American Sports Thread

Started by magickingdom, October 28, 2007, 06:02:17 PM

RealSpiritof98

Kansas -7.5 indy -1.5 viking -2.5 jets +1

Great photo just moments after David Ortiz hit a Grand Slam home-run last night to tie the game near the end of game 2 of the ALCS between the Red Sox and Tigers last night.

Is that you beside the cop?

This probably captures the moment better:

How is the cop on the right in deiseach's pic and on the left in GBB's pic??

Quote from: Hound on October 20, 2013, 09:29:13 PM

It's the angle/location the two photos are taken at I would say

Quote from: Minder on October 20, 2013, 09:31:37 PM
Quote from: Hound on October 20, 2013, 09:29:13 PM

It's the angle/location the two photos are taken at I would say

Parallax.

Lets go Falcons! Beat those Cards!!

(sorry AZ)

Lets start salvaging our season.

Nevermind, congratulations AZ. I know its not even half time but it's over.

Good win for the cards. 4-4 now and still alive.

Quote from: AZOffaly on October 29, 2013, 12:50:19 PM

Very solid defense and QB is not terrible. Hard outfit to beat especially at home.

This series is as good as I have ever seen, being a brew crew fan as my in state team I am a Cardinals hater but despite the arrogance and swagger they are a tremendously run organization, that said Boston have this, this is their year and how fitting is that given what happened at the marathon this year.

C'mon Red Sox, win another World series!

Quote from: magpie seanie on October 29, 2013, 02:11:43 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 29, 2013, 12:50:19 PM

Very solid defense and QB is not terrible. Hard outfit to beat especially at home.

If the Offensive line can hold up they have a chance, but if Palmer gets pressure it's over. He's not comfortable in a collapsing pocket, and is not elusive enough to escape it. I am encouraged though. The defense is good, they are getting pressure up front, their linebackers are solid and Peterson and Matthieu are leading a defensive secondary that's looking better every week.

They are still prone to giving up big plays though, especially to tight ends, but they are improving.

I'll need to see a bit more out of the offense, but Ellington has been a great find, and the other rookie, Taylor, out of Stanford may well turn into their power back. Ellington is like woodhead or sproles, but Taylor is more of your traditional between the tackles runner. Wideout is decent, but poor auld Andre Roberts must have pissed in Carson Palmers tea or something. Larry Fitz is not 100% but is a real leader and a warrior. Michael Floyd, a Notre Dame man, has stepped up to be the Palmers go to guy, even ahead of Fitz. Housler can catch at TE as well.

I'd still be happy with 8-8 or 9-7.

Lads totally off topic but what ever happened to the college player who lied about his girlfriend dying ( I think ) was he signed in the draft.

Mantei Teo. Notre Dame linebacker (badly missed this year too). Drafted by the Chargers, was injured and didn't start the season, but he's on the roster now and I've seen him on the field at linebacker for them. He looks small in the NFL though.

My current NFL Power rankings after 8 weeks. What do ye think? Basically you can read it that I think the team at #31 would beat the team at #32 in a hypothetical 5 game series at a neutral venue. So some teams that have beaten others will still be below them because maybe it was at home, or they've picked up injuries or whatever.

Record
1   Denver Broncos         7-1
2   New Orleans Saints         6-1
3   Seattle Seahawks         7-1
4   Kansas City Chiefs         8-0
5   San Francisco 49ers         6-2
6   Green Bay Packers         5-2
7   Indianapolis Colts         5-2
8   Cincinatti Bengals         6-2
9   New England Patriots      6-2
10   Detroit Lions                 5-3
11   Dallas Cowboys         4-4