Started by SidelineKick, December 05, 2008, 11:52:57 AM

Quote from: An Fear Rua on December 05, 2008, 03:07:55 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on December 05, 2008, 02:40:27 PM
I don't think you'll hear anywhere else in the world:

"I have a cold on me"

isnt that derived from Irish "Orm"?

Ta ocras orm translates literally as " I have hunger upon/on me"?

correcto
I'm over in America myself and my woman laughs all the time when I start a sentence in "some" and end it in "hi"

e.g  "some day hi"
"some feed hi"

we are definitely a rare bunch

Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on December 05, 2008, 02:54:37 PM
It was only when I went to Australia that I fully appreciated how Irish some phrases are. For instance I'd say grand in the office or sound job and they'd be looking at me like I'd ten heads. Hoor is another one that got me in trouble!

On the other side the Aussie slang for shag is root. One of the boys got in fierce trouble when he was asked by a shop assistant if he needed a hand and he replied 'no, I'm just having a root around'!

A Mayo phrase, or it could even be specific to Castlebar, is MA-LOW-GIN which is something that is very bad, to the point of disgusting like 'Jaysus I got a malowgin pint of Guinness somewhere last night.

Very good R&GS
Or if its very bad it would be cat malowgin

My mother used to treaten to mollafooster me when i was bold

the green man

Quote from: ludermor on December 05, 2008, 03:18:10 PM
Or if its very bad it would be cat malowgin

Theres a band called that, so there is.

My da used to call me an "AMADAN" when I did something stupid.
You were a "FUTAR" if you dropped or smashed something.
There was no jumpers in our house just "GANZIS".
If you were left handed you were a "CIOTAR PAW" and if left footed a "CIOTOG".

Amazing how much Irish you use without actually realising it.

This is a wile good book, so it is, hi:

How the Irish Invented Slang

And one other thing that is strictly Hiberno-English, is the use of the present and past habitual tenses (from the Irish, where there's no English language equivalent), effected through the use of the verbs to do and be, i.e., I do be going there often, or I did used to be...

More Lurgan ones:

Windies - windows
Cat Malojian - there is indeed a band called this. (they're from Lurgan too)
Flyers - flowers
feek the gowl - footer the minge
narr - now
arr - hour
sqoips (as in a kick in the sqopis) - testicles
skoi - hello
mai-ee - mother
dai-ee - daddy

Mooncat- someone who is a lilttle nuts

Zuke- as in you're a zuke!! (your not a good boy)

Slack- as in thats slack (thats not very good)

Seeous?- as in are you seeous? (are you being serious?)

pain- as in she's pure pain (shes a fine looking lady)

rote aff- a little drunk

t- as in any t last nite? (any trouble last nite)- meaning did you get up to anything strange last night?

Hoover- the house

bake- make

shot of ya- as in shot of your bake (look at the state of your mouth)

Middlin - As in 'How are you feeling?' - 'I am middlin, not too bad'

James or possibly even the late Owen Kelly used to always do a 'Norn iron' word of the week in the Irish News, always good laugh.

Kek - thats shite.

Hack - look at the hack of thon

Thon - Thon bird has a great sheough (Shuck)

Shuck - jaysis she has a fine shuck

Our boy or our blade.
Says he to me was that you, says i who, says he you..........
Malignant.....especially around parts of Down
Caniptions ..as in having
Wrote aff
Affronted
Creamin' the cacks

Mack the finger

Pishmire is a favourite.

As in 'Yer man's like a pishmire this morning, so he is.'

SidelineKick

Hallion - "Look at Our Nail Loney, the hallion"
"If you want to box, say you want to box and we'll box"

Santino

'Futer'
A few english guys i was hangin round with Down Under were asking if i got any action the previous night and i replied with 'Only a bit of futering' and futerin took off like wildfire among everyone on the trip.
well not literally....