The IRISH RUGBY thread

Started by Donnellys Hollow, October 27, 2009, 05:26:16 PM

Gutting for Healy. Not surprising re. Stockdale.

There are going to be replacements for banjaxed players.

Can't take a chance on players with a possible long term injury.

There are going to be loads of injuries needing replacements if he recovers.  He has had one scan. Ringrose,Henderson, Sheehan, Kelleher and Doris were all injured in ONE match against Scotland in the 6 Nations. The RWC will be carnage.

ClubScene13

Quote from: marty34 on August 28, 2023, 09:00:22 AM
Is it not a bit mad that NZ played France at the week-end and they then play them again on Sept 8th in the World Cup?

Ok, so they hammered them, which is strange enough but to be playing them again in 2 weeks in a World Cup opener is a bit crazy to me.

What gave you that idea? They played South Africa at Twickenham, France played Australia

Quote from: ClubScene13 on August 28, 2023, 09:33:11 AM
Quote from: marty34 on August 28, 2023, 09:00:22 AM
Is it not a bit mad that NZ played France at the week-end and they then play them again on Sept 8th in the World Cup?

Ok, so they hammered them, which is strange enough but to be playing them again in 2 weeks in a World Cup opener is a bit crazy to me.

What gave you that idea? They played South Africa at Twickenham, France played Australia

My mistake - thought it was France. Me bad.

When do we win this world cup lads?

Quote from: Itchy on August 28, 2023, 10:00:37 AM

If they don't win it with this team they won't win it ever

JPGJOHNNYG

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 28, 2023, 10:33:04 AM

We are in the wrong half of the draw with all the big guns. If the Ireland of last summer and this yrs 6 nation's turns up then we have a real chance. Unfortunately history doesn't bode well. We have gone into previous world cups looking good and then shit our pants against the likes of Argentina and Japan teams we normally smash for fun

Bookies have us as fourth favourites, behind NZ, France and South Africa. So expectation is that we will exit at the QF stage.

Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on August 28, 2023, 10:41:11 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 28, 2023, 10:33:04 AM

We are in the wrong half of the draw with all the big guns. If the Ireland of last summer and this yrs 6 nation's turns up then we have a real chance. Unfortunately history doesn't bode well. We have gone into previous world cups looking good and then shit our pants against the likes of Argentina and Japan teams we normally smash for fun

The draw is a pile of shite. World Rugby need to sort this for future WCs.

lenny

Quote from: Hound on August 28, 2023, 10:51:34 AM
Bookies have us as fourth favourites, behind NZ, France and South Africa. So expectation is that we will exit at the QF stage.

All 4 favourites in one half of the draw. Complete joke. What a tournament it could've been with those 4 in the semifinals.

Draw made even worse when you see how poor England, Wales and Eddie Jones Aussies are at the moment. But one of them will be in the final. Anything then could happen against a tired team emerging from much stronger half. Ireland first have to navigate a group with SA and Scotland. Nothing guaranteed there.

This is very unlike Rugby folk, getting the excuses in early. Should you not wait for the inevitable quarter final collapse first?