GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on November 29, 2017, 12:57:44 AM

Title: Leinster U-20 Football 2018
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on November 29, 2017, 12:57:44 AM
http://leinstergaa.ie/competitions/leinster-u-17-special-football-2017/
Title: Re: Leinster U-20 Football 2018
Post by: Butch Cassidy on November 29, 2017, 10:58:45 AM
Tough group but with 2 to qualify our aim should be to at least make the quarters.

Had a management team been appointed yet?
Post by: GAA-SMART on December 19, 2017, 10:14:01 AM
Is there a managemet in place ?
Post by: blueandwhite1 on December 19, 2017, 04:56:57 PM
Very tough with our away games in Kildare and Meath. Only home game against Wicklow. We would do very well to qualify.
Post by: GAA-SMART on December 20, 2017, 11:12:58 AM
Take it as no body knows?
Post by: Horse Box on December 22, 2017, 04:00:31 PM
Is the Peter McNulty Tournament happening in January ?
Post by: Cunny Funt on December 26, 2017, 05:56:11 PM
Quote from: Horse Box on December 22, 2017, 04:00:31 PM
Is the Peter McNulty Tournament happening in January ?
I think i read somewhere that collective training for county U20 teams next year isn't allowed until April.
Post by: SCFC on December 29, 2017, 12:00:37 PM
Very slow in putting someone in place. Is Noel Delaney being pushed in?
Post by: BallyroanAbu on December 29, 2017, 12:20:47 PM
Doubt it, would not be surprised to see Kearns take it.
Post by: GAA-SMART on January 02, 2018, 05:03:14 PM
Interviews only happening this months I think, seems very slow
Post by: O moore parklife on January 28, 2018, 07:37:01 PM
Billy  o lochlin
Post by: SCFC on January 28, 2018, 07:47:42 PM
Quote from: O moore parklife on January 28, 2018, 07:37:01 PM
Billy  o lochlin
Are you f***ing serious? 🙁
Post by: O moore parklife on January 28, 2018, 07:52:06 PM
100% heard it's being ratified tommorrow night by shaggy and co
Post by: From the Terrace on January 28, 2018, 08:13:21 PM
A poor appointment imo. No club experience when you think the county board are getting there act together they do something like this.
Post by: Don Draper on January 28, 2018, 08:21:49 PM
Best wishes Billy
Post by: redsetanta on January 28, 2018, 09:25:11 PM
Yeh right.
Post by: Tintin84 on January 28, 2018, 09:26:12 PM
Shocking appointment what in gods name are the county board doing or the interview panel. No management experience, Never played on any county team and a bit part player most of his career. Must be those years of been water boy for micko. Hardly the family link that got him the job.
Post by: redsetanta on January 28, 2018, 09:41:59 PM
You think your CB is progressive and then this!
Post by: Don Draper on January 28, 2018, 09:57:14 PM
Billy is one of the most respected minds in the college game.
Post by: redsetanta on January 28, 2018, 10:08:19 PM
Stop Don will ya me sides are aching here. Billy??
Post by: O moore parklife on January 28, 2018, 10:11:45 PM
He is a spoofer just like the man who selected him Lawrence phealen.
Reliable source has told me he made a show of himself with a self indulgent speech in front of the football panel after the west Meath "challenge matches"..
Shocking appointment
Post by: From the Terrace on January 28, 2018, 10:20:54 PM
Up to club delegates tmoro night. They can reject this but is unlikely.
Post by: town1980 on January 28, 2018, 10:31:06 PM
Baffled by this appointment ffs how is doing kearns part of senior management not involved??? A total disconnect to senior management do we not think?bn honest a joke in my opinion I like John sugru but don't like who fergal  Laurce who have personal ties with  this appointment. and they pick someone who they know but I dO not know who else was in the running
Post by: From the Terrace on January 28, 2018, 10:37:38 PM
Mark rooney was in for it aswell I heard.
Post by: Don Draper on January 28, 2018, 10:40:48 PM
Quote from: town1980 on January 28, 2018, 10:31:06 PM
Baffled by this appointment ffs how is doing kearns part of senior management not involved??? A total disconnect to senior management do we not think?bn honest a joke in my opinion I like John sugru but don't like who fergal  Laurce who have personal ties with  this appointment. and they pick someone who they know but I dO not know who else was in the running
U20's arent allowed play senior.  Up your game.
Post by: town1980 on January 28, 2018, 10:49:00 PM
What's that got to do with what I said you eejit.??
Post by: Bamford1995 on January 28, 2018, 10:57:01 PM
Very harsh words about Billy. You won't get a more committed and dedicated man. Was over Dit a couple years ago that won the sigerson-cup and was apart of the parish team u16 that got to a county final. Give him a chance
Post by: Don Draper on January 28, 2018, 10:59:01 PM
Quote from: town1980 on January 28, 2018, 10:49:00 PM
What's that got to do with what I said you eejit.??
No need for the insult, I've reported your post to the forum authorities.
Post by: town1980 on January 28, 2018, 11:05:25 PM
K don cry away but look at what you said and what I said report me to the principal... I stand by my reaction to your post eeji :' :'(
Post by: From the Terrace on January 28, 2018, 11:06:08 PM
U16 team you are having a laugh. Give him the club u17 job then and leave the county to an experienced club manager at the least.
Post by: Bamford1995 on January 28, 2018, 11:10:50 PM
It's not an ideal appointment but who else was the candidates?? Shocking county for slating lads, would u give up your time to train the lads??  Billy wud be highly regarded down in Killeen and even in Dublin. Done great things with Dit and underage coaching in Killeen, ain't too much difference in a college team and an u20 team
Post by: Don Draper on January 28, 2018, 11:11:49 PM
Quote from: town1980 on January 28, 2018, 11:05:25 PM
K don cry away but look at what you said and what I said report me to the principal... I stand by my reaction to your post eeji :' :'(
I'm leaving it to the authorities from this point. I'm quite shaken by your vicious attack truth be told.
Post by: From the Terrace on January 29, 2018, 07:37:40 AM
Also heard paddy Dunne in for this after winning leinster junior club title, either him or mark rooney with him winning laois intermediate + getting laois minors to leinster final a couple of years ago were a better fit for this. I am disappointed with fergal byron & shaggy for this farcical situation.
Post by: Tintin84 on January 29, 2018, 08:26:02 AM
Can this appointment be rejected by any chance.?
Post by: From the Terrace on January 29, 2018, 08:37:35 AM
I presume it can but not sure of the procedure. Its not his job until he is ratified at the county committee meeting tonight.
Post by: Laois fan on January 29, 2018, 09:49:02 AM
A surprising and slightly uninspiring appointment ,would like to know full list of candidates wonder was others looking for payment and billy maybe not a factor.my main concern would be what knowledge he would have of underage scene in laois and will players bother going in with all the negativity surrounding it.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on January 29, 2018, 09:53:58 AM
Billy would not have been my choice nor near it, but I am surprised he took the job.  Its an impossible task, most other counties are back a couple of months and he is looking at least the end of Feb before he can get going properly.   I think he would do well to get a couple of results.
Post by: Tintin84 on January 29, 2018, 10:19:44 AM
Paddy Dunne from Rosenallis and Mark Rooney are the only Two I know of that had interviews, Hard to see how either of those would not be selected ahead of him, Again it is definitely politics that's playing it's part here. Fergal Byron on the panel and Declan O'Loughlin was a selector with Micko when he was in charge, It's absolutely impossible for him to be given this job on past experiences, It's nothing against the chap but he has done nothing of club management no experience say what you want about college whatever he has done it's nothing compared to having a team from January to September 3 nights a week training, College football ran off in a couple of weeks and based on players available at college very easy be successful. This should be rejected by the county board tonight.
Post by: Don Draper on January 29, 2018, 10:33:53 AM
Quote from: Tintin84 on January 29, 2018, 10:19:44 AM
Again it is definitely politics that's playing it's part here. Fergal Byron on the panel and Declan O'Loughlin was a selector with Micko when he was in charge
Thats quite an accusation to make against our new coaching officer, a man who I would have great time for.
Post by: The PRO on January 29, 2018, 12:30:19 PM
Mark Rooney should have got that job. Did a great job two years ago with the same team at minor level.
Post by: Don Draper on January 29, 2018, 12:32:05 PM
Quote from: The PRO on January 29, 2018, 12:30:19 PM
Mark Rooney should have got that job. Did a great job two years ago with the same team at minor level.
Any idea why Mark wasn't kept on at the time.
Post by: The PRO on January 29, 2018, 12:47:41 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 29, 2018, 12:32:05 PM
No
Post by: Don Draper on January 29, 2018, 12:48:48 PM
Quote from: The PRO on January 29, 2018, 12:47:41 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 29, 2018, 12:32:05 PM
No
I see
Post by: Clubber Lang on January 29, 2018, 12:50:22 PM
If memory serves me correctly that minor team were easily beaten by Meath, Kildare and Galway. By a pure fluke of a draw they managed to avoid the strongest three/four teams in Leinster in quarter and semi-finals. 

Billy is young, ambitious and can relate very well with young lads. He has been part of a set up that has reached a Leinster club final which they realistically should have won. He has serious connections built up over the last decade or more through his work at colleges level and I know many inter-county players from other counties speak positively of him.

Why not give him a chance and see what he can achieve in the job. At end of day there was an interview process and he clearly stood out as the most outstanding candidate. With Phelan in as minor manager and Billy in as U20 it is good to see the county board appointing young managers with determination and drive.     
Post by: Don Draper on January 29, 2018, 12:52:44 PM
They were abysmal in that Leinster Final v Kildare, who in turn were massacred by Kerry. They missed a world of goal chances v Galway in the next round, a comical amount.
Post by: From the Terrace on January 29, 2018, 01:07:02 PM
how anyone here thinks BOL deserves this job beggers believe in my eyes. After that petulant act of kicking the ball away in leinster club final for that alone i would not hire him, heaping more pressure on a team floundering.
Post by: Don Draper on January 29, 2018, 01:08:18 PM
Quote from: From the Terrace on January 29, 2018, 01:07:02 PM
how anyone here thinks BOL deserves this job beggers believe in my eyes. After that petulant act of kicking the ball away in leinster club final for that alone i would not hire him, heaping more pressure on a team floundering.
Seems an odd reason not to appoint a manager, because he had a free brought up in a football match (not to mention a free that wasn't actually converted). 
Post by: Tintin84 on January 29, 2018, 01:26:16 PM
Let alone the only reason he got brought on was that of who the manager was another connection to the family, He was a bit part player for Arles Kileen all his career, People saying give him a chance (Very few mind you going by comments on facebook) The selection committee have messed up with this one, Here is someone who has no club management experience only u16 club experience whether he did a good interview or not there should have been common sense prevail here sorry Billy try again next year get yourself a club team see what you can do and come back then if ifs there again next year. But nope give it to him now, Maybe he'll bring in Daddy with him and Luke Dempsey for a few sessions and all team meetings in O'Loughlin's hotel too.
Post by: Don Draper on January 29, 2018, 01:31:16 PM
Quote from: Tintin84 on January 29, 2018, 01:26:16 PM
Let alone the only reason he got brought on was that of who the manager was another connection to the family, He was a bit part player for Arles Kileen all his career, People saying give him a chance (Very few mind you going by comments on facebook) The selection committee have messed up with this one, Here is someone who has no club management experience only u16 club experience whether he did a good interview or not there should have been common sense prevail here sorry Billy try again next year get yourself a club team see what you can do and come back then if ifs there again next year. But nope give it to him now, Maybe he'll bring in Daddy with him and Luke Dempsey for a few sessions and all team meetings in O'Loughlin's hotel too.
What comments on facebook?
Post by: From the Terrace on January 29, 2018, 01:33:19 PM
Don just showing an example of poor behaviour by billy on a football field. That is not an example a manager should set for any group of players. And the ball broke after that free and moorefield got the easiest of points.
Post by: steven seagal on January 29, 2018, 01:34:55 PM
More luck to Billy if he's the chosen candidate. I'd have my doubts about Shaggy and Phelan on a selection committee, but Byron is no mug, and if he impressed him enough then I'll give him a chance. I wouldn't have even thought of him to take over tbh, but if he could win two games in that group he'll have done well.

The bigger issue around the appointment, to my mind, is that we're not developing our own coaches any more and bringing them through with the development squads. Every time a development squad comes through to these grades, we have to go looking for a new manager for them, when in reality, whoever has had them since U-13 should be developing at the same pace as the players, and be fit to stay on as manager. We're probably over reliant on the GDAs in that regard.
Post by: Tintin84 on January 29, 2018, 01:38:13 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 29, 2018, 01:31:16 PM
Check the comments on Leinster express sport and also Laois today. All the same theme!!!
Post by: Don Draper on January 29, 2018, 01:43:42 PM
Quote from: Tintin84 on January 29, 2018, 01:38:13 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 29, 2018, 01:31:16 PM
Check the comments on Leinster express sport and also Laois today. All the same theme!!!
About 14 comments in total?
Post by: SCFC on January 29, 2018, 04:39:54 PM
Good luck to him but it's underwhelming to say the least.
Hope we're wrong but anyone I've spoken to is gobsmacked.
Post by: oneflewoverthecuckoonest on January 29, 2018, 06:20:30 PM
the appointment of billy, if ratified tonight will go down in most quarters as comedy gold, with the laughing all in the direction of laois gaa. it is some statement about the state of affairs of laois underage football. 

for billy it is a no lose job...nobody expects much, and if they fail, he can slide back to oblivion having had his chance.
Post by: Don Draper on January 29, 2018, 07:16:50 PM
Quote from: From the Terrace on January 29, 2018, 01:33:19 PM
Don just showing an example of poor behaviour by billy on a football field. That is not an example a manager should set for any group of players. And the ball broke after that free and moorefield got the easiest of points.
Jesus he made a mistake, and you want to hang him for life. A Laois legend once got months for interfering with a linesman, you'd have probably banned Mick Lawlor for life too. 
Post by: From the Terrace on January 29, 2018, 07:22:41 PM
Nonsense don. We'll see who's proved right on this appointment.
Post by: From the Terrace on January 29, 2018, 07:37:40 PM
Comparing one of the finest footballers laois has ever produced & BOL just sums up this argument. Circus.
Post by: Bamford1995 on January 29, 2018, 07:58:18 PM
Soo many keyboard warriors here cowarding being their computers giving the man a tough time. It's not an ideal appointment but has there been one in the last 5 years?? He wouldn't have looked for it if he didn't think he could give it a good rattle. He wasn't the greatest player to have played but his coaching and managerial skills are impressive. We are a sinking ship the last 10 years and it can't get any worse
Post by: Don Draper on January 29, 2018, 08:08:34 PM
Quote from: From the Terrace on January 29, 2018, 07:22:41 PM
Nonsense don. We'll see who's proved right on this appointment.
Whether the appointment is successful or not is not what you're debating. You're crucifying a player for a mistake made, again, a mistake that didn't cost a score. You're blinkered on this one. Play the ball, not the man.

Quote from: From the Terrace on January 29, 2018, 07:37:40 PM
Comparing one of the finest footballers laois has ever produced & BOL just sums up this argument. Circus.
I was using your logic, whereby you'd have crucified Mick for a burst of petulance. If this is the circus, you my friend, are the, well you might be able to figure out where this is going.
Post by: From the Terrace on January 30, 2018, 08:26:21 AM
Ha thanks don. I obviously disagree with appointment. But  no point dwelling on it. What is a realistic good year for this team? Leinster semi or final?
Post by: BallyroanAbu on January 30, 2018, 09:55:25 AM
Realistic is that they are ill prepared, little planning and they have Kildare and Meath in their group.  I cannot understand why the County Board did not make senior management take them till an U20 manager was found.  I cannot see how they compete with Kildare let alone beat them & hard to see them beating Meath. 
Post by: les Antiques on January 30, 2018, 11:35:42 AM
Billy given a two year deal . Best of luck to the chap . He's going to surprise a few people :)
Post by: The Monument Road on January 30, 2018, 02:05:31 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on January 30, 2018, 11:35:42 AM
Billy given a two year deal . Best of luck to the chap . He's going to surprise a few people :)
Good luck to Billy. He must have made an impression on someone at CB level. With this decision we cannot throw the incompetent narrative at our new chairman like some did with the outgoing chairman when similar positions were filled in the past . Billy must have some plan prepared if he beat( hands down i hear) the likes of Higgins, Rooney and a few more to get the job. In saying that he also had the very influential support of his club and the club of his ancestors in gaining the recommended number of votes.
Post by: KOTS3 on January 30, 2018, 02:25:06 PM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/01/29/oloughlin-ratified-new-laois-u-20-football-manager/
Trials this week
Post by: Keyser Söze on January 30, 2018, 02:57:04 PM
Some ridiculous stuff written here, and worse on Facebook, although at least they are not anonymous there (whether that is through moral standards or total ignorance I don't know).

We have made far worse appointments in both grades over the past few years. Anyone with an indepth knowledge of team preparation at 3rd level is more than qualified to take on an intercounty U20 team in my opinion.
Freshers All Ireland's trumps Laois intermediate + Leinster minor final appearance (for example).

3rd Level is where the modern approach is most successfully implemented and involves dealing with the most elite players. Surely a decent preparation.

I can't help but think that the reaction is more personal than business.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on January 30, 2018, 03:26:07 PM
I think this U20 panel has been treated badly,  I can't see how we are organized and ready to go before end of Feb at very least (panel to be picked, no selectors etc).   The top counties are back since before Xmas.  It comes back to the old adage "fail to prepare, prepare to fail".  I think Billy could be successful given time, but this year is nearly a write off, some of you may disagree.   But there should be a backup plan in place if similar circumstances ever arise.

I do have some sympathy for the selection committee, Billy was not their first choice as some on here have indicated nor near it.  He is most certainty decisive  but that does not make him a bad choice for manager.  He would not have been my choice to be manager but possibly he was the only suitable willing candidate, available to the selection committee.
Post by: les Antiques on January 30, 2018, 06:58:25 PM
Quote from: Keyser

/quote]

You think 😁
Post by: Don Draper on January 30, 2018, 08:42:22 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on January 30, 2018, 02:57:04 PM
Some ridiculous stuff written here, and worse on Facebook, although at least they are not anonymous there (whether that is through moral standards or total ignorance I don't know).

We have made far worse appointments in both grades over the past few years. Anyone with an indepth knowledge of team preparation at 3rd level is more than qualified to take on an intercounty U20 team in my opinion.
Freshers All Ireland's trumps Laois intermediate + Leinster minor final appearance (for example).

3rd Level is where the modern approach is most successfully implemented and involves dealing with the most elite players. Surely a decent preparation.

Finally, a sensible post. TBH some of the stuff posted about the guy on here since the Leinster club final has been ridiculous and reflects very badly on those posting it.
Post by: les Antiques on January 30, 2018, 09:55:36 PM
Agree totally , some pathetic and petty comments that offer absolutely nothing to this forum . As a previous poster stated a lot less desired appointments were elected and didn't receive this kind of
Reaction .   Best of luck Billy ,I think he'll prove a lot of people wrong .
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 02, 2018, 01:42:35 AM
Looks like we are gonna have an U-21 competition after all this year ....
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/02/01/laois-gaa-clubs-vote-introduce-extra-underage-competition/
Post by: Don Draper on February 18, 2018, 05:23:12 PM
Quote from: KOTS3 on February 18, 2018, 03:21:15 PM
Lost to Offaly and Carlow over weekend, struggling to compete with teams we were beating 2 years ago
Quelled f**king surprise
Post by: Butch Cassidy on February 18, 2018, 05:52:59 PM
Pretty sure these were just trial games. Any idea of who was involved?
Post by: Unison on February 18, 2018, 07:09:00 PM
Offaly under 20s have been training four nights a week for some time now. The fact that we have only recently appointed a manager must show how seriously we take under age football in this county.
Post by: Don Draper on February 18, 2018, 08:18:45 PM
Quote from: Unison on February 18, 2018, 07:09:00 PM
Offaly under 20s have been training four nights a week for some time now. The fact that we have only recently appointed a manager must show how seriously we take under age football in this county.
Them boys will be burnt out in a few weeks, the Laois CB know what they're at here.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on February 27, 2018, 01:37:19 PM
Has a panel been finalised?
Post by: SCFC on March 16, 2018, 11:54:46 AM
Playing a lot of challenge games I hear.
I also hear a lot of players that should be knocking around the squad aren't involved as they can't or won't commit.
Combination of far too long taken to put a management in place and then not getting a decent manager.
Post by: Gmac on March 16, 2018, 01:49:43 PM
Quote from: SCFC on March 16, 2018, 11:54:46 AM
I also hear a lot of players that should be knocking around the squad aren't involved as they can't or won't commit.
Combination of far too long taken to put a management in place and then not getting a decent manager.
do u not think u should let the guy have a few results as a manager before u write him off ?
Post by: SCFC on March 16, 2018, 01:53:27 PM
Quote from: Gmac on March 16, 2018, 01:49:43 PM
do u not think u should let the guy have a few results as a manager before u write him off ?
I didn't write him off. And if it's results you're after, maybe enquire as to how some of the challenge games went.
Thing is, he got the job too late and he hasn't much experience.
Post by: Gmac on March 16, 2018, 02:22:09 PM
Quote from: SCFC on March 16, 2018, 01:53:27 PM
Quote from: Gmac on March 16, 2018, 01:49:43 PM
I didn't write him off. And if it's results you're after, maybe enquire as to how some of the challenge games went.
Thing is, he got the job too late and he hasn't much experience.
anyone who is willing to put their time and effort into Laois football at the minute should be applauded,  Billy is an ambitious and enthusiastic person who will give it his all and has been around a lot of good football brains all his life so let's see what happens and I don't live at home so I don't know results or I don't know what talent he's working with either
Post by: Laoiseabu on March 16, 2018, 02:28:58 PM
I hear it's a fairly limited setup myself but fair play to Billy for taking the job as not many were willing to take it. Challenge game results have been poor
Post by: Laoiseabu on March 16, 2018, 03:11:02 PM
Does anyone have a run down of who's on the panel?
Post by: The PRO on March 16, 2018, 04:09:20 PM
I'm not sure the right man got the job either but his hands are a bit tied with his late start date and the number of lads who have turned down a spot on the squad. Adam Deering, Ciaran Comerford, Diarmuid Bennett, Niall Dunne would all be likely lads who aren't involved.
Post by: Laoiseabu on March 16, 2018, 09:20:32 PM
U20s were playing Dublin tonight in Portlaoise
Post by: FiveStars on March 16, 2018, 11:21:23 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on March 16, 2018, 09:20:32 PM
U20s were playing Dublin tonight in Portlaoise

What was the game like? Who played well?
Post by: Laoiseabu on March 16, 2018, 11:39:55 PM
Don't know I wasn't as the game just heard they were playing off someone
Post by: Unlaoised on March 21, 2018, 11:05:24 AM
Hammered I hear it was a Dublin South team as well I think!
Post by: Laoiseabu on March 21, 2018, 11:42:16 AM
Dublin South ? Jaysus . Little hope playing against Dublin as a whole county so
Post by: Don Draper on March 21, 2018, 11:59:13 AM
Lads, what are you expecting? A management fucked together a few weeks ago, and a fuckload of players not committing. An exercise in damage limitation is all this is.
Post by: Laoiseabu on March 21, 2018, 12:22:51 PM
Is it that players can't commit due to other commitments or they don't want to commit?
Post by: Don Draper on March 21, 2018, 12:25:22 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on March 21, 2018, 12:22:51 PM
Is it that players can't commit due to other commitments or they don't want to commit?
Young fellas know a lost cause when they see one. Sad but true.
Post by: The PRO on March 21, 2018, 12:54:25 PM
Played Wexford last night I believe. Heard no more.
Post by: Laoiseabu on March 21, 2018, 02:17:56 PM
Surely they bet Wexford?
Post by: FiveStars on March 21, 2018, 03:19:08 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on March 21, 2018, 02:17:56 PM
Surely they bet Wexford?
Bet Wexford by 1 in Graiguecullen. Also only lost to dublin first team by 5 points on Friday last. Am told it was a very physical encounter dubs just pulled away in the last 5 mins when Laois had a player sent off.
Post by: Don Draper on March 21, 2018, 03:21:44 PM
Quote from: FiveStars on March 21, 2018, 03:19:08 PM
Surely they bet Wexford?
Bet Wexford by 1 in Graiguecullen. Also only lost to dublin first team by 5 points on Friday last. Am told it was a very physical encounter dubs just pulled away in the last 5 mins when Laois had a player sent off.
Cheers Bill. Best of luck with it.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on March 22, 2018, 10:04:42 AM
Is the panel finalised? Anyone know who's involved?
Post by: Unlaoised on March 22, 2018, 10:45:41 AM
Quote from: FiveStars on March 21, 2018, 03:19:08 PM
Surely they bet Wexford?

Not sure it was Dublins first pick not that it matters as they could probably field about 5 quality teams to put it up to most counties!
Post by: GAA-SMART on March 22, 2018, 03:31:22 PM
Dubs have 2 teams essentially.. they have a core group of players then alternate the bunch of lads outside that core group. As in example they have 10 players who play every game and have 30 players 15 go one week 15 the next, can be mixed up ect ect.
Post by: KOTS3 on April 05, 2018, 03:50:08 PM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/04/05/killeshin-lead-the-way-as-laois-u-20-football-panel-announced/
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on April 05, 2018, 03:59:53 PM
Quote from: KOTS3 on April 05, 2018, 03:50:08 PM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/04/05/killeshin-lead-the-way-as-laois-u-20-football-panel-announced/

This is the full panel:

Paddy Walsh (Killeshin)
Shane Bolger (Killeshin)
Evan Lowry (Killeshin)
Adam Deering (Killeshin)

Jordan Fitzpatrick (Portarlington)
Ronan Coffey (Portarlington)
Diarmuid Bennett (Portarlington)

John Kavanagh (Portlaoise)
Ross Brennan (Portlaoise)
Ronan McEvoy (Portlaoise)

Sean O'Flynn (Courtwood)
Alan Kinsella (Courtwood)
Matthew Byron (Courtwood)

Dean Brophy (St Joseph's)
James Kelly (St Joseph's)
Peter Kealy (St Joseph's)

Martin Doyle (Graiguecullen)
Ger Kieran (Graiguecullen)

Ciaran Comerford (The Harps)
Daniel Comerford (The Harps)

Padraig Kirwan (Emo)
Finbarr Crowley (Emo)

David Connolly (Ballyfin)
Max Connolly (Ballyfin)

Eoin Dunne (Rosenallis)
Glenn Shaw (Rosenallis)

Diarmuid Whelan (Ballyroan Abbey)
Conor Brennan (Ballyroan Abbey)

James O'Connor (Timahoe)
Richie Hitchcock (Park Ratheniska)
Caomhan Brennan (Arles-Kilcruise)
Robert Tyrell (Camross)
James Phelan (The Heath)
Post by: Unison on April 05, 2018, 04:03:42 PM
I think I see some names there who were originally supposed to have not committed.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on April 05, 2018, 06:07:21 PM
Good panel. Anyone know how challenge games have been going?

Does this mean Crowley isn't with the seniors this year?
Post by: The PRO on April 08, 2018, 12:23:24 PM
Quote from: Butch Cassidy on April 05, 2018, 06:07:21 PM
Does this mean Crowley isn't with the seniors this year?
Don't think so. But if he's named in senior championship 26 for a game, doesn't it mean he can't play under 20?
Post by: From the Terrace on April 11, 2018, 08:48:00 PM
Looking at the fixtures there, 2 matches within 2 weeks of leaving cert & there 3rd match during exams seems ridiculous start for this new competition.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on April 12, 2018, 01:13:16 AM
Quote from: From the Terrace on April 11, 2018, 08:48:00 PM
Looking at the fixtures there, 2 matches within 2 weeks of leaving cert & there 3rd match during exams seems ridiculous start for this new competition.

Fixtures

http://leinstergaa.ie/competitions/leinster-u-17-special-football-2017/
Post by: O moore parklife on April 12, 2018, 08:46:27 AM
One for definite has left the selectors group.
Maybe 2.
No reasons that can be confirmed
Post by: GAA-SMART on April 12, 2018, 08:58:22 AM
Any reason why ?
Post by: Unlaoised on April 12, 2018, 01:09:43 PM
Quote from: O moore parklife on April 12, 2018, 08:46:27 AM
One for definite has left the selectors group.
Maybe 2.
No reasons that can be confirmed

who were the selectors?
Post by: O moore parklife on April 12, 2018, 03:49:08 PM
Gerry McGill,. Larry Keenan and Liam Brophy  from what i remember. Not hearing great things from the set up as a whole.
Post by: Unlaoised on April 12, 2018, 03:56:13 PM
Quote from: O moore parklife on April 12, 2018, 03:49:08 PM
Gerry McGill,. Larry Keenan and Liam Brophy  from what i remember. Not hearing great things from the set up as a whole.

Gerry McGill?

Post by: O moore parklife on April 12, 2018, 04:08:18 PM
Not 100% but sourced the names from a Laois today article (great service btw).
Post by: The PRO on April 12, 2018, 04:34:14 PM
Who's Liam Brophy?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on April 13, 2018, 01:30:19 AM
Larry Keenan represented Stradbally and Laois during the 90s and 00s.
He was part of Stradbally's club management team for the past two seasons under Offaly man Martin Murphy.

Gerry McGill was a selector with the Laois senior footballers under Tomás Ó Flatharta and won an Intermediate football championship with Emo in 2012. He joined up with Annanough in 2015 when they lost the decider to Clonaslee-St Manman's.

Liam Brophy represented his club St Joseph's at senior and junior level for several years and he has been heavily involved at juvenile level in the club
Post by: Butch Cassidy on May 25, 2018, 01:19:15 PM
Any word on a team?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 26, 2018, 12:52:46 AM
Quote from: Butch Cassidy on May 25, 2018, 01:19:15 PM
Any word on a team?

Here ya go Butch. Best of luck lads......

(https://scontent-dub4-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/33522101_1673796496074076_3393520928347389952_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=83412d10387865bff52fe26220d19e76&oe=5BC113F5)
Post by: From the Terrace on May 26, 2018, 09:23:04 AM
Best of luck to team. I came out against appointment of Billy but he has had an impossible job I hope we compete well in this not expecting much.
Post by: BallyroanAbu on May 26, 2018, 10:51:53 PM
Best of luck to the U20's.
Post by: High Fielder on May 27, 2018, 04:49:31 PM
That's not a bad team at all. Hard to expect much after the belated start but in a wider context, there are plenty of lads there who have caught the eye in recent times
Post by: Unison on May 27, 2018, 07:05:59 PM
The Lilies may be on a bit of a downer tomorrow night. :) :)
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 28, 2018, 11:54:46 PM
Eirgrid Leinster U20 Championship

Kildare 1-17
Laois    4-6

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/05/28/kildare-stage-dramatic-comeback-to-deny-four-goal-laois/
Post by: High Fielder on May 29, 2018, 08:20:26 AM
Didn't make it last night but clearly a good performance and more than we expected. It's nice to win and be competitive for trophies, but keeping the conveyor belt ticking over is important too. There are good footballers in this team
Post by: The PRO on May 29, 2018, 12:01:45 PM
Definitely a few potential seniors in this group. Lowry, Whelan, O'Flynn, Kelly are all excellent.
Post by: High Fielder on May 29, 2018, 12:26:16 PM
Were there many missing from the panel? Sean Byrne of Port springs to mind. I like the midfielder from Camross although I don't think he started despite being named on the team. Hitchcock also impresses me when I see him. I'd be encouraged by the result bearing in mind the delay in appointing a coach and the delay getting set up
Post by: Butch Cassidy on May 29, 2018, 12:36:19 PM
Any lads not playing because of the leaving cert? Why is this not delayed until August so lads can concentrate on the leaving?
Post by: High Fielder on May 29, 2018, 12:40:10 PM
There was plenty to be said at the start of this thread and now nobody seems to know anything. The Coach wasn't given a chance from day one by some people and some players. I'm delighted for O'Loughlin that he proved a lot of people wrong by putting a team out who wanted to represent Laois well.
Post by: Unlaoised on May 29, 2018, 12:58:55 PM
I was at the game but I didn't have a programme so it took me a while to know who was playing where and also hard to comment after as I can't put names to numbers....

Lowry looked dangerous and James kelly was good in midfield the guy Tyrell who played for Ballyfin last year in the championship came on and done very well he is a big unit.

Our half back line struggled a bit although the young Coutwood lad Flynn I think was good.

Number 13 from Kildare was on a lot of ball and scored a nice bit ..Kildare Subs made a big impact and we lacked a big of leadership on the field when the tide was turning ...even breaking up play or being cute in ways delaying time could have got us over the line.

Kildare were by far the better team in truth and our goals tho were gutsy in the first half were very much against the run of play...

The Whelan guy from Ballyroan looks like a player who could be a great option on the senior bench!!
Post by: High Fielder on May 29, 2018, 01:12:05 PM
Great stuff Unlaoised. Thanks for that. You'd wonder at the wisdom of young lads deciding a coach wasn't to their liking and opting out. You represent your County the last time I checked, not a Manager or Coach
Post by: Don Draper on May 29, 2018, 01:36:37 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on May 29, 2018, 12:58:55 PM
I was at the game but I didn't have a programme so it took me a while to know who was playing where and also hard to comment after as I can't put names to numbers....

Lowry looked dangerous and James kelly was good in midfield the guy Tyrell who played for Ballyfin last year in the championship came on and done very well he is a big unit.

Our half back line struggled a bit although the young Coutwood lad Flynn I think was good.

Number 13 from Kildare was on a lot of ball and scored a nice bit ..Kildare Subs made a big impact and we lacked a big of leadership on the field when the tide was turning ...even breaking up play or being cute in ways delaying time could have got us over the line.

Kildare were by far the better team in truth and our goals tho were gutsy in the first half were very much against the run of play...

The Whelan guy from Ballyroan looks like a player who could be a great option on the senior bench!!
I thought Kelly faded out of the game. I had hoped for more from him. Great ball for first goal though. Has potential. Will come again.
Tyrell was quite poor and ineffective when he came on. I'd be very disappointed to hear the reason he didn't start as well. To say he done very well is a bizarre appraisal. He'll need to be more than a big unit to progress on the intercounty scene from here on in, he's not in minor anymore.
Dunne from Killeshin in the middle was impressive and can count himself unlucky to be removed.
Whelan is a real prospect.
Pity Kavanagh went off, has a lot about him. Sad state that he's the only viable Portlaoise candidate at this grade, an indictment of PGAA.
Lowry took his goals well, and a great point near the end. A proper little baller.
Full back line competed well given their opponents and the massive supply they had.
Byron done well, apart from the odd wayward kickout.

Wouldnt be overly disappointed with the defeat, saw enough to be very encouraged. Billy got a lot of criticism here, but he turned out a team with short notice, that put the f**ks up a fancied Kildare side who are further down the line in terms of prep than us, in their home patch. Credit him and his players.
Post by: High Fielder on May 29, 2018, 01:46:51 PM
Fair play Don. Anyone missing you'd like to see in there?
Post by: SCFC on May 29, 2018, 01:57:34 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on May 29, 2018, 01:46:51 PM
Fair play Don. Anyone missing you'd like to see in there?
I'm not sure who these lads that turned down the county are.
Liam Delaney and the Comerford lads are concentrating on hurling. Sean Byrne is out with a dreadful long term injury. I'm not sure if Ross McGrath is even playing club football. Then you have a clatter of younger lads who were doing the Leaving and no one should have to make that choice.
Post by: Laois fan on May 29, 2018, 02:29:24 PM
Prob young colin slevin and jack owens might of featured but both are doing leaving i think.jordan fitzpatrick from port is involved but only coming back from injury,would be a handy forward to throw in for last 15
Post by: From the Terrace on May 29, 2018, 04:23:52 PM
I thought we played decent a bit disappointed in the end we didnt get a draw, Our defender near the end was a bit reckless with the challenge for leading score. Thought bennett, bolger, dunne, lowry, whelan were good. like a previous poster dont know what tyrell done when he came on to impress.
Post by: Don Draper on May 29, 2018, 04:32:52 PM
Quote from: From the Terrace on May 29, 2018, 04:23:52 PM
I thought we played decent a bit disappointed in the end we didnt get a draw, Our defender near the end was a bit reckless with the challenge for leading score. Thought bennett, bolger, dunne, lowry, whelan were good. like a previous poster dont know what tyrell done when he came on to impress.
The problem stemmed from Laois giving Kildare the kickout following Whelans free. Once we did that, we were fucked. The wing back got caught under the high ball, the corner back caught thereafter. Kildare didn't make the same mistake from our kickout, they bullied us back. They're further on than us, but we showed enough last night to come away with some hope that the production line is up and running again to some degree. Woulda been nice to have the county on a high with winning teams in minor U20 and senior, but sure f**k it.
Post by: Laoiseabu on May 29, 2018, 04:39:22 PM
I think Whelan even though got on the end of a few scores is too lightweight for senior and isn't great at winning his own ball . I think Kelly isn't big enough for midfield and as was seen already is found wanting at senior level. I was impressed by Bolger at centre back and he has really developed since minor level. Eoin Dunne was doing well and was removed? Shocking decision . Maybe Tyrell should of been midfield and put Dunne full foward as a ball winner or vice versa as we were a bit small in there. Jordan Fotzpatrick from port should of been playing , would of added a bit of drive and physicality to the fowards and can score a point too.
Post by: Laois fan on May 29, 2018, 04:49:35 PM
How many teams qualify from group
Post by: From the Terrace on May 29, 2018, 05:19:39 PM
We missed 3/4 easy point chances in 1st half think it caught up on us. We will get it hard to qualify two come out of group. Meath seem strong in this. Nevertheless i thought our lads tried hard last night.
Post by: SCFC on May 29, 2018, 06:57:48 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on May 29, 2018, 12:40:10 PM
There was plenty to be said at the start of this thread and now nobody seems to know anything. The Coach wasn't given a chance from day one by some people and some players. I'm delighted for O'Loughlin that he proved a lot of people wrong by putting a team out who wanted to represent Laois well.
We're in a strange place when losing an 8 point lead is proving people wrong. How Padraig Kirwan was left on the line and Dean Brophy brought on is beyond me. I suppose it's not hard to figure out though really.
Post by: High Fielder on May 29, 2018, 07:24:51 PM
Your mind was made up before we kicked a ball SCFC. Maybe you feel that O'Loghlin can never get anything out of this group, and that's fair enough. But he's there now and that performance exceeded expectations. Shifting the goalposts to suit your own agenda is a small bit mealy mouthed. He's a Laois man who cares enough to take on the job. Give him a chance and judge him after that I say
Post by: SCFC on May 30, 2018, 02:38:01 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on May 29, 2018, 07:24:51 PM
Your mind was made up before we kicked a ball SCFC. Maybe you feel that O'Loghlin can never get anything out of this group, and that's fair enough. But he's there now and that performance exceeded expectations. Shifting the goalposts to suit your own agenda is a small bit mealy mouthed. He's a Laois man who cares enough to take on the job. Give him a chance and judge him after that I say
Ah look I'm not judging him at all. I just hate this craic of oh we ran them close being some sort of success. It's what pisses me off about the county hurling teams. I expect we'll hammer Wicklow and it will come down to the Meath game. I'm not sure it's a good idea having a player's father being a selector either. I hope to jaysus I'm a million miles wrong but I'm not convinced he is the right man for the job.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on May 30, 2018, 02:47:46 PM
Quote from: SCFC on May 30, 2018, 02:38:01 PM
I just hate this craic of oh we ran them close being some sort of success. It's what pisses me off about the county hurling teams.

Unfortunately, the hurling teams are not running any top close these days at all. It's hammerings nearly all the time with very very rare exceptions.
Post by: Unison on June 04, 2018, 08:23:33 PM
Any report on today's match against Wicklow? A win by a point does not look like a good result.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 04, 2018, 09:54:15 PM
I was at the game and although it was close all through the standard of passing and decision making was way below what is required at county level.
This bunch of lads are giving everything for Laois and playing with passion but some of the decisions were so poor on both sides.
The kickouts were generally good and we were winning midfield but an attempt at a short kickout went to a Wicklow forward and was finished to the net.
That was a turning point and although we bravely came back from that Wicklow grew in confidence and could have won it but for a great display from our full forward Diarmuid Whelan.
This game could have went either way and Laois were lucky that a last minute effort by Wicklow barley drifted wide.

This is how we stand at the moment:
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/De2tbdmXkAAMLD8.jpg)

Read about it here, much better report than I could ever give...
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/06/04/laois-keep-u-20-campaign-alive-with-wicklow-win/

Manager O'Loughlin says Laois U-20s need 'miracle score' against Meath to advance
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2018/06/04/manager-oloughlin-says-laois-u-20s-need-miracle-score-against-meath-to-advance/
Post by: SCFC on June 04, 2018, 10:43:54 PM
Billy said after the game;
"If you are not allowed use your senior players, there is no reason why this competition could not be played in July or August."
Any chance we could play a bit of oul club football Billy?🙂
Post by: les Antiques on June 05, 2018, 10:13:56 AM
Quote from: SCFC on June 04, 2018, 10:43:54 PM
"If you are not allowed use your senior players, there is no reason why this competition could not be played in July or August."

We get it SCFC , your not a fan of Billy . Move on .

Was at the match and would agree with Junior . The standard was poor as basic skill levels go . Both sides effort couldn't be faulted . I'd worry about us against Meath who seem to be very strong  at this level .
Post by: redsetanta on June 05, 2018, 10:23:28 AM
Meath beat Kildare yesterday and put a huge score up against Wicklow.
Post by: Laois fan on June 05, 2018, 10:31:39 AM
Article above says laois need to beat meath by 25 points,seems to me while still highly unlikely a 13 point winning margin would see them through
Post by: SCFC on June 05, 2018, 11:44:10 AM
Quote from: les Antiques on June 05, 2018, 10:13:56 AM
Quote from: SCFC on June 04, 2018, 10:43:54 PM

We get it SCFC , your not a fan of Billy . Move on .

Was at the match and would agree with Junior . The standard was poor as basic skill levels go . Both sides effort couldn't be faulted . I'd worry about us against Meath who seem to be very strong  at this level .
So if we play the under 20 in July and August as he suggests, when do you think the club championships should be played,?
Personally I can't see why the under 20 doesn't go back to March April early May like the under 21 used to be.
Post by: High Fielder on June 05, 2018, 12:38:12 PM
I guess it boils down to what is more important. The League in Laois is a basket case and there's plenty of time and room to slot in some Championship matches. It would certainly concentrate the minds a little better because now, as things stand, it's a waste of time. So if the balance swings between bad club football and our best young footballers and what's best for them, I'd give them more consideration every time
Post by: les Antiques on June 05, 2018, 12:38:43 PM
I do agree that playing this competition in March /April like before would be a better option. However with this  new format of no inter-county action in April it doesn't seem feasible .
Maybe a return to a knockout situation ,less matches and spread out over end of
Summer and would have less inpact on local championships ..
It's difficult one .
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on June 05, 2018, 07:27:59 PM
Quote from: Laois fan on June 05, 2018, 10:31:39 AM
Article above says laois need to beat meath by 25 points,seems to me while still highly unlikely a 13 point winning margin would see them through

Surely we need just better Kildare's win by three points however unlikely that is.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 06, 2018, 12:23:37 AM
Quote from: Dave like the tv channel on June 05, 2018, 07:27:59 PM
Quote from: Laois fan on June 05, 2018, 10:31:39 AM

Surely we need just better Kildare's win by three points however unlikely that is.

What he means is if we beat Meath by 25 points we would win the group but to finish 2nd we would have to beat Meath by 3 points more than Kildare beat Wicklow
Post by: Unison on June 13, 2018, 02:58:52 PM
Interesting change on the Laois U20 team to play Meath on Saturday. Jordan Fitzpatrick of Portarlington comes in at no. 11, while Peter Kealy moves to midfield. Fitzpatrick (though not 100% fit) looked good when he came on against Wicklow. I think this is a good move, though unlikely to be sufficient to beat Meath.

Would like to see Fitzpatrick and a few others (Kealy, Whelan, Bolger, Lowry, O'Flynn and Dunne) in the senior setup under John Sugrue next year (if not for the Super 8s this year!!!!).
Post by: The PRO on June 14, 2018, 12:49:44 PM
I think we might actually have a chance to beat Meath but not by the 13 points we need.
Post by: SCFC on June 18, 2018, 09:06:41 AM
Anyone in Navan?
Sounds like we gave it a good shot but with Kildare hammering Wicklow it didn't really matter.
Despite my reservations about him getting the job, fair play to Billy for taking it on. It seems he tried to make up for lost time getting the job so late by playing a huge number of challenge games. I believe he's there again next year and that's probably the sensible thing to do. Let him watch the local championships and see can he identify a few more possibles for next year.
Post by: Don Draper on June 18, 2018, 09:26:56 AM
Quote from: SCFC on June 18, 2018, 09:06:41 AM
Anyone in Navan?
Sounds like we gave it a good shot but with Kildare hammering Wicklow it didn't really matter.
Despite my reservations about him getting the job, fair play to Billy for taking it on. It seems he tried to make up for lost time getting the job so late by playing a huge number of challenge games. I believe he's there again next year and that's probably the sensible thing to do. Let him watch the local championships and see can he identify a few more possibles for next year.
Agreed. Didn't make it to Navan, but Billy has done as much with the limited hand as anyone could expect. He got some criticism for the Kildare game perhaps, but those giving it failed to acknowledge the work put in to put themselves in that winning position. I'd like to see him kept on. I'd also like to see the GAA fix the cuntology they made of scheduling this competition.
Post by: SCFC on June 18, 2018, 10:04:31 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 18, 2018, 09:26:56 AM
Quote from: SCFC on June 18, 2018, 09:06:41 AM
Anyone in Navan?
Agreed. Didn't make it to Navan, but Billy has done as much with the limited hand as anyone could expect. He got some criticism for the Kildare game perhaps, but those giving it failed to acknowledge the work put in to put themselves in that winning position. I'd like to see him kept on. I'd also like to see the GAA fix the cuntology they made of scheduling this competition.
Has to go back to March and April with AI series in May.
Post by: Unison on June 18, 2018, 10:21:46 AM
Did Billy O'Loughlin have a full hand to play from or were there lads who did not commit? I wonder how many of the lads who did commit look like credible future senior prospects?
Post by: SCFC on June 18, 2018, 02:01:30 PM
Quote from: Unison on June 18, 2018, 10:21:46 AM
Did Billy O'Loughlin have a full hand to play from or were there lads who did not commit? I wonder how many of the lads who did commit look like credible future senior prospects?
All of the lads that didn't commit were either doing the Leaving or opted for hurling (Comerford and Delaney).