An Fear Rua - Gone!!!!!

Started by Dinny Breen, September 11, 2012, 12:23:41 PM

Dag Dog

Quote from: deiseach on September 18, 2012, 11:41:05 AM
Quote from: Dag Dog on September 18, 2012, 11:35:38 AM
Ok, sorry. I am newer to the scene and wouldn't know the history behind these forums.
I did get banned by him for no good reason.
It must have been because I had a low net worth!

Hmm. And who were you on AFR? I don't recall any 'Dag Dog' but I do recall plenty of Home and Away trolls who never seemed to get canned
I used to post as my first name, but then I was clocked in real life by a few people, so I switched to charlie for a while.
I actually haven't watched Home and Away in over 20 years. I was trying to come up with the username on the spot and was short on inspiration.
I don't remember any H&A trolls on AFR as I never opened the topic on it.
I do remember plenty of Unionists and South American socialists.

Quote from: turk on September 17, 2012, 05:27:57 PM
I remember being in a pub in Miltown Malbay in July 2000 and there were two lads who had printed off about 50 pages off Clarehurlers.com. One would read out a few lines and the two of them would fall about the pub laughing - some of it was good stuff!

These days people would just show the other lad on the phone.
What was the admin's name - Matt wasn't it?
Matt Purcell was the admin. I remember he was more recently the family spokesman for Ger Loughnane at the time he was mistakenly reported dead.
There was even a Ger Loughnane question and answers forum on the original Clarehurlers.
This was at the height of the Clare-Tipp rivalry, so you can imagine that it wasn't always very civil.

Quote from: Dag Dog on September 18, 2012, 12:13:54 PM
Quote from: deiseach on September 18, 2012, 11:41:05 AM
Quote from: Dag Dog on September 18, 2012, 11:35:38 AM
Ok, sorry. I am newer to the scene and wouldn't know the history behind these forums.
I did get banned by him for no good reason.
It must have been because I had a low net worth!

Hmm. And who were you on AFR? I don't recall any 'Dag Dog' but I do recall plenty of Home and Away trolls who never seemed to get canned
I used to post as my first name, but then I was clocked in real life by a few people, so I switched to charlie for a while.
I actually haven't watched Home and Away in over 20 years. I was trying to come up with the username on the spot and was short on inspiration.
I don't remember any H&A trolls on AFR as I never opened the topic on it.
I do remember plenty of Unionists and South American socialists.

Evo Morales and Hugo chavez were one and the same individual.

Ditto the knob with the loyalist/unionist monikers.

Quote from: johnneycool on September 18, 2012, 01:59:07 PM

And Father Fernando Lugo

Quote from: deiseach on September 18, 2012, 02:27:27 PM

And Father Fernando Lugo

Don't remember him now.

There was some very good hurling debates on there as well as the usual shite about Cork strikers, Limerick managers and what not.

The likes of TAN97 was good, always liked his post match analysis.

Premier Emperor

David Trimble!

Quote from: Premier Emperor on September 18, 2012, 04:07:22 PM

David Trimble!

No he was a hoor from Tipp  ;D

Quote from: johnneycool on September 18, 2012, 04:15:57 PM
No he was a hoor from Tipp  ;D

That's a tautology if ever there was one

LegalAlien

So is this where we are ending up? Another site to waste my time away on!

Jaysus, is this first Cat to post here? Welcome aboard legalalien.

Does anyone know how the archive forums on AFR can be viewed?  There are a few threads there that I would hate to see lost forever to the recycle bin!

joe bloggs

Quote from: LegalAlien on September 18, 2012, 05:22:25 PM
So is this where we are ending up? Another site to waste my time away on!

Ya lets hope a few more stumble in to break some ash around here

Absent

Yeah,I was a user on An Fear Rua for 4 or 5 years and really enjoyed it.There were some great posters on there who gave great hurling reports and insights on the game and also a few wums.The moderator had a tough time with some posters who seemed to have no sense of balance and seemed to delight in personal insults which I'm glad to see will not be tolerated on this site either.
Are Carryharry or Blanco on here,two great Tipp posters,well balanced and sound out.

An Fear Rua is a loss but hopefully we can make our home here now.

Jonah

Quote from: Absent on September 19, 2012, 03:00:14 PM
Yeah,I was a user on An Fear Rua for 4 or 5 years and really enjoyed it.There were some great posters on there who gave great hurling reports and insights on the game and also a few wums.The moderator had a tough time with some posters who seemed to have no sense of balance and seemed to delight in personal insults which I'm glad to see will not be tolerated on this site either.
Are Carryharry or Blanco on here,two great Tipp posters,well balanced and sound out.

An Fear Rua is a loss but hopefully we can make our home here now.

I'd like to see more hurling talk on here,it's the only thing missing really.

The hurling section has had a bit more life recently, but yes, the more the merrier.