Casement Park in line for major overhaul - 40,000 all seater Stadium.

Started by Joxer, October 06, 2010, 02:42:28 PM

Quote from: twohands!!! on February 28, 2020, 09:30:29 PM
Has anyone actually run any numbers whatsoever in terms of capacity versus cost.
How many times would a 30k seater stadium be expected to sell out over the next 20/25/30 years versus a 25k seater versus a 35k seater.
How much would a 25k/30k/35k seater costs versus the expected extra revenue they would bring in.
I would say most of the GAA stadia in Ireland rarely if ever hit full capacity.
From what I could find from a quick search PuC in Cork has only sold out to its full capacity of 45k once since it opened as a sports venue and that was for the Liam Millar charity gig.

The following are the attendences for all the championship games in hurling and football

Cork v Limerick 2018 hurling 34,607
Wexford v Waterford 2017 hurling 31,753
Cork v Tipp 2019 2017 hurling 30,274
Tipp v Clare 2017 hurling 28,567
Cork v Kerry 2018 football 27,764
Cork v Waterford 2019 hurling 26,521
Cork v Clare 2018 hurling 24,490
Cork v Kerry 2019 football 18,265
Clare v Wexford 2019 hurling 10,225
Cork v Limerick 2019 football 3,128

So far it looks like a 35k seater would have been sufficient.
Sold out any concerts?

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 29, 2020, 12:02:14 AM
Has anyone actually run any numbers whatsoever in terms of capacity versus cost.
How many times would a 30k seater stadium be expected to sell out over the next 20/25/30 years versus a 25k seater versus a 35k seater.
How much would a 25k/30k/35k seater costs versus the expected extra revenue they would bring in.
From what I could find from a quick search PuC in Cork has only sold out to its full capacity of 45k once since it opened as a sports venue and that was for the Liam Millar charity gig.

The following are the attendences for all the championship games in hurling and football

Sold out any concerts?
Rod Stewart? Ed Sheeran x 2

upcoming Dido, Westlife x 2

Quote from: Main Street on February 29, 2020, 12:04:36 PM

Sold out any concerts?

So not exactly a white elephant

JPGJOHNNYG

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 29, 2020, 12:43:23 PM

Sold out any concerts?

I think that is one of the main problems with the argument against. One minute it is a white elephant never going be used never going to be filled, next minute it will have concerts every night, packed to the rafters, chaos around the stadium and safety concerns emptying the thousands attending. It can't be both.

Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on February 29, 2020, 01:19:31 PM

Sold out any concerts?

I think that is one of the main problems with the argument against. One minute it is a white elephant never going be used never going to be filled, next minute it will have concerts every night, packed to the rafters, chaos around the stadium and safety concerns emptying the thousands attending. It can't be both.
Remove "every night" and it can be both.

Sold out any concerts?

Chaos? Ffs stop with the hyperbole shit,  if the planing is in place to sort evacuation then what's the problem? There are concerts in every city, even Belfast.

JPGJOHNNYG

That's my point many of the arguments are unreasonable and using contradictory excuses. I think some of gotten used to living next to a nice quiet field for nearly 10 years.

Quote from: hardstation on February 29, 2020, 01:58:10 PM

Sold out any concerts?

By the same token, to say it has to be 34k to suit the GAAs needs and when questioned on this the backbone of your argument is music concerts, then you are talking out your arse.
The GAA does not NEED music concerts at Casement Park.

No it doesn't need concerts but it'll happen and it won't be a big deal, residents will think differently of course, so they need to be covered

Quote from: hardstation on February 29, 2020, 04:01:07 PM
I'm not saying that they won't happen and I'm not saying they will be a big deal. I'm saying that concerts should not be the major reason the GAA are insisting on a 34k capacity. Having concerts does not legitimise the building of a stadium at a capacity much greater than your needs for the vast majority of the year. If you are willing to pay for this yourself, I could say "fair enough, your choice" but to ask the government to fork out 95 of the 110 million for this, you are at your lark.
+1. Is there provision in the plans for gate so the stewards can continue to let their mates in for free?

Jeepers Creepers

Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 29, 2020, 05:25:03 PM
I'm not saying that they won't happen and I'm not saying they will be a big deal. I'm saying that concerts should not be the major reason the GAA are insisting on a 34k capacity. Having concerts does not legitimise the building of a stadium at a capacity much greater than your needs for the vast majority of the year. If you are willing to pay for this yourself, I could say "fair enough, your choice" but to ask the government to fork out 95 of the 110 million for this, you are at your lark.
+1. Is there provision in the plans for gate so the stewards can continue to let their mates in for free?

A brand new 'one for me one for you' system will be installed.

As most of the concert going crowd would be on the pitch itself, the number of seats in the stadium is academic for the concert event ambitions. The 34k capacity is to do with being able to cater for Ulster final day and such?

Quote from: hardstation on February 29, 2020, 06:37:31 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 29, 2020, 06:27:11 PM
As most of the concert going crowd would be on the pitch itself, the number of seats in the stadium is academic for the concert event ambitions. The 34k capacity is to do with being able to cater for Ulster final day and such?
The "and such". Does it exist?
Remember that the GAA has to go back to the government with a begging bowl, in search of an extra £30m on top of the shed load they got previously.

"We could really put this £30m to good use in other services, do you really need a 34k stadium?"

"Aye, well, there's this Ulster final once a year, ye see."

"Oh right!"

"But concerts, by Christ, we'll have a load of concerts."

Worth noting that the GAA feel that strongly about this stadium that they rushed out the doors to declare that they wouldn't be putting up the extra dough.
Does that mean you agree that needing 34k seats for music concerts is not part of the debate, an argument you previously mentioned?

I don't think anyone looked at building a stadium for the GAA and thought concerts, yes a business plan would have involved concerts conferences weddings meetings and all sorts that are not associated with the GAA buts that's standard I'd have thought.

I'm not for 40 or 34 grand sized stadium I just want Casement built. I'm fed up with the shite that's carried on since it closed its gates wrongly at the time!

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: hardstation on February 29, 2020, 08:58:42 PM
You brought up concerts, ya tube. My point was that they shouldn't be mentioned ffs.

Not as a primary justification. But once you have the hall, use it and make a few quid to go to the upkeep.

The issue then becomes the relationship with the locals. The Croker residents really dislike the concerts, will Casement in a suburban setting be any different?

Quote from: hardstation on March 01, 2020, 10:23:58 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 29, 2020, 09:50:32 PM

I don't think anyone looked at building a stadium for the GAA and thought concerts, yes a business plan would have involved concerts conferences weddings meetings and all sorts that are not associated with the GAA buts that's standard I'd have thought.

I'm not for 40 or 34 grand sized stadium I just want Casement built. I'm fed up with the shite that's carried on since it closed its gates wrongly at the time!
Having concerts in the stadium is fine but if they are the only thing that is going to fill it on a regular basis, you have to ask what you're building it so big for, especially when you are having to go back to government and beg for another £30m.

The GAA was given a huge amount of money for this stadium. More than twice as much as soccer, more than quadruple what rugby got.
They made an almighty balls of their project.
Now they're back seeking an extra £30m - more than soccer got initially, more than double what rugby got initially.
They should be told to take a hike IMO.

Anyone who disagrees with that does so for no other reason than bias.

If it was any other organisation, they'd be saying the same thing. I can imagine the uproar if it was the IFA or Ulster rugby at this craic.

GAA are not begging for another £30m, they just said they're not funding anymore. Government signed up to upgrade 3 stadiums in Belfast, two is done with one more to follow.

GAA get bigger attendances than soccer & Rugby so need a bigger stadium. Evil G has already stated on previous pages that Windsor should have been constructed with a bigger capacity.

So the GAA made a balls of their project? the only balls they made was closing Casement until it was ready to close. The scheme has been put on hold for a number of reasons that are not entirely the GAA's fault. H&S, planners, no Government, bitter twisted sectarian Unionists against the scheme or anything Catholic are all to blame so to say the GAA made a balls is silly.

The scheme is going to go ahead eventually no matter what some of you say on here that are against it, I can't understand why some of you are so against the capacity. It just doesn't make sense, an Ulster final with say Tyrone v Armagh would fill 40,000 easily. I know your argument about once a year but it can host other games not just an Ulster final...McKenna cup finals, a super 8 game...Just get the thing built and get on with your lives and then you can find something else to moan about