GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Shamrock Shore on November 30, 2006, 10:52:52 PM

Title: At What age did you peak as a Footballer/Hurler?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 30, 2006, 10:52:52 PM
For me it was minor. Won a rake of hurling schoolboy/U14/juvenile and minor hurling medals (easy enough in Longford) but hit the payload in 1984 with a minor football championship medal ( as last sub  :-\ )

Played one senior football game for my beloved Mostrim in 1984 agin Coyningham Rd Bus Garage who were in the town on the piss and were up for a challenge.

Also played on Nov 1 1984 when all GAA clubs in Ireland celebrated the 100th anniversary of the founding of the GAA. (For the record Wolfe Tones (us) played Clonguish)

So - what was/is your peak of achievement?

I reckon on a scale on 1-10 I'm at 1!
Title: Re: At What age did you peak as a Footballer/Hurler?
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on November 30, 2006, 11:11:00 PM
At the age of 18 playing my first full season I rattled in 1-2 from the half forward line in a local derby match (I like to think of it as a Brian McGuiganesque performance ;D). That was as good as it got unfortunately.
Post by: charlie linkbox on November 30, 2006, 11:25:26 PM
Was playing my best stuff ever and got a call up to the county minor panel. Was dropped before the championship though because I wasn't good enough. Downhill from there. Then I went to College and didn't come home most weekends so I kinda lost touch with the football at home. I haven't kicked a serious ball in a couple of years now but I keep saying I'll go back (and I will!!!).
Post by: never kickt a ball on November 30, 2006, 11:43:30 PM
Never kickt a ball
Post by: charlie linkbox on November 30, 2006, 11:46:06 PM
Did you hurl?
Post by: never kickt a ball on November 30, 2006, 11:47:51 PM
Naw Never hurled a ball either
Post by: Fionntamhnach on November 30, 2006, 11:55:52 PM
Somewhere around 11 or 12.  :o Broke my wrist in a PE accident when I was 13 which put me out of the u14 season and knee problems soon after never saw me make any ground.
Post by: screenexile on December 01, 2006, 12:22:53 AM
19!!

Played for County U21's, had a stormer of a league and a good game first round of the championship... went to Canada, drank and ate the head of meself put on a stone weight and haven't been the same since!!!! I'll turn it around yet though ;)
Post by: AbbeySider on December 01, 2006, 09:39:43 AM
Im in my early 20's and I still reckon I havnt peaked physically
I know myself I was still growing up until last year. I was fitter, stronger and playing better football than I ever did. Im still improving as the seasons wear on.
Im in the gym too for the winter so I should be in good shape to push myself more when training starts in Feburary.
In my own mind I think im only scratching the surface of what can be achieved.

Granted I missed out on some football from U-14 to minor (through no fault of my own). I didnt play/train as much as I should have.
Perhaps that lapse has given me the huge hunger to keep getting better.

I think that a player 'peaking' and 'burn out' is mostly psychological. If we look at soccer players like Maldini (sorry for the soccer reference) we see a man who was(is?) still playing top flight football into his 30's

Seamus Moynaghan at 33 retiring at the top with his third All-Star in his pocket... it cant be said that he peaked in his late teens because if he did then is it not down hill from there? 
Post by: Mayo4Sam on December 01, 2006, 09:49:45 AM
About 17, full forward for the minors, U-21 half forward and on the senior panel with the odd league run-out. Played a bit of freshers in college but have never really regained the fitness after 2 years out thru illness
Post by: SlimShady on December 01, 2006, 09:54:27 AM
Mid 20's myself and I'm just about to peak  :P

Seriously though, my best is yet to come  ;)
Post by: Maximus Marillius on December 01, 2006, 10:11:23 AM
That is still to come...doing the best i can considering the demanding job Im in. Weights twice a dy four times a week. The other two days I do road work considering its the off season for us at present. Sunday a day of rest, I joined the DUP, but plan to defect about March to SF. The next two years will see the best of me, i can only contiune with this programme for that lenght of time...then I'm getting married and building a house. Best season to date, season before last.
Post by: magpie seanie on December 01, 2006, 10:53:40 AM
Hard to say. At 16/17 was light but as fast as forked lightening. Made SFC debut at 17 for club. Went away to college and dedication to training along with form dipped so even though I was on county minor panel I probably shouldn't have been. At 19 had a good season re-inventing myself as a corner back and won an IFC medal with the club. At 21 was in great form but got seriously shafted in team selection and it kicked the heart out of me playing wise. Downward spiral was arrested last year and I'm hopeful of an Indian summer!
Post by: Kerry Mike on December 01, 2006, 11:29:20 AM
I'd say 18 myself, had two county football U21 medals in my pocket by then, but then college, drink, moving away from home and then work put paid to any future dedication. Played a few trial games with the Kerry minors way back but it was my leaving cert year so could never really give it the time.
Made a club comeback in my twenties for about 8 years but had to give it up when I reached the big 30 which is a good few years ago now, also played junior B hurling in Cork for a few years and got a medal and many battle scars out of that. But no regrets it was fun when it lasted and I have a good collection of about 40 medals for my run.
Post by: neilthemac on December 01, 2006, 12:02:51 PM
aged 26, and I reckon I have not peaked yet

not playing much football or hurling from the ages of 15-21 might have helped. Most of the friends who were class footballers when they were in their teens are no longer playing due to injury, apathy etc
Post by: Bogball XV on December 01, 2006, 12:07:10 PM
probably 20, but fate was waiting in the wings to rear her ugly head, had to retire from senior football the following year - still not many of us get to retire at 22 having had 7 seasons of senior action!!  Won a few medals and was involved in underage county squads for about 4 yrs in total but never got a sniff of the John McLaughlin (Derry SFC).
Post by: trueblue on December 01, 2006, 12:23:32 PM
im 20 at the min and i wouldnt say im newer near my peak yet.id say i wont hit my peak til im in my mid twenties at least. though i have to say i know wat its like with college and all. i went to college 2 years ago and put on 2 stone and it took me to the start of this year to get back in to shape so i understand why college makes many people quit. ive had a good year this year though and ive started in the gym to try and build myself up a bit and keep myself in shape over the winter.

i was just wondering are other posters saying their peak year was the year when they won the most medals or the year wen they felt at their maximum condition in football or hurling??
Post by: North Longford on December 01, 2006, 12:32:35 PM
Late teens early 20's I'd say.
Played a couple of years for the county U21's (having never played for any previous underage county team but I always reckoned that was more of a political thing). Desie Dolan who trained the U21's and seniors even told me he expected I'd be on the senior panel the following year but of course he quit at the end of that year and the rest is history or lack of it!
Was actually playing midfield for the club senior team which Eugene mcGee was training. Billy will tell yee how much of an achievement that is as he knows the size of me!!)
At the same time was in the middle of a 5 year run playing for Sligo RTC senior team. Managed to be the only non county senior panelist on the team one year with 3 or 4 sitting on the line.
At that stage it was football almost 7 days a week but at about 23/24 came the first knee injury and it truely has been all doownhill from there. (with the odd spike)
Still playing a bit at 35 but its more a case of what could have been
Post by: dubnut on December 01, 2006, 12:45:30 PM
Was a late starter, was peaking just about the time I started to fall apart injury wise.
Not sure if I can go back next year but if I sort a few ankle issues I am hoping for one more year before I start to wane!
30 now btw
Post by: Mayo4Sam on December 01, 2006, 01:12:41 PM
Who are u lining out for next year dubnut?
I tried looking for that club thread but its a million pages long
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 01, 2006, 01:14:20 PM
Was at my best (whatever that is) 1999/2000.  Was in the best physical shape of my life, played in the two greatest seasons of my clubs history and kept my place on the team throughout.  Was 23/24. Although I was never a prolific scorer, I scored a few memorable and vital scores during that time.  I went to pot after that with fitness problems and injury.

Hoping to get myself into decent shape this year as things have calmed down since last season and maybe get fit enough to play regularly and use my older, more experienced head to guide a group of younger lads in my new club.  A second coming you could say :D 
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 01, 2006, 02:50:35 PM
Would like to think I haven't peaked yet... Usual story, played up to minor, went to college, stopped going home weekends, lost touch... Started playing a few 5 asides after college & loved de exercise. Always thought about getting back to the football but didn't bite the biscuit till last year. Raging now I didn't go back sooner. Meant to start back hurling last summer as well but never happened as was riddled with one thing or another all year. Next year definitely!!!
Post by: Mayo4Sam on December 01, 2006, 02:52:18 PM
Croi I see a bright future ahead for u in 2007, I'll be back up to help out
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 01, 2006, 03:33:14 PM
Glad to hear that M4S, numbers are at an all time low, riddled with injuries. Brought a couple of lads over this year doh they're finding the turning up for training a bit problematic... Have the promise from two others that they'll be well up for joining next year, one's an Aussie so should fit nicely into de Junior team  ;D
Post by: dubnut on December 01, 2006, 03:35:51 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on December 01, 2006, 01:12:41 PM
Who are u lining out for next year dubnut?
I tried looking for that club thread but its a million pages long

Local club in Meath, small club Mayo so wont reveal it, will pm you.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on December 01, 2006, 03:52:44 PM
U never met the last aussie we had, never quiet got the hang of the tackle.
MM just texted to say drinks on frinday week in the iveagh ground, must try and make it up for that
Will see who else can be recruited, reinvent the team
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on December 01, 2006, 04:18:39 PM
im only in my early twenties so i havent peaked yet.... i feel like im getting stronger and fitter each year..id say 24/25 is when you're at your peak.
Post by: ONeill on December 01, 2006, 04:48:58 PM

Aghaloo ruined me.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 01, 2006, 04:51:49 PM
QuoteMM just texted to say drinks on frinday week in the iveagh ground, must try and make it up for that
Jaysus I didn't even know dat, that's de start of the xmas madness so, haven't been out in weeks and got final league match on Sun so gonna keep it quiet this weekend too, it's a must win... Have u got sick of country living already???
Post by: Carmen Stateside on December 01, 2006, 06:24:49 PM
ONeill what happened with Aghaloo?? :)
Post by: DuperDee on December 01, 2006, 11:15:41 PM
Fairly common throughout is the effect of going to college ruining many a great career. Its often ahrd to make the long trak back home to play at the weekend and even harder to train on your own. Im one of those who was a club footballer all my life and trained away and won nothing but enjoyed it none the less. Maybe im just getting too old but the younger boys are not as comitted as before. Too many temptations and more money. Think now that the ages of 15-18 is the time of the greatest drop outs. Hitting the drink at an earlier age is taking its toll. In many clubs bad managing at that age group contributes to the loss. Its hard to balance between allowing for the young lads growing up and trying to keep discipline in the squad.
Post by: An Dun Deal on December 01, 2006, 11:20:25 PM
Late 80's - was just breaking onto the county team - played in a few friendlies and was fairing ok - car hit us head on the way to a match, wrecked my knee - bye, bye county and club career :-[
Post by: charlie linkbox on December 02, 2006, 05:23:38 AM
I'd be intrigued to learn what Aghaloo did to ONeill.
Post by: ONeill on December 02, 2006, 09:37:06 PM
Lads I don't really want to go down that route. Suffice to say that I was marking Sean Douglas in a grade 3 final. I still dream about him you know.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on December 02, 2006, 10:10:27 PM
He was a nippy bugger!!! :D Is he still playing??
Post by: J70 on December 02, 2006, 10:38:56 PM
Haven't played at all since minor, and even at underage, we only played five or six games a season. I went away to college when I was 17, somehow made the freshers soccer team and have just played soccer ever since, although mostly at a very casual, crap level!
Post by: Mayo4Sam on December 06, 2006, 04:40:32 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on December 01, 2006, 04:51:49 PM
QuoteMM just texted to say drinks on frinday week in the iveagh ground, must try and make it up for that
Jaysus I didn't even know dat, that's de start of the xmas madness so, haven't been out in weeks and got final league match on Sun so gonna keep it quiet this weekend too, it's a must win... Have u got sick of country living already???

How did this go?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 06, 2006, 04:59:33 PM
Match was cancelled as is the session this Friday. We had training in the wind and rain on Sun morning instead, much bigger turnout than during de week for some strange reason. Was good craic as well...
Post by: Heshs Umpire on December 06, 2006, 06:05:11 PM
Never really peaked me.
Always carried too many pounds to be a good player athough I played senior from 88 to 95 and intermediate from 95 till around 03.
Always hated training and was probably a junior footballer playing senior cos of the size of the club.
Nice memories though sharing the field with legends like Beano, Tom Prendergast and "Miley" Dempsey, wouldn't have swapped it for anything
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 08, 2006, 11:42:47 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on December 06, 2006, 04:40:32 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on December 01, 2006, 04:51:49 PM

How did this go?

Must be no match on Sun as got dis txt off Noelie last night..

QuoteChristmas drinks 4 all club members and friends iv grmds dis saturday from 8

Gonna be around???