GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: 45GoneShort on April 05, 2007, 12:43:21 AM

Title: THE SUNDAY GAME LIVE FIXTURES 2007
Post by: 45GoneShort on April 05, 2007, 12:43:21 AM
Looks like a packed line up -

MAY 13
2PM LONGFORD V WESTMEATH
4PM CAVAN V DOWN
MAY 20
2.15PM FERMANAGH V TYRONE
4PM GALWAY V MAYO
MAY 27
2PM CLARE V CORK
4PM DONEGAL V ARMAGH
JUNE 2
7PM WESTMEATH/LONGFORD V LAOIS
JUNE 3
2PM CLARE/WATERFORD V KERRY
4PM MEATH/KILDARE V DUBLIN
JUNE 10
2PM LIMERICK V TIPPERARY
4PM LAOIS/OFFALY V KILKENNY
JUNE 17
2.15PM FERMANAGH/TYRONE V DONEGAL/ARMAGH
4PM CLARE/CORK V WATERFORD
JUNE 24
2PM GALWAY/MAYO V LEITRIM/LONDON
4PM MEATH/KILDARE/DUBLIN V CARLOW/OFFALY
JULY 1
2PM MUNSTER SENIOR FOOTBALL FINAL
4PM LEINSTER SENIOR HURLING FINAL
JULY 7
ALL IRELAND CHAMPIONSHIP QUALIFIERS X 2
JULY 8
2PM CONNACHT SENIOR FOOTBALL FINAL
4PM MUNSTER SENIOR HURLING FINAL
JULY 14
JULY 15
2.15PM ULSTER SENIOR FOOTBALL FINAL
4.15PM LEINSTER SENIOR FOOTBALL FINAL
JULY 21
JULY 22
ALL IRELAND HURLING QUARTER-FINALS X 2
JULY 28
JULY 29
ALL IRELAND HURLING QUARTER-FINALS X 2
AUG 4
ALL IRELAND FOOTBALL QUARTER-FINALS X 2
AUG 5
CHRISTY RING CUP HURLING FINAL
ALL IRELAND SENIOR HURLING SEMI-FINAL
AUG 11
ALL IRELAND FOOTBALL QUARTER-FINALS X 2
AUG 12
NICKY RACKARD CUP HURLING FINAL
ALL IRELAND SENIOR HURLING SEMI-FINAL
AUG 19
ALL IRELAND SENIOR AND MINOR FOOTBALL SEMI-FINALS
AUG 26
ALL IRELAND SENIOR AND MINOR FOOTBALL SEMI-FINALS
SEPT 2
ALL IRELAND SENIOR AND MINOR HURLING FINALS
SEPT 9
ALL IRELAND SENIOR CAMOGIE FINAL
SEPT 16
ALL IRELAND SENIOR AND MINOR FOOTBALL FINALS
Title: Re: THE SUNDAY GAME LIVE FIXTURES 2007
Post by: dec on April 05, 2007, 02:07:56 AM
QuoteSEPT 16
ALL IRELAND SENIOR AND MINOR FOOTBALL FINALS

So does this mean we are back to the traditional third Sunday in September for the football final? I thought that 2006 was a one off for the Ryder Cup.
Post by: Bogball XV on April 05, 2007, 11:17:49 AM
surely the 16th is the 2nd sunday?  I heard that was going to be the new date from now on - to facilitate club fixtures.
Post by: blasmere on April 05, 2007, 11:21:23 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on April 05, 2007, 11:17:49 AM
surely the 16th is the 2nd sunday?  I heard that was going to be the new date from now on - to facilitate club fixtures.

The 16th is the third Sunday - 2nd, 9th & then 16th ;)

Post by: dubnut on April 05, 2007, 11:24:50 AM
Jaysus that got the auld goosbumps up, are we that close  :o

First game should be a good one to start with.
Post by: balladmaker on April 05, 2007, 11:36:26 AM
Any idea what the designated provincial line up is for the football semi finals?  Ulster v who?

Also, anyone know what date is the Ulster designated semi...August 19th or 26th?
Post by: Lecale2 on April 05, 2007, 12:04:49 PM
Are BBC showing live matches this season or will it interfere with the coverage of David Healy's latest trip to Tesco's or the barber?
Post by: Gnevin on April 05, 2007, 12:14:14 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on April 05, 2007, 11:36:26 AM
Any idea what the designated provincial line up is for the football semi finals?  Ulster v who?

Also, anyone know what date is the Ulster designated semi...August 19th or 26th?
It goes anti clock wise for leinster
So
Leinster (Tyone bt Dublin) V Ulster (Armagh) 05
Leinster V Connaght 06
Leinser V Munster 07
So Ulster V Connaght 07
Post by: Johno07 on April 05, 2007, 12:31:39 PM
Does anyone know if the Connaught-Ulster semi-final is on the 19th or the 26th of August?
Post by: Bogball XV on April 05, 2007, 12:35:25 PM
Quote from: blasmere on April 05, 2007, 11:21:23 AM
The 16th is the third Sunday - 2nd, 9th & then 16th ;)

I just knew that I should have checked that out, but i was busy and decided to take a chance - never again, hardly any more shoddy ill researched post from me anymore, promise! :-[ :-[
Post by: tyroneboi on April 05, 2007, 01:38:38 PM
The first televised games of the year are Longford v Westmeath and Down v Cavan. I for one think this is a ridiculous move by both the GAA and RTE. All this talk about promoting the games in order for it to remain as number one sport in Ireland and they open with these 2 matches. Pat Spillane wrote last year that Sky wouldnt put on Fulham v Blackburn as their first game of the season and he was spot on in what he wrote. RTE should start with one of the champions (Kilkenny or Kerry) to launch the championship. I mean they started the League with a high profile game and then when it comes to championship they dont bother.
Post by: armaghniac on April 05, 2007, 01:42:08 PM
QuoteSo Ulster V Connaght 07

Does this still hold true? Do they not draw the QFs and SFs now. Does anyone know exactly what system is used this year?

QuoteThe first televised games of the year are Longford v Westmeath and Down v Cavan. I for one think this is a ridiculous move by both the GAA and RTE

Mostly the GAA since RTE can't televise a game unless it is on, however televising Kilkenny or Kerry hammering someone wouldn't be any help either. The games they are showing are ones where there is doubt over the result and all the more entertaining as a result.

Post by: tyroneboi on April 05, 2007, 01:50:00 PM
what so cavan v down and longford v westmeath will have you on the edge of your seat? cavan v down last year was one of the worst championship games of the year - just saying GAA need to promote their product more.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on April 05, 2007, 02:14:34 PM
Sure in that case only Tyrone,Armagh,Dublin,Mayo,Kerry,Laois and a few others should enter the championship.

We wouldnt want any of the other shite counties being seen,It might turn people off the GAA according to Tyroneboi.

The GAA of course is all about the Elite teams.
Post by: Gnevin on April 05, 2007, 02:23:10 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on April 05, 2007, 01:38:38 PM
Pat Spillane wrote last year that Sky wouldnt put on Fulham v Blackburn as their first game of the season and he was spot on in what he wrote. RTE should start with one of the champions (Kilkenny or Kerry) to launch the championship. I mean they started the League with a high profile game and then when it comes to championship they dont bother.
As usual Spillane seems to be talking sense till you look into it.  Comparing the fa league with the championship isnt fair . A faired comparison would be saying you dont see the fa cup starting off with all the weaker teams. which we all know it does. The GAA can only pick from what the draw has afforded 
Post by: tyroneboi on April 05, 2007, 02:30:17 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on April 05, 2007, 02:14:34 PM
Sure in that case only Tyrone,Armagh,Dublin,Mayo,Kerry,Laois and a few others should enter the championship.

We wouldnt want any of the other shite counties being seen,It might turn people off the GAA according to Tyroneboi.

The GAA of course is all about the Elite teams.

were in my comments did i say that?
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on April 05, 2007, 02:36:24 PM
You're complaining that 4 counties who go through the tortures of Inter-county training for 6/7 months of the year like every other county,should not  get their day out in the sun on May 13th on RTE...because the quality might not help the GAA promote their games.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 05, 2007, 02:37:33 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on April 05, 2007, 01:50:00 PM
what so cavan v down and longford v westmeath will have you on the edge of your seat? cavan v down last year was one of the worst championship games of the year - just saying GAA need to promote their product more.

Could have been worse - they could have showed the Derry v's Tyrone from last year - that was an even worse match!!!!
Post by: tyroneboi on April 05, 2007, 02:40:58 PM
 :)
Post by: stpauls on April 05, 2007, 02:47:20 PM
saying as the different provincial championships don't start on the same weekends, RTE don't want to miss out on viewing figures just because they want to wait to show one of the big names as their first match. I am sure if Kerry or Tyrone had been playing on the weekend of the 13th May they would have shown that match. But as it is only the lowly Down Vs Cavan  ;), they don't really have a choice!!!
Post by: tyroneboi on April 05, 2007, 02:53:44 PM
Quote from: 45GoneShort on April 05, 2007, 12:43:21 AM

MAY 27
2PM CLARE V CORK
4PM DONEGAL V ARMAGH

i understand and take all your points and i am not suggesting for a second that so called smaller counties dont deserve to be on tv but im just making the point that the GAA and RTE must market their product more. Take the example above - a big hurling match and a big football match. It wouldnt be too hard to arrange for these matches to open the championship for both codes on May 13th. Its just a suggestion like!!
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on April 05, 2007, 02:57:19 PM
the problem is Tyroneboi

The Preliminary round in Ulster is always normaly one of the first Football games of the Championship to be shown live.

Theres very rarely any other Intercounty GAA action on that weekend.So its either that game or nothing.

Unless we rig the draw so Armagh/Donegal/Tyrone are always involved,then im afraid we cant really do anything.

Post by: armaghniac on April 05, 2007, 03:10:42 PM
I doubt if Micky Harte would be impressed if Tyrone inevitably had to play as the first game just to make it interesting for TV viewers. This would impact on the whole structure of the competition.

Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on April 05, 2007, 03:18:48 PM
Theyd be better showin a club league match or a camoguie match than Down v Cavan. Both are pure dug.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on April 05, 2007, 03:24:52 PM
Yes your completely correct, pure dug indeed.
dug,dug,dug.

You really do give people more ammo to hate Armagh as if there wasnt enough already.
Post by: stpauls on April 05, 2007, 03:28:34 PM
don't worry about him Brick, by the sounds of him he only has just figured out how to work a keyboard over the last few months.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on April 05, 2007, 03:30:39 PM
there are a good few Armagh folk on in here that have something worthwhile to say but this guy is a f***in moron if you ask me.
you can only sit by and listen to such drivel until ye just have to reply.
Post by: stpauls on April 05, 2007, 04:36:24 PM
don't know if he is doing it deliberately or not, i personally think he is just a kid who puts down the first thing that pops into his head.
Can be very tedious at times, but he does come out with some crackers from time to time. Ballykinler Army Camp and their football squaddies spring to mind.  ::) ::) ::)
Post by: Oraisteach on April 05, 2007, 04:49:15 PM
I have to say that I'd be very happy to watch a Cavan vs. Down football match, in spite of AFS's idiocy.  I'd say it'd be a close encounter of the third division kind, but good nevertheless.  It would also bring back memories of my youth when that WAS Ulster football.
Post by: stpauls on April 05, 2007, 04:55:14 PM
to be honest, it doesn't matter to me what match opens the summer championship season, its only a pity that we have to wait another month for it to start!!! i am really looking forward to the heat of championship football, played in great weather like what we are having at the minute. will make for a great viewing!!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 05, 2007, 06:21:34 PM

QuoteJUNE 2
7PM WESTMEATH/LONGFORD V LAOIS

I see you have the Westmeath/Longford v Laois match down as a 7pm start is this a misprint or is it on at that time?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 05, 2007, 06:49:40 PM
It's that time LaoisLad cos that's Holy Communion Day in Longford  :D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 05, 2007, 07:09:05 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 05, 2007, 06:49:40 PM
It's that time LaoisLad cos that's Holy Communion Day in Longford  :D
You'll have plenty of time so to get to a television to see Westmeath take on Laois :D
Post by: Redgreenery on April 05, 2007, 07:27:14 PM
Quote from: stpauls on April 05, 2007, 04:55:14 PM
to be honest, it doesn't matter to me what match opens the summer championship season, its only a pity that we have to wait another month for it to start!!! i am really looking forward to the heat of championship football, played in great weather like what we are having at the minute. will make for a great viewing!!

Yeah I'm really looking forward to it aswell. The few weeks between the league ending and the championship starting will be long ones!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 05, 2007, 11:20:20 PM
QuoteYou'll have plenty of time so to get to a television to see Westmeath take on Laois

>:(

then

Post by: Mayo4Sam on April 06, 2007, 12:23:01 PM
Looks like all of our matches are televised this year!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 07, 2007, 06:54:09 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on April 05, 2007, 12:04:49 PM
Are BBC showing live matches this season or will it interfere with the coverage of David Healy's latest trip to Tesco's or the barber?

Seriously, wonder if they will grace us with a match or two????
Post by: Uladh on April 07, 2007, 06:56:44 PM

and the latest... 4 hours, yes 4 HOURS! of live u19 rugby at peak time on week nights.

you couldn't make it up
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 07, 2007, 08:01:13 PM
Quote from: Uladh on April 07, 2007, 06:56:44 PM

and the latest... 4 hours, yes 4 HOURS! of live u19 rugby at peak time on week nights.

you couldn't make it up

Aye, just wait til the NW 200, the Milk cup and the Girls under 10 pingpong trails!!!

Don't even get me started on the disparity between coverage of the St Patricks day parades and the Loyalist uber fest that is the 12th!  >:( >:( >:(