GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 25, 2019, 12:17:51 PM

Title: 2019 U20 Football Development League
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 25, 2019, 12:17:51 PM
Fixture details and competition regulations for 2019 U20 Football Development Leagues

http://hoganstand.com/article/index/294620
Title: Re: 2019 U20 Football Development League
Post by: The PRO on January 25, 2019, 03:45:10 PM
What happens to the Peter McNulty Cup? I hope it is not "abandoned". He would deserve better than that.
Post by: Chrimtain on March 10, 2019, 11:13:53 PM
Heard Laois Under 20s beat a Dublin team on Saturday. Anybody know anything about it?
Post by: GAA-SMART on March 11, 2019, 08:46:52 AM
Quote from: Chrimtain on March 10, 2019, 11:13:53 PM
Heard Laois Under 20s beat a Dublin team on Saturday. Anybody know anything about it?

Heard wrong, both teams beaten well. Both teams meaning the team in first half and the different team in the second half.
Post by: on the hop on March 28, 2019, 10:25:12 PM
A lot of good players on the panel, very tough draw against Kildare. Apart from the few with the seniors,Hopefully Coffey, Lacey, Whelan and slevin make the step up. I thought Saunders was underage but he is not listed in the panel
Post by: Laois fan on March 28, 2019, 11:30:32 PM
Think hes doing leaving cert so hes out,prob a few others in that situation also.Taught a few more from ballyroan would be involved also dont see the comerford brothers involved
Post by: The PRO on March 29, 2019, 10:21:03 AM
Quote from: Laois fan on March 28, 2019, 11:30:32 PM
Think hes doing leaving cert so hes out,prob a few others in that situation also.Taught a few more from ballyroan would be involved also dont see the comerford brothers involved
Comerfords are sticking with hurling. Leaving cert is affecting panel too. Saunders is a huge loss.
Post by: merman on March 30, 2019, 05:25:33 PM
I'm not sure what thread to post this in but commiserations to Knockbeg College today.
Wonderful year and well done to all involved.

Similarly, congratulations to Scoil Chriost Ri for winning the All Ireland A Final today. Serious achievement!
Post by: Don Draper on March 30, 2019, 09:17:41 PM
Quote from: merman on March 30, 2019, 05:25:33 PM
I'm not sure what thread to post this in but commiserations to Knockbeg College today.
Wonderful year and well done to all involved.

Similarly, congratulations to Scoil Chriost Ri for winning the All Ireland A Final today. Serious achievement!
Pat Critchley is some man.
Post by: The PRO on April 16, 2019, 03:13:44 PM
Under 20s playing a challenge game tomorrow night.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on April 16, 2019, 08:00:23 PM
Who are they playing Pro? Wheres it on?
Post by: Heshs Umpire on April 17, 2019, 12:39:13 PM
Quote from: Butch Cassidy on April 16, 2019, 08:00:23 PM
Who are they playing Pro? Wheres it on?
Offaly in Crettyard. Don't know time.
Post by: Butch Cassidy on April 18, 2019, 02:01:27 PM
How did the Offaly game go? Anyone have the team that started?
Post by: SCFC on April 23, 2019, 10:28:58 AM
Quote from: Butch Cassidy on April 18, 2019, 02:01:27 PM
How did the Offaly game go? Anyone have the team that started?
Laois won easily. 4-16 to 2-8. Didn't hear the team.
Post by: Chrimtain on April 23, 2019, 07:48:24 PM
Impressive result on the face of it.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 23, 2019, 08:59:29 PM
Andrew Corden Cup U20FL Round 4 (1st half, 34min)

Laois:       6-5 (23)
Wexford:   0-5 (5)

Half time score from Crettyard
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 23, 2019, 09:02:15 PM
Full Time in Crettyard.

Laois:         7-15 (36)
Wexford:    1-11 (14)
Post by: Butch Cassidy on May 23, 2019, 10:07:14 PM
Big win! What kind of team did Laois have out?
Post by: Laoiseabu on May 24, 2019, 07:52:02 PM
 Diarmuid Whelan and Jack Owens did a lot of the scoring . O'Flynn , kinsella and Barry weren't allowed play cause of senior panel commitments . Pity Saunders isn't involved . Niall Dunne from Courtwood and Eoin Dunne of Rosenallis had good games . Saying all that Wexford were horrendous
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 02, 2019, 01:32:13 AM
Another big win, this time against Tipperary..

Doran hat-trick inspires Laois to second U-20 football win
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/06/01/the-doran-hat-trick-inspires-laois-to-second-u-20-football-win/
Post by: SCFC on June 02, 2019, 08:42:54 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 02, 2019, 01:32:13 AM
Another big win, this time against Tipperary..

Doran hat-trick inspires Laois to second U-20 football win
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/06/01/the-doran-hat-trick-inspires-laois-to-second-u-20-football-win/
Dan McCormack got three goals, not Doran.
Post by: Hospital Pass on June 04, 2019, 09:34:17 AM
Correct and right SCFC. Big Dan was very impressive. Nice little team they have. The two midfielders were very good, laid a solid foundation for the forwards to run riot.
Tipp to be fair, fell apart after half time. 
Post by: The PRO on June 06, 2019, 03:59:32 PM
Play Carlow in Carlow at 1 pm on Saturday.
Post by: Countyminor on June 06, 2019, 04:42:59 PM
Big Dan really lives up to that name. Some unit. This is a very nice crop, especially considering the players missing.
Post by: SCFC on June 06, 2019, 05:37:19 PM
Quote from: Countyminor on June 06, 2019, 04:42:59 PM
Big Dan really lives up to that name. Some unit. This is a very nice crop, especially considering the players missing.
Yeah, Saunders is a huge loss and O'Flynn to the seniors too.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 08, 2019, 03:57:34 PM
Good win for Laois today v Carlow by 3 points. 1-17 to 2-11
Post by: Heshs Umpire on June 25, 2019, 08:39:47 AM
I see we're 2/1 to win in Newbridge tonight. Might be worth a small few bob! I think we've a great chance.
Post by: on the hop on June 25, 2019, 09:35:08 AM
Massive game for this team
Post by: GAA-SMART on June 25, 2019, 01:23:29 PM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/06/25/the-oloughlins-laois-aiming-to-knock-out-all-ireland-champions-kildare-with-goals/?fbclid=IwAR0oNhgi26W6reOLLOjNZBJY7sMgr28z4Mzxd3_6xXbBYmRaDNj1j93obbM

Goals, Goals and More Goals
Post by: blueandwhite1 on June 25, 2019, 02:30:33 PM
Quote from: GAA-SMART on June 25, 2019, 01:23:29 PM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/06/25/the-oloughlins-laois-aiming-to-knock-out-all-ireland-champions-kildare-with-goals/?fbclid=IwAR0oNhgi26W6reOLLOjNZBJY7sMgr28z4Mzxd3_6xXbBYmRaDNj1j93obbM

Great idea to publish your strategy on how you are going to win on the day of the match!? Or is this just a genius ruse to get Kildare to put 4 lads on Dan McCormack?
Post by: Don Draper on June 25, 2019, 02:34:11 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on June 25, 2019, 02:30:33 PM
Quote from: GAA-SMART on June 25, 2019, 01:23:29 PM

Great idea to publish your strategy on how you are going to win on the day of the match!? Or is this just a genius ruse to get Kildare to put 4 lads on Dan McCormack?

Its all well and good knowing whats coming, but being able to stop it is another thing entirely. Kildare will have watched Laois play, they'll know all about Dan regardless. Put the stall out and f**k em.
Post by: GAA-SMART on June 25, 2019, 02:45:59 PM
Still a strange interview to give regardless.
Post by: Don Draper on June 25, 2019, 02:48:20 PM
Quote from: GAA-SMART on June 25, 2019, 02:45:59 PM

See, even you boys are second guessing it. Kildare will be all over the shop reading it.
Post by: GAA-SMART on June 25, 2019, 03:17:26 PM
If Kildare are reading that and changing their game plans they havent a hope tonight.
Post by: on the hop on June 25, 2019, 08:06:54 PM
8-7 to kildare at half time, kildare more economical but we have managed to stay in it. Could go either way. We don't seem to have a whole lot of shape to our team or play but it's very open.
Post by: redsetanta on June 25, 2019, 08:37:47 PM
Laois gone 6 up according to Laois Today
Post by: GAA-SMART on June 25, 2019, 08:46:51 PM
Playing very well 5 up in added time
Post by: redsetanta on June 25, 2019, 08:51:33 PM
Serious performance and not a goal in sight. The lily's Watching big Dan while points are sailing over the bar.
Post by: on the hop on June 25, 2019, 08:52:32 PM
Won 17 to 1-11
Post by: redsetanta on June 25, 2019, 08:55:40 PM
Should have listened to Hesh
Post by: The Monument Road on June 25, 2019, 08:57:59 PM
Wow great result.. love to be home but Laois Today live blog is brilliant...brilliant... putting those boys back in their box makes my day ...
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 25, 2019, 09:06:16 PM
Great win, away to Westmeath next Tuesday evening.

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/06/25/super-second-half-sees-laois-u-20s-dump-all-ireland-champions-kildare-out/
Post by: on the hop on June 25, 2019, 10:11:36 PM
Great second half especially when they held kildare to 1-3 and the penalty just at the end. Very open game with no sweepers and plenty of kick passing. Was behind the goals and it times in the first half it looked like we were playing off the cuff. Solid keeper in Byron, good strong full back and the two corner men were sharp. Would love Saunders and o Flynn in that half back line but alas not be be. Kildare centre forward was very good. Midfield did well, like most of the team tired a bit. Nice mix in the forwards, Coffey might not be the fastest but good brain, Doran not afraid to take shots and Dunne does a lot of running. Whelan was the Star man, bit disappointed with kinsella as he training with the seniors and big dan just couldn't get into the game. What is the draw??
Post by: Heshs Umpire on June 25, 2019, 10:17:06 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on June 25, 2019, 08:55:40 PM
Should have listened to Hesh
😀 I can't be accused of "aftertiming" anyway...
Post by: Tony on June 25, 2019, 10:17:16 PM
Serious performance and looking good for the future with that showing. Thought Kildare would win it, they looked the better side in first half. Second half was mostly us. 5 - 7 lads on our team look like serious senior contenders in next few years.
Post by: Chrimtain on June 25, 2019, 10:19:11 PM
Great win for Laois tonight, but Kildare were, for All Ireland champions, surprisingly very poor. it looked dodgy at half time, when we were a point down, but we were much the better team in the second half. We were on top all over the field during the second half with Byron, Lacey, Slevin, Brophy, Doran, Coffey and Whelan impressive for Laois.

A good win, as I said, but I wouldn't get carried away. Now, if we had Saunders, O'Flynn and Barry available, it might be a different story.
Post by: Don Draper on June 25, 2019, 10:48:52 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 25, 2019, 02:48:20 PM
Quote from: GAA-SMART on June 25, 2019, 02:45:59 PM

See, even you boys are second guessing it. Kildare will be all over the shop reading it.
A masterplan from Billy.
Post by: High Fielder on June 25, 2019, 11:04:09 PM
Kildare weren't let play. Those backs didn't give them a sniff. I think this is a good bunch. Lacey at full back gave a proper full backs display and it's refreshing looking at lads play in positions they are comfortable in and know. Tyrell is a serious footballer. I'd be all over him if I were Sugrue. It was just a good team display all round full of hunger and work rate. The ball in to Dan wasn't working and no offence to him, but it's not for me. He needs to be so much more aggressive and use that size advantage. We were narrow and no threat floating balls in on top of him. In fairness to him, he contributed more when we were stretching them, but my gut feeling is we'll be even better with Owens starting and moving quicker. The better team won tonight and the score line flattered them. We bullied them in the second half and you rarely do that in Newbridge.
Post by: Joeythelips on June 25, 2019, 11:28:42 PM
The great thing about the current senior manager is these lads will know if they put in the work they will get their chance in the senior set up.
Post by: redsetanta on June 26, 2019, 12:14:04 AM
Whelan is some player! 10 points in total with 6 from play. Some boy.
Post by: Laoiseabu on June 26, 2019, 12:17:13 AM
Just give us the f**king all Ireland now
Post by: Countyminor on June 26, 2019, 12:27:21 AM
This is without question our best result at any grade in the past 10 years or so in my eyes. To get one over those f**kers after years of absolute misery and torment at underage and senior against them is so, so positive for Laois football. I think a lot of the good that's happening in our county at the moment is because we're starting to wake up. Standards were let slide for far too long. We have signs of green shoots at underage. Today and to a lesser extent our minors show we can compete with the best Leinster has to offer. We've always had damn good players in this county and we always will have, but we can't afford to get complacent again. For too long our underage structures failed whatever talent was at their disposal. The signs are we're finally heading in the right direction.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on June 26, 2019, 12:51:18 AM
Listened to the game on kfmradio.com - didn't sound good when Kildare went 0-3 to 0-0 in front and later 0-8 to 0-4.
Heart-warming performance from Laois in 2nd half - well done lads.

Fair play to Billy O'Loughlin who had his critics after his appointment last year.
I'm reading that next week's game against Westmeath is a Leinster quarter-final so it's early days yet.

Post by: Unlaoised on June 26, 2019, 03:23:01 AM
Some win ...
Post by: The PRO on June 26, 2019, 09:56:53 AM
Quote from: Tony on June 25, 2019, 10:17:16 PM
Serious performance and looking good for the future with that showing. Thought Kildare would win it, they looked the better side in first half. Second half was mostly us. 5 - 7 lads on our team look like serious senior contenders in next few years.
The quality was high alright but I'd offer the opinion that it was a weak Kildare group. I hope we don't take our eye off the ball now against Westmeath.
I think Byron, S Lacey, Whelan, both Dunnes and Coffey all have a fair chance of joining Kinsella and Tyrell who are already on the senior squad not forgetting O'flynn and Barry.
Post by: SCFC on June 26, 2019, 10:10:57 AM
If, God forbid, Laois seniors lose to Offaly next Saturday night, O'Flynn and Barry are available for the Westmeath game.
I hope they're not! 🙂
Post by: High Fielder on June 26, 2019, 11:22:02 AM
Quote from: The PRO on June 26, 2019, 09:56:53 AM
The quality was high alright but I'd offer the opinion that it was a weak Kildare group. I hope we don't take our eye off the ball now against Westmeath.
I think Byron, S Lacey, Whelan, both Dunnes and Coffey all have a fair chance of joining Kinsella and Tyrell who are already on the senior squad not forgetting O'flynn and Barry.

I don't agree that Kildare were weak. I think on this occasion, we were strong. I stood next to a few Kildare lads who were very impressed by their forward movement in the first half. By the end, they were saying they were a poor bunch. It was as if we had no influence on that. Except we did. For once, we properly put them back in their box. They've done it to us for years and they've forgotten how to suck it up
Post by: Chrimtain on June 26, 2019, 12:06:21 PM
Quote from: The PRO on June 26, 2019, 09:56:53 AM

What about Doran, the centre forward? I thought he looked good too.

For several years, the plight of Laois football was a concern, but, with the manner in which John Sugrue has introduced young players during his tenure, combined with the good players we witnessed last night, maybe the future of Laois football is not too bad at all. Added to that, the minors put up a creditable performance againts Kildare last friday night.

Things rarely work out the way you hope, but, the idea of having Evan O'Carroll, Colm Murphy, Mark Barry, Diarmuid Whelan, Ronan Coffey and a fit Donie Kingston in the one forward line in the future, is an exciting one. That's not to mention Benny Carroll, Danny O'Reilly and Marty Scully.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on June 26, 2019, 03:48:46 PM
Quote from: on the hop on June 25, 2019, 10:11:36 PM
Solid keeper in Byron, good strong full back and the two corner men were sharp. Would love Saunders and o Flynn in that half back line but alas not be be. Kildare centre forward was very good. Midfield did well, like most of the team tired a bit. Nice mix in the forwards, Coffey might not be the fastest but good brain, Doran not afraid to take shots and Dunne does a lot of running. Whelan was the Star man, bit disappointed with kinsella as he training with the seniors and big dan just couldn't get into the game.
Obviously I'm a bit biased but I thought Alan Kinsella played very well. Got on an amount of ball and hardly wasted one.
Mohan was very good at corner back. Hadn't seen much of him before. And Lacey beside him was superb.
Post by: Hospital Pass on June 28, 2019, 09:51:29 AM
Very good Laois support at the game last Tuesday.
Impressed with 1 or 2 in particular. Whelan obviously, 10 points and ran himself ragged. an obvious one to make the step up next year. great potential.
Tyrrell won an amount of primary possession and Laois looked to have the homework done on the Kildare kick outs which was great to see.
Mohan was excellent, Lacey deserves huge credit given the fact that he isn't a natural fullback.
Big Dan, Slevin and Dunne have scope for improvement I think.
Owens from Emo is probably unlucky not to start but its a very competitive forward line.
A great win but I wouldn't be getting carried away. its still only a prelim round game.
SCFC thats a strange rule if they are allowed play when the seniors are out. Crazy rule in my opinion anyway. the Hurling doesn't have the rule at all.
Post by: thegreeenandgold on June 28, 2019, 12:20:38 PM
Super Win last Monday night,  and even more important to follow it up with a good performance against Westmeath on Tuesday.  Hopefully the competitive performance from the Minors last Friday, allied to this U20 performance is the first chinks of light in our underage football recovery.   

Another big week in Laois Football and that has to be a good thing.  Beat Offaly on Friday and Westmeath on Tuesday and we are on the cusp of our best year in Football in a decade.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on July 01, 2019, 05:54:12 PM
Quote from: thegreeenandgold on June 28, 2019, 12:20:38 PM
Another big week in Laois Football and that has to be a good thing.  Beat Offaly on Friday and Westmeath on Tuesday and we are on the cusp of our best year in Football in a decade.
We're half way there! I hope the 20's are fully focused cos a win up in Mullingar is never easy.
Post by: on the hop on July 02, 2019, 08:05:51 PM
Draw at half time 1-6 to  0-9. Very sloppy and off the pace in defense. As always in Mullingar in a dog fight
Post by: High Fielder on July 02, 2019, 08:12:51 PM
Hopefully there's a second half like last week in them. Westmeath appear to have invested heavily in that half, but their movement is impressive while our tackling is just terrible. We have a definite edge in midfield and we should have three goals, so the platform is there
Post by: GAA-SMART on July 02, 2019, 08:52:08 PM
Extra Time- Hopefully we will keep going here
Post by: on the hop on July 02, 2019, 08:55:28 PM
We could have lost well or won well, it's that type of game
Post by: High Fielder on July 02, 2019, 11:36:47 PM
A wake up call tonight. Nothing worked properly and we still pulled through. I always think that's a good sign, but let's not kid ourselves, we didn't cope well for long periods. Our first up tackling was powderpuff and technically very poor. On too many occasions, lads went in to try and tackle, got beaten handily, and stopped. The other option was to foul. Neither of these are helpful. We were isolated and outnumbered and they were running hard. They got their rewards. Some of our backs were having a hard time and some truly baffling decisions were being made on the line.

We had a distinct size advantage in key areas. We didn't use it well at times. Dan did better tonight, but it's a tactic from another era. Percentage wise, it has serious flaws, but look, he took his goal really well and he caused panic in a small looking back line. Midfield had the ability to win the game on its own. A mixture of handling errors, poorly placed kick outs and lack of work rate meant we didn't maximise an obvious advantage. Our support play was awful too. Lads were running into a sea of maroon and looking lost.

Despite all of the above, we kept them close enough. You could see that they had gone off a bit quickly and were a little bit too buzzed up. That told in extra time where we dominated without ever really looking like the team of last week. Clearly we have a nice young team with some very good players, but if they sit down and look at the match again, they will know they are a lot better than that. Still, 5 minutes or so into the second half, you'd have taken a draw at full time, so credit to them for grinding it out.
Post by: on the hop on July 02, 2019, 11:42:40 PM
What a crazy game, didn't really start well but the two lads in the middle got us a foothold. They played a possession game of sorts and we couldn't lay a Hand on them. Backs were way off and had no intensity, fouling seemed to be the only option for some. Both half lines were at sea. Then big dan caught a ball and laid it off for a goal. We missed a second goal that hit both posts but honestly it should have been squared across, a theme for the night. There small midfielder then took over, he kicked three and was very good and they finished far better. We appeared very flat. This continued into the second half and they went four up and we looked in bother. A few changes and a sense of urgency and we got back level. In the six minutes of injury time we had as many chances but a combination of poor shooting, decision making and selfishness led to the game drawing.

In extra time we were far better. The two midfielders lorded it and drove forward. A few of the forwards realized you can pass rather than shooting and we worked a goal. The first of a few decent balls into the big man and he exploited his height difference and finished well. We finished out the second period playing better and looking fitter and I think it's meath next Tuesday.

A tough night for the backs collectively, they all had there individual moments but we had awful problems with fouling and tracking runners. The speedy corner forward did a lot of damage but as both wing backs are inclined to bomb forward we are exposed on any turnovers. We didn't seem to have the personal to deal with him.The full back has great potential but it's a pity he can't be centre back as he looks like a good stopper. Saunders continues to be a massive loss. Both midfielders played very well and give this team every chance. They lorded the sky and are good pairing, Dunne drove forward very well and both gave great engines, but once they lapse the team struggled. I Not a great night for the half forwards, all replaced but Owens did well when introduced, if only he would keep it simpler. The full forward line scored 1-9 from play I think and when the right ball goes in they are lethal. I still think we would be better served with Owens or Whelan full forward. If your going to have dan in there, it's either the right ball in or he moves more and brings players into the game.

Good to win in Mullingar
Post by: blueandwhite1 on July 03, 2019, 08:51:44 AM
Wow, the performance reports look grim. Did great to turn it around and won well in the end.

Meath in a week. What's the verdict?
Post by: The PRO on July 03, 2019, 09:02:31 AM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on July 03, 2019, 08:51:44 AM
Wow, the performance reports look grim. Did great to turn it around and won well in the end.

Meath in a week. What's the verdict?
Billy O'Loughlin may well be the only Laoisman shouting for Cork next Saturday. A defeat sees O'Flynn and Barry available for the Meath game.
Post by: SCFC on July 03, 2019, 09:24:40 AM
I saw some reference to the semi final being in Portlaoise. Let's hope it's a good source.
Post by: High Fielder on July 03, 2019, 09:29:02 AM
I still have faith in them. They're still a good bunch even allowing for those not there. Westmeath probably had their homework done but did we get any chance to do the same? The coach pulled in an hour before throw in and the warm up looked hurried. It took us a long time to acclimatise. Maybe small things on their own, but collectively might have contributed to the flatness. We have to be more tuned in because better teams will put you out the gate by half time
Post by: Nameless on July 03, 2019, 05:53:47 PM
Couldn't make the game last night, looking at the scoring it seemed that things went better for big Dan but was it similar to last week? We wasted more than we got from the long ball tactic? Disappointed to hear our defence was opened up easily. They looked tight enough in the full back line last week. Maybe Kildare were actually quite poor. Hard to tell. Players at this age can be great one week and average the next. Meath will be a step up, the Offaly team they beat were highly rated.
Post by: on the hop on July 04, 2019, 01:19:13 AM
In response nameless, the first ball in was spot on against a much smaller marker and should have been a goal, they immediately put their centre forward back in front of him and we persisted with the bombs with no return. A better ball in led to catch and the lay off for the goal. We struggled in the second half for long periods and ended up sending in awful ball, rob kearney wouldn't have caught them. I don't know if the game plan is to tell him not to leave the edge of the square but there was little movement for a different ball. A re-think in extra time saw dan bought to midfield for the throw in and he ended the half with a lovely finish for the goal again after a better ball in. There sweeper went out as they were chasing the game and in the second period he made hay with two points.

He is a massive weapon to have at this age group. The right ball in and it's a score but the forwards have to pushing up for the breaks or lay offs. The scores gave the crowd a great lift. Problems are sending in bombs and expecting a return plus a lack of movement which at times cuts off space for the other two. A flick down or a flick on wasn't really tried which would have been easier at times. It was noticeable that Tyrell is excellent at this on kick outs and wouldn't be a bad option if needed.
Post by: Nameless on July 05, 2019, 05:50:03 PM
Quote from: on the hop on July 04, 2019, 01:19:13 AM
In response nameless, the first ball in was spot on against a much smaller marker and should have been a goal, they immediately put their centre forward back in front of him and we persisted with the bombs with no return. A better ball in led to catch and the lay off for the goal. We struggled in the second half for long periods and ended up sending in awful ball, rob kearney wouldn't have caught them. I don't know if the game plan is to tell him not to leave the edge of the square but there was little movement for a different ball. A re-think in extra time saw dan bought to midfield for the throw in and he ended the half with a lovely finish for the goal again after a better ball in. There sweeper went out as they were chasing the game and in the second period he made hay with two points.

He is a massive weapon to have at this age group. The right ball in and it's a score but the forwards have to pushing up for the breaks or lay offs. The scores gave the crowd a great lift. Problems are sending in bombs and expecting a return plus a lack of movement which at times cuts off space for the other two. A flick down or a flick on wasn't really tried which would have been easier at times. It was noticeable that Tyrell is excellent at this on kick outs and wouldn't be a bad option if needed.

Good stuff on the hop. I think what you said about at this age group is the key point. It may work occasionally at this age group, it needs a great ball though and you can waste lots of possession with this tactic. But what is the main aim of this age group? To develop senior inter county players I would have thought? Long gone are the days of the Bomber Liston and although Donaghy had some great days, he was the best in the business at it and he was shut out by organised defences. Is big Dan in that category of player? Maybe he is but like you say, there has to be some movement as well, a little bit of unpredictability.
Post by: The PRO on July 10, 2019, 12:59:07 PM
Great win last night. I'll try and do ratings (someone here used to do it before) but I know it's completely dangerous! Don't attack me. Do your own ratings!  ;D

Byron 8 – Excellent kickouts and two top class saves. I'd imagine he will become Brody's number two sooner rather than later.

Dowling 8 – Great little bit of stuff. Sticky as hell. Another off the Portlaoise conveyor belt.

Lacey 8 – Plays quite like the da who I'm old enough to remember well. Tough, fast, sticky. Good prospect.

Mohan 7.5 – Solid, unspectacular. Rarely got turned and good passer out from the back.

Slevin 8 – Lively, very skilful. Nice point too.

O'Flynn 8.5 – Some prospect. Gives it everything and has all the skills too. Made one mistake at the very end when game was in the bag anyway.

Brophy 7 – Good display. Solid and willing to get forward

E Dunne 7.5 – Very good, hardworking display. Does all the simple things well.

Tyrell 7.5 – Remarks would be almost interchangeable with Dunne. Needs to work on the tackling. Having gotten an early yellow last night, another ref could well have given him another before half time.

Barry 7 – A mixed bag. Three fine frees but thought from play he was sloppy. The game will improve him.

Doran 7 – One really good point just after half time but the game bypassed him a lot otherwise.

Coffey 9 – Edged Kinsella for man of the match. Covered a lot of ground, two fine points, brilliant pass for the goal, never wasted a ball.

Kinsella 8.5 – Brilliant. Hardworker, tricky on the ball, always gives the right pass and can score too.

McCormack 7.5 – Big Dan! Reminds me of another former underage prospect Daryl Hayden who disappeared off the scene completely. Nice fisted point. Good awareness for the goal but there's something missing I think in terms of the way the team play.

Whelan 7.5 – Bad night on the frees but two great scores from play. Great to win with him a bit below par.

Owens 8 – Looked very lively when he came on, took a great score, but ran into tackles unnecessarily a few times.

N Dunne 7.5  - Looked good both times he came on. Definitely an option in midfield or anywhere in the forwards.

I couldn't rate the other subs. Too short a time on the field.

Post by: SCFC on July 11, 2019, 03:06:45 PM
Will the team be unchanged for the final? The easy option is to leave a winning team alone but I would bring in either Owens or Niall Dunne or maybe both in the attack for Doran and McCormack. But I doubt that will happen.
On another note I believe 9 of the first 17 used Tuesday night are underage again next year. Great prospects for next year already.
Post by: Jd on July 13, 2019, 02:29:13 PM
5 off the St. Paul's team are underage 3 from port Dowling Barry not too sure after that
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on July 13, 2019, 04:51:22 PM
Quote from: Jd on July 13, 2019, 02:29:13 PM
5 off the St. Paul's team are underage 3 from port Dowling Barry not too sure after that

Brophy underage again next year as well. Bright futures ahead for some of these lads.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on July 15, 2019, 10:32:53 AM
This was the under 17 panel in 2017 which will be the age group for next year's under 20 panel.

Andrew Swayne (Portlaoise)
Cathal Duggan (Portlaoise)
Eoin O'Connor (Portlaoise)
Gary Saunders (Portlaoise)
Michael Dowling (Portlaoise)
Cian Doyle (Courtwood)
Matthew Byron (Courtwood)
Niall Dunne (Courtwood)
Seán O'Flynn (Courtwood)
Seth Mooney Burns (Courtwood)*
Alex Mohan (Portarlington)
Ronan Coffey (Portarlington)
Colin Slevin (Portarlington) (Captain)
Seán Michael Corcoran (Portarlington)*
Jack Owens (Emo)
Ned Ryan (Emo)*
Niall Gorman (Emo)
Oisin Keogh (Emo)*
Ciarán Byrne (Ballyroan-Abbey)*
Enda McWey (Ballyroan-Abbey)*
John Rogers (Ballyroan-Abbey)
Bernard Wheatley (St Joseph's)
Dean Brophy (St Joseph's)
Josh Lacey (St Joseph's)*
Damien McCaul (Annanough)
Killian Horgan (Annanough)
Mark O'Connell (Timahoe)*
Mark Barry (O'Dempsey's)
PJ Daly (The Heath)
Paddy Walsh (Killeshin)
Seán O'Neill (The Rock)*
Tom Wright (Ballylinan)*
Brian Fingleton (Park-Ratheniska)*
Callum Hennessy (Graiguecullen)
Post by: The PRO on July 15, 2019, 04:02:22 PM
There's some very good chaps to add to next year's team. O'Neill from The Rock is top class. Horgan of Annanough is one to keep an eye on too. Saunders of course would be a massive addition if available.
Post by: redsetanta on July 16, 2019, 03:34:07 PM
I wonder will many travel over to Tullamore on Friday for this. 3 weekends on the trot with the senior hurlers mightn't help. In saying that it's not that far of a journey for supporters over round Port, emo etc.

Laois should be well able to outnumber their Dublin counterparts.
Post by: Giovanni on July 17, 2019, 12:04:06 AM
I certainly hope so!

When you're playing Dublin the result will always be uncertain but this is a really genuine bunch of players that deserve a decent support. I would really encourage everyone interested in Laois football to take a look. They have a genuine chance. Three weeks in a row might be hard for the players but the supporters should be able to manage it!
Post by: Joeythelips on July 17, 2019, 07:28:13 AM
I see TG4 are showing the game live, hopefully will be able to see on their site over here in the UK. From reading game reports so far, this sounds like a decent team with some good natural defenders, something our senior team have lacked recently. Best of luck to them against the Dubs.
Post by: The PRO on July 18, 2019, 12:18:28 PM
Team named. Unchanged.
Post by: Countyminor on July 18, 2019, 12:53:31 PM
Laois 7/2 outsiders to win on PP  ;) Really looking forward to Sunday, this team can rubbish those odds. The fact that we can leave the likes of Jack Owens and Niall Dunne on the bench speaks for itself, this is a very strong side. Can't wait for Friday!
Post by: redsetanta on July 18, 2019, 02:23:36 PM
Will put a few bob on that and the handicap of evens +4.

Laois hurlers have been good to me this year hopefully the U20's can do the same.
Post by: The PRO on July 19, 2019, 10:49:46 AM
Just think that if Meath had beaten Laois, they wouldn't be as big a price as 7/2.