on January 07, 2015, 11:28:12 AM
Anyone using Shoebox on a Windows tablet?
Post by: tyrone girl on January 07, 2015, 11:30:34 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on January 07, 2015, 08:22:26 AM
Just hit install.

I did hit install anyway. Should i not have?
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 07, 2015, 01:23:19 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 07, 2015, 11:30:34 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on January 07, 2015, 08:22:26 AM
Just hit install.

I did hit install anyway. Should i not have?
No it is fine. I treat all those messages as disclaimers and proceed anyway.
Post by: fearsiuil on January 07, 2015, 09:20:33 PM
Quote from: fearsiuil on January 07, 2015, 11:28:12 AM

Showbox even! When I download the Showbox apk app it just seems to disappear on my Windows tablet. Any help appreciated.
Post by: Boycey on January 07, 2015, 09:24:17 PM
Quote from: fearsiuil on January 07, 2015, 09:20:33 PM

Showbox even! When I download the Showbox apk app it just seems to disappear on my Windows tablet. Any help appreciated.

Are you using an android emulator?
Post by: fearsiuil on January 07, 2015, 09:37:09 PM
Quote from: Boycey on January 07, 2015, 09:24:17 PM

Emulator??? Excuse my ignorance.
Post by: Boycey on January 07, 2015, 10:31:33 PM
Quote from: fearsiuil on January 07, 2015, 09:37:09 PM

Showbox is based on the android platform not windows so you need to run an android emulator on your windows machine for it to work. Just google "install showbox on windows". I got it running on a windows7 laptop for a friend of mine using an emulator called Bluestack.

A word of warning though Bluestack annoyingly keeps asking for credit card details which it says it only needs to verify your location. I didn't take the chance... There are numerous other emulators though.

There may be a Windows download for Moviebox kicking around though similar to the iOS ones that are currently around?? Someone on here will know..
Post by: illdecide on January 07, 2015, 10:40:06 PM
I just typed movie box into the wife's iPhone and it was a fecking porn site...wtf. Of course I got accused of watching porn on her phone...lol
Post by: pullhard on January 08, 2015, 06:08:36 PM
I don't have a phone what would up to the job for these apps. Would they run of a laptop?
Post by: JoG2 on January 08, 2015, 07:32:56 PM
Quote from: Boycey on January 07, 2015, 10:31:33 PM
Quote from: fearsiuil on January 07, 2015, 09:37:09 PM

Showbox is based on the android platform not windows so you need to run an android emulator on your windows machine for it to work. Just google "install showbox on windows". I got it running on a windows7 laptop for a friend of mine using an emulator called Bluestack.

A word of warning though Bluestack annoyingly keeps asking for credit card details which it says it only needs to verify your location. I didn't take the chance... There are numerous other emulators though.

There may be a Windows download for Moviebox kicking around though similar to the iOS ones that are currently around?? Someone on here will know..

Just a wee word on emulators. I looked into them a wee while back. Bluestacks was the best I tried. The other 2 were far too processor hungry. In saying that bluestacks ended up bringing my ultrabook to a near enough standstill. It also only allows movies to play on their lowest definition and forces you to add a couple of dung apps pretty frequently or pay them some cash. Laptop also started blue screening!!! All in all i wouldn't have an emulator near my machine
Post by: fearsiuil on January 09, 2015, 12:15:34 AM
My Windows Surface tablet wouldn't allow me download Bluestacks - maybe for the better after reading above post.

Herself got Free Instant Movies downloaded and worked out grand.
Post by: muppet on January 09, 2015, 12:29:58 AM
Quote from: Boycey on January 06, 2015, 08:44:16 PM

Excellent work

I can't get this to work. It appear to downlaod but then won't open and starts to download again.

iPad Air ios8. Any ideas?
Post by: Mickey Linden on January 09, 2015, 10:39:42 AM
Is anyone able to give simple instructions on how to download mobdro. I was trying to download it last night onto an android tablet but was unsuccessful. Cheers. Ive heard a lot of good reports about it
Post by: Boycey on January 09, 2015, 12:31:20 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 09, 2015, 12:29:58 AM

Excellent work

I can't get this to work. It appear to downlaod but then won't open and starts to download again.

The moviebox I downloaded using that link is no longer working for me either. The one I downloaded to the mrs ipad using the link and password I posted on the first page still works if you follow them instructions or you could try this newer link

www.pgyer.com/8gjC

Password is moviebox

I suspect its going to be an ongoing battle with Apple as previously moviebox only worked on jailbroken devices
Post by: BenDover on January 09, 2015, 01:26:34 PM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on January 09, 2015, 10:39:42 AM
Is anyone able to give simple instructions on how to download mobdro. I was trying to download it last night onto an android tablet but was unsuccessful. Cheers. Ive heard a lot of good reports about it

this should help you out http://www.mobdro.com/ be sure to uncheck the security setting for installing apps from other sources.
Post by: annapr on January 09, 2015, 08:28:13 PM
I can't get moviebox to install on my iPhone 6. It installed not a bother on a iPad 3 I have.
The iPad is still ios7 while the iPhone is obviously the newest iOS, could this be the problem?
Post by: muppet on January 09, 2015, 08:47:24 PM
Quote from: Boycey on January 09, 2015, 12:31:20 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 09, 2015, 12:29:58 AM

Excellent work

The moviebox I downloaded using that link is no longer working for me either. The one I downloaded to the mrs ipad using the link and password I posted on the first page still works if you follow them instructions or you could try this newer link

www.pgyer.com/8gjC

Password is moviebox

I suspect its going to be an ongoing battle with Apple as previously moviebox only worked on jailbroken devices

Thanks for that.
Post by: tyrone girl on January 11, 2015, 12:46:21 AM
Anyone know why I can't get any season 1 broadchurch on showbox at the minute?
I watched first 5 episodes and one of them being earlier today. Now when I go in to it it just says season 1 but won't show any episodes. Season 2 is showing its episode. Can someone check theirs for me if you wouldn't mind in case it's an issue with my system.
Post by: gallsman on January 11, 2015, 01:15:58 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 11, 2015, 12:46:21 AM
Anyone know why I can't get any season 1 broadchurch on showbox at the minute?
I watched first 5 episodes and one of them being earlier today. Now when I go in to it it just says season 1 but won't show any episodes. Season 2 is showing its episode. Can someone check theirs for me if you wouldn't mind in case it's an issue with my system.

Because it's a free resource of dubious legality that is reliant on linking to content hosted elsewhere. Sometimes you just won't be able to get what you want with it.
Post by: tyrone girl on January 11, 2015, 01:30:37 AM
Didn't think it would all disappear though after it was there this afternoon.  :-\ :-\
Post by: JoG2 on January 11, 2015, 08:22:39 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 11, 2015, 01:30:37 AM
Didn't think it would all disappear though after it was there this afternoon.  :-\ :-\

I can see them ok. You could go into 'application manager' on your phone, into Showbox and chose 'clear data' (will clear any saved data like the contents of your library), but it seems to solve any problems
Post by: tyrone girl on January 11, 2015, 10:15:29 AM
You are a legend! Just done that on my tablet and it's worked.
Thanks again :)
Post by: WT4E on January 12, 2015, 02:05:02 PM
Sorry if someone already asked.

I have moviebox on my iphone and I have chromecast. Do I need another app to cast from my phone to TV it doesn't appear to give me an option like it does say for youtube.
Post by: tyroneboi on January 12, 2015, 02:20:37 PM
I use 'all cast' to get from showbox to the tv. I think there are others but that's the one I used. Think I had to pay a pound or 2 for the version I have.
Post by: WT4E on January 12, 2015, 03:01:09 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on January 12, 2015, 02:20:37 PM
I use 'all cast' to get from showbox to the tv. I think there are others but that's the one I used. Think I had to pay a pound or 2 for the version I have.

Thanks a mill - Got it for free there - I'll check it works this evening!  ;D
Post by: annapr on January 12, 2015, 03:08:56 PM
Anyone ever buy one of those cheap mini projectors? Was thinking it be cool for playing showbox or movie box on.
I know the picture quality wouldn't be fantastic but it be nice for the kids to have a 'movie' night with a large picture projected onto the wall or whatever.
They are cheap enough to buy like 60 quid for one. http://www.ebay.ie/itm/LED-Mini-Digital-Projector-UC30-Home-Theater-Multimedia-1080P-AV-VGA-USB-HDMI-/191447941099?pt=UK_Computing_Sound_Vision_Projectors&hash=item2c932fbfeb
Post by: tyroneboi on January 12, 2015, 04:03:10 PM
Quote from: WT4E on January 12, 2015, 03:01:09 PM

Not sure if you know but make sure that when you select a movie or tv episode untick use internal player so you have the option to use all cast.
Post by: WT4E on January 12, 2015, 04:38:55 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on January 12, 2015, 04:03:10 PM

Not sure if you know but make sure that when you select a movie or tv episode untick use internal player so you have the option to use all cast.

Sorry not following you. Whats that?

Maybe its related to above but doe this mean then that I have to download anything I want to cast to tv? If there was a way to use the watch now function through the cast it would be ideal!
Post by: tyroneboi on January 12, 2015, 06:21:08 PM
Quote from: WT4E on January 12, 2015, 04:38:55 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on January 12, 2015, 04:03:10 PM

Sorry not following you. Whats that?

Maybe its related to above but doe this mean then that I have to download anything I want to cast to tv? If there was a way to use the watch now function through the cast it would be ideal!

Yeah sorry it is for when you want to cast straight to the tv - below download and watch now you will see use internal player. If you untick this then it will give you the option to cast through allcast.
Post by: WT4E on January 13, 2015, 11:29:23 AM
This is not going well for me! :(

I don't have the cast straight the internal player option. Possibly I don't have the correct apps downloaded.
Post by: gallsman on January 13, 2015, 12:15:48 PM
Quote from: WT4E on January 13, 2015, 11:29:23 AM

I don't have the cast straight the internal player option. Possibly I don't have the correct apps downloaded.

Are you using Moviebox or Showbox? If Showbox, when you go to into whatever you want to watch, you'll see the quality options. Depending on what's available, these can be any combination of low, medium and high. Below these are two links - download and watch now. Below this there is a check box with "use internal player", that is checked by default. Uncheck the box and click watch now. Android will bring up the various options, which will include any casting apps you have installed - I use Localcast.
Post by: illdecide on January 13, 2015, 12:40:03 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 13, 2015, 12:15:48 PM

Are you using Moviebox or Showbox? If Showbox, when you go to into whatever you want to watch, you'll see the quality options. Depending on what's available, these can be any combination of low, medium and high. Below these are two links - download and watch now. Below this there is a check box with "use internal player", that is checked by default. Uncheck the box and click watch now. Android will bring up the various options, which will include any casting apps you have installed - I use Localcast.

Would it be safe to assume you would need a smart TV for this?
Post by: clarshack on January 13, 2015, 12:44:52 PM
i downloaded 'the interview' from showbox and the audio was badly out of sync. anybody else experience this?
Post by: gallsman on January 13, 2015, 12:46:07 PM
Quote from: illdecide on January 13, 2015, 12:40:03 PM

No, while Chromecast works with smart tv's, it effectively turns a normal tv (as long as you have a HDMI port) into a smart TV. Most Smart TVs will have a DLNA renderer built in so you should be able to cast to it directly from whatever casting app you use (it generally shows up as TV-Make-ModelName or something similar when you press the cast button) but I find this connection unreliable so use Chromecast anyway.
Post by: annapr on January 13, 2015, 12:52:50 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7rr88Szc5q0
Post by: illdecide on January 13, 2015, 01:04:52 PM
Quote from: annapr on January 13, 2015, 12:52:50 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7rr88Szc5q0

aye a smart arse newbie ::)
Post by: WT4E on January 13, 2015, 01:42:29 PM

I'm using moviebox for iphone. I think showbox is only for android phones I think.
Post by: gallsman on January 13, 2015, 02:10:59 PM
Quote from: WT4E on January 13, 2015, 01:42:29 PM

I'm using moviebox for iphone. I think showbox is only for android phones I think.

Well that explains why none of the above makes sense. No idea how to go about casting from moviebox, or indeed if it's possible.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on January 14, 2015, 06:52:19 AM

Post by: WT4E on January 14, 2015, 09:28:40 AM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on January 14, 2015, 06:52:19 AM

Thanks for that ! :( What a waste of time! lol
Post by: CitySlicker11 on January 14, 2015, 06:47:29 PM
Do you have the name of the supplier of your Local cast?
Post by: gallsman on January 14, 2015, 09:48:41 PM
What? It's an app in the Play Store.
Post by: CitySlicker11 on January 15, 2015, 05:56:32 PM
Yes, but who supplies the app to the Play store I mean.
Post by: gallsman on January 15, 2015, 06:25:11 PM
Quote from: CitySlicker11 on January 15, 2015, 05:56:32 PM
Yes, but who supplies the app to the Play store I mean.

I have no idea. It's pretty handily looked up.
Post by: TabClear on January 15, 2015, 06:44:22 PM
Not strictly the right thread but probably the right people.  Is there a decent application to stream football to the android phone, particularly the 3pm games.

I had football4us on my old phone and it worked perfectly but I cannot get it to work on new Samsung s5. Seems To be gone from the market.  Was wondering if there are any other options to keep me out of the pub on a Saturday afternoon.

Post by: macdanger2 on January 15, 2015, 09:29:23 PM
Mobdro.com - great app

Need to turn off the "unknown sources" setting on your phone
Post by: JoG2 on January 16, 2015, 12:12:46 PM
There's a tonne of new movies in the 'updates' section within Showbox
Post by: The Gs Man on January 16, 2015, 02:12:06 PM
Here's another option for yis lads:

m.movietube.co

All the latest films on there including stuff that's still in the cinema.

And if you download Video Webcaster on the Playstore you can fire it to your Chromecast.

Post by: BenDover on January 16, 2015, 02:35:41 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on January 16, 2015, 02:12:06 PM
Here's another option for yis lads:

m.movietube.co

All the latest films on there including stuff that's still in the cinema.

And if you download Video Webcaster on the Playstore you can fire it to your Chromecast.
Just tried this and the option to cast was there in the embedded video - good man!
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 16, 2015, 09:29:23 PM
Not entirely related but are there any torrents site up at the minute as a friend wants to download some of the Oscar screeners. Foxcatcher or Birdman on Showbox?
Post by: JoG2 on January 16, 2015, 09:38:21 PM
Kickass
http://kickass.so.prx.websiteproxy.co.uk

Showbox: Birdman yes, Foxcatcher no
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 16, 2015, 10:33:54 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on January 16, 2015, 09:38:21 PM
Kickass
http://kickass.so.prx.websiteproxy.co.uk

Showbox: Birdman yes, Foxcatcher no
Cheers.
Post by: gallsman on January 16, 2015, 10:53:36 PM
1337x.to
Post by: Over the Bar on January 18, 2015, 12:43:29 PM
Movie box app for Ipad went off again.  Anyone know if a new download avail and where to get? ?
Post by: Boycey on January 18, 2015, 01:05:56 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on January 18, 2015, 12:43:29 PM
Movie box app for Ipad went off again.  Anyone know if a new download avail and where to get? ?

www.homecinema.mobi

The App is called HD Cinema but to all intents and purposes it's the same thing

Post by: Over the Bar on January 18, 2015, 11:41:25 PM
Cheers Boycey!
Post by: annapr on January 19, 2015, 03:59:12 PM
Quote from: Boycey on January 18, 2015, 01:05:56 PM

www.homecinema.mobi

Not as good as moviebox there are a good few tv  shows missing.
Moviebox still works on my iPad though but not on iPhone.
Post by: gallsman on January 19, 2015, 04:04:18 PM
Quote from: annapr on January 19, 2015, 03:59:12 PM
Quote from: Boycey on January 18, 2015, 01:05:56 PM

www.homecinema.mobi

Not as good as moviebox there are a good few tv  shows missing.
Moviebox still works on my iPad though but not on iPhone.

"Curses. This free stuff isn't as good as other free stuff that's no longer available"
Post by: offtheground on January 19, 2015, 04:17:02 PM
I'm abit late to this thread, and can't be bothered trawling through 7 pages to see if it has already been answered....

Can the moviebox app or the HD cinema app be used to chromecast to a TV from an Ipad?

Thanks in advance...
Post by: Boycey on January 19, 2015, 05:18:04 PM
Quote from: offtheground on January 19, 2015, 04:17:02 PM
I'm abit late to this thread, and can't be bothered trawling through 7 pages to see if it has already been answered....

Can the moviebox app or the HD cinema app be used to chromecast to a TV from an Ipad?

Thanks in advance...

Short answer, no.

Long answer yes but you would have to jump through that many hoops to do it its not worth the effort.

Post by: NAG1 on January 27, 2015, 07:54:01 PM
Has any one else got Mobdro?

Recently tried to download on android and doesnt seem to have any content, any help?

Do you need to buy the premium to get access?
Post by: muppet on January 27, 2015, 08:37:46 PM
This is the first thing to work for me: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p8oz_SA5s4Q&spfreload=10 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p8oz_SA5s4Q&spfreload=10)
Post by: Geoff Tipps on January 28, 2015, 09:38:46 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on January 27, 2015, 07:54:01 PM
Has any one else got Mobdro?

Recently tried to download on android and doesnt seem to have any content, any help?

Do you need to buy the premium to get access?

Downloaded it last week and works fine.
You installed it using the link on their website?
Post by: NAG1 on January 28, 2015, 09:41:56 AM
Geoff have you got the link to the proper download?

I tried through, 1MobileMarket and through their website, but when it downloads the app looks perfect but there is no content in any of the sections?

Any ideas?
Post by: macdanger2 on January 28, 2015, 10:11:08 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on January 28, 2015, 09:41:56 AM

I tried through, 1MobileMarket and through their website, but when it downloads the app looks perfect but there is no content in any of the sections?

Any ideas?

I downloaded it a few months back from the website, worked straight off. You need to change a setting to allow install from unknown sources I think
Post by: Geoff Tipps on January 28, 2015, 10:20:10 AM

Any ideas?

http://www.mobdro.com/getstarted

There's a link in there for android. As has already been said you need to change your security setting to allow
to install from an unknown source.
Post by: nrico2006 on January 28, 2015, 10:22:25 AM
Is Showbox in the play store?
Post by: BenDover on January 28, 2015, 10:26:57 AM
no
Post by: NAG1 on January 28, 2015, 11:55:33 AM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on January 28, 2015, 10:20:10 AM

Any ideas?

There's a link in there for android. As has already been said you need to change your security setting to allow

Geoff I have ticked the unknown sources, as I already have showbox downloaded and working on my android but doesnt seem to make any difference to Mobdro - strange

Update: just un-installed and reloaded it, seems I may have downloaded an older version appears to be working now. Thanks for the help lads
Post by: Geoff Tipps on January 28, 2015, 01:40:09 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on January 28, 2015, 11:55:33 AM

Any ideas?

Geoff I have ticked the unknown sources, as I already have showbox downloaded and working on my android but doesnt seem to make any difference to Mobdro - strange

Update: just un-installed and reloaded it, seems I may have downloaded an older version appears to be working now. Thanks for the help lads

I was going to suggest a re- install.
Has anyone used the cast function on this?? I have and haven't been impressed.
Post by: gallsman on January 28, 2015, 01:51:02 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on January 28, 2015, 01:40:09 PM

Any ideas?

Mobdro streams are generally poor resolution. Blowing that up to a big telly isn't going to do it any favours.
Post by: NAG1 on January 28, 2015, 01:58:21 PM
Ive cast some of the Showbox movies which have been really good actually, but then I would with to the Higher definition versions are available before I would watch them anyway, find the others can be hit and miss on quality.
Post by: gallsman on January 28, 2015, 02:03:10 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on January 28, 2015, 01:58:21 PM
Ive cast some of the Showbox movies which have been really good actually, but then I would with to the Higher definition versions are available before I would watch them anyway, find the others can be hit and miss on quality.

Showbox is different - you're casting a file on the cloud somewhere that is generally 720 or 1080p. With Mobdro, you're casting a live stream that is generally of poor resolution to begin with.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on January 28, 2015, 02:16:55 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 28, 2015, 01:51:02 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on January 28, 2015, 01:40:09 PM

Any ideas?

Mobdro streams are generally poor resolution. Blowing that up to a big telly isn't going to do it any favours.

No it wasn't the quality. It hung on a few channels and then when I went back to playing on the smartphone it played ok.
Post by: Over the Bar on January 29, 2015, 10:19:47 PM
Neither Moviebox nor HD Cinema working for the iPad now! :(
Post by: Harold Disgracey on January 30, 2015, 12:49:33 PM
Has anyone tried Phim Box? It has a lot of Asian films as well as new releases such as American Sniper.
Post by: nrico2006 on January 30, 2015, 01:22:17 PM
Are there any HD shows on showbox or are they all being pushed out at 720?
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on January 30, 2015, 03:30:30 PM
Hopefully an easy enough question.

Showbox downloaded to the phone.

Can it be streamed directly to a 'smart' tv?
Post by: gallsman on January 30, 2015, 03:50:27 PM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on January 30, 2015, 03:30:30 PM

Yes but can be fidgety. Check that local cast or all cast can context to the TV.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on January 30, 2015, 03:55:22 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 30, 2015, 03:50:27 PM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on January 30, 2015, 03:30:30 PM

Yes but can be fidgety. Check that local cast or all cast can context to the TV.

Thanks GM.

Have downloaded all cast as well.

Think I read somewhere that the Samsung phone has a built in video app so that could be used?

Might it depend on the TV manufacturer??
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on January 30, 2015, 07:08:18 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 07, 2015, 12:15:38 AM
Worth pointing out for anyone who doesn't realise it that extensive use of Showbox or similar will blow through your broadband allowance (if you have one), just like any other streaming service, in no time.

If your only streaming over wifi and not downloading will you be ok?
Post by: gallsman on January 30, 2015, 09:47:26 PM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on January 30, 2015, 07:08:18 PM

No - you're still consuming bandwidth.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on January 30, 2015, 10:08:22 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 30, 2015, 09:47:26 PM

I

ah right...

package is unlimited so should be ok!

Also local cast worked but all cast didn't. ....
Post by: CD on January 31, 2015, 08:14:31 AM
Tried it. Going back to downloading movies wholesale using bitlord. The sound and picture quality from all the streaming sites I have tried makes watching movies a pain!
Post by: muppet on February 03, 2015, 05:15:13 PM
Apple App Store has a free App called Cloud Movies

Lots of movies and TV series on it for free. Seems to be decent quality.

I don't know enough about movies to know if it is up to date or not.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 07, 2015, 07:33:49 PM
Any simple way of getting showbox on chronecast?
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 07, 2015, 09:10:00 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 07, 2015, 07:33:49 PM
If you are using it via an Adroid phone or tablet you will also need to download Localcast also.
Post by: JoG2 on February 07, 2015, 10:39:10 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 07, 2015, 09:10:00 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 07, 2015, 07:33:49 PM
If you are using it via an Adroid phone or tablet you will also need to download Localcast also.

Dipped for a chromecast and use localcast.  Chromecast is some toy...best £30 I ever spent
Post by: nrico2006 on February 17, 2015, 07:20:25 PM
Any ideas why I dont get a prompt to select localcast in showbox when I hit 'watch now'. Unable to get video on tv.
Post by: Well on February 17, 2015, 08:39:23 PM
Anyone help? I recently got myself a Kindle HDX and downloaded Showbox, but can't get it linked to a chromecast. Tried Avia but dont get the option to cast or in app purchases.
Post by: FL/MAYO on February 17, 2015, 08:51:53 PM
Quote from: Well on February 17, 2015, 08:39:23 PM
Anyone help? I recently got myself a Kindle HDX and downloaded Showbox, but can't get it linked to a chromecast. Tried Avia but dont get the option to cast or in app purchases.

I use Allcast Premium to cast via Chromecast.
Post by: JoG2 on February 17, 2015, 09:11:50 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 17, 2015, 07:20:25 PM
Any ideas why I dont get a prompt to select localcast in showbox when I hit 'watch now'. Unable to get video on tv.

Click localcast to open nrico.  Press the wee yellow / orangey icon (bottom right of screen). Select chromecast (make sure the chromecast power adaptor is on). Select a show in showbox and make sure the box to use local player is not checked. Should work ok
Post by: Archie Mitchell on February 18, 2015, 01:22:23 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on February 17, 2015, 09:11:50 PM

Click localcast to open nrico.  Press the wee yellow / orangey icon (bottom right of screen). Select chromecast (make sure the chromecast power adaptor is on). Select a show in showbox and make sure the box to use local player is not checked. Should work ok

Just use AllCast. Choose video in Show Box, untick option to use internal player, select AllCast and tick option to set to default and it will automatically open up AllCast to choose your Chromecast to cast to.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 18, 2015, 01:27:13 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on February 18, 2015, 01:22:23 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on February 17, 2015, 09:11:50 PM

Just use AllCast. Choose video in Show Box, untick option to use internal player, select AllCast and tick option to set to default and it will automatically open up AllCast to choose your Chromecast to cast to.
It does the same on Localcast too surely. I think his issue is internal player is ticked.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 18, 2015, 02:07:57 PM
Internal player was unticked, always has been.  But couldn't get a prompt like I was previously when I selected 'Watch Now'.  The show played away on the phone but no option to get it on TV.  Downloaded Allcast instead and it worked no bother.
Post by: Well on February 18, 2015, 09:22:37 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on February 17, 2015, 08:51:53 PM
Quote from: Well on February 17, 2015, 08:39:23 PM

I use Allcast Premium to cast via Chromecast.
[/quote

Cheers FL/MAYO do I need chromecast app on my kindle as well as Allcast?
Post by: gallsman on February 18, 2015, 09:53:18 PM
Not if you've set up the Chromecast. Chromecast app is only for configuring the dongle, not casting to it.
Post by: Well on February 18, 2015, 11:04:43 PM
Thanks Gallsman, I have set up the chrome cast from chromecast app on my iPhone and can watch you tube on TVs from it. For some reason when I try to cast from Showbox on my kindle HDX via Avia the cast icon does not appear or from Allcast I just get message " Searching for players... Please verify TV connected player is on and connected to network".
Post by: gallsman on February 18, 2015, 11:34:27 PM
Quote from: Well on February 18, 2015, 11:04:43 PM
Thanks Gallsman, I have set up the chrome cast from chromecast app on my iPhone and can watch you tube on TVs from it. For some reason when I try to cast from Showbox on my kindle HDX via Avia the cast icon does not appear or from Allcast I just get message " Searching for players... Please verify TV connected player is on and connected to network".

Try localcast.
Post by: JoG2 on February 22, 2015, 11:33:17 PM
Showbox and chromecasting is becoming a bit of a pain. I'd advise no one to update showbox as it ties you in with MX player with the latest update preventing you using localcast  allcast and the likes. If you've a previous showbox apk in your phone's download folder, uninstall showbox and reinstall the earlier download and choose to update 'later'. Chromecast will work then

HD Cinema app seems to be the way to go (haven't tried it myself)
Post by: BenDover on February 23, 2015, 08:39:42 AM
found this myself after updating on Friday, does anyone have an older version of the .apk that they could either send on or put up in the cloud (Dropbox or somewhere)?
Post by: Archie Mitchell on February 28, 2015, 12:28:34 PM
There is a workaround. When Showbox opens it in MX player, hit the 3 dot menu button, tools, share, and you'll be able to select options to cast from there

Or download older version here: https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B04WhaWBUDLIZXlOUUlVWHZHdkU/edit?usp=docslist_api (https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B04WhaWBUDLIZXlOUUlVWHZHdkU/edit?usp=docslist_api)
Post by: nrico2006 on March 10, 2015, 03:33:59 PM
Had the same problem, was using Allcast but the past few days I am no longer getting a prompt even when I select 'Watch Now' for a film. 
Post by: under the bar on March 17, 2015, 10:26:47 AM
I've done all of the above but casted movies are very stop-start. Anyone else getting this problem?
Post by: nrico2006 on March 17, 2015, 10:36:50 AM
I have down the same and it worked fine for everything bar one film for me which kept pausing.
Post by: stiffler on March 22, 2015, 09:41:07 AM
Anyone got a link to a site for movies for Apple devices?
Post by: Over the Bar on March 22, 2015, 09:41:06 PM
The Moviebox link is on this thread but if you're running iOS 8 it prob won't work.  Dk if there are any others. 
Post by: Geoff Tipps on March 27, 2015, 03:46:28 PM
HD Cinema App is a good alternative to Showbox. Unlike Showbox, as it currently stands, it doesn't tie you down to
any specific player so you can cast to your TV.

http://hdcinemadownload.com/hd-cinema-download-for-android/
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on March 27, 2015, 03:58:23 PM
Agree although not as many movies or new releases as showbox
Post by: Geoff Tipps on March 27, 2015, 04:15:52 PM
Quote from: RealSpiritof98 on March 27, 2015, 03:58:23 PM

No but at least the content it does have can be cast to TV. Showbox while tied to the MX player is quite useless.
Post by: laoislad on March 27, 2015, 05:06:17 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on March 27, 2015, 04:15:52 PM

No but at least the content it does have can be cast to TV. Showbox while tied to the MX player is quite useless.
Buy an Android Tv box off eBay for about €40 and have showbox directly on the TV without any need for casting from phone.
That's what I do and it works great.
Post by: gallsman on March 27, 2015, 05:08:50 PM
Quote from: laoislad on March 27, 2015, 05:06:17 PM

Buy an Android Tv box off eBay for about €40 and have showbox directly on the TV without any need for casting from phone.

Have considered boxes before and the Nexus PLayer. What one are you using?
Post by: laoislad on March 27, 2015, 05:37:01 PM
Quote from: gallsman on March 27, 2015, 05:08:50 PM
Quote from: laoislad on March 27, 2015, 05:06:17 PM

Have considered boxes before and the Nexus PLayer. What one are you using?
Just one I bought on eBay a few years back. It's pretty bog standard but does the job.
You can get quad core ones now and most come fully installed with xbmc and all that.
Post by: WT4E on April 13, 2015, 04:47:15 PM
I see showbox has the first 4 episodes of Game of Thrones on their. Noticed last night on the off chance - Unbelievable app!  8) ;D
Post by: gallsman on April 13, 2015, 07:25:56 PM
Quote from: WT4E on April 13, 2015, 04:47:15 PM
I see showbox has the first 4 episodes of Game of Thrones on their. Noticed last night on the off chance - Unbelievable app!  8) ;D

They were leaked worldwide yesterday. Poor quality though, only 480p.

Having to use MX player is back annoying me after I'd got rid of it for a time  >:(
Post by: StGallsGAA on April 14, 2015, 01:16:18 AM
HD cinema app has Game of Thrones S5 at 720.  Just watched the first 2 and the quality is very good.  When HBO track down whoever the leak is he'll probably suffer the same fate as Mannis!! 🔥
Post by: nrico2006 on April 14, 2015, 08:39:00 AM
I watched GOT on HDCinema last night, have found this app to be more reliable than Showbox.  Does anybody know of the best link to get xbmc for Android?
Post by: gallsman on April 14, 2015, 08:57:04 AM
Have found a way round MX Player. Install an app called Growbox (you can't have MX installed). This tricks Showbox into thinking it's MX player and allows you to cast.
Post by: Over the Bar on May 28, 2015, 10:31:20 PM
HD  Cinema is no more. .... is Showbox on borrowed time? ?
Post by: nrico2006 on May 29, 2015, 09:43:54 AM
Is HD cinema away for good? 
Post by: JoG2 on May 29, 2015, 10:20:02 AM
Showbox is still running though it can lag a bit. HD Cinema will be back in a month apparently under a new name.

Kodi with the Ice Films add on is a decent job, though I've only watched content on the phone, not sure if you can cast or not
Post by: gallsman on May 29, 2015, 10:48:23 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on May 29, 2015, 10:20:02 AM
Showbox is still running though it can lag a bit. HD Cinema will be back in a month apparently under a new name.

Kodi with the Ice Films add on is a decent job, though I've only watched content on the phone, not sure if you can cast or not

That's always going to be a risk with apps like this. Use the download functionality in it and then watch/cast. No lag.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on July 04, 2015, 03:04:44 PM
Anyone else having issues with Show box?

Doesn't seem to be working.

Any alternatives?
Post by: JoG2 on July 04, 2015, 03:16:29 PM
Oh aye

HD Cinema is back in action. It's been rebranded and is now called Sky HD. Google sky hd cinema apk
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on July 04, 2015, 03:27:09 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on July 04, 2015, 03:16:29 PM
Oh aye

HD Cinema is back in action. It's been rebranded and is now called Sky HD. Google sky hd cinema apk

Cheers lad!

Downloading now.

Local cast work ok for casting or what's best?
Post by: JoG2 on July 04, 2015, 03:46:48 PM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on July 04, 2015, 03:27:09 PM
Oh aye

Cheers lad!

Downloading now.

Local cast does the job. I'll tell you what,  there is zero buffering or the like. Hit play and it plays.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on July 04, 2015, 04:05:21 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on July 04, 2015, 03:46:48 PM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on July 04, 2015, 03:27:09 PM
Oh aye

Cheers lad!

Downloading now.

Local cast does the job. I'll tell you what,  there is zero buffering or the like. Hit play and it plays.

downloaded and working on phone.

local cast normally works for me but not this time.

Any alternatives?
Post by: gallsman on July 04, 2015, 06:10:30 PM
Showbox is working fine for me.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on July 04, 2015, 07:07:05 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 04, 2015, 06:10:30 PM
Showbox is working fine for me.

Think it was localcast which wasn't working.

Downloaded allwire.  Works perfect on new sky HD app mentioned above.

Must try it on showbox.
Post by: JoG2 on July 04, 2015, 07:15:01 PM
Localcast works fine for me.  Click custom and choose localcast. Sure if the other one is working, happy days

I like Showbox but theres no comparison between sky hd and showbox as regards buffering and lag. Sky HD is the bomb.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on July 04, 2015, 07:19:14 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on July 04, 2015, 07:15:01 PM
Localcast works fine for me.  Click custom and choose localcast. Sure if the other one is working, happy days

I like Showbox but theres no comparison between sky hd and showbox as regards buffering and lag. Sky HD is the bomb.

Yep cheers lad.....

Just to decide what film to watch!!

Maybe give the movie thread a rattle here.....
Post by: JoG2 on July 04, 2015, 07:46:00 PM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on July 04, 2015, 07:19:14 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on July 04, 2015, 07:15:01 PM

Yep cheers lad.....

Just to decide what film to watch!!

Maybe give the movie thread a rattle here.....

In the same boat. It's handy having the imdb ratings for the movies
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 05, 2015, 08:40:30 AM
Anything for iPhone/iPad?
Post by: nrico2006 on July 06, 2015, 08:22:34 AM
Oh aye

Good man.

I started with Showbox but it wasn't near as good as HD Cinema.  Kodi is what I have been using since HD Cinema went down and it is great.
Post by: laoislad on July 07, 2015, 10:47:08 PM
Sky HD doesn't seem to have as many TV series as Showbox.
Can't find Falling Skies on it for example.
Showbox always works well for me anyways.
Post by: pullhard on July 28, 2015, 10:19:54 AM
Have been using showbox on the laptop (via bluestacks), but all the movies and series seem to be down. anyone having similar issues?
Post by: nrico2006 on July 28, 2015, 10:26:14 AM
I have Sky HD and Showbox but the most reliable one is KODI. 
Post by: laoislad on July 28, 2015, 10:28:31 AM
Quote from: pullhard on July 28, 2015, 10:19:54 AM
Have been using showbox on the laptop (via bluestacks), but all the movies and series seem to be down. anyone having similar issues?
Yeah same, I got a pop up message saying they are updating something or other and it could be down for a few days.
No panic Im sure it will be back.
Post by: pullhard on July 28, 2015, 10:32:16 AM
Had to find some iffy stream website last week for my weekly fix
Post by: laoislad on July 28, 2015, 11:00:48 AM
Quote from: pullhard on July 28, 2015, 10:32:16 AM
Had to find some iffy stream website last week for my weekly fix
Dowdload Movie HD apk it does the same job more or less.
Post by: JoG2 on July 28, 2015, 11:02:10 AM
Sky HD is no more. It has been rebranded again as Movie HD.

Pros and Cons for the 3 I use (may help a few)

Movie HD
Pros - fast / no buffering. Great selection which increases daily as older shows get added
        - casting to TV
Cons - always on the run / rebranding itself which means a new download (not that often in fairness)

Showbox
Pros -  great selection
Cons - buffers like a fothermucker at the beginning
         - cannot cast
         - currently banjaxed

Kodi (i use TVMC which comes bundled with various movie, TV and sport addons)
Pros - great selection and back up addons if one doesn't work
        - casts to TV (once you've downloaded and pasted a necessary xml addon)
Cons - buffers a good bit
         - with many links, the movie / show stutters (doesn't play smoothly if that makes sense)
         - broken links esp with sports channels
Post by: nrico2006 on July 28, 2015, 11:28:21 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on July 28, 2015, 11:02:10 AM

Movie HD
Pros - fast / no buffering. Great selection which increases daily as older shows get added
        - casting to TV
Cons - always on the run / rebranding itself which means a new download (not that often in fairness)

Showbox
Pros -  great selection
         - cannot cast
         - currently banjaxed

- with many links, the movie / show stutters (doesn't play smoothly if that makes sense)

I agree with most of that but I use Genesis within KODI and have no bother with buffering or anything like that. 
Post by: deiseach on July 28, 2015, 11:36:35 AM
Showbox
Pros -  great selection
         - cannot cast
         - currently banjaxed

I found a way of casting. Download MX Player and LocalCast. When using Showbox, use External Player (ie MX Player). In MX Player, select Tools from the menu, then Share, then LocalCast. Select your Chromecast from the list. You'll get a message saying it is not a video file, but select Cast Anyway and away it goes. It can be a little flaky, sometimes LocalCast doesn't pick up your Chromecast. But just try it again and it works first time most of the time anyway.

Now all I need is Showbox to be not banjaxed. I need my fix of Person of Interest!

Post by: pullhard on July 28, 2015, 11:40:24 AM
What is this casting business?
I hook the laptop to the telly with a HDMI cable, am i missing a trick?
Post by: laoislad on July 28, 2015, 11:46:04 AM
Quote from: pullhard on July 28, 2015, 11:40:24 AM
Or just buy an Android TV box/dongle and load all these apps onto it and don't bother with casting.
Post by: pullhard on July 28, 2015, 11:56:06 AM
Quote from: laoislad on July 28, 2015, 11:46:04 AM
Or just buy an Android TV box/dongle and load all these apps onto it and don't bother with casting.
They look the business, nice tidy job. may need to get the super fast Boardband, mine buffers for ages. - still better than limewire back in the day
Post by: deiseach on July 28, 2015, 12:09:05 PM

I was a whisker away from going down that road recently, but my wife got cold feet, especially when Sky threw all manner of incentives at us. Next time . . .
Post by: JoG2 on July 28, 2015, 12:12:16 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 28, 2015, 11:28:21 AM

Movie HD
        - casting to TV

Showbox
Pros -  great selection
         - cannot cast
         - currently banjaxed

I agree with most of that but I use Genesis within KODI and have no bother with buffering or anything like that.

I'd rattle away with Genesis myself nrico (it comes bundled with TVMC) but i find some of the newer movies to stutter as they play. Must no grumble as they are all excellent vfm ;-)

Post by: gallsman on July 28, 2015, 12:30:47 PM
There's an easier way to cast from Showbox deiseach. Download an app baked grow box. Tricks Showbox into thinking it's MX Player and then can cast directly using All/Localcast.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 28, 2015, 12:45:37 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 28, 2015, 11:36:35 AM
Showbox
Pros -  great selection
         - cannot cast
         - currently banjaxed

I found a way of casting. Download MX Player and LocalCast. When using Showbox, use External Player (ie MX Player). In MX Player, select Tools from the menu, then Share, then LocalCast. Select your Chromecast from the list. You'll get a message saying it is not a video file, but select Cast Anyway and away it goes. It can be a little flaky, sometimes LocalCast doesn't pick up your Chromecast. But just try it again and it works first time most of the time anyway.

Now all I need is Showbox to be not banjaxed. I need my fix of Person of Interest!

The only reason I left Showbox for KODI a month ago was because I was going through seasons 3 and 4 and when I got to the 4th or fifth on season 4, it was missing as was a few others after it.   
Post by: laoislad on July 28, 2015, 01:09:18 PM
Quote from: pullhard on July 28, 2015, 11:56:06 AM
They look the business, nice tidy job. may need to get the super fast Boardband, mine buffers for ages. - still better than limewire back in the day
Limewire! Those were the days, also Bearshare was another I used
Post by: deiseach on July 28, 2015, 01:31:20 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 28, 2015, 12:30:47 PM
There's an easier way to cast from Showbox deiseach. Download an app baked grow box. Tricks Showbox into thinking it's MX Player and then can cast directly using All/Localcast.

I'll try it out, thanks.
Post by: JoG2 on July 28, 2015, 01:42:34 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 28, 2015, 12:30:47 PM

I had a run on the growbox (the big marajuna leaf icon is cool though ) 'til I nearly pulled my hair out. Movie HD is the much less stressful option if you're looking to cast
Post by: laoislad on July 28, 2015, 07:09:01 PM
Showbox back working
Post by: muppet on July 28, 2015, 10:20:40 PM
Movie Box for iOS 8.4 and less: http://youtu.be/1EfPb3RfWac (http://youtu.be/1EfPb3RfWac)
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on December 27, 2015, 03:11:27 PM
Is Showbox offline again??
Post by: gallsman on December 27, 2015, 03:21:30 PM
Working fine for me.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on December 27, 2015, 03:23:16 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 27, 2015, 03:21:30 PM
Working fine for me.

Ok thanks...

might uninstall & reinstall...
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on December 27, 2015, 03:25:53 PM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on December 27, 2015, 03:23:16 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 27, 2015, 03:21:30 PM
Working fine for me.

Ok thanks...

might uninstall & reinstall...

What's the best casting option at present?
Post by: gallsman on December 27, 2015, 03:27:12 PM
I still just use AllCast.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on December 27, 2015, 05:18:46 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 27, 2015, 03:27:12 PM
I still just use AllCast.

cheers....up and running again...
Post by: tyrone girl on January 06, 2016, 11:47:37 AM
I hadnt used showbox or my tablet in a while but when i go back on now some series will play but when i go into any films it just keeps saying no server available. Either that or it just crashes and stops before i even attempt to download. Should i uninstall and install it again?
Post by: nrico2006 on January 06, 2016, 12:07:37 PM
Haven't used Showbox in months, been using Cinema HD and KODI.
Post by: JoG2 on January 06, 2016, 12:24:09 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 06, 2016, 11:47:37 AM
I hadnt used showbox or my tablet in a while but when i go back on now some series will play but when i go into any films it just keeps saying no server available. Either that or it just crashes and stops before i even attempt to download. Should i uninstall and install it again?

You could go into the settings of Showbox and clear the cache.  I wouldn't reinstall at this stage.  This happened the odd time,  same with Movie HD(No streams right now) though does appear to happen more often in fairness.  There hasn't been an update for either Showbox or Movie HD in a good wee while. 

I tend to use Movie HD more often as it is much quicker at playing,  but Showbox tends to have more content.  Both are great.  Neither have Making a Murderer which is surprising,  though I could not find it on Genesis either within Kodi

Post by: tyrone girl on January 06, 2016, 12:44:19 PM
Im wondering now if should change. Im completely useless at this stuff though. I am dying to watching Making a Murderer but have no smart tv and wanna try and stream from my samsung tablet. Not sure how successful that will be. I see leads on amazon but again no idea what im at!!
Post by: tyrone girl on January 06, 2016, 12:45:02 PM
Am i able to get movie hd or cinema hd on my tablet? Is it hard to get on or same type of thing as showbox?
Post by: nrico2006 on January 06, 2016, 12:53:05 PM
Movie HD is handy to install and use, same kind of job as showbox where you can use it locally on your device or use it with allcast to stream to your tv.
Post by: laoislad on January 06, 2016, 01:09:16 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on January 06, 2016, 12:24:09 PM

You could go into the settings of Showbox and clear the cache.  I wouldn't reinstall at this stage.  This happened the odd time,  same with Movie HD(No streams right now) though does appear to happen more often in fairness.  There hasn't been an update for either Showbox or Movie HD in a good wee while. 

I tend to use Movie HD more often as it is much quicker at playing,  but Showbox tends to have more content.  Both are great.  Neither have Making a Murderer which is surprising, though I could not find it on Genesis either within Kodi
I'm watching Making a Murderer via Kodi.
What build have you? I am using the beast. All I did was go into TV Shows and used the search function and it came up straight away.
Post by: JoG2 on January 06, 2016, 01:25:23 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 06, 2016, 01:09:16 PM

I tend to use Movie HD more often as it is much quicker at playing,  but Showbox tends to have more content.  Both are great.  Neither have Making a Murderer which is surprising, though I could not find it on Genesis either within Kodi
What build have you? I am using the beast. All I did was go into TV Shows and used the search function and it came up straight away.

swapped the Beat for Black Box yesterday. Was on with gallsman yesterday and my kodi 'skin' doesn't appear to be right even though Im running the latest version. Which addon are you watching it through LL?
Post by: Geoff Tipps on January 06, 2016, 01:42:37 PM

Watching it via Kodi too. Pretty sure I'm using Genesis.
Post by: JoG2 on January 06, 2016, 01:50:20 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on January 06, 2016, 01:42:37 PM

Watching it via Kodi too. Pretty sure I'm using Genesis.

Searched again there on Genesis, nadda. Dexter is down
Post by: aontroim abu on January 06, 2016, 01:54:38 PM
Having a problem with Game of Thrones on Showbox, wont let me access anything beyond Series 3, help???
Post by: tyrone girl on January 06, 2016, 02:18:00 PM
Guys i know this isnt the right place but to save me starting another thread i want to stream netflix onto tv.
Its one of the older flatscreens and only has one hdmi port. I have ordered a hdmi switcher so can put in a few hdmi ports now.
I was gonna order leads that would connect samsung tablet to the tv but now people are telling me buy a google chromecast and use that. I honestly have no clue about this stuff can someone advise me in simplest terms possible if you dont mind?
Post by: Boycey on January 06, 2016, 02:38:21 PM
Making a murderer is on Genesis, I just searched it
Post by: JoG2 on November 28, 2018, 09:35:38 PM
Showbox RIP. Developers settled with 'the man' and have abandoned the app if rumours are to be believed.
Alternatives? Cartoon, Terrarium still chugging along?
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 28, 2018, 09:43:41 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on November 28, 2018, 09:35:38 PM
Showbox RIP. Developers settled with 'the man' and have abandoned the app if rumours are to be believed.
Alternatives? Cartoon, Terrarium still chugging along?
Bollox to that. Just check my phone there and no movies available.
Post by: JoG2 on November 28, 2018, 10:10:57 PM
Terrarium downloaded, looks good so far
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 29, 2018, 08:38:44 AM
Is Terrarium back?

Ive Tea TV which is good.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 29, 2018, 09:19:38 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on November 28, 2018, 10:10:57 PM
Terrarium downloaded, looks good so far
Phone, Firestick or box?
Post by: JoG2 on November 29, 2018, 09:22:55 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on November 29, 2018, 08:38:44 AM
Is Terrarium back?

Ive Tea TV which is good.

Seems to be running grand,watched a couple of episodes last night. Must have a look at the Tea TV
Post by: MoChara on November 29, 2018, 01:23:30 PM
I thought Terrarium was going to leave up what they had but not add anything new, so over time the links would all die away.

I've always used Showbox so I'll be gutted if it's gone, but Tea Tv seemed pretty decent for a Terrarium replacement.
Post by: JoG2 on December 04, 2018, 10:41:34 PM
Showbox seems to be rising again by the looks of it!
Post by: nrico2006 on December 05, 2018, 08:15:37 AM
Movie HD has been working fine for a long time.