Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Karl Kennedy on May 21, 2009, 09:03:27 PM

Title: New York
Post by: Karl Kennedy on May 21, 2009, 09:03:27 PM
Heading to New York for a month in the summer. Just a quick question...

If I decide to bring no dollars with me and just use the ATMs out there, is there a charge to use it. I'm hearing different stories saying it's $5 to $10 to free, so anyone any experience of it?
Title: Re: New York
Post by: AFS on May 21, 2009, 09:08:50 PM
Most of the cash machines that I found out there were the privately owned ones with quite large charges ($5-6).
Post by: The Iceman on May 21, 2009, 09:12:24 PM
you are better to bring some cash with you and maybe use a visa card from home for purchases that you can pay off when you get back
you get charged on some machines if you use one from one of the smaller private banks and even some of the bigger banks.
Post by: Karl Kennedy on May 29, 2009, 02:38:16 PM
Anyone aware if Maestro cards work in the ATMs and shops in the US?
Post by: nifan on May 29, 2009, 03:00:44 PM
5-6 dollars? that seems excessive!
usually 1-2 dollars I find!
Post by: heganboy on May 29, 2009, 03:09:37 PM
maestro works only if it has the visa / mastercard sign.
standard atm fee is now $3 but can be $4
if you pay by visa there is no charge and you get the exchange rate of the day of purchase (best rates)
Title: New York
Post by: 5 Sams on May 29, 2009, 03:13:32 PM
For a wee bit of extra security you might want to consider travellers cheques....from my experience they are widely accepted in shops, bars and restaurants.
Post by: DennistheMenace on May 29, 2009, 04:05:09 PM
Not much happening in New York mate wouldn't advise going.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 29, 2009, 04:12:38 PM
Are you from the North or the South

When I went over for 3 months I got free banking with Nationwide as they don't have any charges on foreign transactions.
Check their website to see do they still do it?

Post by: nifan on May 29, 2009, 04:14:50 PM
most credit or debit cards will charge you 2.75% loading on all transactions (in addition to any cash withdrawal fee).

nationwide is the best - they have started charging a small amount while outside europe, but much lower than usual.
Post by: The Iceman on May 29, 2009, 05:17:13 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on May 29, 2009, 04:05:09 PM
There is plenty of craic to be had - just not a whole pile of work.
Come down the NJ shore  - some good spots and only a spin from Philadelphia too if you want to get a look about ya
Post by: heganboy on May 29, 2009, 05:26:21 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on May 29, 2009, 04:05:09 PM

Huh?

Do you mean New York, NY or New York, Texas?
Post by: sammymaguire on May 29, 2009, 05:36:59 PM
I'm with HSBC and it was free for me to use their bank machines to withdraw cash which was handy as there are plenty HSBC ATM's out there

I think the not much happening out there means work, I was there last weekend, I have to say I noticed that the pubs were alot quieter than they have been on plenty of my previous visits to NYC. Some of the shops, dept stores are also closing down floors etc

still, the weather was great and the craic was 90
Post by: milltown row on May 29, 2009, 05:46:23 PM
was in NY 16 years ago this summer. christ that long :-[

the weather was unreal, and as a 21 year old it was some spot. would love to go back for a visit. My cousin still lives in Brooklyn "Bergen street" i think, not sure. did all the sites then headed down to Wildwood NJ with the rest of the Irish. sleazy Baywatch
Post by: Karl Kennedy on May 29, 2009, 06:31:14 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 29, 2009, 04:12:38 PM
Are you from the North or the South

When I went over for 3 months I got free banking with Nationwide as they don't have any charges on foreign transactions.
Check their website to see do they still do it?

I'm from the North. I think i'll just use the Maestro and take out plenty at a time so I don't have to use it too often. Anyone with any contacts for accomodation in New York for 6 lads? We can let on there's just three of us and bring the other three in our suitcases... ;)
Post by: sammymaguire on June 02, 2009, 02:09:33 PM
sure Waldorf Astoria always does the trick  :D
Post by: heganboy on June 02, 2009, 08:19:36 PM
ach sure a bit like the Plaza, its not what it was...
Post by: Caid on June 02, 2009, 09:57:11 PM
Heading to NYC for 6 months myself next month with work.  Was going to ask for good bars to watch the GAA but i'm sure that's on other threads so i'll just do a search instead!
Post by: sammymaguire on June 03, 2009, 08:30:34 AM
any of the Connolly's would do the trick
Post by: Declan on February 16, 2010, 02:40:10 PM
Any recommendations for a few jars and a bite to eat on a Friday evening in the Big Apple. Heading over with work and will be in midtown so I'm sure there's plenty of options but if anyone knows anywhere it'd save the old legs on a crawl!!!
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 16, 2010, 02:49:51 PM
Quote from: Declan on February 16, 2010, 02:40:10 PM
Any recommendations for a few jars and a bite to eat on a Friday evening in the Big Apple. Heading over with work and will be in midtown so I'm sure there's plenty of options but if anyone knows anywhere it'd save the old legs on a crawl!!!
virgils just off times square-  bbq house
enjoyed it when I was over there last sept
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 16, 2010, 03:01:34 PM
Perfect pint on 45th between 2nd and 3rd good grub and ask for Caroline, she might get you a little discount if you mention me.
Post by: Declan on February 16, 2010, 03:12:29 PM
Thanks Lads - duly noted
Post by: wicked on February 17, 2010, 04:35:55 AM
I love Perfect Pint. Haven't been to a lot of NYC bars, but it's top notch. There's an upscale place selling itself as an Irish pub that I think is somewhere in the neighborhood of 61st Street and First Avenue (been a few years, don't remember the name) and near the Midtown Tunnel that seems to be hopping, too.

(For those going longer, definitely suggest a side jaunt to Philly or Boston, can take the train/bus to either pretty easily and for cheap.)
Post by: heganboy on February 17, 2010, 04:45:12 AM
Quote from: Declan on February 16, 2010, 02:40:10 PM
sure why don't you give us a shout and sure a few of us could show you the ropes...
much as id love to bust his balls- carmen makes a strong point- and sure maybe he'd join us?
other than that I'll try my best...
Post by: new devil on February 17, 2010, 07:17:31 AM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on February 16, 2010, 03:01:34 PM
Perfect pint on 45th between 2nd and 3rd good grub and ask for Caroline, she might get you a little discount if you mention me.

I might try that too  ;)
Post by: Declan on February 17, 2010, 08:31:18 AM
Quotesure why don't you give us a shout and sure a few of us could show you the ropes

Well if there's a few around on Friday 26th that could be a plan OK.
Post by: JUst retired on February 17, 2010, 08:35:21 AM
The Pig and Whistle  just off Times Square is another good Irish pub with good food. :)
Post by: 5 Sams on February 17, 2010, 03:59:06 PM
I know there's probably a lot of info on here within several threads but I always found this thread on Football 365 to be very informative about NYC. Enjoy yourself you luck bastid :'(

http://forum.football365.com/index.php?t=msg&th=160701&

Post by: Declan on February 24, 2010, 05:38:48 PM
Any of our New york based contributors feel up to a pint tomorrow or Friday night drop me a PM though I beileve weather is miserable over there at the moment.
Post by: The Subbie on February 24, 2010, 05:48:34 PM
Quote from: JUst retired on February 17, 2010, 08:35:21 AM
The Pig and Whistle  just off Times Square is another good Irish pub with good food. :)

Pig and whistle is a good spot, West 47th street between 6th and 7th, i was there last Sept but it was closed for renovations, that place across the road Langans is a poor substitute.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 24, 2010, 06:04:57 PM
Has been raining non stop here since yesterday morning and more expected.  As long as the snow stays away. Unfortunately plans made for Friday and training Thurs.  Would have been up for a few pints too but maybe again.
Post by: Hank Everlast on March 12, 2010, 04:45:32 PM
Headn over for st paddys week... Any must do's?
Post by: Puckoon on March 12, 2010, 04:46:49 PM
Quote from: Hank Everlast on March 12, 2010, 04:45:32 PM
Headn o e

There have been some mind blowingly profound posts on this board - but this one is beyond the scope of my understanding.

Hav g tm ;)
Post by: Hank Everlast on March 12, 2010, 04:48:56 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 12, 2010, 04:46:49 PM
Headn o e

There have been some mind blowingly profound posts on this board - but this one is beyond the scope of my understanding.

Hav g tm ;)

I hit post by accident...
Post by: Hardy on March 12, 2010, 04:54:33 PM
Hope you didn't hurt yourself.
Post by: The Iceman on March 12, 2010, 05:41:34 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 12, 2010, 04:54:33 PM
Hope you didn't hurt yourself.

Excellent
Post by: Hank Everlast on March 12, 2010, 07:26:23 PM
Ha ha very good, it stung for a wile but i'm ok now!!
Post by: Niall Quinn on March 12, 2010, 08:45:34 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 12, 2010, 04:46:49 PM
Headn o e

Hav g tm ;)

Does the scope of your understanding include things you don't currently understand, but which you might, given time and hard learning?
Post by: Puckoon on March 12, 2010, 08:48:17 PM
Som es u ot lwy.
Post by: SambaSaffron on March 12, 2010, 08:54:00 PM
Concrete jungle where dreams are made of!
Post by: Minder on March 12, 2010, 08:55:22 PM
Quote from: SambaSaffron on March 12, 2010, 08:54:00 PM
Concrete jungle where dreams are made of!

Racist - reported.
Post by: ross4life on March 12, 2010, 09:08:51 PM
what is peoples Opinions on New York?

of the USA cities Ive been to i would rate it as follows.......

1. las Vegas
2. Chicago
3. Salt lake City
4. New york
5 La

gong to San Francisco shortly & i expect that to top my list
Post by: The Watcher Pat on March 12, 2010, 09:11:52 PM
Start learning to walk up steep hills..Have a mate there he say's always walk to the pub up hill.. You'll be able to roll down home, if you go downhill to a pub your fcuked getting home!
Post by: Newbridge Exile on March 12, 2010, 09:23:13 PM
Quote from: ross4life on March 12, 2010, 09:08:51 PM

1. las Vegas
2. Chicago
3. Salt lake City
4. New york
5 La

Enjoyed New York especially the St Patricks day we were over but overall I would rate

1) Boston
2) San Fransisco
3) Chicago
4) New York
5)Vegas

and down at the bottom of the pile most definitely is Philadelphia
Post by: 5 Sams on March 12, 2010, 10:48:08 PM
Doesnt matter what you do in that town Hank..you'll come back wantin to go again...
Personally a must do is to get your boots on and walk everywhere...it's like walking through a film set. You'll recognise everywhere from what you have seen on the movies/TV.
A few years ago myself and the Bro n Law got the subway from where we were staying on 57th St to Battery Park and had a look around the Financial district and Ground Zero. We then walked from there along Broadway to Times Square...it'll take you a while but you will have a few pit stops along the way!

If you want some real good advice about Manhattan pm Heganboy...he might be an Armagh hoor but he knows his stuff about the Big Apple ;) ;) ;)
Post by: The Watcher Pat on March 12, 2010, 10:54:47 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on March 12, 2010, 10:48:08 PM
Doesnt matter what you do in that town Hank..you'll come back wantin to go again...
Personally a must do is to get your boots on and walk everywhere...it's like walking through a film set. You'll recognise everywhere from what you have seen on the movies/TV.
A few years ago myself and the Bro n Law got the subway from where we were staying on 57th St to Battery Park and had a look around the Financial district and Ground Zero. We then walked from there along Broadway to Times Square...it'll take you a while but you will have a few pit stops along the way!

If you want some real good advice about Manhattan pm Heganboy...he might be an Armagh hoor but he knows his stuff about the Big Apple ;) ;) ;)

Carmen statesside is there too...Knows a few good mates of mine...Going in summer myself can't wait to get back!
Post by: nifan on March 14, 2010, 05:22:15 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on March 12, 2010, 10:48:08 PM

Hes only a tourist himself - he lives in jersey!
Post by: 118cmal on May 13, 2010, 08:21:50 PM
Hey guys heading over inJune and just wondering about the NY state tax.  I'm thinking of buying a Macbook which retails at $999.  Is this all I'll have to pay or will I have to pay state tax after this? 

Thanks,
Mal
Post by: dec on May 13, 2010, 09:19:36 PM
If you are buying in New York City the combined city and state tax is 8.875%
Post by: heganboy on May 14, 2010, 03:40:16 AM
if you can get it in macys- go in show your passport and they'l give you i think 11% off you need to head to cust service on the mezzanine when you go in
Post by: J70 on May 14, 2010, 04:02:11 AM
Taxes are not included in labelled prices like they are at home. They add the tax at the register. Can be annoying when you're not used to it!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 14, 2010, 04:36:17 PM
Going to NY myself in September then onto Vegas for a week afterwards..I can't fecking wait  8)

Post by: new devil on May 14, 2010, 05:16:42 PM
As long as she dosen't catch herself on between now and then!!  :P
Post by: ross4life on May 14, 2010, 05:23:01 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 14, 2010, 04:36:17 PM
Going to NY myself in September then onto Vegas for a week afterwards..I can't fecking wait  8)

The city that does sleep to the real city that doesn't sleep!
Post by: Puckoon on August 03, 2010, 06:28:39 PM
Trying to get to NYC for a week in October - figure the weather should be nice enough still then. Bit of an autumny feel about it maybe.

Anyone any advice on accomodation? Even looking on the 'top secret' hotels portion of travelocity most places are wanting 200$ a night. Hoping to stay 5 nights
Post by: Puckoon on August 03, 2010, 06:34:35 PM
Quote from: ross4life on March 12, 2010, 09:08:51 PM

1. las Vegas
2. Chicago
3. Salt lake City
4. New york
5 La

This may be the only non mormon list that has Salt Lake as a top 5 american city.

Utah liquor laws
Utah's liquor laws are known as one of the more peculiar things about the state. Liquor is sold only in state-owned stores which can cost more than in other states - but are neat, clean and always well stocked. In fact, the wine stores are brimming with a surprising selection of wines. "Near-beer" (3.2% alcohol by weight/4% alcohol by volume, as opposed to the standard 4-5% alcohol by volume) replaces the usual brew, which is available in stores and restaurants. "Full strength," or, "Strong Beer," is available in bars and liquor stores. Also, state law prohibits the serving of more than 1.5 ounces of alcohol as the primary liquor in a mixed drink. This used to be circumvented with the purchase of a "sidecar" (a separate shot of liquor), but the laws have recently been amended. Secondary alcoholic flavorings may then be added to a mixed drink as the recipe requires.

Although liquor laws in Utah are more strict, they are not impossible. There are several kinds of establishments to know about:

Private club. Utah has recently changed its liquor laws and Private clubs are no longer required. A very few clubs have retained memberships, such as the exclusive Alta Club.
Tavern. A tavern is a bar that serves only beer and requires no "membership".
Restaurants. Many restaurants serve beer as well as hard liquor. No "membership" is required, but you must order food. You cannot order more than one drink (per person) at a time.
State Wine Store. There are approximately 10 state run wine stores [69] in Salt Lake City. One State Wine Store is located near downtown Salt Lake City (205 W 400 S; off-street parking). The wine prices vary significantly, but the store must sell the wine for at least 67% above cost (beer 75% above cost) plus state taxes. You cannot buy wine openers at the wine stores, so bring your own or be prepared to buy one somewhere else. The selection of wine is fairly large, but the selection of spirits is quite small and centered around "premium" spirits. There is also no case discount available.
Post by: ross4life on August 03, 2010, 06:59:24 PM
So much more to Salt lake City than drink, beautiful clean friendly city unlike some of the others have been to.. San Francisco  would jump to number two in my list now
Post by: Puckoon on August 03, 2010, 07:10:51 PM
I've been there, I just found it a strange place. Perhaps I was not blown away by it because I have equal beauty on my own doorstep. I think Lake Tahoe beats Salt Lake into submission.

I think it is hard to compare cities like Salt Lake, or even Vegas to such metropoli as San fran, Boston, Chicago and NYC. Not comparing apples to apples.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on August 03, 2010, 09:57:07 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 03, 2010, 06:28:39 PM
Trying to get to NYC for a week in October - figure the weather should be nice enough still then. Bit of an autumny feel about it maybe.

Anyone any advice on accomodation? Even looking on the 'top secret' hotels portion of travelocity most places are wanting 200$ a night. Hoping to stay 5 nights

Try Hotwire - but not yet, I wouldn't book until 3 or 4 weeks before you go, prices will come down a lot closer to your trip. I'm heading over late September, but the prices are still way too high just yet. $125 should get you somewhere decent in Midtown in October.
Post by: Niall Quinn on August 06, 2010, 04:39:00 AM
Yeah, hotwire at short notice is a great gig. I got a great hotel on the Chicago loop for $90 or so.
Accomodation is brutally expensive in New York though - maybe just pitch a tent in Central park after dark.
for what it's worth, my baseless list of urban delights in Americana:
1 charleston, sc
2 San Diego, ca
3 Chicago, il
4 San Fran, ca
5 Murfreesboro, tn
and the nastier nooks:
1 Philly, pa
2 albuquerque, nm
3 Dayton, oh
4 Orlando, fl
5 Los Angeles, ca
Post by: LostInSpace on June 29, 2011, 07:44:43 PM
Hey lads, heading to US in summer again for a 2 1/2 weeks, done the Wildwood thing 5 years ago and was too drunk to remember most of it.

I have the hotel booked for NY for the first 7 days, was planning on heading to Washington DC for 3 days and then onto Atlantic City for 2 days (Sat/Sun), then back to NY for the rest.  Have any of you done this trip before?  Did you rent a car or get the train? I havent the hotels booked for DC and Atlantic City yet, would you advise stopping off in Philadelphia for a few days as the train will be passing through there 3 times on my current trip itinerary. I havent train tickets booked either.  Any general suggestions/recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
Post by: 3000 miles away on June 29, 2011, 10:23:24 PM
lost in space, i think your best bet is to rent a car at jfk when ur leaving new york for your travels to DC, preferably with car hire 3000 there the cheapest ive worked with, its 4 hours to DC from New York and Philly is on route, just off I,95 if u wanted to stop there, not a whole lot to do there in all fairness, you could also look into going to six flags,new jersey, very good rollercoasters and water slides in 2 different parks, then on your way home from DC u could do Atlantic city, good fun if u like a flutter at the casinos, any more questions feel free to ask.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 29, 2011, 10:44:45 PM
Used Car Hire 3000 myself to rent cars in the UK and they were grand. Far cheaper than other ones that were available.
Post by: LostInSpace on June 29, 2011, 10:51:09 PM
How much of a benefit do you think renting a car would be to getting the train?  I know that most of the hotels will charge you to park your car overnight so X 5/6 days plus car rental (cheapest on 3000 182.00), i think the costs would even out.  If we were going to be dining out and experiencing the nightlife then having to drive the next day. I would say the train would be better.  Any thoughts on this?

Also, would there be tolls on the route down to DC?
How did you find driving in around NY, in comparison to europe?  Much more difficult?
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 29, 2011, 11:01:03 PM
Price a return ticket on Amtrak to DC.  Car will work out alot cheaper.
Post by: LostInSpace on June 29, 2011, 11:08:06 PM
NY to DC to AC to NY is $280 for 2 people
Post by: LostInSpace on June 29, 2011, 11:09:38 PM
An the car rental was 182 sterling - When you add in Fuel ( I realise its not that much) Car Parking - Possible tolls etc.

Post by: new devil on July 01, 2011, 09:40:42 AM
Check out Megabus.com..very comfortable buses and only $40/50 return to DC
Post by: Canalman on July 01, 2011, 10:41:15 AM
Would bus it myself........... trains as already stated are  fierce expensive. Personally, would NEVER hire a car in America if I wanted to enjoy the nightlife and drive next day. Wouldn't like to be dealing with a cop after even the smallest of accidents.

AC is a kip of the highest order, a good Irish bar there though just off the boardwalk surrounded by vacant lots. Well worth a visit.

Philly, well worth a day or two (max). Must do is a visit to Eastern State Penitentiary (relax it is closed). See Capone's cell etc. Main Amtrak station is Art Deco where the first murder scene in Witness was filmed.

Give Baltimore a miss. Nothing really of interest there imo.
Post by: southdown on July 01, 2011, 12:16:14 PM
Any legal eagles out there know if I can use my legal qualifications in either NY or Chicago (qualified in England and Wales). 
Post by: FL/MAYO on July 01, 2011, 01:57:19 PM
Quote from: southdown on July 01, 2011, 12:16:14 PM
Any legal eagles out there know if I can use my legal qualifications in either NY or Chicago (qualified in England and Wales).
I believe to practice law in the US you have to pass the bar exam for the state you want to practice law in.
Post by: J70 on July 01, 2011, 04:00:15 PM
Quote from: new devil on July 01, 2011, 09:40:42 AM
Check out Megabus.com..very comfortable buses and only $40/50 return to DC

Took Bolt Bus to DC last autumn. $38 each for the two of us. Very comfortable too and they have wireless internet access, although it was a bit spotty.
Post by: J70 on July 01, 2011, 04:04:48 PM
There are tolls on all crossings between NYC and NJ. Then you're looking at tolls on the NJ Turnpike. I'd imagine there are also tolls crossing into Delaware and then on through to DC.

I drive to West Chester PA once or twice a year, and its about $15-20 worth of tolls each way from NYC. DC is twice the distance.
Post by: J70 on July 01, 2011, 04:07:31 PM
Edit: NJ-NYC crossings.... tolls are on the trip into the city only. All else is both ways though.
Post by: LostInSpace on July 05, 2011, 10:19:40 PM
Thanks for the information lads, think I'm going to take the bus, cant be bad to those prices :-)
Post by: 5 Sams on July 05, 2011, 11:02:59 PM
Anyone any links for short term apartment hire companies....lookin to save a few quid on hotels for 4 or 5 nights in September??
Post by: LostInSpace on July 05, 2011, 11:12:53 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 05, 2011, 11:02:59 PM
Anyone any links for short term apartment hire companies....lookin to save a few quid on hotels for 4 or 5 nights in September??

Im sure you already know that there is a scam of illegally renting private apartments, deposit up front and when you get there the apartment either doesnt exist or someone else lives there.

There are some companies who rent out apartments legally of course but any I checked were looking big $$$, Manhattan is ridiculously expensive, theres quite a few taxes added onto everything. 
Post by: Norf Tyrone on September 27, 2012, 09:50:49 PM
Quick question.

I've an opportunity to stop off at New York (Never been) via work, but it's short and sweet.

Essentially I arrive in Newark at 2pm, and leave again the next day at midday Sunday. Essentially I'll be reaching my hotel at the airport at 3ish, and be up and away again at 9am the next day.

Is it worth the hassle?
How far is it from Newark to New York center?
How much will it cost me to get there and back?

I can get an alternate flight that gives me Friday evening, all Saturday and all Sunday in Minneapolis (I know there isn't much there) which might be a more leisurely option.

Any suggestions?
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 27, 2012, 10:06:56 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on September 27, 2012, 09:50:49 PM
Quick question.

I've an opportunity to stop off at New York (Never been) via work, but it's short and sweet.

Essentially I arrive in Newark at 2pm, and leave again the next day at midday Sunday. Essentially I'll be reaching my hotel at the airport at 3ish, and be up and away again at 9am the next day.

Is it worth the hassle?

I can get an alternate flight that gives me Friday evening, all Saturday and all Sunday in Minneapolis (I know there isn't much there) which might be a more leisurely option.

Any suggestions?
http://gonyc.about.com/cs/airlinesairports/a/getto_ewr.htm (http://gonyc.about.com/cs/airlinesairports/a/getto_ewr.htm)

I would go for it. Bus for 20 odd bucks return. Could get in a wee bit of sightseeing, a beer and a feed and back out to bed.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 27, 2012, 11:13:42 PM
Quick question.

Is it worth the hassle?

Any suggestions?

You have an opportunity to spend a few hours in Manhattan...don't miss it. Amazing place...you'll be back.
Post by: tyssam5 on September 27, 2012, 11:21:23 PM
Quick question.

Is it worth the hassle?

Any suggestions?

Time of day you're going in at the train should be handier than the bus. The train at Newark that links the terminals also link to NJ transit and the train runs into Penn station, right in the middle of Manhattan. Shouldn't take more than 45mins. You should definitely do it.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on September 28, 2012, 01:50:46 AM
Cheers lads.

Still can't make up my mind. We'd always planned that me and the missus would head over for our 40ths. Not sure how it'll go down if I do a < 24 hour whistle stop tour!

Quandry!
Post by: sammymaguire on September 28, 2012, 09:21:20 AM
although tempting to go in when you are so close, I'd say leave it and do it properly - it will last in the memory the rest of your life
Post by: thewobbler on September 28, 2012, 09:26:36 AM
Quote from: sammymaguire on September 28, 2012, 09:21:20 AM
although tempting to go in when you are so close, I'd say leave it and do it properly - it will last in the memory the rest of your life
I'm thinking the opposite.

The train from Newark to Penn Station is great. Get out at Penn, walk over to the Rockefeller and have a look over Central Park. You'll be sold on New York forever.
Post by: Canalman on September 28, 2012, 10:29:29 AM
Yeah, train from Newark takes barely 30/40 minutes and you are straight into Manhattan. For an afternoon only straight down to the tip of Manhattan to see The Statute of Liberty, Wall Street, Ground Zero and maybe a trip on the Staten Island ferry. Should be enough for the day along with a few beers near Penn Station before your return.
Area around Newark Train station really empties out after dark and is not a place I would dilly dally around.
Post by: tyssam5 on September 28, 2012, 11:28:14 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on September 28, 2012, 01:50:46 AM
Cheers lads.

Still can't make up my mind. We'd always planned that me and the missus would head over for our 40ths. Not sure how it'll go down if I do a < 24 hour whistle stop tour!

Quandry!

I don't get why that's a quandary, would she rather you stayed at a Newark airport hotel for the whole evening/night just cos she wasn't there?
Post by: laoislad on September 28, 2012, 12:38:43 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on September 28, 2012, 11:28:14 AM
Cheers lads.

Quandry!

I don't get why that's a quandary, would she rather you stayed at a Newark airport hotel for the whole evening/night just cos she wasn't there?

I don't understand why he would even tell her..

New York is ok. Was there for a week two years ago.
I wouldn't be rushing back, not that I didn't enjoy it but I dunno what you would do the second time once you have seen all the famous sights the first go.
I'd rather go and explore a new city if I was going back to the States.
Post by: J70 on September 28, 2012, 01:09:28 PM
If you want to stay in Newark for the night, maybe the Red Bulls will be playing at home. Thierry Henry is still strutting his stuff there.

Personally I'd take the quick train journey into Manhattan. You can also take the PATH train direct from Newark to midtown or the World Trade Center. And if you go to a Red Bulls game, the PATH will have you there in five minutes from Newark.
Post by: tyssam5 on September 28, 2012, 03:52:02 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 28, 2012, 12:38:43 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on September 28, 2012, 11:28:14 AM
Cheers lads.

Quandry!

I don't understand why he would even tell her..

New York is ok. Was there for a week two years ago.
I wouldn't be rushing back, not that I didn't enjoy it but I dunno what you would do the second time once you have seen all the famous sights the first go.
I'd rather go and explore a new city if I was going back to the States.

For me there's enough to do for any amount of trips, one you've got the sights out of the way you can start to have fun.
Post by: gallsman on December 11, 2012, 12:46:34 PM
Hi, myself and a crowd of friends are looking to go to New York for a week in mid-March over St. Patrick's Day. Had an idea to rent a car and go visit Niagar Falls and then spend the night in Toronto before heading back the following day. Lot of driving to do in two days but I think it would be a good thing to do as I definitely want to do more than spend seven days and nights in the city visiting tourist sites and then going out. Has anyone done this in such a timeframe? If so, would you recommend it?
Post by: thewobbler on December 11, 2012, 01:46:25 PM
Did something similar a few years back, but over 10 nights.

We did four nights in New York, rented a car, then headed North to Buffalo. We had a couple of nights there, and did Niagara and Niagara on the Lake on day one, then a Bills game on day two. Headed north onto Toronto for a night.

Up to that point it was all planned and booked, and we winged the last couple of days, doing a lap of Lake Ontario, staying in Waterville, over to Lake George for the day, then Saratoga that evening. The final day was a leisurely jaunt back to JFK.

What I'd pass on is:

- Niagara Falls is simply breathtaking (especially from the Canadian side). But don't stay at Niagara, it is tackiness personified. Niagara on the Lake is 20 mins up the road and is gorgeous.

- There is really not very much to to in Buffalo apart from eating Buffalo Wings.

- Toronto is definitely nice, but after a few days in Manhattan it's actually a bit disappointing to visit a city that isn't a big tourist attraction. Once you've done the CNT, it's hard to think of anything in the town that's even slightly as good as NYC. Which is the case for most towns. Plus Canadian dollars are just confusing.

- Waterville is a dump of epic small town America proportions and even if you're asleep at the wheel (as I was), drive on by.

- Apart from New Orleans, Saratoga is the most European feeling place I've visited in America. It has an upmarket, cafe culture that flies in the face of McDonalds drive thrus that litter every other US town.

- If, like me, you're going to drag everyone else out of bed at 6.30am to drive 3 hours to a Six Flags theme park, check in advance that it's open. Pure wally world stuff. Lake George though was nice, even out of season.

- The fact that we could pick up our car in midtown but drop it off at the airport saved us hours of messing around. It seems a standard arrangement in America.

- Even if you leave at the perfect hour of day, and sit at 90 the whole way, it's going to take 5-6 hours to get to Niagara in a car. To be honest I'd recommend you accept this, and plan somewhere nice for lunch along the way, rather than hope/plan you're going to get there early. Once you get past the NJ turnpike, it's one long straight road. Some stunning views of rivers and mountains, but it's motorway driving.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 11, 2012, 01:51:31 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on December 11, 2012, 01:46:25 PM
Did something similar a few years back, but over 10 nights.

We did four nights in New York, rented a car, then headed North to Buffalo. We had a couple of nights there, and did Niagara and Niagara on the Lake on day one, then a Bills game on day two. Headed north onto Toronto for a night.

Up to that point it was all planned and booked, and we winged the last couple of days, doing a lap of Lake Ontario, staying in Waterville, over to Lake George for the day, then Saratoga that evening. The final day was a leisurely jaunt back to JFK.

What I'd pass on is:

- Niagara Falls is simply breathtaking (especially from the Canadian side). But don't stay at Niagara, it is tackiness personified. Niagara on the Lake is 20 mins up the road and is gorgeous.

- There is really not very much to to in Buffalo apart from eating Buffalo Wings.

- Toronto is definitely nice, but after a few days in Manhattan it's actually a bit disappointing to visit a city that isn't a big tourist attraction. Once you've done the CNT, it's hard to think of anything in the town that's even slightly as good as NYC. Which is the case for most towns. Plus Canadian dollars are just confusing.

- Waterville is a dump of epic small town America proportions and even if you're asleep at the wheel (as I was), drive on by.

- Apart from New Orleans, Saratoga is the most European feeling place I've visited in America. It has an upmarket, cafe culture that flies in the face of McDonalds drive thrus that litter every other US town.

- If, like me, you're going to drag everyone else out of bed at 6.30am to drive 3 hours to a Six Flags theme park, check in advance that it's open. Pure wally world stuff. Lake George though was nice, even out of season.

- The fact that we could pick up our car in midtown but drop it off at the airport saved us hours of messing around. It seems a standard arrangement in America.

- Even if you leave at the perfect hour of day, and sit at 90 the whole way, it's going to take 5-6 hours to get to Niagara in a car. To be honest I'd recommend you accept this, and plan somewhere nice for lunch along the way, rather than hope/plan you're going to get there early. Once you get past the NJ turnpike, it's one long straight road. Some stunning views of rivers and mountains, but it's motorway driving.
You make it sound like a bad thing!
Post by: Hound on December 11, 2012, 01:53:35 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 11, 2012, 12:46:34 PM
Hi, myself and a crowd of friends are looking to go to New York for a week in mid-March over St. Patrick's Day. Had an idea to rent a car and go visit Niagar Falls and then spend the night in Toronto before heading back the following day. Lot of driving to do in two days but I think it would be a good thing to do as I definitely want to do more than spend seven days and nights in the city visiting tourist sites and then going out. Has anyone done this in such a timeframe? If so, would you recommend it?

No experience myself, but an American friend (who does a lot of travelling) told me that Niagara Falls is over-rated (not near as deep as the Superman movie makes out!!), but if you are going, view it from the Canadian side. He said that there's a town nearby called Niagara on the Lake that is very nice.
Post by: Canalman on December 11, 2012, 02:05:13 PM
For a 7 day trip not worth the bother imo in wasting a day up and a day down only to see Toronto and the NF.
Better imvho (if you really have  to) to go for a trip to DC by train and be able to stop off in Philadelphia, Baltimore etc on the way for a few hours each  . Philadelphia is a real nice place.

Also a real good chance that you get hassled at border trying to get back in to the US.
Post by: heganboy on December 11, 2012, 05:17:43 PM
Unless you are a massive fan of the wire, I wouldn't do Baltimore...
Post by: nifan on December 11, 2012, 05:24:09 PM
Quote from: heganboy on December 11, 2012, 05:17:43 PM
Unless you are a massive fan of the wire, I wouldn't do Baltimore...

If you're a massive fan of the wire you should know well enough to avoid b'more!
Post by: heganboy on December 11, 2012, 05:26:03 PM
you really want to start me on your you're use spelling

I hear you have an interesting new colleague...
Post by: tyssam5 on December 11, 2012, 05:32:30 PM
Quote from: Canalman on December 11, 2012, 02:05:13 PM
For a 7 day trip not worth the bother imo in wasting a day up and a day down only to see Toronto and the NF.
Better imvho (if you really have  to) to go for a trip to DC by train and be able to stop off in Philadelphia, Baltimore etc on the way for a few hours each  . Philadelphia is a real nice place.

Also a real good chance that you get hassled at border trying to get back in to the US.

I'd go South too instead of North, I like Washington DC. Or if I was going North I'd consider Montreal, really nice old city and you drive through some nice country on the way up, could do a day's skiing in Vermont or somewhere if you're into that kind of thing.
Post by: nifan on December 11, 2012, 05:37:41 PM
Quote from: heganboy on December 11, 2012, 05:26:03 PM
you really want to start me on your you're use spelling

I hear you have an interesting new colleague...

Fixed the spelling :)

"Colleague" - there is a few levels between us!
Post by: whitey on December 11, 2012, 06:20:31 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 11, 2012, 12:46:34 PM

Don't do it. You would be way better off hopping a bus/train and hitting up to Boston for a few days. That time of year traveling upstate is a nightmare-all types of lake effect snow, ice etc. I'm speaking from firsthand experience. Falls are nice, but there's SFA to do up there that time of year.

Post by: Stall the Bailer on December 12, 2012, 10:40:10 AM
I was at falls in January time a couple years ago. It was poor.
Half the falls were froze and the maid of mist was out of action. Probably at least spring before it starts up again. Unless you like casinos Niagara has little else, a bigger tacky version of Bundoran ,without the sea.
Post by: Hardy on December 12, 2012, 10:54:33 AM
Quote from: Stall the Bailer on December 12, 2012, 10:40:10 AM
Half the falls were froze and the maid of mist was out of action. Probably at least spring before it starts up again. Unless you like casinos Niagara has little else, a bigger tacky version of Bundoran ,without the sea.

Would it not be worth the trip to see that alone?
Post by: Stall the Bailer on December 12, 2012, 11:05:36 AM
Quote from: Hardy on December 12, 2012, 10:54:33 AM

Would it not be worth the trip to see that alone?

It means the falls is smaller than in the summer, about half the water going over it in the winter.
I was underwhelmed by it.
Post by: Hardy on December 12, 2012, 11:08:16 AM
OK - I see your point. I saw it in the Summer and it was the opposite of what I read about the Giant's Causeway, which I haven't seen, but I gather is something of a disappointment. Niagara was way more impressive than I was prepared for.
Post by: Stall the Bailer on December 12, 2012, 11:18:29 AM
Quote from: Hardy on December 12, 2012, 11:08:16 AM
OK - I see your point. I saw it in the Summer and it was the opposite of what I read about the Giant's Causeway, which I haven't seen, but I gather is something of a disappointment. Niagara was way more impressive than I was prepared for.
With all the negative talk I heard about the Causeway I was actually quite surprised how much I liked it. Mind you I wasn't expecting much.
Post by: whitey on December 12, 2012, 04:50:44 PM
Quote from: Stall the Bailer on December 12, 2012, 11:05:36 AM
Quote from: Hardy on December 12, 2012, 10:54:33 AM

Would it not be worth the trip to
It means the falls is smaller than in the summer, about half the water going over it in the winter.
I was underwhelmed by it.

In the springtime when the thaw takes place, the flow is spectacular, often with huge chunks of ice thrown in for good measure. I used to have to go there for work all the time, so I have been there probably 20 times in total. You could drive the whole way there from NYC and see nothing that time of year so I would strongly advise against taking this side trip. Come up to boston on the $10 bus and go on the lash for a few days........that would be a much better use of your time
Post by: dubai2000 on January 09, 2013, 08:51:30 PM
Guys heading to NYC next month for 4 nights - any advice on where I should stay - is location important as infra structure is pretty good. Also any advice on what I should take in?? Thanks in advance
Post by: heganboy on January 09, 2013, 09:55:57 PM
Send me a pm on what you like to do, background price range etc and i will do my best to advise
Post by: JimStynes on January 09, 2013, 11:49:18 PM
Send it on to me as well Hegan please. Thinking of heading to new york/vegas in the summer. Cheers
Post by: Syferus on January 10, 2013, 12:54:06 AM
Stayed in a friend's place in Queens when I was over, as long as you're comfortable with the subway there is zero need for any other transport. Get one of the seven day unlimited pass cards and you don't have to worry about paying every time you want to go somewhere and you'll likely save money even over only four days. Really it was a joy to not have to worry about traffic and the like, for one of the biggest cities in the world it's far more relaxing than many far smaller places to get around, especially with the uniform block layout in Manhattan.

I definitely would recommend you start looking at the subway maps now though because at first it's going to look like absolute gibberish and you don't want to be having to think on your feet while a train's pulling up of you could end up in the wrong borough!

If you have a smartphone you could look into contacting your network to get it unlocked and buying a cheap US SIM so you have cheap access to GPS and the net for worst-case scenarios.
Post by: gallsman on January 10, 2013, 11:48:28 AM
Booked flights to go over St. Patrick's Day from 14th to 21st March. Decided to stay in Jersey down by Liberty Park as it's only a few stops away from where we'd hoped to stay in Manhattan and it's right on the shore of the Hudson. Couldnt believe how you get much more for less once you leave Manhattan. Flying into Newark as well which makes it very convenient.

Never been before and simply cannot wait.
Post by: Rois on January 10, 2013, 11:59:09 AM
BF booked flights last week for 15 - 18 March (to do NY half marathon on St Patrick's Day at 7.30am) for £330 from Dublin. I thought that was a phenomenal price. 

We did loads of walking rather than use the subway - we only used it to cover long distances.

Three favourite things from my trip:
1. Ellis Island - views back to Manhattan are amazing, as is Ellis Island itself. 
2. Rooftop bar called 230 Fifth (on 5th Av strangely enough!) - gave us great twilight views of the city from a patio with drinks in hand and blankets to warm us up! 
3. Cocktails at the Plaza - just so I could nick the beer mat (very fancy). 

Next time i go to NY I'll go on a girls trip and get a completely different view of the city. 
Post by: The Iceman on January 10, 2013, 02:18:21 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 10, 2013, 11:48:28 AM
Booked flights to go over St. Patrick's Day from 14th to 21st March. Decided to stay in Jersey down by Liberty Park as it's only a few stops away from where we'd hoped to stay in Manhattan and it's right on the shore of the Hudson. Couldnt believe how you get much more for less once you leave Manhattan. Flying into Newark as well which makes it very convenient.

Don't plan on doing much walking about Jersey City. Yes, definitely convenient to Manhattan but not the safest part of Jersey.
If you are bringing the Missus I would take her to the revolving restaurant - great views of the city at night and a real schwanky place.
The Ninja Restaurant is a must for any 80s or 90s Martial Arts fan, authentic decor, great atmosphere, class nights craic
It will definitely be cold in March so bring plenty of layers.

Good luck in the Marathon Rois!
Post by: J70 on January 10, 2013, 02:50:45 PM
Depends what part of Jersey city. Newport is all new and full of expensive residential towers. Down by Paulus Hook/ Exchange Place at the north edge of Liberty State Park isn't too bad either, and just a three minute PATH journey from WTC area. There are public housing towers around, so l would be careful at night. Ferry from Paulus Hook is very handy (and fairly cheap) too.
Post by: Rois on January 10, 2013, 02:54:47 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on January 10, 2013, 02:18:21 PM
Good luck in the Marathon Rois!

Ah you're very good but it isn't me, it's the boyfriend.  I don't have the annual leave left (yes it is January and I haven't actually used any, but have skiing, a wk in Mexico and three weeks in New England and Nova Scotia to spend my valuable holidays on this year!).
Post by: 5 Sams on January 10, 2013, 03:33:50 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 10, 2013, 11:48:28 AM

You will love it Gallsman. There's nowhere like it in the world IMHO. Just walk everywhere. Myself and the bro in law walked from Battery Park on the tip of the island to Times Square via Wall St, Chinatown,  the Village, Chelsea. A few "pitstops" along the way. It was an amazing experience. As mentioned above talk to Heganboy...he'll give you all the pointers you need.
Post by: gallsman on January 10, 2013, 04:15:36 PM
Quote from: J70 on January 10, 2013, 02:50:45 PM
Depends what part of Jersey city. Newport is all new and full of expensive residential towers. Down by Paulus Hook/ Exchange Place at the north edge of Liberty State Park isn't too bad either, and just a three minute PATH journey from WTC area. There are public housing towers around, so l would be careful at night. Ferry from Paulus Hook is very handy (and fairly cheap) too.

That's exactly where we're staying - Greene Streeet in Exchange Place. It's five lads going on the piss for a week. I've no intention of doing anything in Jersey itself other than get the ferry over to Ellis Island and to see Statue of Liberty and we'll be getting cabs home at night. Reckon we'll be ok.
Post by: 5 Sams on January 10, 2013, 04:34:57 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 10, 2013, 04:15:36 PM

That's exactly where we're staying - Greene Streeet in Exchange Place. It's five lads going on the piss for a week. I've no intention of doing anything in Jersey itself other than get the ferry over to Ellis Island and to see Statue of Liberty and we'll be getting cabs home at night. Reckon we'll be ok.
I have a feeling some yellow cabs might not agree to take you to Jersey as I think they are only obliged to take fares to the 5 NYC boroughs.
Post by: dec on January 10, 2013, 04:47:48 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on January 10, 2013, 04:34:57 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 10, 2013, 04:15:36 PM

I have a feeling some yellow cabs might not agree to take you to Jersey as I think they are only obliged to take fares to the 5 NYC boroughs.

The PATH train does run at night though infrequently. For taxi trips to outside NYC if they are willing to take you the driver will want to negotiate a flat rate before the trip rather than have it on the meter.
Post by: The Iceman on January 10, 2013, 05:23:56 PM
dont be catching a cab home at night - get the path its hand to where you are staying and 5 lads together are fine.
taxis out of manhattan to jersey will set you back 40-80 depending on the driver
Post by: J70 on January 10, 2013, 06:12:18 PM
At the moment, PATH is only going Newark to 33rd St at night. Which is fine if you're in midtown. WTC line is open5am to 10pm. It will probably be back 24 hours in a few weeks though once they finish all the repairs from the flooding.
Post by: J70 on January 10, 2013, 06:14:04 PM
And yes, PATH or the ferries, not taxis,  are the way to go for Exchange Place / Paulus Hook.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 10, 2013, 09:07:23 PM
Was in NY for a few days over New Year's? Absolutely fantastic, couldn't recommend it enough. Manhattan can be dear but probably no worse than Dublin or London. Make sure you do the Top of the Rock- absolutely amazing view over the city.
Post by: gallsman on March 10, 2013, 08:51:39 PM
Heading over on Thursday for week. Eventually found an apartment and are staying in the East Village. Any recommendations for night spots for five lads in their mid-20s? Expect we'll be heading out primarily in Greenwich and Meatpacking District but would be interested in hearing about local spots to get us started!
Post by: J70 on March 11, 2013, 01:50:16 PM
Quote from: gallsman on March 10, 2013, 08:51:39 PM
Heading over on Thursday for week. Eventually found an apartment and are staying in the East Village. Any recommendations for night spots for five lads in their mid-20s? Expect we'll be heading out primarily in Greenwich and Meatpacking District but would be interested in hearing about local spots to get us started!

Plenty of spots in East Village too, given you're staying there! Check Yelp for reviews.
Post by: Rois on March 11, 2013, 02:14:12 PM
Complete tourist trap but I loved it - 230th Fifth - views were amazing, even for one drink.  www.230-fifth.com
Post by: boojangles on March 11, 2013, 02:37:16 PM
Looking to head over to New York in September. We haven't booked flights yet. Just wondering should I wait for Aer Lingus Summer sales or do the prices for transatlantic flights generally keep rising over time?
Post by: J70 on March 11, 2013, 03:26:12 PM
Try Delta too, if its Dublin. We're coming home this summer and got a much better deal with them than Aer Lingus.

Also, American were slated to start service from JFK to Dublin this summer. Not sure if its still happening with their recent merger, but Aer Lingus are not the only option. United out of Newark is another.
Post by: Rois on March 11, 2013, 04:36:46 PM
Quote from: boojangles on March 11, 2013, 02:37:16 PM
Looking to head over to New York in September. We haven't booked flights yet. Just wondering should I wait for Aer Lingus Summer sales or do the prices for transatlantic flights generally keep rising over time?

Don't forget to check Belfast price with Continental as could be cheaper despite a bit of a trip to get there.

BF is flying to NY on Friday through Philadelphia with American Airlines and got return to La Guardia from Dublin for £320 - a good price for St Patrick's weekend despite the connection in Philadelphia. 
Post by: Canalman on March 11, 2013, 04:59:57 PM
Fish around on the net. Don't forget that Newark/ Philadelphia (1 hourish  on train) are other options to fly into /out of.

Imo no real difference in when you book flights.
Post by: J70 on March 11, 2013, 05:07:37 PM
Continental doesn't exist anymore. They merged with United.

Flying into Philly just  to get to NYC ain't worth the hassle, unless you're getting an unbelievably low fare!
Post by: Rois on March 12, 2013, 10:02:13 AM
Well £320 over St Patrick's weekend for return to NYC through Philadelphia is what I would consider a good fare - saved at least £180 over the next cheapest.

Apologies for writing Continental instead of United  ::) Given that there's only one airline that flies out of Belfast to the USA, it wouldn't have been to hard to figure it out... 

Post by: J70 on March 12, 2013, 10:17:01 AM
Quote from: Rois on March 12, 2013, 10:02:13 AM
Well £320 over St Patrick's weekend for return to NYC through Philadelphia is what I would consider a good fare - saved at least £180 over the next cheapest.

Apologies for writing Continental instead of United  ::) Given that there's only one airline that flies out of Belfast to the USA, it wouldn't have been to hard to figure it out...

Relax!! Just trying to be helpful with the United thing as it may not be common knowledge in Ireland.

Philly is a matter of opinion. Personally wouldn't even consider your savings worth the extra  time and travel, on top of an already long trip, with Amtrak fares and so on still to be thrown in, but each to their own.
Post by: gallsman on March 12, 2013, 10:19:52 AM
Any recommendations for outlet shopping? Is it worth the trip to Jersey to avoid the sales tax?
Post by: J70 on March 12, 2013, 11:53:45 AM
Quote from: gallsman on March 12, 2013, 10:19:52 AM
Any recommendations for outlet shopping? Is it worth the trip to Jersey to avoid the sales tax?

You used to be able to claim sales tax back.

And, no I wouldn't be arsed heading to Secaucus Outlets when places like Macy's, The Gap and Banana Republic have sales every other week.

But again, each to their own! Secaucus would be the nearest outlets to the city, just a few miles across in Jersey.
Post by: Rois on March 12, 2013, 12:08:46 PM
I was only trying to be helpful and got the internet equivalent of "everything you've said is rubbish"  :P

Well the £320 includes flight from Philly to NY with just an hr and a half layover - the saving def worth it this time (means he has more to spend on NY goods for me...)

Post by: Canalman on March 12, 2013, 12:16:47 PM
Just threw Philadelphia airport in as an option given imvho the fact that alot of people don't know how close it is by train to NY. Definitely an option if say you arrive in early in the morning and want to mope around the place for the day. Used to be able to leave luggage in 30th St Station and trains go to NY I think every hour 24/7.

For film buffs it is the station the first murder scene in Witness was filmed.
Post by: J70 on March 12, 2013, 01:35:11 PM
Quote from: Rois on March 12, 2013, 12:08:46 PM
I was only trying to be helpful and got the internet equivalent of "everything you've said is rubbish"  :P

Well the £320 includes flight from Philly to NY with just an hr and a half layover - the saving def worth it this time (means he has more to spend on NY goods for me...)

Not the way it was meant!

And I missed that you meant a connection in Philly! I thought Philly as your end point, meaning ground trip to NYC from there. In that case, very good tip!!
Post by: heganboy on March 12, 2013, 03:08:23 PM
little tip for you all:
when you go to Macys at Herald square (34thst) go straight to customer service with your  (non-US) passport and get the 11% off everything voucher...
Post by: magpie seanie on March 12, 2013, 03:29:39 PM
Quote from: heganboy on March 12, 2013, 03:08:23 PM
little tip for you all:
when you go to Macys at Herald square (34thst) go straight to customer service with your  (non-US) passport and get the 11% off everything voucher...

Yes - this is not an urban myth. I've done it several times myself.
Post by: 5 Sams on March 12, 2013, 03:42:49 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 12, 2013, 03:29:39 PM
Quote from: heganboy on March 12, 2013, 03:08:23 PM
little tip for you all:

Yes - this is not an urban myth. I've done it several times myself.

Yep mise fosta.
Post by: JimStynes on March 12, 2013, 08:45:53 PM

Isnt there an outlet called Woodbury Common? Meant to be good
Post by: heganboy on March 12, 2013, 10:08:58 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on March 12, 2013, 08:45:53 PM
Or as its known in our house "hell on earth"
There are busses from port authority. There in an hour. Great prices, but it is an outlet store so quality can be a bit lower than the regular brand...
Post by: gallsman on March 13, 2013, 12:47:11 PM
Quote from: heganboy on March 12, 2013, 10:08:58 PM
Or as its known in our house "hell on earth"
There are busses from port authority. There in an hour. Great prices, but it is an outlet store so quality can be a bit lower than the regular brand...

I'd read about that - would there be significant savings to be made vs getting the international discount in Macy's etc? We'll likely be looking to spend several hundred Euro each so could spare half a day to go to an outlet.
Post by: J70 on March 13, 2013, 12:49:37 PM

As HB says, the quality can be a bit questionable. There's a reason these stores are selling their gear at a consistently lower price. It may simply be something like an improperly finished label, but you have to be careful.

Personally, I'd stick to the city (or take the PATH train across to Newport Mall in Jersey City if you want slightly lower sales tax). The West 34th St area has Macy's, JC Penney's, The Gap and tonnes of other shoe and clothes shops (avoid the likes of Old Navy - gear is very low quality and they're basically the down market brand of the company that owns The Gap and Banana Republic). If you're happy with jeans like Levi's, JC Penney always sells them for about $45 (lower during sales). And then there's the international tax refund which HB gave more detailed info about.

If you're after outdoor gear, Macy's carries stuff like The North Face and Columbia, but the best are dedicated outdoor stores like REI (Houston St) or Eastern Mountain Sports (SOHO and Upper West Side). Paragon Sports on Union Square covers all kinds of sports and carries a huge range. The likes of The North Face and Patagonia have their own dedicated stores in SOHO and the Upper West Side as well.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on March 13, 2013, 01:25:32 PM
Woodbury common is well worth the bus ride.  Clothes are high quality ,just out of season.  If you plan to shop around the city just take an open cheque with you. On the way to Woodbury you will pass Palasades Mall.  All your high end stores under one roof. 
Post by: Rois on March 13, 2013, 02:26:03 PM
Woodbury Common is one of those Premium Outlet places?  I visited two of those in September - one between SF and Monterey, the other outside Palm Springs.  I spent a fortune and def saved a good bit on handbags (two of).  BF got a few pairs of sports shoes and we both spent a bit in Izod where there was stacks of money off golf and running stuff. 
Post by: supersarsfields on June 24, 2013, 04:00:25 PM
The good wife just surprised me with trip to NYC now for the end of July for a birthday pressie. We had a wish list of things that we would like to do. We're staying in Fitzwilliam (Or maybe Fitzgerald's) hotel in Manhattan. Only staying for 4 days so would like to get as much done as possible. So far we would like to do

Statue of Liberty
Ellis Island
Top of the rock
Times Square
Central park (Preferable bike ride)
Broadway show
Shopping day
Was told to take in grand central terminal as well.
Ground Zero

All very touristy things I know. But is there any other things that we shouldn't miss over there. Or is there any on the list that we should avoid? Was told not to bother with Empire state building if doing Top of the rock.
Also would be planning a good nite out on the saturday, ideally would like a good Irish bar that's local to the hotel, so if anyone has recommendations on that as well? 
Also, roughly speaking what sort of Dollars would ya go through over 4 days (Ignoring the shopping side obviously) doing these sort of things? Is drink and food expensive over there?
Post by: J70 on June 24, 2013, 04:41:31 PM
You probably mean Fitzpatrick's. One right beside Grand Central, another a little further uptown, near Central Park.
Post by: J70 on June 24, 2013, 04:45:11 PM
NYC, Manhattan especially, is expensive as f**k. $7 a bottle for imported beer, $6 for domestic. Food depends how fancy you want to eat. Plenty of Irish pubs everywhere. Lots of other drinking establishments too.
Post by: The Iceman on June 24, 2013, 05:57:12 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on June 24, 2013, 04:00:25 PM
The good wife just surprised me with trip to NYC now for the end of July for a birthday pressie. We had a wish list of things that we would like to do. We're staying in Fitzwilliam (Or maybe Fitzgerald's) hotel in Manhattan. Only staying for 4 days so would like to get as much done as possible. So far we would like to do

Statue of Liberty
Ellis Island
Top of the rock
Times Square
Central park (Preferable bike ride)
Broadway show
Shopping day
Was told to take in grand central terminal as well.
Ground Zero

All very touristy things I know. But is there any other things that we shouldn't miss over there. Or is there any on the list that we should avoid? Was told not to bother with Empire state building if doing Top of the rock.
Also would be planning a good nite out on the saturday, ideally would like a good Irish bar that's local to the hotel, so if anyone has recommendations on that as well? 
Also, roughly speaking what sort of Dollars would ya go through over 4 days (Ignoring the shopping side obviously) doing these sort of things? Is drink and food expensive over there?
Why would you go the whole way to NY to go out in an Irish Bar? Surely there are Irish bars where you live? Experience something different... The Ninja Restaurant - I'm sure you don't have that where you live. A roof top bar overlooking manhattan maybe. The revolving restaurant...... There are 1001 things to do in NY that you'll never find at home.
Post by: supersarsfields on June 24, 2013, 08:36:22 PM
Cause I like Irish bars. Especially one's with live music. I intend to try some other things as well. But planning a good rip on the sat night, and would like to try a good irish bar.a
Post by: Syferus on June 24, 2013, 09:10:59 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 24, 2013, 04:45:11 PM
NYC, Manhattan especially, is expensive as f**k. $7 a bottle for imported beer, $6 for domestic. Food depends how fancy you want to eat. Plenty of Irish pubs everywhere. Lots of other drinking establishments too.

Had the exact opposite experience, but I did take a Food on Foot tour (it was part of the NYC Pass I got, which is excellent value if you're hitting the major attractions) and the guy who did the tour knew all the best places for great (and cheap) food and drink. I'd recommend it to anyone wanting to sample some of the less touristy food in the city.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 24, 2013, 09:41:39 PM

Statue of Liberty. (take photos as you sail past on your way to Ellis island is suffice, don't go to liberty island)
Ellis Island. ( a must for me, very poignant spot for Irish)
Top of the rock
Times Square (chaotic, in pics then out)
Central park (Preferable bike ride) ( a must)
Broadway show ( if it keeps the Mrs happy)
Shopping day ( see above)
Was told to take in grand central terminal as well. ( well worth a shout)
Ground Zero( while you there type of thing, great shop for the Mrs facing it called century 21, sort of TK Maxi)

Drink is expensive in Manhatten. Go to Greenage village, happy hours usually around office clocking out time. And eat on the go. Don't rule out Irish bars as they bar staff love talking to people from home and might shout you a couple of drinks.

Post by: Hardy on June 24, 2013, 09:51:37 PM
Irish Bars in New York are not Irish bars as in the rest of the world. They're Irish American bars which were there for a century before the modern awful global Irish Bar phenomenon was dreamt of. The Blarney Stone chain in Manhattan is typical. Great places for a three-inch thick roast beef sandwich. Also don't miss McSorley's on East 7th St. Oldest bar in NYC. Sawdust on the floor and they serve only McSorley's Ale and McSorley's lager. I was in there a few years ago for the first time since the seventies and it hadn't changed an iota. I think I got the same beer mat.
Post by: FL/MAYO on June 24, 2013, 09:58:28 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 24, 2013, 09:51:37 PM
Irish Bars in New York are not Irish bars as in the rest of the world. They're Irish American bars which were there for a century before the modern awful global Irish Bar phenomenon was dreamt of. The Blarney Stone chain in Manhattan is typical. Great places for a three-inch thick roast beef sandwich. Also don't miss McSorley's on East 7th St. Oldest bar in NYC. Sawdust on the floor and they serve only McSorley's Ale and McSorley's lager. I was in there a few years ago for the first time since the seventies and it hadn't changed an iota. I think I got the same beer mat.

Got kicked out of there many moons ago.
Post by: whitey on June 24, 2013, 10:48:13 PM
McSorleys is a must do.  They actually kick people out for not drinking fast enough.....I'm sure that wasn't the case with you though.

In and around Mid Town there's some great pubs-the Perfect Pint, St Andrews to name but a couple.

I also had a great night in a pub called the Black Sheep a good few years ago

For grub definitely hit Katz Deli-you'll get a sandwich that'd feed an african village for a week

Check out Yelp too. they have a NYC forum where you can spill your guts in terms of what you want to do when your in town and all types of people offer up suggestions. Yanks love visitors and want them to have a great time when they're in town.

In the past year alone I have met some very interesting characters......from a NAMA refugee who owes north of $50m to a great great grand nephew of one of the visionaries from Knock Shrine. You'll have a great time

Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 24, 2013, 11:24:12 PM
I'd recommend Del Frisco's beside the Rockfeller Centre for a bite to eat. Great spot. Was in NY over New Year, the buzz around Manhattan is simply fantastic.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 24, 2013, 11:43:14 PM
McSorley's is a class spot - always try to make it when I go to NYC.

The main advice when you go to New York is just get out and go, go, go until you drop. It's a super city. Endless stuff to do and the little gems you find are the best. Found an amazing restaurant one time courtesy of Lonely Planet. I was sick of eating in Irish bar type places so thanks to my big gob got landed with picking a spot. It's still talked about in our family.
Post by: FL/MAYO on June 25, 2013, 12:56:48 AM
Two other famous bars that are Downtown are the White Horse Tavern and the Ear Inn, if you want to do a pub crawl of bars you might as well do the famous ones

http://earinn.com/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/White_Horse_Tavern_(New_York_City)
Post by: gallsman on June 25, 2013, 08:12:21 AM
Quote from: whitey on June 24, 2013, 10:48:13 PM
For grub definitely hit Katz Deli-you'll get a sandwich that'd feed an african village for a week

Staff are ignorant bastards. We arrived in hungover on a Sunday, didn't cop the Jewish/kosher nature of the place (also haven't seen When Harry met Sally) and asked if we could get a fry up. Server looks at us and goes "Sorry man, not that kind of place" and walked off.
Post by: Canalman on June 25, 2013, 11:23:49 AM
Agree with alot of what has been posted.

For a short stay imo do not under any circumstances queue up for anywher........ time too precious.

People watching is my favourite part of NY as is just wandering around gawking.

Agree with what was said about the Irish bars........... nothing wrong with going to them as they are the real deal more often than not. Guidebook snobs will sniff away but don't mind them. Personally would prefer an Irish bar than say for example the latest trendy wine bar that is the talk of SoHo. Brilliant bars wests of Time Square on I think 8th or 9th avenues.

Not a fan of McSorleys .............. head up its hle with self importance.
Post by: whitey on June 25, 2013, 11:25:43 AM
Quote from: gallsman on June 25, 2013, 08:12:21 AM

Staff are ignorant b**tards. We arrived in hungover on a Sunday, didn't cop the Jewish/kosher nature of the place (also haven't seen When Harry met Sally) and asked if we could get a fry up. Server looks at us and goes "Sorry man, not that kind of place" and walked off.

It's a Jewish Deli in Manhattan......what do you expect? 
Post by: 5 Sams on June 25, 2013, 11:35:53 AM
For top quality junk food.....http://www.shakeshack.com/ you might have to wait a while but it's worth it.

Best thing to do in NYC is to walk, walk, walk, walk, around the village, Battery park/Financial district. Take a dander up 5th Avenue from Central Park. You can smell the money around the expensive shops like Tiffanys etc. I spent about a half an hour hanging around outside that shop once while the wife was inside looking at what she couldnt afford....as someone said earlier the people watching was top notch.... ;) Those rich American women look after themselves!! :D

Speaking of bars.... on the same day I popped in here with a mate of mine http://nymag.com/listings/bar/subway_inn/

No rip off prices and one of the few bars that still stand you a round after you buy two or three yourself. It also helped matters that it had a great jukebox and there was a lad from Dromintee behind the bar. Great evenings crack.
Post by: gallsman on June 25, 2013, 11:43:16 AM
Quote from: whitey on June 25, 2013, 11:25:43 AM

Staff are ignorant b**tards. We arrived in hungover on a Sunday, didn't cop the Jewish/kosher nature of the place (also haven't seen When Harry met Sally) and asked if we could get a fry up. Server looks at us and goes "Sorry man, not that kind of place" and walked off.

Note the bit where I said "didn't cop the Jewish/kosher nature of the place"...

What I'd expect from anyone in that situation working in the service industry would be to explain the situation and clarify what they were able to offer.
Post by: supersarsfields on June 25, 2013, 11:54:01 AM
Has anyone experience of using one of these,

http://www.newyorkpass.com/En/

Seems to offer good value especially with the queue skipping bonus.
Post by: gallsman on June 25, 2013, 11:59:35 AM
Quote from: supersarsfields on June 25, 2013, 11:54:01 AM

Not personally but comes highly recommended from a friend.
Post by: whitey on June 25, 2013, 12:16:35 PM
Quote from: gallsman on June 25, 2013, 11:43:16 AM

Staff are ignorant b**tards. We arrived in hungover on a Sunday, didn't cop the Jewish/kosher nature of the place (also haven't seen When Harry met Sally) and asked if we could get a fry up. Server looks at us and goes "Sorry man, not that kind of place" and

What I'd expect from anyone in that situation working in the service industry would be to explain the situation and clarify what they were able to offer.

LOL.......stereotypes don't come from Thin air
Post by: J70 on June 25, 2013, 01:33:47 PM

That's New York for you!
Post by: AZOffaly on June 25, 2013, 01:42:10 PM
Chinatown and Little Italy are a buzz as well, or at least they were when I went there. Chinatown especially is amazing, you literally feel like you've crossed some international boundary. From the dead birds hanging in the windows, the restaurants etc etc. I had lunch in one of the restaurants in Chinatown. Our group of 4 were the only non-Asians in the place. Some of the food was lovely, some of it was gunk, but it was a great experience.

We went up from there to Little Italy and had an ice cream in some-elli or -ini . It was lovely, and far more familiar to our palate I have to say :) You could nearly hear the Godfather music playing in Little Italy though :)
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 25, 2013, 03:00:37 PM
True about Chinatown, the woman love Chinatown due to the fake handbags.  Couple of friends out one summer were down checking out handbags in the back of a van when suddenly all doors closed.  Police were in the area and the two blades were sitting in the back for nearly an hour in 90 degree heat.  Needless to say they still bought the handbags although I think their little hostage situation got them an extra few dollars off. 
Post by: supersarsfields on July 02, 2013, 04:45:25 PM
Going to book a broadway show when we're over. Have been looking at prices online and it ain't cheap. Am I better booking online or trying to book when we're out there at the discount booths?
Post by: dec on July 02, 2013, 04:56:42 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on July 02, 2013, 04:45:25 PM
Going to book a broadway show when we're over. Have been looking at prices online and it ain't cheap. Am I better booking online or trying to book when we're out there at the discount booths?

If you are prepared to wait until the day of the performance you can pick up cheaper tickers at the TKTS booths

http://www.tdf.org/TDF_ServicePage.aspx?id=56

All shows might not be available and you might wait in line for a while.

Here is a list of what was available on the most recent day

http://www.tdf.org/TKTSBoards.aspx
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2013, 05:47:00 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 25, 2013, 01:42:10 PM
Chinatown and Little Italy are a buzz as well, or at least they were when I went there. Chinatown especially is amazing, you literally feel like you've crossed some international boundary. From the dead birds hanging in the windows, the restaurants etc etc. I had lunch in one of the restaurants in Chinatown. Our group of 4 were the only non-Asians in the place. Some of the food was lovely, some of it was gunk, but it was a great experience.

We went up from there to Little Italy and had an ice cream in some-elli or -ini . It was lovely, and far more familiar to our palate I have to say :) You could nearly hear the Godfather music playing in Little Italy though :)

We only got to Chinatown late one evening and even through it was mostly closed (plenty 24/7 discounts stores, though) and if anything it was better drenched in steam and neon lights. Koreatown is worth a visit for the food alone too.

Quote from: supersarsfields on June 25, 2013, 11:54:01 AM

They're absolutely amazing. I got into the 9/11 Memorial the month it opened even though they had a three month waiting list because the Water Taxi tour on the NY Pass came with tickets to the memorial. Food on Foot, the Empire State, Rockefeller Center (even better than the Empire State in my opinion), there's so much on it that's worth doing and you skip some of the queues to boot.

I'll get another one the next time I go just to do the things I missed out on the first time.

It comes with a good little guidebook of all that's part of the pass and there's an iOS app with maps and the like you can get too.
Post by: muppet on July 02, 2013, 06:20:14 PM

What I'd expect from anyone in that situation working in the service industry would be to explain the situation and clarify what they were
able to offer.

That's like walking up to an Orange March and asking can you play your Bodhrán.
Post by: JimStynes on July 22, 2013, 02:26:32 PM
Lads I'm over in New York for 3 nights at the start of August (thur to sun) then onto Vegas. It will be our wedding anniversary while we are in New York. Any good restaurants u recommend going to? A steakhouse would be good but we love Italian, Chinese, Mexican and Indian as well. Budget of around 250 dollars. We are staying close to Times Square by the way.
Post by: mb80b60 on July 22, 2013, 02:28:07 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on July 22, 2013, 02:26:32 PM
Lads I'm over in New York for 3 nights at the start of August (thur to sun) then onto Vegas. It will be our wedding anniversary while we are in New York. Any good restaurants u recommend going to? A steakhouse would be good but we love Italian, Chinese, Mexican and Indian as well. Budget of around 250 dollars. We are staying close to Times Square by the way.

JS, I have eaten in the Old Homestead Steakhouse before.  Very nice indeed.  Steak around $50, starters maybe $15.
Post by: Hardy on July 22, 2013, 02:42:42 PM
Or head down to Little Italy for a great range of Italian food: http://www.timeout.com/newyork/best-restaurants-little-italy-and-nolita

Or a popular thing is to eat in Chinatown then walk across Canal Street to Little Italy (Mulberry Street, for instance) for dessert. Chinese desserts are not great. Italian desserts are great.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 22, 2013, 03:32:14 PM

Del Frisco's beside the Rockefeller centre.
Post by: john mcgill on July 22, 2013, 05:29:29 PM
Peter Luger's just the other side of the Brooklyn bridge is superb.  Worth the extra jaunt. Gallaghers in midtown is good and close to a few Irish pubs
Post by: J70 on July 22, 2013, 06:41:32 PM
Quote from: john mcgill on July 22, 2013, 05:29:29 PM
Peter Luger's just the other side of the Brooklyn bridge is superb.  Worth the extra jaunt. Gallaghers in midtown is good and close to a few Irish pubs

That would be the Williamsburg Bridge!

Its close to all the bars along Bedford Avenue too. Well worth a night out!
Post by: J70 on July 22, 2013, 06:44:17 PM

For Mexican you can't beat Rosa Mexicano just off Union Square. Nice and close to the village too.

For Indian, I would check out Brick Lane Curry House in the east village. Superb food! Try the Phaal curry sauce (or even a proper dish) if you dare!

Yelp is a great website for reviews on all this stuff.
Post by: JimStynes on July 22, 2013, 06:51:14 PM
Great stuff lads. Thanks
Post by: J70 on July 22, 2013, 07:02:21 PM
For Italian, we like Becco on west 46th street. Only a couple of minutes walk from Times Square too!
Post by: john mcgill on July 23, 2013, 02:32:17 PM
Have to endorse J70 on Rosa Mexicano.  Had a great meal there and they make the guacamole in front of you and it doesn't break the bank
Post by: Canalman on July 23, 2013, 03:11:05 PM
Would give Indian food a miss in NY or indeed America as a whole. Nowhere near as good as that in Ireland or England.
Post by: J70 on July 23, 2013, 03:11:22 PM
Quote from: john mcgill on July 23, 2013, 02:32:17 PM
Have to endorse J70 on Rosa Mexicano.  Had a great meal there and they make the guacamole in front of you and it doesn't break the bank

My mouth is watering thinking about that guac!

I'd recommend the pomegranate frozen margaritas too!
Post by: J70 on July 23, 2013, 03:14:56 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on July 22, 2013, 08:17:58 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 22, 2013, 07:02:21 PM
For Italian, we like Becco on west 46th street. Only a couple of minutes walk from Times Square too!

Was in it years ago, on New Year's Day, before flying home. Great place, but it was fairly empty at lunchtime that day [for obvious reasons!]. Remember it being very pricey at the time & that was over 10 years ago.

Very busy at night (I'd recommend getting a reservation), and yes, a wee bit pricey. But amazing food (and wine!).
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on October 03, 2013, 09:09:12 PM
Just giving this a bump as i know someone heading there next month and they are looking for some pointers..
Post by: glens abu on October 03, 2013, 09:24:00 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 03, 2013, 09:19:29 PM
Good man. I'm heading at the end of November and am looking some pointers too.

Just back two weeks ago HS,had a few great meals in restaurant row Broadway,but plenty of good food to be had in bars around Manhattan.If its your 1st time there must take the bus tours and boat trip for 49 dollars over 48 hours,great value.Enjoy
Post by: Rois on October 03, 2013, 09:34:26 PM
I told a friend about a rooftop bar - 230 Fifth- surprisingly on Fifth avenue - and her shaftie boyfriend ended up proposing in that very place about 3 wks ago. Great night time view of Empire State, outdoor heated terrace with blankets, hot cider etc.
I loved Ellis Island.

If you are purchasing jewellery, avoid Tiffany and give the diamond district a go...
Post by: J70 on October 03, 2013, 09:45:59 PM
Statue of Liberty etc. are all closed at the moment due to those tea party morons in DC.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 03, 2013, 11:07:28 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 03, 2013, 09:19:29 PM
Good man. I'm heading at the end of November and am looking some pointers too.
13 pages of them here.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 03, 2013, 11:16:21 PM
Quote from: Rois on October 03, 2013, 09:34:26 PM
I told a friend about a rooftop bar - 230 Fifth- surprisingly on Fifth avenue - and her shaftie boyfriend ended up proposing in that very place about 3 wks ago. Great night time view of Empire State, outdoor heated terrace with blankets, hot cider etc.
I loved Ellis Island.

If you are purchasing jewellery, avoid Tiffany and give the diamond district a go...

Hardstation getting jewellery??  ;D ;D

You'd need 3 weeks in the place to really see it, was there for a week in 93 before heading on down to Wildwood, dare say it has changed big time since
Post by: muppet on October 04, 2013, 12:47:27 AM
I loved Ellis Island.

What is a shaftie boyfriend?
Post by: All of a Sludden on October 04, 2013, 12:55:35 AM
Quote from: muppet on October 04, 2013, 12:47:27 AM
I loved Ellis Island.

What is a shaftie boyfriend?

Her boyfriend is a Frankie.
Post by: Rois on October 04, 2013, 03:17:44 AM
Sorry' from Belfast/Belshaft/Shaftie - I'm bilingual. Just thought it would resonate with HS.
Post by: Antrim Coaster on October 04, 2013, 08:19:55 AM
Quote from: Rois on October 04, 2013, 03:17:44 AM
Sorry' from Belfast/Belshaft/Shaftie - I'm bilingual. Just thought it would resonate with HS.

I think he term you're looking for is a McCooey
Post by: AQMP on October 04, 2013, 09:00:04 AM
Quote from: hardstation on October 04, 2013, 08:23:56 AM
Had he been black, Indian etc, would you have felt the need to make reference to it?

Prejudice, that's all.

Indeed HS, the above slurs are examples of other board members chip, chip, chipping away at my Shaftieness.
Post by: Santino on November 13, 2013, 03:32:06 PM
Going to NYC for long wkend in Dec and really wanna see Book of Mormon on Broadway. Tickets all around $200 online. Is this normal price for advance booking? i know u can get cheap tickets on the day but really wanna see this show and worried it will sell out at a popular time for tourists in NY. Any advice?
Post by: gallsman on November 13, 2013, 04:56:36 PM
Quote from: Santino on November 13, 2013, 03:32:06 PM
Going to NYC for long wkend in Dec and really wanna see Book of Mormon on Broadway. Tickets all around $200 online. Is this normal price for advance booking? i know u can get cheap tickets on the day but really wanna see this show and worried it will sell out at a popular time for tourists in NY. Any advice?

Anything going on Stubhub?
Post by: Santino on November 13, 2013, 06:54:04 PM
Still $189 on stubhub but thanks for suggestion. Am guessing that's standard Xmas prices maybe
Post by: qwerty123 on November 13, 2013, 07:02:21 PM
Any good hostel suggestions in NY? What's the average hostel price in NY? I'm looking to stay around new year's and for a few days after that. Are there any best locations for a backpacker hoping to meet other back packers along the way.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on November 13, 2013, 07:41:29 PM
Quote from: Santino on November 13, 2013, 06:54:04 PM
Still $189 on stubhub but thanks for suggestion. Am guessing that's standard Xmas prices maybe

Went to NYC for Xmas a few years ago. Flew into JFK on Christmas Eve. Saw Spamalot on Xmas Night & Equus on Boxing Night with the late Richard Griffiths & the Harry Potter geek in it. Broadway was fully open, no problem. Remember paying an absolute fortune for tickets, but I have to say that Christmas in New York was great. Was over for New Year's another time, bit different, but great also. To hell with the expense, my advice is blow whatever you can afford & enjoy it!!
Post by: Santino on November 13, 2013, 11:06:25 PM
Yeah, think that might be case then but suppose it's once in a lifetime trip most likely
Post by: gallsman on November 14, 2013, 08:26:56 AM
Quote from: qwerty123 on November 13, 2013, 07:02:21 PM
Any good hostel suggestions in NY? What's the average hostel price in NY? I'm looking to stay around new year's and for a few days after that. Are there any best locations for a backpacker hoping to meet other back packers along the way. Australian and Canadian girls.

Fixed that for you..
Post by: qwerty123 on November 15, 2013, 03:13:35 PM
Canadian and Australian women would be the choicest of all the worlds lassies then?
If so, I'll accept the edit. Where is the best hostel to meet Canadian and Australian women? :)
Post by: Mikhailov on December 20, 2013, 08:59:02 AM
NYC is a great city and has everything you could need. was there for short break few weeks ago and really enjoyed it. done the usual stuff - rockerfella, central park, times square, Madison square gardens, water taxi but best bit was getting off water taxi at battery park and walking up manhattan via, 9/11, little Italy, soho, Chinatown, past flatiron building, Madison square, past times sq to central park. Think it is about 5/6k but not sure - done it casually had a few beer along the route and followed Carmen stateside advice in chinatown regarding the handbags (crazy area) and overall it took about 5 hours but was great. This city is really buzzing again and I was surprised at how clean it was in comparison to previous few visits back 15+ years ago. Stayed in 44th west street which is fairly central and leaves it that you are within walking distance to most areas but I would say that the best way to view and sense any city is to walk it - don't see too much when underground. will be back for sure !!!
Post by: Walter Cronc on March 19, 2014, 11:10:39 AM
How long would you need to visit the City and maybe a day or 2 down the coast?

Would a week cover it or would you need the 10 days? Any idea on budgets?
Post by: Billys Boots on March 19, 2014, 11:21:16 AM
Would it be expensive or boring to do a weeks holiday there for four (with Mrs Boots and two teenagers)?  Could we pick up some sports (preferably baseball) for a reasonable price.  Most importantly would it be possible to avoid 'shopping'?
Post by: Hardy on March 19, 2014, 11:53:04 AM
Yes (unless you stay out in Queens or Jersey, which is doable with the excellent public transport), absolutely not (New York - boring?!!!), probably, absolutely impossible if there's a woman in the party.
Post by: Billys Boots on March 19, 2014, 12:17:50 PM
Thanks, thanks, thanks and thanks. 
Post by: Walter Cronc on March 19, 2014, 12:24:40 PM
Right Hardy, answer mine there :D
Post by: Rois on March 19, 2014, 12:49:18 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on March 19, 2014, 11:10:39 AM

We covered loads in 3 nights in NYC - stayed in Sheraton on 7th Av and got it through Hotwire for about £400 - stayed early December.  There was plenty we didn't get to see of course but we did the major tourist things.  We combined with a trip to Florida (Miami and the Keys) and the flights were about £550 each from Belfast, connecting in NY to Miami. 
Post by: Mikhailov on March 19, 2014, 02:28:22 PM

WC, a week would cover NYC easily especially if you staying in the city area. All the tourist things (Rockerfella, Empire state, central park, 9/11, times sq) can be done in 2/3 days. A lot can be done in 1 day if you prepared for it - early morning to late night. The water taxi takes you out to Statue of Liberty and can drop u off in lower manhattan beside 9/11. It is a great city, 3-5 days will cover it and then you have 3-4 days down shore in Atlantic city or similar. Hope you some $ with you however...
Post by: Walter Cronc on March 19, 2014, 02:31:38 PM
Quote from: Rois on March 19, 2014, 12:49:18 PM

We covered loads in 3 nights in NYC - stayed in Sheraton on 7th Av and got it through Hotwire for about £400 - stayed early December.  There was plenty we didn't get to see of course but we did the major tourist things.  We combined with a trip to Florida (Miami and the Keys) and the flights were about £550 each from Belfast, connecting in NY to Miami. 

Quote from: Mikhailov on March 19, 2014, 02:28:22 PM

WC, a week would cover NYC easily especially if you staying in the city area. All the tourist things (Rockerfella, Empire state, central park, 9/11, times sq) can be done in 2/3 days. A lot can be done in 1 day if you prepared for it - early morning to late night. The water taxi takes you out to Statue of Liberty and can drop u off in lower manhattan beside 9/11. It is a great city, 3-5 days will cover it and then you have 3-4 days down shore in Atlantic city or similar. Hope you some $ with you however...

Thanks guys!! :)
Post by: Hardy on March 19, 2014, 02:45:03 PM

Not really possible to answer how long it would take. You could spend your life in NYC and still have something to do the next day.

My rule of thumb would be to forget about the tourist set pieces as far as possible (OK, you probably have to do a few) and concentrate on living in the city for however long you're there - a weekend or a month. Breakfast in diners, eat where the locals eat, sandwiches in delis or the 4-inchers you get in the Blarney Stone or the like, hot dogs from a street barrow, wander around the Village and other neighbourhoods, use the subway, have a beer or six in McSorleys, explore Central Park, Washington Square (maybe have a game of chess) and a hundred other places, etc., etc.

One suggestion is to google things like "10 best <whatever> in NYC" - breakfasts, diners, Irish Bars (please do not confuse with "Irish Bars" - the NYC Irish Bar is an Irish-American bar and nothing like an "Irish Bar" in the Costa del Puke), seafood places (try the Oyster Bar in Grand Central Station ), music shops (Tower records, Washington Square, Village Music Shop Bleecker Street), gay bars, whatever you're into.
Post by: heganboy on March 19, 2014, 02:48:41 PM
Quote from: Mikhailov on March 19, 2014, 02:28:22 PM
A lot can be done in 1 day if you prepared for it - early morning to late night. T

Thats one hell of a day- I'm living here 12 years and I haven't seen the half of it!

If you want to see the main tourist draws, then yes you can squeeze a lot in 24 hours with a bit of planning. The subway system really compresses the travel time required in the city.

Hav you tried airbnb for somewhere to stay?

I can't think of a good reason to go to AC unless you love to gamble.

Their are really cheap flights from NYC to anywhere in the US if you plan and book well enough in advance.

If there are any questions you think I can help with- PM me.
Post by: aontroim abu on October 24, 2014, 03:14:31 PM
Bump

Thinking of heading there in April with the good lady, any tips (apart from those already posted)
Post by: Norf Tyrone on June 15, 2015, 03:48:16 PM
Folks

Heading to new York in a few weeks time with two children. I was reading that a taxi from JFK to Manhatten would be $55 which is not too bad. Alternatively the subway is around $10 - $12 for the 4 of us.

I'd prefer the taxi for convenience reasons. What's the odds of not getting ripped off with a higher that $55 bill?
Post by: majestic on June 15, 2015, 04:23:30 PM
Pretty sure the odds are zero - as the yellow cabs are a fixed fee to and from JFK! There are some privately run taxi companies that are more expensive! But reckon you should be safe enough if you stick with the yellow ones.

http://www.nyc.gov/html/tlc/html/passenger/taxicab_rate.shtml
Post by: heganboy on June 15, 2015, 04:56:45 PM
über is a good alternative :
https://www.uber.com/cities/new-york

look down at the bottom of the page for the flat rates for the different types of vehicle, pick one that suits the amount of gear you need to take with you to manage 2 kids...
Post by: Norf Tyrone on June 15, 2015, 05:08:44 PM
Thanks folks.
Post by: muppet on June 15, 2015, 05:38:40 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on June 15, 2015, 05:08:44 PM
Thanks folks.

http://pix11.com/2015/01/22/new-service-offering-6-minute-helicopter-trip-from-manhattan-to-jfk/ (http://pix11.com/2015/01/22/new-service-offering-6-minute-helicopter-trip-from-manhattan-to-jfk/)

I know it costs a bit, but you know you want to and the kids will remember it forever.  ;D
Post by: J70 on June 15, 2015, 06:07:35 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on June 15, 2015, 03:48:16 PM
Folks

Heading to new York in a few weeks time with two children. I was reading that a taxi from JFK to Manhatten would be $55 which is not too bad. Alternatively the subway is around $10 - $12 for the 4 of us.

I'd prefer the taxi for convenience reasons. What's the odds of not getting ripped off with a higher that $55 bill?

You'll not get to Manhattan from JFK using the subway for $12 for the four of you. First, you'll need $5 apiece for the Air Train to whichever subway station you go to (Howard Beach for A train, Jamaica for E/J/Z and Long Island Railroad). Subway is $2.75 each. LIRR is probably $5-8 depending on when you are travelling (there's peak and off-peak fares, depending on when you take it - into city in morning/out of city in evening is peak).

Taxi is probably your best bet. But you have to add tolls and tips to the $55 figure. Midtown tunnel is tolled. 59th Street, Williamsburg, Brooklyn and Manhattan bridges are not. RFK (formerly Triborough) is also tolled. Which option you take depends on where in Manhattan you are headed, but the Long Island Expressway and Midtown Tunnel would be the most direct route to midtown.

If you are heading somewhere around the Penn Station/Times Square area, you might be better off taking the Air Train and LIRR if its a heavy traffic time of day. The Van Wyck Expressway out of JFK is invariably clogged, and the Long Island Expressway is often not much better. Its about a ten minute ride to Jamaica station from Terminal 5 (Aer Lingus) on the Air Train. Jamaica station to Penn on LIRR is usually about 15 minutes. Subway could be 30-45 on E train.
Post by: J70 on June 15, 2015, 06:15:35 PM
If you get a taxi, DO NOT accept one of the lads who will be soliciting business in the terminal. They'll charge you an arm and a leg, chances are they're not insured or licensed to pick up fares, and its illegal.

Sort yourself out with an Uber account if you don't want to queue up, as Heganboy suggests. In my experience, they're excellent! And fast! There can be long lines at the NYC airports for the yellow cabs.
Post by: whitey on June 15, 2015, 06:44:39 PM
Folks

All good advice above

If you are staying in a hotel, call them they may have a preferred Livery service they use.

Subway with kids and luggage sounds like a major hassle
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on June 15, 2015, 06:52:01 PM
Folks

If you're staying anywhere near 33rd St on the West Side, the Long Island Rail Road connection from the Air Train is pretty convenient.   

Unless you know the subway system, I wouldn't bother with it from the airport, it can be a bit confusing till you know your way around it.   

You'll just be off a plane, with your kids in tow, so a taxi is your best bet for a stress free trip.   Just remember t hat that $55 will look more like $70-75 by the time tolls and tip are added.   
Post by: aontroim abu on June 16, 2015, 11:30:03 AM
Just back from NY last week, used the GO airport shuttle, for the 2 of us cost roughly $80 return from Newark (plus tip), the pick up was sitting waiting on us plus arrived on time at the hotel for collection. Only problem was you had to share with others and had to stop at 2 other hotels to pick up other travellers, overall the trip from Times Square took roughly an hour and a half in rush hour which isn't too bad.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 18, 2015, 01:12:00 AM
Will be in town for 2 nights on the way back from a work trip with another fella. Any suggestions for reasonably priced accommodation. Had a look at some hotels but obviously space restrictions in NYC mean twin rooms are limited and Indont fancy a bunk up with this chap. I've been before but he hasn't so will want to be fairly centrally located to make best use of time to hit the sights.

Will be wanting some pub recommendations for evening entertainment!
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 18, 2015, 05:16:31 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 18, 2015, 01:12:00 AM
Will be in town for 2 nights on the way back from a work trip with another fella. Any suggestions for reasonably priced accommodation. Had a look at some hotels but obviously space restrictions in NYC mean twin rooms are limited and Indont fancy a bunk up with this chap. I've been before but he hasn't so will want to be fairly centrally located to make best use of time to hit the sights.

Will be wanting some pub recommendations for evening entertainment!

Just left New York this morning and stayed here.
http://www.thegregoryhotelnewyork.com/m/#content

Superb location and very good hotel. Price it via booking.com if you're interested.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 18, 2015, 11:09:36 AM
Looks like the sort of place you'd take the missus!  :D

Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 18, 2015, 01:45:18 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 18, 2015, 11:09:36 AM

We booked it in Sept and it was caked the Comfort Inn. It was £500 for me, the missus and the 2 weins for 4 nights. Ir became Hotel 35 in Feb and then we got another email saying it was now caked The Gregory.

It was just finished getting a refurbished when we arrived. I think it'll be a LOT more expensive from here in.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 18, 2015, 02:08:46 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on July 18, 2015, 01:45:18 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 18, 2015, 11:09:36 AM

We booked it in Sept and it was caked the Comfort Inn. It was £500 for me, the missus and the 2 weins for 4 nights. Ir became Hotel 35 in Feb and then we got another email saying it was now caked The Gregory.

It was just finished getting a refurbished when we arrived. I think it'll be a LOT more expensive from here in.
That was good going. $570 for 2 nights.
Post by: CD on July 18, 2015, 02:33:44 PM
Lived in NY for 9 months about 15 years ago and spent many an evening in a pub called 'Blooms' in Sunnyside, Queens. Is it still going?
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on July 18, 2015, 02:54:36 PM
Molly Blooms?   Still going if that's the one.
Post by: gallsman on January 18, 2016, 03:10:36 PM
Looking to go back to New York for the gf's 30th in December. Direct flights at the minute are 430 return which is hard to beat.

Only time I was there was with lads on a piss up, so will be much more interested in looking at going to shows etc this time. Is there a cheap(er), Vegas-style way to get tickets? Some of the prices on the official site are terrifying!
Post by: dec on January 18, 2016, 03:20:10 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 18, 2016, 03:10:36 PM
Looking to go back to New York for the gf's 30th in December. Direct flights at the minute are 430 return which is hard to beat.

Only time I was there was with lads on a piss up, so will be much more interested in looking at going to shows etc this time. Is there a cheap(er), Vegas-style way to get tickets? Some of the prices on the official site are terrifying!

TKTS has a couple of locations including one in Times Square that offer day of show half price tickets. The most popular shows are probably not available.
Post by: Boycey on January 18, 2016, 03:48:10 PM
My other half surprised me for Christmas with a trip to New York/Toronto around the Paddys Day - Easter school holidays. I have however been tasked with getting the hotel in New York for the 4 days we're there, everything else is already sorted :-). As she lived in NY for 16 years and still gets back to it 1/2 times a year and I've been multiple times myself its not somewhere we're unfamiliar with so I'm trying to think out of the box a bit for somewhere to stay. Anyone got any wild or wonderful suggestions????
Post by: The Subbie on January 19, 2016, 02:03:14 AM
Quote from: Boycey on January 18, 2016, 03:48:10 PM
My other half surprised me for Christmas with a trip to New York/Toronto around the Paddys Day - Easter school holidays. I have however been tasked with getting the hotel in New York for the 4 days we're there, everything else is already sorted :-). As she lived in NY for 16 years and still gets back to it 1/2 times a year and I've been multiple times myself its not somewhere we're unfamiliar with so I'm trying to think out of the box a bit for somewhere to stay. Anyone got any wild or wonderful suggestions????

Boycey, have a look on Airbnb and see what it throws up, there's a million and 1 options there for NYC, one of them must be able to do the job for a few nights.
Post by: gallsman on January 19, 2016, 02:54:46 PM
Booked flights today for 5 nights in mid December. €790 return for two of us. Admittedly into Newark which isn't ideal, but no NYC airports are what you'd call "convenient" as I'd understand it.
Post by: J70 on January 19, 2016, 03:37:08 PM
Quote from: dec on January 18, 2016, 03:20:10 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 18, 2016, 03:10:36 PM

TKTS has a couple of locations including one in Times Square that offer day of show half price tickets. The most popular shows are probably not available.

If it was earlier in the season, you might have a chance with preview shows, always an easier ticket before the hype starts, but that's not much use around xmas time.
Post by: J70 on January 19, 2016, 03:41:15 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 19, 2016, 02:54:46 PM
Booked flights today for 5 nights in mid December. €790 return for two of us. Admittedly into Newark which isn't ideal, but no NYC airports are what you'd call "convenient" as I'd understand it.

If you're staying in Manhattan, Newark is fine, especially if you take the train. Not much difference to Kennedy in terms of time. Taxi, JFK is probably a bit quicker, depending on the time of day.
Post by: gallsman on January 19, 2016, 04:18:44 PM
Yeah, we'll be in Manhattan, probably Midtown. She's never been so will probably want to stay there. I'd prefer Lower Manhattan/East Village.
Post by: gallsman on March 15, 2016, 12:49:50 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 19, 2016, 04:18:44 PM
Yeah, we'll be in Manhattan, probably Midtown. She's never been so will probably want to stay there. I'd prefer Lower Manhattan/East Village.

With respect to the above, does anyone have personal recommendations or tips for good but comparitively affordable hotels? I appreciate it's New York at Christmas I'm talking about, but some of the prices the aggregator sites are throwing up are taking the piss. Anywhere that looks nice in a decent location is €300 a night. For five nights, that's a serious wedge.

Some of the 3 star hotels getting thrown up are more affordable, but quality varies wildly, so could do with a few pointers if anyone has stayed in a decent hotel that didn't break the bank. ABnB very expensive too.
Post by: Rois on March 15, 2016, 01:56:27 PM
We got the Sheraton 7th Avenue for a song (in December) by booking on hotwire.com where you don't know the name of the hotel before you book it.
My friend stayed in the yotel - may not be your type of thing but it did the job for her.
Post by: gallsman on March 15, 2016, 03:59:04 PM
Quote from: Rois on March 15, 2016, 01:56:27 PM
We got the Sheraton 7th Avenue for a song (in December) by booking on hotwire.com where you don't know the name of the hotel before you book it.
My friend stayed in the yotel - may not be your type of thing but it did the job for her.

Great, thanks!

Out of curiosity, what defines a steal in your book?!
Post by: Rois on March 15, 2016, 04:09:59 PM
Three nights Mon - Thurs in middle of Dec for £337.  Location-wise it was fab, between Central Park and Times Square.
Post by: gallsman on March 15, 2016, 04:30:26 PM
Quote from: Rois on March 15, 2016, 04:09:59 PM
Three nights Mon - Thurs in middle of Dec for £337.  Location-wise it was fab, between Central Park and Times Square.

Great, thanks. We have 5 nights including a Fri and Sat so difficult to know what a good deal is!
Post by: The Iceman on March 15, 2016, 04:33:58 PM
Quote from: gallsman on March 15, 2016, 12:49:50 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 19, 2016, 04:18:44 PM

With respect to the above, does anyone have personal recommendations or tips for good but comparitively affordable hotels? I appreciate it's New York at Christmas I'm talking about, but some of the prices the aggregator sites are throwing up are taking the piss. Anywhere that looks nice in a decent location is €300 a night. For five nights, that's a serious wedge.

Some of the 3 star hotels getting thrown up are more affordable, but quality varies wildly, so could do with a few pointers if anyone has stayed in a decent hotel that didn't break the bank. ABnB very expensive too.
See what you can get in Hoboken NJ Gallsman - it's a short PATH ride in to Manhattan and a fun town with spectacular views of Manhattan.
I'd also try VRBO as a lot of people rent out their apartments at that time while they're off visiting family - might be worth a shot...
Post by: gallsman on March 15, 2016, 05:25:22 PM
I've looked at Jersey before. Would it be fine you think? Not too much of a pain? Flying to Newark so it would be handy.
Post by: The Iceman on March 15, 2016, 05:29:16 PM
Quote from: gallsman on March 15, 2016, 05:25:22 PM
I've looked at Jersey before. Would it be fine you think? Not too much of a pain? Flying to Newark so it would be handy.
Jersey City has only one really nice and safe spot - if you stay near transportation its grand
Hoboken is great.  Worked there for 6 years. It's 10 mins in to downtown manhattan - 5 to south street seaport. Will cost you $2 each time.  You'll want a break from the hussle and bussle of manhattan and its the perfect spot....
Post by: 5 Sams on March 20, 2016, 05:05:42 PM
I was here the other day.....http://www.911memorial.org/museum

Unreal. Allow a good half day to see it.
Post by: gallsman on May 11, 2016, 03:32:37 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on March 15, 2016, 05:29:16 PM
Jersey City has only one really nice and safe spot - if you stay near transportation its grand
Hoboken is great.  Worked there for 6 years. It's 10 mins in to downtown manhattan - 5 to south street seaport. Will cost you $2 each time.  You'll want a break from the hussle and bussle of manhattan and its the perfect spot....

Just booked at last for a spot in Hoboken with Air BnB for six nights. It's right beside an apparently famous place called Carlo's Bake Shop that my host is already telling me I have to visit asap. Booked it using my Revolut card which saved me 30 euro compared to Air BnB's crappy FX rate so it works out at €125 a night including all the taxes and fees. About as good as I could have hoped for for somewhere decent based on the prices I saw!
Post by: Rois on May 11, 2016, 04:50:38 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 11, 2016, 03:32:37 PM
Booked it using my Revolut card which saved me 30 euro compared to Air BnB's crappy FX rate

Sorry for hijack - I'm interested in this thing.  I'm going to be booking quite a few hotels in $US over the next while.  Do the recipients need to have this Revolut thing enabled?  i.e. if I am booking with Holiday Inn, do they need to have a facility to allow me to be able to make the payments through it?
Post by: gallsman on May 11, 2016, 05:03:35 PM
Revolut is simply a MasterCard, of which you can keep a virtual and physical copy, so in terms of online transactions, it's just like any other card. It's not a payment service, so no need for the other side to have or enabled

I'm still learning but I've not come across any issues yet. I have read online that a few people have had issues with trying to use it in hotels for things like pre-authorisation as a security deposit, as it's a pre paid debit card, not a credit card.

For your holiday inn example, if you're booking online in advance, it should be fine. When going to pay, make sure you're using the US version of the site, the price is coming up in dollars and enter a valid US address as the boking address (pick one in a state without sales tax).

Your best option is to download the app, set up an account and start playing around a bit to get used to it and what it can be used for. If making online purchases abroad, it's an absolute no brainer to do it.
Post by: Hound on May 11, 2016, 05:08:28 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 11, 2016, 05:03:35 PM

I'm still learning but I've not come across any issues yet. I have read online that a few people have had issues with trying to use it in hotels for things like pre-authorisation as a security deposit, as it's a pre paid debit card, not a MasterCard.

For your holiday inn example, if you're booking online in advance, it should be fine. When going to pay, make sure you're using the US version of the site, the price is coming up in dollars and enter a valid US address as the boking address (pick one in a state without sales tax).

Yeah, its a credit card, but you use it like a debit card - you must have money in your account in the appropriate currency for the Revolut/Mastercard credit card to get authorised.  I haven't had any probelm getting billed in USD/GBP for stuff when using my Irish address, but haven't used it that often yet.
Post by: Rois on May 11, 2016, 05:19:19 PM
Sounds great - we're going on a 3 week roadtrip that will require booking for 20 nights plus an internal US flight, and we like to pay everything in advance where we can, so sounds like something I would benefit from.  I shall do the research accordingly!  Thanks.
Post by: Aristo 60 on May 11, 2016, 05:22:10 PM
Rois you've so many holidays that getting home must be like a holiday  :)
Post by: The Iceman on May 11, 2016, 05:22:36 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 11, 2016, 03:32:37 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on March 15, 2016, 05:29:16 PM

Just booked at last for a spot in Hoboken with Air BnB for six nights. It's right beside an apparently famous place called Carlo's Bake Shop that my host is already telling me I have to visit asap. Booked it using my Revolut card which saved me 30 euro compared to Air BnB's crappy FX rate so it works out at €125 a night including all the taxes and fees. About as good as I could have hoped for for somewhere decent based on the prices I saw!
Carlos bake shop has it's own TV show - The Cake Boss.  It's been on TV for 6 or 7 years now I think. Some great food (not the healthiest but you're on holidays).  The walk form there to the PATH train to Manhattan would be 2-3 mins.  Buy yourself a METRO card and top it up with $20 and you'll be good.  Couple of handy bars close by - Green Rock, Texas Arizona and Coopers Union.  Scotland Yard has great live music and 'Black Bear' was my go to spot for a feed. the Dubliner has a roof top beer garden - nice spot and a decent pint.  Stay away from "the cage" unless thats your cup of tea.... ;)
La Isla - real cuban spot for lunch - all spanish speaking. Make sure to take a walk around Frank sinatra Park for photos of Manhattan. Theres a "zip car" always parked one block form where you are staying if you want to take a spin down to the jersey shore....
If you need anything else when you're there let me know - both my brother in laws still live in Hoboken - IM me on here sure
Post by: DrinkingHarp on October 24, 2016, 10:40:54 PM
My Mom is going to NYC for New Years with a friend of hers. They are looking for a hotel that would be close to Times Square (walking distance) and to sight see around walking. Which hotel would you recommend that wouldn't cost an arm and a leg and it is also in a safe place? Budget would be between 200-450 USD a night.
Post by: podge on October 24, 2016, 10:48:26 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on October 24, 2016, 10:40:54 PM
My Mom is going to NYC for New Years with a friend of hers. They are looking for a hotel that would be close to Times Square (walking distance) and to sight see around walking. Which hotel would you recommend that wouldn't cost an arm and a leg and it is also in a safe place? Budget would be between 200-450 USD a night.

I have stayed in a nice boutique hotel on 38th street between 6th and 7th avenue- called 'The Refinery'.  5 minute walk from Times Square

Its probably at the upper end of your price range though.
Post by: Orior on October 24, 2016, 10:55:52 PM
I stayed here during the summer:

http://www.wolcott.com/ (http://www.wolcott.com/)

I thought it was a tad expensive. Walking distance to the Empire State and Times Square. Ah FFS, when I booked it I didn't know about this, back in 2007:

http://bedbugregistry.com/hotel/NY/New-York/Hotel-Wolcott (http://bedbugregistry.com/hotel/NY/New-York/Hotel-Wolcott)

It was just about clean enough. But I didn't like the way there was no breakfast, other than free coffee and muffins.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on October 24, 2016, 11:04:59 PM
On Orbitz found two that look promising, can anyone give info on these two?

Executive Hotel Le Soliel New York

The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Post by: Newbridge Exile on October 24, 2016, 11:08:56 PM
Stayed in the Affinia 50 before , good hotel and good location (on 50th between 3rd and Lexington)
Post by: J70 on October 24, 2016, 11:13:48 PM
Why in the name of Jesus would you want to be anywhere near Times Square on New Years Eve?! :)
Post by: DrinkingHarp on October 24, 2016, 11:16:43 PM
Quote from: J70 on October 24, 2016, 11:13:48 PM
Why in the name of Jesus would you want to be anywhere near Times Square on New Years Eve?! :)

They are a little older and want the walking convenience, wouldnt find me there  too many People.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on October 25, 2016, 01:09:32 AM
They won't be able to walk anywhere in Times Sq on New Year's Eve.  Between the crowds and the barricades, unless their idea of a good time is standing in the cold from about 4 in the afternoon, and not being able to get near a toilet, forget about it.
Post by: muppet on October 25, 2016, 01:17:16 AM

The last place I would want to be.
Post by: J70 on October 25, 2016, 01:58:40 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on October 24, 2016, 11:16:43 PM

They are a little older and want the walking convenience, wouldnt find me there  too many People.

Well I would stay out of the immediate Times Square area.

The likes of Fitzpatricks, over by Grand Central, would be only a ten minute walk from Times Square.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on October 25, 2016, 11:29:34 AM
Yes i would also say get somewhere by Grand Central.  It can be used as a base for taxis, tour buses and trains.  As above its only a few blocks away to times sq taking you past fifth avenue shops and the ice rink at Bryant Park which is beautiful in winter.
Post by: gallsman on October 25, 2016, 11:44:49 AM
I had over in six weeks. What's the verdict on the best "all in one pass" like the New York Card? Have heard a few different recommendations so far.

Also, any recommendation on where to buy whiskey?
Post by: DrinkingHarp on October 26, 2016, 01:10:46 AM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on October 25, 2016, 11:29:34 AM
Yes i would also say get somewhere by Grand Central.  It can be used as a base for taxis, tour buses and trains.  As above its only a few blocks away to times sq taking you past fifth avenue shops and the ice rink at Bryant Park which is beautiful in winter.

Thanks for the info, would Executive Hotel Le Soliel New York meet that area?

Post by: Norf Tyrone on October 26, 2016, 01:35:07 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on October 26, 2016, 01:10:46 AM

I literally stayed around the block from there last year.

Perfect location. So much of New York is walkable from there. I doubt you'd hand pick a handier spot.
Post by: whitey on October 26, 2016, 01:41:07 AM
Rudys in Hells Kitchen is a great spot

http://nymag.com/listings/bar/rudys_bar_and_grill/
Post by: J70 on October 26, 2016, 02:36:16 AM
Quote from: gallsman on October 25, 2016, 11:44:49 AM
I had over in six weeks. What's the verdict on the best "all in one pass" like the New York Card? Have heard a few different recommendations so far.

Also, any recommendation on where to buy whiskey?

1. Depends what you want to do. Here's Trip Advisor's analysis. https://www.tripadvisor.com/Travel-g60763-c140362/New-York-City:New-York:Attraction.Passes.An.Analysis.html (https://www.tripadvisor.com/Travel-g60763-c140362/New-York-City:New-York:Attraction.Passes.An.Analysis.html)

2. On whiskey - again, depends on what you're after. The craft whiskey thing is really taking off over here now.
Post by: J70 on October 26, 2016, 02:39:32 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on October 26, 2016, 01:10:46 AM

Its a wee bit further south than Grand Central, but again, very convenient to Times Square. Just a couple of minutes from the Empire State Building, MSG, Macy's etc too.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on October 26, 2016, 08:10:04 AM
going over on Friday for a week
should be fun
Post by: nrico2006 on November 30, 2022, 10:47:02 AM
Anybody able to recommend somewhere decent quality and price to stay in New York that's in a decent location too?

Roughly, how much would you class as being a good price for return flights to New York for 2 adults and 2 children. Thinking about maybe going in February or October. To take in the standard sights, how many days stay would be recommended? Thanks in advance for any help.
Post by: armaghniac on November 30, 2022, 10:55:25 AM
Skyscanner is a good resource for flights, you can see all the alternatives.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 30, 2022, 11:46:14 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on November 30, 2022, 10:47:02 AM
Anybody able to recommend somewhere decent quality and price to stay in New York that's in a decent location too?

Roughly, how much would you class as being a good price for return flights to New York for 2 adults and 2 children. Thinking about maybe going in February or October. To take in the standard sights, how many days stay would be recommended? Thanks in advance for any help.

Be interesting to hear what you do nrico, as we didn't get round to doing ours due to covid and looking to get that trip back on
Post by: Newbridge Exile on November 30, 2022, 12:12:06 PM

We were there in April this year for four nights / five days with our son and stayed in the Belvedere Hotel  a really good location about 5 mins walk from time square ( West 48th between 8th and 9th Avenue), , Key thing is definitely planning ahead , we had our City Pass bought and had all our attractions ( Empire State / Top of the  Rock / AMNH / Ground Zero all booked well in advance of arriving.
Post by: J70 on November 30, 2022, 12:44:31 PM

Depending on your interests, you could fill two weeks (but who wants to be trekking around tourist sights for that long?).

I'd say a week should easily cover the essentials.

Aer Lingus is doing deals covering February at the moment. Play (Icelandic airline) is cheaper, but you have to stop in Reyjavik, and you'll be flying in and out of Stewart, which is about 1.5 hours up the Hudson (on a good traffic day).

We got $850 apiece from JFK-SNN for the middle of next summer on Aer Lingus.
Post by: balladmaker on November 30, 2022, 09:53:03 PM
Spent 6 nights in April this year, stayed in Hyatt Place, 39th St and 8th Ave, it was the best value we could find for a family room. Was an expensive week between flights and spending money, but everyone had a brill time.  Did The Edge, Central Park, Times Square, the High line walk, the Village, Staten Island, Sunset cruise around the bay, plus a good few bars and restaurants along the way, some city.

Post by: NetNitrate on November 30, 2022, 11:29:07 PM
If you are looking for hip and near nightlife The Standard, near High Line, if you are looking more Times Square, the AC is a nice new boutique hotel with good rooftop bar. Westin in Times Square also sometimes has good rates.
Post by: J70 on December 01, 2022, 12:18:32 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on November 30, 2022, 09:53:03 PM
Spent 6 nights in April this year, stayed in Hyatt Place, 39th St and 8th Ave, it was the best value we could find for a family room. Was an expensive week between flights and spending money, but everyone had a brill time.  Did The Edge, Central Park, Times Square, the High line walk, the Village, Staten Island, Sunset cruise around the bay, plus a good few bars and restaurants along the way, some city.

Staten Island?? ??? ;D
Post by: galwayman on December 01, 2022, 01:00:27 PM
Quote from: NetNitrate on November 30, 2022, 11:29:07 PM
If you are looking for hip and near nightlife The Standard, near High Line, if you are looking more Times Square, the AC is a nice new boutique hotel with good rooftop bar. Westin in Times Square also sometimes has good rates.
Stayed in Lower Manhattan back in October but that Chelsea area near the High Line is really nice.
Post by: whitey on December 01, 2022, 01:16:44 PM
Quote from: J70 on December 01, 2022, 12:18:32 PM

Staten Island?? ??? ;D

Probably meant he took the Staten Island Ferry

Anyone I ever took on it regarded it as one of the highlights of their trip
Post by: general on December 01, 2022, 01:47:51 PM
Going End Feb for 4 nights/5 days;

Hotel - the edison times square, return from dub-jfk £1500 (2 adults)

How much spending money should one budget for daily (if attractions are pre booked).

on the attractions - i see there are some passes - are the 3/4 day passes worth it? or is it best to book each one by one
Post by: balladmaker on December 01, 2022, 02:04:11 PM

Staten Island?? ??? ;D

Yes, Staten Island ferry to head to the Empire Outlet stores, ferry was fine, stores weren't good.
Post by: balladmaker on December 01, 2022, 02:11:20 PM
Quote from: general on December 01, 2022, 01:47:51 PM

How much spending money should one budget for daily (if attractions are pre booked).

on the attractions - i see there are some passes - are the 3/4 day passes worth it? or is it best to book each one by one

Stayed in the Edison before ... superb location just off Times Square, was a small enough room as seems the norm for NYC, I don't recall hanging around the hotel other than a few beers in what was a small bar in it.

Spending money, how long is a piece of string really ... you won't be long burning through $200 when eating out a few times a day along with a few beers etc.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 01, 2022, 02:20:26 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on December 01, 2022, 02:11:20 PM

Stayed in the Edison before ... superb location just off Times Square, was a small enough room as seems the norm for NYC, I don't recall hanging around the hotel other than a few beers in what was a small bar in it.

Spending money, how long is a piece of string really ... you won't be long burning through $200 when eating out a few times a day along with a few beers etc.

None of that budget comes from buying stuff in the shops lol!! You're talking 3 to 400 dollars lol
Post by: themac_23 on December 01, 2022, 03:43:49 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on December 01, 2022, 02:11:20 PM

Staying here myself start of jan for 3 nights before headed on a cruise, location looks good, was told not to expect too much for Times Square hotels. Looking forward to seeing New York, never been before
Post by: take_yer_points on December 02, 2022, 12:06:08 AM
Just back from New York yesterday, stayed 4 nights in the New Yorker on 8th Avenue, 35th Street. Across the road from Madison Square Garden and 3 or 4 blocks from the edge. Hotel is in a great location but starting to look a bit dated when you get upstairs. The edge is very good

Just the two of us over. Minimum $10 for a beer in Manhattan and can go higher ($15 an Irish coffee in the dead rabbit, same for a hot whiskey, which I've now discovered is called a hot toddy over there). Went to Gallagher's Steak House up near times square and a couple of steaks, a few drinks and tip ran to well over $200. Other days ate a couple of slices for a few $.

Got last minute tickets for Chicago at the booth in Times Square, opens at 3pm daily with tickets available for everything that was on with minimum 25% discounted. Arrived at 3.15 and were away by 3.45 with the tickets.

We got the bus from Newark into Port Authority from directly outside the terminal in Newark. Half an hour in and $40 for both of us. Booked online on the coach USA site, you can't buy tickets at the airport. 8th avenue for 5 or 6 blocks below Port Authority was an experience - some amount of poverty and homelessness. Saw a few fellas being worked on by paramedics and it didn't look great

Whole Foods is a good job for a bite to eat that'll keep the cost down, plenty of them around so can grab a bite to eat if walking around the city.

5 below also good for the presents for kids. Toys on a budget (most things in it are <$5)
Post by: Never beat the deeler on December 02, 2022, 12:44:40 AM
Quote from: balladmaker on December 01, 2022, 02:04:11 PM

Staten Island?? ??? ;D

Yes, Staten Island ferry to head to the Empire Outlet stores, ferry was fine, stores weren't good.

The Circle Line is a great sightseeing tour, seeing the city from a different perspective, and not mad expensive iirc.
Post by: whitey on December 02, 2022, 01:21:50 AM
https://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g60763-d5830185-Reviews-Rudy_s_Bar_Grill-New_York_City_New_York.html

Great bar-you'll meet all types of characters in here

Very easy on the pocket
Post by: PMG1 on December 02, 2022, 01:34:54 AM
Heading to NY for the first time on 15th of this month for 4 nights. Booked an Airbnb apartment owned by an Irish guy (it's a pubs the Landmark Tavern which is an Irish Bar in Hells Kitchen area), cost about $220 per night and it looks great. Booked flights back in March for £330 each return. Have been in 56 countries but never in USA. Have my wife and 18 year old daughter so a bit of shopping will be on the menu unfortunately. Someone said to head to Woodbury Common which is a 90 min bus journey but is supposed to be the best shopping place , anyone done this and is it worth it or is there any handier good value shopping areas?
Post by: J70 on December 02, 2022, 09:46:37 AM
Depends on the range of shops you're after. There are outlets across the river in Secaucus which would be far easier and quicker to get to. Woodbury Common is handy enough though as it's just off I-87, but depending on traffic it could be a two hour drive at least. I'd expect it to be busy as f**k a week before Xmas, but could be wrong.
Post by: J70 on December 02, 2022, 09:47:54 AM

Staten Island?? ??? ;D

The ferry should be on everyone's list.

Statin Island itself... not so much.
Post by: nrico2006 on December 02, 2022, 10:07:12 AM
What airport is best to fly into and what is the best way to get from there to City centre?

So many things to do, if you had 4 days and were picking the best attractions what would they be? Does your average visitor go up the new Trade Center and Empire state or is it more common to pick one and just go and look at the rest of the big/famous buildings? Even statue of liberty, I see alot of people on the ferry near it, does it let you off or are there just simply different options, I.e. one to just scoot by on the ferry and others to do that and go on the island?
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 02, 2022, 11:17:20 AM
Quote from: PMG1 on December 02, 2022, 01:34:54 AM
Heading to NY for the first time on 15th of this month for 4 nights. Booked an Airbnb apartment owned by an Irish guy (it's a pubs the Landmark Tavern which is an Irish Bar in Hells Kitchen area), cost about $220 per night and it looks great. Booked flights back in March for £330 each return. Have been in 56 countries but never in USA. Have my wife and 18 year old daughter so a bit of shopping will be on the menu unfortunately. Someone said to head to Woodbury Common which is a 90 min bus journey but is supposed to be the best shopping place , anyone done this and is it worth it or is there any handier good value shopping areas?

It is a good set up but it will take you away for the day (unless you are looking something specific there) and as J70 said the week before Christmas? The women n my family would have went quite regularly to Woodbury common as a Christmas trip but then changed to some place in Jersey as it was closer and the sales were better. (Not sure if this is the place J70 is talking about).
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 02, 2022, 11:45:28 AM
But are things cheaper now? Was in the states about 4 years ago and I price checked everything at the outlets for what I was looking for and they were the same if not cheaper online..

Obviously there are other things that may  be but I never bothered buying anything, few years before that I bought loads, the pound gave you 2 dollars and the prices were a lot cheaper
Post by: NetNitrate on December 02, 2022, 11:57:39 AM
That's Jersey Gardens. Nearer and cheaper because no tax in New Jersey. But a shithole. I'd say if you are coming to NYC don't waste your time in these soulless suburban outlets when you could be doing something authentic.
Post by: thewobbler on December 02, 2022, 12:10:20 PM
If you're only in NYC for a handful of days, don't waste one of them going to an out of town shopping mall. This isn't 1986. Your good ladies can get what they want delivered to their door by Amazon.

Also don't waste a day queuing up for Ellis Island / Statue of Liberty. The returns are just not worth the investment.

New York is a giant film set. Just walk it, and as much as you can, and as often as you can, for the time you're there. Things will come to you as you're waking. I've never been any place like it.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 02, 2022, 12:52:50 PM
Quote from: J70 on December 02, 2022, 09:47:54 AM

Staten Island?? ??? ;D

There is a very beautiful Buddhist monastery open to the public on Staten Island.  Not the time of year, but there are also some lovely beaches.  It's been a long time now, but the pizza joint at the SI ferry station used to do a great slice.
Post by: J70 on December 02, 2022, 01:02:50 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on December 02, 2022, 12:52:50 PM

Staten Island?? ??? ;D

There is a very beautiful Buddhist monastery open to the public on Staten Island.  Not the time of year, but there are also some lovely beaches.  It's been a long time now, but the pizza joint at the SI ferry station used to do a great slice.

Well, we're talking "relative" value here. Is the monastery worth the hassle for the average someone in the city for a week trying to take in the essentials? Each to their own.

Beaches... I'm always a bit iffy about NYC beaches as you'll often encounter plastic bags and band aids floating by you. I'd prefer Long Beach or Jones Beach as they seem a bit cleaner.

Although we did a day at Coney Island this past summer and the water was clean. Kids love the boardwalk rides and the aquarium too. Cold spot in the winter though.

In summer Governors Island is excellent for a day out. But again, that's as a resident. Would it be worth your time as a tourist? Maybe, with the wonderful views of downtown and the harbor and the Brooklyn Bridge.
Post by: J70 on December 02, 2022, 01:05:23 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on December 02, 2022, 12:10:20 PM
If you're only in NYC for a handful of days, don't waste one of them going to an out of town shopping mall. This isn't 1986. Your good ladies can get what they want delivered to their door by Amazon.

Also don't waste a day queuing up for Ellis Island / Statue of Liberty. The returns are just not worth the investment.

New York is a giant film set. Just walk it, and as much as you can, and as often as you can, for the time you're there. Things will come to you as you're waking. I've never been any place like it.

If you want to see the Statue of Liberty, just do the Staten Island ferry. Quicker and cheaper and no queues.

Dress warm though!
Post by: whitey on December 02, 2022, 01:15:41 PM

Staten Island?? ??? ;D

I would add that walking the Brooklyn Bridge (especially at sunset) is one the the best things you can do in NYC

The New World Trade Center....just to sit there and think of what happened gives you a chill

Eately is right next to the WTC and a great place to grab a coffee and a sandwich

As other people have said just walk the city and it's amazing what you stumble upon

We tried to do the Tenement Tours but they were all booked up. A kind lady directed us to the Original St Patrick's Cathederal not too far away.....that was pretty spectacular given the history.

There are some catacombs you can tour there which get incredible reviews but again we didn't have time to do it

https://www.tripadvisor.com/AttractionProductReview-g60763-d12939579-New_York_Catacombs_by_Candlelight-New_York_City_New_York.html
Post by: nrico2006 on December 02, 2022, 02:00:04 PM
Quote from: J70 on December 02, 2022, 01:05:23 PM

If you want to see the Statue of Liberty, just do the Staten Island ferry. Quicker and cheaper and no queues.

Dress warm though!

Is that basically the ferry that most people take to see the statue?
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 02, 2022, 02:14:13 PM
also don't waste your time in restaurants. Just eat and drink on the go and adsorb as much of the BIG apple as you can. You can do a lot in a day there. Greatest city on earth.
Post by: NetNitrate on December 02, 2022, 02:20:12 PM
Although there are some fantastic eating experiences. I'd highly recommend Keens Chophouse - an old steakhouse dating back to late 1800s and full of history.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 02, 2022, 02:29:38 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on December 02, 2022, 02:14:13 PM
also don't waste your time in restaurants. Just eat and drink on the go and adsorb as much of the BIG apple as you can. You can do a lot in a day there. Greatest city on earth.

It is great no doubt but another that I have started to really enjoy is London, its full of stuff to do like New York but 1 hour away..

But the Mrs hasn't been to New York so looking at it for next year
Post by: smort on December 02, 2022, 02:31:24 PM
There are good vintage/thrift shops in East Village where you can pick up a bargain

Went to New York for the first time in 2017 and it was awesome, in the purest sense of the word. Amazing city
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 02, 2022, 07:06:44 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on December 02, 2022, 02:00:04 PM
Quote from: J70 on December 02, 2022, 01:05:23 PM

Dress warm though!

Is that basically the ferry that most people take to see the statue?

If you just want to see the statue close up from a boat, that's the best bet.  If you want to get onto the island (not sure if you can still go up the inside of the statue?) and see the excellent Museum of Immigration on Ellis Island, you have to pay. 
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 02, 2022, 07:08:01 PM
Quote from: J70 on December 02, 2022, 01:02:50 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on December 02, 2022, 12:52:50 PM

Staten Island?? ??? ;D

Well, we're talking "relative" value here. Is the monastery worth the hassle for the average someone in the city for a week trying to take in the essentials? Each to their own.

Fair enough.  Just pointing out that SI is not without its charms.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 02, 2022, 07:12:20 PM
Btw, if you are taking the free ferry to Staten Island/Statue of Liberty, try to time it near sunset.  Sunsets in NY this time of year are a riot of fiery colours, and the city lights coming on during the ferry back to the city is a beautiful sight.
Post by: take_yer_points on December 03, 2022, 09:08:02 AM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on December 02, 2022, 07:12:20 PM
Btw, if you are taking the free ferry to Staten Island/Statue of Liberty, try to time it near sunset.  Sunsets in NY this time of year are a riot of fiery colours, and the city lights coming on during the ferry back to the city is a beautiful sight.

Sunset from the edge last weekend. I've done empire state building and top of the rock before, thought the edge was the best of the lot...

You have to pre-book it if you're going to do it. Book early to get a sunset time

(https://i.ibb.co/mzW41bB/Screenshot-2022-12-03-08-59-30-56-965bbf4d18d205f782c6b8409c5773a4-2.jpg)

Post by: nrico2006 on December 03, 2022, 12:35:57 PM
Quote from: take_yer_points on December 03, 2022, 09:08:02 AM

Sunset from the edge last weekend. I've done empire state building and top of the rock before, thought the edge was the best of the lot...

You have to pre-book it if you're going to do it. Book early to get a sunset time

(https://i.ibb.co/mzW41bB/Screenshot-2022-12-03-08-59-30-56-965bbf4d18d205f782c6b8409c5773a4-2.jpg)

What is the craic with Top of the Rock, One WTC, Empire State when it comes to going to the top if you pre-book tickets? Do you get up pretty quick or are you wasting lots if time? Just trying to weigh up which one(s) to do and weigh up how worth it they will be considering time will be something I don't want to waste there.
Post by: balladmaker on December 03, 2022, 12:45:00 PM
Also did The Edge in April this year ... fast up and down and spectacular views from the top as well as standing on a glass panel with a clear view to the huge drop below.  You can also pay extra and hang off the edge of the roof, but that wasn't for me ... https://www.edgenyc.com/en/cityclimb
Post by: take_yer_points on December 03, 2022, 01:40:32 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on December 03, 2022, 12:35:57 PM
Quote from: take_yer_points on December 03, 2022, 09:08:02 AM

What is the craic with Top of the Rock, One WTC, Empire State when it comes to going to the top if you pre-book tickets? Do you get up pretty quick or are you wasting lots if time? Just trying to weigh up which one(s) to do and weigh up how worth it they will be considering time will be something I don't want to waste there.

Long time from I've been up most of them, but the edge was 15 minutes from walking into the building to being up there, so not long. But I'd say it's quiet at this time of year.

Some of od depends on what you want - do you want to "do the empire state", etc... If you want to see those buildings (empire state, Chrysler, rock, etc...) then you can see them all from the edge.

As balladmaker says you also have the glass panel at the edge that you can sit/stand on and take photos looking down at the street from 100 floors up.

I'd say they all get a lot busier as summer approaches
Post by: J70 on December 03, 2022, 01:50:57 PM
Was just checking One Vanderbilt (new skyscraper on 42nd beside Grand Central) and their "Summit" tickets are completely sold out today and tomorrow except for late evenings. I'd say whichever one you go with you might need to book in advance to be sure of getting in there.

https://www.theatlantic.com/photo/2021/10/views-summit-one-vanderbilt/620330/ (https://www.theatlantic.com/photo/2021/10/views-summit-one-vanderbilt/620330/)
Post by: BenDover on December 04, 2022, 06:17:51 PM
Heading over the end of Jan with the OH for 4 nights. Besides completing the ESTA and having a COVID cert is there any other documents we'll need?
Managed to book this through work for Day 2: https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/AttractionProductReview-g60763-d11455174-New_York_in_One_Day_Guided_Sightseeing_Tour-New_York_City_New_York.html
Thinking this would give us a good feel of most of the main sights and where to find them again from out hotel if we want to revisit and spend more time at them.

Is there anything else we should be including on our itenary as a must do/see?
Post by: J70 on December 05, 2022, 11:15:17 AM
Quote from: BenDover on December 04, 2022, 06:17:51 PM
Heading over the end of Jan with the OH for 4 nights. Besides completing the ESTA and having a COVID cert is there any other documents we'll need?
Managed to book this through work for Day 2: https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/AttractionProductReview-g60763-d11455174-New_York_in_One_Day_Guided_Sightseeing_Tour-New_York_City_New_York.html
Thinking this would give us a good feel of most of the main sights and where to find them again from out hotel if we want to revisit and spend more time at them.

That's a lot of ground to cover in one day!
Post by: BenDover on December 06, 2022, 08:50:50 PM
Quote from: J70 on December 05, 2022, 11:15:17 AM
Quote from: BenDover on December 04, 2022, 06:17:51 PM

That's a lot of ground to cover in one day!
Mainly the reason why I booked it for Day 2. Thought it'd give me a good idea of where a lot of the bigger tourist sites are so if I wanted to revisit and spend more time I'd have half an idea of how to get there.
Also booked the Frankie Legs Central Park Tour for the morning of Day 3.
Post by: nrico2006 on January 03, 2023, 12:58:52 AM
Any advice on getting around to see the main places (central park, brooklyn bridge, wall street, empire state, twin towers site etc.), i.e. do you just walk it all or will you need the subway much, therefore if so, is it beneficial to buy some sort of pass?
Post by: balladmaker on January 03, 2023, 01:09:41 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on January 03, 2023, 12:58:52 AM
Any advice on getting around to see the main places (central park, brooklyn bridge, wall street, empire state, twin towers site etc.), i.e. do you just walk it all or will you need the subway much, therefore if so, is it beneficial to buy some sort of pass?

Anything in midtown is all walking distance.  I'd recommend subway down to 911 memorial, 10-15 min, with stop right at WTC.  For getting around at night from here to there, I found Lyft app to be handy.
Post by: J70 on January 03, 2023, 01:43:23 AM
Brooklyn Bridge, Wall Street, WTC are all downtown. You could walk to the midtown areas from there, but it will take most of an hour. I'd get the subway.

Central Park - depends on where you're going in the park. It stretches from 59th Street to 110th. A/B/C/D line runs up Central Park West. A/D are express and make no stops between 59th and 125th. B/C make local stops. To get to the east side of the park from the Upper East Side, closest subway is the 4/5/6 line which runs along Lexington. About a ten minute walk to 5th Avenue from there (5th Ave runs along the east side of the park). 6 makes local stops.

Subway map here - fairly easy to use if you know where you need to go.
https://new.mta.info/map/5256 (https://new.mta.info/map/5256)

If you have a chip card (contactless) you may be able to just tap it on the OMNY reader at the turnstile to get in. Or set it up on your phone. Otherwise you can buy subway cards ($5) in all stations and stick some cash in them.
https://omny.info (https://omny.info)

You pay to get into the subway. Once in, you can go as far as you like for as long as you like and make as many changes as you want.

Don't fall for the media hype about safety. More than 3 million people ride the subway every day. Just be sensible, keep an eye on who's about, move if you have to and don't stand at the edge of the platform. If you drop your phone down on the tracks, go find the attendant to help you get it back safely.
Post by: balladmaker on January 03, 2023, 09:30:23 AM
Quote from: J70 on January 03, 2023, 01:43:23 AM
Brooklyn Bridge, Wall Street, WTC are all downtown. You could walk to the midtown areas from there, but it will take most of an hour. I'd get the subway.

Central Park - depends on where you're going in the park. It stretches from 59th Street to 110th. A/B/C/D line runs up Central Park West. A/D are express and make no stops between 59th and 125th. B/C make local stops. To get to the east side of the park from the Upper East Side, closest subway is the 4/5/6 line which runs along Lexington. About a ten minute walk to 5th Avenue from there (5th Ave runs along the east side of the park). 6 makes local stops.

Subway map here - fairly easy to use if you know where you need to go.
https://new.mta.info/map/5256 (https://new.mta.info/map/5256)

If you have a chip card (contactless) you may be able to just tap it on the OMNY reader at the turnstile to get in. Or set it up on your phone. Otherwise you can buy subway cards ($5) in all stations and stick some cash in them.
https://omny.info (https://omny.info)

You pay to get into the subway. Once in, you can go as far as you like for as long as you like and make as many changes as you want.

Don't fall for the media hype about safety. More than 3 million people ride the subway every day. Just be sensible, keep an eye on who's about, move if you have to and don't stand at the edge of the platform. If you drop your phone down on the tracks, go find the attendant to help you get it back safely.

Confirmed, very similar to underground in London, just tap at the barrier using contactless, very handy.