GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: joemamas on August 21, 2019, 01:33:44 PM

Title: Rural Ireland's football future
Post by: joemamas on August 21, 2019, 01:33:44 PM
"Ireland West Airport receives less State funding than Kerry or Donegal airports in recent years
Published: Wednesday, 21 August 2019 11:26

A Mayo Councillor has repeated his call for State funding of €100 million for Ireland West Airport Knock, to kick-start development at the airport.

Sinn Fein Councillor Gerry Murray made the call, as figures were released this week which show that Ireland West Airport received significantly less direct state funding in recent years than Kerry or Donegal airports - despite outperforming them in terms of passenger numbers.

Figures from the Department of Transport show that, since 2012, Kerry Airport received a total of €37 million in State funding followed by €29.5 million for Donegal Airport.

Ireland West Airport Knock received €17.9 million over the 7 year period.

Councillor Gerry Murray said Knock should receive the lion's share of the funding, given the airport's passenger numbers, and its potential for further development.
"

This may be a digression from normal GAA and maybe it belongs on another forum. It just hits home with me.
I was walking into the Dublin V Mayo semi-final two weeks ago, Michael Ring who I have never met in my life was walking in ahead of me with his family, I was going to say to him, "the only way Mayo will win an All-Ireland in the next twenty years is if you push decentralization and invest in Ireland west Airport" . Given the situation, I decided to leave the guy alone going into a football game. However when you read the above, you have to wonder, what if ?.

In addition to Mayo, The development of this airport would benefit, Sligo, Roscommon, Leitrim, Longford, Donegal, and maybe a few more, i.e. counties that have have experienced decades of folks leaving to go to cities like Dublin.

I have no political affiliation, but believe that a large part of Dublin's prolonged success is population growth + or (money by the Government). Not brain surgery.
But when you see decentralization opportunities blown, by short sightedness, then you just shake your head.
What is even more frustration is that the last Taoiseach was from Mayo, mind you he inherited a bucket of sh*t, so he deserves a pass on on at least the first few years in office for sure but........
I feel the current guy in office, will most likely provide lip service on the same.

It truly is pathetic when you see these numbers, meanwhile a lot of people who live in Dublin, now cannot afford to, or have significantly altered their spending habits due to increased cost of housing up there.

A chance blown, and one that will most likely still possibly impact another generation of potential rural county footballers.
Title: Re: Rural Ireland's football future
Post by: larryin89 on August 21, 2019, 02:03:44 PM
Perhaps if Mayo people started voting for SF rather than the two main who have never done a tap for Mayo in the history of state things might change .
Post by: Rossfan on August 21, 2019, 03:17:57 PM
Good joke.
Them yokes are against everything.
Post by: J70 on August 21, 2019, 03:24:21 PM
What does the funding figures reflect though, including in terms of the starting points for the respective airports?

Carrickfin has been built up from a grassy strip in the last 30-odd years.

Most scenic airport landing in the world the past two years too. 8)

Post by: Itchy on August 21, 2019, 05:10:38 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 21, 2019, 03:17:57 PM
Good joke.
Them yokes are against everything.

Unlike Mr Ring who spends his entire day going to funerals. Or dont forget Fornication Mulherin with the boyfriend adviser in Africa. Not to mention the great Enda.

Mayo people seriously need to look at the clowns they vote for.
Post by: Rossfan on August 21, 2019, 05:38:09 PM
Indeed.
However I take it Donegal, Cavan, Monaghan, Louth are now economic powerhouses since they were the first places to  elect SF TDs.
Post by: giveballaghback on August 21, 2019, 05:41:17 PM
Michael Ring has been very supportive of 2 different projects [public] I have been involved with over the last few years, he was supportive with advice and funding and even though I have never voted for his party I give credit where credit is due.
Maybe if people got involved they would know what is going on in their communities and the wider community and would not make such sweeping statements.
Mayo as a county has had its fair share of good politicians over the years and have been reasonably well funded.
People west of the shannon need to activate and bring forward projects that will get funding.
Westport as a town should be held up as an example to all towns of what can be done when people organise and pull together. Sitting in your parlour crying and complaining wont get things done, hard work will eventually get rewards but waiting for someone else to do it for you never will.
Post by: MayoBuck on August 21, 2019, 05:53:49 PM
Saying FG or FF have done nothing for Mayo is a lazy generic comment to throw out. On the whole, we've had above average investment relative to population.

Public transport in Dublin is grossly inadequate compared to other major European cities. Public transport in our other cities is almost non existent. There is still no motorway between Cork and Limerick. So Mayo isn't the only neglected county around.
Post by: Itchy on August 21, 2019, 06:45:03 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 21, 2019, 05:38:09 PM
Indeed.
However I take it Donegal, Cavan, Monaghan, Louth are now economic powerhouses since they were the first places to  elect SF TDs.

Border counties have always been most neglected by the FF and FF crowd. That's why SF has success there.

As for mayo. What got done in north mayo for example. There's been f**king nothing done even when they had a taoiseach. Flynn the corrupt hoor did more for mayo (He brought us the road)

Btw - the fact ring can influence granting of money is a disgrace in itself

Roscommon even worse eejits when it comes to voting. Like a bet dog coming back for more.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 21, 2019, 08:52:18 PM
We've passed the point of no return unfortunately. We may have to pay corporation tax the same as the EU after Brexit in return. God help Ballina if Coke and Hollister shut.
Post by: giveballaghback on August 21, 2019, 08:54:19 PM
Quote from: Itchy on August 21, 2019, 06:45:03 PM
Indeed.

Border counties have always been most neglected by the FF and FF crowd. That's why SF has success there.

As for mayo. What got done in north mayo for example. There's been f**king nothing done even when they had a taoiseach. Flynn the corrupt hoor did more for mayo (He brought us the road)

Roscommon even worse eejits when it comes to voting. Like a bet dog coming back for more.
Funding would not be granted unless the project being funded qualified. Lads sitting on their asses doing nothing and bitching about getting nothing is typical of the new Ireland of entitlement.
Michael Ring helped us with our project once it was confirmed the project had potential and people willing to give their time and skills to see it home. Your response itchy is typical of the criticise everything and finger pointing that goes on, open your eyes, join your local enterprise team and do something for your area.
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 21, 2019, 09:09:15 PM
Anyway, to get back on topic...
Msgr. Horan, the buck that built Knock Airport was a great buddy of Charlie Haughey. Naturally enough, money was no object when FF were in power but that problem back in the 80s was that there was frequent changes of government and that meant Knock airport development got money when FF were inn power and Garret Fitzgerald and his Blue Shirts cut back on what Knock had been promised when Horan started developing the place. Jim Mitchel, one of Garret's ministers, once described the airport as a foggy,, boggy place and not worth spending a fraction of the £10m Horan said was promised. Anyway, the airport got built and opened and FR. Horan got Charlie to cut the ribbon even though he was in opposition at the time. There was open war between Knock airport and FG since and even when Enda was the boss, Knock supporters complained at how miserable with development grants he was.
There's a bit more to the story than that but the fact remains that Knock Airport was always regarded as a FF project. The main obstacle to the development of Knock airport was and is the fear that it could draw business away from Shannon. FF was just as cynical as FG in this regard. Back then Mayo was a 5 seater and most times it was 3 FF and 2 FG but there never was much in it and a few hundred votes one way or the other could mean one seat changing hands. However, down in Clare the story was a bit more complicated and 2 or more seats could be regarded as swings. So both parties has to consider what would happen if they gave Knock a bit of a leg up against Shannon and naturally enough Shannon always won.
Horan had gone ahead and started building on the assumption that Knock would get a licence for scheduled transatlantic flights bit that never came to pass.
Cathal Duffy, who stepped in when the monsignor got a heart attack, said he has a contact in Chicago who would guarantee him 55 charter flights a year if he got a licence but he never did and AFAIK, Knock still can't handle transatlantic flights even though it has the longest runway in the country.
Post by: weareros on August 21, 2019, 09:41:59 PM
I remember being on a transatlantic flight from NY  to Knock back in the 90s. It was some chancer who at one stage in his career had tried to set up an airline where the flight attendants wore very short skirts. This plane didn't have that but the Captain's name was Captain Moonlight. Remember a bit of a fight breaking out too, two drunk lads squabbling over a wrong seat. There was only one movie screen and it was a James Bond film. But we definitely landed in Knock and never was I so glad to see Mayo when that plane (a piece of shit) hit the tarmac.
Post by: Itchy on August 21, 2019, 11:03:04 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on August 21, 2019, 08:54:19 PM
Indeed.

Funding would not be granted unless the project being funded qualified. Lads sitting on their asses doing nothing and bitching about getting nothing is typical of the new Ireland of entitlement.
Michael Ring helped us with our project once it was confirmed the project had potential and people willing to give their time and skills to see it home. Your response itchy is typical of the criticise everything and finger pointing that goes on, open your eyes, join your local enterprise team and do something for your area.

You know nothing about me you muppet. But I can tell you this, I have fund rasied and put a huge amount of infrastucture into my club. I applied for the grants and I did the running with the people in the club. I didnt need any gombeen politician telling me he would look after me. When the infrastructure was in place they all came running to claim that they had something to do with it, one of them want to cut the ribbon, a FG bollix. They were all told to f**k off. Politicians should govern, not run around shaking hands at funerals of people they barely know and hold "clinics" to fill potholes, move esb poles and create the illusion they are helping you with a project. And clowns like you that entertain this crap and vote for these bluffers because you believe their rubbish are the root cause of the issue.

f**king Rossies even voting for fellas that shut down their hospital. Deserve everything ye get.
Post by: Rossfan on August 21, 2019, 11:54:51 PM
Roscommon Hospital is still open.
It was the Casualty that got shut.
FG have no TD in Roscommon.
Post by: LooseCannon on August 22, 2019, 01:11:54 AM
Rural Ireland is fucked, and that's being optimistic.
I can think of 6/7 GAA clubs that'll be gone in 7-8 years time in Offaly.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 22, 2019, 08:54:59 AM
Mayo got a centre of excellence in the middle of a bog
Oh, sorry Connacht got the centre
And soon they'll have a giant bouncy castle

Mayo got huge funding for McHale park
AND a bailout when they blew the budget

A lot of money spent on those projects
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 22, 2019, 09:31:05 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on August 22, 2019, 08:54:59 AM

Still paying back the bailout. Clubs are I mean. I do believe there's another centre of excellence in the pipeline although I'm not sure when.

Back to Loose Cannon's point, amalgamations are happening left, right and centre in Mayo at underage. We even had a situation 2 years ago having Ballyhaunis and Aghsmore joining up at minor. Terrible indictment on Ballyhaunis imo.
Post by: J70 on August 22, 2019, 11:05:19 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 22, 2019, 09:31:05 AM

Still paying back the bailout. Clubs are I mean. I do believe there's another centre of excellence in the pipeline although I'm not sure when.

Back to Loose Cannon's point, amalgamations are happening left, right and centre in Mayo at underage. We even had a situation 2 years ago having Ballyhaunis and Aghsmore joining up at minor. Terrible indictment on Ballyhaunis imo.

Population loss or just young lads no longer want to play?
Post by: Itchy on August 22, 2019, 11:21:40 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 21, 2019, 11:54:51 PM

Denis Naughton was a FG TD. When the A&E closed he didn't resign from the party, he voted against it from within and lost the party whip but of course he knew the vote would be carried anyway and he would create the illusion of being a rebel. He resigned (or more accurately was told to resign) years later when he messed up broadband to rural Ireland by having dinner with the main bidders. So we can see he is clearly a man of great principle I have no doubt the great people of Roscommon (with their shite broadband and phone coverage) will no doubt vote him back in again at the next opportunity.
Post by: t_mac on August 22, 2019, 11:25:48 AM
Quote from: Itchy on August 22, 2019, 11:21:40 AM

Denis Naughton was a FG TD. When the A&E closed he didn't resign from the party, he voted against it from within and lost the party whip but of course he knew the vote would be carried anyway and he would create the illusion of being a rebel. He resigned (or more accurately was told to resign) years later when he messed up broadband to rural Ireland by having dinner with the main bidders. So we can see he is clearly a man of great principle I have no doubt the great people of Roscommon (with their shite broadband and phone coverage) will no doubt vote him back in again at the next opportunity.

Post by: giveballaghback on August 22, 2019, 01:08:29 PM
Quote from: Itchy on August 21, 2019, 11:03:04 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on August 21, 2019, 08:54:19 PM
Indeed.

You know nothing about me you muppet. But I can tell you this, I have fund rasied and put a huge amount of infrastucture into my club. I applied for the grants and I did the running with the people in the club. I didnt need any gombeen politician telling me he would look after me. When the infrastructure was in place they all came running to claim that they had something to do with it, one of them want to cut the ribbon, a FG bollix. They were all told to f**k off. Politicians should govern, not run around shaking hands at funerals of people they barely know and hold "clinics" to fill potholes, move esb poles and create the illusion they are helping you with a project. And clowns like you that entertain this crap and vote for these bluffers because you believe their rubbish are the root cause of the issue.

f**king Rossies even voting for fellas that shut down their hospital. Deserve everything ye get.
Jayus itchey you are getting tichey or is it bitchey  ;D stay away from that keyboard for a while and take some long deep breaths, you will feel a lot calmer  ;)
Post by: giveballaghback on August 22, 2019, 01:29:10 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on August 21, 2019, 09:09:15 PM
Anyway, to get back on topic...
Msgr. Horan, the buck that built Knock Airport was a great buddy of Charlie Haughey. Naturally enough, money was no object when FF were in power but that problem back in the 80s was that there was frequent changes of government and that meant Knock airport development got money when FF were inn power and Garret Fitzgerald and his Blue Shirts cut back on what Knock had been promised when Horan started developing the place. Jim Mitchel, one of Garret's ministers, once described the airport as a foggy,, boggy place and not worth spending a fraction of the £10m Horan said was promised. Anyway, the airport got built and opened and FR. Horan got Charlie to cut the ribbon even though he was in opposition at the time. There was open war between Knock airport and FG since and even when Enda was the boss, Knock supporters complained at how miserable with development grants he was.
There's a bit more to the story than that but the fact remains that Knock Airport was always regarded as a FF project. The main obstacle to the development of Knock airport was and is the fear that it could draw business away from Shannon. FF was just as cynical as FG in this regard. Back then Mayo was a 5 seater and most times it was 3 FF and 2 FG but there never was much in it and a few hundred votes one way or the other could mean one seat changing hands. However, down in Clare the story was a bit more complicated and 2 or more seats could be regarded as swings. So both parties has to consider what would happen if they gave Knock a bit of a leg up against Shannon and naturally enough Shannon always won.
Horan had gone ahead and started building on the assumption that Knock would get a licence for scheduled transatlantic flights bit that never came to pass.
Cathal Duffy, who stepped in when the monsignor got a heart attack, said he has a contact in Chicago who would guarantee him 55 charter flights a year if he got a licence but he never did and AFAIK, Knock still can't handle transatlantic flights even though it has the longest runway in the country.
You have covered it there lar, thats exactly as it happened with the airport.
Post by: weareros on August 22, 2019, 03:08:59 PM

I get 25mpbs in Ros. Not great, but have seen worse. Might seem like sacriledge to Roscommon people, but knocking that place needed. As it turns out, the hospital has probably gotten more investment than it ever did. Would say Roscommon has always been one of the more unpredictable counties when it comes to elections. Afterall, we sent Ming and his cannabis/turf cutting campaign to the Dail.
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 22, 2019, 04:54:20 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 22, 2019, 11:05:19 AM

IMO, a  bit of both to be honest but the former is the more serious one.
After all, every part of the country has problems with kids not bothering to play any sort of field game but if you don't have youngsters, you get them to play anything.
I went to a small rural school in near Swinford back in the 60s. The teachers in the parish organised an 11 a side  tournament back then. Today, there is only the town school open.
That's something Dubs can't understand and think life can go on as it has always with Dublin growing bigger and their country cousins just moaning and whining, as always.

This year I think half the county panel are based in Dublin. 
It seems reasonable that a good number of these lads will settle down to work and live in the city so in the next few years, they will be lost to the county, probably forever. Odds are that their kids will play with a local club and grew up as Dub supporters.
I can't blame Dub supporters for wanting to keep things the same as always and getting the lion's share of whatever money is available, the gap between Dublin and the rest will become unsustainable.
Post by: joemamas on August 22, 2019, 07:10:54 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on August 22, 2019, 04:54:20 PM

After all, every part of the country has problems with kids not bothering to play any sort of field game but if you don't have youngsters, you get them to play anything.
I went to a small rural school in near Swinford back in the 60s. The teachers in the parish organised an 11 a side  tournament back then. Today, there is only the town school open.
That's something Dubs can't understand and think life can go on as it has always with Dublin growing bigger and their country cousins just moaning and whining, as always.

It seems reasonable that a good number of these lads will settle down to work and live in the city so in the next few years, they will be lost to the county, probably forever. Odds are that their kids will play with a local club and grew up as Dub supporters.

I can't blame Dub supporters for wanting to keep things the same as always and getting the lion's share of whatever money is available, the gap between Dublin and the rest will become unsustainable.

This is a huge issue, and something that also crossed my mind when starting the blog. You cannot measure the impact of this. As I recall one of the Dublin subs this year, his father played club football for Swinford until he headed east back in the 80's. I am sure there are hundreds if not thousands of such examples.

Back to the Airport, if the entire politics BS, play into its under developement, then shame on the elected officials involved. A no brainer would be to create an exclusive tax free zone around the airport or even extend it to twenty or twenty five mile radius around the airport as a tax free zone. As well as east and north Mayo, it would encompass parts of south Sligo, part of Roscommon, north Galway and parts of Leitrim. Areas prone to folks migrating to Dublin etc. If there were 25k or 50k jobs created over a decade or two, then the positive knock-on effect of this would be very significant.

I happened to be at a presentation back in November, discussing rural Ireland, two presenters, both decent, second one a tad boring TBH, my biggest take away was, north of Galway city to south of Sligo town, the electric grids do not have the capability of carrying enough power(wattage whatever it is) to service a major plant, ( The example given, was that if a guy in England or USA or where ever wanted to set up a major plant in Claremorris (was the example used), he or she would not be able to.

I took the train from Ballymote to Dublin a few weeks ago, there is one train track, comical. It means that only one train can pass at a time, and the schedule is dictated by where there are multiple lines. How difficult or expensive would it be to put another track alongside it. The west, north west, and tourism or the wild Atlantic way my backside.

Maybe the answer is to put aside the parochial politics, of FG, FF and SF, and form a west of Ireland party. Pie in the sky, but if the combined elected politicians controlled a majority, you may see a lot more resources heading out of Dublin.

Post by: ballinaman on August 22, 2019, 08:47:03 PM
Quote from: joemamas on August 22, 2019, 07:10:54 PM

This is a huge issue, and something that also crossed my mind when starting the blog. You cannot measure the impact of this. As I recall one of the Dublin subs this year, his father played club football for Swinford until he headed east back in the 80's. I am sure there are hundreds if not thousands of such examples.

Back to the Airport, if the entire politics BS, play into its under developement, then shame on the elected officials involved. A no brainer would be to create an exclusive tax free zone around the airport or even extend it to twenty or twenty five mile radius around the airport as a tax free zone. As well as east and north Mayo, it would encompass parts of south Sligo, part of Roscommon, north Galway and parts of Leitrim. Areas prone to folks migrating to Dublin etc. If there were 25k or 50k jobs created over a decade or two, then the positive knock-on effect of this would be very significant.

I happened to be at a presentation back in November, discussing rural Ireland, two presenters, both decent, second one a tad boring TBH, my biggest take away was, north of Galway city to south of Sligo town, the electric grids do not have the capability of carrying enough power(wattage whatever it is) to service a major plant, ( The example given, was that if a guy in England or USA or where ever wanted to set up a major plant in Claremorris (was the example used), he or she would not be able to.

I took the train from Ballymote to Dublin a few weeks ago, there is one train track, comical. It means that only one train can pass at a time, and the schedule is dictated by where there are multiple lines. How difficult or expensive would it be to put another track alongside it. The west, north west, and tourism or the wild Atlantic way my backside.

Maybe the answer is to put aside the parochial politics, of FG, FF and SF, and form a west of Ireland party. Pie in the sky, but if the combined elected politicians controlled a majority, you may see a lot more resources heading out of Dublin.
Did the person making that presentation forget that the Coca Cola factory in Ballina is the worlds largest producer of Coca Cola drink concentrate ?
Post by: Itchy on August 22, 2019, 08:50:27 PM
Quote from: joemamas on August 22, 2019, 07:10:54 PM

There's a graphic out there of rail and motorways in Ireland. The border counties and north west are the most neglected regions in Ireland.
Post by: Itchy on August 22, 2019, 08:51:55 PM
https://twitter.com/PadraigMacL/status/1034884692057763847?s=19
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on August 22, 2019, 09:27:44 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on August 21, 2019, 09:09:15 PM
Back then Mayo was a 5 seater and most times it was 3 FF and 2 FG but there never was much in it and a few hundred votes one way or the other could mean one seat changing hands.

I think your memory could be playing tricks with you there Lar.

Mayo was divided into two three-seat constituencies, Mayo West and Mayo East, from 1969 until 1997. Both Mayo East and Mayo West returned two FF, one FG, regularly as clockwork from the mid-seventies on. Any time someone lost a seat, he lost to a party colleague. Sean Flanagan lost to PJ Morley in 1977, Paddy O'Toole lost to Jim Higgins in 1987.

There was a feeling that it was Knock airport that cost O'Toole his seat in 1987, as he was a Minister in that 1982-87 government, but to say that Mayo seats were marginal in the 1980s isn't an accurate statement.
Post by: Rudi on August 23, 2019, 11:22:36 AM

Roscommon is notoriously unpredictable when it comes to elections and referendums you buffoon. A sitting member of the dail was not elected back in the eighties. Shout your mouth off before informing yourself.
Post by: Rossfan on August 23, 2019, 11:38:21 AM
Didn't we dump Brian Lenihan Senior too when he was at his highest?
I presume Itchy with his deep concern for Roscommon will be standing in the Constituency in the next GE.
Post by: Rudi on August 23, 2019, 12:59:12 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 23, 2019, 11:38:21 AM
Didn't we dump Brian Lenihan Senior too when he was at his highest?
I presume Itchy with his deep concern for Roscommon will be standing in the Constituency in the next GE.

We are the Florida of Ireland, the ultimate swing county. ;D ;D
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 24, 2019, 03:46:05 PM
It's a healthy way to be

Too many political dynasties in other counties
Post by: Itchy on August 25, 2019, 12:02:27 AM
The only county to go against rights of homosexuals to marry,  yes lots to be proud of but heh in the 80s ye did x, y and z. Real impressive.
Post by: weareros on August 25, 2019, 12:41:42 AM
Quote from: Itchy on August 25, 2019, 12:02:27 AM
The only county to go against rights of homosexuals to marry,  yes lots to be proud of but heh in the 80s ye did x, y and z. Real impressive.

True, but not too far off many other rural counties. The statistical difference ain't much. Cavan-Monaghan was 49.35% for No, Roscommon was 51.4%. Older, rural county you will get that.

You seem on a tear against Ros at the moment. Sure didn't ye finally get a league victory over us. Lighten up, lad.
Post by: Rossfan on August 25, 2019, 11:03:04 AM
A feckin Cyaavan man trying to pretend he's modern and sophisticated ::)
Post by: Rudi on August 25, 2019, 06:47:40 PM

The didn't go against the rights of homosexuals. As a county Monaghan voted against too. Excerising their democratic right and not jumping on the populist bandwagon.
Post by: BennyCake on August 25, 2019, 09:13:16 PM
Quote from: Rudi on August 25, 2019, 06:47:40 PM

The didn't go against the rights of homosexuals. As a county Monaghan voted against too. Excerising their democratic right and not jumping on the populist bandwagon.

Agreed.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 25, 2019, 09:16:20 PM
Oldest electorate in the country
There was actually a bigger NO vote in 14 other constituencies
Post by: armaghniac on August 25, 2019, 09:18:35 PM
Good to see that one place values marriage.
Post by: Itchy on August 25, 2019, 09:52:06 PM
Don't get get started on the right wing Catholic of Armagh. The same as paisleys lot on the nationalist side.
Post by: omaghjoe on August 25, 2019, 11:12:24 PM
Jaysus reading this thread has been a great laugh altogether a welcome surprise to a lazy Sunday.

Moreover I've never heard such anger from a Cavan man....we'll just put it down to the years of getting jarred by potholes
Post by: Hound on August 26, 2019, 07:47:23 AM

The last line of your post has absolutely nothing to the rest of it! Funding won't change population movement! McCreevy did his best to do something about the problem of everyone wanting to live in Dublin, but his decentralisation plan go fecked out over petty mindedness typical of politicians (why is this town getting stuff and my town isn't? And then nobody gets anything, but I'm happy so long as that other town didn't get something!)

Here's an article the purpose of which was to expose how the Games Development Funding has turned Dublin into a great senior team. And while there was a bit of plamasing at the start re this funding, it ended up going into great detail about the primary reasons.
https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/columnists/kieran-shannon/the-kieran-shannon-interview-the-real-jackanory-behind-dublins-perfect-storm-942964.html

But I don't most people actually care. Let's focus on the red herring!

Huge amount of country people in Dublin clubs driving standards, increasing playing numbers with their kids, increasing coaching numbers with their volunteerism. And not an ounce of initiative from counties outside Dublin about it.

Why wouldn't Mayo get 5 or 6 ex-county players to organise a session in somewhere like Abbotstown on a Saturday or Sunday morning. Invite all U12s and U13s living in Dublin who have a Mayo parent. Publicise it so everyone knows about it. Maybe do it on a pan-Connacht basis. The 5 counties join forces to run it, anyone with a Connacht parent can come along. You'd get a great turnout. What Mayo parent with a 12 year old in Dublin wouldn't want to bring his lad for a Mayo trial.

Bring them back for another session. Whittle the numbers down bit by bit. Give them Mayo gear. Organise Mayo v Galway challenges and mix them in with the locals. Nothing to lose, these lads will continue to benefit from the Dublin club system, and any of them that get to play Senior 1 or 2 at adult level will all be potential intercounty players with a stronger link back to their parent's county,and you might just end up with a few more players.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 26, 2019, 10:15:05 AM
Eh... yea I get what you're saying Hound, but if one had a Mayo parent and a parent from any of the other Connacht counties the poor ladeen wouldn't know what to do. Plus it deviates from the pride of place spirit that's so imbued in us.
Post by: seafoid on August 26, 2019, 10:26:45 AM
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/rural-decline-has-football-in-south-kerry-on-life-support-1.3996745
Post by: Hound on August 26, 2019, 11:32:24 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 26, 2019, 10:15:05 AM
Eh... yea I get what you're saying Hound, but if one had a Mayo parent and a parent from any of the other Connacht counties the poor ladeen wouldn't know what to do. Plus it deviates from the pride of place spirit that's so imbued in us.

But is that not better than him playing with Dublin, or only having ambition to play with Dublin!?

People thinking that stopping/restricting the games development funding will stop Dublin are in LaLaLand.
Equally sending a games development officer to a rural club in Mayo, where all the kids are already up at the GAA club and they realise almost every parent volunteer already knows as much as the GDO won't reap many rewards. The GDOs are good for soccer towns or rugby towns, where there's untapped potential. Although you've got places like Balbriggan and Finglas where the GDOs haven't made a blind bit of difference.

It's number you're getting short of, and without a decentralisation policy from government, it's only going to get worse.  I'm sure most people have some bit of gra for the county where their parents are born, and if you tap into that early, you never know...
Post by: seafoid on August 26, 2019, 11:55:40 AM
Quote from: Hound on August 26, 2019, 11:32:24 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 26, 2019, 10:15:05 AM

But is that not better than him playing with Dublin, or only having ambition to play with Dublin!?

People thinking that stopping/restricting the games development funding will stop Dublin are in LaLaLand.
Equally sending a games development officer to a rural club in Mayo, where all the kids are already up at the GAA club and they realise almost every parent volunteer already knows as much as the GDO won't reap many rewards. The GDOs are good for soccer towns or rugby towns, where there's untapped potential. Although you've got places like Balbriggan and Finglas where the GDOs haven't made a blind bit of difference.

It's number you're getting short of, and without a decentralisation policy from government, it's only going to get worse.  I'm sure most people have some bit of gra for the county where their parents are born, and if you tap into that early, you never know...

Stopping the money or else dumping Dublin out of the championship /Breaking Dublin up are the options

Stein's law- if something can't continue forever it won't 
Post by: joemamas on August 26, 2019, 01:13:42 PM
Quote from: Hound on August 26, 2019, 07:47:23 AM

The last line of your post has absolutely nothing to the rest of it! Funding won't change population movement! McCreevy did his best to do something about the problem of everyone wanting to live in Dublin, but his decentralisation plan go fecked out over petty mindedness typical of politicians (why is this town getting stuff and my town isn't? And then nobody gets anything, but I'm happy so long as that other town didn't get something!)

Here's an article the purpose of which was to expose how the Games Development Funding has turned Dublin into a great senior team. And while there was a bit of plamasing at the start re this funding, it ended up going into great detail about the primary reasons.
https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/columnists/kieran-shannon/the-kieran-shannon-interview-the-real-jackanory-behind-dublins-perfect-storm-942964.html

Huge amount of country people in Dublin clubs driving standards, increasing playing numbers with their kids, increasing coaching numbers with their volunteerism. And not an ounce of initiative from counties outside Dublin about it.

Why wouldn't Mayo get 5 or 6 ex-county players to organise a session in somewhere like Abbotstown on a Saturday or Sunday morning. Invite all U12s and U13s living in Dublin who have a Mayo parent. Publicise it so everyone knows about it. Maybe do it on a pan-Connacht basis. The 5 counties join forces to run it, anyone with a Connacht parent can come along. You'd get a great turnout. What Mayo parent with a 12 year old in Dublin wouldn't want to bring his lad for a Mayo trial.

Bring them back for another session. Whittle the numbers down bit by bit. Give them Mayo gear. Organise Mayo v Galway challenges and mix them in with the locals. Nothing to lose, these lads will continue to benefit from the Dublin club system, and any of them that get to play Senior 1 or 2 at adult level will all be potential intercounty players with a stronger link back to their parent's county,and you might just end up with a few more players.

I think that is a very reasonable idea, the reality is that a less than 1% of the kids of rural county parents are going to make the Dublin senior team in any event, and as a result they may get disheartened because of this and never develop their true potential.

As an aside, I finished reading a book over the weekend called "Prisoners of Geography" by Tim Marshall, (worthwhile read). Very simple summary,Power is determined by physical location.
In hindsight, I could titled this subject, "Rural Ireland's football, Prisoners of Geography".
Maybe some folks on Jones road might read it.

Post by: Lar Naparka on August 26, 2019, 05:23:53 PM

The last line of your post has absolutely nothing to the rest of it! [/b]Funding won't change population movement! McCreevy did his best to do something about the problem of everyone wanting to live in Dublin, but his decentralisation plan go fecked out over petty mindedness typical of politicians (why is this town getting stuff and my town isn't? And then nobody gets anything, but I'm happy so long as that other town didn't get something!)

Unfortunately, the last sentence has everything to do with what I wrote earlier. Hone in on the last word I wrote- "sustainable."
I didn't bring the subject of funding into my post. What I'm talking about is the existence of rural Ireland a sit used to be and what it is fast becoming. Most of the Dub posters here are genuine, logical individuals, well capable of stating a point of view and backing it up but you have developed the perception that jealous culchies want a share of the loot and are not prepared to get off their backsides and muck in as Dublin has done.
If only life was that simple!
GDO funding won't arrest the flight from the land. The GAA plays an important role in Irish life, or so we like to think but society is changing fast and unless the GAH does likewise, iit will become increasingly irrelevant as time goes by. Right now, Jean-Claude and Angelan not to mention Bojo and his companion clown Rees-Mogg will do more to influence the shape of Irish society in the future than any amount of motions on the clár at Congress ever will.
Those who are leaving rural Ireland are in the main post Leaving Certs hoping to obtain a third level qualification and if they do, thy won't find much work in their chosen professions back where they came from. I cannot see any amount of well-intentioned individuals coming together and motivating their kids to play with their own native counties. Remember kids like to be part of a gang and if their mates support the Dubs then so will the offspring of those who may have played for any other county in the land. No easy option there.
I regard funding as important but it must be kept in perspective. No amount of coaching ns ice creams and bags of crisps or cúl caps for that matter will mean much to youngsters when they are no youngsters left.
You say funding should follow population and if you adopt a particular point of view, then you are correct.
But that's not the way horse racing works- what about handicaps?
Does giving a Dub youngster €274 for GDO purposes and giving their Kerry counterparts a mere €19 do much for football in rural Ireland?
The problem, IMO, is that the 32 county model is a throwback to the days of the horse and cart. As Seafóid astutely points out, "Stein's law- if something can't continue forever, it won't"!
Post by: Hound on August 26, 2019, 08:44:39 PM
That's a load of rambling nonsense Lar.

Again, mentioning 274 as if it means something! Deliberately misinformed and happy to lap it up. Wallowing in self pity and and peddling nonsense to justify it! There's nothing to be done, woe is me.
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 26, 2019, 10:31:04 PM
Quote from: Hound on August 26, 2019, 08:44:39 PM
That's a load of rambling nonsense Lar.

Again, mentioning 274 as if it means something! Deliberately misinformed and happy to lap it up. Wallowing in self pity and and peddling nonsense to justify it! There's nothing to be done, woe is me.
I'm a bit disappointed here Hound as I felt you were of the few Dubs that could discuss the problems facing the GAA without resorting to paranoia and circling the wagons if anyone suggest that the good times won't last forever.
If my last post was/is a "load of rambling nonsense" perhaps you could point out a single point that I  raised that doesn't make sense- just one any one. Take your time and be my guest.....
For instance, why is the 274 meaningless...deliberately misinformed and wallowing in self-pity?
I'm honestly puzzled here. Is there anything in what I wrote that shows I am guilty of any of the above? I'd like to see it if you can find it.
Post by: Hound on August 27, 2019, 08:33:33 AM
Well putting "seafoid" and "astute" in the same sentence for starters!  ;)

This was supposed to be a thread on "Rural Ireland's football future" Lar, and your first post (bar the last sentence) was an excellent synopsis of the situation and exactly how I feel. The ever increasing drive for people to move out of rural and into Dublin in particular is bad for the country and very bad for the GAA. I know the IDA do their best to encourage new companies move to places other than Dublin, but it's a hard sell when there's no political push for it. Since McCreevy's decentralisation policy was sadly done away with, there has not been a single coherent government policy in this regard.

But you finished you post with:
QuoteI can't blame Dub supporters for wanting to keep things the same as always and getting the lion's share of whatever money is available, the gap between Dublin and the rest will become unsustainable.   
The games development funding has zero to do with people moving out of rural areas!! Not a single person has ever moved out of rural Ireland because of lack of games development officer! And then you said:
QuoteI didn't bring the subject of funding into my post.
Well, clearly, you did!

And then the preposterous:
QuoteDoes giving a Dub youngster €274 for GDO purposes and giving their Kerry counterparts a mere €19 do much for football in rural Ireland?
Do you seriously believe this?
As I said, I know you didn't come up with the figure, but you still choose to use it when it's a nonsense.

Do you have any idea where this BS €274 figure comes from?
Do you care where it comes from?
Does club membership include adults?
Does it include hurlers?
Does it include women footballers?
Does it include camogie?
Do GDOs coach adult teams?
Do GDOs spent most of their time taking PE classes for boys and girls in primary schools and taking toddler groups on weekend mornings?
In Dublin, what percentage of a GDO's time is taken up with children who are not members?
What are the figures per capita when you break it down by primary school child?
Do you prefer to go for a headline €274 nonsense figure because it helps make whatever point you're trying to make?

But I not talking any more about Dublin funding on a rural thread. There's another thread on that and I'll pop in there every now and again. To finish that subject, and for anyone who is interested in what actually happens, again I put up this article, the purpose of which was to expose how the Games Development Funding has turned Dublin into a great senior team. And while there was a bit of plamasing at the start re this funding, it ended up going into great detail about the primary reasons.

Back on topic:
Given the move out of rural and into Dublin, and the fact that politicians seem to be doing feck all about it, surely country teams setting up development panels in Dublin is at least an idea worth exploring? Although maybe most of the replies I get will be excuses and barricades.

Post by: seafoid on August 27, 2019, 09:18:27 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on August 26, 2019, 05:23:53 PM

The last line of your post has absolutely nothing to the rest of it! [/b]Funding won't change population movement! McCreevy did his best to do something about the problem of everyone wanting to live in Dublin, but his decentralisation plan go fecked out over petty mindedness typical of politicians (why is this town getting stuff and my town isn't? And then nobody gets anything, but I'm happy so long as that other town didn't get something!)

Unfortunately, the last sentence has everything to do with what I wrote earlier. Hone in on the last word I wrote- "sustainable."
I didn't bring the subject of funding into my post. What I'm talking about is the existence of rural Ireland a sit used to be and what it is fast becoming. Most of the Dub posters here are genuine, logical individuals, well capable of stating a point of view and backing it up but you have developed the perception that jealous culchies want a share of the loot and are not prepared to get off their backsides and muck in as Dublin has done.
If only life was that simple!
GDO funding won't arrest the flight from the land. The GAA plays an important role in Irish life, or so we like to think but society is changing fast and unless the GAH does likewise, iit will become increasingly irrelevant as time goes by. Right now, Jean-Claude and Angelan not to mention Bojo and his companion clown Rees-Mogg will do more to influence the shape of Irish society in the future than any amount of motions on the clár at Congress ever will.
Those who are leaving rural Ireland are in the main post Leaving Certs hoping to obtain a third level qualification and if they do, thy won't find much work in their chosen professions back where they came from. I cannot see any amount of well-intentioned individuals coming together and motivating their kids to play with their own native counties. Remember kids like to be part of a gang and if their mates support the Dubs then so will the offspring of those who may have played for any other county in the land. No easy option there.
I regard funding as important but it must be kept in perspective. No amount of coaching ns ice creams and bags of crisps or cúl caps for that matter will mean much to youngsters when they are no youngsters left.
You say funding should follow population and if you adopt a particular point of view, then you are correct.
But that's not the way horse racing works- what about handicaps?
Does giving a Dub youngster €274 for GDO purposes and giving their Kerry counterparts a mere €19 do much for football in rural Ireland?
The problem, IMO, is that the 32 county model is a throwback to the days of the horse and cart. As Seafóid astutely points out, "Stein's law- if something can't continue forever, it won't"!
The economic system is dying, Lar
The German economy is banjaxed. Malnutrition rates are up in the UK
10% of global companies generate 80% of all profits
70% of Yanks feel angry because the political system only seems to work for the rich
Sanders is going very well in the US. There is a hunger for change.

There is going to be a handover from capital to labour
That will hurt Dublin.
House prices will come back down to normal as well.

The GAA will have to be de-neoliberalised.
It's going to be a wild ride. 
Post by: weareros on August 27, 2019, 01:06:38 PM
Quote from: seafoid on August 27, 2019, 09:18:27 AM
70% of Yanks feel angry because the political system only seems to work for the rich

That will hurt Dublin.

With populations only set to increase, and the populations of cities in particular set to grow (all around the world), how do you see house prices coming down? Even if capital got redistributed in a fairer manner, that would only drive up prices, too. Wealth + Scarcity in the history of the world has only ever driven up cost.
Post by: seafoid on August 27, 2019, 01:36:56 PM
Quote from: weareros on August 27, 2019, 01:06:38 PM
Quote from: seafoid on August 27, 2019, 09:18:27 AM

That will hurt Dublin.

With populations only set to increase, and the populations of cities in particular set to grow (all around the world), how do you see house prices coming down? Even if capital got redistributed in a fairer manner, that would only drive up prices, too. Wealth + Scarcity in the history of the world has only ever driven up cost.

Interest rates to go up
How? Economic crash. banking crisis. Debts added on to Sovereign. Bond prices fall. Yields go up
Ireland has another housing bubble . According to Morgan Kelly, 70% of the increase during the bubble is lost in the crash.
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 28, 2019, 07:03:21 AM
Quote from: Hound on August 27, 2019, 08:33:33 AM
Well putting "seafoid" and "astute" in the same sentence for starters!  ;)

This was supposed to be a thread on "Rural Ireland's football future" Lar, and your first post (bar the last sentence) was an excellent synopsis of the situation and exactly how I feel. The ever increasing drive for people to move out of rural and into Dublin in particular is bad for the country and very bad for the GAA. I know the IDA do their best to encourage new companies move to places other than Dublin, but it's a hard sell when there's no political push for it. Since McCreevy's decentralisation policy was sadly done away with, there has not been a single coherent government policy in this regard.

But you finished you post with:
QuoteI can't blame Dub supporters for wanting to keep things the same as always and getting the lion's share of whatever money is available, the gap between Dublin and the rest will become unsustainable.   
The games development funding has zero to do with people moving out of rural areas!! Not a single person has ever moved out of rural Ireland because of lack of games development officer! And then you said:
QuoteI didn't bring the subject of funding into my post.
Well, clearly, you did!

And then the preposterous:
QuoteDoes giving a Dub youngster €274 for GDO purposes and giving their Kerry counterparts a mere €19 do much for football in rural Ireland?
Do you seriously believe this?
As I said, I know you didn't come up with the figure, but you still choose to use it when it's a nonsense.

Do you have any idea where this BS €274 figure comes from?
Do you care where it comes from?
Does club membership include adults?
Does it include hurlers?
Does it include women footballers?
Does it include camogie?
Do GDOs coach adult teams?
Do GDOs spent most of their time taking PE classes for boys and girls in primary schools and taking toddler groups on weekend mornings?
In Dublin, what percentage of a GDO's time is taken up with children who are not members?
What are the figures per capita when you break it down by primary school child?
Do you prefer to go for a headline €274 nonsense figure because it helps make whatever point you're trying to make?

But I not talking any more about Dublin funding on a rural thread. There's another thread on that and I'll pop in there every now and again. To finish that subject, and for anyone who is interested in what actually happens, again I put up this article, the purpose of which was to expose how the Games Development Funding has turned Dublin into a great senior team. And while there was a bit of plamasing at the start re this funding, it ended up going into great detail about the primary reasons.

Back on topic:
Given the move out of rural and into Dublin, and the fact that politicians seem to be doing feck all about it, surely country teams setting up development panels in Dublin is at least an idea worth exploring? Although maybe most of the replies I get will be excuses and barricades.
I think if you were to go back and re-read my statement, you'll find I wasn't having a dig at Dublin. I've said umpteen times that I don't have any time for moaners and there's little point in whinging about what Dublin is getting by way of subsides/ grants or whatever. It's up to every county to promote its own interests.
Strictly on topic, this thread is about the future of football in rural Ireland and if Kerry gets (got?) €19 for any form of games promotion, whereas Dublins gets €274, then something isn't quite right.
That's not a moan about Dublin- that's a matter for HQ. (BTW, that also a matter for the Kerry County Board.)
The infographic we are referring to was posted on this forum some time ago and was discussed at length a number of times already. I came across it on Balls.ie and it was attributed to Shane Mangan. Dunno much about him but I haven't come across a single individual yt who challenged his credibility. Loads have disagreed with his conclusions, fair enough, that's only natural,  but I haven't found anyone yet who disputes the stats he used.
In short, I'll accept that based on 2015 figures, a registered GAA player in Kerry got €19 while a Dublin counterpart got €274. What the money is used for is not an issue for me.
"The infographic is simply the games development funds by county divided by schoolkids in the county."
That's what I came across on Balls.ie and as far as I know, the money is not strictly for kids' coaching purposes only but is based on the number of children in the area. There may well be subtle differences between GDOs and GDAs and whatever but the figures of 19 v 274 remain, whatever yardstick is used to measure grant aid.