Started by trileacman, January 14, 2022, 02:03:02 PM

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: J70 on January 18, 2022, 12:26:14 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 18, 2022, 11:33:42 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 18, 2022, 11:28:20 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on January 18, 2022, 11:12:02 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 18, 2022, 11:00:31 AM
If you are feted as top dog in any school sport it is likely to instil confidence which can easily become cockiness, but it needs something extra for that to spill over into sexual assault. I wouldn't lay that at the door of a school or a sport.

I get that, but they all have a part to play in defining a culture of what is acceptable and what isn't but IMO home life is the biggest influence on these types of behaviours..
We've all been in changing rooms or nights out where certain things are laughed and joked about in relation to some sexual conquest or other when we really need to grow a set ourselves and call out the bullshit around us rather than play along with it, normalising it.
Would go along with all of that. If parents, schools, teams and mates make it clear what is acceptable then you'd hope it gets the message home.

Any of us who have been in that changing room or on a team night out have either passively or actively been involved in inappropriate behaviour at some stage and are all 'guilty' to a point. I had this conversation last night with my partner and basically confirmed this to her.  It wasn't called out enough then though if it went too far it was.

Yep, most of us have played some part, whether actively or by staying quiet.

Those of us who are old enough would also be the same when it came to casual homophobia and other forms of bigotry.

Hopefully the upcoming generations are more enlightened and aware and we who were part of this culture in the past are hopefully teaching our kids that its not acceptable.

I have seen that break lads, who ended up walking away, good players gone at 16

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 18, 2022, 12:35:17 PM
Quote from: full moon on January 18, 2022, 12:29:05 PM
Main suspect isn't even Irish it's a Roma gypsy from Slovakia, so what this has to do with Catholic schools, dressing room banter, catcalling, men's golf clubs, WhatsApp groups, education or even Irish men writ large is beyond me.

Just more feminist man hating rubbish from the usual suspects. I doubt said suspect even went to school and isn't even here that long.

It's a terrible tragedy but just been hijacked by the usual interest groups, RTE and other attention seekers like Keith Walsh. They couldn't even give the family and loved ones a couple days privacy which they requested.

You do realise that the murder is a very very small part of what the problem is?  It's is the worst case scenario but male violence and inappropriate behaviour towards women is widespread and endemic. This culture needs to change. The fact that you have men trying to hijack vigils for a murdered woman by exposing them self and trying to masturbate sums the issue up. If you can't see that then you are part of the problem

I read about that on Twitter. Hopefully they can trace rhe IP address. Social media is a complete cesspit! Especially Twitter. I did notice one of the main women giving off on Twitter was a woman who had an only fans account. Is she not part of the overall problem as well?

full moon

Main suspect isn't even Irish it's a Roma gypsy from Slovakia, so what this has to do with Catholic schools, dressing room banter, catcalling, men's golf clubs, WhatsApp groups, education or even Irish men writ large is beyond me.

Just more feminist man hating rubbish from the usual suspects. I doubt said suspect even went to school and isn't even here that long.

It's a terrible tragedy but just been hijacked by the usual interest groups, RTE and other attention seekers like Keith Walsh. They couldn't even give the family and loved ones a couple days privacy which they requested.

You do realise that the murder is a very very small part of what the problem is?  It's is the worst case scenario but male violence and inappropriate behaviour towards women is widespread and endemic. This culture needs to change. The fact that you have men trying to hijack vigils for a murdered woman by exposing them self and trying to masturbate sums the issue up. If you can't see that then you are part of the problem

You are referencing some other incident at the, not sure what your point is or what that is to do with me, just more hysterical rubbish.

Violence towards women is not endemic, statistically this is one of the safest countries in the world and history to be a woman or a man. And then there is much more violence against men.

In fairness a Crossmaglen man like yourself would know all about violence and crime, given ye boys dish enough of it out. Catch yourself on.

Quote from: full moon on January 18, 2022, 12:46:28 PM

You are referencing some other incident at the, not sure what your point is or what that is to do with me, just more hysterical rubbish.

Violence towards women is not endemic, statistically this is one of the safest countries in the world and history to be a woman or a man. And then there is much more violence against men.

In fairness a Crossmaglen man like yourself would know all about violence and crime, given ye boys dish enough of it out. Catch yourself on.

And there you go.....I'll tell you what you keep believing there's no problem.

As for the pathetic dig about who I am and where I'm from,  that's all it is, pathetic. Easy to be a big man when no one knows you're name. At least I've no problem about who I am and where I'm from. Pathetic to play the man, cowardly in fact. Are you a coward?  Do you beat up women too and that's why you want to make out there's no problem?

We are in full swing now!!

Went to an all boys school, so I'm not sure how it would affect how I spoke to girls or respected them less, my daughters went to a mixed school and I can't see any difference other than they are more concerned about how they look because there are boys there, pressures they didn't need.

Kids nowadays are so different to when I grew up, they find it very difficult to interact with ones outside of their friends group, I seen this in y previous job when taking a young lad out to a new employer, my god it was difficult to get him to lift his head, whereas is class the shit wouldnt shut up!

I remember one day a bunch of girls from local girls secondary school appeared at the window of our woodworking class, lined up and lifted their skirts! Hallions! Needless to say we didnt follow that up ourselves

Dag Dog

Quote from: J70 on January 18, 2022, 12:37:30 PM

Ah, he's a foreigner, so everything is all right in the world then.

Tell your daughter/wife to go on out for that walk or run and not to worry herself about taking all those precautions that your son/yourself doesn't even have to consider.

Let's just pretend that in Ireland we "talk to our boys" as the virtue signallers suggest and this eliminates all murders of females, sexual assaults, domestic violence, misogyny, wolf whistling, cat calling etc. by Irish men.
Unless practically every other country in the world does the same and has the some results, while there are open borders, there will still be a risk to women.

The same twits who are shouting "all men" are part of the problem are the same ones who shout "not all muslims" when there is a terror attack.

Full moon sounds like a real catch, imagine this weapon taking your daughter or sister out!

Quote from: Dag Dog on January 18, 2022, 01:02:09 PM
Quote from: J70 on January 18, 2022, 12:37:30 PM

Ah, he's a foreigner, so everything is all right in the world then.

Tell your daughter/wife to go on out for that walk or run and not to worry herself about taking all those precautions that your son/yourself doesn't even have to consider.

Let's just pretend that in Ireland we "talk to our boys" as the virtue signallers suggest and this eliminates all murders of females, sexual assaults, domestic violence, misogyny, wolf whistling, cat calling etc. by Irish men.
Unless practically every other country in the world does the same and has the some results, while there are open borders, there will still be a risk to women.

The same twits who are shouting "all men" are part of the problem are the same ones who shout "not all muslims" when there is a terror attack.

"Virtue signallers"?

Dear god.

So what are you saying? We should just let the lads at it, because if its not them, some medieval Muslim-type is going to victimize our women anyway?

Quote from: JimStynes on January 18, 2022, 12:40:17 PM

I read about that on Twitter. Hopefully they can trace rhe IP address. Social media is a complete cesspit! Especially Twitter. I did notice one of the main women giving off on Twitter was a woman who had an only fans account. Is she not part of the overall problem as well?

Not sure what only fans is as it's blocked by my company internet browsing settings but I believe it's safe to assume it's not a betting site and seems to be a site for sharing videos and pictures behind a paywall, probably NSFW correct?

I'm not sure of your logic but if this girl decides to post videos or pictures of herself and get a few bob from whoever, then she's enticing violence towards women or she herself is objectifying women as sex objects so can't complain if we men sexually objectify them, is that it?

I know you're not suggesting that a girl "is asking for it" if they wear short skirts as you always come across as having more wit about you.

full moon

Quote from: general_lee on January 18, 2022, 01:03:36 PM
Full moon sounds like a real catch, imagine this weapon taking your daughter or sister out!

Aye, ye lads would be more interested taking an ATM out than a woman! 

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 18, 2022, 01:00:20 PM

Went to an all boys school, so I'm not sure how it would affect how I spoke to girls or respected them less, my daughters went to a mixed school and I can't see any difference other than they are more concerned about how they look because there are boys there, pressures they didn't need.

Kids nowadays are so different to when I grew up, they find it very difficult to interact with ones outside of their friends group, I seen this in y previous job when taking a young lad out to a new employer, my god it was difficult to get him to lift his head, whereas is class the shit wouldnt shut up!

I remember one day a bunch of girls from local girls secondary school appeared at the window of our woodworking class, lined up and lifted their skirts! Hallions! Needless to say we didnt follow that up ourselves

Exact same at all girl schools-teenage girls can be a toxic and so nasty , the subtle bullying that insidiously wrecks people, a lot of it is around how each other look and behave-much worse than boys in many cases

Quote from: johnnycool on January 18, 2022, 01:20:05 PM

Not sure what only fans is as it's blocked by my company internet browsing settings but I believe it's safe to assume it's not a betting site and seems to be a site for sharing videos and pictures behind a paywall, probably NSFW correct?

I'm not sure of your logic but if this girl decides to post videos or pictures of herself and get a few bob from whoever, then she's enticing violence towards women or she herself is objectifying women as sex objects so can't complain if we men sexually objectify them, is that it?

I know you're not suggesting that a girl "is asking for it" if they wear short skirts as you always come across as having more wit about you.

Onlyfans is basically porn therefore it is part of the problem.  But maybe its all about empowering strong, independent women with regards to their bodies.

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 18, 2022, 01:23:54 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 18, 2022, 01:00:20 PM

Exact same at all girl schools-teenage girls can be a toxic and so nasty , the subtle bullying that insidiously wrecks people, a lot of it is around how each other look and behave-much worse than boys in many cases

Bullies are starting to be called out more now, but the level of bullying because of social media is far greater than the standard that would have been in my day. Yes in my experience of having daughters I've listened to their stories of 'casual' bullying at school and its mainly the girls!

My girls have been fine, due to sports and the circles they ran around with.

I'd one lad that went to my primary and secondary school and he was bullied from day one, the amount of times I'd stepped in to help was weekly, could have been daily.

I'm just not sold on the single sex schools being a big reason for this tbh, I've 4 other brothers and plenty cousins all going to the same school with no issues around being sex creeps.  America/UK wouldnt have as many same sex schools percentage wise, so what's their reasons

Quote from: nrico2006 on January 18, 2022, 01:30:59 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on January 18, 2022, 01:20:05 PM

Onlyfans is basically porn therefore it is part of the problem.  But maybe its all about empowering strong, independent women with regards to their bodies.

I think this is a different argument and maybe not one for now. Whether in the porn industry or not, no one is asking to be abused. That should be very clear.
However having someone in this industry castrating men for objectifying women, in my eyes is on very shaky ground.
That said, she is absolutely within her right to highlight the issue of violence against woman, consent etc that are a huge part of this wider issue.

Quote from: full moon on January 18, 2022, 01:23:52 PM
Quote from: general_lee on January 18, 2022, 01:03:36 PM

Aye, ye lads would be more interested taking an ATM out than a woman!
I'd say there are incels that are bigger womanisers than you