Started by trileacman, January 14, 2022, 02:03:02 PM

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: Orior on January 17, 2022, 09:42:28 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 17, 2022, 07:18:19 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on January 17, 2022, 03:45:21 PM
Has Allison Morris weighed in yet? She reckons the weather is misogynistic

Can't stand her. Hate the world.

Good rest that poor girl and her family.

Hey, easy on. She was physically abused by her ex-husband.

I think she is doing a grand job standing up for catholics in the protestant Belfast Telegraph.

Miserable dose of a woman, not a professional at all, we all have been abused in some way sometime in our lives but her hatred of men is blinding her to everything else

tiempo

Quote from: JimStynes on January 17, 2022, 10:55:16 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 17, 2022, 10:40:45 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 17, 2022, 10:03:31 AM
There is disturbing evidence of polarisation ie men vs women . I think some values need to be reassessed. Women seem to be looking for that. It will take time.

Men v women
Conservatives v liberals
Woke v traditionalists

It's getting worse. Most people fall in the middle of issues but they are being drowned out by extremists on both sides screaming at each other. I blame social media.

That's a good way of putting it! Social media is a lot to blame. Everything is a hashtag.

Including sadly a lot of "outpourings" of this case
#shewasgoingforarun
Pay your respects privately or collectively but put the fecking phone away otherwise it reeks of crass "like and share" opportunism. Oh look I'm part of this weeks movement, and we're going viral...

Saffrongael

Quote from: tiempo on January 18, 2022, 12:11:32 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on January 17, 2022, 10:55:16 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 17, 2022, 10:40:45 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 17, 2022, 10:03:31 AM
There is disturbing evidence of polarisation ie men vs women . I think some values need to be reassessed. Women seem to be looking for that. It will take time.

Men v women
Conservatives v liberals
Woke v traditionalists

It's getting worse. Most people fall in the middle of issues but they are being drowned out by extremists on both sides screaming at each other. I blame social media.

That's a good way of putting it! Social media is a lot to blame. Everything is a hashtag.

Including sadly a lot of "outpourings" of this case
#shewasgoingforarun
Pay your respects privately or collectively but put the fecking phone away otherwise it reeks of crass "like and share" opportunism. Oh look I'm part of this weeks movement, and we're going viral...

Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 17, 2022, 11:05:08 PM

I think she is doing a grand job standing up for catholics in the protestant Belfast Telegraph.

Miserable dose of a woman, not a professional at all, we all have been abused in some way sometime in our lives but her hatred of men is blinding her to everything else

If Allison Morris is the issue then we are really up shít creek. I've seen her article and it's based on indisputable facts around abuse levelled towards women.

I think we should deal with that before worrying about the miniscule amounts of cry wolf events in comparison to the real events.

And she's right that education on this should be addressed at school as it can't be left to the parents in a lot of instances...

Think about the top shaggers and have a look at the likes of Jeff Anderson and then come back to what Allison Morris is talking about.

Quote from: johnnycool on January 18, 2022, 08:13:01 AM

If Allison Morris is the issue then we are really up shít creek. I've seen her article and it's based on indisputable facts around abuse levelled towards women.

I think we should deal with that before worrying about the miniscule amounts of cry wolf events in comparison to the real events.

And she's right that education on this should be addressed at school as it can't be left to the parents in a lot of instances...

Think about the top shaggers and have a look at the likes of Jeff Anderson and then come back to what Allison Morris is talking about.
Violence against women is a structural problem that needs a coherent  Govt response. Nothing to do with Allison Morris.

Quote from: seafoid on January 18, 2022, 08:20:29 AM

Violence against women is a structural problem that needs a coherent  Govt response. Nothing to do with Allison Morris.

Surely a lot of this comes back to community policing. I cannot remember the last time I saw a guard on the street walking in my local town or the nearby town of 10k where we all go to socialise etc. A few guards spinning around in cars is all you ever see.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/ashling-murphy-s-sister-pays-tribute-to-young-teacher-ahead-of-funeral-today-1.4779394

"Our family kindly asks that any musicians attending please bring their instrument and play music at lower town cemetery after Mass should you wish."

Quote from: Itchy on January 18, 2022, 08:23:58 AM

Surely a lot of this comes back to community policing. I cannot remember the last time I saw a guard on the street walking in my local town or the nearby town of 10k where we all go to socialise etc. A few guards spinning around in cars is all you ever see.
It would probably mean a few changes
https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/older-women-on-gender-based-violence-it-s-too-much-to-expect-a-sudden-watershed-moment-1.4778937
She would like to see confidence-building "and teaching women to be aware of our surroundings" in schools, while boys need to be taught to respect women and to intervene.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/an-attack-on-all-women-north-s-politicians-hold-vigil-for-ashling-murphy-1.4778873

DUP First Minister Paul Givan, who was joined by DUP party leader Jeffrey Donaldson at the vigil, said people in Northern Ireland and the Republic had come together as one community to share in grief over the murder of Ms Murphy.

"All of us have come together in the past number of days to show our revulsion for what has happened to Ashling Murphy and to stand in support of Ashling and her family," he said.

I'm no expert but I'd say misogyny is a learned trait from home, on the lesser, menial end of the scale, the girls were required to do all the house work when the boys were lying up on their arses to the higher end of the scale where the mother took a bit of a thump from the father and some more and evidently this would have a lasting effect on all children in normalising this and taking it into their own adult relationships.

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

She isnt the problem. Just an absolute dose.

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: johnnycool on January 18, 2022, 09:28:30 AM

I'm no expert but I'd say misogyny is a learned trait from home, on the lesser, menial end of the scale, the girls were required to do all the house work when the boys were lying up on their arses to the higher end of the scale where the mother took a bit of a thump from the father and some more and evidently this would have a lasting effect on all children in normalising this and taking it into their own adult relationships.

Same sex school a big issue, wouldnt have any of my wains at one

Here are some ideas

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/una-mullally-we-either-want-to-use-every-tool-we-have-to-address-violence-against-women-or-we-don-t-1.4777975
There have been persistent calls for an updated Sexual Abuse and Violence in Ireland (SAVI) report following its initial publication in 2002.
Policy decisions must be informed by proper research and data. Various politicians have split hairs over this. Leo Varadkar has said that funding a new SAVI report was dropped in favour of "providing free legal aid for people who are victims of domestic violence". This is nonsensical. How on earth did addressing violence against women come down to a pick-and-choose approach? Who decided that the women of Ireland could either have legal aid or research?
Four departments
This false framing was repeated every time a woman politician – Ruth Coppinger, Róisín Shortall, Mary Lou McDonald, Catherine Connolly among others – called for an updated SAVI report.
The cost was €1 million, something so astronomical that when Charlie Flanagan was minister for justice he said that the funding would have to be spread across four departments.
A recent Garda investigation found that in 2019 and 2020 between 3,000 and 4,000 "domestic violence" 999 calls were cancelled by the Garda. "Cancelled" calls can range from 999 calls receiving no response at all, to gardaí calling to the home where the attack was taking place and subsequently botching the recording process of the incident and classifying the call as "cancelled".
In some cases gardaí did not undertake correct procedures when they did respond to calls, such as not following up in subsequent days. This is a scandal.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/funding-policies-and-education-suggestions-for-change-after-ashling-murphy-killing-1.4777772

Dr Clíona Saidlear, executive director of the Rape Crisis Network Ireland, says Ireland was "below par" when it came to the funding and provision of sexual violence supports and services.
Properly addressing gender-based violence would be a "massive job of social engineering and societal change," requiring a well-resourced network of frontline services, Dr Saidlear says.
Introduce sexual harassment policy in schools
Dr Saidlear also believes the Department of Education should draw up a national policy to address sexual harassment in secondary schools, with the aim of introducing a "zero tolerance" culture.
This plan, similar to recent efforts across third-level education, would set out a standard approach for how complaints of sexual harassment were handled.
At present girls were effectively taught to "tolerate sexual violence and harassment, and we are teaching boys that they can get away with it," she says.
Fully implement new gender-based violence strategy
Orla O'Connor, director of the National Women's Council of Ireland, says there has to be "very clear responsibilities" for the implementation of the Government's third national strategy on sexual and gender-based violence, due to be released in coming weeks.
"That means one Government department and one Minister. We would like to see it assigned to the Department of Justice with a very clear remit, because at the moment there is no clear line of responsibility, it's split in too many different places and things fall through the cracks," she says.
Set up task force to address male violence

The Government should set up a cross-departmental "high level task force" to lead reforms to tackle male violence against women, feminist campaigner Ailbhe Smyth believes.
"We need to ensure there is adequate funding and for different departments that need to be involved to coordinate. This is a social issue, a health issue and an education issue," she says.
Rather than a dedicated new department, a special unit within the Department of the Taoiseach to drive change "might fit the bill," she says.
"If nothing else this year, we should fulfil our commitment to the Istanbul convention," which set standards to combat domestic violence, Ms Smyth says.
Include consent in the curriculum
The current "void" of proper education around sex and consent in secondary school needs to be addressed, with the Relationships and Sexuality Education (RSE) curriculum brought into "the 21st century", according to Elaine Healy Byrnes, an NUI Galway academic who has written a PhD on consent.
Healy Byrnes says long-awaited RSE reform should include requirements to teach pupils about consent and respect in relationships, with proper support for teachers to do so.

More mixed secondary schools
The majority of secondary schools should be mixed, rather than single-sex, according to Colm O'Connor, principal of Cork Educate Together secondary school.
"I've worked in single-sex and co-ed schools for a decade each, and there is no comparison in terms of gender relations," Mr O'Connor says. "In co-ed schools empathy is easier to build as male, female and trans students learn about each other's lives and challenges together," he says.
Run a public information campaign tackling misogyny
A sustained public information campaign targeting sexism and misogyny should be rolled out, similar to successful advertising campaigns aimed at drink driving, Labour TD Ivana Bacik says.

Were there any witnesses to the attack?

Quote from: nrico2006 on January 18, 2022, 09:42:56 AM
Were there any witnesses to the attack?

Yes, two women who were walking on opposite side of the canal.