Recent posts

General discussion / Re: The Offical Glasgow Celtic...
Last post by Main Street - Today at 11:16:32 AM
Quote from: Itchy on Today at 10:30:42 AM
Quote from: J70 on May 11, 2024, 11:12:56 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 11, 2024, 01:30:35 PMDominating this game.
The ' eejit Kenny on co-commentary who repeatedly claimed Lundstrom's red was not a red.
What a nutcase!

Just watching the highlights there.

WTF is Miller on about??

You'd swear there were ten leg-breaking tackles like that every day the way he's going on.

Absolute bellend! ;D

In fairness, rangers manager was unequivocal about it saying it was red and a bad tackle. Bizarre stuff from Miller.
What I understand from his later justifications it's even more bizarre. Kenny claimed that it would not have been a red card tackle in his day, therefore it wasn't a red card tackle.
GAA Discussion / Re: Gaelic Football - Rules & ...
Last post by Milltown Row2 - Today at 11:15:27 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on Today at 11:00:34 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2024, 12:25:28 PMPersonally I let it continue a 'good' 5 seconds in those critical areas (goal scoring ops) and other than him committing an aggressive foul himself or literally taking the piss in steps I'll bring back for the original

2 games in a row now (football) lads and management are still unsure of the rules for even the basics that have been about for years.

As David has said many times, its not a black and white set of rules, it is in most parts down to the ref's interpretation of the rules which largely pisses people off, but that's the way it is currently until a review is done to tidy it up

Before the advantage rule we used to have the 'slow' whistle which allowed us to give a player a chance to 'break' free of a challenge and possibly set up play, or score.  Sort of stuck on both now lol!

There was one last night in the Cork v Limerick match that made me wonder. Cork attacking near the end chasing a goal. Advantage given inside the 21. Player breaks free, and gets a shot away off target. Goes over the bar but he was clearly shooting for goal. Should that come back? I mean I know he scored but Cork needed a goal and got one from a free in the same position against Clare the last day out. I genuinely don't know what should happen in that scenario. Would the attacker have been better deliberately missing?

Remembered it, never thought that any of the players or management wanted that retaken. But it's a good point because had he missed it would have undoubtedly been brought back for a 21 yard free.

The introduction of the advantage rule was to reduce the amount of fouls happening in the game, creating less breaks better fluency.

When done well it's better for the game, think it works better in hurling.
That's a good point.
It also reinforces my belief that the rule is wrong in that if you get an opportunity to shoot from a more advantageous position then you should not get a free regardless of the outcome.
It should be one or the other.
Last post by David McKeown - Today at 11:11:00 AM
Quote from: Gianni on Today at 10:47:35 AMHi men! I am Giovanni from Italy, I come from Rome. I am an amateur soccer player and now I discover this new sport, i.e. Gaelic Football.
I have already read all the rules but I still have doubts.
Ok, let's get started.

1. When the player is in possession of the ball, the ball is held in his hands, he could:
  A. throw the ball in the air and catch it again with your hands? I think not, right?
  B. throw the ball in the air, hit it with any part of the body except arms and hands and then catch it in the hands? I don't think so, am I right?
  C. throw the ball and hit it with any part of the body, maybe like someone throws the ball in the air and then hits it with his head, legal?
  D. Bringing the ball with the hands at head height and then, without either throwing or releasing it, hitting the ball with the head or any part of the body except the hands, legal?

2. Rule: 1.5 When the ball has not been caught, it may be bounced more than once in succession.. So a player could control the ball with one hand (or two?) and play it basketball style as far as he wants? It would be much easier than soloing so how come we don't see it? The reason I expect is that 'caught' does not infer with both hands?

3. When a player tries to catch a ball in the air he may touch the ball several times with his hands as long as he has control of it. But could he continue to bounce the ball from his hand into the air as Hurling players do with stick and ball?
Rule: To play the ball up with the hand(s) and catch it again before it touches the ground, another player, or goal-posts
But, according to the rule, a player, once he touches the ball once in the air, cannot touch it a second or third time?
I believe as long as he can't control the ball the player could do it, but if we interpret the rule literally this wouldn't be legal, would it?

4. Situation: a player takes possession and hops the ball.

A. After the hop he flicks it up in the air and catches it before it bounces the ground, a posts or a player.
 B. he flicks it to pass the ball to someone else.
 C. he flicks it to score a goal.
are A, B, C legals?

5. Situation: a player with the foot or with other parts of body but the hands tries a "Sombrero trick" and:
 A. in the air he strikes the ball to an other direction.
 B. in the air he strikes the ball and then he caught it.
 C. in the air he caught it and goes on.

6. Ladies Gaelic football allows this:
Rule: A player may toss up the ball with one hand and play it off with the same hand.
So a player toss up the ball with right hand, surpass a player and then he can catch it with right hand, legal?
What does mean this Rule: Showing the Ball or Turning Twice with the ball is NOT a foul providing it is done within the 4 step rule.
I mean what are the showing the ball or turning twice.

Thanks

I'll leave these to the resident ref but you have given PTSD with point 2. The way that rule is to be interpreted after the Clifford or Ganey (can't remember which) goal makes no sense. For a ball to be considered bounced it has to leave the hands, hit the ground and return immediately into the hand. As a result the the rule basically says you can continue to bounce the ball provided you never bounce the ball.
Last post by David McKeown - Today at 11:00:34 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2024, 12:25:28 PMPersonally I let it continue a 'good' 5 seconds in those critical areas (goal scoring ops) and other than him committing an aggressive foul himself or literally taking the piss in steps I'll bring back for the original

2 games in a row now (football) lads and management are still unsure of the rules for even the basics that have been about for years.

As David has said many times, its not a black and white set of rules, it is in most parts down to the ref's interpretation of the rules which largely pisses people off, but that's the way it is currently until a review is done to tidy it up

Before the advantage rule we used to have the 'slow' whistle which allowed us to give a player a chance to 'break' free of a challenge and possibly set up play, or score.  Sort of stuck on both now lol!

There was one last night in the Cork v Limerick match that made me wonder. Cork attacking near the end chasing a goal. Advantage given inside the 21. Player breaks free, and gets a shot away off target. Goes over the bar but he was clearly shooting for goal. Should that come back? I mean I know he scored but Cork needed a goal and got one from a free in the same position against Clare the last day out. I genuinely don't know what should happen in that scenario. Would the attacker have been better deliberately missing?
General discussion / Re: Things that make you go .....
Last post by Tony Baloney - Today at 10:57:13 AM
Quote from: LC on Today at 08:51:53 AMhttps://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/gaa-class-irish-university-319613

Maynooth Uni including this as a module in the their History degree.

Would not put it past Ulster University to turn this into a HND.
Entry Requirements:

CDD in any A-Level
or
Play County football
Last post by Gianni - Today at 10:47:35 AM
Hi men! I am Giovanni from Italy, I come from Rome. I am an amateur soccer player and now I discover this new sport, i.e. Gaelic Football.
I have already read all the rules but I still have doubts.
Ok, let's get started.

1. When the player is in possession of the ball, the ball is held in his hands, he could:
  A. throw the ball in the air and catch it again with your hands? I think not, right?
  B. throw the ball in the air, hit it with any part of the body except arms and hands and then catch it in the hands? I don't think so, am I right?
  C. throw the ball and hit it with any part of the body, maybe like someone throws the ball in the air and then hits it with his head, legal?
  D. Bringing the ball with the hands at head height and then, without either throwing or releasing it, hitting the ball with the head or any part of the body except the hands, legal?

2. Rule: 1.5 When the ball has not been caught, it may be bounced more than once in succession.. So a player could control the ball with one hand (or two?) and play it basketball style as far as he wants? It would be much easier than soloing so how come we don't see it? The reason I expect is that 'caught' does not infer with both hands?

3. When a player tries to catch a ball in the air he may touch the ball several times with his hands as long as he has control of it. But could he continue to bounce the ball from his hand into the air as Hurling players do with stick and ball?
Rule: To play the ball up with the hand(s) and catch it again before it touches the ground, another player, or goal-posts
But, according to the rule, a player, once he touches the ball once in the air, cannot touch it a second or third time?
I believe as long as he can't control the ball the player could do it, but if we interpret the rule literally this wouldn't be legal, would it?

4. Situation: a player takes possession and hops the ball.

A. After the hop he flicks it up in the air and catches it before it bounces the ground, a posts or a player.
 B. he flicks it to pass the ball to someone else.
 C. he flicks it to score a goal.
are A, B, C legals?

5. Situation: a player with the foot or with other parts of body but the hands tries a "Sombrero trick" and:
 A. in the air he strikes the ball to an other direction.
 B. in the air he strikes the ball and then he caught it.
 C. in the air he caught it and goes on.

6. Ladies Gaelic football allows this:
Rule: A player may toss up the ball with one hand and play it off with the same hand.
So a player toss up the ball with right hand, surpass a player and then he can catch it with right hand, legal?
What does mean this Rule: Showing the Ball or Turning Twice with the ball is NOT a foul providing it is done within the 4 step rule.
I mean what are the showing the ball or turning twice.

Thanks
GAA Discussion / Re: All Ireland U20 football c...
Last post by Rossfan - Today at 10:30:51 AM
Unlikely we'd have bet that Tyrone team anyway but a 2 week break would have been a great help.

The under 20 like the u21 before it throws up some fantastic games and should be promoted and used as an example and template of what gaelic football could be.
General discussion / Re: The Offical Glasgow Celtic...
Last post by Itchy - Today at 10:30:42 AM
Quote from: J70 on May 11, 2024, 11:12:56 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 11, 2024, 01:30:35 PMDominating this game.
The ' eejit Kenny on co-commentary who repeatedly claimed Lundstrom's red was not a red.
What a nutcase!

Just watching the highlights there.

WTF is Miller on about??

You'd swear there were ten leg-breaking tackles like that every day the way he's going on.

Absolute bellend! ;D

In fairness, rangers manager was unequivocal about it saying it was red and a bad tackle. Bizarre stuff from Miller.
GAA Discussion / Re: All Ireland U20 football c...
Last post by Cunny Funt - Today at 10:02:48 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on Today at 09:40:48 AMIt was indeed stupid. No need for it.

As for the match itself we were well beaten by a superb team.
Size, pace, S&C all miles ahead of us.
We had a great rally after half time but messed up a few chances to equalise or get ahead.
Outscored 1-8 to 0-2 after.
Shocking small attendance 1,521 (80% at least Ros) for an All Ireland semi final, no sense of occasion about the whole thing, no promotion of any kind leading up to it etc.
Would having 2 week breaks between Provincial Finals, AI semis and Final cause the sky to fall?
Could still be done and dusted by end of May.

No the sky wouldn't have fallen in if HQ scheduled things in that way but they don't really care about that or promoting the competition as they want U19 grade.

Best team certainly won but really silly that the Tyrone lad lost the head late on to got himself sent off and will miss the final now. The last 15/20 minutes Roscommon was out on their feet a direct result of the 7 day turnaround and how much energy they used to get back into the game.