Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 12, 2007, 09:30:15 PM

Poll
Question: Should I pay the €80 fixed penalty
Option 1: Yes votes: 51
Option 2: No votes: 31
Title: SPEEDING POLL SHOULD I PAY THE FINE
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 12, 2007, 09:30:15 PM
As many of you know I was done for speeding just close to the outskirts of Castlefin in Co Donegal. The fixed penalty notice arrived today on my birthday. I was going to pay it without question but thanks to the helpful comments of Tankie and GNevin I'm now not so sure as to whether I should pay or not. The results of this poll will determine the outcome
Title: Re: SPEEDING
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 12, 2007, 09:32:16 PM
I wouldn't bother. I never pay any of them things, you'll be grand. 
Title: Re: SPEEDING
Post by: Gnevin on November 12, 2007, 09:32:59 PM
Glad too know your so  easily swayed , the next time the DUP call around don't answer the door you might end up voting for bring back the RUC
Title: Re: SPEEDING POLL SHOULD I PAY THE FINE
Post by: Sky Blue on November 12, 2007, 09:37:53 PM
Pay no heed to them Mr Quinn. They're just WUM. Pay the fecking thing and don't skick the children in the caravan when yo're travelling so fast in future. Just for safety like. Things can fall out of cupboards and all over 50 KPH.
Post by: J70 on November 12, 2007, 09:42:56 PM
Yes, I'm sick of bloody northerners on the Donegal roads, either crawling along looking at the views, speeding like lunatics or taking up all of the parking spaces in Donegal Town! >:(
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 12, 2007, 09:46:59 PM
To be honest I'd rather french kiss a skunk than visit your Godforsaken County but unfortunately my friend has bought a house up there and I'm dragged up every so often more out of a sense of duty than anything else. I've yet to see the top of Mt Errigal for cloud and rain
Post by: tyrone exile on November 12, 2007, 09:49:31 PM
Quote from: J70 on November 12, 2007, 09:42:56 PM
Yes, I'm sick of bloody northerners on the Donegal roads, either crawling along looking at the views, speeding like lunatics or taking up all of the parking spaces in Donegal Town! >:(

is that man serious? southerners are the worst drivers ever! bloody lunatics!
Post by: Silky on November 12, 2007, 09:49:48 PM
You sound like a solid citizen Mighty Quinn. Pay the fine.

You'll have a quilty consence if you don't. I was in County Down a while back - what part of that county are you from?
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 12, 2007, 09:51:28 PM
I'm not from County Down
Post by: stew on November 12, 2007, 09:54:08 PM
Quote from: tyrone exile on November 12, 2007, 09:49:31 PM

is that man serious? southerners are the worst drivers ever! bloody lunatics!

Thats because half of them never bothered to learn to drive properly, they didnt have to do a test the south was backed up with applicants and decided to hand licenses out like they were candy.
Post by: Tankie on November 12, 2007, 09:54:16 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 12, 2007, 09:30:15 PM
As many of you know I was done for speeding just close to the outskirts of Castlefin in Co Donegal. The fixed penalty notice arrived today on my birthday. I was going to pay it without question but thanks to the helpful comments of Tankie and GNevin I'm now not so sure as to whether I should pay or not. The results of this poll will determine the outcome

Great to see the partitionist attitude is alive and well among the Jackeens Nordies. Will you be producing your British passport the next time a Garda (Irish Police) stop you for speeding and ask you for id?

As i said before it must be great to be able to choose when to be Irish ::)
Post by: ziggysego on November 12, 2007, 09:55:29 PM

You can't anymore north than Donegal J70 ;)
Post by: Silky on November 12, 2007, 09:57:49 PM
Well I was in Portadown for a NHL game. Great set up and lovely people. Going over in the boat made it that bit different. its alway a bit surprising to find real hurling folk in strange places like that. They know there stuff up there make no mistake about it.
I'll maybe go back again if youse are in Div 1 again.
Post by: J70 on November 12, 2007, 10:09:55 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 12, 2007, 09:55:29 PM

You can't anymore north than Donegal J70 ;)

Being a southerner is more a state of mind than a latitudinal issue. :P

And sure where would we in Donegal be without all the northerners to fleece every summer. ;)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 12, 2007, 11:53:19 PM
Mighty Quinn

Pay the f**king fine and buy me that pint you owe me.

And - oh - Happy Birthday. I hope the 'Rules of the Road - Dine Site' edition, bought by Mrs Mighty Quinn, comes into good use.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 12, 2007, 11:55:59 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 12, 2007, 11:53:19 PM
Mighty Quinn

Pay the f**king fine and buy me that pint you owe me.

And - oh - Happy Birthday. I hope the 'Rules of the Road - Dine Site' edition, bought by Mrs Mighty Quinn, comes into good use.

Fact is that had I given Donegal a miss and gone to the Wellington Bar instead none of this would have happened
Post by: dodo on November 13, 2007, 12:16:35 AM
Do the crime, pay the fine.
Post by: Bacon on November 13, 2007, 07:33:18 AM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 12, 2007, 11:55:59 PM

Fact is that had I given Donegal a miss and gone to the Wellington Bar instead none of this would have happened

If you had gone to the Wellington Bar you might have been done for drunken drinking!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 13, 2007, 08:37:08 AM
Jazes Bacon

That's a big leap from speeding which we all may have done in the past to drunk driving.

Post by: Six Inch Nail on November 13, 2007, 10:39:55 AM
I wouldn't bother Mighty, imagine the fun you'll have dodging Pat and Seamus the next you're lovely Donegal :D
Post by: deiseach on November 13, 2007, 10:43:12 AM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 12, 2007, 11:56:44 PM
I think you have your Ports mixed up, you`d be doing well to get a ferry to Portadown.

People often confuse a native of Portadown with a car ferry.
Post by: Tankie on November 13, 2007, 01:40:59 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 12, 2007, 09:54:16 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 12, 2007, 09:30:15 PM

Great to see the partitionist attitude is alive and well among the Jackeens Nordies. Will you be producing your British passport the next time a Garda (Irish Police) stop you for speeding and ask you for id?

As i said before it must be great to be able to choose when to be Irish ::)

Thought as much ::)
Post by: DMarsden on November 13, 2007, 02:20:23 PM

If you're from the north, you won't need to. They won't enforce the fine sir.
Post by: Gnevin on November 13, 2007, 02:23:30 PM
Quote from: DMarsden on November 13, 2007, 02:20:23 PM

But if you from the north should you be respecting and encouraging  cross boarder policy's ?
60% in favour of you paying  Quinn, let me guess next you'll want a 2/3 majority ?
Post by: Hardy on November 13, 2007, 02:30:43 PM
"cross boarder policy's"

See Spellcheck just lets this stuff right on through.

(Who is this disgruntled lodger?).
Post by: Gnevin on November 13, 2007, 03:10:59 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 13, 2007, 02:30:43 PM
"cross boarder policy's"

See Spellcheck just lets this stuff right on through.

(Who is this disgruntled lodger?).
Stupid homophone
Post by: Tankie on November 13, 2007, 03:46:59 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 13, 2007, 02:23:30 PM
Quote from: DMarsden on November 13, 2007, 02:20:23 PM

But if you from the north should you be respecting and encouraging  cross boarder policy's ?
60% in favour of you paying  Quinn, let me guess next you'll want a 2/3 majority ?

Its just typical Irish when it suits them but when its costs them money they are British again ::)
Post by: Lecale2 on November 13, 2007, 05:29:38 PM
Hold out there Mighty Man! Sure you'll have great craic trying to dodge the Garda every time you cross the border.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 13, 2007, 05:45:59 PM
So Tankie and Gnevin, when you join the hoardes of marauding Jackeens in the annual Christmas cross border trip to Newry for the cheap booze, biscuits and selection boxes, do you, upon your return, tot up the amount taxation your Government has been denied as a result of your excursion and send a cheque to Brian Cowan to compensate for this loss of revenue
Post by: Tankie on November 13, 2007, 06:56:16 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 13, 2007, 05:45:59 PM
So Tankie and Gnevin, when you join the hoardes of marauding Jackeens in the annual Christmas cross border trip to Newry for the cheap booze, biscuits and selection boxes, do you, upon your return, tot up the amount taxation your Government has been denied as a result of your excursion and send a cheque to Brian Cowan to compensate for this loss of revenue

Sorry Quinn i do not go to the north for cheap beer or selection boxes, and what the hell has people giving money to the Irish government got to do with you hiding behind your Britishness when it suits you not to pay a fine to the Irish Government?
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 13, 2007, 07:00:49 PM
Great news I'd hate to think you might do anything to deprive the Government of finance. I'm even more delighted to learn that you don't come up Nprth
Post by: Tankie on November 13, 2007, 07:01:11 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 13, 2007, 06:35:57 PM
Mighty Quinn, they are Dubs, they never go beyond the pale. They are probably shoplifters anyway, so their way is cheaper than crossing the border  ;)

Any knee cappings or punishment beating up there to report this week?  ;)
Post by: Tankie on November 13, 2007, 07:03:44 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 13, 2007, 07:00:49 PM
Great news I'd hate to think you might do anything to deprive the Government of finance. I'm even more delighted to learn that you don't come up Nprth

Well we need to keep the finances up to keep the Republic going so we can all be free an equal.

You pay much in tax this month to keep your Royal Family flush with cash?  ;D
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 13, 2007, 07:08:24 PM
How little you know my friend. Speak to some of the business premises owners in Dundalk and probably many other towns and cities across the country who still pay ground rent to the estates of the former absentee landlords all of which are members of the aristocracy.
Post by: Tankie on November 13, 2007, 07:14:46 PM
Look we are getting off the point here. So what your discission - are you gonna pay the fine or should I class you as anoth one of my British friends?
Post by: Lecale2 on November 13, 2007, 08:10:38 PM
Don't pay a red  cent!!
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 13, 2007, 09:26:27 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 13, 2007, 07:14:46 PM
Look we are getting off the point here. So what your discission - are you gonna pay the fine or should I class you as anoth one of my British friends?

That quote will have a big bearing on my final decision
Post by: Tankie on November 13, 2007, 09:42:27 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 13, 2007, 09:26:27 PM

I really don't care if you pay it or not. I just don't want you on here complaining about partition when really it suits you quite well to be British.

Most Nordies I know are total hypocrites, they do nothing but complain about the North and how they were sold out but as soon as they are caught speeding they have no problem saying they are not from the State or if they need medical care they run back to the UK for the free medical care. The list is endless what these guys get upto just to save money but then do nothing but slag the Brits off  ::)

You can't have it both ways lads!
Post by: supersarsfields on November 13, 2007, 09:50:41 PM
we don't have it both ways Tankie. In case you haven't noticed there is a divide. So why would we take all the bad points from being in the north such as being described as british by yourself yet still pay the fine. 

Personally i think you'd be better just paying it but it's crap like this....

Any knee cappings or punishment beating up there to report this week?

would make me wonder why!!
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 13, 2007, 09:55:59 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 13, 2007, 09:42:27 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 13, 2007, 09:26:27 PM

I really don't care if you pay it or not. I just don't want you on here complaining about partition when really it suits you quite well to be British.

Most Nordies I know are total hypocrites, they do nothing but complain about the North and how they were sold out but as soon as they are caught speeding they have no problem saying they are not from the State or if they need medical care they run back to the UK for the free medical care. The list is endless what these guys get upto just to save money but then do nothing but slag the Brits off  ::)

You can't have it both ways lads!
Are you for real?? You can't get a dental appointment in the North because the waiting rooms are full of southerners same too with the maternity units and the border schools.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 13, 2007, 10:05:31 PM
MQ

Come back to the bosom of the other forum where all is sweetness and light and don't be getting wound up by Dubs. It's not good for the blood pressure.

I still think, though, that you should pay the fine, ya tight hoor!
Post by: Tankie on November 13, 2007, 10:07:31 PM
Do these southerners not pay to use these dentists?
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 13, 2007, 10:09:59 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 13, 2007, 10:07:31 PM
They don't pay when using false addresses to send their children to schools, register with GPs, make use of of the NHS. 
Post by: Tankie on November 13, 2007, 10:18:40 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 13, 2007, 10:09:59 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 13, 2007, 10:07:31 PM
They don't pay when using false addresses to send their children to schools, register with GPs, make use of of the NHS. 

I wouldn't know anything about this, is there not follow ups done on these people to check that they are living in the UK? This is getting off the topic btw..
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 13, 2007, 10:22:44 PM
Is it phuck getting off the topic. My measely €80 fades into insignificance compared to this
Post by: Tankie on November 13, 2007, 10:36:14 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 13, 2007, 10:22:44 PM
Is it phuck getting off the topic. My measely €80 fades into insignificance compared to this

Your right, Your Prince Harry won't be able to go on a total bender again this week with the coffers down  ;)

Sure you boys cost the rest of Britain money so maybe you should try fix that first and just pay the Irish tax payer the money you owe.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 13, 2007, 10:55:18 PM
Surely, Tankie, the likes of the MQ coming over the border, bringing in his sterling, paying ROI VAT, in good for the 26 county economy.

I would imagine his 80 euro fine, irregardless of whether he pays it or not, is miniscule compared to the money he has spent Dine Site since he and his caravan went a 'travelling.

If he does buy me that pint he owes me, then that's €2 into the ROI coffers. So -€78 - I'll ensure Tankie we'll get 'our' full €80 back  ;)
Post by: Tankie on November 13, 2007, 10:59:16 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 13, 2007, 10:55:18 PM
Surely, Tankie, the likes of the MQ coming over the border, bringing in his sterling, paying ROI VAT, in good for the 26 county economy.

I would imagine his 80 euro fine, irregardless of whether he pays it or not, is miniscule compared to the money he has spent Dine Site since he and his caravan went a 'travelling.

If he does buy me that pint he owes me, then that's €2 into the ROI coffers. So -€78 - I'll ensure Tankie we'll get 'our' full €80 back  ;)

Better still next year when i head upto Ravenhill to watch Leinster I will tell them I am not paying for my Harp until I gove over €80 worth  ;D
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 13, 2007, 11:11:25 PM
Delighted to hear you go to Ravenhill Tankie the profits from your drinking will also help HRH Prince Harry
Post by: dodo on November 13, 2007, 11:13:37 PM
Go on Tankie...........he has ya !
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 13, 2007, 11:14:59 PM
Here Shamrock Shore, I'm not sure where you get this idea that I owe you drink. Not a word of it. I've never in my life heard of a Longford man who'd actually buy drink for himself never mind for someone else!!
Post by: Tankie on November 14, 2007, 01:10:23 AM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 13, 2007, 11:11:25 PM
Delighted to hear you go to Ravenhill Tankie the profits from your drinking will also help HRH Prince Harry

I do not give my money to price harry, I go to the UK for a social event and spend my money (like i will go to France this week), the tax that is taken from the money i spend is left upto the government in that country to spend it whatever way they want. and if your government feel it is best is to give it to your piss head prince to go on a bender who am i to stop it!
Post by: Jim Slyp on November 14, 2007, 01:26:09 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 14, 2007, 01:10:23 AM

I do not give my money to price harry, I go to the UK for a social event and spend my money (like i will go to France this week), the tax that is taken from the money i spend is left upto the government in that country to spend it whatever way they want. and if your government feel it is best is to give it to your piss head prince to go on a bender who am i to stop it!

Since when did France become part of the UK?

Pay nothing Quinn keep the €80 and do like Prince Harry, go on a bender yourself.
Post by: Tankie on November 14, 2007, 01:59:39 PM
Quote from: Jim Slyp on November 14, 2007, 01:26:09 PM

Pay nothing Quinn keep the €80 and do like Prince Harry, go on a bender yourself.

I never said that France was in the UK, I was using France as an example of how I go to many different country's and it is up to that country to spend the tax they make from me however best they feel. - You guys just prefer to give it to your Royal Family  ;)

Do they not teach you guys how to read in Britain?  ;D
Post by: Gnevin on November 14, 2007, 04:04:51 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 14, 2007, 03:58:28 PM
So Tankie, as an Irishman, you see the 6 counties as a different country.
Before you answer I think you should remember that this is a GAA discussion board.  In case you have forgotten the GAA is "A National organisation which has as its basic aim the strengthening of the National Identity of a 32 County Ireland through the preservation and promotion of Gaelic Games and pastimes".

We should change that but we've had discussion before
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 14, 2007, 04:05:43 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 14, 2007, 01:59:39 PM
Quote from: Jim Slyp on November 14, 2007, 01:26:09 PM

I never said that France was in the UK, I was using France as an example of how I go to many different country's and it is up to that country to spend the tax they make from me however best they feel. - You guys just prefer to give it to your Royal Family  ;)

Do they not teach you guys how to read in Britain?  ;D

That's priceless coming from you, a man who has shown a complete lack of understanding of basic grammar, punctuation and spelling
Post by: Tankie on November 14, 2007, 05:25:02 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 14, 2007, 03:58:28 PM
So Tankie, as an Irishman, you see the 6 counties as a different country.
Before you answer I think you should remember that this is a GAA discussion board.  In case you have forgotten the GAA is "A National organisation which has as its basic aim the strengthening of the National Identity of a 32 County Ireland through the preservation and promotion of Gaelic Games and pastimes".

I am not the one running across the boarder to dodge an Irish fine. I think this thread has pointed out that you boys are quite happy to use the boarder when it suits.
Post by: supersarsfields on November 14, 2007, 05:32:26 PM
And your quite happy to throw it up when it suits!
Post by: Gnevin on November 14, 2007, 05:38:01 PM
So Quinn still a majority in favour of you paying it, When can we expect to see a receipt ?
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 14, 2007, 05:46:51 PM
Regarding the original topic of this thread, I was caught speeding in the South TWICE within a very short period last year and I reside in the Six counties, I honestly am not a boy racer.  Anyway I learned my lesson and adhere very closely to the limits now.  I did not pay the fines however and my reasoning was as follows, on both occasions the Gardai had my licence to take my details etc.  Both summons' arrived at my house, but on the two of them different Garda on two different days managed to mis-spell my surname and also my address despite the fact they were copying direct from my licence.  So although the summons' arrived I never signed for them and will plead (If ever brought to book) that nothing ever arrived at my home.  If they pursue it I would ask 'what address and to whom did you send them?'  Maybe I am taking a chance, but I thought fcuk it if they can't get basic details correct I ain't paying a cent to them.
Post by: Gnevin on November 14, 2007, 05:59:25 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on November 14, 2007, 05:46:51 PM
Regarding the original topic of this thread, I was caught speeding in the South TWICE within a very short period last year and I reside in the Six counties, I honestly am not a boy racer.  Anyway I learned my lesson and adhere very closely to the limits now.  I did not pay the fines however and my reasoning was as follows, on both occasions the Gardai had my licence to take my details etc.  Both summons' arrived at my house, but on the two of them different Garda on two different days managed to mis-spell my surname and also my address despite the fact they were copying direct from my licence.  So although the summons' arrived I never signed for them and will plead (If ever brought to book) that nothing ever arrived at my home.  If they pursue it I would ask 'what address and to whom did you send them?'  Maybe I am taking a chance, but I thought fcuk it if they can't get basic details correct I ain't paying a cent to them.
What a crock of shit
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 14, 2007, 06:04:50 PM
Actually Dougie you've now thrown a new slant on this because the Garda spelt my address incorrectly as well. Is this something they do deliberately to ensure that we 6 county guys get off with speeding fines as they know as we're better drivers or is that they're just plain stupid?
Post by: Gnevin on November 14, 2007, 06:07:07 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 14, 2007, 06:04:50 PM
Actually Dougie you've now thrown a new slant on this because the Garda spelt my address incorrectly as well. Is this something they do deliberately to ensure that we 6 county guys get off with speeding fines as they know as we're better drivers or is that they're just plain stupid?
May their just not use to reading British driver's licences
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 14, 2007, 06:10:32 PM
Nah, from reading the postings of you and Tankie I think its the latter
Post by: Puckoon on November 14, 2007, 06:11:10 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 14, 2007, 05:59:25 PM
What a crock of shit

Whats the crock of shit? Are you telling me that if there was any loophole against paying a fine, you wouldnt consider using it? We are a little laxadasical about such things in Ireland.  Mrs Puckoon got off on a speeding ticket because the cop didnt turn up to the court case. Whats the exception to someone else trying to get away with paying a fine - no matter what side of the border they are from?
Personally Id pay the fine - but im always thinking worse case scenarios and dont have enough backbone to try and get away with something like that.

I feel like tankie is (wrongly) using the border as a stick to beat "nordies" with. Does paying a fine make you any more Irish than the rest anyone else? Its a tiresome arguement to be honest, and one that an irishman with a sense of unity wouldnt be using.

Quote from: Gnevin on November 14, 2007, 06:07:07 PM

It must be easier to read than some of your posts Gnevin! Again a cheap shot argument.
Post by: Gnevin on November 14, 2007, 06:11:59 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 14, 2007, 06:10:32 PM
Nah, from reading the postings of you and Tankie I think its the latter
What has what me and Tankie post got to do with the Garda.
Quinn the vote is in favour , are you going to pay?
Post by: Gnevin on November 14, 2007, 06:13:00 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 14, 2007, 06:11:10 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 14, 2007, 05:59:25 PM
What a crock of shit

Whats the crock of shit? Are you telling me that if there was any loophole against paying a fine, you wouldnt consider using it? We are a little laxadasical about such things in Ireland.  Mrs Puckoon got off on a speeding ticket because the cop didnt turn up to the court case. Whats the exception to someone else trying to get away with paying a fine - no matter what side of the border they are from?
Personally Id pay the fine - but im always thinking worse case scenarios and dont have enough backbone to try and get away with something like that.

I feel like tankie is (wrongly) using the border as a stick to beat "nordies" with. Does paying a fine make you any more Irish than the rest anyone else? Its a tiresome arguement to be honest, and one that an irishman with a sense of unity wouldnt be using.

Quote from: Gnevin on November 14, 2007, 06:07:07 PM

It must be easier to read than some of your posts Gnevin! Again a cheap shot argument.
It was a joke relax  ;D
Post by: Puckoon on November 14, 2007, 06:15:43 PM
alright alright.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 14, 2007, 06:18:30 PM
Gnevin, I'd love to pay. I'm not one of these fine dodgers as some here think I am. The poll tally definately indicates that paying would be the popular thing to do. However I'm not one of those Fianna Fail type people who go for the popular decision, I'm prepared to look at all the evidence and take hard unpopular decisions if they're in the interests of the overall good. In this case, and after reading Dougie's post, I am really of a mind that the nice Garda deliberately spelt my name incorrectly so as any summons wouldn't be enforceable,  so any payment of the fine would be against his wishes. What do you think?
Post by: Gnevin on November 14, 2007, 06:20:06 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 14, 2007, 06:18:30 PM
Tankie, I'd love to pay. I'm not one of these fine dodgers as some here think I am. The poll tally definately indicates that paying would be the popular thing to do. However I'm not one of thise Fianna Fail type people who go for the popular decision, I'm prepared to look at all the evidence and take hard unpopular decisions if they're in the interests of the overall good. In this case, and after reading Dougie's post I akm really of a mind that the nice Garda, perhaps deliberately, spelt my name incorrectly so as any summons wouldn't be enforceable,  so any payment of the fine would be against his wishes. What do you think?
So we are  back to what sparked this entire discussion (and two threads) you looking for a way to dodge this .
Post by: Puckoon on November 14, 2007, 06:20:39 PM
how did he spell it?  Garda S. Claus?

oh right, your name, not the garda's name
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 14, 2007, 06:22:50 PM
The issue is not about the fine but rather what the Garda intended to be the outcome. Justice must be seen to be done
Post by: Gnevin on November 14, 2007, 06:37:36 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 14, 2007, 06:22:50 PM
The issue is not about the fine but rather what the Garda intended to be the outcome. Justice must be seen to be done
What ever helps you sleep at night . You where looking for a get out from the start and now had found one enjoy it.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 14, 2007, 06:39:49 PM
Actually I got a great night's sleep the night I heard there was going to be a bus strike in Dublin the next day
Post by: parttimeexile on November 15, 2007, 09:52:45 AM
Quote from: Bacon on November 13, 2007, 07:33:18 AM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 12, 2007, 11:55:59 PM

If you had gone to the Wellington Bar you might have been done for drunken drinking!

Is this hard to do?  :D
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 15, 2007, 10:39:36 AM
This is not as someone eloquently put it 'a crock of shit' I was caught in basically the same jurisdiction within a 4 week period last summer and on both occasions they could not get my details correct.  I received both summons' as I said, but because they could not get the basics correct my attitude was fcuk it I am going to chance my arm with this. 
Does anyone know how long these things 'stay on the book' or if stopped again can they find out that I am a criminal at large?!  At the moment everytime I am in Donegal I am creeping around religiously obeying the speed limits!!
Post by: Gnevin on November 15, 2007, 10:42:28 AM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on November 15, 2007, 10:39:36 AM
This is not as someone eloquently put it 'a crock of shit' I was caught in basically the same jurisdiction within a 4 week period last summer and on both occasions they could not get my details correct.  I received both summons' as I said, but because they could not get the basics correct my attitude was fcuk it I am going to chance my arm with this. 
Does anyone know how long these things 'stay on the book' or if stopped again can they find out that I am a criminal at large?!  At the moment everytime I am in Donegal I am creeping around religiously obeying the speed limits!!

I believe the Garda are getting some of does cameras which can automatically read your Reg and tell if their are any outstanding issues. Don't know if it works for out of state regs .
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 15, 2007, 10:57:15 AM
Think it would be difficult to do this for Northern Cars - or at least I hope
Post by: ardal on November 15, 2007, 02:36:59 PM
Out of curiosity, what payment methods does a driving fine have? If you paid by cheque and were from the north how'd they process a sterling cheque (without incurring charges)? Or are you obliged to pay in an appropriate method?
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 15, 2007, 03:10:44 PM
Quote from: ardal on November 15, 2007, 02:36:59 PM
Out of curiosity, what payment methods does a driving fine have? If you paid by cheque and were from the north how'd they process a sterling cheque (without incurring charges)? Or are you obliged to pay in an appropriate method?
I think they requested Credit/debit Card or Euro Postal Orders from what I recall
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 17, 2007, 03:05:30 PM
Just back home from Newry. Place full of Jackeens using their strong Euro to get even better bargains in the booze and tins of Roses department. Interesting that Tankie and Gnevin aren't posting this afternoon methinks they could also be up North availing of a bargain or three!
Post by: general on January 30, 2021, 05:26:05 PM
Bump...

Advice needed...

Caught speeding in roi, driving a ni car on ni liscence and live in ni.

Can anyone advise
Post by: laoislad on January 30, 2021, 05:34:13 PM
Quote from: general on January 30, 2021, 05:26:05 PM
Bump...

Advice needed...

Can anyone advise
Just pay the fine and stop speeding in the future?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 30, 2021, 05:41:46 PM
Bump...

Advice needed...

Can anyone advise

Certain offences are transferable, disqualification ones. I always thought that points were but I don't think they are
Post by: Rois on January 30, 2021, 06:15:06 PM
Bump...

Advice needed...

Can anyone advise
Pay the fine.

I also had to declare it to my insurer (I was told by the broker that if I hadn't, the insurer wouldn't have paid out on any claim).
You get a record in the south, and will get a letter when the points expire.
Post by: TwoUpTwoDown on January 30, 2021, 07:30:44 PM
Out of interest, how long do points last in the South? I got 3 a few years back and have never declared them to any insurer here in the 6.
Post by: Rois on January 30, 2021, 08:52:20 PM
I think it is two years.
I hadn't declared them either and was told by the broker that I should have. Prob open to legal challenge somewhere but I would rather pay a few more pounds and avoid any hassle.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 30, 2021, 09:45:38 PM
Bump...

Advice needed...

Can anyone advise

Very hard to chase up on them now, did you get notice through? Avoid speeding answer I suppose , rest up to you
Post by: GJL on January 31, 2021, 12:19:41 AM
Bump...

Advice needed...

Can anyone advise

Ignore. What can they really do?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 31, 2021, 04:55:21 AM
What kind of a thread is this? Do you people think speed limits are just put there to hassle people? Have you any idea how many people are killed by vehicular violence every year?

Stop speeding and pay the fine, you potential killers!

Jesus Christ!
Post by: ned on January 31, 2021, 09:55:02 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 31, 2021, 04:55:21 AM
What kind of a thread is this? Do you people think speed limits are just put there to hassle people? Have you any idea how many people are killed by vehicular violence every year?

Jesus Christ!

Not everybody caught speeding is driving excessively. Depends where you are and how far over the limit.
A relative, a veritable Sunday driver seven days a week, was in an unfamiliar area, in and out of different speed limits over a shortish distance, 50 to 40 to 30 to 60 to 30 and so on. First time offence in 50 years of driving. Did speed awareness course as wanted to avoid points and was 4 mph over limit.
Agree on the wider point about excessive speed.
Post by: restorepride on January 31, 2021, 01:36:23 PM

Jesus Christ!
Post by: David McKeown on January 31, 2021, 08:58:26 PM
The legal answer is from 2017 to at least 01/01/2021 you could land in a spot of bother (potentially). Penalty points don't carry over but if the matter went to court in the south you could in theory be disqualified. That disqualification would then carry across and could be implemented in Northern Ireland.

I've never seen it done for penalty points but in theory it could. I said in 01/01/2021 because I don't know what effect Brexit has on the international agreement because it's underpinned by a European framework agreement and honestly I couldn't be bothered figuring out if it's still in force.

So in summation it's unlikely that too much will happen if you ignore it but I can't guarantee it. Interestingly a number of years ago my dad was the victim of identity fraud and we only found out when a car he had apparently hired from Dublin airport had been reported for driving offences. Had to fight that one.
Post by: Lar Naparka on January 31, 2021, 10:17:25 PM
Quote from: restorepride on January 31, 2021, 01:36:23 PM

Jesus Christ!
+1 from me too!
Post by: Main Street on January 31, 2021, 11:38:59 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on January 31, 2021, 10:17:25 PM

Jesus Christ!
+1 from me too!
United Irelanders except when it comes to law and order.   It's a case of 'how can I use my 6 county residence to my advantage'.
Post by: Rich Ricci on February 01, 2021, 12:06:21 AM
Drive her on and be more careful not to get caught next time.
Post by: general on February 01, 2021, 07:45:00 AM
alright alright - i wasnt asking for a keyboard lecture.

I was doing a couple of MPH over the limit - happy to pay the fine.

Simply wondering about transfer of points etc.

For anyone slating - yeah i was a couple of MPH over, i dont condone speeding

Talk about crying and winging - first time offence
Post by: tiempo on February 01, 2021, 12:12:37 PM
Failed my first driving test for speeding

Did a rake of lessons and then on the test I was on new terrain unexpectedly

Came out of an industrial estate on to a dual carriageway, wasn't sure of the speed limit, kept her in the left hand lane around 45/50, were cars flying past me doing 60 in the right hand lane

Instructor fails me for speeding as there was nothing indicating a change in the 30 limit coming off the industrial estate on to the dual carriageway

Passed a few weeks later on the next attempt despite repeatedly not checking for pedestrians when coming out of junctions (according to the instructor)

Safe as houses  :-X
Post by: BennyCake on February 01, 2021, 01:15:07 PM
Bump...

Advice needed...

Can anyone advise

(https://www.startpage.com/av/proxy-image?piurl=http%3A%2F%2Fi.imgur.com%2FufLfjie.gif&sp=1612185189Tb9f371a012bb7148ecfa88459857b15c7100c032b39cd97ff5d3e7ba553f4e62)

I'd probably try to find a way around it too but couldn't help posting this :D
Post by: restorepride on February 01, 2021, 11:24:24 PM
Quote from: general on February 01, 2021, 07:45:00 AM
alright alright - i wasnt asking for a keyboard lecture.

I was doing a couple of MPH over the limit - happy to pay the fine.

Simply wondering about transfer of points etc.

For anyone slating - yeah i was a couple of MPH over, i dont condone speeding

Talk about crying and winging - first time offence

Just f***ing man-up then and pay the fine. 

Learn from it and you will be a saver driver.  Speeding is not 'cool' anymore.  Simple as. 

If you have young children, it is a no-brainer.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 02, 2021, 12:02:38 AM
Quote from: Rich Ricci on February 01, 2021, 12:06:21 AM

Grow up. It could be you or one of your loved ones that gets killed by a reckless driver next.
Post by: restorepride on February 02, 2021, 12:27:05 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 02, 2021, 12:02:38 AM
Quote from: Rich Ricci on February 01, 2021, 12:06:21 AM

Grow up. It could be you or one of your loved ones that gets killed by a reckless driver next.
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on February 02, 2021, 01:38:06 AM
Quote from: Main Street on January 31, 2021, 11:38:59 PM

Jesus Christ!
+1 from me too!
United Irelanders except when it comes to law and order.   It's a case of 'how can I use my 6 county residence to my advantage'.
expect nothing less from the nordies on here  ::)
Post by: RedHand88 on February 02, 2021, 08:23:54 AM
Yes.

Close the thread.
Post by: RedHand88 on February 02, 2021, 08:25:59 AM
Irs unbelievable the amount of northerners that turn into partitionists when it comes to paying speeding/parking fines.
Post by: tiempo on February 02, 2021, 09:37:25 AM
Quote from: Mikhail Prokhorov on February 02, 2021, 01:38:06 AM
Quote from: Main Street on January 31, 2021, 11:38:59 PM

Jesus Christ!
+1 from me too!
expect nothing less from the nordies on here  ::)

All going well for you over there in the shires of Roscommon?
Post by: BennyCake on February 02, 2021, 12:24:44 PM
If you had just spotted speed cameras, would you warn motorists heading in its direction ?

I would normally flash the lights. Think it's just a 'us v them' mentality, but I also think, we'll you should be slowing down at the 30/40mph zone anyway, so maybe a fine would teach you a lesson. And next time you're heading that way, you'll not slow down because you haven't been warned/no speed vans there, so nothing changes.

The amount of people clearly doing maybe 50+ in a 30 zone really does annoy me. It's not about being caught speeding, it's about being in a built up area, and there are children about, walkers, bicycles, bus stops, schools etc.
Post by: general on February 02, 2021, 12:43:14 PM
Regarding all above;

I was caught on the M1 at Drogheda - i simply asked what's the process about transfer of points/fines etc - i was not trying to dodge or not pay or use my "6 county status" - so i have incorrectly used this topic fair enough.

absolutely i deserve the fine i will get and will pay it.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 02, 2021, 01:00:23 PM
Quote from: general on February 02, 2021, 12:43:14 PM
Regarding all above;

I was caught on the M1 at Drogheda - i simply asked what's the process about transfer of points/fines etc - i was not trying to dodge or not pay or use my "6 county status" - so i have incorrectly used this topic fair enough.

Yeah, its not a biggy, if the fine comes to the door pay it...

As for the other post by Bennycake, I used to flash the lights to inform drivers but if I'm in a built up area I'll defo not flash the lights, its 30 for a reason, after being done a couple of times in the past, my fault and over the limit no excuse I've learned to follow the speed limits.

There may be times though on the motorway that I've sat at mid to late 70's, was even stopped by the police one time doing 80, he wasn't giving me a fine, just was wondering why I never stopped when they put the lights on! I never noticed to be honest but I thought I'd get a fine but no, he was just wondering why I didn't stop! I can't even remember why they wanted to stop me in the first place! 
Post by: GetOverTheBar on February 02, 2021, 01:04:22 PM
Quote from: general on February 02, 2021, 12:43:14 PM
Regarding all above;

Don't worry about it, some of the lads on this board have a serious problem with the North for whatever reason. I'd say the majority of the normal ones here just took you at face value.
Post by: Itchy on February 02, 2021, 01:48:22 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on February 02, 2021, 12:24:44 PM
If you had just spotted speed cameras, would you warn motorists heading in its direction ?

I would normally flash the lights. Think it's just a 'us v them' mentality, but I also think, we'll you should be slowing down at the 30/40mph zone anyway, so maybe a fine would teach you a lesson. And next time you're heading that way, you'll not slow down because you haven't been warned/no speed vans there, so nothing changes.

The amount of people clearly doing maybe 50+ in a 30 zone really does annoy me. It's not about being caught speeding, it's about being in a built up area, and there are children about, walkers, bicycles, bus stops, schools etc.

Yes I would warn people by flashing lights. The position of speed cameras is already communicated by government in the south already, they want you to know they are there and to slow down. They are, in theory, supposed to be placed in dangerous spots anyway.
Post by: general_lee on February 02, 2021, 01:58:03 PM
I'd always flash lights. If there's an obstruction, flooding, collision etc and speed trap is no different. I have been caught out speeding twice, both in built up area by the same fixed camera but both only slightly over and years apart so was able to do speed course on both - this is what I don't understand though - someone who speeds by 2/3 mph over limit gets a course, whereas someone who is way over the limit doesn't! It should be mandatory!
Post by: pbat on February 02, 2021, 03:11:13 PM
I see from midnight its 6 penalty points for driving on the phone and 200 pound fine.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 02, 2021, 04:02:47 PM
Quote from: pbat on February 02, 2021, 03:11:13 PM
I see from midnight its 6 penalty points for driving on the phone and 200 pound fine.

Driving with the phone to your ear should be treated the same as driving drunk. It's just as dangerous.
Post by: general on February 02, 2021, 06:46:24 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 02, 2021, 04:02:47 PM

Driving with the phone to your ear should be treated the same as driving drunk. It's just as dangerous.

Agreed. What cars dont have built in phone system these days?
Post by: restorepride on February 02, 2021, 07:40:44 PM
Quote from: general_lee on February 02, 2021, 01:58:03 PM
I'd always flash lights. If there's an obstruction, flooding, collision etc and speed trap is no different. I have been caught out speeding twice, both in built up area by the same fixed camera but both only slightly over and years apart so was able to do speed course on both - this is what I don't understand though - someone who speeds by 2/3 mph over limit gets a course, whereas someone who is way over the limit doesn't! It should be mandatory!
I think they are deemed 'curable'!  Others not.   I used to flash lights (mainly for UDR patrols!) until a neighbour of ours mistook the flashing from a lorry to come out of a local junction.  Later the lorry driver said he had flashed the lights warning the car not to come out.   Neighbour was shunted 30 yards up a grass embankment and hospitalised for two months.  That ended the flashing lights carry on!
Post by: David McKeown on February 02, 2021, 09:05:54 PM

The points weren't the problem.  The problem is how hard is to prove in the North.  Really needed to outlaw touching or holding a phone whilst driving.  I see no benefit to for example being able hold your phone to record whilst driving
Post by: BennyCake on February 02, 2021, 09:35:29 PM
Quote from: restorepride on February 02, 2021, 07:40:44 PM
Quote from: general_lee on February 02, 2021, 01:58:03 PM
I think they are deemed 'curable'!  Others not.   I used to flash lights (mainly for UDR patrols!) until a neighbour of ours mistook the flashing from a lorry to come out of a local junction.  Later the lorry driver said he had flashed the lights warning the car not to come out.   Neighbour was shunted 30 yards up a grass embankment and hospitalised for two months.  That ended the flashing lights carry on!

I'd always be careful with someone signalling to you to overtake, turn in... just because you're telling me it's safe to pull out/overtake, I'm still going to check myself.

Yeah I would use the lights to warn of danger. Don't like it when motorists flash you just because they  recognise my car (or mistake me for someone else). Any time that happens, I think there must be a cow on the loose, obstruction/flood ahead etc, and most of the time it turns out to be nothing! Just some bollix saying hello!