Tailteann Cup 2022

Started by twohands!!!, April 24, 2022, 07:56:12 PM

Quote from: themac_23 on May 27, 2022, 11:26:24 AM
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-40882115.html?fbclid=IwAR3A47cq9P5zh4K24R4yqbrLlIRxkw_1PDYXWMNwd_jElAiPG0Hz4nvqY4U

this article pretty much nails it. great to see a player being realistic. What is the point in busting your arse training when you know you're going out to just try and avoid being embarrassed. As Quinn says here the Tailteann is a comp where teams can go out and set realistic targets and try to build something.

Longford was one of the teams that did really well in the qualifiers taking out the likes of Derry, Monaghan and Mayo. It got to a stage whereby plenty was hoping to avoid them in the draw.

Quote from: Blowitupref on May 27, 2022, 03:52:53 PM
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-40882115.html?fbclid=IwAR3A47cq9P5zh4K24R4yqbrLlIRxkw_1PDYXWMNwd_jElAiPG0Hz4nvqY4U

this article pretty much nails it. great to see a player being realistic. What is the point in busting your arse training when you know you're going out to just try and avoid being embarrassed. As Quinn says here the Tailteann is a comp where teams can go out and set realistic targets and try to build something.

Longford was one of the teams that did really well in the qualifiers taking out the likes of Derry, Monaghan and Mayo. It got to a stage whereby plenty was hoping to avoid them in the draw.
a majo win every few years is great when your not playing what about all the other years im sure there many longford player who have never beaten Div 1 or 2 teams

Quote from: rosnarun on May 27, 2022, 04:14:27 PM

a majo win every few years is great when your not playing what about all the other years im sure there many longford player who have never beaten Div 1 or 2 teams

Monaghan as they are now was a Division 1 team when Longford beat them and the last match was played in Clones. 2014 Derry and  Mayo 2010 knocked out of the championship by Longford reached Division 1 final prior to those championships.

It seems that Leitrim might be interested in the Tailteann cup while Antrim are not.
In the old qualifiers Leitrim did not seem interested, for instance when Armagh beat them by 27 points.

Results in the 2pm games

Leitrim 2-14 Antrim 1-12
Cavan 0-24 Down 1-12

Quote from: Blowitupref on May 27, 2022, 04:50:27 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 27, 2022, 04:14:27 PM

Monaghan as they are now was a Division 1 team when Longford beat them and the last match was played in Clones. 2014 Derry and  Mayo 2010 knocked out of the championship by Longford reached Division 1 final prior to those championships.
That result did happen with Mal O'Rourke as manager and all the more that it was in Clones, there was another time when Longford had Kerry punch drunk on the ropes.

Half time and a closer contest than the Div 4 match between the two Sligo 2-6 London 1-7. 

Result longford 0-12 Fermanagh 1-12.  Goal on 68 mins p

Sligo 2-11 London 2-11. Two late point for Sligo brings the game to extra time.

Sligo 3-14 London 2-13 Disaster for London in extra time at stroke of half time,

3-15 to 2-16 a lucky win for Sligo. London had a penalty saved and another late goal chance was missed.

FermGael

Good win for Fermanagh.
Was a serious battle .
Fermanagh made use of the extra man after the Longford black in the second half to get themselves back into the game and then ahead.
Longford came back strong and they probably should have been level.
Don't know which of their players went for the goal when a point would have levelled it.
Fermanagh went up the pitch , kept the ball for about 2 minutes and then worked a very good goal and that was the game won.
Nice to see Ultan Kelm back.
A serious addition and the young players that Donnelly has blooded in the league are really beginning to find their feet.
Wanted.  Forwards to take frees.
Not fussy.  Any sort of ability will be considered

Solid display today from Cavan, inspired by a sublime performance from Ray Galligan who scored 7 long range frees and saved two penalties. Very poor turnout from Down supporters, doubt there was 100. That was sad to see from a GAA county I've a lot of respect for. As cavan man we know the feeling of a top club turning against their own county, happened for years with us too. I say tell Branigan and chums to fcuk off and focus on your underage and the lads who want to wear the famous Jersey.

Cavan motoring well but still have another gear or two.

Finally, what a joke Antrim are. Talked up all year and then bet out the gate by Leitrim. Too many shite talkers up there seems to me.

restorepride

Some posters would be quite knowledgeable about talking shite.

Quote from: restorepride on May 28, 2022, 11:01:56 PM
Some posters would be quite knowledgeable about talking shite.

Indeed, shite talk about Corrigan Park, shite talk about beating cavan and beating us up some alleyway over on Antrim thread. Now its all the managers fault i see - more shite talk. Real talk is done on the pitch. Fair play to Leitrim, always give everything against all the odds. Antrims best chance is the GAA do a Dublin and do a bit of financial doping.

Wad listening to Longford v Fermanagh game on S'side. Was quite exciting.
Saw the Leitrim v Antrim game on ******.
Antrim v poor, Leitrim well worth the win but let it get too close in the last quarter.
Ros Andy very excited afterwards especially about kids coming on the pitch to meet the players etc.
Sligo lucky to get extra time but if they could shoot straight would have had it wrapped up at half time.
Good win by Cavan who already look like the first winners of the trophy.

full moon

Quote from: Itchy on May 28, 2022, 10:50:03 PM
Solid display today from Cavan, inspired by a sublime performance from Ray Galligan who scored 7 long range frees and saved two penalties. Very poor turnout from Down supporters, doubt there was 100. That was sad to see from a GAA county I've a lot of respect for. As cavan man we know the feeling of a top club turning against their own county, happened for years with us too. I say tell Branigan and chums to fcuk off and focus on your underage and the lads who want to wear the famous Jersey.

Cavan motoring well but still have another gear or two.

Finally, what a joke Antrim are. Talked up all year and then bet out the gate by Leitrim. Too many shite talkers up there seems to me.

I'm not surprised at the poor turnout by Down. I'd say there was a poor turnout by all travelling fans in this competition so far. Which defeats the purpose of regionalisation North and South.

full moon

I thought the Tailteann Cup was to prevent hammerings in the All Ireland. Yet the two biggest ones so far are in the provincial finals, and Meath previously in semi final.

Every team gets to play in their Provincial which you might have noticed are not part of the Tailteann Cup ;).