GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: thejuice on July 14, 2019, 11:37:13 PM

Title: Meath vs Mayo, Croke Park 21/7/19
Post by: thejuice on July 14, 2019, 11:37:13 PM
(https://img-maximummedia-ie.cdn.ampproject.org/ii/w1000/s/img.maximummedia.ie/joe_ie/eyJkYXRhIjoie1widXJsXCI6XCJodHRwOlxcXC9cXFwvbWVkaWEtam9lLm1heGltdW1tZWRpYS5pZS5zMy5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tXFxcL3dwLWNvbnRlbnRcXFwvdXBsb2Fkc1xcXC8yMDEzXFxcLzAzXFxcL3NfMzVfNDM0X18zNTQzNC14bGFyZ2UuanBnXCIsXCJ3aWR0aFwiOjQ0MyxcImhlaWdodFwiOjI0OCxcImRlZmF1bHRcIjpcImh0dHBzOlxcXC9cXFwvd3d3LmpvZS5pZVxcXC9hc3NldHNcXFwvaW1hZ2VzXFxcL2pvZVxcXC9uby1pbWFnZS5wbmc_aWQ9MjY0YTJkYmUzNzBmMmM2NzVmY2RcIixcIm9wdGlvbnNcIjpbXX0iLCJoYXNoIjoiYWM5MDE0MTJkNjU0YTRmNmU3MmM5OTM2NmViMzQ3MDQ0ZGZjYTZjNyJ9/video-the-infamous-mayo-v-meath-brawl-of-1996-recreated-as-a-harlem-shake.jpg)
Title: Re: Meath vs Mayo, Croke Park 21/7/19
Post by: joemamas on July 14, 2019, 11:43:59 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 14, 2019, 11:37:13 PM
(https://img-maximummedia-ie.cdn.ampproject.org/ii/w1000/s/img.maximummedia.ie/joe_ie/eyJkYXRhIjoie1widXJsXCI6XCJodHRwOlxcXC9cXFwvbWVkaWEtam9lLm1heGltdW1tZWRpYS5pZS5zMy5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tXFxcL3dwLWNvbnRlbnRcXFwvdXBsb2Fkc1xcXC8yMDEzXFxcLzAzXFxcL3NfMzVfNDM0X18zNTQzNC14bGFyZ2UuanBnXCIsXCJ3aWR0aFwiOjQ0MyxcImhlaWdodFwiOjI0OCxcImRlZmF1bHRcIjpcImh0dHBzOlxcXC9cXFwvd3d3LmpvZS5pZVxcXC9hc3NldHNcXFwvaW1hZ2VzXFxcL2pvZVxcXC9uby1pbWFnZS5wbmc_aWQ9MjY0YTJkYmUzNzBmMmM2NzVmY2RcIixcIm9wdGlvbnNcIjpbXX0iLCJoYXNoIjoiYWM5MDE0MTJkNjU0YTRmNmU3MmM5OTM2NmViMzQ3MDQ0ZGZjYTZjNyJ9/video-the-infamous-mayo-v-meath-brawl-of-1996-recreated-as-a-harlem-shake.jpg)

Was that necessary !
Post by: From the Bunker on July 14, 2019, 11:51:14 PM
Them were the days when no one questioned Meath's character. Gas how the roles have changed!
Post by: joemamas on July 14, 2019, 11:54:24 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 14, 2019, 11:43:59 PM

Was that necessary !

I hope that was not James Horan in the headlock, just remember, revenge is a dish best served cold.
Post by: thejuice on July 14, 2019, 11:58:16 PM
We have plenty of character but it's the talent department that I'd have more concern about. But we're slowly getting there. Good to get acquainted with Mayo again almost 10 years since our last meeting at the same stage in 2009. Hard to know what shape either team are in on the back of their respective defeats but definitely both teams eyeing this one as the best chance of a result.

At least RTE are showing this one.
Post by: thejuice on July 14, 2019, 11:59:48 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 14, 2019, 11:54:24 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 14, 2019, 11:43:59 PM

Was that necessary !

I hope that was not James Horan in the headlock, just remember, revenge is a dish best served cold.

I think there was a wasp on his ear. Coyler was only trying to protect him.
Post by: moysider on July 15, 2019, 01:49:43 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 14, 2019, 11:51:14 PM
Them were the days when no one questioned Meath's character. Gas how the roles have changed!

Hmmmm. I though they were the days everybody questioned Meath's character!

Great opportunity for Meath. Mayo gives every county the opportunity to kick on and feel good about themselves. James will fold his arms, stare at the ground, and act like the mess has nothing to do with him.
Post by: maigheo on July 15, 2019, 03:04:01 AM
I know you are not a fan of Horan, Moysider but that last comment is totally unfair.The fourth tough game in 4 weeks, there was only going to be one winner today and the idea that if the team was set up differently the result might have been different is totally bogus
Post by: macdanger2 on July 15, 2019, 11:31:25 AM
Meath are decent value at 9/4 considering the results at the weekend
Post by: meathie on July 15, 2019, 12:01:06 PM
Hard to call now. Had Mayo not been as destroyed as they were yesterday, obviously there wouldn't even be a thought about Meath being close to matching them. If the week continues as its started (Mayo are so poor, their goners, their done for etc) then I think Mayo may come out all guns blazing, with a big point to prove esp to their fans. Likewise Meath could go either way: We put up a good fight to Donegal and were thereabouts for most of the game. Nothing to lose, can only improve...Or, we gave it our all and still came up 9 points short at the end, let it go from us etc. As we know theres always a sort of edge to Meath/Mayo games and I dont think this will be any different. I expect pulling, dragging, cards and a decent battle from both! At least both of our goalies are in the same boat!
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 15, 2019, 01:17:31 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 15, 2019, 11:31:25 AM
Meath are decent value at 9/4 considering the results at the weekend

If the game was played some where other the odds would be decent but outside of Dublin does any team have a better record in the championship in Croke Park than Mayo do the last 5 or 6 years?
Post by: joemamas on July 15, 2019, 01:25:18 PM
Quote from: maigheo on July 15, 2019, 03:04:01 AM
I know you are not a fan of Horan, Moysider but that last comment is totally unfair.The fourth tough game in 4 weeks, there was only going to be one winner today and the idea that if the team was set up differently the result might have been different is totally bogus

Kinda of feel the same about yesterday. Not sure all of the blame lies with James Horan. They looked shagged after four weeks on the trot. Patrick Durcan injury huge, and they targeted Kevin Mcloughlin.  Lets wait until the season is over before we make a final judgement.
Post by: moysider on July 15, 2019, 03:12:32 PM
We didn't run out of steam. Not sure we can excuse it all by injuries and fatigue. We appeared totally ambushed by Kerry's intensity. Pace and tactics from the throw in. Thought we lasted the pace quite well. Just never got going at the level necessary to deal with Kerry yesterday.
Post by: iorras on July 15, 2019, 03:14:54 PM
Mayo need to feel the hangmans noose starting to tighten before they wake up and play I think. A different animal on Sunday but they will ABSOLUTELY give Meath every change of winning the game, similarly as they would if they were playing the pick of the national school kids playing at half time. There'd only be a kick of the ball in that encounter with the young gasuns from various national schools missing a penalty in injury time.
Post by: moysider on July 16, 2019, 01:21:44 AM
Quote from: iorras on July 15, 2019, 03:14:54 PM
Mayo need to feel the hangmans noose starting to tighten before they wake up and play I think. A different animal on Sunday but they will ABSOLUTELY give Meath every change of winning the game, similarly as they would if they were playing the pick of the national school kids playing at half time. There'd only be a kick of the ball in that encounter with the young gasuns from various national schools missing a penalty in injury time.

Yeah. I get that. How can that be sustainable?
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 16, 2019, 09:39:35 AM
Quote from: moysider on July 15, 2019, 03:12:32 PM
We didn't run out of steam. Not sure we can excuse it all by injuries and fatigue. We appeared totally ambushed by Kerry's intensity. Pace and tactics from the throw in. Thought we lasted the pace quite well. Just never got going at the level necessary to deal with Kerry yesterday.

You're been very harsh on your lot, I'd have though the previous few weeks exertions would have been mentally very tasking too. Don't get me wrong tactically Horan got a fair bit wrong too and when you only win 30% of your own kickouts during a half of football you've got no chance of winning any game. If Mayo had been able to get hold of their own kickouts they'd have been able to stem the tide and slow Kerry down but they couldn't and Kerry kept gaining momentum.
Post by: thejuice on July 16, 2019, 03:51:26 PM
All Ireland Minor Football Championship semi final 2012

Mayo v Meath

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=cm3ENjjZSa4

MEATH MF:
1. Robert Burlingham (Simonstown Gaels);

2. Declan Smyth (Dunsany),
3. Brian Power (Ratoath),
4. Shane Gallagher (Simonstown Gaels);

5. Conor Carton (Donaghmore/Ashbourne),
6. Shane McEntee (St Peter's Dunboyne/Kilbride),
7. Seamus Lavin (St Peter's Dunboyne/Kilbride);

8. Pauric Harnan (Jenkinstown Gaels),
9. Adam Flanagan (Clonard);

10. Cillian O'Sullivan (Jenkinstown Gaels),
11. Jason Daly (St Peter's Dunboyne/Kilbride),
12. James McEntee (St Vincent's/Curraha);

13. Barry Dardis (Summerhill),
14. Stephen Coogan (Dunderry),
15. Fiachra Ward (Wolfe Tones).

Manager: Andy McEntee

MAYO MFC:
Conor O'Malley (Westport);

Joe Geraghty (Ballintubber),
Sean Moran (Kiltimagh),
Michael Plunkett (Ballintubber);

Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels),
Cian Burke (Ardnaree Sarsfields),
Kevin Lynch (Mayo Gaels);

Brian Mullen (Westport),
Adam Gallagher (Mayo Gaels);

Eoghan Lavin (Kiltimagh),
Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore),
Diarmuid O'Connor (Ballintubber);

James Quinn (Ballinrobe),
Sean Regan (Ballina Stephenites),
Shane Hennelly (Shrule/Glencorrib).

How many of those made the Mayo team out of interest? Pretty much all that Minor Meath team got a spell in the senior panel.
Post by: iorras on July 16, 2019, 03:59:26 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 16, 2019, 01:21:44 AM
Quote from: iorras on July 15, 2019, 03:14:54 PM

Yeah. I get that. How can that be sustainable?
Well, its not but has been there the past two years and it will take Horan some time to change that. but the raising or lowering your performance based on the quality of the opposition has been there for ages.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 16, 2019, 04:03:53 PM

Had forgot about that game - the phantom foot block for the penalty and the foul hand pass and pick up for the 2nd goal! 

You could only laugh about it now!
Post by: Tubberman on July 16, 2019, 04:05:27 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 16, 2019, 03:51:26 PM

Mayo v Meath

MEATH MF:

MAYO MFC:

Sean Moran (Kiltimagh),

Brian Mullen (Westport),

How many of those made the Mayo team out of interest? Pretty much all that Minor Meath team got a spell in the senior panel.

Michael Plunkett (Ballintubber) - On 2019 panel
Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels) - On 2019 panel (injured)
Adam Gallagher (Mayo Gaels) - Not on 2019 panel, was involved earlier in year and previous years
Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore) - On 2019 panel
Diarmuid O'Connor (Ballintubber) - On 2019 panel (injured)
Post by: MayoBuck on July 16, 2019, 04:15:07 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 16, 2019, 04:05:27 PM

Mayo v Meath

MEATH MF:

MAYO MFC:

Sean Moran (Kiltimagh),

Brian Mullen (Westport),

Adam Gallagher (Mayo Gaels) - Not on 2019 panel, was involved earlier in year and previous years
Diarmuid O'Connor (Ballintubber) - On 2019 panel (injured)

Conor O'Malley is a goalkeeper with Peterborough United now. Interesting that the current captain and vice captain of the seniors were on that minor team.
Post by: ck on July 16, 2019, 04:21:16 PM
I think Meath will ask big questions here. They are a pretty good side and if Mayo are not on top form this weekend they'll be gone.
Post by: thejuice on July 16, 2019, 09:16:59 PM
I think we'll get goal chances like we did against Donegal but we'll need to take them if we're to win. We had 4 good chances from play against Donegal  and I think one came off the post and two went over. The other went wide I think.

I don't think Mayo were as bad as some are making out, Kerry were just in phenomenal form at home and also well rested. Mayo are deserving favourites for this game but we'll have the opportunity to win it.
Post by: mayoman dan on July 16, 2019, 10:02:11 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 16, 2019, 09:16:59 PM
I think we'll get goal chances like we did against Donegal but we'll need to take them if we're to win. We had 4 good chances from play against Donegal  and I think one came off the post and two went over. The other went wide I think.

100% you will get goal chances.Horans Mayo remind me of Kevin Keegans Newcastle team of the 90s.Whatever you score we will score more.Unfortunately when you come up against forwards Like Clifford Murphy or Brogan on a big day that tactic is as useful as tits on a bull.I said on an earlier topic Horan was a poor coach well sunday compounded my view by a thousand.I wont be one bit surprised if Meath beat us sunday and score 2 or more goals in the process.But true to form as Horan stares at the ground when his team is crying out for a change Horan will have his excuses ready.In 2012 it was the county boards fault he left Murphy 1 on 1 on the edge of the square.In 2013 it was the fans fault for not making enough noise as he made a series of catastrophic errors.In 2014 it was the loss of Aido and Cillian to a head injury that made him leave Donaghy all alone to have the time of his life in front of our goal....The county board ran Rochford for this shite.We were told Horan has learned....He has learnes sweet fcuk all
Post by: moysider on July 16, 2019, 11:49:29 PM
Quote from: ck on July 16, 2019, 04:21:16 PM
I think Meath will ask big questions here. They are a pretty good side and if Mayo are not on top form this weekend they'll be gone.

We know. In other words it's the usual fare.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 17, 2019, 09:12:06 AM
Quote from: moysider on July 16, 2019, 11:49:29 PM
Quote from: ck on July 16, 2019, 04:21:16 PM

We know. In other words it's the usual fare.

Exactly. Hope I'm wrong but I can't see them lifting it again so soon. Meath have a good chance.
Post by: thejuice on July 17, 2019, 10:06:57 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 16, 2019, 04:03:53 PM

Had forgot about that game - the phantom foot block for the penalty and the foul hand pass and pick up for the 2nd goal! 

You could only laugh about it now!

Foot block decision was terrible alright. Keeper still could have done better against Wards penalty. Not sure about the hand pass though? It looked like the keeper knocked the ball out of Wards hand.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 19, 2019, 09:08:10 AM
Any team news?
Post by: rosnarun on July 19, 2019, 12:49:32 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on July 16, 2019, 04:15:07 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 16, 2019, 04:05:27 PM

Mayo v Meath

MEATH MF:

6. Shane McEntee (St Peter’s Dunboyne/Kilbride),
7. Seamus Lavin (St Peter’s Dunboyne/Kilbride);

10. Cillian O’Sullivan (Jenkinstown Gaels),
11. Jason Daly (St Peter’s Dunboyne/Kilbride),
12. James McEntee (St Vincent’s/Curraha);

MAYO MFC:
Conor O’Malley (Westport);

Sean Moran (Kiltimagh),

Brian Mullen (Westport),

Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber);

Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber) - On 2019 panel (injured)

Conor O'Malley is a goalkeeper with Peterborough United now. Interesting that the current captain and vice captain of the seniors were on that minor team.
Did stephen coen actually play in the forwards . I would always have him down as one of lifes natural Backs or at best defensive midfielder .

Gas to see the old Curmudgeons here getting ready to Stab horan in the back , there always a moronic element too the mayo support jus waiting to slag off the players and management or failing that the county board,
nauseating
Post by: Blowitupref on July 19, 2019, 09:06:43 PM
Mayo team named. three changes with Eoin O'Donoghue, Seamus O'Shea and Ciaran Treacy are in and Chris Barrett, Kevin McLoughlin & James Carr are out

1. David Clarke - Ballina Stephenites
2. Stephen Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
3. Brendan Harrison - Aghamore
4. Eoin O'Donoghue - Belmullet
5. Lee Keegan - Westport
6. Colm Boyle - Davitts
7. Keith Higgins - Ballyhaunis
8. Donal Vaughan - Castlebar Mitchels
9. Seamus O'Shea - Breaffy
10. Fionn McDonagh - Westport
11. Aidan O'Shea - Breaffy(C)
12. Ciaran Treacy - Ballina Stephenites
13. Cillian O'Connor - Ballintubber
14. Darren Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
15. Jason Doherty - Burrishoole
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 19, 2019, 09:08:33 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 19, 2019, 09:06:43 PM
Mayo team named. three changes with Eoin O'Donoghue, Seamus O'Shea and Ciaran Treacy are in and Chris Barrett, Kevin McLoughlin & James Carr are out

1. David Clarke - Ballina Stephenites
2. Stephen Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
3. Brendan Harrison - Aghamore
4. Eoin O'Donoghue - Belmullet
5. Lee Keegan - Westport
6. Colm Boyle - Davitts
7. Keith Higgins - Ballyhaunis
8. Donal Vaughan - Castlebar Mitchels
9. Seamus O'Shea - Breaffy
10. Fionn McDonagh - Westport
11. Aidan O'Shea - Breaffy(C)
12. Ciaran Treacy - Ballina Stephenites
13. Cillian O'Connor - Ballintubber
14. Darren Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
15. Jason Doherty - Burrishoole

Hennelly has to come in imo
Post by: macdanger2 on July 19, 2019, 09:09:32 PM
Great to see EOD in. Doc can probably consider himself lucky not to get dropped
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 19, 2019, 09:19:33 PM
Vaughan and AOS to swap throughout the game?
Post by: MayoBuck on July 19, 2019, 10:52:19 PM
Looks like Coen to mark Mickey Newman? I assume Vaughan will go to wing back, Aidan to mf and Higgins at 11 like 2nd half last weekend.
Post by: thejuice on July 20, 2019, 06:02:13 AM
Meath (Super 8s v Mayo):

Andrew Colgan;

Seamus Lavin, Conor McGill, Shane Gallagher;
Donal Keogan, Padraic Harnan, Gavin McCoy;

Bryan Menton, Shane McEntee;

Ethan Devine, Bryan McMahon, James McEntee;
Cillian O'Sullivan, Michael Newman, James Conlon
Post by: thejuice on July 20, 2019, 11:14:41 AM
Much of the analysis in the media has been very much Mayo focused. I understand why but funny to be in the middle of it. No one seems to be asking "how can Meath win this game" or "how will Meath set up to attack Mayo".  I don't particularly mind to be honest and it's not like I feel we need to be the centre of attention but it's strange to see all the same. Kerry and Donegal is getting the lions share of coverage anyway.

Judging by our selection we'll do the same as before with a mix of running from Menton, McEntee, O'Sullivan Keoghan, Harnan mixed with long ball into Newman with Conlon and runners in support.

My biggest worry is midfield, our kickouts are not of the required quality and also our fitness in the last ten minutes is also a concern against div 1 teams
Post by: larryin89 on July 20, 2019, 11:31:56 AM
Mood in Mayo has changed dramatically, support for the second game running will be outnumbered by opposition supporters . People fall off the bandwagon as quick as they jumped on . It's a strange feeling watching them die a death , they are so wrecked you'd throw in the towel if it were boxing . This week is bad what is two weeks time going to be like in a dead rubber v Donegal , good jc it will be unbearable.

Meath to win by five points . Mayo 2012-17 team finally confirmed dead , what a ride it's been though .
Post by: mrhardyannual on July 20, 2019, 09:13:46 PM
Can anyone confirm that Tom Parsons lined out for Charlestown in the past week? If true it's close to a miracle.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 20, 2019, 10:47:25 PM
Quote from: mrhardyannual on July 20, 2019, 09:13:46 PM
Can anyone confirm that Tom Parsons lined out for Charlestown in the past week? If true it's close to a miracle.

I doubt it. It would have been all over the papers and media.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 20, 2019, 10:53:10 PM

I doubt that, there's a team picture here. Now that begs the question of why he wasn't there, one reason could be he's busy targeting a return. Also a better sign that he didn't play. I wouldn't imagine he would play if he was in line for a county match a few days later.

https://twitter.com/charlestowngaa/status/1151229960662728704?s=21
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on July 20, 2019, 11:26:29 PM
Meath to give Mayo their fill of it, but Mayo to grind it out in the end. If they do that, it could set up a huge game against Donegal in Castlebar providing Kerry beat Donegal tomorrow.
Post by: moysider on July 20, 2019, 11:48:34 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 20, 2019, 10:47:25 PM

I doubt it. It would have been all over the papers and media.

Hearing that he may be close to a return. Hard to imagine. That would be something!
Diarmuid O Connor close too to getting back.
Anyway tires pumped and ready to go in the morning. Looking forward to it.

Post by: MayoBuck on July 20, 2019, 11:54:19 PM
David Brady said on Off the ball earlier that Diarmuid O'Connor will be among the subs tomorrow. He was in a cast last Sunday in Killarney so hard to believe.
Post by: rosnarun on July 20, 2019, 11:58:10 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 20, 2019, 11:31:56 AM
Mood in Mayo has changed dramatically, support for the second game running will be outnumbered by opposition supporters . People fall off the bandwagon as quick as they jumped on . It's a strange feeling watching them die a death , they are so wrecked you'd throw in the towel if it were boxing . This week is bad what is two weeks time going to be like in a dead rubber v Donegal , good jc it will be unbearable.

Meath to win by five points . Mayo 2012-17 team finally confirmed dead , what a ride it's been though .
so as you chastise  the non believers you pronounce mayo death in the days before a huge game on the basis of one game .
with 'Fans' like that who needs enemies
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on July 20, 2019, 11:58:28 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on July 20, 2019, 11:54:19 PM
David Brady said on Off the ball earlier that Diarmuid O'Connor will be among the subs tomorrow. He was in a cast last Sunday in Killarney so hard to believe.

I actually met an U-20 player recently who was in a cast a couple of days prior to game and started the match in full health. Wouldn't be surprised if Diarmuid O'Connor was on the bench tomorrow.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 21, 2019, 12:12:44 AM
Quote from: thejuice on July 20, 2019, 11:14:41 AM
Much of the analysis in the media has been very much Mayo focused. I understand why but funny to be in the middle of it. No one seems to be asking "how can Meath win this game" or "how will Meath set up to attack Mayo".  I don't particularly mind to be honest and it's not like I feel we need to be the centre of attention but it's strange to see all the same. Kerry and Donegal is getting the lions share of coverage anyway.

Judging by our selection we'll do the same as before with a mix of running from Menton, McEntee, O'Sullivan Keoghan, Harnan mixed with long ball into Newman with Conlon and runners in support.

My biggest worry is midfield, our kickouts are not of the required quality and also our fitness in the last ten minutes is also a concern against div 1 teams

Meath looked flat out on their feet for the final quarter of the Donegal game. Will one week be enough recovery time against Mayo who will be like a wounded animal?
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 21, 2019, 12:31:17 AM

No. I was at the Knockmore v Charlestown and he wasn't named.
Post by: joemamas on July 21, 2019, 12:52:15 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 21, 2019, 12:31:17 AM

Who won the game
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 21, 2019, 07:46:49 AM
Quote from: joemamas on July 21, 2019, 12:52:15 AM

Who won the game

Charlestown by 11.

All the best to the lads today. Have conflicting emotions about this one. Safe travelling to the fsns/fools from both counties. Up Mayo
Post by: Tubberman on July 21, 2019, 08:37:35 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 21, 2019, 07:46:49 AM

Who won the game

Charlestown by 11.

All the best to the lads today. Have conflicting emotions about this one. Safe travelling to the fsns/fools from both counties. Up Mayo

Where's the.conflict?
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 21, 2019, 09:39:42 AM
https://twitter.com/maigheoforsam/status/1152852959346253824?s=21
Post by: sid waddell on July 21, 2019, 09:47:01 AM
Mayo need to win today by a minimum of 15 points and preferably by 20+, otherwise they're relying on the kindness of strangers.

Big difference between needing any win against Donegal to qualify and needing to win by 10.

It's the sort of game where you wouldn't be that surprised if Mayo reach that 20 point target, especially against an inexperienced team with fitness issues on their third week out in a row who must have serious scars from their last Croke Park appearance - but neither would you be totally surprised if they have a complete catastrophe and somehow contrive to lose the game.

Post by: Blowitupref on July 21, 2019, 09:59:56 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on July 21, 2019, 09:47:01 AM
Mayo need to win today by a minimum of 15 points and preferably by 20+, otherwise they're relying on the kindness of strangers.

Big difference between needing any win against Donegal to qualify and needing to win by 10.

Am i right in saying if Donegal lose today then two 1 point wins v Meath and Donegal would be enough for Mayo to reach the last 4?

Post by: Farrandeelin on July 21, 2019, 10:06:31 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 21, 2019, 08:37:35 AM

Who won the game

Charlestown by 11.

Where's the.conflict?

As in one minute I think we'll win, next one I think we'll lose.
Post by: Tubberman on July 21, 2019, 10:10:45 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 21, 2019, 10:06:31 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 21, 2019, 08:37:35 AM

Who won the game

Charlestown by 11.

Where's the.conflict?

As in one minute I think we'll win, next one I think we'll lose.

Ah right, yeah i think most people are wary of this one. I thought you meant you were in two minds whether you wanted us to win or not!
Post by: sid waddell on July 21, 2019, 10:13:23 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 21, 2019, 09:59:56 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on July 21, 2019, 09:47:01 AM

Am i right in saying if Donegal lose today then two 1 point wins v Meath and Donegal would be enough for Mayo to reach the last 4?
If Mayo draw today and Donegal lose by 1, a 1 point win over Donegal would then likely be enough for Mayo to qualify

Unless Meath pull off a miracle and beat Kerry

Post by: MayoBuck on July 21, 2019, 10:58:53 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on July 21, 2019, 09:39:42 AM

It appears David Brady was talking through his hole re Diarmuid O'Connor  ::)
Post by: Tatler Jack on July 21, 2019, 11:27:45 AM
Quote from: MayoBuck on July 21, 2019, 10:58:53 AM

Brady talking through his rear aperture.? If true surely a first! 😜
Post by: thejuice on July 21, 2019, 12:16:12 PM
Graham Reilly not even on the bench  :o
Post by: galwayman on July 21, 2019, 12:25:48 PM

Stop he's an absolute embarrassment.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 21, 2019, 01:22:23 PM

An U20 lad who wasn't on the panel up to a few weeks ago and now given the number 18 jersey is a big surprise
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 21, 2019, 01:38:03 PM

I know Conor Diskin,Brian Reape,Cian Hanley are now overseas but what has happened to Evan Regan,Ger Cafferkey,David Drake,James Durcan to no longer make the 26?
Post by: Blowitupref on July 21, 2019, 02:01:28 PM
3 changes for Mayo Chris Barrett, Kevin McLoughlin & Fergal Boland replacing Eoin O'Donoghue, Keith Higgins & CiarĂ¡n Treacy
Post by: imtommygunn on July 21, 2019, 02:09:12 PM
Mayo don't look great here. Going to be a tight game by the looks of it.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 21, 2019, 02:12:05 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 21, 2019, 02:09:12 PM
Mayo don't look great here. Going to be a tight game by the looks of it.

Both sides look sh1te!
Post by: imtommygunn on July 21, 2019, 02:15:30 PM
Yeah but mayo upping it a bit now.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 21, 2019, 02:16:50 PM
15 minutes played Meath 0-4 Mayo 0-3. 4th Meath point should have been a goal!
Post by: Rudi on July 21, 2019, 02:28:11 PM
Entertainment what more could supporters or neutrals ask for.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 21, 2019, 02:41:45 PM
Half time Mayo 0-7 Meath 0-7  Meath find themselves level even though they went 18 minutes without a score but have lost Newman to injury a massive blow to them.
Post by: J70 on July 21, 2019, 02:44:55 PM
Both teams will regret missed chances, but Mayo more in that they missed some easy ones. Three or four into the keepers arms, a few bad wides. They were well on top for ten or fifteen minutes towards the end of the first half, but didn't make it count. Meath are defended very well however, and look dangerous on the break.
Post by: Tatler Jack on July 21, 2019, 02:46:21 PM
Did I hear Marty say " Meath are not going away " about 2mins before half time and they a point behind. Does he ever listen to himself. 
Post by: thejuice on July 21, 2019, 02:46:59 PM
So far so good. Poor decision making up front but we're getting chances all the same. Defense has been great but wonder how long they'll last. That final ten minutes will be decisive. Walsh is a good prospect and now how has a chance to make a mark. Conlon has been too far out when he gets the ball.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 21, 2019, 02:50:11 PM
Mayo no doubt thankful its Meath and not their neighbours Dublin they are playing today.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 21, 2019, 02:51:23 PM
5 weeks out in a row for Mayo! A bit of a disgrace asking Amateur players to do this. They look stale. Meath even look stale with their 3 weeks out in a row!
Post by: sid waddell on July 21, 2019, 02:57:54 PM
Mayo are in a battle to get a bare win here in a game they should be well ahead in

A bare win means there's a good chance they'll be effectively out of the championship by 6pm
Post by: Blowitupref on July 21, 2019, 02:59:47 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on July 21, 2019, 02:57:54 PM
Mayo are in a battle to get a bare win here in a game they should be well ahead in

A bare win means there's a good chance they'll be effectively out of the championship by 6pm

To be fair Meath only scored 7 times from 15 scoring chances and had the only real goal chance in that 1st half.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 21, 2019, 03:04:45 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on July 21, 2019, 02:57:54 PM

This would have been a surprise 2 years ago. But with the injuries, age profile, run of games in consecutive weeks and mileage we are no better than most of the chasing bunch!
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 21, 2019, 03:13:32 PM
If hennelly gave a kick out to noone like that he'd be crucified
Post by: Blowitupref on July 21, 2019, 03:15:17 PM
51 minutes played Mayo 0-10 Meath 0-11 all to play for still.  Fitness and better bench could be the difference now.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 21, 2019, 03:19:24 PM
Andy Moran still showing he's Mayo best forward from play.
Post by: J70 on July 21, 2019, 03:23:33 PM
Steps not being called today? ;D
Post by: Tatler Jack on July 21, 2019, 03:23:50 PM
Meath tiring hard to see them winning without a goal. Couple of bad misses from frees.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 21, 2019, 03:25:03 PM
60 minutes played. Mayo 0-13 Meath 0-12.
Post by: Tatler Jack on July 21, 2019, 03:26:27 PM
Quote from: Tatler Jack on July 21, 2019, 03:23:50 PM
Meath tiring hard to see them winning without a goal. Couple of bad misses from frees.

Unless it's over 10 or 15.
Post by: dublin7 on July 21, 2019, 03:27:34 PM
Quote from: Tatler Jack on July 21, 2019, 03:26:27 PM
Quote from: Tatler Jack on July 21, 2019, 03:23:50 PM

Unless it's over 10 or 15.

Fatigue has beaten Meath. Out on their feet and suddenly Mayo forwards look competent
Post by: Rudi on July 21, 2019, 03:28:21 PM
Donegal and Kerry got a handy group
Post by: Blowitupref on July 21, 2019, 03:28:34 PM
Goal for Mayo a very poor goal given away by Meath. Mayo 1-15 Meath 0-12
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 21, 2019, 03:29:01 PM
Gas tank noticeably running on fumes for Meath. Not even tracking runners now.
Post by: J70 on July 21, 2019, 03:29:30 PM
Looks like that awful miss from O'Sullivan was a big turning point. Although Meath have hit a few more poor wides since then as well.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 21, 2019, 03:43:27 PM
FT Mayo 2-17 Meath 0-14. A real stupid penalty given away sealed a hard earned win for Mayo where fitness and a better bench was the difference in the end but they weren't 9 points the better team on the day.
Post by: Main Street on July 21, 2019, 03:45:21 PM
That had the feel of a scrap to avoid the group's wooden spoon.
Post by: thejuice on July 21, 2019, 03:52:51 PM
Poor showing again late in the second half. Clear as day what we need to work on. Based on today and the last day Conlon needs to go back on the bench and Shane Walsh to start. Badly need about 4 or 5 quality players to shore up that team. Goalkeeper way below the required level. Well done Mayo but that was hard work. Cillian O'Sullivan needs to take the blinkers off. Had options and ignored them too often.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 21, 2019, 04:13:29 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 21, 2019, 03:52:51 PM
Poor showing again late in the second half. Clear as day what we need to work on. Based on today and the last day Conlon needs to go back on the bench and Shane Walsh to start. Badly need about 4 or 5 quality players to shore up that team. Goalkeeper way below the required level. Well done Mayo but that was hard work. Cillian O'Sullivan needs to take the blinkers off. Had options and ignored them too often.
Lost his head late on and responsible for turning a likely 3 point defeat into a 9 point defeat.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 21, 2019, 04:14:23 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 21, 2019, 03:52:51 PM

Newman was a huge loss for frees and inspiration.
Post by: thejuice on July 21, 2019, 04:23:26 PM
Never mind losing his head between his own short comings on kick outs and our midfield there's no way for us to advance unless this is sorted next year. Newman has that creative spark but we need someone else with that too. Conlon might have that in a few years but he's still a bit too wild in his kicking. You can get away with it against Laois but not this level.
Post by: Halfquarter on July 21, 2019, 05:38:29 PM
Is the Kerry / Donegal result good for Mayo ?
Post by: Maiden1 on July 21, 2019, 05:39:59 PM
Quote from: Halfquarter on July 21, 2019, 05:38:29 PM
Yes. Mayo win last game they qualify.
Post by: yellowcard on July 21, 2019, 05:41:42 PM

Great result for Mayo, a win qualifies them now for certain. They refuse to go away.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 21, 2019, 06:05:46 PM
Quote from: Maiden1 on July 21, 2019, 05:39:59 PM
Yes. Mayo win last game they qualify.

At home too.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 21, 2019, 06:31:04 PM
Certainly made hard work of it. Very flat and stale first half, that was to be expected after losing by 9 and 10 points the week before. Heard Higgins had a bit of a knock. Forwards were awful in the first half. Lot of poor decisions made by our players too. Hard to believe we managed to win it, as usually the opposition would make us pay in some fashion. Next Donegal in Castlebar, based on today we won't get within 5 of them.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 21, 2019, 07:16:01 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 21, 2019, 06:31:04 PM
Certainly made hard work of it. Very flat and stale first half, that was to be expected after losing by 9 and 10 points the week before. Heard Higgins had a bit of a knock. Forwards were awful in the first half. Lot of poor decisions made by our players too. Hard to believe we managed to win it, as usually the opposition would make us pay in some fashion. Next Donegal in Castlebar, based on today we won't get within 5 of them.

This was our 5th week out in a row. We had no Higgins, Ruane, Diarmuid and Paddy. Played for the main part sh1te and we still won by 9 points.
Post by: Randy on July 21, 2019, 07:21:47 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 21, 2019, 07:16:01 PM

This was our 5th week out in a row. We had no Higgins, Ruane, Diarmuid and Paddy. Played for the main part sh1te and we still won by 9 points.

And not to forget that Aidan O'Se is carrying an injury. Not a bad result when all that is considered.
Post by: FL/MAYO on July 21, 2019, 07:48:56 PM
Quote from: Randy on July 21, 2019, 07:21:47 PM

And not to forget that Aidan O'Se is carrying an injury. Not a bad result when all that is considered.

Any chance of Diarmuid and Ruane coming back in the next 2 weeks?
Post by: maigheo on July 21, 2019, 08:22:27 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on July 21, 2019, 07:48:56 PM
Quote from: Randy on July 21, 2019, 07:21:47 PM

Any chance of Diarmuid and Ruane coming back in the next 2 weeks?
I am sure David  Brady will have that info for us shortly
Post by: From the Bunker on July 21, 2019, 08:30:13 PM
(https://scontent-dub4-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/67356130_2146190222176234_3196129973794504704_n.jpg?_nc_cat=1&_nc_oc=AQlf4JxiNEGj1g9H6VTkPpu14DHbTU9fM6Wnp4l9ms8QQYBbrKcwEShVvtnu8ktggIo&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=809ecd8aec594863be576932a5d3fa34&oe=5DE364F7)
Post by: MayoBuck on July 21, 2019, 09:36:21 PM
The most nervy 9 point win I've ever seen!

Was very hard going for 50 or 60 minutes. In fairness to Meath, they've some really dogged backs. They frustrated the Dublin forwards in the 1st half of the Leinster final. Boyle looks like a 25 year-old at the moment. I make it that's 5 weeks in a row he's played the full game. 2 years ago he was getting hauled off after 50 minutes. James Carr and especially Andy made a big difference in the 2nd half.

The 2nd game was a level above ours in terms of quality. We've 4 starters out through injury at the moment so hopefully some of those clear up in the next 2 weeks.
Post by: Randy on July 21, 2019, 10:38:28 PM

Seen Tom Parsons running across the pitch at half time. He was moving well!
Post by: thejuice on July 21, 2019, 11:50:05 PM
I was watching on GAAGO which kept cutting out on me. So I missed O'Sullivan's wide. Kept seeing it mentioned on Twitter so just finally saw it. My god! Why was he even trying to stick it over. That close you have to go for it. Just as well GAAGO was not working or I'd have broken some furniture at the time. He had that great chance against Donegal as well which he put over too. He's a great player for us but he needs to know that we go for goals in those situations.
Post by: Tubberman on July 22, 2019, 07:01:54 AM
Diarmuid's wrist was still in a cast yesterday.
Post by: rosnarun on July 22, 2019, 03:56:06 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on July 21, 2019, 09:36:21 PM

Was very hard going for 50 or 60 minutes. In fairness to Meath, they've some really dogged backs. They frustrated the Dublin forwards in the 1st half of the Leinster final. Boyle looks like a 25 year-old at the moment. I make it that's 5 weeks in a row he's played the full game. 2 years ago he was getting hauled off after 50 minutes. James Carr and especially Andy made a big difference in the 2nd half.

The 2nd game was a level above ours in terms of quality. We've 4 starters out through injury at the moment so hopefully some of those clear up in the next 2 weeks.
in Fairness Doniee Vaughan is a new man this year too. he jas really stepped up when need to plu the holes left byy parson seamie and Ruane and even paddy durkan, these are the kinda players you need to have on your panel maybe not the best in the country but they ll let no one down,

With all the talk of injuries what the story with ger Caff? hes never mentioned an more
Post by: mrhardyannual on July 22, 2019, 06:15:38 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 21, 2019, 01:38:03 PM

I know Conor Diskin,Brian Reape,Cian Hanley are now overseas but what has happened to Evan Regan,Ger Cafferkey,David Drake,James Durcan to no longer make the 26?
Conor Diskin played for Claremorris on Friday last and on the previous Friday. It's a big step up to county senior and it will take time.
Post by: Crete Boom on July 22, 2019, 06:46:56 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 22, 2019, 03:56:06 PM
Quote from: MayoBuck on July 21, 2019, 09:36:21 PM

in Fairness Doniee Vaughan is a new man this year too. he jas really stepped up when need to plu the holes left byy parson seamie and Ruane and even paddy durkan, these are the kinda players you need to have on your panel maybe not the best in the country but they ll let no one down,

With all the talk of injuries what the story with ger Caff? hes never mentioned an more

Picked up a calf injury while rehabing his hamstring and is only just back fully training last week. I would say he will get some game time with the club and be back in the mix fir the Donegal game.
Post by: rosnarun on July 23, 2019, 03:18:22 PM
Quote from: mrhardyannual on July 22, 2019, 06:15:38 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 21, 2019, 01:38:03 PM

Conor Diskin played for Claremorris on Friday last and on the previous Friday. It's a big step up to county senior and it will take time.

Evan is normally in the 26,
any know much about osin Mullins ?
I was sure Horan would start him the last day when he bothered to bring him into the Squad