Recent posts

Ah jaysus, another Derry man losing the head 😋 - that must be several dozen on here now
GAA Discussion / Re: GAA crowds
Last post by Captain Scarlet - Today at 11:13:46 AM
€30 adult stand ticket for the Leinster semi-finals. Now in the past you could saw 2 games is decent for that price BUT in the last decade the product in Leinster is dung.

I can't understand why they don't drop the price for provincials at least. Even the rugby lads are redicing tickets for the Croke Park match...

General discussion / Re: extortion
Last post by David McKeown - Today at 11:09:23 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on Today at 10:38:59 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on Today at 09:21:42 AM
Quote from: WeeDonns on Today at 08:56:53 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on Today at 08:28:51 AMWe need to see more of this. Indeed it needs the full backing of VFI and another supplier ready to step in.

https://www.belfastlive.co.uk/whats-on/food-drink-news/dublin-pub-takes-stand-against-29004882

(Why do so many "news" websites have to destroy the user experience with an advert every scroll? Yes I clicked on that article because it interested me. No, I refuse to stay on that site and see if there's anything else interesting to read)

I thought you couldn't penalise customers for paying by card now? the article doesn't clearly explain their "cash discount scheme"
The Chinese we go to used to charge 50p to pay by card, now since that rule came in they only accept cash

Rules could be different in the South? Either way easy way round it would be to say you are rewarding people for using cash rather than penalising them for card. E.g. advertise something for £5.50 but give a  50p discount for cash etc.

It's an EU directive under PSD2.

I'm not sure that easy way round it would pass much muster. No pun intended. It would at the very least need to be a % discount rather than a fixed fee per transaction one
General discussion / Re: Name your three favourite ...
Last post by Truthsayer - Today at 11:07:16 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on Today at 10:36:52 AM
Quote from: Truthsayer on April 17, 2024, 08:44:53 PMSame: Tears in Heaven, Wonderful Tonite... I like 'Why Aye Man'.. was tune for TV series Auf Wiedesen Pet (proby misspelt!) Really caught the migration to get work from Tyneside (same as Ireland)... 'economic refugees' and the carnage caused by Thatcher..
We had no way of staying afloat
We had to leave on the ferry boat
Economic refugees
On the run to Germany
We had the back of Maggie's hand
Times were tough in Geordie land...

Was that not Mark Knoffler?
Jees! So it was! What am I smoking!! 😱
General discussion / Re: Name your three favourite ...
Last post by Ronnie - Today at 11:06:06 AM
I'm a conscientious objector.
GAA Discussion / Re: Ulster Senior football cha...
Last post by tbrick18 - Today at 11:04:17 AM
Quote from: Tones on April 17, 2024, 09:36:09 PMReally in a match we didn't lose we shouldn't worry about a soccer penalty shoot out because of the GAA imposing it to free up Croke park for handy money, strange logic.

Yeah yous did.
Worse than that, it's a match you should have won and had every chance of winning, but bottled it.
Derry in the week leading up to the final had an unprecedented level of upheaval and that was evident in their performance. Yet Armagh couldn't win.
We had Brendan Rogers on a black card at the end of normal time and the and most of the first part of extra time. Yet Armagh couldn't win.
Yous were a point up towards the end of extra time and Rian O'Neill gave away a stupid needless free giving Derry the opportunity to draw level - and they took it. All Armagh had to do was keep their discipline and they probably win. But they didn't.
Armagh were given yet another chance to win in penalties - but bottled it again.

How many chances to yous need to be given to win a game before you stop moaning about not losing?
It was a losing performance from Armagh all day when they should absolutely have won. And you're complaining about penalties? If it went to a replay we'd have won again too. 

Maybe that's strange logic too! ;D  ;D  ;D

So, silliness aside, I'm looking forward to the game against Donegal with equal measures of excitement and fear - proper championship game. I really hope we get an opportunity to contest another Ulster final - we haven't played Down in a final for along time  ;)  :P
Can't find My Way Home (Blind Faith)
Wonderful Tonight
Lay Down Sally
General discussion / Re: extortion
Last post by thebigfella - Today at 10:38:59 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on Today at 09:21:42 AM
Quote from: WeeDonns on Today at 08:56:53 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on Today at 08:28:51 AMWe need to see more of this. Indeed it needs the full backing of VFI and another supplier ready to step in.

https://www.belfastlive.co.uk/whats-on/food-drink-news/dublin-pub-takes-stand-against-29004882

(Why do so many "news" websites have to destroy the user experience with an advert every scroll? Yes I clicked on that article because it interested me. No, I refuse to stay on that site and see if there's anything else interesting to read)

I thought you couldn't penalise customers for paying by card now? the article doesn't clearly explain their "cash discount scheme"
The Chinese we go to used to charge 50p to pay by card, now since that rule came in they only accept cash

Rules could be different in the South? Either way easy way round it would be to say you are rewarding people for using cash rather than penalising them for card. E.g. advertise something for £5.50 but give a  50p discount for cash etc.

It's an EU directive under PSD2.
Quote from: Truthsayer on April 17, 2024, 08:44:53 PMSame: Tears in Heaven, Wonderful Tonite... I like 'Why Aye Man'.. was tune for TV series Auf Wiedesen Pet (proby misspelt!) Really caught the migration to get work from Tyneside (same as Ireland)... 'economic refugees' and the carnage caused by Thatcher..
We had no way of staying afloat
We had to leave on the ferry boat
Economic refugees
On the run to Germany
We had the back of Maggie's hand
Times were tough in Geordie land...

Was that not Mark Knoffler?
GAA Discussion / Re: Ulster Senior football cha...
Last post by screenexile - Today at 10:33:16 AM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on Today at 09:49:33 AMAny of you see Declan Bogues iinterview on OTB?

McGuinness still holds a grudge with him and wouldn't speak to journalists at the Ulster launch unless he left.

12 years ago and still holding a grudge he doesnt sway from his principles McGuinness.

Also likes a siege mentality!