Greens
Not going to Vote

Quote from: Lone Shark on January 26, 2011, 11:47:43 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 26, 2011, 10:37:10 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 26, 2011, 08:10:23 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 26, 2011, 08:00:15 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on January 26, 2011, 07:52:31 PM
Am I the only one who gets a FG ad at the top when I look at this thread? :o Sorry FG-lads, I won't be joining your new team Ireland.
I'm getting 'singles' ads for Over 50s and Lesbians

Hairy lesbians. Hairy lesbians. Hairy lesbians. Hairy lesbians. Hairy lesbians. Hairy lesbians. Hairy lesbians. Hairy lesbians. Hairy lesbians. Hairy lesbians. Hairy lesbians. Hairy lesbians. Hairy lesbians. Hairy lesbians.

Let's see what ads we get now.

GAA Club Teamwear. Disappointed.

I'm also getting "Find Limerick activities". Perhaps there's more to Limerick than meets the eye?

1 day resturant deals in Leeds!

So the leaders' debates - what's the story? I thought it was a given that they would happen, but it appears not.

Interesting developments - Martin wants a debate between the 3 leaders - is he wanting to avoid confrontation with Adams? Why would he want to keep the Greens out? Surely they'd take some of the heat as well.
Enda Kenny wants all leaders on Board - what's the story there? Does he want everyone to 'gang up' on FF? Probably no risk for Kenny to have SF there as they'll generally only appeal to FF's support.

Quote from: Maguire01 on January 27, 2011, 07:10:49 PM
So the leaders' debates - what's the story? I thought it was a given that they would happen, but it appears not.

Interesting developments - Martin wants a debate between the 3 leaders - is he wanting to avoid confrontation with Adams? Why would he want to keep the Greens out? Surely they'd take some of the heat as well.
Enda Kenny wants all leaders on Board - what's the story there? Does he want everyone to 'gang up' on FF? Probably no risk for Kenny to have SF there as they'll generally only appeal to FF's support.
Martin thinks that the more time enda has to speak the more chance of him f**king up.  I thought Martin came across as particularly odious and arrogant today with his 'disappointment and surprise', what a f**king tosser, FF really don't get it yet.  And that after Martin came out this morning making the right noises about electoral reform and legislative reform allowing non elected experts into cabinet.

belleaqua

Quote from: Bogball XV on January 27, 2011, 09:32:35 PM

Martin thinks that the more time enda has to speak the more chance of him f**king up.  I thought Martin came across as particularly odious and arrogant today with his 'disappointment and surprise', what a f**king t**ser, FF really don't get it yet.  And that after Martin came out this morning making the right noises about electoral reform and legislative reform allowing non elected experts into cabinet.

In fairness Bogball XV you hardly expect Martin to sit back and do nothing, he's trying to save the party not oversee its destruction no matter how many or how much people want it to happen. He's nothing to lose so he's playing as smart a game as possible. Enda Kenny iv said before gets an undeserved hammering from media no matter what. Its bordering on extreme personal bias. However, who is advising the man?? I dont care how democratic he is trying to be by insisting that 5 parties should participate in the debate, he should have known it looks like he's running scared. Fine Gael have a great chance to be the overwhelming winner in this election by getting close to an overall majority yet manage to jeopardise that too often.

Quote from: belleaqua on January 27, 2011, 09:43:14 PM

Martin thinks that the more time enda has to speak the more chance of him f**king up.  I thought Martin came across as particularly odious and arrogant today with his 'disappointment and surprise', what a f**king t**ser, FF really don't get it yet.  And that after Martin came out this morning making the right noises about electoral reform and legislative reform allowing non elected experts into cabinet.

In fairness Bogball XV you hardly expect Martin to sit back and do nothing, he's trying to save the party not oversee its destruction no matter how many or how much people want it to happen. He's nothing to lose so he's playing as smart a game as possible. Enda Kenny iv said before gets an undeserved hammering from media no matter what. Its bordering on extreme personal bias. However, who is advising the man?? I dont care how democratic he is trying to be by insisting that 5 parties should participate in the debate, he should have known it looks like he's running scared. Fine Gael have a great chance to be the overwhelming winner in this election by getting close to an overall majority yet manage to jeopardise that too often.
I agree that martin's tactic was right, I just thought he overplayed it and came across badly (I know I'm biased and I remember you telling me I was a little blinkered in my hatred of ahern last time around).  Martin's continued pressing of the point was typical of what people have come to dislike about FF, or am I once agan reading the mood of the people wrongly?

belleaqua

Quote from: Bogball XV on January 27, 2011, 10:39:55 PM
Quote from: belleaqua on January 27, 2011, 09:43:14 PM

I agree that martin's tactic was right, I just thought he overplayed it and came across badly (I know I'm biased and I remember you telling me I was a little blinkered in my hatred of ahern last time around).  Martin's continued pressing of the point was typical of what people have come to dislike about FF, or am I once agan reading the mood of the people wrongly?

And I too blinkered on the emphasis I placed on his contribution to the peace process. With Martin I think it is a tactic that has worked, its put the focus on Kenny, not on how arrogant and pressing Martin has been, no?? And typically the press have ran with the anti-Enda agenda. Im just saying he has to reduce the opportunities he gives them.

Quote from: belleaqua on January 27, 2011, 10:57:52 PMAnd I too blinkered on the emphasis I placed on his contribution to the peace process. With Martin I think it is a tactic that has worked, its put the focus on Kenny, not on how arrogant and pressing Martin has been, no?? And typically the press have ran with the anti-Enda agenda. Im just saying he has to reduce the opportunities he gives them.
I give him a little credit for the peace process, but it was happening regardless, there was little or no stomach for it anymore.  The groundwork had been done by hume, adams, reynolds, even major.  With blair in the uk the time was ripe and it would have been a poor irish taoiseach who couldn't have grasped that with both hands (I may well be understating his part here, but I find it hard to see past the utter contempt I have for the man).
As I say, you may well be right about Martin and he may have scored the goal today.  In any case, I wish they would all move on from this sort of shite, the time for games was about 5 years ago.

belleaqua

Quote from: Bogball XV on January 27, 2011, 11:10:30 PM
Quote from: belleaqua on January 27, 2011, 10:57:52 PMAnd I too blinkered on the emphasis I placed on his contribution to the peace process. With Martin I think it is a tactic that has worked, its put the focus on Kenny, not on how arrogant and pressing Martin has been, no?? And typically the press have ran with the anti-Enda agenda. Im just saying he has to reduce the opportunities he gives them.
I give him a little credit for the peace process, but it was happening regardless, there was little or no stomach for it anymore.  The groundwork had been done by hume, adams, reynolds, even major.  With blair in the uk the time was ripe and it would have been a poor irish taoiseach who couldn't have grasped that with both hands (I may well be understating his part here, but I find it hard to see past the utter contempt I have for the man).
As I say, you may well be right about Martin and he may have scored the goal today.  In any case, I wish they would all move on from this sort of shite, the time for games was about 5 years ago.

Fair enough, I repesct your view, I think it was a little more difficult than that though! Ya true, they'll always be playin politics, its the nature of it im afraid.

Orangemac

I imagine FG hacks have Kenny strapped to a chair in a padded room with a blackboard in front of him.
Repeat after me " Senior Bondholders". "Austerity Measures", "IMF, no not "EMF", "Unbelievable".

Teach him 10 reasons to vote FF and 10 reasons not to vote FF. Don't actually try and answer the questions. The only thing is that expectations are so low, any reasonably competent performance would be a victory.

5 way leaders debate in Irish would be funny.

Moderator : "Gerry Adams, would Sinn protect the corporation tax from European attempts to increase it?"

Gerry: "Ta".

Kenny made a big mistake on this one.

"Anytime, anyplace Meehal" should have been the reply.

WTF is advising Kenny? (Keep him shut lads, don't want to spook the electorate)

FF are a busted flush. It's like the druken old timer in a saloon bar in a western fillum wanting to face up to the new kid on the block in a shoot off. Kenny blew it, again. Another open goal missed.

Labour are losing support as Mad Joan gets madder (2 years of lectures listening to her moan) and Gilmore disappears. What is Labour policy?
Sinn Fein....ah f**k dont get me started.
Greens will get no seats. No. Trevor will survive. So one seat
The independent loons will hold their own.

Shamrock Shore could have a role in the 31st Dáil

Ball Hopper

So is the election still on March 11, or is it being brought forward?

It is the perogative of the Teashop. If he disolves the Dáil on Tuesday then it's almost certain to be 25 Feb and he has said he will disolve the Dáil on Tuesday.

So it's Feb 25.

My election literature is being drawn up.

Anyone any controversial policies I could include. Travellers have to feature, as do Romanian beggars, "Fat Cat Bankers" and wans getting pregnant for the social. I could always throw in some reference to 'right to life' just to get the auld wans riz.

I throw it open to gaaboard to form my policies. However no reference to the "struggle" can be included as I don't want to get minus votes here.

Larry for Culture Ministry SS?  And soft jobs for several other Larries, including yours truly??

If you move the Ombudsman, HSE, Justice/Law Reform and other troublesome departments to Granard and brought in a new rule that any complaints had to be made in person, one the spot.  The complaints would dry up very quickly.

A Longford quango is almost a certainty if I hold the balance of power along with Dolly Healy Rae and Michael Lowry.

Jobs for the boys.

Billy - I'll put you in charge of the Poolbeg Incinerator project where you can deal with Gormley, the soon-to-be-ex TD.
Laurel - a role in the Dept of Education looking after graduates with football skills but no employment skills
Hardy (honourary Larry) - a role in Dept of Foreign Affairs with special responsibility for Northern Ireland affairs.

Banana Man

first law to be passed should be the GPA is a proscribed paramilitary grouping and drive it underground as it's sucking up too much cash

Instead of happy hours in pubs, have unhappy hours i.e. one hour at full prices and the rest of the day at ridiculous prices to encourage footfall and get the ailing pub industry up and running

Bulldoze the Aviva and turn it into a tax free casino based on Monaco and encourage all the big wigs from Europe (IMF etc)over to gamble

Invade the isle of man and keep as tax free haven for foreign investors with the Manx paying crazy tax to the Dail

grant licences for the growing of class A drugs in the impoverished west of Ireland only, designate it as an enterprise zone specialising in class A drugs trade an export all over Europe - twin galway with Bogota for authenticity

Give tax breaks to anyone joining a 'Monday club' but they have to produce evidence (preferably photographic) that they were poleaxed between 9am and 11am on said Monday