GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Blowitupref on July 18, 2023, 11:55:58 PM

Title: All-Stars 2023
Post by: Blowitupref on July 18, 2023, 11:55:58 PM
Just one game to play whereby normally up to 10 are won by the two finalists.

In the running for the two finalists and few more will be added if they perform well in the final.

Kerry -  Shane Ryan,Graham O'Sullivan,Jason Foley,Diarmuid O'Connor,Sean O'Shea,David Clifford,Gavin White

Dublin - Stephen Cluxton,James McCarthy,Con O'Callaghan,Michael Fitzsimons,Cormac Costello,Colm Basquel,Lee Gannon

The beaten semi finalist normal get 2 or 3.

Best placed for Derry Gareth Mckinless,Brendan Rogers,Shane McGuigan,Conor McCluskey and Monaghan Rory Beggan,Conor McCarthy,Karl O'Connell,Conor McManus

Maybe 1 or 2 of the beaten Quarter finalists will one those who will likely be nominated David McBrien (Mayo) Darragh Canavan (Tyrone) Rory Maguire (Cork) Andrew Murnin (Armagh) and his county didn't reach the last 8 but I can imagine Enda Smith will at least be nominated.
Title: Re: All-Stars 2023
Post by: Estimator on July 19, 2023, 08:16:06 AM
If McManus gets one, it'll be a longevity award for services to Monaghan, not for his C'ship performances this year.

I'd say it'll end up with:
Winners - 6
Runners up - 5
Derry - 3 (Rogers, McGuigan, McCloskey are the frontrunners)
Monaghan - 1 (McCarthy)

Though wouldn't be surprised if the finalists get more and Derry only get one or two.
Post by: statto on July 19, 2023, 09:30:19 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 18, 2023, 11:55:58 PM

In the running for the two finalists and few more will be added if they perform well in the final.

Kerry -  Shane Ryan,Graham O'Sullivan,Jason Foley,Diarmuid O'Connor,Sean O'Shea,David Clifford,Gavin White

Dublin - Stephen Cluxton,James McCarthy,Con O'Callaghan,Michael Fitzsimons,Cormac Costello,Colm Basquel,Lee Gannon

Best placed for Derry Gareth Mckinless,Brendan Rogers,Shane McGuigan,Conor McCluskey and Monaghan Rory Beggan,Conor McCarthy,Karl O'Connell,Conor McManus

Maybe 1 or 2 of the beaten Quarter finalists will one those who will likely be nominated David McBrien (Mayo) Darragh Canavan (Tyrone) Rory Maguire (Cork) Andrew Murnin (Armagh) and his county didn't reach the last 8 but I can imagine Enda Smith will at least be nominated.
Fenton had a massive last 20 in the semi final if he turns up in the final will also be in the mix. 

Post by: marty34 on July 19, 2023, 09:38:08 AM
Quote from: statto on July 19, 2023, 09:30:19 AM

Fenton had a massive last 20 in the semi final if he turns up in the final will also be in the mix.

I don't think Cluxton will be in the running. Will he?
Post by: imtommygunn on July 19, 2023, 09:43:13 AM

Basquel will need a big final too as he was subbed last day out.

I think McCluskey is great but I am not sure he will get one. I think Derry will get two - McGuigan and one other. If Fenton has a big final and O'Connor has too then Rodgers maybe won't get one whereas most think he will be a shoe in. James McCarthy wlll probably have a big game as he always does but like someone says he will maybe get shifted to the half back line. Conor McCarthy deserves one. Masterstroke moving him back to half back. I think he scored more than he does in the forwards from there too.
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 19, 2023, 09:49:13 AM
If Rogers doesn't get one it's a farce. Should have got one last year. McCluskey the other contender. McGuigan possibly. Can't see Mckinless despite his heroics last Sunday.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 19, 2023, 09:52:55 AM
There's huge competition there. McCarthy, Fenton, O'Connor from Kerry and then arguably O"Connor from Mayo.
Post by: statto on July 19, 2023, 10:18:18 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 19, 2023, 09:52:55 AM
There's huge competition there. McCarthy, Fenton, O'Connor from Kerry and then arguably O"Connor from Mayo.
Can't see O'Connor being in the reckoning with Mayo hammered in the end up in quarter final. 

Will be between Fenton, McCarthy, Rogers and O'Connor Kerry I would imagine.  As someone else said may move McCarthy to wing back to get another midfielder squeezed in. 

Rogers has been brilliant for Derry and add in its his first year playing as a midfielder also. 
Post by: imtommygunn on July 19, 2023, 10:19:23 AM
Yeah definitely been fantastic but also there is a possibility he won't get one though hopefully he will.
Post by: Rossfan on July 19, 2023, 10:26:31 AM
Quote from: Estimator on July 19, 2023, 08:16:06 AM
If McManus gets one, it'll be a longevity award for services to Monaghan, not for his C'ship performances this year.

I'd say it'll end up with:
Winners - 6
Runners up - 5
Derry - 3 (Rogers, McGuigan, McCloskey are the frontrunners)
Monaghan - 1 (McCarthy)

Though wouldn't be surprised if the finalists get more and Derry only get one or two.
AI winners 7, Runners up 4, Semi Finalists 1 each.
2 up for grabs....
Post by: tbrick18 on July 19, 2023, 10:43:11 AM
All depends on how the final goes.
If, for example, Kerry beat Dublin out the gate (or vice verse) then you could expect the semi finalists to perhaps be on a par with the losing side in terms of numbers of Allstars.

IMO, for what it's worth, so far there haven't been that many outstanding consistent performances. Even D Clifford was quiet in the QF (though he's a cert for an Allstar).

With Derry tinted glasses on, at least nominations for McCloskey, McEvoy, McKaigue, Rogers, McKinless, McGuigan.
Realistically, we'll probably do well to get 2 allstars as semi-finalists. If I'd to pick 2, I'd have Rogers and McKinless.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 19, 2023, 10:47:57 AM
No McGuigan?
Post by: oakleaflad on July 19, 2023, 10:57:24 AM
McGuigan would be the second forward on the team for me after Clifford. I think he's almost nailed on. You're looking at maybe one or two more from Cluckey, Rogers and McKinless then.
Post by: tbrick18 on July 19, 2023, 11:09:09 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 19, 2023, 10:47:57 AM
No McGuigan?

McGuigan is top class no doubt, but he had a quiet QF and that mis-hit free at the end of the SF will probably go against him in Allstar terms.
But I agree that he's probably in the argument for one of top forwards in country (as was Paddy Bradley for years).
But with Kerry and Dublin in the final, I've no doubt that's where the bulk of forwards would come from. For me the 2 players who were most consistent for Derry in QF/SFs (which is really all they look much at for allstars) are mckinless and rogers.

In terms of deserving, I'd have Mcloskey, Mckinless, Rogers, McGuigan, Glass and McKaigue on the allstar team, but that'll never happen.
Post by: delgany on July 19, 2023, 11:24:08 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on July 19, 2023, 11:09:09 AM
No McGuigan?

McGuigan is top class no doubt, but he had a quiet QF and that mis-hit free at the end of the SF will probably go against him in Allstar terms.
But I agree that he's probably in the argument for one of top forwards in country (as was Paddy Bradley for years).
But with Kerry and Dublin in the final, I've no doubt that's where the bulk of forwards would come from. For me the 2 players who were most consistent for Derry in QF/SFs (which is really all they look much at for allstars) are mckinless and rogers.

In terms of deserving, I'd have Mcloskey, Mckinless, Rogers, McGuigan, Glass and McKaigue on the allstar team, but that'll never happen.

I don't believe that McGuigan mis hit the last free! I'm sure that  the ref spoke to him that it was the last kick off the game , so a point was his only option. Mc Guigan made a signal to another player to say as much
Post by: shawshank on July 19, 2023, 11:31:54 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 19, 2023, 09:49:13 AM
If Rogers doesn't get one it's a farce. Should have got one last year. McCluskey the other contender. McGuigan possibly. Can't see Mckinless despite his heroics last Sunday.

McKindless got MOM v Clare, and had another massive game V Kerry, both in Croke Park, him and McGuigan top of the list. Rogers was super last Sunday.
Post by: Mario on July 19, 2023, 11:48:01 AM
The midfielders will come from 2 of Rogers, O'Connor, Fenton and McCarthy. Part of me thinks McCarthy will get one regardless of his final performance which leaves 1 for the other 3 lads.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 19, 2023, 12:14:18 PM
Quote from: Mario on July 19, 2023, 11:48:01 AM
2 of the 4 midfielders will come from Rogers, O'Connor, Fenton and McCarthy. Part of me thinks McCarthy will get one regardless of his final performance which leaves 1 for the other 3 lads.

Yeah I'd be leaning towards this. McCarthy would probably have to have a stinker of a final not to get it.
Currently I'd have Rogers ahead of O'Connor and Fenton currently but if either has an impactful final they might well jump him.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 19, 2023, 02:19:39 PM

Fenton would be one of the players I had in mind and as I said above if they perform well in the final.

As it stands I think the front runners for the two midfield spots are Diarmuid O'Connor (Kerry) and Brendan Rogers. James McCarthy should win one but will likely be selected at wing half back instead of midfield.
Post by: tiempo on July 19, 2023, 02:39:34 PM
Who would win, a team of duck sized Fentons, or a team of Fenton sized ducks?
Make for some viewing now in fairness and every bit as relevant as the All-Stars
Post by: Hound on July 19, 2023, 04:28:32 PM
Quote from: delgany on July 19, 2023, 11:24:08 AM
No McGuigan?

I don't believe that McGuigan mis hit the last free! I'm sure that  the ref spoke to him that it was the last kick off the game , so a point was his only option. Mc Guigan made a signal to another player to say as much
Disagree completely. He was trying to lob it in and over hit it. You could see his instant reaction.

I hate it when when people accuse a team of bottling it when they lose a tight game, when the reality is the winning team was just slightly better on the day. But that kick was a genuine bottle job. He did have a superb first half.
Post by: full moon on July 19, 2023, 04:44:43 PM
Fenton and McCarthy probably guaranteed especially if Dublin win also Mick Fitz, Costello? Clifford for Kerry, probably Sean O'Shea, Gavin White, Tom O'Sullivan, Jason Foley. Diarmuid O'Connor midfield in mix.

I think Beggan and Conor McCarthy from Monaghan should get one

McKinless from Derry, probably McGuigan too, McKaigue? Definitely 1 or 2 others in the mix

Post by: Kidder81 on July 19, 2023, 05:03:15 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 19, 2023, 04:28:32 PM
No McGuigan?

Disagree completely. He was trying to lob it in and over hit it. You could see his instant reaction.

I hate it when when people accuse a team of bottling it when they lose a tight game, when the reality is the winning team was just slightly better on the day. But that kick was a genuine bottle job. He did have a superb first half.

I would agree though he had spoke to McQuillan and then was still asking someone should he go high or low.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 19, 2023, 05:49:19 PM
Looked like he over hit it going by his reaction. Nearly as bad as O'Connors.
Post by: manwithnoplan on July 19, 2023, 06:20:20 PM
Aidan Forker deserves a nomination in my opinion, been his best season in years.
Post by: JoG2 on July 19, 2023, 06:29:59 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 19, 2023, 04:28:32 PM
No McGuigan?

Bottle job, shit the nest etc etc, christ that craic grinds my gears, ultimate hurler on the ditch stuff.

McGuigan simply overcooked the kick, hands on his head in disbelief as soon as he hit it.
Post by: AustinPowers on July 19, 2023, 06:31:38 PM
Quote from: manwithnoplan on July 19, 2023, 06:20:20 PM
Aidan Forker deserves a nomination in my opinion, been his best season in years.

Yes , would agree with that . Probably Armagh 's most consistent performer
Post by: screenexile on July 19, 2023, 07:54:12 PM
Clucky has probably been our most consistent performer all year the other lads have been phenomenal at times but poor others McCluskey has played well every game... he'll probably be overlooked again though!
Post by: Brendan on July 19, 2023, 09:50:37 PM
How do you pick 3 full forwards so many outstanding ones this year, but given the usual understanding that all stars only come from the final 4 the likes of Canavan and a few of the Mayo lads who had good years, leaves McGuigan, Costello, Basquel, Callaghan, Clifford, McManus
Post by: marty34 on July 19, 2023, 09:56:15 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 19, 2023, 07:54:12 PM
Clucky has probably been our most consistent performer all year the other lads have been phenomenal at times but poor others McCluskey has played well every game... he'll probably be overlooked again though!

He's too quiet of a lad to come into the reckoning I think.  Doesn't like the limelight (which is a great trait) but could go against him. Such a modest lad and a great footballer.

Rogers should get one. No issues from going from full-back to mid-field. Great talent.

I think it all depends on the final and its outcome obviously.

For Derry, I think Mc Kinless, Rogers and Mc Guigan will be in with a good shout but they may only get 2.

Monaghan - Mc Carthy has a chance and Beggan also.

Would Mc Manus be in with a shout ? Did well in quater-final and semi-final.  But not sure if he did enough.
Post by: ONeill on July 19, 2023, 10:25:34 PM
Fenton surely. His average is better than most. He was pure class v Monaghan in the second half when the Dubs needed it.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 19, 2023, 10:43:26 PM
He played like, 15mins, he's been fairly poor, all year.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 19, 2023, 10:48:32 PM
McGuigan be on it, he's had 1 bad game all year, suprise it was against Clare. Top scorer in the championship.
Post by: ONeill on July 19, 2023, 10:53:24 PM
McGuigan definitely. Rogers deserves one too but I can see a midfielder being named at 10-12 to accommodate the Kerry and Dub lads.
Post by: Armagh18 on July 19, 2023, 11:16:08 PM
Quote from: manwithnoplan on July 19, 2023, 06:20:20 PM
Yeah him and Murnin for us had very good years. McGuigan would have to be nailed on imo.

I'd say that fella Clifford will get one as well, wonder what odds are on him?
Post by: PMG1 on July 20, 2023, 01:29:11 AM
I would think McEvoy would be in with a great shout for young player of the year
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 20, 2023, 07:23:14 AM
Quote from: PMG1 on July 20, 2023, 01:29:11 AM
I would think McEvoy would be in with a great shout for young player of the year

100% deserves it. A class act. Don't think Kerry or Dublin have any young lads to get it? Unless Lee Gannon is that young?
Post by: imtommygunn on July 20, 2023, 09:01:54 AM
The criteria for "young" is pretty broad from memory. I would say Gannon would qualify for it too and he's a good one but McEvoy definitely should be right up there with the best of them.
Post by: statto on July 20, 2023, 09:09:41 AM
Quote from: Brendan on July 19, 2023, 09:50:37 PM
How do you pick 3 full forwards so many outstanding ones this year, but given the usual understanding that all stars only come from the final 4 the likes of Canavan and a few of the Mayo lads who had good years, leaves McGuigan, Costello, Basquel, Callaghan, Clifford, McManus
Clifford the stand out obviously.  McGuigan while quiet in quarter final think should get one.  Con for me still not at the peak of his powers but expect him to have big say in the final him vs Foley should be great battle, Basquel was a non event in semi final will need to have a good final to justify one given how Costello carried Dubs in first half against Monaghan would have him ahead of Basquel at the moment.  McManus was a sub most of the year, unbelievable player but not in the conversation for me.  If he was to get one be more for his services over a prolonged period than his input this year. 
Post by: twohands!!! on July 20, 2023, 11:14:24 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 20, 2023, 09:01:54 AM
The criteria for "young" is pretty broad from memory. I would say Gannon would qualify for it too and he's a good one but McEvoy definitely should be right up there with the best of them.

I think it's still U21. Not 100%

Should be U23 in my opinion as there's been a few years lately where there has only been a very limited pick of eligible players.

Post by: PMG1 on July 20, 2023, 03:51:06 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 20, 2023, 07:23:14 AM

100% deserves it. A class act. Don't think Kerry or Dublin have any young lads to get it? Unless Lee Gannon is that young?
[/quote}
Honestly tho k they should have put him on Clifford rather than McKaigue, reckon he would have done a better job. Going to be a top class player by the look of it
Post by: tbrick18 on July 20, 2023, 03:59:29 PM

100%
He's been unreal this year and nothing has phased him in terms of who he has had to mark.
He gets forward too. Has to be in with a good chance of getting young player award.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 20, 2023, 06:15:24 PM
By the time you finished, young player of the year be near Mid 20's. Lol
Post by: Gael85 on July 20, 2023, 09:20:40 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 20, 2023, 11:14:24 AM

Should be U23 in my opinion as there's been a few years lately where there has only been a very limited pick of eligible players.

Lee is 23
Post by: North Man on July 20, 2023, 09:29:06 PM
The Murdock U20 player also played senior for Down and is apparently highly rated.
He may be nominated but I don't think there is any one around that is up to the standard Mc Evoy has set this year.
Post by: ardtole on July 20, 2023, 09:42:46 PM
Murdock is without doubt a great prospect, but McEvoy has been competing against the cream of the crop. If Derry were to face Kerry next season I wouldn't be suprised if he is given the task of marking Clifford and McKaigue picking up the likes of Geaney.

Even as a Down man I'd have to concede that McEvoy would be well ahead of Murdock is the running for young poty.
Post by: seanyb on July 21, 2023, 08:52:21 AM
Quote from: ardtole on July 20, 2023, 09:42:46 PM
Murdock is without doubt a great prospect, but McEvoy has been competing against the cream of the crop. If Derry were to face Kerry next season I wouldn't be suprised if he is given the task of marking Clifford and McKaigue picking up the likes of Geaney.

Even as a Down man I'd have to concede that McEvoy would be well ahead of Murdock is the running for young poty.

His father a Down man too
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 21, 2023, 09:03:22 AM

Jack Glynn won it last year and he'd have been u22.
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 21, 2023, 09:06:47 AM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 21, 2023, 09:03:22 AM

He certainly didn't hit the heights this year. Looked very average
Post by: gallsman on July 21, 2023, 09:35:31 AM
Quote from: ardtole on July 20, 2023, 09:42:46 PM

Geaney be doing very well to be there next year. He's been on borrowed time for about five years.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 21, 2023, 01:21:01 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 21, 2023, 09:06:47 AM

He certainly didn't hit the heights this year. Looked very average

Missed a lot of the league with injuries and picked up a bad knock to the face when Burns was sent of against Tyrone. Only for having a steel plate from a previous break he'd have broken the jaw again.

Post by: BuzzCagney on July 30, 2023, 02:55:19 AM
Ryan- Kerry
Kelly-Galway
Foley-Kerry
O'Sullivan-Kerry
White-Kerry
McCarthy-Dublin
McCarthy-Monaghan
Barry-Kerry
O'Connor-Kerry
P.Clifford-Kerry
O'Shea-Kerry
Kilkenny-Dublin
McGuigan-Derry
D.Clifford-Kerry
O'Donoghue-Mayo
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 30, 2023, 08:50:37 AM
Quote from: BuzzCagney on July 30, 2023, 02:55:19 AM
Ryan- Kerry
Kelly-Galway
Foley-Kerry
O'Sullivan-Kerry
White-Kerry
McCarthy-Dublin
McCarthy-Monaghan
Barry-Kerry
O'Connor-Kerry
P.Clifford-Kerry
O'Shea-Kerry
Kilkenny-Dublin
McGuigan-Derry
D.Clifford-Kerry
O'Donoghue-Mayo

I'll have whatever you are having buzz!
Post by: tonto1888 on July 30, 2023, 10:19:48 AM
Ryan- Kerry
Kelly-Galway
Foley-Kerry
O'Sullivan-Kerry
White-Kerry
McCarthy-Dublin
McCarthy-Monaghan
Barry-Kerry
O'Connor-Kerry
P.Clifford-Kerry
O'Shea-Kerry
Kilkenny-Dublin
McGuigan-Derry
D.Clifford-Kerry
O'Donoghue-Mayo

I'd be surprised if Kelly gets in
Post by: seafoid on July 30, 2023, 10:43:32 AM

Most Dublin players are much older.they

Post by: RedHand88 on July 30, 2023, 03:03:36 PM
Ryan- Kerry
Kelly-Galway
Foley-Kerry
O'Sullivan-Kerry
White-Kerry
McCarthy-Dublin
McCarthy-Monaghan
Barry-Kerry
O'Connor-Kerry
P.Clifford-Kerry
O'Shea-Kerry
Kilkenny-Dublin
McGuigan-Derry
D.Clifford-Kerry
O'Donoghue-Mayo

Lol what. What if Dublin win?
Post by: mrdeeds on July 30, 2023, 05:56:02 PM
Ryan- Kerry
Kelly-Galway
Foley-Kerry
O'Sullivan-Kerry
White-Kerry
McCarthy-Dublin
McCarthy-Monaghan
Barry-Kerry
O'Connor-Kerry
P.Clifford-Kerry
O'Shea-Kerry
Kilkenny-Dublin
McGuigan-Derry
D.Clifford-Kerry
O'Donoghue-Mayo

No Rodgers???
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 30, 2023, 05:56:32 PM
Some lad gonna have to go back and have another try at it lol.
Post by: thewobbler on July 30, 2023, 06:24:45 PM
If going on the standard principle** that you're only as good as your last game, we are looking at:

Ryan or Cluxton

G O'Sullivan
M Fitzsimmons
Open. Maybe Eoghan McEvoy if Derry don't get anyone further up the field. Maybe Davy Byrne.

G White
Open. Could be Foley, Gannon, James McCarthy **, Conor McCarthy
K O'Connell

B Rogers
B Howard

C Kilkenny
S O'Shea
Open. They might shove Howard in here and give Fenton one. Could be Paudie Clifford. Mad bastards might try to get Conor McManus one.

P Mannion
D Clifford
S McGuigan

** the standard principle is ignored for legendary players who contribute to their side getting to a final, no matter what they do in the final. So James McCarthy is a cert.

——

Looking back through this, it's not really been a season of high calibre individual performances. I'd guess McCarthy or Clifford were the shoo ins for POTY (depending on the match outcome) until 2 hours ago. Now I don't know.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 30, 2023, 06:40:12 PM
I'm going to guess

Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)
Gareth Mckinless (Derry) Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin) Graham O'Sullivan (Kerry)
Gavin White (Kerry) James McCarthy (Dublin) Conor McCarthy (Monaghan)
Diarmuid O'Connor (Kerry) Brian Fenton (Dublin)
Paul Mannion (Dublin) Con O'Callaghan (Dublin) Sean O'Shea (Kerry)
Shane McGuigan (Derry) David Clifford (Kerry) Colm Basquel (Dublin)

Dublin 7
Kerry 5
Derry 2
Monaghan 1

Post by: lenny on July 30, 2023, 06:53:25 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 30, 2023, 06:40:12 PM
I'm going to guess

Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)
Gareth Mckinless (Derry) Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin) Graham O'Sullivan (Kerry)
Gavin White (Kerry) James McCarthy (Dublin) Conor McCarthy (Monaghan)
Diarmuid O'Connor (Kerry) Brian Fenton (Dublin)
Paul Mannion (Dublin) Con O'Callaghan (Dublin) Sean O'Shea (Kerry)
Shane McGuigan (Derry) David Clifford (Kerry) Colm Basquel (Dublin)

Dublin 7
Kerry 5
Derry 2
Monaghan 1

It's a complete joke process if conor mccluskey doesn't get one. Look how quiet paudie clifford was v derry compared to the final today. He's marked every forward out of it he's been up against plus he's contributed to so many of Derrys attacks. For me him and Rogers are 2 shoe ins for Derry. If we get 3 Mcguigan should be chosen.
Post by: mrdeeds on July 30, 2023, 06:59:16 PM
https://twitter.com/sportsdes/status/1685707933353422848?t=JmmTjDuBwphDW-OQF3ALIA&s=19 (https://twitter.com/sportsdes/status/1685707933353422848?t=JmmTjDuBwphDW-OQF3ALIA&s=19)

Not a bad team.
Post by: Derryman forever on July 30, 2023, 07:01:54 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 30, 2023, 06:24:45 PM
If going on the standard principle** that you're only as good as your last game, we are looking at:

Ryan or Cluxton

G O'Sullivan
M Fitzsimmons
Open. Maybe Eoghan McEvoy if Derry don't get anyone further up the field. Maybe Davy Byrne.

G White
Open. Could be Foley, Gannon, James McCarthy **, Conor McCarthy
K O'Connell

B Rogers
B Howard

C Kilkenny
S O'Shea
Open. They might shove Howard in here and give Fenton one. Could be Paudie Clifford. Mad bastards might try to get Conor McManus one.

P Mannion
D Clifford
S McGuigan

** the standard principle is ignored for legendary players who contribute to their side getting to a final, no matter what they do in the final. So James McCarthy is a cert.

——

Looking back through this, it's not really been a season of high calibre individual performances. I'd guess McCarthy or Clifford were the shoo ins for POTY (depending on the match outcome) until 2 hours ago. Now I don't know.

Mc carthy for player of the year?
I could not agree.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on July 30, 2023, 07:02:59 PM
Rogers and McGuigan are absolute certainties.

McCloskey and McKinless also more than decent shouts.

Sort the rest out among less worthy options.

McCarthy and Clifford have both played themselves out of at least POTY.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 30, 2023, 07:13:17 PM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on July 30, 2023, 07:02:59 PM

Who else was in the running? one of them should still win that award.
Post by: Mario on July 30, 2023, 07:33:33 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 30, 2023, 07:13:17 PM

Could Cluxton get it? In the absence of anyone else from the two finalists really putting their hand up.
Post by: marty34 on July 30, 2023, 07:43:04 PM
Quote from: Mario on July 30, 2023, 07:33:33 PM

Could Cluxton get it? In the absence of anyone else from the two finalists really putting their hand up.

Don't see Cluxton getting an All-Star so don't thing he'll get POTY.
Post by: Saffrongael on July 30, 2023, 07:47:02 PM

Clifford poor in QF & Final and still POTY?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 30, 2023, 07:52:11 PM

Neither, I would say, maybe Fenton, who has showed up when the moment demanded it?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 30, 2023, 07:55:09 PM
I have actually Rodgers and, McCarthy at Midfield
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 30, 2023, 07:59:59 PM
Fenton hasn't been great in alot of games this year, McCarthy been the better of the pair. I have, McCloskey in front of  O'Sullivan in the corner. Still think Clifford player of the year. Had Kerry won and him still been as poor the day, he still have got it.
Post by: Mario on July 30, 2023, 08:11:48 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 30, 2023, 07:59:59 PM
Fenton hasn't been great in alot of games this year, McCarthy been the better of the pair. I have, McCloskey in front of  O'Sullivan in the corner. Still think Clifford player of the year. Had Kerry won and him still been as poor the day, he still have got it.
The men McCluskey marked in the semi finals of the past 2 years didn't get a kick(Walsh and Paudie C), both of them went on to have very good finals, shows the level this lad is at. Doesn't have the media profile though so he prob won't get one.
Post by: tbrick18 on July 30, 2023, 08:12:07 PM

Brenda's Rogers has to be in the running.
Shane mcguigan top scorer in the championship too.
Post by: Mario on July 30, 2023, 08:13:23 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on July 30, 2023, 08:12:07 PM

I don't think POTY has ever come from a semi finalist. Never going to happen unfortunately.
Post by: AustinPowers on July 30, 2023, 08:25:30 PM
Quote from: Mario on July 30, 2023, 08:13:23 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on July 30, 2023, 08:12:07 PM

I don't think POTY has ever come from a semi finalist. Never going to happen unfortunately.

Bernard Brogan 2010
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 30, 2023, 08:36:53 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on July 30, 2023, 07:47:02 PM

Even when "poor" David Clifford has the ability to create big moments like the goals as was seen in the Quarter final and All Ireland final.  Yesterday when I checked odds it was a two horse race for POTY between McCarthy and Clifford and I doubt the odds will change much after today's final.

Post by: Derryman forever on July 30, 2023, 08:47:06 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 30, 2023, 08:36:53 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on July 30, 2023, 07:47:02 PM

Even when "poor" David Clifford has the ability to create big moments like the goals as was seen in the Quarter final and All Ireland final.  Yesterday when I checked odds it was a two horse race for POTY between McCarthy and Clifford and I doubt the odds will change much after today's final.

I have no problem with Clifford, but why would mc Carthy be in the running?
Post by: tbrick18 on July 30, 2023, 09:27:19 PM
Ordhan Lynch has to be I  the reckoning for gk all-star.
At least a nomination.

Has been excellent all year.
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on July 30, 2023, 09:29:37 PM
Not a chance he's probably up there as one of the worst on the ball when coming out

Good shot stopper and kickouts not bad but he's well behind others in terms of the modern goalkeeper. He doesn't exactly install confidence when he comes out. Derry fans have their hearts in their mouth
Post by: JoG2 on July 30, 2023, 09:42:26 PM
Quote from: BrotherMore6592 on July 30, 2023, 09:29:37 PM
Not a chance he's probably up there as one of the worst on the ball when coming out

Good shot stopper and kickouts not bad but he's well behind others in terms of the modern goalkeeper. He doesn't exactly install confidence when he comes out. Derry fans have their hearts in their mouth

How many times was Lynch turned over this year considering how often he is on the ball?

Define a modern keeper... Is Cluxton one?

Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 30, 2023, 09:51:15 PM
Lynch done well this year but his slow gaint coming up the field (unlike McCloskey) and all day trying to line up a shot in the semi wasn't great, fell apart on the kickout at the end. I like to see Derry try out a few new players in the league, one of which is a bck up keeper.
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on July 30, 2023, 11:06:54 PM
Better keepers than lynch around that's for sure

He wouldn't even be the in the top 3 goalkeepers in ulster never mind AI
Post by: mrdeeds on July 30, 2023, 11:14:41 PM
Quote from: BrotherMore6592 on July 30, 2023, 11:06:54 PM
Better keepers than lynch around that's for sure

He wouldn't even be the in the top 3 goalkeepers in ulster never mind AI

He's in the top three keepers this year though.
Post by: tbrick18 on July 30, 2023, 11:16:24 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on July 30, 2023, 09:42:26 PM
Quote from: BrotherMore6592 on July 30, 2023, 09:29:37 PM

How many times was Lynch turned over this year considering how often he is on the ball?

Define a modern keeper... Is Cluxton one?

Lynch is excellent in the role he is given.
Rarely turned over.
Yes he got caught out a couple of times in the sf and got blocked, but his distribution is top drawer, he's scored from open play in key moments, and he's a fantastic shot stopper.

Not many better keepers imo. Only 2 who I think are better are the 2 on show today.
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on July 30, 2023, 11:21:10 PM
Morgan
Beggan
Both of the above have been around longer and would be counted as more dependable than lynch,

Debatable - Patton

Rafferty

Ryan and cluxton today

But yes lynch was part of a team that got to the semi final and probably should have reached a final so he is in the spotlight more. Certainly not all star material . At best he'd be 3rd choice behind Cluxton and Ryan
Post by: Blowitupref on July 30, 2023, 11:25:09 PM
James McCarthy the Sunday game panel footballer of the year.
Post by: mrdeeds on July 30, 2023, 11:37:22 PM
Quote from: BrotherMore6592 on July 30, 2023, 11:21:10 PM
Morgan
Beggan
Both of the above have been around longer and would be counted as more dependable than lynch,

Debatable - Patton

Rafferty

Ryan and cluxton today

But yes lynch was part of a team that got to the semi final and probably should have reached a final so he is in the spotlight more. Certainly not all star material . At best he'd be 3rd choice behind Cluxton and Ryan

That's all historically not this year though.
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on July 30, 2023, 11:45:13 PM
Cluxton and Ryan above lynch though ?
Post by: tbrick18 on July 30, 2023, 11:52:52 PM
Quote from: BrotherMore6592 on July 30, 2023, 11:45:13 PM
Cluxton and Ryan above lynch though ?

Possibly but not definitely
Ryan and Lynch play a similar role, I'd argue over the year Lynch has been better but I haven't seen as much of Ryan.
Cluxton plays a different type of game so difficult to compare.
I'd imagine cluxton will get the all-star.
Post by: JoG2 on July 30, 2023, 11:53:57 PM
You're having a mare here , the back tracking is of top level modern goalkeeping though  8)
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 30, 2023, 11:59:55 PM
Ryan got shown up the day when he couldn't take his short option kick out.
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on July 31, 2023, 12:03:10 AM
It's been a long time since 93 boss

There's a mare for ye
Post by: JoG2 on July 31, 2023, 12:04:53 AM
A comeback as good as Cluxton's
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on July 31, 2023, 12:23:21 AM
If I was the Dublin sub keeper I'd leave the panel!! Disgusted playing all year then ousted out for a man who's what 41.

Legend yes but it's short term thinking and not for the future

The man kicked two class scores today and could be a reason they won the AI so what would I know

Just a personal view dessie shouldn't have took him back

He puts on this modesty act but he eats up all the attention and tries too hard not to seem like he cares

The turning around and jogging back to the goal before the ball went over the bar, tell me that isn't rehearsed
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 31, 2023, 12:28:45 AM
This is why you're talking crap on the GAA board and Dessie is winning all Irelands ffs!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 31, 2023, 12:30:52 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 31, 2023, 12:28:45 AM
This is why you're talking crap on the GAA board and Dessie is winning all Irelands ffs!

Can't come back from that, in fairness.  ;)
Post by: Blowitupref on July 31, 2023, 12:41:27 AM
I'd say the return of Pat Gilroy to the Dublin management team played a big part in Cluxton returning to the Dublin panel and he didn't return to sit on the bench.
Post by: marty34 on July 31, 2023, 12:44:06 AM
Cluxton could play for another 2 or 3 years...if he wanted.
Post by: AustinPowers on July 31, 2023, 01:43:08 AM
Quote from: BrotherMore6592 on July 31, 2023, 12:23:21 AM
If I was the Dublin sub keeper I'd leave the panel!! Disgusted playing all year then ousted out for a man who's what 41.

Legend yes but it's short term thinking and not for the future

The man kicked two class scores today and could be a reason they won the AI so what would I know

Just a personal view dessie shouldn't have took him back

He puts on this modesty act but he eats up all the attention and tries too hard not to seem like he cares

The turning around and jogging back to the goal before the ball went over the bar, tell me that isn't rehearsed

You do have a  point there.

This Dublin team  reminds me of Ferguson's  Man Utd team in 2013.  His last season ,  an aging squad, he  squeezed everything out of that squad that he would , knowing he wouldn't be around to build another.  Scholes Giggs Ferdinand Evra  van Persie  etc were all mid to late 30's .  A lot of that team  left or retired  in the next year or so , and  still hasn't  recovered 10 years on.  Ferguson didn't  think long term (why would he?), and United suffered

I have a feeling Farrell  will step down . Mc carthy hinted at retirement too.  A few others might go too.  Will Farrell have the time  or enthusiasm  to  build another  Dublin team capable of  competing for All Ireland s?  I'm not so sure. Perhaps it's  better for him personally to bow out now.  It mightnt get any better than  this. Get  out at the top.  Dublin could "suffer" for a few seasons  whether he stays or goes.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on July 31, 2023, 02:09:17 AM
Just watched the game back there.  Cluxton is one of the main reasons Dublin won that one.  His placed kickouts were a thing of beauty (almost?) always hitting his man to set up an attack.

I did think it was harsh on David O' Hanlon to lose his place after a fine league.  But there's not many players could have pinged those kickouts as accurately as did Cluxton today.

In terms of the bigger picture, and the age profile of the likes of McCarthy, Rock, Cluxton, Fitzy and indeed  Manion, Dublin are going to have to go into rebuild mode next year (or very soon thereafter).  I think this was a case of, if we don't win this one, it might be a while again.  So I can see why Cluxton got the call.
Post by: gallsman on July 31, 2023, 07:04:01 AM
Mannion is 30, having taken time off. If he wants it, he'll be around no bother.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 31, 2023, 09:06:54 AM
Honestly think there is a lot more in Mannion than he showed yesterday despite the 5 points. Still great but he can be better too.

What are the views on O'Callaghan yesterday? I thought he was poor enough. Not sure how many he scored in the end. Him and Costello weren't at it the way they normally would be though credit must go to kerry defense too. I think they mean McGuigan almost a cert for all star.

I don't think Dublin win that game without Cluxton. There is no keeper who is able to make those kickouts look so easy. I think he should get the all star.
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on July 31, 2023, 09:59:23 AM

Right, no other craic captain obvious? Could say same reason you aren't refereeing the AIF any time soon either  :D

I do agree cluxton should get the all star even after my views on him coming back above
Post by: tbrick18 on July 31, 2023, 10:21:28 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 31, 2023, 09:06:54 AM
Honestly think there is a lot more in Mannion than he showed yesterday despite the 5 points. Still great but he can be better too.

What are the views on O'Callaghan yesterday? I thought he was poor enough. Not sure how many he scored in the end. Him and Costello weren't at it the way they normally would be though credit must go to kerry defense too. I think they mean McGuigan almost a cert for all star.

I don't think Dublin win that game without Cluxton. There is no keeper who is able to make those kickouts look so easy. I think he should get the all star.

Cluxton will probably get it. Generally the keeper will come from the finalists unless they have a complete mare of a final.
In terms of nominations though is what I was getting at earlier, Lynch would at least be nominated for an Allstar.

McGuigan and Rogers for me are absolute certs.
Mcluskey should be, but probably won't.
McKinless performances in CP will warrant a nomination at least, in my opinion he's as good as anything on display yesterday - in fact there was no-one offering the same type of attacking runs he had been doing. He probably won't get one though.
Those 4 from Derry I reckon all deserve one, but probably 2 is what we'll get realistically.
Post by: clarshack on July 31, 2023, 10:21:42 AM
There's about 4 Dublin players that could retire but several other key players seem to be around the 29/30 mark so those players could probably squeeze another All-Ireland if they want to.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 31, 2023, 10:40:16 AM
Quote from: BrotherMore6592 on July 31, 2023, 09:59:23 AM

Right, no other craic captain obvious? Could say same reason you aren't refereeing the AIF any time soon either  :D

I do agree cluxton should get the all star even after my views on him coming back above

I don't want to nor have any desire to and never been an intercounty ref, plus being over 50 rules me out thank god!

Other than that, you are spot on!
Post by: lenny on July 31, 2023, 11:20:22 AM
1. Beggan
2. McCluskey.  3. Fitzsimmons. 4. T O'Sullivan
5. O'Connell 6. J McCarthy. 7. White
    8. Fenton.  9. Rogers
10. P Clifford.  11. Basquel.  12. Smith
13. Clifford.  14. McGuigan. 15. Costello
Post by: tbrick18 on July 31, 2023, 11:27:48 AM
Quote from: lenny on July 31, 2023, 11:20:22 AM
1. Beggan
    8. Fenton.  9. Rogers

Can't see Beggan getting in over Cluxton/Ryan/Lynch tbh.
As much as I'd like to see mcluskey in, 3 for an Semi-finalist probably won't happen.
I could see McManus getting one.
But I'd say you're not too far away in general there.
Post by: marty34 on July 31, 2023, 11:29:12 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on July 31, 2023, 11:27:48 AM
1. Beggan
    8. Fenton.  9. Rogers

As much as I'd like to see mcluskey in, 3 for an Semi-finalist probably won't happen.

Mc Carthy of Monaghan will get one.
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 31, 2023, 11:30:15 AM
1. Beggan
    8. Fenton.  9. Rogers

Smith?? ffs Lenny!
Post by: lenny on July 31, 2023, 12:11:31 PM
Quote from: marty34 on July 31, 2023, 11:29:12 AM
1. Beggan
    8. Fenton.  9. Rogers

Very possibly, I think it'll be between him and O'Connell. If there's one from outside the semifinalists it'll be between Enda Smith and D Canavan both of whom had great seasons.
Post by: yellowcard on July 31, 2023, 12:17:22 PM
Quote from: lenny on July 31, 2023, 12:11:31 PM
1. Beggan
    8. Fenton.  9. Rogers

Very possibly, I think it'll be between him and O'Connell. If there's one from outside the semifinalists it'll be between Enda Smith and D Canavan both of whom had great seasons.

Andy Murnin was the best player outside of the 4 semi finalists. Smith had a great season as well and it would be hard to begrudge him an award though I don't think he'll get it.
Post by: Mario on July 31, 2023, 12:21:05 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 31, 2023, 12:17:22 PM
1. Beggan
    8. Fenton.  9. Rogers

Andy Murnin was the best player outside of the 4 semi finalists. Smith had a great season as well and it would be hard to begrudge him an award though I don't think he'll get it.
Murnin had a poor Ulster final
Post by: yellowcard on July 31, 2023, 12:35:22 PM
Quote from: Mario on July 31, 2023, 12:21:05 PM
1. Beggan
    8. Fenton.  9. Rogers

You picked out his worst game of the season but that was a cagey arm wrestle of a match and even Clifford would have struggled with the lack of supply that game. Otherwise he was excellent all season, Canavan didn't play near the level of Murnin over the course of the season.
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 31, 2023, 12:40:52 PM
1. Beggan
    8. Fenton.  9. Rogers

A 19 year old rookie easily dealt with Murnin.
Post by: mackers on July 31, 2023, 12:53:05 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 31, 2023, 12:40:52 PM
1. Beggan
    8. Fenton.  9. Rogers

Murnin had a great year (whether that is enough to get an All-Star given how the system works is debatable) Trying to deny that is simply madness. One arm wrestle of a match does not ruin a whole season for him.
Post by: Mario on July 31, 2023, 12:57:24 PM
Quote from: mackers on July 31, 2023, 12:53:05 PM
1. Beggan
2. McCluskey.  3. Fitzsimmons. 4. T O’Sullivan
5. O’Connell 6. J McCarthy. 7. White
    8. Fenton.  9. Rogers

Very possibly, I think it’ll be between him and O’Connell. If there’s one from outside the semifinalists it’ll be between Enda Smith and D Canavan both of whom had great seasons.

Andy Murnin was the best player outside of the 4 semi finalists. Smith had a great season as well and it would be hard to begrudge him an award though I don’t think he’ll get it.

Murnin had a great year (whether that is enough to get an All-Star given how the system works is debatable) Trying to deny that is simply madness. One arm wrestle of a match does not ruin a whole season for him.
It was the one on one duals he lost with McEvoy that stood out for me, in Murnin's biggest game of the year. Hard to get an all star after that. I agree he had a good season otherwise, but who of the following does he get in the all star ff line ahead of: Clifford, McGuigan, Costello, Mannion, Basquel, Con, McManus?
Post by: yellowcard on July 31, 2023, 01:10:49 PM
Quote from: Mario on July 31, 2023, 12:57:24 PM
1. Beggan
    8. Fenton.  9. Rogers

It was the one on one duals he lost with McEvoy that stood out for me, in Murnin's biggest game of the year. Hard to get an all star after that. I agree he had a good season otherwise, but who of the following does he get in the all star ff line ahead of: Clifford, McGuigan, Costello, Mannion, Basquel, Con, McManus?

That's not my recollection of it anyway. McEvoy played well and produced one great block on Murnin but the supply line was non existent and Murnin spent most of the game drifting out towards midfield.

McManus shouldn't even get nominated never mind get an All Star, thats just a sentimental vote. He was on the bench for much of the season.
Post by: mackers on July 31, 2023, 01:12:22 PM
1. Beggan
    8. Fenton.  9. Rogers

I don't remember him losing out on any one-on-one duels against ANYONE all year. The All-Star system would have got him in ahead of some of those players you list if Armagh had have made an AI semi.  Not many of those players you list had to come the field and be a ball-winning option the way Murnin was used this year. A colossus.
Post by: statto on July 31, 2023, 01:20:28 PM
1. Beggan
    8. Fenton.  9. Rogers
Will White's massive mistake in final rule him out?
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 31, 2023, 01:31:09 PM
Quote from: mackers on July 31, 2023, 01:12:22 PM
1. Beggan
    8. Fenton.  9. Rogers

I don't remember him losing out on any one-on-one duels against ANYONE all year. The All-Star system would have got him in ahead of some of those players you list if Armagh had have made an AI semi.  Not many of those players you list had to come the field and be a ball-winning option the way Murnin was used this year. A colossus.

Christ you boys over hype him something serious!
Post by: AustinPowers on July 31, 2023, 01:33:21 PM
All star selections are very  strange because if Team X won the All Ireland, they usually    get about 8 all stars .  Team Y loses the final and usually get  3 or 4. Yet,  if a kick of a ball  decided the AI , team Y would get 8, team X would get 3 or 4 . Very weird that  a kick of a ball decides  that many awards

Usually semi finalists will share 2 or 3.  With Quarters finalists getting token  nominations to keep their fans  happy.
Post by: restorepride on July 31, 2023, 01:41:48 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 31, 2023, 01:31:09 PM
1. Beggan
    8. Fenton.  9. Rogers

Totally - nowhere near an All Star.  Some of his kamakazi leaps seem to lack judgement and co-ordination.  Lucky not to injury himself badly a few times this year.  Bravery no doubt but needs to be more controlled.
Post by: mackers on July 31, 2023, 02:45:37 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 31, 2023, 01:31:09 PM
1. Beggan
    8. Fenton.  9. Rogers

It's a game of opinions and you Derry boys aren't shy about giving yours.  Not just Armagh people that were giving him rave reviews all year but whatever you're having yourself........
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 31, 2023, 03:13:53 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 31, 2023, 12:35:22 PM
Quote from: Mario on July 31, 2023, 12:21:05 PM
1. Beggan
    8. Fenton.  9. Rogers

You picked out his worst game of the season but that was a cagey arm wrestle of a match and even Clifford would have struggled with the lack of supply that game. Otherwise he was excellent all season, Canavan didn't play near the level of Murnin over the course of the season.
There was nothing between Canavan and Murnin this year. I'd actually have slightly sided with Canavan tbh (might be the Tyrone glasses but that's my opinion). But either way, neither is going to be within an ass's roar of an all star.
Post by: NotedObserver on July 31, 2023, 03:39:26 PM
Canavan right up there in scores from play in the championship. Both won't get allstars and rightly so
Post by: marty34 on July 31, 2023, 03:47:21 PM
 I think no one outside of the semi-finals and final should get one.

Unless they link it in to the league.
Post by: square_ball on July 31, 2023, 04:10:33 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on July 31, 2023, 01:33:21 PM
All star selections are very  strange because if Team X won the All Ireland, they usually    get about 8 all stars .  Team Y loses the final and usually get  3 or 4. Yet,  if a kick of a ball  decided the AI , team Y would get 8, team X would get 3 or 4 . Very weird that  a kick of a ball decides  that many awards

Usually semi finalists will share 2 or 3.  With Quarters finalists getting token  nominations to keep their fans  happy.

Yeah if Gough had allowed Kerry one more attack, kicked in a Hail Mary and there was a flick on it to the back of the net the whole narrative of who gets what changes.

Not connected to the All Stars but similar. I had to laugh at Steven Poacher on Twitter saying it was a tactical masterclass from Dublin and they won comfortably. Again if Kerry had have got a last minute goal to win the whole narrative changes again. These coaches on Twitter love to make out that they see something us mere mortals just don't understand.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 31, 2023, 04:12:15 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on July 31, 2023, 01:33:21 PM

How journalists select them nowadays. I'd expect around 11 given to the finalists and the rest to the All Ireland semi-final losers.

In the past was more focus on individual performances and how players did in the league and their provincial championship was considered in the overall selection
Post by: yellowcard on July 31, 2023, 04:13:58 PM
Quote from: marty34 on July 31, 2023, 03:47:21 PM

Unless they link it in to the league.

Given the amount of games in the GAA season we should be moving away from this train of thought. Give it to the players who performed consistently well throughout the season regardless of how their county fared. All Stars are a bit of a nonsense anyway with the lack of positioning now prevalent in gaelic football. A player like Conor McCarthy for instance would not have been considered All Star level if he had kept playing  him in his natural forward position. But because he was re-positioned to half back and ghosted in for a lot of scores he is now considered to be an All Star defender. 
Post by: samuel maguire on July 31, 2023, 04:14:18 PM
Rian O'Neill defiently won't be considered now going by the video currently circulating on social media of him at the weekend...
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 31, 2023, 04:25:03 PM
Quote from: samuel maguire on July 31, 2023, 04:14:18 PM
Rian O'Neill defiently won't be considered now going by the video currently circulating on social media of him at the weekend...

Fire it up sur!
Post by: Rossfan on July 31, 2023, 04:29:13 PM
Quote from: marty34 on July 31, 2023, 03:47:21 PM

They seldom do anyway.
Post by: square_ball on July 31, 2023, 04:57:25 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on July 31, 2023, 04:32:35 PM
Quote from: samuel maguire on July 31, 2023, 04:14:18 PM
Nah, he's not that type of player and indeed it is he who is targeted.

The guards need to be doing more to protect that type of player. Or at least that's what they'll be saying on the GAA social this week anyway.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 31, 2023, 05:05:29 PM
Maybe he and his buddy got twins in the same clothes running round Dublin lol. I have Canavan and, Enda Dolan over Murnin but none will get a all star. Instead of team of the year it should be called team of the last. 8.
Post by: inroundthesquare on July 31, 2023, 07:40:40 PM
SFC Top Scorers From Play

1. Colm Basquel 5-17 - 9 games - avg 3.56 (2nd)
2. David Clifford 3-21 - 8 games - avg 3.75 (1st)
3. Con O'Callaghan 2-23 - 9 games - avg 3.22
4. Shane McGuigan 1-22 - 8 games - avg 3.13
5. Sean O'Shea 2-16 - 8 games - avg 2.75
6. Darragh Canavan 1-17 - 6 games - avg 3.33 (3rd)
7. Paul Mannion 1-16 - 9 games - avg 2.11
8. Paul Cassidy 1-15 - 8 games - avg 2.25
9. Conor McCarthy 2-11 - 8 games - avg 2.12
10. Keelan Sexton 1-13 - 6 games - avg 2.67
10. Matthew Tierney 2-10 - 6 games - avg 2.67
10. Paudie Clifford 2-10 - 8 games - avg 2.00
Post by: Mario on July 31, 2023, 08:33:40 PM
Need to see those stats from beginning of group stages. Leinster and munster was a turkey shoot
Post by: inroundthesquare on July 31, 2023, 10:01:17 PM
Quote from: Mario on July 31, 2023, 08:33:40 PM
Need to see those stats from beginning of group stages. Leinster and munster was a turkey shoot

Just for the players listed... (since start of Group Stages)

1. David Clifford 1-19 - 6 games
2. Colm Basquel 3-10 - 6 games
2. Con O'Callaghan 1-16 - 6 games
2. Sean O'Shea 2-13 - 6 games
5. Conor McCarthy 2-09 - 6 games
6. Darragh Canavan 0-13 - 5 games
7. Paudie Clifford 1-09 - 6 games
8. Paul Mannion 0-11 - 6 games
8. Paul Cassidy 0-11 - 5 games
10. Shane McGuigan 0-10 - 5 games

Matthew Tierney 0-04 - 4 games
Keelan Sexton 0-03 - 3 games

Post by: Mario on July 31, 2023, 10:14:28 PM
Quote from: inroundthesquare on July 31, 2023, 10:01:17 PM

Surprised at that result. I suppose Dublin hammered Sligo and Kerry hammered Louth. I think McGuigan has more than 10.
Post by: restorepride on August 02, 2023, 11:43:32 PM
Quote from: Mario on July 31, 2023, 10:14:28 PM

Surprised at that result. I suppose Dublin hammered Sligo and Kerry hammered Louth. I think McGuigan has more than 10.
10 is correct for Shane, from play.
Post by: marty34 on August 02, 2023, 11:56:11 PM
Quote from: restorepride on August 02, 2023, 11:43:32 PM

Like good forwards, he creates space for the other players as he could be double teamed at times.

It's a team game now and players and management know that. All about getting the ball to the player in the best position.
Post by: restorepride on August 03, 2023, 12:01:57 AM
Quote from: marty34 on August 02, 2023, 11:56:11 PM
Quote from: restorepride on August 02, 2023, 11:43:32 PM

Like good forwards, he creates space for the other players as he could be double teamed at times.

It's a team game now and players and management know that. All about getting the ball to the player in the best position.
Absolutely.  Shane also scored 1-11 from play in the Ulster Championship alone and his display in the final was outstanding.
Post by: Mario on August 03, 2023, 08:20:52 AM
Are marks from play in that list
Post by: JoG2 on August 03, 2023, 08:42:47 AM
Quote from: Mario on August 03, 2023, 08:20:52 AM
Are marks from play in that list

They're not Mario
Post by: restorepride on August 03, 2023, 11:05:26 PM
What are 'marks from play'?  I thought a mark wasn't from play.
Post by: rrhf on August 04, 2023, 10:07:23 AM
I would suggest a mark from play for the most part in practice is simpler won than a free kick. Normally a 20 yard punt kick into the zone. Less crafty and aesthetic than winning your own free and converting it...unfortunately in the eyes of rule makers it is saving the high catch.
Post by: marty34 on August 04, 2023, 10:30:42 AM
Quote from: rrhf on August 04, 2023, 10:07:23 AM
I would suggest a mark from play for the most part in practice is simpler won than a free kick. Normally a 20 yard punt kick into the zone. Less crafty and aesthetic than winning your own free and converting it...unfortunately in the eyes of rule makers it is saving the high catch.
Will they do away with the forward mark for next year?  Is there anybody that likes it?  Probably a good idea at the time but not practical.

Mid-field/kick out mark a great addition.
Post by: Rossfan on August 04, 2023, 10:41:53 AM
It is.
Hopefully it won't get thrown out along with the forward one.
Post by: tbrick18 on August 04, 2023, 10:57:53 AM
Quote from: marty34 on August 04, 2023, 10:30:42 AM
Quote from: rrhf on August 04, 2023, 10:07:23 AM
Will they do away with the forward mark for next year?  Is there anybody that likes it?  Probably a good idea at the time but not practical.

Mid-field/kick out mark a great addition.

I really hope they get rid of the forward mark.
MF mark is good, rewards the long kick/high fielding skills and keeps the "purists" happy(ish).
Post by: imtommygunn on August 04, 2023, 11:05:40 AM
I didn't think ,based on the sounds of what Burns was saying in that GAA Social podcast, it sounded like the forward mark was going anywhere.
Post by: JoG2 on August 04, 2023, 11:14:43 AM
There was a poll in here a while back re the advanced Mark, 91% against it. Surely the powers that be have to see sense...??
Post by: Rossfan on August 04, 2023, 11:35:03 AM
With all due respect to us here....I doubt if the GAA will pass too much heed.

Post by: square_ball on August 04, 2023, 12:04:11 PM
If the mark has to stay I wouldn't mind if it was inside the 21m line only. These marks around the D for a simple kick and catch that an u10 could do shouldn't be rewarded with a tap over free.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 04, 2023, 12:19:46 PM
You could see a few in the semi finals I think it was where they were consciously trying to kick for a mark out the wing where there was space as it was an easy point. IIRC Monaghan were at it a bit. I think they use the mark quite a lot.
Post by: Blowitupref on August 04, 2023, 04:09:00 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 04, 2023, 11:35:03 AM
With all due respect to us here....I doubt if the GAA will pass too much heed.

Those in HQ aren't paying enough heed of matches if don't scrap the advanced mark this winter.
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on August 15, 2023, 01:11:53 AM
Paddy andrews shouting on OTB last week about cluxton for player of the year. Please give over
Post by: inroundthesquare on August 18, 2023, 08:18:20 PM
Quote from: BrotherMore6592 on August 15, 2023, 01:11:53 AM
Paddy andrews shouting on OTB last week about cluxton for player of the year. Please give over

Brian Fenton is the Player of the Year.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 18, 2023, 10:53:12 PM
Must seen the man above playing in earlier games, wasn't that hot
Post by: inroundthesquare on August 19, 2023, 02:58:54 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 18, 2023, 10:53:12 PM
Must seen the man above playing in earlier games, wasn't that hot

Clifford wasn't hot in quarter or final either
Post by: rrhf on August 20, 2023, 09:17:01 AM
Clifford was very well marked by Paudie Hampsey in the quarter final and to a lesser extent by Fitzy in the final. I don't think that's poy form to be honest..then again Brian dooher had better games and year in 2003 and they gave it to Stevie Mc Donnelll for scoring 4 goals against Longford...
Post by: tbrick18 on August 22, 2023, 02:14:04 PM
Brendan Rogers has to be in the mix for player of the year.
Stood out in every game and was arguably motm against Kerry in the SF.

In all likelihood, player of the year will go to a Dublin player or Clifford.
Post by: Mario on August 22, 2023, 06:43:43 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on August 22, 2023, 02:14:04 PM
Brendan Rogers has to be in the mix for player of the year.
Stood out in every game and was arguably motm against Kerry in the SF.

In all likelihood, player of the year will go to a Dublin player or Clifford.
From a Derry pov I think McGuigan was even better than Rogers this year. Obviously Rogers was better in semi though
Post by: rrhf on August 22, 2023, 09:44:07 PM
Mc Guigan was very good and a good shot for an all star but he had a poor day out  v Cork, but Rogers is the heartbeat of this Derry side and has been the reason why Derry are back winning Ulster titles after being a laughing stock for so long...a tremendous footballer...
Post by: Mario on August 22, 2023, 10:48:01 PM
Quote from: rrhf on August 22, 2023, 09:44:07 PM
Mc Guigan was very good and a good shot for an all star but he had a poor day out  v Cork, but Rogers is the heartbeat of this Derry side and has been the reason why Derry are back winning Ulster titles after being a laughing stock for so long...a tremendous footballer...
He's guaranteed an all star. It was a windy day in Croke park that day and his shooting was off otherwise I thought he had a good game. Clifford had the same problem that weekend and he'll get poty probably.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 22, 2023, 11:51:44 PM
He get a all star but as said above he was very poor against Cork.
Post by: tbrick18 on August 23, 2023, 01:46:32 PM
Quote from: rrhf on August 22, 2023, 09:44:07 PM

I agree in part....Rogers for me is the most important player on the team. But I certainly wouldnt go so far as saying he is the reason.
We've got a real spread of top players now, Glass, McLoskey, , McEvoy, Doherty(s), Cassidy, Lynch and McGuigan...plus RG as manager pulled it all together. It's the sum of the parts for me that is the reason we are competing again.
Post by: Blowitupref on September 28, 2023, 05:02:22 PM
This year's Football All-Star nominations are due to be released tomorrow morning
Post by: Rossfan on September 28, 2023, 05:25:56 PM
I know we won't get any actual All Stars but woukd be nice to see Enda and Brian Stack at least get nominations.
Fin kutcome Dublin 7
Kerry 4
Derry 2
Monaghan 1
And 1 for either Mayowestros winning the League or Galway for winning Connacht, that is if the Selectors can remember that far back!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 28, 2023, 07:33:13 PM
G how u give Dublin 7 they been poor enough through most of the championship, outside i
Of the semi /Final.
Post by: Rossfan on September 28, 2023, 08:03:22 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 28, 2023, 07:33:13 PMG how u give Dublin 7 they been poor enough through most of the championship, outsude i
Of the semi /Final.
Because
1 Dublin won the Final
2 they're picked based on the Semis and Final

For the record I have no hand, act or part in picking them  ;D
Post by: onefineday on September 29, 2023, 12:42:28 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 28, 2023, 05:25:56 PMI know we won't get any actual All Stars but woukd be nice to see Enda and Brian Stack at least get nominations.
Fin kutcome Dublin 7
Kerry 4
Derry 2
Monaghan 1
And 1 for either Mayowestros winning the League or Galway for winning Connacht, that is if the Selectors can remember that far back!
6 Dubs - Cluxton, Fitzsimmons, McCarthy (HB), Gannon, Basquel/Con/Costello
4 Kerry - Clifford, clifford, O'Sullivan, O'Connor
3 derry - McCloskey, Rodgers, McGuigan
1 Monaghan - McCarthy
1 other - Comer??
Post by: Brendan on September 29, 2023, 07:22:47 AM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2023/0928/1407961-fenton-among-ten-dubs-nominated-for-all-stars/?fbclid=IwAR1QoCY5gU_zn-D3d8DDwj-veuui_bg3jbYZl3QQy9G1IECWyiq1pLg5elE
Post by: Estimator on September 29, 2023, 09:23:35 AM
McCarthy, Fenton and Rogers all nominated at midfield.. can they move players around after they've been nominated for a certain position? Thought they would've just had McCarthy as a defensive pick.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 29, 2023, 09:35:30 AM
I don't think they can no. I think they just nominate you where they want you to get an all star. If Rogers up for POTY surely he gets midfield and if he does you'd assume McCarthy.

Not sure Costello did enough in the final to get one though he was very good the rest of the year but he was very poor in final.
Post by: Estimator on September 29, 2023, 09:45:21 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 29, 2023, 09:35:30 AMI don't think they can no. I think they just nominate you where they want you to get an all star. If Rogers up for POTY surely he gets midfield and if he does you'd assume McCarthy.

So with Fenton and Rogers up for PoTY, you'd think that McCarthy loses out?

It would be bizarre for a PoTY nominee not to receive an All Star and by the same token, would be strange if either Fenton or Rogers won PoTY but didn't get an All Star.
Open to correction, but I don't think any of the above has happened before.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 29, 2023, 10:07:35 AM
I can't name you who as I can't remember but I have a funny feeling a POTY nominee didn't get an all star before.

I would have thought McCarthy was nailed on for an all star and would have been nominated in the backs. Honestly would be surprised were he not to get one despite the nominations for POTY.Hard to predict tbh.

Post by: square_ball on September 29, 2023, 10:35:31 AM
Did Brian Whelahan get player of the year but no allstar in 1994?
Post by: imtommygunn on September 29, 2023, 10:41:28 AM
That's the one - well remembered.

whelehan (https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/whelahan-all-star-omission-when-player-of-year-still-haunts-selection-discussions-1.1971773)

Post by: seafoid on September 29, 2023, 11:38:35 AM
13/16 counties got a nomination .
The season was strange. Dubs only really performed in last 10 mins of semi and final. Kerry could have won. Derry and Monaghan were very impressive. Maybe 9/10 for the finalists, 2 each for Derry and Monaghan. Ros deserve the non semifinalist sympathy f**k Allstar for recognition of progress made.  I would put them ahead of Galway who would deserve an injury all star but nothing else.

FOOTBALL ALL-STAR NOMINATIONS

Goalkeepers – Shane Ryan (Kerry), Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), Rory Beggan (Monaghan)

Defenders – Jason Foley, Tadhg Morley, Tom O'Sullivan, Gavin White (all Kerry); Michael Fitzsimons, Lee Gannon, Brian Howard (all Dublin); Gareth McKinless, Conor McCluskey, Eoin McEvoy (all Derry); Pádraig Hampsey (Tyrone); Brendan McCole (Donegal); Conor McCarthy, Karl O'Connell (both Monaghan); Seán Kelly (Galway); Aidan Forker (Armagh); Brian Stack (Roscommon); Rory Maguire (Cork).

Midfielders – Brian Fenton, James McCarthy (both Dublin); Conor Glass, Brendan Rogers (both Derry); Diarmuid O'Connor (Kerry); Diarmuid O'Connor (Mayo).

Forwards – David Clifford, Seán O'Shea, Paudie Clifford (all Kerry); Cormac Costello, Con O'Callaghan, Colm Basquel, Paul Mannion (all Dublin); Shane McGuigan, Paul Cassidy (both Derry); Conor McManus (Monaghan); Darragh Canavan (Tyrone); Andrew Murnin (Armagh); Ronan O'Toole (Westmeath); Damien Comer (Galway); Jordan Flynn (Mayo); Ben McCormack (Kildare); Oisín Gallen (Donegal); Enda Smith (Roscommon).

Player Of The Year – Brian Fenton (Dublin), David Clifford (Kerry), Brendan Rogers (Derry).
Post by: tbrick18 on September 29, 2023, 11:54:53 AM
For me, Brendan Rogers was the best footballer in Ireland this year.
Deserves an Allstar and deserves POTY, imo.

My pick for Allstars in bold:

FOOTBALL ALL-STAR NOMINATIONS

Goalkeepers – Shane Ryan (Kerry), Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), Rory Beggan (Monaghan)

Defenders – Jason Foley, Tadhg Morley, Tom O'Sullivan, Gavin White (all Kerry); Michael Fitzsimons, Lee Gannon, Brian Howard (all Dublin); Gareth McKinless, Conor McCluskey, Eoin McEvoy (all Derry); Pádraig Hampsey (Tyrone); Brendan McCole (Donegal); Conor McCarthy, Karl O'Connell (both Monaghan); Seán Kelly (Galway); Aidan Forker (Armagh); Brian Stack (Roscommon); Rory Maguire (Cork).

Midfielders – Brian Fenton, James McCarthy (both Dublin); Conor Glass, Brendan Rogers (both Derry); Diarmuid O'Connor (Kerry); Diarmuid O'Connor (Mayo).

Forwards – David Clifford, Seán O'Shea, Paudie Clifford (all Kerry); Cormac Costello, Con O'Callaghan, Colm Basquel, Paul Mannion (all Dublin); Shane McGuigan, Paul Cassidy (both Derry); Conor McManus (Monaghan); Darragh Canavan (Tyrone); Andrew Murnin (Armagh); Ronan O'Toole (Westmeath); Damien Comer (Galway); Jordan Flynn (Mayo); Ben McCormack (Kildare); Oisín Gallen (Donegal); Enda Smith (Roscommon).

Player Of The Year – Brian Fenton (Dublin), David Clifford (Kerry), Brendan Rogers (Derry).

POTY - Brendan Rogers
YPOTY - Eoin McEvoy

Kerry - 4
Derry - 4
Dublin - 6

Ok, maybe a slight Derry bias there and I'd imagine Derry wont get 4. Just my opinion on what it should look like, not what it will actually be.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 29, 2023, 12:02:43 PM
I am not convinced Derry will get 1 never mind 2 defenders. Not due to them not being deserving or anything but more because unfortunately I don't think that's how it works.

McCloskey should get one I think but his quieter profile maybe means he won't. Be surprised if McKinless gets one.
Post by: screenexile on September 29, 2023, 12:16:35 PM
Brolly reckons Shane McGuigan will get an Allstar yet reckoned he wouldn't get on the Dublin team?! Not sure how that makes sense!
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on September 29, 2023, 12:21:19 PM
McCluskey
Rogers
Mcguigan for Derry

Couldn't give 2 yites bout the rest 😮
Post by: AustinPowers on September 29, 2023, 03:22:58 PM
Fenton was  anonymous for large periods in games this  year.  Baffling how he's up for POTY
Post by: seafoid on September 29, 2023, 03:47:14 PM
The average for non finalists from 2010 to 22 is 4.58
The highest was 7 in 2010 (Cork and Down got 8) and 6 in 2018 (Tyrone and Dublin got 9)

The Dubs got 55 all stars from 2011 to 2020.  Maybe the committee will take this into account and give the hoors less than the winners usually get
Post by: Blowitupref on September 29, 2023, 04:45:06 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on September 29, 2023, 03:22:58 PMFenton was  anonymous for large periods in games this  year.  Baffling how he's up for POTY

Don't think he was in the mix for All Star until the semi finals but performing well in the semi and final he was never going to be left out.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 29, 2023, 09:55:08 PM
Can't even understand the big talk about Mccarthy, played very few games,poor enough final, should seen the line, we basing his all star on his performance against Monaghan,Mayo. McKinless been the best No. 6 this year but they probably fit a Kerry/ Dublin lad there. Fballer of the year, still think it be Clifford, Young fballer harder to call, Doherty was good in all games but quite 2nd half of the semi, where as McAvoy canes out on top against all this year so I say it be him.
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 30, 2023, 12:18:57 AM
My guess on the 15 to be selected.

Dublin 7 Stephen Cluxton,Lee Gannon,Brian Howard, James McCarthy Brian Fenton;Con O'Callaghan,Colm Basquel
Kerry 4  Paudie Clifford,Sean O'Shea,David Clifford,Tom O'Sullivan
Derry 3 Conor McCluskey,Brendan Rogers,Shane McGuigan
Monaghan 1 Conor McCarthy
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 30, 2023, 02:19:03 AM
Karl O'Connell one of the best half back this year, we giving J Mccarthy the sympathy vote to fit him in?
Post by: Armagh18 on September 30, 2023, 03:30:57 AM
Nice to see Aidan and Andy nominated for ourselves, Forker especially was inspirational in that Monaghan game.

Wouldn't read too much into them altogether, unpopular opinion maybe but don't think Clifford should have got poty nomination, too many off days this year (by his standards)
Post by: square_ball on September 30, 2023, 07:08:28 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 30, 2023, 02:19:03 AMKarl O'Connell one of the best half back this year, we giving J Mccarthy the sympathy vote to fit him in?

It will make a complete mockery of things if having been nominated at midfield, they then put McCarthy in at half back to squeeze him into the team.
Post by: seafoid on September 30, 2023, 02:46:33 PM
Quote from: inroundthesquare on August 19, 2023, 02:58:54 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 18, 2023, 10:53:12 PMMust seen the man above playing in earlier games, wasn't that hot

What were you expecting from him?

Clifford has been playing non stop  since the start of the 2022 Munster championship. He won the all Ireland then played club and won Munster and all Ireland with Fossa before playing in the league and then starting the championship and winning Munster then going to though the round robin and 2 matches before losing the final and now he is playing with Fossa, possibly in another round robin.
https://youtu.be/tzOROYliYVM?si=Q3SUeInRmVM-QnwL

He can't achieve his potential with that sort of match load. Fossa need him and so do Kerry.
All of the players who are both club and county stalwarts are at risk of burnout with round robins at club and county level and no break . Injuries this year are just a foretaste of what is coming.

We need a new charity called the ISPCCCF - the Irish society for the prevention of cruelty to club and county forwards

Oscar Wilde once wrote :- "There are two kinds of tragedy. One is not getting what you want. The other is getting it."
Post by: thewobbler on September 30, 2023, 03:06:26 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 30, 2023, 02:46:33 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 18, 2023, 10:53:12 PMMust seen the man above playing in earlier games, wasn't that hot

Clifford has been playing non stop  since the start of the 2022 Munster championship. He won the all Ireland then played club and won Munster and all Ireland with Fossa before playing in the league and then starting the championship and winning Munster then going to though the round robin and 2 matches before losing the final and now he is playing with Fossa, possibly in another round robin.

He can't achieve his potential with that sort of match load. Fossa need him and so do Kerry.
All of the players who are both club and county stalwarts are at risk of burnout with round robins at club and county level and no break . Injuries this year are just a foretaste of what is coming.

We need a new charity called the ISPCCCF - the Irish society for the prevention of cruelty to club and county forwards

Oscar Wilde once wrote :- "There are two kinds of tragedy. One is not getting what you want. The other is getting it."

Are you really suggesting that a match pretty every other week is too much for a footballer?
Post by: seafoid on September 30, 2023, 07:48:28 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 30, 2023, 03:06:26 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 30, 2023, 02:46:33 PM

Are you really suggesting that a match pretty every other week is too much for a footballer?
Are they professional? The RWC Round robin and finals are run off in around the same time frame as the Round robin and endgame of Gaelic Football. Rugby players are professional.

There are too many matches in too little time. and then the clubs run round robins. and people moan about Clifford not performing in Croke Park. FFS.   The short season is going to break something.
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 30, 2023, 11:38:10 PM
Quote from: square_ball on September 30, 2023, 07:08:28 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 30, 2023, 02:19:03 AMKarl O'Connell one of the best half back this year, we giving J Mccarthy the sympathy vote to fit him in?

It will make a complete mockery of things if having been nominated at midfield, they then put McCarthy in at half back to squeeze him into the team.
To be fair a number of All Stars have been selected that way for a few years now.
Post by: tbrick18 on October 02, 2023, 10:20:44 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 30, 2023, 11:38:10 PM

To be fair a number of All Stars have been selected that way for a few years now.

Also most players don't play a dedicated position nowadays. Apart from designated man-markers or marquee forwards, anyone can be anywhere.
Post by: square_ball on October 02, 2023, 10:51:37 AM

Yeah the Colm Cavanagh full back one in 2018 was the worst they have ever done in that regard.
Post by: Captain Obvious on October 02, 2023, 03:44:27 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on October 02, 2023, 10:20:44 AM

Also most players don't play a dedicated position nowadays. Apart from designated man-markers or marquee forwards, anyone can be anywhere.
Correct those days are long gone, only poorly organised teams will leave opposition forwards with loads of room and time on the ball to cause damage. Both midfielders and wing half forwards are expected to put in a serious shift defensive as well as set up a lot of the attacking play.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on October 02, 2023, 10:19:57 PM
I still think certain position on the field are still specialist position, Full back been the most obvious one.
Post by: seafoid on October 07, 2023, 02:54:08 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on October 02, 2023, 10:19:57 PMI still think certain position on the field are still specialist position, Full back been the most obvious one.
Sean Kelly
Post by: Blowitupref on November 17, 2023, 07:52:55 PM
The All-Stars tonight held in the RDS a venue that also held two Eurovision Song Contests.  1981 won Bucks Fizz with the song Making Your Mind Up and 1988 Switzerland the winner with a singer called Celine Dion.
Post by: Blowitupref on November 17, 2023, 08:11:25 PM
The football All-Star winners so far.

Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)
Conor McCluskey (Derry) Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin) Tom O'Sullivan (Kerry)
James McCarthy (Dublin)  Gareth McKinless (Derry) Conor McCarthy (Monaghan)
Brian Fenton (Dublin) Brendan Rodgers (Derry)
Paudie Clifford (Kerry) Sean O'Shea (Kerry) Enda Smith (Roscommon)
David Clifford (Kerry) Shane McGuigan (Derry)  Colm Basquel (Dublin)
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 17, 2023, 08:13:52 PM
Is cluxton a bit like messu, they just give him one
Post by: clarshack on November 17, 2023, 08:16:58 PM
Did Derry win the All-Ireland? 2 All stars already.
Post by: AustinPowers on November 17, 2023, 08:17:19 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on November 17, 2023, 08:13:52 PMIs cluxton a bit like messu, they just give him one

Yes.

And Fenton no  doubt will be POTY  ::)
Post by: square_ball on November 17, 2023, 08:19:57 PM
Quote from: clarshack on November 17, 2023, 08:16:58 PMDid Derry win the All-Ireland? 2 All stars already.

Rodgers number 3 and McGuigan likely to  make it number 4.
Post by: Brendan on November 17, 2023, 08:20:24 PM
James Mccarthy shifted out of position just to get him in there, but I'll not complain too much derry on 3 so far
Post by: square_ball on November 17, 2023, 08:23:27 PM
Quote from: Brendan on November 17, 2023, 08:20:24 PMJames Mccarthy shifted out of position just to get him in there, but I'll not complain too much derry on 3 so far

Always liable to happen. Nominated in the list of midfielders to begin with then was in the list of all the defenders during the show tonight.
Post by: Gael85 on November 17, 2023, 08:25:05 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on November 17, 2023, 08:17:19 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on November 17, 2023, 08:13:52 PMIs cluxton a bit like messu, they just give him one

Yes.

Clifford is POTY. McCarthy should have been nominated instead of Fenton.
Post by: Brendan on November 17, 2023, 08:26:06 PM
Roscommon man now, they've really tore up the rule book and in a good way!
Post by: square_ball on November 17, 2023, 08:30:07 PM
Must be the lowest the winners have ever got?
Post by: Armagh18 on November 17, 2023, 08:30:59 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on November 17, 2023, 08:25:05 PM

Yes.

Poor in QF and Final. Getting it on name only!
Post by: clarshack on November 17, 2023, 08:31:45 PM
Derry with 4 what a joke.
Post by: 5times5times on November 17, 2023, 08:33:22 PM
Quote from: clarshack on November 17, 2023, 08:31:45 PMDerry with 4 what a joke.

Which player do you honestly think didn't deserve one? Look at their path to SF. Comparer to p1ss walk dubs and kerry had
Post by: Blowitupref on November 17, 2023, 08:36:12 PM
Young footballer of the year Ethan Doherty Derry.
Post by: Brendan on November 17, 2023, 08:36:17 PM
Quote from: clarshack on November 17, 2023, 08:31:45 PMDerry with 4 what a joke.

More of a joke is they only won 2 last year when they beat arguably stronger teams to achieve the same feat
Post by: cornerback on November 17, 2023, 08:38:06 PM

Didn't expect Derry to get 4 but all 4 were totally deserved! Thought McKindless would've been the unlucky one to miss out but he was the best No.6 this year.
Post by: JoG2 on November 17, 2023, 08:40:17 PM

:)... Drink it in lad
Post by: clarshack on November 17, 2023, 08:47:58 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on November 17, 2023, 08:40:17 PM

:)... Drink it in lad

Post by: square_ball on November 17, 2023, 08:48:48 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on November 17, 2023, 08:36:12 PMYoung footballer of the year Ethan Doherty Derry.

Malachy mustn't have allowed him to miss Glen training.
Post by: Blowitupref on November 17, 2023, 08:50:28 PM
David Clifford the footballer of the year.
Post by: thewobbler on November 17, 2023, 08:53:06 PM
I do prefer the "spreading around" approach to All Stars.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 17, 2023, 09:00:55 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on November 17, 2023, 08:50:28 PMDavid Clifford the footballer of the year.

First to do back to back
Wouldn't rule out 3 in a row, he's that good.
Post by: Sportacus on November 17, 2023, 09:03:38 PM
Quote from: square_ball on November 17, 2023, 08:48:48 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on November 17, 2023, 08:36:12 PMYoung footballer of the year Ethan Doherty Derry.

Malachy mustn't have allowed him to miss Glen training.
I thought that myself, and then said surely not.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on November 17, 2023, 09:25:40 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on November 17, 2023, 09:00:55 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on November 17, 2023, 08:50:28 PMDavid Clifford the footballer of the year.

First to do back to back

Did they say jacko did 4 in a row? Stiff competition back then
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on November 17, 2023, 09:28:52 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on November 17, 2023, 09:25:40 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on November 17, 2023, 09:00:55 PM

First to do back to back

Did they say jacko did 4 in a row? Stiff competition back then

I think someone said that the award was first introduced in 1995; apparently Rogers would have been Derry's first winner.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on November 17, 2023, 10:23:34 PM
Yeah think they said Texaco Footballer of the year for Jacko so different name same title you'd think

Waiting for a statto to to confirm 😀
Post by: NormPeterson on November 17, 2023, 10:25:08 PM
I think Morrissey was asking McKinless about Mickey Harte because he thought Derry players may have mixed feelings about him but I don't think Morrissey realised that McKinless is from County Tyrone. I assume he lives on the Tyrone side of that parish. I wouldn't be surprised if he grew up supporting them.
Post by: AustinPowers on November 17, 2023, 10:27:16 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on November 17, 2023, 08:25:05 PM

Yes.

Yeah, well I'd agree  on McCarthy. Fenton was  anonymous in the big games , bar a few minutes

Why was McCarthy nominated  for defence AND  Midfield? I'm surprised he wasn't nominated for  the Hurling  team too
Post by: Captain Obvious on November 17, 2023, 10:42:21 PM
Four All-Stars for Derry shows they have a lot of good individuals however collectively can they go further than they have in the last two years? Should find out for sure in the next few years now they have All-Ireland winning manager in charge.

Five for Dublin the lowest they won for one of their All-Ireland winning teams since 2011. How long have three of All Stars this year Cluxton, Fitzsimons,McCarthy have left?
Post by: Silver hill on November 17, 2023, 11:26:18 PM
Quote from: NormPeterson on November 17, 2023, 10:25:08 PMI think Morrissey was asking McKinless about Mickey Harte because he thought Derry players may have mixed feelings about him but I don't think Morrissey realised that McKinless is from County Tyrone. I assume he lives on the Tyrone side of that parish. I wouldn't be surprised if he grew up supporting them.

Mckindless family would be Derry to the backbone
Post by: Armagh18 on November 18, 2023, 01:45:04 AM
Not sure what Clifford did to deserve poty, anonymous in quarter final and final. Picked on name alone. And I'm saying this as a huge fan.
Post by: statto on November 18, 2023, 02:13:21 AM
Cantwell questions are dirt.yes training at fossa be same as all Ireland final day
Post by: statto on November 18, 2023, 02:14:56 AM
Quote from: NormPeterson on November 17, 2023, 10:25:08 PMI think Morrissey was asking McKinless about Mickey Harte because he thought Derry players may have mixed feelings about him but I don't think Morrissey realised that McKinless is from County Tyrone. I assume he lives on the Tyrone side of that parish. I wouldn't be surprised if he grew up supporting them.
Ballinderry where mckinless is from a strange part of world half the village Tyrone half derry
Post by: Armagh18 on November 18, 2023, 07:40:34 AM
Quote from: statto on November 18, 2023, 02:14:56 AM
derry where mckinless is from a strange part of world half the village Tyrone half derry
fixed that for you ;)
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 18, 2023, 09:55:46 AM
Ballinderry where mckinless is from a strange part of world half the village Tyrone half derry

Didn't enda Muldoon play for derry minors against them one day, and then wore a tyrone top walking about during the senior game, or is one big myth as I never saw it with my own eyes !
Post by: seafoid on November 18, 2023, 09:57:33 AM
Cork got 4 in 2010.
Post by: seafoid on November 18, 2023, 09:58:55 AM
Great recognition for Derry. Delighted for the Rossies as well. They were a breath of fresh air in the championship with a very good manager.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on November 18, 2023, 10:36:42 AM
Nope thats Right, he did walk out with a Tyone Jersey on for the senior game.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 18, 2023, 11:17:27 AM
Is there not another story about Muldoon where he celebrated on the pitch with Westmeath after they beat Derry in the ai minor final in 95?
Post by: Rossfan on November 18, 2023, 11:50:28 AM
Quote from: seafoid on November 18, 2023, 09:58:55 AMGreat recognition for Derry. Delighted for the Rossies as well. They were a breath of fresh air in the championship with a very good manager.

Congrats to Enda, well deserved.
A gentleman on and off the pitch.
Unusual to see them picking a man whose team only made the last 12 but we'll take it.
He joins the ranks of Harry, Pat, Dermot, Tony, Danny,Enon, Paul Earley,  Tom Heneghan, Gerry Connellan, Francie Grehan and our 1st one Micky Freyne.

Apologies if I've left anyone out.
Post by: jmcgdoire on November 18, 2023, 12:43:58 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 18, 2023, 01:45:04 AMNot sure what Clifford did to deserve poty, anonymous in quarter final and final. Picked on name alone. And I'm saying this as a huge fan.
Scoring 5-39 in 8 matches. Captaining his team to an All-Ireland final. Scoring 2-6 in a provincial final (under circumstances that most of us cannot even fathom). Scoring 9 points in an All Ireland semi final while being marked by a reigning All Star defender. Commanding such a gravity in that side of the pitch that allows for easier scores for his team mates. I think he did plenty.

Im not writing off an unbelivable year just because he missed a few shots in the final.
If you never saw a football match before and then you watched every minute of this years championship you would say that David Clifford was the best player.
Post by: Armagh18 on November 18, 2023, 01:01:31 PM
Quote from: jmcgdoire on November 18, 2023, 12:43:58 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 18, 2023, 01:45:04 AMNot sure what Clifford did to deserve poty, anonymous in quarter final and final. Picked on name alone. And I'm saying this as a huge fan.
Scoring 5-39 in 8 matches. Captaining his team to an All-Ireland final. Scoring 2-6 in a provincial final (under circumstances that most of us cannot even fathom). Scoring 9 points in an All Ireland semi final while being marked by a reigning All Star defender. Commanding such a gravity in that side of the pitch that allows for easier scores for his team mates. I think he did plenty.

Im not writing off an unbelivable year just because he missed a few shots in the final.
If you never saw a football match before and then you watched every minute of this years championship you would say that David Clifford was the best player.
Wouldn't count anything pre the quarter final to be honest. Bad day out against Tyrone and Dublin. Unreal against Derry I'll give you that.
Post by: square_ball on November 18, 2023, 02:13:51 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 18, 2023, 01:01:31 PM
Quote from: jmcgdoire on November 18, 2023, 12:43:58 PM

Wouldn't count anything pre the quarter final to be honest. Bad day out against Tyrone and Dublin. Unreal against Derry I'll give you that.

Enda Smith wouldn't have got an all star in that case.
Post by: Silver hill on November 18, 2023, 02:18:19 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on November 18, 2023, 09:55:46 AM

Didn't enda Muldoon play for derry minors against them one day, and then wore a tyrone top walking about during the senior game, or is one big myth as I never saw it with my own eyes !

Urban myth....he's one of Derry's greatest
Post by: imtommygunn on November 18, 2023, 03:27:56 PM
Yeah no question about his football ability. Had heard that story from a few sources.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on November 18, 2023, 03:58:20 PM
No that's not a myth, that did actually happen.
Post by: Silver hill on November 18, 2023, 07:44:43 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on November 18, 2023, 03:58:20 PMNo that's not a myth, that did actually happen.

You were there and saw it?
Post by: clarshack on November 18, 2023, 08:48:22 PM
Quote from: Silver hill on November 18, 2023, 07:44:43 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on November 18, 2023, 03:58:20 PMNo that's not a myth, that did actually happen.

Can still mind people talking about it at the time. It was the legendary 1995 Ulster senior semi-final game. Derry Minors had stuffed Tyrone in the curtain raiser.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 18, 2023, 09:33:37 PM

It was *allegedly* in the middle of the pitch in croke park...
Post by: Silver hill on November 18, 2023, 09:36:51 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 18, 2023, 09:33:37 PM

There we go, two contradictory versions already
Post by: JoG2 on November 19, 2023, 01:53:47 AM
Quote from: Silver hill on November 18, 2023, 09:36:51 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 18, 2023, 09:33:37 PM

There we go, two contradictory versions already

If it was the top WJ Dolan hand delivered to the Lough Shore, then it definitely happened I think  #hic
Post by: RedHand88 on November 19, 2023, 03:24:14 AM
Quote from: clarshack on November 18, 2023, 08:48:22 PM

Can still mind people talking about it at the time. It was the legendary 1995 Ulster senior semi-final game. Derry Minors had stuffed Tyrone in the curtain raiser.

Enda muldoon was supporting Tyrone in 05 against Derry. Fact. Saw it with my own young eyes.
Post by: screenexile on November 19, 2023, 09:53:55 AM
So was it 95 or 05??
Post by: HiMucker on November 19, 2023, 10:52:09 AM
I seen Mickey Harte wearing a Derry top, swear to God
Post by: clarshack on November 19, 2023, 11:05:31 AM
Quote from: screenexile on November 19, 2023, 09:53:55 AMSo was it 95 or 05??

It was 95 lol