Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: charlieTully on December 07, 2012, 03:30:12 PM

Title: nurse in royal pregnancy hoax call found dead.
Post by: charlieTully on December 07, 2012, 03:30:12 PM
The nurse who took a hoax call about Kate's pregnancy found dead this morning after apparently taking her own life.
Title: Re: nurse in royal pregnancy hoax call found dead.
Post by: Walter Cronc on December 07, 2012, 03:32:33 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on December 07, 2012, 03:30:12 PM
The nurse who took a hoax call about Kate's pregnancy found dead this morning after apparently taking her own life.

Jeez you don't mess with Prince Phillip!!
Post by: charlieTully on December 07, 2012, 03:40:41 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on December 07, 2012, 03:32:33 PM

Sad them cnuts can make someone fell so intimidated they take their own life.
Post by: rosnarun on December 07, 2012, 03:43:20 PM
did diana spenser death not send out a loud enough message .
Mind you a certain radion statione in Oz cant be feeling too proud right now
Post by: orangeman on December 07, 2012, 03:45:32 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on December 07, 2012, 03:43:20 PM

You can say that again.
Post by: LeoMc on December 07, 2012, 03:57:09 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on December 07, 2012, 03:40:41 PM

I would be placing more blame on the Radio station at this stage.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-20645838
"The BBC understands Mrs Saldanha had not been suspended or disciplined by the hospital"
Post by: stew on December 07, 2012, 04:11:22 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on December 07, 2012, 03:43:20 PM

I have no gra for these fcukers, but to blame them for the death of this nurse has no basis in fact at this point, pure conjecture and unfair in my opinion.
Post by: charlieTully on December 07, 2012, 04:14:28 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on December 07, 2012, 03:57:09 PM

"The BBC understands Mrs Saldanha had not been suspended or disciplined by the hospital"

Yeah true. Backfired in a brutal way.
Post by: Nally Stand on December 07, 2012, 04:16:46 PM

I'd be astonished if that were true.
Post by: trueblue1234 on December 07, 2012, 04:18:44 PM
Very sad.

While I would feel little sympathy for the radio station who I'm sure are about to reap a worldwind of retribution, it sad that a prank led to this. There is no way this could have been predicted and no one would have expected a reaction like this to it.

Thoughts have to lie with the family, who I'm sure are not only upset but angry at what has happened.
Post by: Tubberman on December 07, 2012, 04:22:07 PM
It was a prank call. They didn't really have a go at the girl, they can hardly be held accountable for her death.
Post by: Walter Cronc on December 07, 2012, 04:25:07 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on December 07, 2012, 04:22:07 PM
It was a prank call. They didn't really have a go at the girl, they can hardly be held accountable for her death.

I would imagine Royal family aides put huge pressure on this girl in the aftermath of the prank call. Yet watch how the British media will hammer the aussies when they should look closer to home!!
Post by: trileacman on December 07, 2012, 04:26:48 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on December 07, 2012, 04:25:07 PM

I would imagine Royal family aides put huge pressure on this girl in the aftermath of the prank call. Yet watch how the British media will hammer the aussies when they should look closer to home!!

How do you know that? Seemingly Charles was making light of it yesterday.
Post by: trueblue1234 on December 07, 2012, 04:29:37 PM

That's what I mean (Tho reading back I prob didn't make that clear). They will no doubt be hung out for the wolves over the head of it when in reality it was a joke that went wrong. Something that happens countless times before and it would have been impossible to predict this outcome.
Post by: cadence on December 07, 2012, 04:29:59 PM

nonsense. they have a duty to adhere to journalistic ethics and standards, which generally include some version of the harm limitation principle. according to the graunaid, the station's license is on probation for 5 years. the station has form.

from wiki...

Harm limitation principle
During the normal course of an assignment a reporter might go about—gathering facts and details, conducting interviews, doing research, background checks, taking photos, video taping, recording sound—harm limitation deals with the questions of whether everything learned should be reported and, if so, how. This principle of limitation means that some weight needs to be given to the negative consequences of full disclosure, creating a practical and ethical dilemma. The Society of Professional Journalists' code of ethics offers the following advice, which is representative of the practical ideals of most professional journalists. Quoting directly:[17]
Show compassion for those who may be affected adversely by news coverage. Use special sensitivity when dealing with children and inexperienced sources or subjects.
Be sensitive when seeking or using interviews or photographs of those affected by tragedy or grief.
Recognize that gathering and reporting information may cause harm or discomfort. Pursuit of the news is not a license for arrogance.
Recognize that private people have a greater right to control information about themselves than do public officials and others who seek power, influence or attention. Only an overriding public need can justify intrusion into anyone's privacy.
Show good taste. Avoid pandering to lurid curiosity.
Be cautious about identifying juvenile suspects or victims of sex crimes.
Be judicious about naming criminal suspects before the formal filing of charges.
Balance a criminal suspect's fair trial rights with the public's right to be informed.
[edit]
Post by: trileacman on December 07, 2012, 04:33:55 PM

They sort of can be held accountable, if they hadn't have made the call this wouldn't have happened. They didn't intend for something like this to happen but it did and they have to front up to their role in it.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on December 07, 2012, 04:35:37 PM
FFS lads it's obviously the radio station who are to blame. If they hadn't carried out the prank this wouldn't have happened. They have to think of the repurcussions of their actions and at the very least this girls job would have been in jeopardy.
Post by: Nally Stand on December 07, 2012, 04:35:57 PM
Their royalty is put on such a pedestal by the brit media that she must have been put though unbelievable stress over it all. It was stupid prank too. If they had even pre-recorded it and played it on air for a laugh if it had failed and had the sense to pull it if it worked, knowing it would at least seriously harm a woman's career. Though I was looking at the radio stations facebook page and some of the bloodthirsty comments are insane:

"How does it feel to have blood dripping from your paws?"
"murderers"
"I hope they kill them selves"
"nice one your actions have killed a nurse hope your happy Murderers"
"Tomorrow's headline: "Two Australian Radio DJs Found Dead" and I'll have no sympathy whatsoever.  :)"

And don't you just know fine well that some of the scumbags posting this shite probably laughed at the prank when it hit the news, seeing it as just a funny prank. The pricks all have 20:20 hindsight.
Post by: Walter Cronc on December 07, 2012, 04:36:36 PM
Quote from: trileacman on December 07, 2012, 04:26:48 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on December 07, 2012, 04:25:07 PM

How do you know that? Seemingly Charles was making light of it yesterday.

Charlie boy wouldn't be the sharpest tool in the box so I would take his comments with a pinch of salt.
Post by: trileacman on December 07, 2012, 04:38:02 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on December 07, 2012, 04:35:37 PM
FFS lads it's obviously the radio station who are to blame. If they hadn't carried out the prank this wouldn't have happened. They have to think of the repurcussions of their actions and at the very least this girls job would have been in jeopardy.

They embarrassed two women on a national scale in their workplace, they can't just wash their hands now and say "sure we were only having a laugh".
Post by: imtommygunn on December 07, 2012, 04:41:41 PM
Do we know what state of mind she was in before it?

Nothing obvious about this at all. No one knows her previous state of mental health.

Usually you'd associate these things with a history in this regard. For one incident to trigger these things could happen but it would probably be more likely she wasn't of good mental health prior to it.

Post by: trileacman on December 07, 2012, 04:45:58 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 07, 2012, 04:35:57 PM
Their royalty is put on such a pedestal by the brit media that she must have been put though unbelievable stress over it all. It was stupid prank too. If they had even pre-recorded it and played it on air for a laugh if it had failed and had the sense to pull it if it worked, knowing it would at least seriously harm a woman's career. Though I was looking at the radio stations facebook page and some of the bloodthirsty comments are insane:

"murderers"
"Tomorrow's headline: "Two Australian Radio DJs Found Dead" and I'll have no sympathy whatsoever.  :)"

And don't you just know fine well that some of the scumbags posting this shite probably laughed at the prank when it hit the news, seeing it as just a funny prank. The pricks all have 20:20 hindsight.

You can't just lay it "blame the royals", had it have been any of the Brits golden celebrities the girl would have took alot of abuse and castigation for falling for such a simple prank. Divulging personal information on any high profile patient would open you up to ridicule the same as it being Kate Middleton.
Post by: Nally Stand on December 07, 2012, 04:53:07 PM
Quote from: trileacman on December 07, 2012, 04:45:58 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 07, 2012, 04:35:57 PM

"murderers"

You can't just lay it "blame the royals", had it have been any of the Brits golden celebrities the girl would have took alot of abuse and castigation for falling for such a simple prank. Divulging personal information on any high profile patient would open you up to ridicule the same as it being Kate Middleton.

I didn't say blame the royals, (my post when read in it's entirety should make that fairly obvious) but I'm saying it couldn't have helped. You can talk about high profile patients all you like but what public figure in britain would have commanded anywhere near as much media attention over a pregnancy as a "royal"? The stress and strain and (I'd imagine) the level of abuse too, must have been unbearable on her.
Post by: seafoid on December 07, 2012, 04:55:10 PM
Awful. Did she get enough support from the hospital?  Some suicide phases only last a few minutes but all you need is a few minutes. The poor woman. 
Post by: cadence on December 07, 2012, 05:11:49 PM
they've def breached aussie journalism's code of ethics. irresponsibility and recklessness in the media should be held to account. there just doen't seem to be the correct balance between journalistic freedoms and protecting vulnerable members of the public from this type of media behaviour. it's a real wake up call for low brow tabloid style media, and those who consume it, who think taking the piss out of people in front of the eyes of the world is just harmless fun.

http://www.gwb.com.au/99a/ethics.html

Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 07, 2012, 05:34:07 PM

Yes they are accountable, and hopefully they will pay the price with their jobs. Most of these DJs go to far with their pranks, that lad off i-radio should have been sacked years ago, horrible cnut.
Post by: ballinaman on December 07, 2012, 05:37:15 PM
Its all speculation at this stage, has there been any talk of a note so far? She might have been suffering from depression for a long time and this incident only served as a trigger. Seems unusual but not impossible to go from happy carefree to suicidal in the space of a day or two.
2day FM are a bunch of w**nkers though, couldn't abide it when i lived in Australia.
Post by: Main Street on December 07, 2012, 06:03:58 PM
Could be a deadly Australian version of The Ring.

Check your caller id before answering.
Post by: charlieTully on December 07, 2012, 06:06:05 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on December 07, 2012, 05:37:15 PM
Its all speculation at this stage, has there been any talk of a note so far? She might have been suffering from depression for a long time and this incident only served as a trigger. Seems unusual but not impossible to go from happy carefree to suicidal in the space of a day or two.
2day FM are a bunch of w**nkers though, couldn't abide it when i lived in Australia.

She may well have suffered from depression in the past but no way would she be fit to work if she was clinically depressed at the time. Never read the English tabloids so don't know the craic there. Was there any sensationalist headlines etc?
Post by: theticklemister on December 07, 2012, 06:07:46 PM
according to the paper, this lady did not divulge any info, only lifted the phone.

I believe there is more to this story than meets the eye and we will never get to the bottom of this. If this had to be any other patient I don't think the pressure on this poor woman would have been anywhere near as much. The royalty in their 'glamour and prestige'  appeals to the mass populace and this in turn puts pressure on people, on this occasion the pressure was too much.
Post by: LeoMc on December 07, 2012, 06:12:28 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 07, 2012, 04:16:46 PM

She did not divulge any information. She only answered the phone and passed the call on.
Post by: Maguire01 on December 07, 2012, 06:36:23 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on December 07, 2012, 06:07:46 PM
I believe there is more to this story than meets the eye and we will never get to the bottom of this. If this had to be any other patient I don't think the pressure on this poor woman would have been anywhere near as much. The royalty in their 'glamour and prestige'  appeals to the mass populace and this in turn puts pressure on people, on this occasion the pressure was too much.
If it had been any other patient, I doubt there'd have been a prank call.
Post by: Nally Stand on December 07, 2012, 06:48:08 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on December 07, 2012, 06:36:23 PM
They regularly do prank calls.
Post by: Nally Stand on December 07, 2012, 06:49:05 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on December 07, 2012, 06:12:28 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 07, 2012, 04:16:46 PM

She did not divulge any information. She only answered the phone and passed the call on.

True. I initially had heard it was the nurse who did all the talking.
Post by: bennydorano on December 07, 2012, 07:15:45 PM
Tragic, but I have to say my first reaction was what an incredible over reaction by the nurse. There must be more to it or else it is just that.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 07, 2012, 07:22:30 PM
about that radio station

QuotePrank radio station 2Day FM is already serving two five-year licence probations after serious breaches of the regulator's code.

The broadcaster was handed the first reprimand in 2009 after a 14-year-old girl was attached to a lie detector and pushed into revealing live on air that she had been raped.

The reluctant teenager had been brought on to The Kyle and Jackie O Show by her mother who told the presenters she was worried about her daughter's use of drugs and partying.

The mother asked her daughter: 'Have you ever had sex?'

To which, she replied: 'I've already told you the story about this ... and don't look at me and smile because it's not funny'. After a pause, the girl added: 'Oh OK, I got raped when I was 12 years old.'

Mr Sandilands then incurred the second licence condition after he called a female journalist a 'fat slag' live on air.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on December 07, 2012, 07:29:52 PM
None of this adds up, i wouldnt believe a word these statements are saying, she was married with 2 kids and takes her own life over this? Seriously...we are not hearing the truth...the aussies will be scapegoated by the british media no doubt with pressure etc...the aussies are innocent in my eyes, there is no way the intended any of this, there is no one on this planet that hasnt taken the piss out of someone or done a prank, and thought jees they may kill themselves...no one thinks that.

May she rest in peace
Post by: charlieTully on December 07, 2012, 07:30:51 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 07, 2012, 07:15:45 PM
Tragic, but I have to say my first reaction was what an icredible over reaction by the nurse. There must be more to it or else it is just that.

Aye, initially I thought she was the one who had spoken, very bizarre given she only answered the phone.
Post by: Aristo 60 on December 07, 2012, 07:48:17 PM
there won't be one lesson learn't from this... just more paperwork for hospital staff.

Such a tragic loss of life.
Post by: trileacman on December 07, 2012, 08:19:52 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on December 07, 2012, 07:29:52 PM
None of this adds up, i wouldnt believe a word these statements are saying, she was married with 2 kids and takes her own life over this? Seriously...we are not hearing the truth...the aussies will be scapegoated by the british media no doubt with pressure etc...the aussies are innocent in my eyes, there is no way the intended any of this, there is no one on this planet that hasnt taken the piss out of someone or done a prank, and thought jees they may kill themselves...no one thinks that.

May she rest in peace

Not many here are accusing them of murder but it was a crass prank, tricking someone into malpractice at their workplace. They knew this would cause embarrassment and raise questions of professional integrity of the nurses involved but they went ahead anyway. Innocent is not the term I'd use to describe their actions.
Post by: Maguire01 on December 07, 2012, 08:26:43 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 07, 2012, 06:48:08 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on December 07, 2012, 06:36:23 PM
They regularly do prank calls.
To London hospitals?
Post by: Main Street on December 07, 2012, 09:00:09 PM
By the sounds of it,  these radio presenters will have as hard a time as any Johnny Foreigner ref who dared give a questionable decision against an English team.
Post by: cadence on December 07, 2012, 09:03:15 PM
from House of Commons
Culture, Media and Sport Committee
Privacy and media
intrusion
Fifth Report of Session 2002–03
Volume I...

Defining terms
9. Privacy is an aspect of human dignity and autonomy and almost everyone regards privacy as essential.7 There was no dispute that everyone should be entitled to a zone of privacy and is likely to need such space to maintain their psychological well-being and personal development and to allow the fostering of relationships especially intimate ones. Article 8 of the European Convention on Human Rights states that everyone has the right to respect for his or her private and family life, home and correspondence.
10. But privacy cannot be an absolute right. There are limited situations when it can and should be breached, where crime, corruption or hypocrisy are being hidden under a cloak of privacy and where it is overwhelmingly in the public interest that the truth be brought to light. Even here, though, it is important that both the authorities and the media only infringe privacy in relation, and in proportion, to the iniquity thought to be in question.

there's loads of evidence about the contagion effect of media reporting on suicides, and just a few examples of people committing suicide because of media intrusion. but they do happen.

having to deal with what must seem like worldwide ridicule, and no doubt repurcussions as an employee, it's hardly going to help the stress levels.

again, i know i keep repeating myself, but there's codes of ethics for a reason. people get hurt and suffer and sometimes even worse, like in this case. no point in suggesting otherwise. if this radio show was more responsible, stuck to the ethics of their profession, it wouldn't have happened. shoddy at best, but i'm leaning more towards irresponsible... they do know better, rather than they should know better. they've form for being unethical as we've seen.

Post by: theticklemister on December 07, 2012, 09:06:34 PM
Quote from: cadence on December 07, 2012, 09:03:15 PM
from House of Commons
Culture, Media and Sport Committee
Privacy and media
intrusion
Fifth Report of Session 2002–03
Volume I...

Defining terms
9. Privacy is an aspect of human dignity and autonomy and almost everyone regards privacy as essential.7 There was no dispute that everyone should be entitled to a zone of privacy and is likely to need such space to maintain their psychological well-being and personal development and to allow the fostering of relationships especially intimate ones. Article 8 of the European Convention on Human Rights states that everyone has the right to respect for his or her private and family life, home and correspondence.
10. But privacy cannot be an absolute right. There are limited situations when it can and should be breached, where crime, corruption or hypocrisy are being hidden under a cloak of privacy and where it is overwhelmingly in the public interest that the truth be brought to light. Even here, though, it is important that both the authorities and the media only infringe privacy in relation, and in proportion, to the iniquity thought to be in question.

there's loads of evidence about the contagion effect of media reporting on suicides, and just a few examples of people committing suicide because of media intrusion. but they do happen.

having to deal with what must seem like worldwide ridicule, and no doubt repurcussions as an employee, it's hardly going to help the stress levels.

again, i know i keep repeating myself, but there's codes of ethics for a reason. people get hurt and suffer and sometimes even worse, like in this case. no point in suggesting otherwise. if this radio show was more responsible, stuck to the ethics of their profession, it wouldn't have happened. shoddy at best, but i'm leaning more towards irresponsible... they do know better, rather than they should know better. they've form for being unethical as we've seen.

were all fcuked now, the British House of Commons is being quoted!!!!lol!!
Post by: trileacman on December 07, 2012, 09:08:51 PM
Quote from: Main Street on December 07, 2012, 09:00:09 PM
By the sounds of it,  these radio presenters will have as hard a time as any Johnny Foreigner ref who dared give a questionable decision against an English team.

I don't think the media is being xenophobic, if it were a British radio station who pulled the stunt they'd be in the shithouse as well.
Post by: vertigonights on December 07, 2012, 11:22:02 PM
What about the role the media itself played in this. Kate has been in hospital a few hours and their hauled up immediatly outside it with a line of photographers and reporters eager for the sound of a fart to comment on. Isn't her condition suppossed to be private from the beginning or do we have a right to know the ins and outs of her medical history? If this had of stayed private like it should have; would anything of happened in relation to the nurse taking her own life? She isn't even 12 weeks pregnant, and who knows what could of happened to her or the child with probable undue stress from the media at her window.
Im not a particular fan of the royals, but i don't think blaming a couple of djs is fair. I mean they have a job to do, and we all laughed when we heard the stunt to begin, with so why the change of heart all of a sudden? Their actions would never have been followed through with had they known the terrible outcome, its just one of those things. Also more facts need to come out about the nurse herself and if she wasn't reprimanded then why the reaction? before any more conclusions are jumped to.
Post by: ONeill on December 07, 2012, 11:33:03 PM
This is a tough one.

On one hand it's only a prank and I'd say there are plenty who would be prepared to make a fortune out of being the one who fell for it.

On the other hand we don't know the woman's state of mind or confidence fragility.

Seems like bad luck.
Post by: ONeill on December 07, 2012, 11:34:49 PM
Quote from: vertigonights on December 07, 2012, 11:22:02 PM
What about the role the media itself played in this. Kate has been in hospital a few hours and their hauled up immediatly outside it with a line of photographers and reporters eager for the sound of a fart to comment on. Isn't her condition suppossed to be private from the beginning or do we have a right to know the ins and outs of her medical history? If this had of stayed private like it should have; would anything of happened in relation to the nurse taking her own life? She isn't even 12 weeks pregnant, and who knows what could of happened to her or the child with probable undue stress from the media at her window.
Im not a particular fan of the royals, but i don't think blaming a couple of djs is fair. I mean they have a job to do, and we all laughed when we heard the stunt to begin, with so why the change of heart all of a sudden? Their actions would never have been followed through with had they known the terrible outcome, its just one of those things. Also more facts need to come out about the nurse herself and if she wasn't reprimanded then why the reaction? before any more conclusions are jumped to.

I never blame the media in instances like these. If the public weren't interested they wouldn't do it. It's us as a generation.
Post by: rrhf on December 08, 2012, 09:23:11 AM
That's naive in many ways. The public have a varied appetite of course however it's the media that dictate what's being served up. The media contrive angles on simple stories  to differentiate their product, in many ways the angle becomes more important than the story.
Post by: ONeill on December 08, 2012, 04:26:11 PM
Quote from: rrhf on December 08, 2012, 09:23:11 AM
That's naive in many ways. The public have a varied appetite of course however it's the media that dictate what's being served up. The media contrive angles on simple stories  to differentiate their product, in many ways the angle becomes more important than the story.

We dictate by what we buy. The media only respond to what makes them the bucks. I heard people saying during the week that they were sick of hearing about the girl Kate but then on to detail minute by minute the programmes they watched on it. Of all the newspapers out there, the Sun is still the biggest seller. The media aren't stupid.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 08, 2012, 04:39:38 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 08, 2012, 04:26:11 PM
Quote from: rrhf on December 08, 2012, 09:23:11 AM

We dictate by what we buy. The media only respond to what makes them the bucks. I heard people saying during the week that they were sick of hearing about the girl Kate but then on to detail minute by minute the programmes they watched on it. Of all the newspapers out there, the Sun is still the biggest seller. The media aren't stupid.

I am suprised the Sun sells in nationalist areas of the North or anywhere in the Republic after all the years of their hatefilled bigotry towards us. Here in Liverpool many shops won't sell it, people will castigate you if they see you with a copy. There are signs up saying not to buy the Sun, pity the Irish wouldn't show the same level of self-respect.

How anyone buys the Sun I can never understand, they hate the Irish, Scousers, the French, the Germans, the North of England, the Scottish, the Spanish, the European Union, left-wingers, Africans, Asians, the European Union, the Greeks, Irish Republicans, British Republicans, Homosexuals, Catholics, Celtic-Country Nationalists, Muslims, Palestinians, Arabs etc. however they also seem to pick on the groups that they usually fawn over like the British Royal family, EDL, BNP, OO, Americans, Israelis, British Army, Church of England, the British Upperclass when they think it will sell the odd paper. Why the f**k anyone buys it is always a mystery to me, they are a hate filled rag.
Post by: trileacman on December 08, 2012, 05:09:46 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 07, 2012, 11:34:49 PM

I never blame the media in instances like these. If the public weren't interested they wouldn't do it. It's us as a generation.

Meh I think that arguments bullshit, I mean, could the founder of a child pornography site stand up and court and say he was just catering for a demand from sections of the general public?
Post by: Main Street on December 08, 2012, 05:22:42 PM
"Im not a particular fan of the royals"
Part time fan?  occasional fan? enough to call her Kate and be concerned over her personal affairs?

These Nordies need more support in any thread discussion which concerns, directly or indirectly, members of their Royal family.

Post by: Tony Baloney on December 08, 2012, 05:25:16 PM
Quote from: trileacman on December 08, 2012, 05:09:46 PM

Meh I think that arguments bullshit, I mean, could the founder of a child pornography site stand up and court and say he was just catering for a demand from sections of the general public?
You can't equate supply and demand of something illegal with something legal. Thousands die every year from cigarettes and alcohol but the demand is there so someone will keep up the supply. It isnt just shit like The Sun - Heat, Hello etc. consist entirely of salacious gossip or celebrities whoring their wares. They sell by the millions so they have to go to more extreme lengths to achieve a market share.
Post by: under the bar on December 15, 2012, 11:46:53 AM
If the two DJs did anything wrong then comedy would be banned and the likes of Dom Jolly, phone jacker team etc would be in jail.  As tragic as this story is we dont need everyone adopting the attitude of free presbyterians.
Post by: Lar Naparka on December 15, 2012, 04:19:54 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 08, 2012, 05:25:16 PM
Quote from: trileacman on December 08, 2012, 05:09:46 PM

You can't equate supply and demand of something illegal with something legal. Thousands die every year from cigarettes and alcohol but the demand is there so someone will keep up the supply. It isnt just shit like The Sun - Heat, Hello etc. consist entirely of salacious gossip or celebrities whoring their wares. They sell by the millions so they have to go to more extreme lengths to achieve a market share.
I'd agree with all that. Morality doesn't enter the picture.
I think there is an obvious parallel where politics are concerned. Most of us will bitch on and on about crooked politicians and damn them all to hell at every chance we get but still we elect them all the same.
I think them hoors merely reflect the nature of the society that elects them.