GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Gareth on June 28, 2018, 07:15:10 AM

Title: Dublin V Donegal
Post by: Gareth on June 28, 2018, 07:15:10 AM
Why has Dublin two home ties in the Super 8's & how do you come to the conclusion that this is Fair to the other Teams in the same Group?
Title: Re: Dublin V Donegal
Post by: tonto1888 on June 28, 2018, 08:30:09 AM
McBrearty being out takes away any chance Donegal have of winning I reckon
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 28, 2018, 09:00:48 AM
Quote from: Gareth on June 28, 2018, 07:15:10 AM
Why has Dublin two home ties in the Super 8's & how do you come to the conclusion that this is Fair to the other Teams in the same Group?

Well according to Alan Brogan Dublin are very hard done by as their never able to train at Croker so 2 home game probably evens itself out.
Post by: Rossfan on June 28, 2018, 09:02:13 AM

Riail 6.28 sa Treoir Oifigiúil.
Post by: Gareth on June 28, 2018, 09:17:27 AM
Whats the Rule 6.28?
Post by: inthrough on June 28, 2018, 09:19:24 AM
Quote from: Gareth on June 28, 2018, 09:17:27 AM
Whats the Rule 6.28?
That's the one Jim Gavin wrote ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Jinxy on June 28, 2018, 10:20:03 AM
I think Joe Molloy came up with a good compromise yesterday evening on Off The Ball.
If you are in a group with Dublin, you have the option of playing them in Croke Park or another venue of your choice, which would probably be Clones for Donegal.
I think it should be Donegal's decision and it might not be the no-brainer some people think it is.
If they did choose Clones in that scenario, then they have no game in Croke Park during the Super 8s.
I think a lot of people are confused about the Super 8s.
It's one game at home, one game away, and one game in Croke Park.
For EVERYONE.
So, if you are in the Galway/Kerry group, you don't play any of your Croke Park games against Dublin.
Don't think this is as big an issue as people are making out, although I still think Donegal should have a choice.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 28, 2018, 10:34:25 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 28, 2018, 10:20:03 AM
I think Joe Molloy came up with a good compromise yesterday evening on Off The Ball.
If you are in a group with Dublin, you have the option of playing them in Croke Park or another venue of your choice, which would probably be Clones for Donegal.
I think it should be Donegal's decision and it might not be the no-brainer some people think it is.
If they did choose Clones in that scenario, then they have no game in Croke Park during the Super 8s.
For EVERYONE.
So, if you are in the Galway/Kerry group, you don't play any of your Croke Park games against Dublin.
Don't think this is as big an issue as people are making out, although I still think Donegal should have a choice.

If you are swinging towards they would chose CP, I would beg to differ.

To become an inter-county footballer,  you need more than talent, you need attitude and a will to win. If you present them 2 options and one of those options gives up a better chance of winning, like the Kildare footballers and Newbridge, I have no doubt in my mind they would choose Clones.

The attraction of CP has run it's course and Donegal would see themselves above "the day out in Croke Park, all footballers want to play there" brigrade. They have just won an Ulster, they now want an All-ireland and will choose the best opportunity to realise that.
Post by: Jinxy on June 28, 2018, 10:41:13 AM
Yeah, but with a young up and coming team do you play Dublin in Croke Park when you can afford to lose to them and maybe learn a bit about them and yourselves from the experience?
Otherwise, the only other time you could play them there is the final.
I'm not saying they WOULD pick Croke Park, but if it's up to them where they play, then there's no problem.
Post by: Hound on June 28, 2018, 10:45:34 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 28, 2018, 10:34:25 AM
For EVERYONE.

To become an inter-county footballer,  you need more than talent, you need attitude and a will to win. If you present them 2 options and one of those options gives up a better chance of winning, like the Kildare footballers and Newbridge, I have no doubt in my mind they would choose Clones.

The attraction of CP has run it's course and Donegal would see themselves above "the day out in Croke Park, all footballers want to play there" brigrade. They have just won an Ulster, they now want an All-ireland and will choose the best opportunity to realise that.
I gave (almost) the very same idea as Molloy in a post yesterday.
Although, one important difference, Donegal choose Croke Park - Yes or No. But if No, then it's CCCC not Donegal that choose the venue. It's the "Croke Park game", not the "Donegal game". So CCCC will choose whatever non-Croke Park venue will gross the biggest receipts. In the case of Donegal-Dublin, that may well be Clones. But the likes of Limerick or Thurles might be the choice for others.

I agree that Donegal would most likely choose non-Croke Park, but they should have the choice. I remember when the qualifiers were first introduced, it looked like Roscommon would not get a Croker game despite winning Connacht and there was uproar. 
Post by: Rossfan on June 28, 2018, 10:48:27 AM
We played Galway in Castlebar in the Qtr Final that year.
Donegal don't have a choice where they play Dublin at present (6.28) -
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 28, 2018, 10:48:37 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 28, 2018, 10:41:13 AM
Yeah, but with a young up and coming team do you play Dublin in Croke Park when you can afford to lose to them and maybe learn a bit about them and yourselves from the experience?
Otherwise, the only other time you could play them there is the final.
I'm not saying they WOULD pick Croke Park, but if it's up to them where they play, then there's no problem.

I don't think you can marry development in the heat of championship, you want to win, beat Dublin in Clones, you'd fancy beating them in CP. Lose to Dublin in CP once, mentally that will be suppressive..

Swings and roundabouts but in terms of fairness it should be a choice.

Btw, I think Donegal are too open for Dublin, could be a big defeat, the Ulster Championship is very ordinary and will not be good prep for the blue machine.
Post by: Hound on June 28, 2018, 10:50:09 AM
If Dublin "did a Kildare" and chose Parnell Park as their home venue for the final Super 8 game (as the hurlers chose for their match with Kilkenny in Leinster group this year), would there still be uproar about Croke Park being used to host matches between provincial champions?

Post by: Dinny Breen on June 28, 2018, 10:50:25 AM
Quote from: Hound on June 28, 2018, 10:45:34 AM
For EVERYONE.

Although, one important difference, Donegal choose Croke Park - Yes or No. But if No, then it's CCCC not Donegal that choose the venue. It's the "Croke Park game", not the "Donegal game". So CCCC will choose whatever non-Croke Park venue will gross the biggest receipts. In the case of Donegal-Dublin, that may well be Clones. But the likes of Limerick or Thurles might be the choice for others.

I agree that Donegal would most likely choose non-Croke Park, but they should have the choice. I remember when the qualifiers were first introduced, it looked like Roscommon would not get a Croker game despite winning Connacht and there was uproar.

CP was in it's pomp. Roscommon's mentality has evolved since then.
Post by: Jinxy on June 28, 2018, 10:52:57 AM
The non-Croke Park option should be the ground that makes the most sense geographically and capacity-wise.
Realistically, given that this is only an issue when Dublin are involved, that's Clones, The Gaelic Grounds and Thurles.
Post by: Hound on June 28, 2018, 10:53:46 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 28, 2018, 10:48:27 AM
We played Galway in Castlebar in the Qtr Final that year.
Donegal don't have a choice where they play Dublin at present (6.28) -
and nor do Dublin! Nor Kerry, nor Galway. All games in Super 8 between provincial champions fixed for Croke Park.
Post by: Jinxy on June 28, 2018, 10:54:03 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 28, 2018, 10:50:25 AM
Quote from: Hound on June 28, 2018, 10:45:34 AM
For EVERYONE.

CP was in it's pomp. Roscommon's mentality has evolved since then.

Post by: Rossfan on June 28, 2018, 10:58:36 AM
Quote from: Hound on June 28, 2018, 10:50:09 AM
If Dublin "did a Kildare" and chose Parnell Park as their home venue for the final Super 8 game
Pigs might fly too.
Hopefully they will use Parnell if we win our Round 4 game.

Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on June 28, 2018, 10:59:18 AM

Dublin, like every other team, are entitled to a game in Croke Park. And if they decide to forfeit their home advantage for a neutral venue that's their choice to make. I don't see the issue here.
Post by: inthrough on June 28, 2018, 11:18:30 AM
Donegal are happy enough to play Dublin in Croke Park as they don't really harbour AI winning ambitions this year, especially with Paddy out. They really are at the developement stage & the poster who said they were too open at the back is right, they still have a way to go.

Getting to the Super 8's is big for them as they now get a chance to see how well their new style will hold up in the white heat of championship football against decent teams, the league doesn't really count. There is a really good squad of exciting young players there & if nothing else the Dublin game will be entertaining!
Post by: J70 on June 28, 2018, 11:45:36 AM
I thought initially we would run them close for an hour, like this year's league game, before Dublin pulled away to a seven or eight point win. With Paddy out, that's hard to see now. We would have scored plenty with him, but where are those scores going to come from now with him and the markers following him out of the picture. If we throw Murphy up there, that weakens us in midfield, an area where Dublin are already very strong. We have plenty of young, scoring forwards, but there are no other big, scoring, ball-winning, target men like McBrearty and Murphy at this point. Other than Murphy he is the one irreplaceable player we have.
Post by: J70 on June 28, 2018, 11:49:03 AM
On Croke Park, I haven't heard any rumblings of unrest from Donegal and they're probably happy enough to play there, but it is a bit ridiculous that  Dublin get two games there, including their supposed neutral-venue game against us. Would we have been granted a neutral-venue game in Ballybofey? Kerry in Killarney? Galway in Salthill? Just call it what is- two home games.
Post by: Jinxy on June 28, 2018, 11:52:47 AM
There is no neutral venue for anyone in the Super 8s.
It's home, away & Croke Park.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 28, 2018, 11:56:53 AM
Quote from: J70 on June 28, 2018, 11:49:03 AM
On Croke Park, I haven't heard any rumblings of unrest from Donegal and they're probably happy enough to play there, but it is a bit ridiculous that  Dublin get two games there, including their supposed neutral-venue game against us. Would we have been granted a neutral-venue game in Ballybofey? Kerry in Killarney? Galway in Salthill? Just call it what is- two home games.

Kieran Cunningham who have good connections very vocal on twitter as has McGuinness this week. 
Post by: Gareth on June 28, 2018, 12:00:29 PM
It's Plain an Simple Dublin has Two Games in the Super 8's in CP,

They have Donegal in 14th in CP & Team 3 in the 4th of Aug in CP which shouldn't be! ( it's basically Two HOME GAMES ).

Lets say that if Dublin entered into the Super 8's and had to Play Two Games away from home (WOULD THERE BE UP-ROAR "YES" WOULD THIS BE ALLOWED TO HAPPEN) "NO".

So the structure is wrong for the other Teams in the Competition!!

I think that there is the $ factor here or something,

WHY WOULDN'T SOMEONE ASK THE HEAD OF THE GAA WHAT IS THERE THINKING BEHIND THIS FIXTURING?? 
Post by: Jinxy on June 28, 2018, 12:06:28 PM
No need to shout, Gareth.
Post by: Rossfan on June 28, 2018, 12:14:49 PM
As they say Rules is rules.
Passed by Congress Gareth.
Sin é.
Post by: J70 on June 28, 2018, 12:16:58 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 28, 2018, 11:52:47 AM
There is no neutral venue for anyone in the Super 8s.
It's home, away & Croke Park.

CP is neutral for everyone except Dublin.
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 28, 2018, 12:19:29 PM
I'm not sure where Donegal & Kerry play their second game but I know Galway's second game will be away, if thats the case Donegal & Kerry too it doesn't seem like too much of advantage for winning the provincial championship.

Post by: Jinxy on June 28, 2018, 12:21:19 PM
But there isn't a 'neutral' round, that's the misconception.
Teams are deliberately being given the opportunity to play in Croke Park.
If there was an actual neutral round, other grounds around the country would be required.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on June 28, 2018, 12:33:06 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on June 28, 2018, 12:19:29 PM
I'm not sure where Donegal & Kerry play their second game but I know Galway's second game will be away, if thats the case Donegal & Kerry too it doesn't seem like too much of advantage for winning the provincial championship.

All provincial champions are away in round 2. They changed the scheduling to put the provincial champions at home in the final round to try and minimise potential "dead rubber" matches.
That said if the bookies favourites win the 1st round games between the provincial champions, there's then huge pressure on Galway and Donegal to get a result away from home the following week.
Post by: Esmarelda on June 28, 2018, 12:38:09 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 28, 2018, 12:21:19 PM
If there was an actual neutral round, other grounds around the country would be required.
You're right Jinxy of course. It's written in black and white.

However it's completely unfair and hopefully they'll change it to one home, one away and one neutral next year. Dubs down to Kilkenny for their neutral game.
Post by: Esmarelda on June 28, 2018, 12:42:17 PM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on June 28, 2018, 12:33:06 PM

All provincial champions are away in round 2. They changed the scheduling to put the provincial champions at home in the final round to try and minimise potential "dead rubber" matches.
That said if the bookies favourites win the 1st round games between the provincial champions, there's then huge pressure on Galway and Donegal to get a result away from home the following week.
Yes, especially if the team they face won their first game. However, the flip side of that is that if Dublin win and they play away to a team that lost their first game then the dead rubber is on the agenda.

Dead rubbers shouldn't be an issue. Monaghan beat the Dubs in the league when it didn't matter and they seemed very happy with it. A game for a "smaller" county at that level should embraced regardless of whether they're out or not.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 28, 2018, 12:43:40 PM
Quote from: Gareth on June 28, 2018, 12:00:29 PM
It's Plain an Simple Dublin has Two Games in the Super 8's in CP,

They have Donegal in 14th in CP & Team 3 in the 4th of Aug in CP which shouldn't be! ( it's basically Two HOME GAMES ).

Lets say that if Dublin entered into the Super 8's and had to Play Two Games away from home (WOULD THERE BE UP-ROAR "YES" WOULD THIS BE ALLOWED TO HAPPEN) "NO".

So the structure is wrong for the other Teams in the Competition!!

I think that there is the $ factor here or something,

WHY WOULDN'T SOMEONE ASK THE HEAD OF THE GAA WHAT IS THERE THINKING BEHIND THIS FIXTURING??

You really have to ask that question? Dublin bring the most fans, and the most money. ergo they play two games at the highest capacity stadium.
Post by: Jinxy on June 28, 2018, 12:46:09 PM
To be honest, Dublin are the fly in the ointment here and there is no way around it.
If Dublin weren't in the Super 8s, I think most people would agree the one home, one away, one CP structure is perfect.
I'm assuming most of the Croke Park games will be double headers, which will bump up the number of bums in seats for both games as supporters will be interested to see the competition, and they should hopefully be quality, competitive games.
I don't think there is anything particularly machiavellian about Croke Park being used in the way it is for the Super 8s, but it does give Dublin an additional advantage they don't really need.
Maybe the rule re CP or elsewhere should be Dublin specific, but I don't know if you can legislate on that basis.
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 28, 2018, 12:46:37 PM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on June 28, 2018, 12:33:06 PM

If results go as expected this weekend and Armagh beat Clare then Fermanagh will be drawn against either Tyrone or Mayo so Galway's second game will be in McHale Park or in Omagh. Huge pressure is right and likely be underdogs against either team.
Post by: trailer on June 28, 2018, 12:52:20 PM
Jasus lads, this was all agreed at congress. Ye's are about 9 months late to the party with all this two home games for Dublin craic.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 28, 2018, 12:57:11 PM
Quote from: trailer on June 28, 2018, 12:52:20 PM
Jasus lads, this was all agreed at congress. Ye's are about 9 months late to the party with all this two home games for Dublin craic.

I know. To be honest I can't really see an alternative on this one. As long as no moves are made to move games from home venues for the other teams that draw the Dubs, I can see the logic in this.

That said, the GAA were fair late to the party as well trying to get Kildare to move their game!
Post by: Syferus on June 28, 2018, 01:02:18 PM
Quote from: trailer on June 28, 2018, 12:52:20 PM

This was literally mentioned the moment the format was touted.
Post by: inthrough on June 28, 2018, 01:42:23 PM

What's the big deal about being given the "opportunity" to play in Croke Park? Is there gold dust sprinkled on the grass, does champagne flow in the jacks?

Very few of the teams playing in the Super 8's will be strangers in HQ. nobody comes up from the sticks & walks round Jones's Rd slack jawed & round eyed at the marvel that is Croke Park.

This is about fairness full stop. Kevin Heffernan alway said that Croke Park was worth about 3-4 points to Dublin, Donegal are unbeaten in Ballybofey since 2010 & Monaghan have a great record in Clones, so if the competition is to have credibility there should be a level playing field.
Post by: trailer on June 28, 2018, 01:44:45 PM
Quote from: inthrough on June 28, 2018, 01:42:23 PM

What's the big deal about being given the "opportunity" to play in Croke Park? Is there gold dust sprinkled on the grass, does champagne flow in the jacks?

Very few of the teams playing in the Super 8's will be strangers in HQ. nobody comes up from the sticks & walks round Jones's Rd slack jawed & round eyed at the marvel that is Croke Park.

This is about fairness full stop. Kevin Heffernan alway said that Croke Park was worth about 3-4 points to Dublin, Donegal are unbeaten in Ballybofey since 2010 & Monaghan have a great record in Clones, so if the competition is to have credibility there should be a level playing field.

You know what you should do. Get a time-machine and go back to, not the last congress, but the one before that, when this was debated and agreed and tell the delegates to not vote this through.

Post by: From the Bunker on June 28, 2018, 01:48:10 PM
The reality is that from now on an AI series with Dublin is never going to be fair, not unless the GAA are willing to lose revenue from lost attendances in smaller venues, reduce Dublins financial backing from HQ and put a cap on sponsorship. And none of these things are going to happen.  Bar Kerry who the media are talking up. The rest of the country are just playing tippey tappey. Galway beat Mayo, Carlow beat Kildare, Monaghan beat Tyrone, Fermanagh beat Monaghan. All great victories, but you don't feel any team is going anywhere significant. The Provincial finals were a mess this year. The Super 8's will favour the most rested team with the biggest squad with the most home games.
Post by: inthrough on June 28, 2018, 01:53:42 PM
Quote from: trailer on June 28, 2018, 01:44:45 PM

You know what you should do. Get a time-machine and go back to, not the last congress, but the one before that, when this was debated and agreed and tell the delegates to not vote this through.
I couldn't care less how Congress voted, this isn't right & if enough noise is made then there might be a change.
Post by: Esmarelda on June 28, 2018, 02:14:10 PM

trailer, would you mind telling us that it was decided at congress one more time? I didn't quite understand your last two efforts.
Post by: Hound on June 28, 2018, 02:15:08 PM
tis a bit odd that since the backdoor came in, everytime Dublin won Leinster, they've played QF, SF and All Ireland final in Croke Park, but it has taken the Super 8, when there's one QF game they'll be playing outside Croke Park, to get people exercised.

Games between provincial champions, excl a couple of replays, have always been played in Croke Park.

There will be some difference between the Provincial Champions Croke Park game and the Dublin Home Croke Park game. The former will be a double header where all four counties should have a good smattering of supporters. The latter will be a standalone game (or maybe they'll put some underage game on before it), but there'll likely be a much higher proportion of Dubs fans present (unless it's Mayo, those feckers will make it feel like a neutral venue, apart from FTB)
Post by: trailer on June 28, 2018, 02:16:18 PM
Quote from: inthrough on June 28, 2018, 01:53:42 PM

I couldn't care less how Congress voted, this isn't right & if enough noise is made then there might be a change.

You should care. They make the decisions.
Post by: Owenmoresider on June 28, 2018, 02:18:01 PM

And how many of us have a say in how congress votes? In reality now, not theory.
Post by: trailer on June 28, 2018, 02:28:03 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on June 28, 2018, 02:18:01 PM

And how many of us have a say in how congress votes? In reality now, not theory.

That's a different argument. My point is that this was agreed ages ago. It was all over the news, widely debated etc. Now coming into the start of the super 8s, some people who've been living in caves or on the moon, have woken up and God almighty, are outraged that Dublin have two home games. Come on now..
Post by: From the Bunker on June 28, 2018, 02:42:01 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 28, 2018, 02:15:08 PM
tis a bit odd that since the backdoor came in, everytime Dublin won Leinster, they've played QF, SF and All Ireland final in Croke Park, but it has taken the Super 8, when there's one QF game they'll be playing outside Croke Park, to get people exercised.

Games between provincial champions, excl a couple of replays, have always been played in Croke Park.

There will be some difference between the Provincial Champions Croke Park game and the Dublin Home Croke Park game. The former will be a double header where all four counties should have a good smattering of supporters. The latter will be a standalone game (or maybe they'll put some underage game on before it), but there'll likely be a much higher proportion of Dubs fans present (unless it's Mayo, those feckers will make it feel like a neutral venue, apart from FTB)

Yes, I won't be there, I've opened my eyes in the last couple of years! I know how corporate HQ work!  I've watched Corporate Dublin Destroy the game. They have destroyed the game in Leinster for nearly 2 decades now! and are heading for a decade of beating team after team at home in the AI series! Corporate GAA were not satisfied getting replayed games alone last year for Mayo supporters that they added 2 extra games to the fixture list this year. Corporate GAA realised that Dublin are so dominant now that they set up this money earner to have Dublin take turns beating all the main challengers in their home stadium. If anyone says Boo! We'll put out the usual spin that all teams want to play Dublin in Croke Park.
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 28, 2018, 02:48:09 PM
Whats the latest with the land that the Dublin County Board were trying to buy? Hound or any of the other Dublin posters know?

Post by: Dinny Breen on June 28, 2018, 02:50:32 PM

ahem!
Post by: dlgael on June 28, 2018, 03:02:50 PM
This is the first year in my living memory since earning my own money that I'll renege on attending a Donegal game due to finances I've travelled the country supporting Donegal but at present this Super 8s propaganda machine is effectively a very obvious money spinning machine designed to bleed even more money out of the loyal intercounty supporter. The perverse thing is that I'm better off now than I ever was through the last 20 years of gainful employment but I feel that 2018 is a watershed moment in the era of fan exploitation.
I also think that while teams can topple one of the big 2 in a one off game, the best time in which to do so being the traditional QF when they've just escaped a drab no contest at provincial level, there is now little chance Dublin or Kerry will not make an AI SF. This neutral game v Dublin in Croke Park is another pill to swallow. So for the first time in living memory I find myself asking what else do I need to save my money for. It's a loaded deck and it costs a small fortune to enjoy it. Anyone else suffering a similar disilliusionment?
Post by: Syferus on June 28, 2018, 03:07:26 PM

Look, you're going to win what is quickly becoming a worthless bit of tin in September, let the rest of us discuss the decaying state of IC football because you clearly don't care one jot.
Post by: Hound on June 28, 2018, 05:52:16 PM
Quote from: dlgael on June 28, 2018, 03:02:50 PM
This is the first year in my living memory since earning my own money that I'll renege on attending a Donegal game due to finances I've travelled the country supporting Donegal but at present this Super 8s propaganda machine is effectively a very obvious money spinning machine designed to bleed even more money out of the loyal intercounty supporter. The perverse thing is that I'm better off now than I ever was through the last 20 years of gainful employment but I feel that 2018 is a watershed moment in the era of fan exploitation.
I also think that while teams can topple one of the big 2 in a one off game, the best time in which to do so being the traditional QF when they've just escaped a drab no contest at provincial level, there is now little chance Dublin or Kerry will not make an AI SF. This neutral game v Dublin in Croke Park is another pill to swallow. So for the first time in living memory I find myself asking what else do I need to save my money for. It's a loaded deck and it costs a small fortune to enjoy it. Anyone else suffering a similar disilliusionment?
Well your finances is your business and absolutely your choice what to spend it on.

Donegal have absolutely waltzed through Ulster and have played some very good exciting football. But I would say that under the old system, they would absolutely be the most vulnerable of all the provincial champions given you are playing a new system and have not been tested at all with Tyrone and Monaghan been taken out by others.

If Donegal lose to Dublin, and are good enough to win their next 2 games and then win a semi final in Croker, they would be far better equipped to take on Dublin than they are in a couple of weeks time. Now without McBrearty that's all probably very unlikely, but Dublin aren't the only one's who'll benefit from extra games or the ability to lose a match and still qualify.  From a pure Dublin winning the AI position, I would much prefer that Kerry and Galway were in the position of lose once and they're gone (and Mayo too if they make it).
Post by: From the Bunker on June 28, 2018, 06:15:54 PM
Quote from: dlgael on June 28, 2018, 03:02:50 PM

Yes, the super 8 is both financially and time consuming for Donegal supporters. It's all well for your average Dub sitting at home having all their games on tap!

As you say the Super 8 suits a big squad team. There is little or no chance of getting Dublin (or Kerry) off guard.

Keep your money in your back pocket and enjoy your free time in a better way. It's time for the GAA to know that Dublin are not the only supporters worth keeping.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 28, 2018, 06:23:20 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 28, 2018, 03:07:26 PM

Look, you're going to win what is quickly becoming a worthless bit of tin in September, let the rest of us discuss the decaying state of IC football because you clearly don't care one jot.

The poor lad thinks that if a few extra supporters turn up cheering the opposite side the game automatically does not become a home game for Dublin in Croke Park. Oh the innocence - Just shows the Bubble that the average Dublin supporter is in.
Post by: CumminsCiderLarry on June 28, 2018, 06:35:52 PM
Dublin Dublin Dublin. Don't let them occupy your mind 24/7.It not healthy. Go out and enjoy that sun. Great weather in Dingle. Kerry will be bringing Sam home in September
Post by: From the Bunker on June 28, 2018, 07:04:44 PM
Quote from: CumminsCiderLarry on June 28, 2018, 06:35:52 PM
Dublin Dublin Dublin. Don't let them occupy your mind 24/7.It not healthy. Go out and enjoy that sun. Great weather in Dingle. Kerry will be bringing Sam home in September

Yeah, the sun is way more Healthy! CCL were you at the game last weekend?
Post by: The Hill is Blue on June 30, 2018, 04:15:19 PM
I strayed onto this thread thinking that it was about the upcoming match between Dublin and Donegal - the merits of the two teams and the prospects of each. But of course it's nothing more than the usual anti-Dublin rantfest that is consuming the gaaboard.
Post by: Syferus on June 30, 2018, 04:44:48 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on June 30, 2018, 04:15:19 PM
I strayed onto this thread thinking that it was about the upcoming match between Dublin and Donegal - the merits of the two teams and the prospects of each. But of course it's nothing more than the usual anti-Dublin rantfest that is consuming the gaaboard.

Go away. You have no intention of discussing Dublin's advantages in good faith so why are you even here? It's essentially became drive-by trolling and nothing more.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 30, 2018, 05:04:51 PM

I'd tell you go away! But you have little or no experience of the word!
Post by: tonto1888 on June 30, 2018, 05:59:06 PM

I did try so will do so again. With McBrearty out any chance Donegal has of surprising the dubs is gone
Post by: The Hill is Blue on June 30, 2018, 06:41:42 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 30, 2018, 05:59:06 PM

I did try so will do so again. With McBrearty out any chance Donegal has of surprising the dubs is gone

No doubt the loss of McBrearty is huge. He would get on to any forward line in the country. However Declan Bonner will be positive as he has been since he took the job. If he beings some of the spirit of 1992 nothing's impossible. (I still remember the state of shock after that game. Dublin were at least as strongly tipped before that game as they will probably be for this game).
Post by: inthrough on June 30, 2018, 07:35:24 PM
Donegal will certainly go at this game full tilt as they don't have a good enough defence to try & keep it tight.

Whatever elese it will be an entertaining 90 mins.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 30, 2018, 07:42:13 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on June 30, 2018, 06:41:42 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 30, 2018, 05:59:06 PM

No doubt the loss of McBrearty is huge. He would get on to any forward line in the country. However Declan Bonner will be positive as he has been since he took the job. If he beings some of the spirit of 1992 nothing's impossible. (I still remember the state of shock after that game. Dublin were at least as strongly tipped before that game as they will probably be for this game).

Another home win for Dublin.
Post by: Rossfan on June 30, 2018, 07:47:44 PM
Quote from: inthrough on June 30, 2018, 07:35:24 PM

it will be an entertaining 90 mins.
Stick to the socceryball ;D
Post by: inthrough on June 30, 2018, 11:47:58 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 30, 2018, 07:47:44 PM
Quote from: inthrough on June 30, 2018, 07:35:24 PM

it will be an entertaining 90 mins.
Stick to the socceryball ;D
Well spotted rossfan, not that I would be caught dead looking at that terrible game......
Post by: Gareth on July 02, 2018, 11:34:06 AM
Good to see the DUB's ( have a wee taster in Healy Park in Omagh MAYBE!! ) NO DOUBT they'll be looking a THIRD Rule in, need this to be a Neutral venue aswell.. AAAAUUUGHHH CCC will have it at CP!!..

3 HOME GAMES THEN..
Post by: trileacman on July 02, 2018, 12:32:23 PM
Quote from: Gareth on July 02, 2018, 11:34:06 AM
Good to see the DUB's ( have a wee taster in Healy Park in Omagh MAYBE!! ) NO DOUBT they'll be looking a THIRD Rule in, need this to be a Neutral venue aswell.. AAAAUUUGHHH CCC will have it at CP!!..

3 HOME GAMES THEN..

And some say eloquence is dead.
Post by: Rossfan on July 02, 2018, 06:03:05 PM

3 HOME GAMES THEN..

Must be Ulster Scotch??
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2018, 06:10:17 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 02, 2018, 06:03:05 PM

3 HOME GAMES THEN..

Must be Ulster Scotch??

Scotch was probably involved alright.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 03, 2018, 10:08:26 PM
Donegal looking for a venue change!
Post by: FermGael on July 03, 2018, 10:12:16 PM
***** Press Release ****
Following the announcement today by the CCCC regarding venues for the All-Ireland Quarter-Final Group stage (Super 8's) games.

C.L.G. Dhún na nGall are to seek a meeting with GAA Officials to seek clarification on how any County may  use a Ground as both Neutral and a Home venue .

The intention of the meeting is to ensure a level playing field for every team who will qualify for the All-Ireland Quarter-Final Group Stage and ensure that no team has any advantage over any other team.

Ed Byrne         
P.R.O
Donegal G.A.A

074 9731035 / 087 6030306
Post by: Syferus on July 03, 2018, 10:17:18 PM
Quote from: FermGael on July 03, 2018, 10:12:16 PM
***** Press Release ****
Following the announcement today by the CCCC regarding venues for the All-Ireland Quarter-Final Group stage (Super 8's) games.

C.L.G. Dhún na nGall are to seek a meeting with GAA Officials to seek clarification on how any County may  use a Ground as both Neutral and a Home venue .

The intention of the meeting is to ensure a level playing field for every team who will qualify for the All-Ireland Quarter-Final Group Stage and ensure that no team has any advantage over any other team.

Ed Byrne         
P.R.O
Donegal G.A.A

Love that they had the balls to ask this question.
Post by: dublin7 on July 03, 2018, 10:17:59 PM
While I agree croke park is dublin's home ground that's not relevant in the super 8s.

Everyone was guaranteed a croke park game not a game at a neutral venue. That's the difference between this game and newbridge. Kildare had the rule book in their favour. Donegal don't!!

Should be changed in the winter but too late for this year,
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 03, 2018, 10:19:27 PM
Quote from: FermGael on July 03, 2018, 10:12:16 PM
***** Press Release ****

Ed Byrne         
P.R.O
Donegal G.A.A

Clarification: They don't play home games there, they give up home advantage and play in a neutral venue.
Post by: Jinxy on July 03, 2018, 10:25:01 PM
Dublin could always play their home game in Parnell Park.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 03, 2018, 10:25:42 PM
Fair play to donegal for raising the issue. Probably no chance of it being changed not, but at least they might sort it out before next year
Post by: From the Bunker on July 03, 2018, 10:34:07 PM
Fair Play! About time the GAA community said 'NO' to being walked all over by favouritism to Dublin by the GAA!
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 03, 2018, 10:36:40 PM
Can't see there being any venue change but at least it makes them squirm a bit.
Post by: giveballaghback on July 03, 2018, 10:41:04 PM
31 counties should be asking the question, cp is not a neutral venue for Dublin and if a precedent is set this year it will be very hard to change, Clones or nowhere should be the call.Cant believe the likes of Kerry, Mayo Tyrone etc teams that it will more than likely effect in the near future are not asking the same question.
Post by: Gael85 on July 03, 2018, 10:41:55 PM
Have no problem Dublin playing outside Croke Park for 2 of the group games. Surely county board should have looked more clarity on Dublin games in super 8s?
Post by: Gael85 on July 03, 2018, 10:48:03 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on July 03, 2018, 10:41:04 PM
31 counties should be asking the question, cp is not a neutral venue for Dublin and if a precedent is set this year it will be very hard to change, Clones or nowhere should be the call.Cant believe the likes of Kerry, Mayo Tyrone etc teams that it will more than likely effect in the near future are not asking the same question.

Why wasn't it flagged 15/20 years about Dublin and Croke Park? Dublin played all the 4 in a row against games against Meath in 1991. Drew with Kildare in 93,98 and 2000, Laois 99, all replays in Croker. Don't remember them counties kicking up a fuss at the time? Dublin from 1996-2010 only played 9 out of 60+ championship games outside Croke Park. I'm all for Dublin playing more games outside of Dublin
Post by: From the Bunker on July 03, 2018, 11:00:33 PM
Quote from: Gael85 on July 03, 2018, 10:48:03 PM

Why wasn't it flagged 15/20 years about Dublin and Croke Park? Dublin played all the 4 in a row against games against Meath in 1991. Drew with Kildare in 93,98 and 2000, Laois 99, all replays in Croker. Don't remember them counties kicking up a fuss at the time? Dublin from 1996-2010 only played 9 out of 60+ championship games outside Croke Park. I'm all for Dublin playing more games outside of Dublin

In those days DUBLIN played their home league games in PARNELL PARK! Meath and Kildare had as much experience of Croke Park as Dublin come the business end of championship!
Post by: Gael85 on July 03, 2018, 11:04:31 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 03, 2018, 11:00:33 PM

In those days DUBLIN played their home league games in PARNELL PARK! Meath and Kildare had as much experience of Croke Park as Dublin come the business end of championship!

Dublin played all league in Croke Park from 1990-96 as well.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 04, 2018, 12:03:55 AM
https://twitter.com/seanmcgoldrick1/status/1014269704813338626?s=21
Post by: From the Bunker on July 04, 2018, 12:10:32 AM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DhNo6FKXUAE9H2p.jpg:large)
Post by: J70 on July 04, 2018, 02:59:07 AM
That's all fine lads, but the Dubs are getting two home games while no one else enjoys the same advantage. It's about time there was a stop put to this, whether or not it's too late for this season. At the very least, the venue benefits should not favour one particular team. Kildare have started something.
Post by: Ball Hopper on July 04, 2018, 03:17:50 AM
How many counties will propose alternating home games with Dublin, rather than strictly neutral venues? 

I imagine Kerry and Cork would like such an arrangement. 

Ulster counties might suggest Clones (or the future Casement). 

Galway/Mayo/Roscommon all opt for their county grounds?

Portlaoise/Tullamore/Nowlan Park for Leinster opposition (the opposition choose the ground, under-sized capacity ruled out).?

While we're at it, it need not be limited to Dublin - Kerry and Cork agree with Connacht's three?

Would Ulster say Yes?

Post by: armaghniac on July 04, 2018, 07:05:03 AM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on July 04, 2018, 03:17:50 AM
How many counties will propose alternating home games with Dublin, rather than strictly neutral venues? 

I imagine Kerry and Cork would like such an arrangement. 

Ulster counties might suggest Clones (or the future Casement). 

Galway/Mayo/Roscommon all opt for their county grounds?

Portlaoise/Tullamore/Nowlan Park for Leinster opposition (the opposition choose the ground, under-sized capacity ruled out).?

While we're at it, it need not be limited to Dublin - Kerry and Cork agree with Connacht's three?

Would Ulster say Yes?

The problem here is that the group Dublin is in alternates, does it not? And Kerry would almost always be there, over time the set of counties would vary a bit, most Ulster counties might be there over a few cycles. This would be a use for Casement, but sure the whole championship structure might be different by the time it is built, or NI might be abolished before then with the  money along with it.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 04, 2018, 07:16:10 AM
Quote from: J70 on July 04, 2018, 02:59:07 AM
That's all fine lads, but the Dubs are getting two home games while no one else enjoys the same advantage. It's about time there was a stop put to this, whether or not it's too late for this season. At the very least, the venue benefits should not favour one particular team. Kildare have started something.

Kildare exploited a loophole. As for the round robin for the last eight, the motion that was voted in at congress was every team in the last 8 would have one home game one away and one game played in Croke park. Croke park is not Dublins official home ground so Armagh or Roscommon have a strong case to get their round 3 game played in Parnell park and if the CCCC deem that venue unsuitable then they have to select a neutral venue and some where other than Croke park.
Post by: TheGreatest on July 04, 2018, 08:08:03 AM
Play the 3rd match in Parnell park. All Dublin season tickets get tickets first.

As a fan, more than happy to travel anywhere and give Croke Park game.
Post by: Hound on July 04, 2018, 08:43:16 AM
Quote from: Gael85 on July 03, 2018, 11:04:31 PM

Ah, but nobody wants to hear that! Shure, Dublin were well beatable then anyway

Will Galway complain about Croke Park if we play them in the semi I wonder?
Will Kerry have a moan about the unfairness of Croke Park for an All Ireland final??

Funny, I don't recall Donegal complaining about Dublin's unfair advantage prior to the 2014 All Ireland semi-final?

Bring it on. Anywhere, any ground. If the GAA "grassroots" want less gate receipts and less money, it's fine by me.
Post by: Rossfan on July 04, 2018, 09:00:32 AM
Donegal need to bring a motion to Congress to amend Riail 6.28.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 04, 2018, 09:10:48 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 04, 2018, 08:43:16 AM

Will Kerry have a moan about the unfairness of Croke Park for an All Ireland final??

Funny, I don't recall Donegal complaining about Dublin's unfair advantage prior to the 2014 All Ireland semi-final?

Bring it on. Anywhere, any ground. If the GAA "grassroots" want less gate receipts and less money, it's fine by me.
just because Dublin have had an unfair advantage in the past doesnt mean it shouldnt be addressed now.

There needs to be an amendment to say that there will be one home fixture, one away fixture and one neutral fixture.
Any of that first round of fixtures that dont involve Dublin can be played in Croke Park.

Any argument that Croke Park isnt Dublin's home venue is complete and utter nonsense.
Post by: Hound on July 04, 2018, 10:06:16 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on July 04, 2018, 09:10:48 AM

just because Dublin have had an unfair advantage in the past doesnt mean it shouldnt be addressed now.

There needs to be an amendment to say that there will be one home fixture, one away fixture and one neutral fixture.
Any of that first round of fixtures that dont involve Dublin can be played in Croke Park.

Any argument that Croke Park isnt Dublin's home venue is complete and utter nonsense.
Really. Maybe the rule should also be changed to formally state Croke Park is Dublin's home ground and they can thus train on it whenever they like. And semi final and final should be played on neutral ground also? When Dublin is not involved in a semi and final, I'm sure we'll be happy to loan it out!

The more likely outcome is that the GAA will confirm that Parnell Park is in fact Dublin's home ground. Dublin may request to move their Super 8 home game to Croke Park and CCCC will decide whether that is acceptable. Equally any other county can request to move their home game to a bigger stadium if they wish
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 04, 2018, 10:10:23 AM
Hound,
Are you really trying to argue that Croke Park ISN'T Dublins home ground?
They have played every home league game there for around 7 years and play pretty much every championship game there regardless of it being deemed a home fixture or not.
The fact that Dublin 'declare' Parnell park as their home ground is irrelevant.
Post by: Hound on July 04, 2018, 10:39:38 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on July 04, 2018, 10:10:23 AM
Hound,
They have played every home league game there for around 7 years and play pretty much every championship game there regardless of it being deemed a home fixture or not.
Absolutely we have chosen to move our home games out of Parnell Park to get higher attendance.
You are ignoring my points. You think All Ireland finals and semi finals involving Dublin should not be played in Croke Park. That's fine, good luck with it.

Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 04, 2018, 10:46:53 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 04, 2018, 10:39:38 AM
Hound,
Absolutely we have chosen to move our home games out of Parnell Park to get higher attendance.
You are ignoring my points. You think All Ireland finals and semi finals involving Dublin should not be played in Croke Park. That's fine, good luck with it.

So at what point does a ground become your home ground?
Surely the fact that you play ALL your home games there make it your home ground??
Just because you 'declare' somewhere else means nothing
Post by: Hound on July 04, 2018, 10:58:03 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 04, 2018, 07:16:10 AM

Kildare exploited a loophole. As for the round robin for the last eight, the motion that was voted in at congress was every team in the last 8 would have one home game one away and one game played in Croke park. Croke park is not Dublins official home ground so Armagh or Roscommon have a strong case to get their round 3 game played in Parnell park and if the CCCC deem that venue unsuitable then they have to select a neutral venue and some where other than Croke park.
Exactly
Post by: Rossfan on July 04, 2018, 11:08:03 AM
I presume the Donegal CB have read Riail 6.28? and are just making noise to get a sense of grievance/siege mentality for their lads?
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 04, 2018, 11:23:28 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 04, 2018, 10:39:38 AM
Hound,

On your other point, no one is arguing about changing the AI semi final and finals away from Croke Park, what would be nice would be an even playing field for the Super 8s to start with.
We will just try and address one of Dublins unfair advantages at a time  ;)
Post by: sid waddell on July 04, 2018, 11:36:25 AM
I was totally supportive of Kildare in their fight for a home venue last week, but neither Donegal nor anybody else who are arguing against Dublin has a leg to stand on here.

The Dublin-Donegal game (or whoever was in it) has been fixed for Croke Park since this format was voted in by Congress. There is no question of changing the venue for it.

And there is no difference between Dublin nominating Croke Park as the venue for their home game and Kildare nominating Portlaoise for their home game against Limerick in 2012, or Croke Park as their home venue for league games against Tyrone or Dublin, which they have done.

None whatsoever.

Post by: From the Bunker on July 04, 2018, 11:37:57 AM

You see that is where the problem lies. MONEY.

Money has dictated that Dublin had this unfair advantage for a long time now. (The Dublin) Paying had to be satisfied. Sure this stadium is not big enough and that venue is not safe. Think about the Children. Look at all the money you'd be missing out on. Who cares about the advantages to Dublin Football team or their supporters, sure we are making loads of money which ye will be getting back.

Post by: Farrandeelin on July 04, 2018, 11:39:59 AM
Will Donegal turn up? Will we have a #neutralornowhere campaign?
Post by: Mourne Red on July 04, 2018, 11:40:28 AM
It'll be changed by next year - one home, one away and one neutral.

Home - Croke Park
Away - Whoever they draw
Nuetral - Páirc Uí Chaoimh or Gaelic Grounds

(In relation to Dublin)
Post by: Dire Ear on July 04, 2018, 11:42:16 AM
Show up,  get bate and head home again
Post by: From the Bunker on July 04, 2018, 11:44:29 AM
Porr auld Philly does not know where home is!

https://twitter.com/offtheball/status/1012089439160557573 (https://twitter.com/offtheball/status/1012089439160557573)
Post by: From the Bunker on July 04, 2018, 11:49:45 AM
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/philly-mcmahon-dublin-s-legacy-untarnished-by-croke-park-factor-1.3546003 (https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/philly-mcmahon-dublin-s-legacy-untarnished-by-croke-park-factor-1.3546003)

Asked if their residence there continues to present them with an unfair advantage, McMahon said:

"When Dublin use Croke Park as a home venue, they rent it, so anyone can rent it. It's up to their counties to rent it if they want. It's not as if we're getting something that nobody else can get. If other counties want to rent Croke Park, they can rent it. Just for us, with the fans we have, it probably makes more sense to put it in Croke Park.'
Post by: Rossfan on July 04, 2018, 11:52:27 AM
Did you ever hear such smug 2 fingers to the lot of ye sh1te? Leitrim probably couldn't afford the rent anyway.
Post by: TheGreatest on July 04, 2018, 12:06:46 PM
He's right though, Dublin rent it for the their home league games, which is 3 or 4 games per year it is officially Dublin's home ground.

Leinster council rule it for championship and call the shots and where teams play.

Then HQ from 1/4s (super 8s) on wards call the shots.

Would love to see Dublin play the last match in Parnell Park. Could be dead rubber also.

Post by: J70 on July 04, 2018, 12:14:04 PM

Loophole or not, Kildare appear to have lit a fire under at least parts of the GAA community. We'll see in the long run whether it will peter out or whether Dublin get to keep all of the advantages they enjoy going forward.

And seriously, spare us the "official home ground" nonsense. It is an absolute fact that Donegal will be playing two away games in the Super 8s and Dublin will be playing two home games. The Donegal County Board are absolutely right that this is not a level playing field. And while it is likely too late for this year, there's no harm in trying to see that it gets addressed for the future.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 04, 2018, 12:15:31 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 04, 2018, 12:14:04 PM

Loophole or not, Kildare appear to have lit a fire under at least parts of the GAA community. We'll see in the long run whether it will peter out or whether Dublin get to keep all of the advantages they enjoy going forward.

And seriously, spare us the "official home ground" nonsense. It is an absolute fact that Donegal will be playing two away games in the Super 8s and Dublin will be playing two home games. The Donegal County Board are absolutely right that this is not a level playing field. And while it is likely too late for this year, there's no harm in trying to see that it gets addressed for the future.
100% J70
Post by: J70 on July 04, 2018, 12:21:32 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on July 04, 2018, 11:36:25 AM
I was totally supportive of Kildare in their fight for a home venue last week, but neither Donegal nor anybody else who are arguing against Dublin has a leg to stand on here.

The Dublin-Donegal game (or whoever was in it) has been fixed for Croke Park since this format was voted in by Congress. There is no question of changing the venue for it.

And there is no difference between Dublin nominating Croke Park as the venue for their home game and Kildare nominating Portlaoise for their home game against Limerick in 2012, or Croke Park as their home venue for league games against Tyrone or Dublin, which they have done.

None whatsoever.

Come on Sid, seriously?

There is no difference between Dublin playing every home league this decade and just about every championship game, home OR away, in Croke Park, slap bang in the centre of the city, closer to their southside players' homes than Parnell Park, on the front doorstep of a massive supporter base, and Kildare moving a handful of games to Croke Park or Portlaoise?
Post by: sid waddell on July 04, 2018, 01:26:49 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 04, 2018, 12:21:32 PM

None whatsoever.

Come on Sid, seriously?

There is no difference between Dublin playing every home league this decade and just about every championship game, home OR away, in Croke Park, slap bang in the centre of the city, closer to their southside players' homes than Parnell Park, on the front doorstep of a massive supporter base, and Kildare moving a handful of games to Croke Park or Portlaoise?
In procedural terms there is no difference at all.

In terms of whether Dublin playing in Croke Park is a bigger advantage to them than it is to Kildare when they play in Croke Park or Portlaoise as a nominated "home" venue, that's a completely different question which probably has a completely different answer, but that's not the question at hand.

The relevant question is the procedural one.
Post by: J70 on July 04, 2018, 01:36:02 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on July 04, 2018, 01:26:49 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 04, 2018, 12:21:32 PM

None whatsoever.

Come on Sid, seriously?

In procedural terms there is no difference at all.

In terms of whether Dublin playing in Croke Park is a bigger advantage to them than it is to Kildare when they play in Croke Park or Portlaoise as a nominated "home" venue, that's a completely different question which probably has a completely different answer, but that's not the question at hand.

The relevant question is the procedural one.

This time around, probably.

But "procedural" is not what this is really about. I seriously doubt if Donegal are entertaining any REAL notions that this particular game will be anywhere except Croke Park. But going forward, it absolutely needs to be addressed. Like I said, Dublin with two home matches and Donegal with two away, while the other six have one home, one away and one neutral is simply not fair.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 04, 2018, 02:14:24 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on July 04, 2018, 12:15:31 PM

100% J70

Spot on J70

Funny how Croker isn't an advantage to Dublin yet they don't want to give it up 🤔
Post by: TheGreatest on July 04, 2018, 02:30:09 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 04, 2018, 02:14:24 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on July 04, 2018, 12:15:31 PM

100% J70

Spot on J70

Funny how Croker isn't an advantage to Dublin yet they don't want to give it up 🤔

More than happy to. Its HQ CCCC that make the calls on this, Dublin will play anywhere they are told.
Post by: easytiger95 on July 04, 2018, 02:37:10 PM
I'm not going to get into the rights or wrongs of Dublin's use of Croke Park or the supposed advantages that it gives - I've done it before, everyone knows each others views on this and there is no need to jump on the carousel.

However, the way this phase of the competition has been formulated is flawed, fatally, I would say. Whatever about the reality of competitive advantages accrued, or the reality that Dublin have the largest support etc etc, the perception of unfairness is as dangerous to the integrity of the competition as actual unfairness.

As was pointed out earlier, Congress makes the rules, and the CCCC implements them but the DCB should make it clear, very quickly, that they are open to any solution that means they play only once in Croke Park during the Super 8 series.

Post by: Keane on July 04, 2018, 02:53:18 PM
Dublin could rent Fitzgerald's Stadium any time they want, presumably that doesn't change the fact that it's Kerry's home ground.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 04, 2018, 03:43:24 PM

Maybe you took me up wrong so to clarify i think its ridiculous that Dublin will get two last eight games in Dublin while the rest are on the road for two of their 3 games however my last post was pointing out the fact of what was voted in by congress, e.g that all round 1 games must be played in Croke park and Dublins round 3 game is to be played at home and nonsense or not Croke Park is not their official home ground.   
Post by: illdecide on July 04, 2018, 03:49:03 PM
#parnellparkornowhere
Post by: Syferus on July 04, 2018, 03:58:23 PM
I'm just glad our game against Dublin will count as our away one. (Sorry to the one Armagh lad with a flag up in Castlerea).

Donegal are getting screwed the most of any team in the Super 8 with this game and having to trek to Dublin for a 7pm game because HQ doesn't want the soccer jackeens staying in the boozer for the WC final.
Post by: TheGreatest on July 04, 2018, 04:06:19 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 04, 2018, 03:58:23 PM
I'm just glad our game against Dublin will count as our away one. (Sorry to the one Armagh lad with a flag up in Castlerea).

Donegal are getting screwed the most of any team in the Super 8 with this game and having to trek to Dublin for a 7pm game because HQ doesn't want the soccer jackeens staying in the boozer for the WC final.

Your are correct,  its only Dublin Jackeens that want to watch the World cup final.

In fairness it should be a triple header on the Saturday and the 4th game at either 1, 1:30 or 2 on the Sunday to give people a chance to see it.

Sure didn't they move games for the champions league final? Don't think it was a Dublin game. 
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 04, 2018, 05:39:50 PM
What's the feeling in Donegal about their team's chances in this game? What are the chances of Donegal doing a repeat of 2014?
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on July 04, 2018, 07:47:17 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on July 04, 2018, 05:39:50 PM
What's the feeling in Donegal about their team's chances in this game? What are the chances of Donegal doing a repeat of 2014?

Would you ever give over with your trying to talk about the match...
Post by: Dire Ear on July 04, 2018, 08:05:27 PM
 ;D ;D
Post by: Whitnail on July 04, 2018, 08:07:38 PM
Some sharp shootng from our young lads this year ....whether they can replicate that at Croker remains to be seen. If they can manage a goal or two it'll make it interesting anyway.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 04, 2018, 08:12:12 PM
I suspect Ryan McHugh will be targeted physically early on.
Post by: J70 on July 04, 2018, 08:33:28 PM

I felt we would give the Dubs a good rattle before the news came through about Paddy's cruciate. I think our hopes faded significantly with his diagnosis, however. His mere presence opens up a lot of space for other players, while he is well able to win ball even when double-marked. And there is his long range point taking on the loop. He had a field day against Dublin in the league game this year, although I'm sure he would have been more tightly marked this time around. But his loss will be very significantly felt. It means we are going to be much more one dimensional in attack, with much of the play being repetitive running and overlaps, instead of having the option of launching it to the corners or looking for him on the loop.

Unless of course they throw Murphy up there to be the target man? Which of course leaves us down a playmaker and fielders in the centre of the field.

I think we're in bonus territory anyway. No one expected an Ulster title this year, although we hoped to make the Super 8s. So hopefully we won't see any return to the blanket defense stuff. Give it a go and let the chips fall where they may in all three games.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 04, 2018, 09:34:08 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 04, 2018, 08:33:28 PM

I felt we would give the Dubs a good rattle before the news came through about Paddy's cruciate. I think our hopes faded significantly with his diagnosis, however. His mere presence opens up a lot of space for other players, while he is well able to win ball even when double-marked. And there is his long range point taking on the loop. He had a field day against Dublin in the league game this year, although I'm sure he would have been more tightly marked this time around. But his loss will be very significantly felt. It means we are going to be much more one dimensional in attack, with much of the play being repetitive running and overlaps, instead of having the option of launching it to the corners or looking for him on the loop.

Unless of course they throw Murphy up there to be the target man? Which of course leaves us down a playmaker and fielders in the centre of the field.

I think we're in bonus territory anyway. No one expected an Ulster title this year, although we hoped to make the Super 8s. So hopefully we won't see any return to the blanket defense stuff. Give it a go and let the chips fall where they may in all three games.

Having only seen Donegal on television this year I may not be beat places to comment but I tend to agree with what you said. Any chance you have if winning went with McBrearty. I still think you will give Dublin a good game and give it a good go. Live nothing to lose anyway. It could well come down to a shootout between yourselves and Tyrone in the last game. Is that in Donegal?

That is assumming Tyrone beat cork and you both beat us/Roscommon
Post by: omagh_gael on July 04, 2018, 10:20:22 PM
Yup, Tyrone/Cork play Donegal in Ballybofey in The last round.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 04, 2018, 10:32:46 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 04, 2018, 08:33:28 PM

There's no doubting that Paddy McBrearty is a huge loss but Donegal seem to have put a very useful team together (they are Ulster champions) and they have a very positive attitude and great self belief. I expect them to give a very good account of themselves.
Post by: Rossfan on July 05, 2018, 11:06:20 AM
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/ciarán-murphy-donegal-dublin-does-away-with-idea-of-fairness-1.3553872?mode=amp
Post by: seafoid on July 05, 2018, 11:15:47 AM
The Super 8 advantages the counties with the deepest squads.

In 2014 McGuinness pulled off a masterstroke
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vPiqcEqVu7g
but under the new format that wouldn't be enough.

Billy Fitzpatrick (KK hurler) :
"You'd wonder what might have happened afterwards had there been a back door at the time. Being beaten by so much was a surprise. Being beaten wasn't. That was always capable of happening with Wexford. Every few years they were going to beat you."

The Super 8 gives the Dubs and Kerry time to revise.
It makes winning Sam harder for everyone else.

The GAA is still left with a dud model that people are turning away from.
Post by: Rossfan on July 05, 2018, 11:24:17 AM
Seafóidín  can you give us your thoughts on how the football championship can be "undudded"?
Post by: seafoid on July 05, 2018, 11:55:22 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 05, 2018, 11:24:17 AM
Seafóidín  can you give us your thoughts on how the football championship can be "undudded"?
I'll give it a lash

Best practice :
Success = talent development + team organisation + group progress + psychology

Result = balanced competition ( say 5 non Dub non Kerry sams per decade)

Current practice :

Success = talent development + team organisation + group progress + psychology + money + S&C

Result: Say 2 non Dub non Kerry Sams per decade

So :

Take the money out of the equation. Everyone gets the same
Do something about S&C. Not sure what
Develop talent across the counties systematically
Change the championship. Maybe into 2  I am not sure.

I was just thinking about rural depopulation. Could there be a solution for that ? Eg Cavan, ros, Monaghan etc to get surplus players from elsewhere......

We just need a system with more competition.
Post by: Hound on July 05, 2018, 12:17:42 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 05, 2018, 11:15:47 AM

"You'd wonder what might have happened afterwards had there been a back door at the time. Being beaten by so much was a surprise. Being beaten wasn't. That was always capable of happening with Wexford. Every few years they were going to beat you."

What complete and utter hogwash.

It's gives everyone else time to revise too. It's less likely that Dublin and Kerry will be the ones getting a second chance! Roscommon have lost once already, they could technically lose another 2 times and still make an All Ireland semi final.

If Galway lost to Kerry in S8 and meet again in AI final, they'd have a great chance to put what they learnt in defeat into practice in the final.

Maybe we should have a rule that if Dublin or Kerry lose once, then they're gone.
Post by: seafoid on July 05, 2018, 12:27:33 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 05, 2018, 12:17:42 PM

It's gives everyone else time to revise too. It's less likely that Dublin and Kerry will be the ones getting a second chance! Roscommon have lost once already, they could technically lose another 2 times and still make an All Ireland semi final.

If Galway lost to Kerry in S8 and meet again in AI final, they'd have a great chance to put what they learnt in defeat into practice in the final.

Maybe we should have a rule that if Dublin or Kerry lose once, then they're gone.
Don't agree. We  just finished the longest period of hurling hegemony and now we have one in football.There was a 20 year interval where Sams were spread around a bit.

Second chances benefit the most powerful counties. It is very hard to beat a top County twice in the one year.

What was the point of the back dor?  What has resulted ?
Post by: Hound on July 05, 2018, 01:49:28 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 05, 2018, 12:27:33 PM

Don't agree. We  just finished the longest period of hurling hegemony and now we have one in football.There was a 20 year interval where Sams were spread around a bit.

Second chances benefit the most powerful counties. It is very hard to beat a top County twice in the one year.

Second chances never benefited Dublin. In fact, we may very well have won an All Ireland under Pillar Caffrey if there was no back door, as we were often beaten by teams coming through the backdoor.

Dublin would have had far more straightforward All Irelands in 2016 and 2017 had Mayo not coming storming back through the back door, and pushed us to the pin of our collars.

Back door did result in Galway winning an All Ireland.
Tyrone I'd say have won the most All Irelands through the back door.  How many had they won before the introduction of the back door?
Post by: omagh_gael on July 05, 2018, 02:39:51 PM
Two out of three (2005 and 2008) both were through the back door. Beating Dublin in both those years was the moment our seasons really kicked into gear.
Post by: Hound on July 05, 2018, 03:05:22 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 05, 2018, 02:39:51 PM
Two out of three (2005 and 2008) both were through the back door. Beating Dublin in both those years was the moment our seasons really kicked into gear.
Croke Park wasn't dull on those two days!
Post by: Rossfan on July 05, 2018, 03:52:35 PM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2018/0705/976609-dublin-donegal-croke/
Post by: twohands!!! on July 05, 2018, 03:55:02 PM
Looking at the Dublin v Donegal group, it definitely looks like a serious possibility it will come down to score difference, especially if Dublin win all three of their games. 
If Dublin win all three of their games it leaves 3 other games in the group.

Tyrone/Cork v Armagh/Roscommon
Armagh/Roscommon v Donegal
Donegal v Tyrone/Cork

If the group ends up with 1 win each for the 3 non-Dublin teams, the team that progresses is the side with the best score difference.

A big component of this is likely to be not letting Dublin run up a big score - they won their 3 Leinster games by an average of 20 points.

I was also thinking of whether a team e.g. Dublin who has 2 wins going in the final round and a big score difference might be tempted to throw their final game.
I can see squad rotation (players with knocks/minor injuries being rested) but letting weaker opposition through is only going to benefit the winner of the other group by giving them an easier semi-final.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 05, 2018, 03:56:30 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 05, 2018, 03:52:35 PM

Dead cert that the motion to take Dublin out of Croker in the Super 8 passes at Congress.

Post by: omagh_gael on July 05, 2018, 04:16:21 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 05, 2018, 03:05:22 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 05, 2018, 02:39:51 PM
Croke Park wasn't dull on those two days!

Without doubt the best games I've ever been at. The noise when Dublin went on that run of points in the 2nd half in the 05 replay will never be eclipsed from my point of view.

Watched it there on youtube, crap quality but gives a flavour of the craic!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zw80TtJAHe4

Football has changed something serious in the intervening years. The amount of long kick passing into the forwards in the highlights alone is unreal.
Post by: Hound on July 05, 2018, 05:28:09 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 05, 2018, 03:55:02 PM
I was also thinking of whether a team e.g. Dublin who has 2 wins going in the final round and a big score difference might be tempted to throw their final game.
I can see squad rotation (players with knocks/minor injuries being rested) but letting weaker opposition through is only going to benefit the winner of the other group by giving them an easier semi-final.

One thing for sure is that the Round Robin will bring in controversy. And because it's the GAA that controversy will be extrapoliated and amplfied and JoeDuffified, etc. Maybe not this year, but some year.

Imagine a situation, like Leinster minor this year. Meath, having already qualified, know that if they lose to Wicklow the Dubs are out, but if they win they'll save the Dubs. Meath rested a lot of lads because the semi final was only 3 days away, so they would have been very silly not to.

But imagine that in the senior, there'll be all sorts of nonsense. And with the semi-finals only one week after the final Super 8 game, you can be pretty much guarantee that any team already qualified after 2 games will rest lads and experiment with lads in their 3rd game. They'd be mad not to. But that could very well advantage and disadvantage teams in their group, leading to much crying and moaning!
Post by: macdanger2 on July 05, 2018, 09:57:39 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 05, 2018, 03:52:35 PM

Fair play to Donegal & Kildare
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 05, 2018, 10:54:10 PM
Common sense a year late is better than no common sense at all. Very harsh on Donegal though.
Post by: sid waddell on July 05, 2018, 11:13:09 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 05, 2018, 01:49:28 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 05, 2018, 12:27:33 PM

Second chances never benefited Dublin. In fact, we may very well have won an All Ireland under Pillar Caffrey if there was no back door, as we were often beaten by teams coming through the backdoor.

Dublin would have had far more straightforward All Irelands in 2016 and 2017 had Mayo not coming storming back through the back door, and pushed us to the pin of our collars.

Back door did result in Galway winning an All Ireland.
Tyrone I'd say have won the most All Irelands through the back door.  How many had they won before the introduction of the back door?
2010. Pat Gilroy probably wouldn't have been around in 2011 had Dublin shipping five goals to Meath resulted in elimination from the 2010 championship, rather than a successful run in the back door. That back door run in 2010 was a key part of that team's formation, even though they fell just short against Cork.

From 2001-2010, Dublin weren't really considered one of the genuinely elite teams. There was an element of flash in the pan about 2002, while under Pillar Caffrey, they were still always a notch or two below Kerry, Tyrone, and up to 2005/06, Armagh.

In terms of winning or reaching All-Ireland finals, the back door has undoubtedly benefitted the stronger teams of the time.

During the back door era, the genuinely elite teams of the time have been:
2001: Kerry/Meath/Galway
2002: Kerry/Armagh
2003-2006: Kerry/Tyrone/Armagh
2007-2010: Kerry/Tyrone/Cork
2011-2012: Kerry/Dublin/Donegal/Cork/Mayo
2013-2014: Dublin/Mayo/Kerry/Donegal
2015 - present: Dublin/Mayo/Kerry

Teams to reach back door finals in that time are:
2001: Galway (won)
2002: Kerry (lost)
2003: Armagh (lost)
2005: Tyrone (won)
2006: Kerry (won)
2007: Cork (lost)
2008: Kerry and Tyrone
2009: Kerry (won)
2010: Cork and Down
2016: Mayo (lost)
2017: Mayo (lost)

Of those 13 back door finalists, only Down in 2010 were a "dark horse". It's arguable as to whether Cork were genuinely elite class by 2007, but they were certainly one of the top three or four teams in the country. 11 of those 13 back door finalists were solidly in the elite category of the time.

Since 2001, the only instances where one of the elite teams of the time, having won their provincial championship, have surprisingly lost out to a non-elite team have been:
2004: Armagh losing to Fermanagh
2007: Tyrone losing to Meath
2010: Kerry losing to Down

At a push you could throw in Galway losing to Donegal in 2003 and Armagh losing to Wexford in 2008, as there were still notions at the time that Galway 2003 and Armagh 2008 were still just about on the coat-tails of the elite, but in reality both of those teams were by then on an irrevocable downward trajectory.

Tyrone's loss to Dublin in 2010 was unexpected, but time would prove that that game was where Dublin permanently traded places with Tyrone as regards which team was a contender and which was an also-ran.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 05, 2018, 11:52:18 PM
Good post there sid waddell!
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 12, 2018, 02:05:55 PM
How many of the Donegal team who started the Ulster Final were u21 last year?
Post by: J70 on July 12, 2018, 04:29:49 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 12, 2018, 02:05:55 PM

Donegal line-up in AI U-21 semi last year (I've bolded those who started or came on in this year's Ulster final):

Donegal: D Rodgers; C Morrison, S McMenamin, B McCole; C Mulligan, D Ó Baoill, E Bán Gallagher; T McClenaghan, J McGee (0-01); M Carroll (0-01), S McBrearty (0-01), M Coyle; L Connor, M Langan (0-03, 2f), J Brennan.
Subs: C Doherty for Coyle (14), N O'Donnell (0-02) for McBrearty (23), E O'Donnell (0-01) for Connors (37), R Carr for Mulligan (42), C McGonagle for McCleneghan (49), McBrearty for O Baoill (54)

Donegal line-up in this year's Ulster final

Donegal: S Patton; P McGrath (0-01), S McMenamin, E Ban Gallagher (1-01); F McGlynn, P Brennan (0-02), R McHugh (1-00); H McFadden, L McLoone; O MacNiallais (0-01), M Langan (0-01), C Thompson (0-03, 1f); P McBrearty (0-01), M Murphy (0-04, 3f), J Brennan (0-01).

Subs: D O Baoill for McBrearty (38), C Ward for P Brennan (55), A Thompson for MacNiallais (60), C Mulligan (0-01) for Langan (63), M McHugh (0-01) for C Thompson (64), D O'Connor (0-01) for J Brennan (67)

From last year's U-21s, Jason McGee played for the seniors also last year, but played only U-20 this year. Niall O'Donnell was with the seniors for this year's league, but played U-20 championship, although there is speculation he could be brought in after McBrearty's injury.

McClenaghan and Stephen McBrearty played a fair bit during this year's league, but I think McBrearty was injured earlier in the championship. Could be in contention for the Super 8s.

Micheal Carroll played U-21 and senior last season, but he has opted out for this summer.

Post by: tonto1888 on July 12, 2018, 06:41:03 PM
Has yet man Mullins been dropped completely from Donegal or is he injured?
Post by: J70 on July 12, 2018, 08:16:34 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 12, 2018, 06:41:03 PM
Has yet man Mullins been dropped completely from Donegal or is he injured?

He's been injured. Think he is back in training now though.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 13, 2018, 09:59:25 AM
Quote from: J70 on July 12, 2018, 04:29:49 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 12, 2018, 02:05:55 PM

Donegal line-up in AI U-21 semi last year (I've bolded those who started or came on in this year's Ulster final):

Donegal: D Rodgers; C Morrison, S McMenamin, B McCole; C Mulligan, D Ó Baoill, E Bán Gallagher; T McClenaghan, J McGee (0-01); M Carroll (0-01), S McBrearty (0-01), M Coyle; L Connor, M Langan (0-03, 2f), J Brennan.
Subs: C Doherty for Coyle (14), N O'Donnell (0-02) for McBrearty (23), E O'Donnell (0-01) for Connors (37), R Carr for Mulligan (42), C McGonagle for McCleneghan (49), McBrearty for O Baoill (54)

Donegal line-up in this year's Ulster final

Donegal: S Patton; P McGrath (0-01), S McMenamin, E Ban Gallagher (1-01); F McGlynn, P Brennan (0-02), R McHugh (1-00); H McFadden, L McLoone; O MacNiallais (0-01), M Langan (0-01), C Thompson (0-03, 1f); P McBrearty (0-01), M Murphy (0-04, 3f), J Brennan (0-01).

Subs: D O Baoill for McBrearty (38), C Ward for P Brennan (55), A Thompson for MacNiallais (60), C Mulligan (0-01) for Langan (63), M McHugh (0-01) for C Thompson (64), D O'Connor (0-01) for J Brennan (67)

From last year's U-21s, Jason McGee played for the seniors also last year, but played only U-20 this year. Niall O'Donnell was with the seniors for this year's league, but played U-20 championship, although there is speculation he could be brought in after McBrearty's injury.

McClenaghan and Stephen McBrearty played a fair bit during this year's league, but I think McBrearty was injured earlier in the championship. Could be in contention for the Super 8s.

Micheal Carroll played U-21 and senior last season, but he has opted out for this summer.

Cheers, thats quite a lot then although Galway would have a similar amount if McDaid hadn't gone to the AFL and Daly had suffered an injury. I think the 2017 U21 championship was one of the strongest in recent years, looks like Kerry will have 5 starters on Saturday from last years 21 team.

Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 07:11:35 PM
Donegal settling down after a jittery start.
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2018, 07:14:33 PM
Commentator ....'Donegal have stolen into the lead'.....
Post by: armaghniac on July 14, 2018, 07:20:47 PM
usual boo boys on the Hill.
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 07:21:51 PM
It's an awful shame McBrearty isn't playing.
This game is made for him.
Post by: yellowcard on July 14, 2018, 07:28:08 PM
Dublin's full back line in all sorts of trouble, great goal chance and then Dublin get a goal the opposite side.
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 07:28:30 PM
That's championship football.
Donegal punished.
You can't miss a goal chance like that.
Post by: gallsman on July 14, 2018, 07:28:48 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 07:21:51 PM
It's an awful shame McBrearty isn't playing.
This game is made for him.

Yup, a good few chances you can picture him taking.

Dublin getting some soft frees.

Some number of steps taken for that goal by Scully.
Post by: joemamas on July 14, 2018, 07:29:12 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 14, 2018, 07:14:33 PM
Commentator ....'Donegal have stolen into the lead'.....

Canning is such a condescending tool
Post by: Hardy on July 14, 2018, 07:29:26 PM
8 steps. Why is this never pulled when there's a goal at the end of it?
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 07:31:29 PM
Brennan needs to get a score soon or I'd say he'll be subbed.
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2018, 07:31:50 PM
Donegal need to stay with them
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2018, 07:32:57 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 07:31:29 PM

Really? He's winning ball....
Post by: gallsman on July 14, 2018, 07:33:28 PM
Brennan and McHugh snatching at a few shots here. Just need to settle down a bit.

Brian Howard is some player. Dublin have an absolute conveyor belt of half backs the last few years.
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 07:34:13 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 14, 2018, 07:32:57 PM

Really? He's winning ball....

He's winning ball and either losing it or ballooning it wide.
Post by: yellowcard on July 14, 2018, 07:36:02 PM

Just can't finish but he's winning an awful lot of ball and looks a threat.
Post by: joemamas on July 14, 2018, 07:38:06 PM
Canning please shut up.
Has to be his most pathetic game and that is saying something
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 14, 2018, 07:38:45 PM
Dubs are a bit off their game today. Unusually sloppy stuff from them.
Post by: J70 on July 14, 2018, 07:39:54 PM
This is going to end with a lot of wondering about what might have been. We should at the very least be level. McBrearty would be having a field day here.

Blowing a great opportunity here.
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2018, 07:40:56 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 14, 2018, 07:39:54 PM
This is going to end with a lot of wondering about what might have been. We should at the very least be level. McBrearty would be having a field day here.

Blowing a great opportunity here.

Yes the McBrearty effect pronounced here.
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 07:41:56 PM
Donegal will be happy enough all the same.
They've left about 1-4 behind them and they're still in the game.
Post by: inthrough on July 14, 2018, 07:49:09 PM
Can't help but feel that Dublin are playing in second gear here. Donegal nee to back themselves & really take the game to Dublin if they are to have any chance.
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2018, 07:52:23 PM
You need Murphy everywhere. Even though he's puffin away he's still 20 to 20. You'd imagine last 15 they'll stick him beside Brennan.
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 07:56:59 PM
Ah well.
Post by: gallsman on July 14, 2018, 07:57:21 PM
That'll be that alright.
Post by: Schkite on July 14, 2018, 08:00:11 PM
Strange defending from Donegal there, most of them swarmed to the ball leaving space in behind for a couple of waiting Dubs.

That's that alright you would imagine.
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 08:02:12 PM
Murphy has to go in on the edge of the square now.
Post by: longballin on July 14, 2018, 08:03:52 PM
Donegal giving it a right lash but Dubs are class.
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 08:04:15 PM
Ryan McHugh is some bit of stuff.
Post by: inthrough on July 14, 2018, 08:08:49 PM
Donegal doing well but unforced errors are the last thing they need.
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 08:09:43 PM
Murphy is going to be wiped out for the last 15 min of this game if they leave him where he is.
Post by: yellowcard on July 14, 2018, 08:12:49 PM
Some of Dublin's finishing today has been woeful. They've left about 3-6 behind.
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 08:13:40 PM
What a catch by McCaffrey.
Dublin putting on an exhibition of high-fielding today.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 14, 2018, 08:17:18 PM
How was that not a black card?
Post by: yellowcard on July 14, 2018, 08:17:59 PM
Fenton has been majestic in the second half.
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 08:18:55 PM
Donegal being destroyed on their own kick-outs.
Tough for the young keeper, but he'll learn from this.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 14, 2018, 08:19:26 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 14, 2018, 08:12:49 PM
Some of Dublin's finishing today has been woeful. They've left about 3-6 behind.

Loads of handling errors from the Dubs today.

It would cost most sides any chance of victory but they are so good they can still win despite it.
Post by: yellowcard on July 14, 2018, 08:20:14 PM
Dinegal have shown enough to think that they will beat Roscommon and set up a showdown with Tyrone for a place in the semi finals. It's 50/50 as to who will go through with Dublin I feel.
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2018, 08:22:54 PM
Murphy is wearing shoes.
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 08:24:18 PM
Some of these younger Donegal lads need to change their S&C programme I think.
Over-developed upper bodies.
It's a running game.
Post by: yellowcard on July 14, 2018, 08:26:38 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 14, 2018, 08:22:54 PM
Murphy is wearing shoes.

He could kick 50s in sandals.
Post by: Over the Bar on July 14, 2018, 08:27:09 PM
With all this hand-passing terrible spectacle Throw-Ball must be vomiting his Buckfast over his 'I Hate Tyrone' t-shirt ....
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 08:27:50 PM
Scoring difference probably won't make much difference in this group, but it's no harm if Donegal can tack on another couple of points.
Post by: bennydorano on July 14, 2018, 08:29:13 PM
Trying to keep it tight scorewise - could be as good as a point. Donegal are playing in the last few minutes like they think so.
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 08:29:24 PM
Nuke the Hill.
Post by: Jayop on July 14, 2018, 08:29:49 PM
Dublin boring the life of everyone now. Not a word will be said about it.
Post by: yellowcard on July 14, 2018, 08:29:57 PM
Dublin playing keep ball defensive muck for the last 10 minutes. Ciaran Kilkenny syndrome rubbing off. Horrible to watch.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 14, 2018, 08:30:04 PM
The referee can call for steps any time Kilkenny gets on it. Puke football thoughj.
Post by: longballin on July 14, 2018, 08:30:10 PM
horrible.. Dubs capable of so much better
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 08:31:33 PM
Kilkenny turned around to run back into his own half with the ball there.
Kick him ten feet up in the air.
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2018, 08:32:00 PM
I think it's class. You've done the hard work. Now suck the life outta them.
Post by: J70 on July 14, 2018, 08:32:47 PM
I'd do the same if I was the Dubs. Nothing wrong with it.
Post by: Jayop on July 14, 2018, 08:32:51 PM
The most cynical team in Ireland. Media darlings though so Rte say nothing. Twice in the second half Dublin players dragged out of players through on goals. Will brolly have a 'forget about them as men' rant? Will he f**k.
Post by: Jayop on July 14, 2018, 08:33:54 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 14, 2018, 08:32:47 PM
I'd do the same if I was the Dubs. Nothing wrong with it.

They can do what they want. It's the hypocrisy that they do that and foul like f**k and nothing will be said.
Post by: yellowcard on July 14, 2018, 08:34:47 PM
Bullshit, it's rank to watch. The object of the game is to attack and score not play keep ball in midfield.
Post by: longballin on July 14, 2018, 08:35:25 PM
I like the Dubs but that was cynical muck
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 14, 2018, 08:36:10 PM
Dubs well off their game today but can still afford to play keep ball for the last 10 minutes.
Post by: bennydorano on July 14, 2018, 08:37:49 PM
Chink of light there for the other teams, Dublin don't look super. Paddy McBrearty would have made some difference. Tyrone should run them very very close.
Post by: joemamas on July 14, 2018, 08:37:56 PM
Quote from: longballin on July 14, 2018, 08:35:25 PM

Pure and unadulterated shit.
Post by: SouthDublinBro on July 14, 2018, 08:40:08 PM
 ;D Comfortable win. The begrudgers are seething.
Post by: Throw ball on July 14, 2018, 08:41:35 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 14, 2018, 08:37:56 PM
Quote from: longballin on July 14, 2018, 08:35:25 PM

Pure and unadulterated shit.

Agree. But thought Donegal would have pushed up - maybe they were concerned with scoring difference.
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 08:42:31 PM
I'd like to hear what Lee Keegan has to say about the game.
It's a pity Brolly won't let anyone else speak.
Post by: Carbery on July 14, 2018, 08:42:56 PM
Jesus, Lee Keegan is hard to listen to.  Always interrupting the other two analysts.
Post by: Jayop on July 14, 2018, 08:43:26 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 08:42:31 PM
I'd like to hear what Lee Keegan has to say about the game.
It's a pity Brolly won't let anyone else speak.

Nothing new there. Brolly is a disgrace and the single worst thing about the gaa.
Post by: longballin on July 14, 2018, 08:46:29 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on July 14, 2018, 08:40:08 PM

not a begrudger have great time for Dublin but disappointing to see youse reduce yourselves to that muck
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2018, 08:51:31 PM
Up to Donegal to push up and flood their half back line. They didn't though for fear. Then Dublin completely right to keep ball untouched.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on July 14, 2018, 08:52:24 PM
Quote from: Carbery on July 14, 2018, 08:42:56 PM
Jesus, Lee Keegan is hard to listen to.  Always interrupting the other two analysts.
I think this is his first time on the panel so he deserves a pass - Brolly hadn't analyzed a game in 10 years, his only remit is to cause a bit of controversy if possible.
Post by: inthrough on July 14, 2018, 09:01:15 PM
Dublin hugely the better team & well worth the win. Cluxton was immense & the Dublin midfield were brilliant.

Like a lot of others I didn't like the "keep ball" stuff in the last 10 minutes & it's a pity Donegal didn't land a few hefty wallops on the Dubs during this period. If you are going to engage in that sort of carry on then there should be a price to be paid.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 14, 2018, 09:03:49 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 14, 2018, 08:34:47 PM
Bullshit, it's rank to watch. The object of the game is to attack and score not play keep ball in midfield.

The object of the game is to score more than your opponents. Dublin done that
Post by: sid waddell on July 14, 2018, 09:08:39 PM
Dublin were totally right to play keep ball.

There are four minutes of the five allotted injury time minutes left.

Your opposition has 14 men in its own half.

Why wouldn't you play the ball the around?

The only team wasting time was Donegal, and it was their own time they were wasting.

If Donegal want to waste two or three minutes of the time they have to get back into the game, that's not Dublin's problem at all.

What Dublin did was common sense, what Donegal did in not pushing up to try and get the ball back was idiocy.

Post by: longballin on July 14, 2018, 09:11:08 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on July 14, 2018, 09:08:39 PM
Dublin were totally right to play keep ball.

There are four minutes of the five allotted injury time minutes left.

Your opposition has 14 men in its own half.

Why wouldn't you play the ball the around?

The only team wasting time was Donegal, and it was their own time they were wasting.

If Donegal want to waste two or three minutes of the time they have to get back into the game, that's not Dublin's problem at all.

What Dublin did was common sense, what Donegal did in not pushing up to try and get the ball back was idiocy.

At least we have the hurling to enjoy.
Post by: yellowcard on July 14, 2018, 09:13:18 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on July 14, 2018, 08:40:08 PM

Far from a begrudged either but that was embarrassing stuff the last 10/15 minutes. Just sucked the life out of the game and was something we haven't often seen from the Dubs who have rarely resorted to keeping possession just for the sake of it (bar Kilkenny).

I really hope it was a once off.
Post by: longballin on July 14, 2018, 09:18:56 PM
same as that. For the so-called greatest time of all time (though I think that title belongs the Kerry 75-86) it was demeaning. Ok from a limited team maybe but Dublin dont need to do that.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 14, 2018, 09:24:05 PM
All the people complaining about keep ball, which Kilkenny started! Donegal to blame by not pushing out man on man! Dublin were trying this to drag Donegal way out of their defensive set up! I As they needed the scores, the majority of Donegal men were lying bck in their half of the field. meant they were as culpable as Dublin
Post by: StephenC on July 14, 2018, 09:24:47 PM
Well done Dublin. Very comfortable win for them;much more so that the final score suggests. No problem with their keep-ball at the end - it was up to us to go and chase the game. Our lads looked tired.

Paddy was badly missed. Lot of responsibility on Jamie's shoulders and feel the pressure got to him a bit - as it did to Patton. Kick outs were shakey and Dublin dominated midfield. Dublin's high fielding a joy to watch.

Massive game in the Hyde next weekend.
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 09:27:05 PM
I don't mind Dublin doing it to draw out defenders, but there were times where they were counter-attacking with numbers in support and they just stopped and turned back.
Kilkenny in particular did this at least twice, running backwards towards his own goal.
Horrible to watch.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 14, 2018, 09:29:09 PM
Dublin should leave kilkenny at full forward, he look bad running the other direction that close to goal!
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 14, 2018, 09:33:45 PM
I know the odds on it happening are slim but I would love it if Tyrone beat them next weekend and Donegal win their next 2 leaving Dublin needing score difference to get through after Roscommon. That last 15 minutes could haunt them in that scenario.
Post by: rodney trotter on July 14, 2018, 09:52:03 PM
Been a poor enough Championship so far. All the provinical finals were one sided. Dublin v Donegal today was average. Watching Dublin in Croke Park is boring. They know they will find another gear and put teams away. At least they are out of their comfort zone next week.
Post by: thewobbler on July 14, 2018, 10:12:20 PM
We will find ourselves with a "no passing backwards over the halfway line" rule in either this congress or next, and the game will be much the better for it.

Call it smart football from Dublin. Call it just desserts for Donegal not pushing every man up one-on-one. Call it what you like for all I care. It's indefensible. Sport must be entertaining to watch otherwise we might as well just go to f**king mass instead. And watching one team pass the ball around in their own half for 15 minutes is as far from entertainment as it gets.
Post by: sid waddell on July 14, 2018, 10:17:34 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 14, 2018, 10:12:20 PM
We will find ourselves with a "no passing backwards over the halfway line" rule in either this congress or next, and the game will be much the better for it.
We won't and it won't.

Well actually we might on the first part, idiotic motions on playing rules which are soundly defeated is part of what the GAA is.

Quote from: thewobbler on July 14, 2018, 10:12:20 PMCall it smart football from Dublin. Call it just desserts for Donegal not pushing every man up one-on-one. Call it what you like for all I care. It's indefensible. Sport must be entertaining to watch otherwise we might as well just go to f**king mass instead. And watching one team pass the ball around in their own half for 15 minutes is as far from entertainment as it gets.
Calm down, Helen Lovejoy.
Post by: thewobbler on July 14, 2018, 10:27:36 PM
Sid we've a situation now whereby the team which has overwhelming natural advantages in terms of population and resources, is now also fully exploring how they can exploit the rulebook, thereby removing any semblance of a chance of defeat.

They've placed an onus on the rulemakers to respond.

—-

By the way I know they're far from the first side to employ this tactic. It's not novel. But if the most successful side in the country do it, then every f**king coach from under 13 to junior b to senior club will try to add this "tactic" to their armoury.

Hence, they've placed an onus on the rulemakers to respond
Post by: highorlow on July 14, 2018, 10:34:45 PM
Dublin conserving energy for the next games might be a lot to do with.

Double hops and over carrying by the Dubs might get pulled up when their  away from home.

HQ need to make Croke Park and all other pitches narrower to cut this shit out. No real incentive for Donegal to push out when the Dubs can use the sidelines and vast open spaces of their home turf when a press begins .

Is it Tyrone away for them next week? If it is it's  possible Tyrone will beat them.
Post by: tonto1888 on July 14, 2018, 10:35:06 PM
some of these comments are very poor.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on July 14, 2018, 10:47:36 PM
Dublin always play this way against defensive teams when they have the lead. I agree it's terrible to watch, but isn't the answer to play less defensively?  Or are we expected to repeat our hari Kiri Donegal 2014 performance to make it easier for everyone else?
Post by: sligoman2 on July 14, 2018, 10:50:32 PM
Very disappointing to see Dublin play that shtye for the last 10 mins.   I'm getting g fed up with football, time to bring in some changes before the entire entertainment aspect disappears...
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 14, 2018, 10:56:27 PM
A diktat to referees to work to rule when teams are taking the piss like that would help. Every time Kilkenny got the ball in that period he took a minimum 6 steps. Most players hit 5 steps without getting called up which is fair enough as it would destroy the game and a referee has to employ common sense but when the piss is taken like that something has to be done.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 14, 2018, 10:58:37 PM
From RTÉ, and I can only imagine the opprobrium to be absolutely heaped on a team other than the Jacks were we to engage in similarly regressive stuff:

"The Dubs saw out a 2-15 to 0-16 success but they were holding possession rather than attacking for parts of the second half as Donegal struggled to get the scored the needed."
Post by: omagh_gael on July 14, 2018, 11:03:18 PM
It's been impossible to get away from the commentary that Donegal have significantly changed their model of play. Is there seriously that big a difference between ourselves and Donegal? We're labelled as ott defensive yet from the two games today all I could see was Donegal dropping a few long hopeful balls into the FF that they got feck all from.
Post by: yellowcard on July 14, 2018, 11:07:11 PM
The reality is that Dublin have morphed slowly from a Harlem globetrotters side in 2014 (they played some unbelievable attacking football that year until Donegal sucker punched them) into an efficient functional machine. They no longer have the out and out flair of old but have adopted to a more modern defensively structured approach. The days of the old Brogan and Connolly individual flair have disappeared and have been replaced by a more rigid blander style.

Something tells me that Kerry are equipped to derail them this year, they are missing that old spark. Gavin will regret the day that he effectively discarded Connolly.
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2018, 11:14:42 PM
If you want to walk the walk with the Dubs go for it. If Donegal had decided to be a bit braver and push up on the Dublin half back line then there would be no talk of keeping the ball. You only keep it if teams allow you to keep it. However, Donegal weren't brave enough to chance it. Not Dublin's fault. If you're 4 up then it's up to the opposition to do something about it.
Post by: Hound on July 15, 2018, 12:05:31 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 09:27:05 PM
I don't mind Dublin doing it to draw out defenders, but there were times where they were counter-attacking with numbers in support and they just stopped and turned back.
Kilkenny in particular did this at least twice, running backwards towards his own goal.
Horrible to watch.

No doubt it was horrible to watch, but it's Donegal's fault for allowing us to do it rather than pushing men to attack us!

100% agree that Kilkenny was the one player who took it too far. He was utterly ridiculous at times, in particular those two instances you referred to when Dublin had beaten the first line and were in really good attacking position, but he decided to turn around! That was idiotic and very frustrating. As it was also to see him continuously gesticulating at other Dubs to slow it down and keep going back.

He's had a great year at full forward so it's disappointing to see him revert out the field where he does that bullshit. Although he'd a poor enough game while he was in at FF, a couple of bad wides.

But the other Dubs in general for the last 10 minutes just played it clever. Take no risks if the opposition are that far behind and refusing to come out and tackle. But push forward when it's on. Just need not to pass it to CKK in future!
Post by: joemamas on July 15, 2018, 04:22:57 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 15, 2018, 12:05:31 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 09:27:05 PM
Horrible to watch.

No doubt it was horrible to watch, but it's Donegal's fault for allowing us to do it rather than pushing men to attack us!

100% agree that Kilkenny was the one player who took it too far. He was utterly ridiculous at times, in particular those two instances you referred to when Dublin had beaten the first line and were in really good attacking position, but he decided to turn around! That was idiotic and very frustrating. As it was also to see him continuously gesticulating at other Dubs to slow it down and keep going back.

He's had a great year at full forward so it's disappointing to see him revert out the field where he does that bullshit. Although he'd a poor enough game while he was in at FF, a couple of bad wides.

But the other Dubs in general for the last 10 minutes just played it clever. Take no risks if the opposition are that far behind and refusing to come out and tackle. But push forward when it's on. Just need not to pass it to CKK in future!

Thank you for your first line.
You have said what 90% of the country were thinking.

Pure shit
Post by: redzone on July 15, 2018, 07:50:53 AM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 14, 2018, 10:56:27 PM
A diktat to referees to work to rule when teams are taking the piss like that would help. Every time Kilkenny got the ball in that period he took a minimum 6 steps. Most players hit 5 steps without getting called up which is fair enough as it would destroy the game and a referee has to employ common sense but when the piss is taken like that something has to be done.
Not sure if anyone else noticed it but scully took 8 steps for his first goal. Big turning point
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 15, 2018, 07:55:10 AM
Brian Howard man of the match?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 15, 2018, 08:12:25 AM
Quote from: redzone on July 15, 2018, 07:50:53 AM
Not sure if anyone else noticed it but scully took 8 steps for his first goal. Big turning point

I did but over carrying is epidemic across both codes by all teams, I would be aggrieved over the penalty the ref give advantage for and then didn't come back to. Scandalous!

Referee bottled it in front of the hill, the benefits of playing at home include those type of decisions.
Post by: straightred on July 15, 2018, 08:39:20 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 15, 2018, 08:12:25 AM

I did but over carrying is epidemic across both codes by all teams, I would be aggrieved over the penalty the ref give advantage for and then didn't come back to. Scandalous!

Referee bottled it in front of the hill, the benefits of playing at home include those type of decisions.

I dont think he was giving a penalty there - 13m free more likely. Either way you're right though - poor decision. Murphy eventually got a great score from that possesion but it should have at least been a tap over free
Post by: shawshank on July 15, 2018, 08:55:37 AM
I can't understand the criticism of Dublin. They are winning the game, the tactic for me was as plain as the nose on your face, keep the ball in the middle and defensive half and draw the defensive team who need the ball to win out and create holes in their defence to attack. Donegal didn't come looking the ball, they did the exact same thing as Tyrone did in the semi last year, could've changed or wouldn't, so we all blame Dublin. A question if that had of been Kerry, do you think they would have sat back in their defensive shape and refused to press full tilt up the pitch on Dublin, not a chance in hell. Ulster football still is trapped in a negative mindset, Donegal who have without doubt developed their attacking game, like Tyrone don't seem to grasp that if your behind sitting in a defensive formation waiting for the opposition to be stupid enough to attack in numbers and loose the ball, you will get what Dublin served everytime from a quality team like Dublin. I fully applaud Dublin, it's Donegal who didn't go for the game
Post by: tonto1888 on July 15, 2018, 09:35:10 AM
Quote from: sligoman2 on July 14, 2018, 10:50:32 PM
Very disappointing to see Dublin play that shtye for the last 10 mins.   I'm getting g fed up with football, time to bring in some changes before the entire entertainment aspect disappears...

More disappointing from Donegal not trying to press them I would say
Post by: tonto1888 on July 15, 2018, 09:35:51 AM

So five steps, which is illegal, is fair enough but 6 is taking the piss ? OK
Post by: omagh_gael on July 15, 2018, 09:49:33 AM

I think the advantage was for the late shoulder into the man who played it in towards Brennan (?) rather then the *foul* for the penalty.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 15, 2018, 10:01:01 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 15, 2018, 09:49:33 AM

I think the advantage was for the late shoulder into the man who played it in towards Brennan (?) rather then the *foul* for the penalty.

Actually looking at the replay contact was just outside to so a penalty would have been harsh, pity we will never find out what the advantage was for.
Post by: inthrough on July 15, 2018, 10:05:07 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 15, 2018, 09:35:10 AM

hadn't No issue with it, Dublin were playing keep ball to conserve energy for a tough game in seven days & Donegal hadn't the energy left at the end of a hard 70 minutes to go chasing round Croke Park after them on a warm evening for exactly the same reason.

This was a league game with nothing decided one way or the other, Donegal's target in the the Super 8's is to beat Roscommon & Tyrone while avoiding getting hammered against Dublin.
Post by: Gael85 on July 15, 2018, 10:05:11 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 15, 2018, 07:55:10 AM
Brian Howard man of the match?

I would have said that too. Great engine and great fielder of the ball. Still only 21 and will hopefully keep progressing.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 15, 2018, 10:38:43 AM
What are is Murchen? Looks like he could still be playing in the Feile.
Post by: Gael85 on July 15, 2018, 11:14:21 AM
Murchan is 22.
Post by: longballin on July 15, 2018, 11:27:06 AM
Quote from: inthrough on July 15, 2018, 10:05:07 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 15, 2018, 09:35:10 AM

hadn't No issue with it, Dublin were playing keep ball to conserve energy for a tough game in seven days & Donegal hadn't the energy left at the end of a hard 70 minutes to go chasing round Croke Park after them on a warm evening for exactly the same reason.

This was a league game with nothing decided one way or the other, Donegal's target in the the Super 8's is to beat Roscommon & Tyrone while avoiding getting hammered against Dublin.

and people pay to watch that.... football is couped
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 15, 2018, 12:43:45 PM
Quote from: shawshank on July 15, 2018, 08:55:37 AM
I can't understand the criticism of Dublin. They are winning the game, the tactic for me was as plain as the nose on your face, keep the ball in the middle and defensive half and draw the defensive team who need the ball to win out and create holes in their defence to attack. Donegal didn't come looking the ball, they did the exact same thing as Tyrone did in the semi last year, could've changed or wouldn't, so we all blame Dublin. A question if that had of been Kerry, do you think they would have sat back in their defensive shape and refused to press full tilt up the pitch on Dublin, not a chance in hell. Ulster football still is trapped in a negative mindset, Donegal who have without doubt developed their attacking game, like Tyrone don't seem to grasp that if your behind sitting in a defensive formation waiting for the opposition to be stupid enough to attack in numbers and loose the ball, you will get what Dublin served everytime from a quality team like Dublin. I fully applaud Dublin, it's Donegal who didn't go for the game

Post by: yellowcard on July 15, 2018, 01:05:27 PM
Thought Howard was MOTN myself. Fenton in the second half was excellent also but few other Dublin players really excelled. Whoever picked it must have just looked at Scullys 2 goals. I thought Scully done okay but he can be loose with his passes at times and doesn't come close to Paul Flynn of a few years back or Connolly. Not entirely convinced by him.
Post by: J70 on July 15, 2018, 01:16:01 PM
Quote from: shawshank on July 15, 2018, 08:55:37 AM

Ive no issues with what the Dubs did either. We have done it ourselves in matches in recent years, albeit not to THAT extent. Kerry also did it to us in the closing stages of the 2014 final. Like then, I think fatigue may have played a factor yesterday, but teams should push up on the side throwing it around and either force them back, squeezing the space or make them move it longer. You're losing by four points with five minutes left. There's no point hoping for a slip up - you have to make it happen.

I thought Stephen McBrearty made a mistake in not taking an easy point at the start of injury time - bringing it back to three might have made the Dubs a wee bit more nervous about the keep- ball tactics, but hopefully we will learn from it.
Post by: Hound on July 15, 2018, 02:29:03 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 15, 2018, 10:01:01 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 15, 2018, 09:49:33 AM

Actually looking at the replay contact was just outside to so a penalty would have been harsh, pity we will never find out what the advantage was for.
The advantage was definitely for the hit on Murphy earlier. Ref's hand went up there. Not sure that was a free as it was a shoulder. Maybe a tad late but I thought it was harsh. McGrath was definitely fouled, high challenge, but outside the box and ref seemed to let that go. Murphy scored immediately afterwards anyway so didnt matter in the end.

Not sure where people are getting the 8 steps for Scully. Watched it again and it was 5 steps then shoot. Shot on the 6th. Techncially one too many, but it certainly double the allowed steps. Scully wasn't the only one who scored a goal this weekend while taking 1 or 2 steps too many.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 15, 2018, 03:17:36 PM
Good solid home win for Dublin. Always had Donegal at arms length. Dublin won the game running the subs bench, not getting injuries, not getting cards and slowing the game down for the last 15 minutes.

The 7pm start is tough on Donegal supporters.

Jez what time did the Donegal supporter get home last night at?

1am?

The expense of travel?

A serious disrespect to Provincial champions!
Post by: Hound on July 15, 2018, 07:07:37 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 15, 2018, 03:17:36 PM
Good solid home win for Dublin. Always had Donegal at arms length. Dublin won the game running the subs bench, not getting injuries, not getting cards and slowing the game down for the last 15 minutes.

1am?

The expense of travel?

And same for any Tyrone and Roscommon supporters that stayed on for the second game, and many did.
Dublin playing in Omagh next week at 7pm too. Saturday games should be 3.30pm and 5.30pm or thereabouts.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 15, 2018, 07:36:06 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 15, 2018, 07:07:37 PM

1am?

The expense of travel?

And same for any Tyrone and Roscommon supporters that stayed on for the second game, and many did.
Dublin playing in Omagh next week at 7pm too. Saturday games should be 3.30pm and 5.30pm or thereabouts.

Did any of these supporters wait on? I'd presume if they did they were staying the night?

In fairness the Rossies are not as far away!
Post by: shantygael on July 15, 2018, 10:16:55 PM

1am?

The expense of travel?

As a dub supporter living in Derry I got home around 1am after a few pints in fagans to let the match traffic ease up. Didn't bother me the 7pm throw in, better than a Sunday hands down. Handier next week for me with game being in Omagh.
Post by: Syferus on July 15, 2018, 10:44:22 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 15, 2018, 07:36:06 PM

1am?

The expense of travel?

Did any of these supporters wait on? I'd presume if they did they were staying the night?

With the late start and the fact many of the trains back were tight on time the idea many Roscommon supporters stayed behind is a little laughable. To see Dublin keep Donegal at arms' length for 75 minutes in the most predictable manner possible? Not exactly heart-racing stuff.

If the Super 8 format isn't axed there's something seriously wrong with the GAA brass.
Post by: The Trap on July 15, 2018, 11:03:12 PM
Scully took 8 steps twice on his first goal.
Post by: Conallach on July 15, 2018, 11:04:02 PM

1am?

The expense of travel?

About right, yeah. The club's dry bus got in just after 2am, but it'd be an extra hour on from a lot of the county.
Post by: The Trap on July 15, 2018, 11:16:05 PM
He took 8 steps bounced the ball and another 8 before he put the ball in the net.
Post by: weareros on July 15, 2018, 11:26:35 PM

1am?

The expense of travel?

What really is ridulous is how many Dublin supporters came in late for their own game in their home patch. I saw Rossies and Heron Gutters and Red Hands in Dublin since around 3. A GAA game is short enough besides being 10 or 15 mins late. No disrespect to genuine fans.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 15, 2018, 11:37:47 PM
Quote from: The Trap on July 15, 2018, 11:03:12 PM
Scully took 8 steps twice on his first goal.

Mugsey moved the ball between his hands twice in the run up to his goal against the Dubs in the 2005 quarter final.
Post by: Jinxy on July 15, 2018, 11:38:55 PM
Joe Sheridan was pushed over the line.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 15, 2018, 11:47:42 PM
Canavan never touched it on the ground.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 15, 2018, 11:49:27 PM
Quote from: weareros on July 15, 2018, 11:26:35 PM

1am?

The expense of travel?

What really is ridulous is how many Dublin supporters came in late for their own game in their home patch. I saw Rossies and Heron Gutters and Red Hands in Dublin since around 3. A GAA game is short enough besides being 10 or 15 mins late. No disrespect to genuine fans.

In fairness to many of the Dublin Fans, a lot of them would be after finishing work and it would be a rush to get to the match in 15 minutes!