GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 19, 2017, 04:07:24 PM

Title: Tír Eoghain vs Maigh Eo, Healy Park, March 26th @3pm
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 19, 2017, 04:07:24 PM
Right then, two teams hurting from the manner of their capitulations last days out -- who can respond more emphatically?

Title: Re: Tír Eoghain vs Maigh Eo, Healy Park, March 26th @ 2pm
Post by: twohands!!! on March 19, 2017, 04:22:39 PM
Were Mayo not already supposed to be hurting from the manner of their capitulation to Dublin today?
Post by: From the Bunker on March 19, 2017, 04:38:43 PM
Mayo are in a team in transition - We are transitioning back to Mayo circa 2007-2010!

In fairness, if we were playing Tyrone in Castlebar. I'd give us no chance! We are stink at home in the League!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 19, 2017, 04:48:30 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on March 19, 2017, 04:22:39 PM
Were Mayo not already supposed to be hurting from the manner of their capitulation to Dublin today?

Mayo have their very Division 1 survival at stake it seems after that most recent submission, bring it on! :D
Post by: From the Bunker on March 19, 2017, 07:36:53 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 19, 2017, 04:48:30 PM

Mayo have their very Division 1 survival at stake it seems after that most recent submission, bring it on! :D

Oh, the excitement!  :)
Post by: Jinxy on March 19, 2017, 07:49:54 PM

Yeah, so multiply that x 2 = Tyrone are due a right hammering.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 20, 2017, 11:47:47 AM
Will the O'Sheas be fit for this one?
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 20, 2017, 01:12:42 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 20, 2017, 11:47:47 AM
Will the O'Sheas be fit for this one?

They played for Breaffy in the Michael Walsh league over the weekend. So I'd imagine they will feature.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 20, 2017, 01:21:29 PM
Thanks Farr, the last thing we'd want would be a significantly understrength Mayo in Omagh. ;)
Post by: Syferus on March 20, 2017, 01:47:44 PM
Tyrone to get flaked and Mayo make their usual late escape from jail..
Post by: blast05 on March 20, 2017, 02:07:23 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 20, 2017, 01:47:44 PM

No, Mayo and Cavan to lose next weekend meaning it comes down to the last game.
Given our record in McHale Park and Donegals form (and pace), then Donegal to beat us .... but Mayo saved from relegation by the Rossies getting the first victory under their belt by beating Cavan  ;D  ;D  ;D
This will trigger Gay Sheerin to go on another rant .... "See, i feckin' told yee ... McStay and that good for nothing long aul bastard McHale don't give a damn about us. The first game all year that they actually prepared the team right was the one feckin' time that Mayo needed us to win .... and sure enough. We should have thrown the game in order to get those dirty rhubarbs bastards relegated"
Post by: Syferus on March 20, 2017, 02:14:05 PM
Quote from: blast05 on March 20, 2017, 02:07:23 PM

Given our record in McHale Park and Donegals form (and pace), then Donegal to beat us .... but Mayo saved from relegation by the Rossies getting the first victory under their belt by beating Cavan  ;D  ;D  ;D
This will trigger Gay Sheerin to go on another rant .... "See, i feckin' told yee ... McStay and that good for nothing long aul b**tard McHale don't give a damn about us. The first game all year that they actually prepared the team right was the one feckin' time that Mayo needed us to win .... and sure enough. We should have thrown the game in order to get those dirty rhubarbs b**tards relegated"

Why do you think I'm hoping ye flake the Cynicals..
Post by: J70 on March 20, 2017, 02:43:03 PM
Quote from: blast05 on March 20, 2017, 02:07:23 PM

This will trigger Gay Sheerin to go on another rant .... "See, i feckin' told yee ... McStay and that good for nothing long aul b**tard McHale don't give a damn about us. The first game all year that they actually prepared the team right was the one feckin' time that Mayo needed us to win .... and sure enough. We should have thrown the game in order to get those dirty rhubarbs b**tards relegated"

Title: Re: Tír Eoghain vs Maigh Eo, Healy Park, March 26th @2pm
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 20, 2017, 09:23:22 PM
Game is live on TG4. Mayo are getting plenty of live coverage this year anyway.
Post by: Rois on March 20, 2017, 09:53:43 PM
The game is at 3pm Fear, might be best changing the title of the thread.

Clocks change on Sat night/Sun morning - it'll be enough that we lose that hour, but not get to Omagh an hour earlier again. 
Post by: mayo.mick on March 20, 2017, 09:59:43 PM
Can't see us coming away from Omagh with 2 points, going on our recent performances  :(
Post by: bucko on March 20, 2017, 10:20:51 PM
Quote from: mayo.mick on March 20, 2017, 09:59:43 PM
Can't see us coming away from Omagh with 2 points, going on our recent performances  :(
Getting out with 1 point would be a massive result, however as you say given our form at the moment it's highly unlikely.
Post by: moysider on March 20, 2017, 10:36:55 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 20, 2017, 09:23:22 PM

That's good news. The wan game I can t get to.
Mind you it wouldn t be a big loss if it wasn t shown. We're hard watchin this spring - a lot of the time anyway.
No way should Tyrone be losing this one. We're far too dysfunctional at the moment.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 20, 2017, 11:21:49 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 20, 2017, 10:36:55 PM

Mind you it wouldn t be a big loss if it wasn t shown. We're hard watchin this spring - a lot of the time anyway.
No way should Tyrone be losing this one. We're far too dysfunctional at the moment.

All those all Ireland final loses to Kerry have at least taught you how to play the cute hoors! ;)
Post by: moysider on March 21, 2017, 12:24:14 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 20, 2017, 11:21:49 PM

All those all Ireland final loses to Kerry have at least taught you how to play the cute hoors! ;)

Yearrah, actually no. Cavan was really a comfortable win for them - as comfortable as a 2 point win can be.
Post by: clarshack on March 21, 2017, 09:39:21 AM

A lot of folk thought that last August as well and look what happened. Tyrone always struggle against Mayo no matter the competition.
Title: Re: Tír Eoghain vs Maigh Eo, Healy Park, March 26th @3pm
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 21, 2017, 10:57:17 AM
Think we could with a bit of a shake up for this.

I'd give Donnelly another chance at FF.

1. Morgan
2. Hamspey
3. McNamee
4. McCarron
5. T McCann
6. Burns
7. Meyler
8. C Cavanagh
9. S Cavanagh
10. Sludden
11. C McCann
12. Harte
13. McCurry (O'Neill if McCurry injured)
14. M Donnelly
15. Bradley

Was McCurry injured last week?
Post by: Jinxy on March 21, 2017, 11:13:54 AM
Would it be true to say that Mayo are Tyrone's number 1 bogey team of the last 20 years?
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 21, 2017, 11:42:05 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 21, 2017, 11:13:54 AM
Would it be true to say that Mayo are Tyrone's number 1 bogey team of the last 20 years?

This Mayo side is one I think we will struggle with, in particular their physicality and aerial power in the middle of the field. Styles make matches and I think Mayo and Donegal will be the ones that will pose the most problems for us.

In saying that, given where the two teams are now at this particular junction of the season then I'd expect a Tyrone victory. I'm also expecting a really testy game given the needs of both counties at the business end of the league and both wanting to state their summer credentials. There'll be plenty of needle in this one.
Post by: Goals_Will_Come on March 21, 2017, 11:48:04 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on March 21, 2017, 10:57:17 AM

1. Morgan
2. Hamspey
3. McNamee
4. McCarron
5. T McCann
6. Burns
7. Meyler
8. C Cavanagh
9. S Cavanagh
10. Sludden
11. C McCann
12. Harte
14. M Donnelly
15. Bradley

Like a bit of a mix up myself. Id go with:
1. N Morgan (rotation)
2. P Hampsey
3. R McNammee
4. HP McGeary
5. T McCann
6. R Brennan
7. K McGeary
8. C Cavanagh
9. F Burns
10. M Donnelly
11. N Sludden
12. P Harte
13. M Bradley
14. S Cavanagh
15. C Meyler (roaming)
Post by: Crete Boom on March 21, 2017, 11:54:31 AM

They beat us more often than not in the league but they do seem to struggle against us in the summer.

Harte & Co should handle us easy enough on Sunday and I am sure they will score a couple of goals at a minimum whereas we could be there for a few weeks before we fashion a goal chance of any description!!
Post by: Cunny Funt on March 21, 2017, 01:02:56 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on March 21, 2017, 11:54:31 AM

They beat us more often than not in the league but they do seem to struggle against us in the summer.

Harte & Co should handle us easy enough on Sunday and I am sure they will score a couple of goals at a minimum whereas we could be there for a few weeks before we fashion a goal chance of any description!!

Mayo have scored one goal (a penalty) in 5 NFL games and Tyrone the same 1 goal from 5 games. Don't be surprised if this game is all points and no goals.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 21, 2017, 02:44:33 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on March 21, 2017, 01:02:56 PM

Mayo have scored one goal (a penalty) in 5 NFL games and Tyrone the same 1 goal from 5 games. Don't be surprised if this game is all points and no goals.

If I had to bet I'd say that Mayo won't score a goal and that Tyrone will. Mayo hadn't a clue how to deal with the Cavan defence or the Monaghan defence when they played them, especially as regards creating goal chances- I don't remember Beggan or Galligan even having to make a save, certainly neither of them were put under much in the way of pressure ; I'd expect Tyrone and Donegal to be aiming to keep Mayo goalless when they play them as well.  By comparison Mayo have given up an absolute truckload of goal chances and only for Clarke making a ton of saves could be a lot worse off (Clarke picked up 2 if not 3 MOTM awards already in the league which is a very bad sign imo) The only hope is that Mayo go back to the sweeper system and I don't rate the odds of that happening as being that high, but it's tough to know.

Mayo have scored 1-68 so far versus Tyrone's 1-64. However Mayo have conceded 4-65 (77) to Tyrone's 2-50 (56) which is a fair difference over 5 games, especially when you take into the account the number of saves Clarke has had to make as opposed to Morgan and O'Neill have had to make.
Post by: macdanger2 on March 21, 2017, 05:37:52 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on March 21, 2017, 01:02:56 PM

Did we not get a goal against monaghan in the first half? Freeman or Regan?

Edit: turns out we didn't. Must have been thinking of the fermanagh game last summer
Post by: Fuzzman on March 23, 2017, 03:38:46 PM
I wonder will Mickey make many changes tonight for the game?
I presume Lee Brennan and Mulgrew will come back into the squad.

We gotta win this one now if we have any chance of making the league final as it will be a tough game in Killarney.
The Mayo lads are talking like they're not that fussed about the league all year but as Mickey said they are very hard to judge from game to game.
It would be nice to finally get our favourite three on the 40
Post by: rosnarun on March 23, 2017, 04:31:17 PM
is there any set of supporters that turn on their team as quickly as mayo as though there is a deep lack of  belief that we will never win anything and just waiting for the Confirmation Bias .
mayo are having a poor enough league so far but nothing major to worry about but to listen to the general tone from mayo supporters would lead you to think we lost to Roscommon or worse
we are in the same position at this stage last year and yet came within a lousy refs call of winning the all-Ireland.
A little bit of Faith goes a long way
Post by: redhandofgod on March 23, 2017, 04:45:03 PM
Quote from: Goals_Will_Come on March 21, 2017, 11:48:04 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on March 21, 2017, 10:57:17 AM

1. Morgan
2. Hamspey
3. McNamee
4. McCarron
5. T McCann
6. Burns
7. Meyler
8. C Cavanagh
9. S Cavanagh
10. Sludden
11. C McCann
12. Harte
14. M Donnelly
15. Bradley

Like a bit of a mix up myself. Id go with:
1. N Morgan (rotation)
2. P Hampsey
3. R McNammee
4. HP McGeary
5. T McCann
6. R Brennan
7. K McGeary
8. C Cavanagh
9. F Burns
10. M Donnelly
11. N Sludden
12. P Harte
13. M Bradley
14. S Cavanagh
15. C Meyler (roaming)

Goals will come - Really like the look of that team. Id like to see Munroe given a go at 6.
Post by: bucko on March 23, 2017, 04:52:13 PM
Frustration more so than losing the faith, we had an opportunity to all but secure our division 1 status last Sunday and we blew it all down to a poor performance in many areas on the day. Staying up is not impossible but is now a very tough task given the opposition in our last two games. The fact that we are still coughing up goal chances to the opposition in every game, that we keep using the football equivalent of banging our heads off a brick wall when it comes to dealing with massed defences (ultimately the brick wall always wins), that we keep making the same mistakes and don't appear to learn from them only adds to that frustration. To my mind we have only produced a good level of performance once in the league and that was the second half v Kerry. We're going to need that standard plus some more to have a good chance of a result on Sunday.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 23, 2017, 05:41:09 PM
Quote from: bucko on March 23, 2017, 04:52:13 PM. To my mind we have only produced a good level of performance once in the league and that was the second half v Kerry. We're going to need that standard plus some more to have a good chance of a result on Sunday.

I really wouldn't be putting a lot of faith in the 2nd half performance against Kerry - Kerry had lost both Enright and Young and had a raft of U21/squad players on the pitch in the 2nd half. They also looked a side who felt they were so on top in the first half (where they had a host of goal chances) and when they took their foot off the accelerator and once Mayo started upping the intensity in the 2nd half they struggled to respond.
Post by: bucko on March 23, 2017, 07:58:22 PM
It's the intensity bit that I'd highlight, because we haven't shown a whole lot of it in our last two matches now, especially from a number of the more senior players. We've shown no real bite, no good fair but hard hits, no hunger to win breaks or dirty 50/50 ball. It's something that we really need to get back into our game if we want to get something out of Omagh on Sunday.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 23, 2017, 08:46:28 PM
Quote from: bucko on March 23, 2017, 07:58:22 PM
It's the intensity bit that I'd highlight, because we haven't shown a whole lot of it in our last two matches now, especially from a number of the more senior players. We've shown no real bite, no good fair but hard hits, no hunger to win breaks or dirty 50/50 ball. It's something that we really need to get back into our game if we want to get something out of Omagh on Sunday.

Mayo did have the greater intensity but I think at least part of that was Kerry being very disjointed. At the moment I think Tyrone will win this weekend and Mayo will beat Donegal the following weekend - I think Donegal have little/no interest in getting to a league final this year while Mayo will pull a performance out of the bag to avoid the drop.
Post by: bucko on March 23, 2017, 09:14:00 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on March 23, 2017, 08:46:28 PM
Quote from: bucko on March 23, 2017, 07:58:22 PM

Mayo did have the greater intensity but I think at least part of that was Kerry being very disjointed. At the moment I think Tyrone will win this weekend and Mayo will beat Donegal the following weekend - I think Donegal have little/no interest in getting to a league final this year while Mayo will pull a performance out of the bag to avoid the drop.
You're probably right, I wasn't at the game myself so was listening on madwest. But what I could gather was that while Kerry did have injuries we also re jigged our defence and midfield, o'donaghue came into corner back, Durcan to wing back, Vaughan back to the other wing and Coen to MF. It sounded like after those changes that Kerry didn't open us up for the rest of the game as they did in the first half. Even on paper that back line has been far more balanced than anything we've put out in the rest of the league. For the life of me I just cannot understand the playing of Paddy Durcan at corner back. As regards this Sunday, I would agree with a Tyrone win, Healy Park is a hard enough to place to go to at the best of times, never mind our form coming into it. I'm not sure if we can up it enough to get some decent result out of it. But given the history between the teams it wouldn't surprise me if we did!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 23, 2017, 09:48:26 PM
And for the latest instalment in the 2017 Project Fear Citadel Healy Park experiment ;) ...

Cluiche: Maigh Eo v Tír Eoghain

1 – Niall Morgan – Éadan na dTorc
2 – Pádraig Hampsey – Oileán a'Ghuail
3 – Ronan McNamee – Achadh Uí Aráin
4 – Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mór
5 – Rory Brennan – Trí Leac
6 – Justin McMahon – An Omaigh
7 – Tiernan McCann – Coill an Chlochair
8 – Colm Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
9 – Declan McClure – Cluain Eo
10 – Kieran McGeary – Cabhán a'Chaortainn
11 – Niall Sludden – An Droim Mhór
12 – Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
13 – Mark Bradley – Coill an Chlochair
14 – Sean Cavanagh (c) – An Mhaigh
15 – Matthew Donnelly – Trí Leac

16 – Mickey O'Neill – Cluain Eo
17 – Conall McCann – Coill an Chlochair
18 – Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin
19 – Darren McCurry – Éadan na dTorc
20 – Hugh Pat McGeary – Cabhán a'Chaortainn
21 – Ronan McNabb – An Droim Mhór
22 – Padraig McNulty – Dún Geanainn
23 – Cathal McShane – E. R. Uí Néill
24 – Conor Meyler – An Omaigh
25 – Jonathan Monroe – An Charraig Mhór
26 – Ronan O'Neill – An Omaigh
Post by: Fuzzman on March 23, 2017, 10:09:03 PM
Pretty much our strongest 15 I'd say.
Tight call between McGeary and Meyler I'd say.
Post by: bucko on March 23, 2017, 10:22:07 PM
I see Peter Harte is playing in the half forward line these days,  out of interest how is he performing there? Lee Keegan was tried in the half forward line for ourselves a few years ago without much success if I remember it properly. Higgins played in the HF line in the latter end of the 2013 c'ship but it wasn't persevered with.  But given the options we have in the half back line when we've a full hand to pick from and our issues in our half forward line with lack of pace maybe it's something we may need to look at again.
Post by: Tubberman on March 23, 2017, 10:29:35 PM
Quote from: bucko on March 23, 2017, 10:22:07 PM
I see Peter Harte is playing in the half forward line these days,  out of interest how is he performing there? Lee Keegan was tried in the half forward line for ourselves a few years ago without much success if I remember it properly. But given the options we have in the half back line when we've a full hand to pick from and our issues in our half forward line with lack of pace maybe it's something we may need to look at again.

I'd move paddy durcan up before I'd move Lee
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 23, 2017, 10:32:06 PM
I see Peter Harte is playing in the half forward line these days,  out of interest how is he performing there?...

He's actually our top scorer right now, though a good percentage of those are frees. He generally does well wherever he's played between the 45s.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 23, 2017, 10:34:29 PM
I see Peter Harte is playing in the half forward line these days,  out of interest how is he performing there? Lee Keegan was tried in the half forward line for ourselves a few years ago without much success if I remember it properly. But given the options we have in the half back line when we've a full hand to pick from and our issues in our half forward line with lack of pace maybe it's something we may need to look at again.

Very well.

I would have been a big critic of his until he moved from 6 to the half forward line during the 2015 season. He's really flourished since then, he's had the freedom to express himself.

I don't think that team will start though, I see the likes of Meyler, McNabb and McCurry coming in.

No Burns in the 26. Injured?
Post by: omagh_gael on March 23, 2017, 10:58:00 PM
Very important game for us at the weekend. Win and we're back on track after the dreadful performance last weekend. Lose and our momentum will take a massive hit.

What's the chances of seeing either Aiden or Seamus O'Se on Sunday? I believe they lined out for their club recently.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 23, 2017, 11:11:39 PM
Good to see McNabb back in the squad. He's one of our tougher no nonsense defenders.
I think last weekend is the wakeup call we needed as we were coasting a bit.
As Mickey always said you learn a lot more when you lose.

Re. Keegan. I think most would say he's wasted marking the other teams best player. Needs freedom to attack
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 23, 2017, 11:27:49 PM
What's Cabhan an Chaorthainn in English?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 23, 2017, 11:32:47 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 23, 2017, 11:27:49 PM

Pomeroy, you incorrigible anglophone! ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 23, 2017, 11:34:13 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 23, 2017, 10:58:00 PM
What's the chances of seeing either Aiden or Seamus O'Se on Sunday? I believe they lined out for their club recently.

Big, it seems, with both having participated for their club Breaffy in their last game out -- bring them on! :)
Post by: bigpackiechestout on March 24, 2017, 10:47:32 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 23, 2017, 11:34:13 PM

Big, it seems, with both having participated for their club Breaffy in their last game out -- bring them on! :)

Was Seamy injured over the winter or why is he only returning now?

What's the story with Aiden? I see he was playing basketball over the winter so I'd assume he wasn't carrying an injury and has basically been taking a break until now? What is the thinking there, Aiden is only a young man of 26 and I can't understand why he'd need such an elongated break over the Winter. As it stands he will only play two games now before Mayo begin the championship and after not playing all year up until now I'd be surprised if he starts on Sunday. Can't imagine it would be good for morale in the Mayo set up if one of their best players and talisman decides he can't be bothered lining out for the team for half the season.
Post by: Crete Boom on March 24, 2017, 10:53:44 AM
Quote from: bigpackiechestout on March 24, 2017, 10:47:32 AM

What's the story with Aiden? I see he was playing basketball over the winter so I'd assume he wasn't carrying an injury and has basically been taking a break until now? What is the thinking there, Aiden is only a young man of 26 and I can't understand why he'd need such an elongated break over the Winter. As it stands he will only play two games now before Mayo begin the championship and after not playing all year up until now I'd be surprised if he starts on Sunday. Can't imagine it would be good for morale in the Mayo set up if one of their best players and talisman decides he can't be bothered lining out for the team for half the season.

AOS got injured playing basketball in Feb and I think Seamí was carrying an injury last season and had an op over the winter to cure it which has kept him out until now.
Post by: bigpackiechestout on March 24, 2017, 11:01:13 AM
Quote from: Crete Boom on March 24, 2017, 10:53:44 AM
Quote from: bigpackiechestout on March 24, 2017, 10:47:32 AM

AOS got injured playing basketball in Feb and I think Seamí was carrying an injury last season and had an op over the winter to cure it which has kept him out until now.

Fair enough, that explains that. I'd still question the wisdom of a serious intercounty footballer playing basketball in February though..
Post by: From the Bunker on March 24, 2017, 11:04:08 AM
Both Seamie and Aido were injured! Seamie played the All Ireland Replay with a torn groin AFAIK. Aido got injured playing Basketball. No point in rushing them back? We know what they have to offer and giving squad players game time is more important. It's all about getting ready for the Summer!

Aido was playing Basketball pre-christmas. I was told he was encouraged by Management to play. The theory is it could improve his control and laying off the ball in tight situations.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 24, 2017, 12:48:19 PM
I have a funny feeling Mayo might win this one.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 24, 2017, 02:02:35 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 24, 2017, 12:48:19 PM

(http://s4.postimg.org/9722b0gkd/father_ted_careful_now.jpg)
Post by: Rois on March 24, 2017, 02:26:58 PM
After the Donegal game last week, I have a similar feeling. 
Post by: Fuzzman on March 24, 2017, 02:44:11 PM
The last 3 league fixtures between the sides were all won by Tyrone
2013 Mayo    1.11 - 1.12 Tyrone
2014 Tyrone 2.15 – 0.15   Mayo
2015 Mayo    1.07 - 1.11 Tyrone

Mickey has named probably our strongest team and it will be good to see Sludden getting back to the sort of form he started the league with. Mattie will probably be feeling a bit frustrated having not really played well in the FF line as yet. I would expect a reaction from the lads after such a poor showing last week away to Donegal and they know if they've any chance of appearing in a league final they gotta win this one.
I wonder will Keegan be marking Sean again this time?
Post by: thebuzz on March 24, 2017, 03:35:18 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 23, 2017, 11:32:47 PM

My brother lives at Altmore and his sons used to play for Pomeroy. I'd have to give the benefit of the doubt to Farrandeelin because I didn't know either.
Post by: Ball Hopper on March 24, 2017, 04:35:37 PM
Quote from: thebuzz on March 24, 2017, 03:35:18 PM

My brother lives at Altmore and his sons used to play for Pomeroy. I'd have to give the benefit of the doubt to Farrandeelin because I didn't know either.

More from wikipedia giving a better answer:

Cavanakeeran (Irish: Cabhan an Chaorthainn (Hill of the rowan tree) is a townland in County Tyrone, Northern Ireland. It is situated in the historic barony of Dungannon Middle and the civil parish of Pomeroy and covers an area of 894 acres.

The town of Pomeroy itself is situated in Cavanakeeran.

Post by: Dire Ear on March 24, 2017, 05:10:43 PM
Think Meyler and McNulty could be v close to making the championship team
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 24, 2017, 05:20:12 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on March 24, 2017, 04:35:37 PM
Quote from: thebuzz on March 24, 2017, 03:35:18 PM

More from wikipedia giving a better answer:

Cavanakeeran (Irish: Cabhan an Chaorthainn (Hill of the rowan tree) is a townland in County Tyrone, Northern Ireland. It is situated in the historic barony of Dungannon Middle and the civil parish of Pomeroy and covers an area of 894 acres.

The town of Pomeroy itself is situated in Cavanakeeran.

Nice to learn the placenames and why they're named the way they are.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 24, 2017, 05:54:23 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on March 24, 2017, 05:10:43 PM

Why do you say that Dire Ear? I would expect Meyler but I'll be surprised if McNulty makes it.
A long way to go yet to championship time.
There is huge competition for those half back and half forward lines
T.McCann, Justy, Harte and Sludden are probably the only shoe ins.
McNabb, Munroe, McGeary, Brennan, Burns, McCrory, Meyler and McShane are all a much of a muchness.

Post by: Rois on March 24, 2017, 08:04:25 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 24, 2017, 05:20:12 PM

Indeed it is, I do the accounts for the Ulster Place Names Project - they used to get public funding but the only money they get these days is when a council wants to name a road or street and the experts give their fee to the project. My fee for doing the accounts was a jar of home made chutney. Very devoted people doing good work.
Post by: Cunny Funt on March 24, 2017, 09:30:59 PM
Two changes to the Mayo team. Barrett,Regan given starts with Vaughan loftus dropped to the bench.

Speaking of dropped. This lad wasn't given much of a chance to impress. http://www.con-telegraph.ie/news/roundup/articles/2017/03/24/4137277-shock-as-irwin-is-let-go-from-mayo-senior-gaa-squad/
Post by: giveherlong on March 25, 2017, 09:52:48 AM
Game on tv?
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 25, 2017, 10:34:09 AM
Quote from: giveherlong on March 25, 2017, 09:52:48 AM
Game on tv?
TG4 live.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 25, 2017, 12:09:10 PM
So this is the Mayo team I take it:

David Clarke, Brendan Harrison, Keith Higgins, Paddy Durcan, Colm Boyle, Lee Keegan, Chris Barrett, Tom Parsons, Danny Kirby, Fergal Boland, Cillian O'Connor, Conor O'Shea, Kevin McLoughlin, Andy Moran, Evan Regan.
Post by: Dire Ear on March 25, 2017, 01:18:28 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 24, 2017, 05:54:23 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on March 24, 2017, 05:10:43 PM

Why do you say that Dire Ear? I would expect Meyler but I'll be surprised if McNulty makes it.
A long way to go yet to championship time.
There is huge competition for those half back and half forward lines
T.McCann, Justy, Harte and Sludden are probably the only shoe ins.
McNabb, Munroe, McGeary, Brennan, Burns, McCrory, Meyler and McShane are all a much of a muchness.
I think McClure is being given plenty of time but just can't see him being in the starting come c'ship ; well maybe v Derry when Harry could play!! I would have big hopes ( maybe misjudged ) for McNulty in midfield.
Post by: bucko on March 25, 2017, 03:33:12 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 25, 2017, 12:09:10 PM

David Clarke, Brendan Harrison, Keith Higgins, Paddy Durcan, Colm Boyle, Lee Keegan, Chris Barrett, Tom Parsons, Danny Kirby, Fergal Boland, Cillian O'Connor, Conor O'Shea, Kevin McLoughlin, Andy Moran, Evan Regan.
Swap Durcan and Barrett's positions and you have it.
Post by: sambostar on March 25, 2017, 04:51:54 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 24, 2017, 02:44:11 PM
The last 3 league fixtures between the sides were all won by Tyrone
2013 Mayo    1.11 - 1.12 Tyrone
2014 Tyrone 2.15 – 0.15   Mayo
2015 Mayo    1.07 - 1.11 Tyrone

Mickey has named probably our strongest team and it will be good to see Sludden getting back to the sort of form he started the league with. Mattie will probably be feeling a bit frustrated having not really played well in the FF line as yet. I would expect a reaction from the lads after such a poor showing last week away to Donegal and they know if they've any chance of appearing in a league final they gotta win this one.
I wonder will Keegan be marking Sean again this time?
I remember being at the match in Omagh in 2014. Matty & McCurry played inside that day & ran riot in the 1st half. Hopefully similar tactics & result tomorrow
Post by: Jinxy on March 25, 2017, 06:05:54 PM
Quote from: Rois on March 24, 2017, 08:04:25 PM

Indeed it is, I do the accounts for the Ulster Place Names Project - they used to get public funding but the only money they get these days is when a council wants to name a road or street and the experts give their fee to the project. My fee for doing the accounts was a jar of home made chutney. Very devoted people doing good work.

Hope you declared it to the tax man.
Post by: Rois on March 25, 2017, 10:23:40 PM
Don't joke - I do have to do a personal tax return and I reported it. Got me in a bit of a pickle.
Post by: southtyronegael on March 25, 2017, 10:50:02 PM
i remember the match in omagh 2104 too. i think mattie donnelly scored 4 or 5 points from play in full forward. 2 games later he was in centre half back.
Post by: reddgnhand on March 25, 2017, 11:31:31 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 25, 2017, 10:34:09 AM
Quote from: giveherlong on March 25, 2017, 09:52:48 AM
Game on tv?
TG4 live.

Syferus & main street in front of the tv in their y fronts and a box of tissues . Tyrone on the box.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 26, 2017, 02:10:00 AM
Quote from: bucko on March 25, 2017, 03:33:12 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 25, 2017, 12:09:10 PM

Swap Durcan and Barrett's positions and you have it.

GRMA a chara bucko.  We're not quite screwed, one hopes ;)
Post by: macdanger2 on March 26, 2017, 12:31:24 PM
Hoping for a good performance today. At our best, I think we're still marginally better than Tyrone but on all evidence so far this year, we should get a tanking here. However, it's backs to the wall stuff so you'd expect a bit of heart in our performance and if that's good enough so be it.
Post by: Talks a good game on March 26, 2017, 12:56:46 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on March 26, 2017, 12:31:24 PM
Hoping for a good performance today. At our best, I think we're still marginally better than Tyrone but on all evidence so far this year, we should get a tanking here. However, it's backs to the wall stuff so you'd expect a bit of heart in our performance and if that's good enough so be it.

I can't see a tanking in any circumstances. Always close games and yous always have the measure of us.I can see a draw being the outcome.
Post by: ONeill on March 26, 2017, 01:59:03 PM
Mon Tyrone. Let's get wired into these bandaged cursed bastids.
Post by: maigheo on March 26, 2017, 03:00:22 PM
Looks like Mayo are going for a dour 0.  0 draw with Nally and Drake coming into the team for OShea and Reagan
Post by: joemamas on March 26, 2017, 03:02:55 PM
Quote from: Talks a good game on March 26, 2017, 12:56:46 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on March 26, 2017, 12:31:24 PM

I can't see a tanking in any circumstances. Always close games and yous always have the measure of us.I can see a draw being the outcome.

Tyrone by 4+
Mayo just not playing well at moment , forwards anemic.
Hopefully it wiil sort it self out by summer
Could be a defensive struggle given Mayo's changes
Post by: joemamas on March 26, 2017, 03:13:15 PM
Two pissy yellow cards for Mayo
Tyrone five wides so far Mayo none
Post by: joemamas on March 26, 2017, 03:19:31 PM
Stupid tackle by Sludden black card for one of Tyrones best players IMO
Mayo up 4-3 still to register a wide
Post by: moysider on March 26, 2017, 03:20:06 PM

Rough black on Sludden. Looked accidental to me.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on March 26, 2017, 03:23:12 PM
Accidental? What attempt did he make to play the ball; none! Play the man yes!
Post by: joemamas on March 26, 2017, 03:44:13 PM
Great game so far
Mayo working their backsides off up by one.
A lot of players have stepped up.
Post by: Cunny Funt on March 26, 2017, 03:45:34 PM
Much better game than the All Ireland quarter final last August. A rare Mayo goal from play the difference between the sides. Both black cards harsh given by a poor ref.
Post by: king of leon on March 26, 2017, 03:46:38 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on March 26, 2017, 03:23:12 PM

To me he looked like he attempted to tackle the ball albeit a bit clumsy. Keegans one looked more worthy of a black imo
Post by: In hiding on March 26, 2017, 03:50:58 PM
Both black cards were wrong decisions
Post by: moysider on March 26, 2017, 03:55:50 PM

With Cavan getting a draw Mayo need something here to stay up.
Post by: joemamas on March 26, 2017, 04:10:27 PM
Mayo cannot literally buy a free
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 26, 2017, 04:35:21 PM
Very frustrating display.

Enough chances to win 5 or 6 but the decision making was terrible.

McShane is not county standard, McCurry was dreadful too.

Though Moran gave McCarron the runaround and Colm Cavanagh didn't seem to carry out his usual role effectively at all.
Post by: galwayman on March 26, 2017, 04:36:52 PM
Funny to read the hysterics after the last 2 Mayo performances.
They were obviously experimenting.
Keegan and Durcan in the Fb line and playing man on man.
They were never going to do that in a serous game against the Dubs.
They will sets up like today when they meet a good side in the summer.
And they will be very hard to beat as well
Post by: Itchy on March 26, 2017, 04:37:14 PM
Useless Tyrone pricks.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 26, 2017, 04:37:57 PM
Some questionable decisions there from the ref in the last few minutes.

When Mattie Donnelly was bursting through near the end I thought a Mayo defender had a quick grab of his jersey before the ref blew for a free out.

Still don't know where the free out came from after the Parsons shoulder on Cavanagh. Tyrone player recovered the loose ball and Lane was pointing for a free out.

Tyrone player lucky to avoid a red for a slap to the head.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 26, 2017, 04:39:01 PM
Quote from: In hiding on March 26, 2017, 03:50:58 PM

The Mayo black cards were correct decision.

Sludden should never have been black carded but Donnelly certainly should have.
Post by: randomusername on March 26, 2017, 04:42:21 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on March 26, 2017, 04:35:21 PM

Though Moran gave McCarron the runaround and Colm Cavanagh didn't seem to carry out his usual role effectively at all.

Thought McCarron marked Moran out of it. Least of Tyrone's problems.
Post by: joemamas on March 26, 2017, 04:42:57 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 26, 2017, 04:37:57 PM
Some questionable decisions there from the ref in the last few minutes.

What about prior 74 mins
I would say free count was almost 2-1 to Tyrone
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 26, 2017, 04:44:05 PM
Conor Lane is a terrible ref. Some awful decisions there, neither sets of forwards could buy a free for the last 15 mins. Tyrone definitely deserved at least one. Great hit from Parsons.

Thought Lees black was harsh. Should have been a red at the end there, trampish clothesline on COC.

Great to get the win
Post by: The Trap on March 26, 2017, 04:45:07 PM
Carbon copy game to Croke park last year, not a lot learned since. The wait goes on to win against one of the big three, maybe in Kerry next week........
Post by: Minder on March 26, 2017, 04:55:09 PM
So we are no longer at the "Tyrone are the only team that can give Dublin a game" ?
Post by: ONeill on March 26, 2017, 05:02:03 PM
Fcuk sake. The amount of money we spend in Westport.
Post by: In hiding on March 26, 2017, 05:05:26 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on March 26, 2017, 04:39:01 PM

I think you are wrong
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 26, 2017, 05:23:54 PM
Quote from: randomusername on March 26, 2017, 04:42:21 PM

Moran won pretty much every ball in front.
Post by: joemamas on March 26, 2017, 05:24:20 PM
Truly shocked at tyrone wide/kick into goalkeeper count, i would bet it was 20+.
Crazy. I did think they could live with Dublin, but with forwards like that not sure now.

Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 26, 2017, 05:28:08 PM
Quote from: In hiding on March 26, 2017, 05:05:26 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on March 26, 2017, 04:39:01 PM

I think you are wrong

Keegan wrapped his two hands around McNabb as he was bursting through and brought him to the ground. Donnelly should have been black carded for the same thing later on. Sludden's was a joke of a decision, probably not even a foul to be honest as he slaps the ball. Kirby's was a black card.

Lane is just a terrible ref, didn't have a telling impact on the game as the decisions balanced themselves out more or less but I'd dread going into a big game with him being the man in the middle next week.

Loughran's one near the end was a nasty one and he'll probably be looking at a ban. Mattie Donnelly might also be getting one as well.
Post by: ONeill on March 26, 2017, 05:28:25 PM
Forward play was a mess. Used the early footpass in and it was a healthy option til Mayo got on top of that. Reverted to type then. Tyrone did leave 2 men at times in the FF line but they were completely static. McCurry lumping a Hail Mary on top of a double marked Bradley summed it up. Poor decision making, poor shooting. We don't have a top 4 forward unit.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 26, 2017, 05:28:53 PM
If you look at Don't Foul's shooting stats for Tyrone in games over the last few years they have consistently been significantly worse than the likes of Dublin, Kerry and Mayo in terms of their shooting returns so their poor shooting performance today should come as no shock to anyone.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 26, 2017, 05:38:10 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 26, 2017, 05:28:25 PM
Forward play was a mess. Used the early footpass in and it was a healthy option til Mayo got on top of that. Reverted to type then. Tyrone did leave 2 men at times in the FF line but they were completely static. McCurry lumping a Hail Mary on top of a double marked Bradley summed it up. Poor decision making, poor shooting. We don't have a top 4 forward unit.

Bradley did have a good game to be fair and Sean Cavanagh did really well too.

McCurry must have missed about 6 efforts at goal with none of them really terribly difficult opportunities. He was absolutley dreadful and looked a player completely bereft of confidence.

The worrying thing is the same old failings. Harte isn't the answer on frees either, missed a bad one in the second half that was fairly scorable.

More bad that good things to take out of that game, good to see McNabb back and felt he had a good game.
Post by: Cunny Funt on March 26, 2017, 06:03:08 PM
After a good 1st half the 2nd half became a dogfight contest. For the 2nd time in 7 months Tyrone were more or less beaten at their own game and when it was put up to them they were fairly toothless in attack. How many times was ball kicked into the arms of David Clarke? A well earned,deserved and much needed win for Mayo.
Post by: tyroneman on March 26, 2017, 06:09:15 PM
Grim. f**king Grim. As uninspired, letharigic, pedestrian, aimless, clueless a performance in the forwards as I've seen for a long time. Mayo must be laughing themlselves silly on the way home wondering how they manged to come out of Omagh with a win, as Tyrone lost this game all by themsleves.

25m frees and no pressure shots from play were dropped into the keepers hands. Hail mary high balls were hoiked into a 5ft 7 forward. Blind alley running up and down the sides was the norm before receyling to midfield and repeating on the other side of the pitch.

We have no idea what to do in our forward line. McShane at FF, Mattie at FF, Sean at FF, McCurry and Sparky here there and everywhere. Transition as slow as milk turning. Until we get a couple of proper, top 3 county standard out and out forwards we will get nowhere.

We have an army of same type players. Busy bees who run all day but don't have any creativity in them. Worker ants who will tackle, harry and get turnovers but who don't know what to do with the ball once they do.

Sludden, Harte and Sparky are the only one's who seem to have any footbal nous about them and if they are bottled up (or off the pitch) then we are done for.

It's just getting tedious watching us grind out wins against worse tams and slip to pedestrian defeats against the better teams.

This Tyrone side are as far awar from an AI as ever. Beat Dublin? - we need to start with beating Mayo, Kerry, Donegal and the like first.

And McShane....how in the world does he keep getting game time. He has shown nothing, nada, zip for the seniors. Time to give someone else a go.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 26, 2017, 06:31:48 PM
I thought part of the difference was when Paddy Duncan
Got the ball in scoring range he took it on. Late on for Tyrone yer 7 came
Onto a great ball and didn't even consider shooting. If u don't have a McManus or the like u need scores from backs
Post by: ONeill on March 26, 2017, 06:34:52 PM
....And our scoring back was black carded for having the audacity to tackle.
Post by: Maroon Manc on March 26, 2017, 06:39:28 PM
Lane was very poor today. I didn't think any of those players deserved black cards yet he failed to give the Tyrone defender one when Drake was going through on goal and brought down.

What was the wide count? Tyrone appeared to have a lot more scoring opportunities, they kicked 3 very easy chances into Clarke's hand. I thought Moran was poor today, looked too heavy to me.

I haven't see much of Tyrone this year but look to have the same problems as last year, don't have the forwards to make the step up.

Too many writing Mayo's obituary the last few weeks, I won't be surprised to see them back in HQ on finals day but I'm sure Rochford will be disappointed he's not unearthed a scoring forward. 
Post by: Jinxy on March 26, 2017, 06:45:49 PM
Can anyone confirm if Tom Parsons made it onto the bus home?

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C722NkAX0AAyCua.jpg:large)
Post by: clarshack on March 26, 2017, 06:48:43 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on March 26, 2017, 06:03:08 PM
After a good 1st half the 2nd half became a dogfight contest. For the 2nd time in 7 months Tyrone were more or less beaten at their own game and when it was put up to them they were fairly toothless in attack. How many times was ball kicked into the arms of David Clarke? A well earned,deserved and much needed win for Mayo.

Clarke must have thought it was Christmas today
Post by: joemamas on March 26, 2017, 06:49:40 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 26, 2017, 06:45:49 PM

??
Post by: joemamas on March 26, 2017, 06:50:39 PM
Just saw that now
LOL
Post by: joemamas on March 26, 2017, 06:57:43 PM
Quote from: joemamas on March 26, 2017, 06:49:40 PM

??

You what if that kid was from Tyrone he probably missed.
Post by: Jinxy on March 26, 2017, 07:04:19 PM
I thought they got rid of all the guns.  ;D
Post by: ballinaman on March 26, 2017, 07:13:26 PM
Don't think Mayo respect possession of the ball enough. Some brutal handling and basic skill errors from us today. Going by how Brian Reape played last night for 21s...definitely think he's worth a look now, James Carr has power too.Ball retention inside was shocking...Tyrone had a heap of wides but at least they created scoring chances.
Post by: Jinxy on March 26, 2017, 07:19:16 PM
Lads, I know the Mayo medical team were already dealing with a suspected concussion but I was alarmed at,
a) how long it took for anybody to go to help Cillian O'Connor after he got that blow to the head
and,
b) the fact that he was then left on the field till the final whistle.
He was staggering like a newborn foal and if he got another knock after the initial one, he could have been in serious bother.
In that instance, the ref and his officials HAVE to step in and look after the player's best interests.
If there's any doubt about him, get him off, and I don't care if he has to be dragged kicking and screaming.
Post by: seanmc123 on March 26, 2017, 07:27:49 PM
Quote from: randomusername on March 26, 2017, 04:42:21 PM

McCarron was our best player, I thought he was class, McNabb not far behind. Problem is we can't score

Post by: ballinaman on March 26, 2017, 07:30:05 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 26, 2017, 07:19:16 PM
Lads, I know the Mayo medical team were already dealing with a suspected concussion but I was alarmed at,
a) how long it took for anybody to go to help Cillian O'Connor after he got that blow to the head
and,
b) the fact that he was then left on the field till the final whistle.
He was staggering like a newborn foal and if he got another knock after the initial one, he could have been in serious bother.
In that instance, the ref and his officials HAVE to step in and look after the player's best interests.
If there's any doubt about him, get him off, and I don't care if he has to be dragged kicking and screaming.
A) Dealing with Vaughan and on far side of pitch.
B) line of sight may have been obscured for medical team, can't see how he wouldn't have been taken off if they had seen him wobbling. Nobody watching the TV linked to medical team, definitely is warranted.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on March 26, 2017, 07:45:18 PM
Was at the game today, thought Moran was exceptional leading the line personally. Out in front, always ready to go again - almost a direct contrast to some of the Tyrone forwards. Some of the referees calls were odd for both sides but when he wasn't centre of attention it was a good game.

Tyrone's wide count was crazy, again - it's a major problem but Mark Bradley was a great stand out, he'll need to watch that dummy coming into the summer as a marked man now and probably Tyrone's best forward at present.

Good test for both teams, this Mayo side seem to have Tyrone's number but I suspect we might see this again before the end of the summer.
Post by: seanmc123 on March 26, 2017, 07:53:49 PM
Took off with about 20 mins to go? ! If he was affective I think he would of been kept on no ?
Post by: joemamas on March 26, 2017, 08:00:46 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on March 26, 2017, 07:45:18 PM
Was at the game today, thought Moran was exceptional leading the line personally. Out in front, always ready to go again - almost a direct contrast to some of the Tyrone forwards. Some of the referees calls were odd for both sides but when he wasn't centre of attention it was a good game.

Tyrone's wide count was crazy, again - it's a major problem but Mark Bradley was a great stand out, he'll need to watch that dummy coming into the summer as a marked man now and probably Tyrone's best forward at present.

Good test for both teams, this Mayo side seem to have Tyrone's number but I suspect we might see this again before the end of the summer.

You may want to look at game again before coming to your initial conclusion.
Andy turned the ball over time and time again, before finally getting subbed.
He tried hard but at this stage, time for plan B.
Post by: larryin89 on March 26, 2017, 08:03:18 PM
Just back and reading the after match comments , I find it truly amazing that not a mention of the utter dirt from Tyrone at the end.
Post by: Syferus on March 26, 2017, 08:06:18 PM
As predicted. These was supposedly the two closest challengers to Dublin going head-to-head. Christ, our sport is fairly fúcked.

Ros to beat Cavan next weekend and rescue Mayo..
Post by: omagh_gael on March 26, 2017, 08:17:51 PM
Dire sure shite from us, a half decent u-14 team would have had a better conversion rate in the 2nd half. Absolutely scandalous that Colm and Peter didn't hit the target, 1even fecking making it over crossbar height, in that last quarter. This percentage shooting and constant recycling of half chances is starting to grate. How the f**k we managed to lose that game I will never know. At least McLaughlin had the balls to go for the winner and the technique to clear the bar!!

Jinxy, thought the Cillian incident at the end was strange. He appeared to be completely spaced out but the blow struck him in the neck. Can you get concussed in that way. Btw, RoN was a stupid numpty for that lunge, totally pointless and he deserves a ban as well as Mattie for the oetukent white with AoSe at the end
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 26, 2017, 08:27:13 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 26, 2017, 08:17:51 PM
Dire sure shite from us, a half decent u-14 team would have had a better conversion rate in the 2nd half. Absolutely scandalous that Colm and Peter didn't hit the target, 1even fecking making it over crossbar height, in that last quarter. This percentage shooting and constant recycling of half chances is starting to grate. How the f**k we managed to lose that game I will never know. At least McLaughlin had the balls to go for the winner and the technique to clear the bar!!

Jinxy, thought the Cillian incident at the end was strange. He appeared to be completely spaced out but the blow struck him in the neck. Can you get concussed in that way. Btw, RoN was a stupid numpty for that lunge, totally pointless and he deserves a ban as well as Mattie for the oetukent white with AoSe at the end

It was Harry Loughran who caught O'Connor.

He must have been a late replacement for O'Neill in the matchday squad.
Post by: Jinxy on March 26, 2017, 08:27:44 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 26, 2017, 08:17:51 PM

Not a concussion as such, but if you get a bang on one of the blood vessels on your neck which is near to the skin surface it can knock you out.
In terms of my initial comment, I meant that I was disappointed that none of the other players or officials went to his aid when it was obvious he was in bother.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 26, 2017, 08:29:27 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on March 26, 2017, 08:03:18 PM
Just back and reading the after match comments , I find it truly amazing that not a mention of the utter dirt from Tyrone at the end.

What dirt?

The Loughran strike?

Poor form but the game was played in fairly decent spirits. Less needle that most Division 1 games this term, keep pedaling your nonsense though - Mayo are no saints. Cillian O'Connor has given out plenty of what he was the receiving end of today, which I don't condone btw.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 26, 2017, 08:43:27 PM
Quote from: joemamas on March 26, 2017, 08:00:46 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on March 26, 2017, 07:45:18 PM

You may want to look at game again before coming to your initial conclusion.
Andy turned the ball over time and time again, before finally getting subbed.
He tried hard but at this stage, time for plan B.

Wouldn't agree with that at all, thought Moran gave McCarron the run around.

He consistently was out in front when the ball went in, made it stick and was able to lay things off. Tyrone could really have done with someone of his ilk today.

Just look at Parson's goal, Moran shows, gets the ball and lays it off to Parsons who buried it.

Though Mickey should have switched McNamee or Hampsey on to Moran a lot sooner. We need to do something to counteract the way Mayo were feeding off Moran but we negated to and paid the price. I thought he was invaluable to Mayo.
Post by: Rois on March 26, 2017, 08:45:24 PM
Felt like 3rd gear.  No intensity - to the point where I wondered if they even wanted to win.

I have to hope that Mickey and Co are working on something for the Championship that will come good some time.  It feels that any individuality is being squeezed out of the players as they play this zone system. 
Post by: sambostar on March 26, 2017, 09:07:16 PM
I don't agree Bomber. I was at it & thought McCarron was Tyrone's best player. He was right with Moran every time & turned him over in the tackle 3 or 4 times.

Anyway, it's the other end of the field that's the problem. Would be nice to say that today's shooting was a one-off but it's happening too often now. Even if we had COC for frees alone we'd have won today. Same old shite on frees today - Morgan, Harte, McCurry all missing from easier positions than COC was scoring from.

So bloody frustrating
Post by: blewuporstuffed on March 26, 2017, 09:20:10 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on March 26, 2017, 03:23:12 PM
I'm sorry,  but if that's a black card the game is completely bucked
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 26, 2017, 09:21:23 PM
Quote from: sambostar on March 26, 2017, 09:07:16 PM
I don't agree Bomber. I was at it & thought McCarron was Tyrone's best player. He was right with Moran every time & turned him over in the tackle 3 or 4 times.

Anyway, it's the other end of the field that's the problem. Would be nice to say that today's shooting was a one-off but it's happening too often now. Even if we had COC for frees alone we'd have won today. Same old shite on frees today - Morgan, Harte, McCurry all missing from easier positions than COC was scoring from.

So bloody frustrating

Look at the goal, McCarron is about 4 yards off him, this was the case time and time again particularly in the first half.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 26, 2017, 09:25:11 PM
I am caught between two minds:

1. The regularity of days were we hit 12+ wides doesn't look like being solved at all and we'll never make an impression on the AI stage until that is fixed.

2. We are creating loads and loads of opportunities to score but aren't taking them. Some day we'll click against a top 3 side and blow them away.

Btw, Sludden was sorely missed in the 2nd half, he was the exact type of player we needed to take game by scruff of the neck. Petey Barre was poor (compared to his very high standards) and, worryingly, Matty Donnelly's form is all over the place.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 26, 2017, 09:26:23 PM
Just back from Omagh! Just nicked it in the end.

Two toothless teams!

I can't understand Tyrone not contesting the kick out? With so many wides it was like handing the ball back to Mayo and saying you have a free pass to the half way line.

Good to see Chris Barrett back our Full back line needs him and he is a no nonsense player.

I was secretly glad to see Lee Keegan Balck carded - he needs a rest (Coen does not).

Referee Conor Lane was all over the place. There were some incidents that he let go and the hits and belts evolved into the dangerous.
Is it becoming an impossible sport to referee? This seems to be a common theme anymore.

A tough day for the players - a lot were out on their feet at the end and discipline must have been really hard to keep.

Don't remember a Mark being made today? No surprise there.  ;)

Aido, Well Aido looked - well, a bit unfit!  ;D

Will talk more later.............

Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 26, 2017, 09:31:14 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 26, 2017, 09:25:11 PM

1. The regularity of days were we hit 12+ wides doesn't look like being solved at all and we'll never make an impression on the AI stage until that is fixed.

2. We are creating loads and loads of opportunities to score but aren't taking them. Some day we'll click against a top 3 side and blow them away.

Btw, Sludden was sorely missed in the 2nd half, he was the exact type of player we needed to take game by scruff of the neck. Petey Barre was poor (compared to his very high standards) and, worryingly, Matty Donnelly's form is all over the place.

Mattie is being shifted from pillar to post which won't help his form, he has won two All Stars in the past 2 years at midfield - let us leave him there. He's been named at midfield, centre half and full forward in the league already this year.

We just need to show a little more drive in those areas, fear was evident today and last year against Mayo in the last 10 minutes, players were afraid to drive at Mayo in the fear they would get turned over and hit on the break.

I agree on the chances part but we need show a little less fear and a bit more composure, better to have these things flaring up at this point of the season than in the summer. 
Post by: never kickt a ball on March 26, 2017, 09:46:04 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 24, 2017, 02:02:35 PM

(http://s4.postimg.org/9722b0gkd/father_ted_careful_now.jpg)

Tick  ;)
Post by: never kickt a ball on March 26, 2017, 09:50:32 PM
Quote from: Rois on March 24, 2017, 08:04:25 PM

That's terrible!!!! Call an election immediately!!!!!!!
Post by: tyroneman on March 26, 2017, 09:57:49 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on March 26, 2017, 09:21:23 PM

So bloody frustrating

Look at the goal, McCarron is about 4 yards off him, this was the case time and time again particularly in the first half.

Moran was going nowhere...it was the the untracked run from midfield that cost us the goal.....was it mcCurry who was at fault?
Post by: seanmc123 on March 26, 2017, 10:15:41 PM

So bloody frustrating

Yes I remember that, but Andy Moran is one of the better forwards in the game. Look at the space that was in front of him. I don't recall Andy winning a ball of him the second half? I think at least 4 or 5 went in and McCarron got in front or broke the ball away. All in all Tyrone kicked themselves out of it. Plenty to work on before Ulster
Post by: Ballaghman on March 26, 2017, 10:58:30 PM
Quote from: seanmc123 on March 26, 2017, 10:15:41 PM

So bloody frustrating

Yes I remember that, but Andy Moran is one of the better forwards in the game. Look at the space that was in front of him. I don't recall Andy winning a ball of him the second half? I think at least 4 or 5 went in and McCarron got in front or broke the ball away. All in all Tyrone kicked themselves out of it. Plenty to work on before Ulster

Have to agree with seanmc here. It was one of Andy's poorer games. He was out in front and was full of running and I'd say he was a nightmare for McCarron to mark. In the first half he got the better of of the battle but his own handling and decision making let him down. In the second half McCarron did much better and definitely won a lot of ball off Andy.
Overall we were much better today than last week but we still weren't amazing. Tyrones shooting let us off the hook big time but it was great to see the fight and effort we have come to expect from this group is still there in spades.
Post by: macdanger2 on March 27, 2017, 12:23:16 AM
Great to get the points but poor enough performance tbh. However, our willingness to use the kickpss today was notable, it's obviously the style Rochford wants to play so hopefully that's starting to come together - Parsons' goal was a great piece of play. It could be particularly effective if mixed with our running game and would allow us to conserve energy at times in big games. Where it falls down though is if you get down the pitch with two kickpasses and then start handpassing backwards again. Kirby and Boland are both good kick passers

Thought the ref was so-so at best, yellow for Drake was no more than a foul. Black for Sludden was the same. Black for keegan looked bad initially but on replay wasn't a black. Same with the possible black by Donnelly - I thought drake should have keep going as there was a goal on. Black for Kirby was harsh. Punch on COC was a red and yer man will be lucky to avoid a suspension, same with donnelly at the end.

I thought paddy Durcan made a huge difference in the half back line, he attacks with serious pace instead of sauntering with the ball. COC was better today but still a bit out of sorts. DOC looks a shadow of himself.

Hard to see on TV but did we play a sweeper today? Tyrone seemed to have an easy kick out so I presume someone was dropping back?

For Tyrone, they'll be wondering how they lost that, brutal in front of the posts although mcgeary took some nice points.
Post by: moysider on March 27, 2017, 12:58:05 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on March 27, 2017, 12:23:16 AM
Great to get the points but poor enough performance tbh. However, our willingness to use the kickpss today was notable, it's obviously the style Rochford wants to play so hopefully that's starting to come together - Parsons' goal was a great piece of play. It could be particularly effective if mixed with our running game and would allow us to conserve energy at times in big games. Where it falls down though is if you get down the pitch with two kickpasses and then start handpassing backwards again. Kirby and Boland are both good kick passers

Thought the ref was so-so at best, yellow for Drake was no more than a foul. Black for Sludden was the same. Black for keegan looked bad initially but on replay wasn't a black. Same with the possible black by Donnelly - I thought drake should have keep going as there was a goal on. Black for Kirby was harsh. Punch on COC was a red and yer man will be lucky to avoid a suspension, same with donnelly at the end.

I thought paddy Durcan made a huge difference in the half back line, he attacks with serious pace instead of sauntering with the ball. COC was better today but still a bit out of sorts. DOC looks a shadow of himself.

Hard to see on TV but did we play a sweeper today? Tyrone seemed to have an easy kick out so I presume someone was dropping back?

For Tyrone, they'll be wondering how they lost that, brutal in front of the posts although mcgeary took some nice points.

I would give our defence some credit as regards Tyrone's misses. Pressure results in rash decisions and hurried shots. Overall possession was 50/50ish. They got players behind the ball quicker and transition quicker but we did enough to make them fire off a few rushed efforts. Some ended up as fine scores - some bad wides. We know that story well.
At the other end we are hugely reliant on Andy Moran right now to win and use the ball inside. Is that sustainable? I dunno. Maybe it is the way to go. We have gone from the Horan era of playing 2 corner forwards in an AI final (and no covering defender) to playing no corner forwards at all. Great stuff anyway. That first half today was proper stuff. Both teams got tight and tired in second half. Still only March.
Post by: joemamas on March 27, 2017, 02:45:52 AM
Quote from: joemamas on March 26, 2017, 06:57:43 PM
Quote from: joemamas on March 26, 2017, 06:49:40 PM

??

You what if that kid was from Tyrone he probably missed.

Just posted this again
Think Jinxy deserves a shout out for this classic
Tough for a Mayo man to complement a Meath man but ........
Post by: Hound on March 27, 2017, 10:06:09 AM
Nobody else called it on this thread, so maybe I'm wrong, but I would have blown for a free when Parsons shouldered Sean Cavanaugh at the end. Front-on rather than side-on. The ref seemed to take great glee in giving those two late frees against Tyrone for over-carrying!

I wouldnt have given Kirby black. Yellow for me. SeanC's funny dance on the ground afterwards was....funny.

Great winning point by McLoughlin.

That was pretty scary, with what I thought initially was just a glancing blow, did to Cillian.

Post by: bigpackiechestout on March 27, 2017, 10:13:57 AM

Our wides problem isn't being solved at all because the type of 'chances' we create and shots we take are not high percentage shots. If you look at the wides we hit yesterday from play, the only one i can remember where the player wasn't under much pressure and would've been expected to score was Colly Cav's miss towards the end. Alot of the other ones are potshots from wide or out around the 45 (eg. McNamee trying a Stevy O'Neill esque effort out on the left  wing near the endline with his left foot) which you might score 40% of the time but can't be relied upon to win games consistently at this level.

I wrote up here about this problem after the Monaghan game. That night in the first half everything we kicked went over and we looked great but our style of play still wasn't lending itself to creating easy chances, or more importantly goal chances. The only goal we've scored in the league is still McCrory's scrappy effort v Dublin and having watched all our games to date we haven't exactly been missing many glaring goal chances either.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 27, 2017, 11:22:00 AM
Fair points and that's why I feel we missed Sludden so much in the second half as he's a great man to put on the burners breaking through the 45 screen and setting up higher percentage shooting opportunities. Petey Harte having a quiet game and Mattie Donnelly being off form didn't help in this regard either.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on March 27, 2017, 12:00:31 PM
Quote from: Hound on March 27, 2017, 10:06:09 AM
Nobody else called it on this thread, so maybe I'm wrong, but I would have blown for a free when Parsons shouldered Sean Cavanaugh at the end. Front-on rather than side-on. The ref seemed to take great glee in giving those two late frees against Tyrone for over-carrying!

I wouldnt have given Kirby black. Yellow for me. SeanC's funny dance on the ground afterwards was....funny.

That was pretty scary, with what I thought initially was just a glancing blow, did to Cillian.

I have no problem with the Parsons challenge, but it certainly wasnt a free out for over carrying either.
The Mattie Donnelly one was incredibly harsh too, he should have had a free in fro a couple of tugs at the jersey previously.

Overall it was an inconstant and overly fussy performance by the referee, something that is pretty common as the game gets harder and harder to referee.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 27, 2017, 12:06:29 PM
Quote from: bigpackiechestout on March 27, 2017, 10:13:57 AM

Our wides problem isn't being solved at all because the type of 'chances' we create and shots we take are not high percentage shots. If you look at the wides we hit yesterday from play, the only one i can remember where the player wasn't under much pressure and would've been expected to score was Colly Cav's miss towards the end. Alot of the other ones are potshots from wide or out around the 45 (eg. McNamee trying a Stevy O'Neill esque effort out on the left  wing near the endline with his left foot) which you might score 40% of the time but can't be relied upon to win games consistently at this level.

I wrote up here about this problem after the Monaghan game. That night in the first half everything we kicked went over and we looked great but our style of play still wasn't lending itself to creating easy chances, or more importantly goal chances. The only goal we've scored in the league is still McCrory's scrappy effort v Dublin and having watched all our games to date we haven't exactly been missing many glaring goal chances either.

I agree with this. When our attacking play is so labourious and slow then, in modern football, you are giving the opposition time to funnel back and any chances we create are then going to be either pressurised by sheer numbers or pot shots from distance. We scored a great point in the first half were I think Donnelly or Sludden hit a diagonal cross field pass to Cavanagh who quickly hit another diagonal pass to McCurry who had created a bit of space for a relatively easy score. The speed of the passing created the opportunity and we looked very dangerous. With inside forwards like McCurry and Bradley we need to hitting them much quicker and from different angles to at least give them a chance of getting a shot away. If we are going to play a game whereby we keep the opposition to a low score and hope to eek out a 1 point victory then we need to be much more clinical - yesterdays game was too much like last years quarter final for me and we should be learning from that game. I was never convinced we were going to get our noses in front.
Post by: blast05 on March 27, 2017, 12:09:21 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on March 27, 2017, 12:00:31 PM

I have no problem with the Parsons challenge, but it certainly wasnt a free out for over carrying either.
The Mattie Donnelly one was incredibly harsh too, he should have had a free in fro a couple of tugs at the jersey previously.

Overall it was an inconstant and overly fussy performance by the referee, something that is pretty common as the game gets harder and harder to referee.

Re the over-carrying .... in fairness to the ref, i though he was consistent in pulling up on that point all day long  .... at least 3 or 4 times for each time (some looked harsh but was consistent). When it came to the Cavanagh one (after Parsons tackle), i was immediately sure of it being a free out in light of the earlier decisions.
Post by: moysider on March 27, 2017, 12:40:52 PM

I thought the Cavanagh one might have been for an illegal hand pass. If it was over carrying it was harsh.
Post by: Smokin Joe on March 27, 2017, 01:56:25 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 27, 2017, 12:40:52 PM

I thought the Cavanagh one might have been for an illegal hand pass. If it was over carrying it was harsh.

Yep, Cavanagh threw the ball to avoid being blown for over-carrying IMO; and that is what the free was for.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 27, 2017, 02:59:00 PM
BemnyHarp, agree on your McCurry point. That was an excellent move started off by tigerish defending and overturning the ball. The key thing was the type of long ball played into FF line. It was diagonal and low trajectory giving the forwards a much better chance at the end. I noticed that the long ball into FF line improved slightly yesterday but still a lot of improvement required to increase the return from it. There was still the odd long, floated punt into Bradley etc that leaves it nearly impossible to gather and, secondly, allows the defender to clean them from behind.
Post by: saffronandblue on March 27, 2017, 05:24:25 PM
He was brought to the ground in the tackle and according to the rules was fully entitled to throw the ball.  It's a rule that never seems to be interpreted correctly.  You can even throw the ball into the net if you have been knocked to the ground in a tackle.
Post by: Zulu on March 27, 2017, 05:39:57 PM
You can never throw the ball legally.
Post by: saffronandblue on March 27, 2017, 05:41:04 PM
Yes you can and even score from it too...........them are the rules.
Post by: Zulu on March 27, 2017, 05:42:40 PM
Sorry but you can't. If you're in possession of the ball and knocked to the ground you can play it away on the ground. You can never ever, legally, throw the ball in any circumstances.
Post by: saffronandblue on March 27, 2017, 05:54:08 PM
That's not how the reffing courses down here would say.  I couldn't believe it myself, nor could anyone else and it was brought up on more than 1 occasion for clarification.  I presume it's to do with health and safety.  Obviously it's interpretation but that's from a course only 3/4 weeks back.
Post by: Zulu on March 27, 2017, 05:58:00 PM
I've never heard of that rule or seen it in the rule book so I presume it was a misinterpretation by the course tutor. If it is a rule I must stop telling the kids I coach to stop throwing the bloody ball!!
Post by: saffronandblue on March 27, 2017, 06:14:39 PM
According to the tutor, who has reffed All-Ireland's and the other 3 refs that were in attendance it only applies when you are brought to the ground in a tackle and and upon hitting the ground it has to be got rid of immediately and can thus be thrown at that moment in time.  It was even more shocking to find out that you could score from it too.  There were 20 at least in the room and all were in shock.   I know in ladies GAA you can play the ball on the ground to get it away from you but this was certainly a 1st for me.  If I'm wrong, and I'm certainly no expert, then so are a lot of imminent refs who will be reffing in the League next weekend.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 27, 2017, 06:19:45 PM
Quote from: saffronandblue on March 27, 2017, 06:14:39 PM
According to the tutor, who has reffed All-Ireland's and the other 3 refs that were in attendance it only applies when you are brought to the ground in a tackle and and upon hitting the ground it has to be got rid of immediately and can thus be thrown at that moment in time.  It was even more shocking to find out that you could score from it too.  There were 20 at least in the room and all were in shock.   I know in ladies GAA you can play the ball on the ground to get it away from you but this was certainly a 1st for me.  If I'm wrong, and I'm certainly no expert, then so are a lot of imminent refs who will be reffing in the League next weekend.

Are you sure it wasn't a rugby league course you were on?
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 27, 2017, 06:33:44 PM

I don't have too much issue with the challenge of Cavanagh although I think the ref was extremely quick to call him on travelling when he got rid of the ball almost as quick as he could.

Harte was about to pick it up 25 yards from goal with a bit of space.
Post by: Zulu on March 27, 2017, 06:34:24 PM
Quote from: saffronandblue on March 27, 2017, 06:14:39 PM

It might explain some of the refereeing we do see in the league! I'm pretty certain they are all wrong if that's their view. These are the relevant rules, 4.2 and 1.2:

It's a technical foul to...

4.2 (a) To throw the ball. (b)  To handpass the ball without:  (i) It being Fisted      or  (ii)  It being struck with an open hand with a definite underhand striking action.

1.2   When the ball is on the ground, it may be played by any part of the body except the hand(s). It may be lifted off the ground with the feet.  Exceptions  (i)  The goalkeeper may play the ball on the ground with his hand(s) inside his own small rectangle.  (ii)  Any player who falls or is knocked to the ground while in possession of the ball may fist or palm the ball away on the ground, and may score by so doing.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 27, 2017, 06:36:26 PM
I don't think Cavanagh threw it in any case, he dropped it and batted it away with one hand.
Post by: Smokin Joe on March 27, 2017, 07:01:24 PM
Seeing as we're debating rules, can you drop kick a free?

Antrim were 3 down against Armagh on Saturday night and CJ McGourty had a 14 metre free .  Injury time was almost up and I knew by his stance that he was going to drop kick the ball due to the additional power generated.

He did, and the referee allowed it (although the shot was blocked).
Surely it's not legal to drop kick a free?

Post by: bucko on March 27, 2017, 10:15:48 PM
Happy out with that win, wasn't massively confident we would pull it off though as I said in a previous post it didn't surprise me either that we did! Everything that was missing against Cavan was there on Sunday, the intensity, workrate, physicality, that bit of bite all showed, especially from some of the more senior guys. COC, Boyle, McLoughlin just to name a few were  far more prominent, McLoughlin's winning score especially was a peach. Just scratching my head as to were this level of performance was against Cavan, we might be sittining pretty otherwise. We're a bit like the Ireland rugby team during the Six Nations, consistent at being inconsistent :o
Post by: From the Bunker on March 27, 2017, 10:34:26 PM
Quote from: bucko on March 27, 2017, 10:15:48 PM
Happy out with that win, wasn't massively confident we would pull it off though as I said in a previous post it didn't surprise me either that we did! Everything that was missing against Cavan was there on Sunday, the intensity, workrate, physicality, that bit of bite all showed, especially from some of the more senior guys. COC, Boyle, McLoughlin just to name a few were  far more prominent, McLoughlin's winning score especially was a peach. Just scratching my head as to were this level of performance was against Cavan, we might be sittining pretty otherwise. We're a bit like the Ireland rugby team during the Six Nations, consistent at being inconsistent :o

We showed Tyrone respect and set ourselves up defensively to cope with them. We showed Cavan no respect and played open old school football against them believing we could beat them that way.
Post by: thewobbler on March 27, 2017, 10:49:18 PM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on March 27, 2017, 07:01:24 PM

Antrim were 3 down against Armagh on Saturday night and CJ McGourty had a 14 metre free .  Injury time was almost up and I knew by his stance that he was going to drop kick the ball due to the additional power generated.

I'm trying to work out on what grounds a drop kick could be illegal, whereas kicking a ball normally from hands would be legal??

If anything the drop kick method would be more in keeping with the old fashioned static kicks from the ground, as you're less likely to carry the ball a few steps to generate momentum before kicking it.
Post by: blast05 on March 27, 2017, 11:21:13 PM
Quote from: saffronandblue on March 27, 2017, 05:54:08 PM
That's not how the reffing courses down here would say.  I couldn't believe it myself, nor could anyone else and it was brought up on more than 1 occasion for clarification.  I presume it's to do with health and safety.  Obviously it's interpretation but that's from a course only 3/4 weeks back.

We take it all back Joe...  :P
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bxq6SofU_38 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bxq6SofU_38)
Post by: saffronandblue on March 27, 2017, 11:24:59 PM
Quote from: blast05 on March 27, 2017, 11:21:13 PM
Quote from: saffronandblue on March 27, 2017, 05:54:08 PM

We take it all back Joe...  :P
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bxq6SofU_38 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bxq6SofU_38)

That came up in the conversation lol.
Post by: Jinxy on March 28, 2017, 12:04:09 AM
"Seamus Kenny is inside in the square before the ball..."
What a clown.  ::)
Post by: Smokin Joe on March 28, 2017, 07:07:08 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on March 27, 2017, 10:49:18 PM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on March 27, 2017, 07:01:24 PM

I'm trying to work out on what grounds a drop kick could be illegal, whereas kicking a ball normally from hands would be legal??

If anything the drop kick method would be more in keeping with the old fashioned static kicks from the ground, as you're less likely to carry the ball a few steps to generate momentum before kicking it.

From the Rules (2.5):
A free kick, other than a penalty kick or a 45m free kick as prescribed in Rule 2.8, may
be taken from the hands or from the ground. A player having indicated his option to the
referee shall not be permitted to change his decision. The ball shall be stationary when a
free kick is taken from the ground.

The question is whether a free "taken from the hands" includes a drop kick.  The ball hits the ground in such an instance; so is that different to a "normal" kick taken from the hands which doesn't bounce prior to striking?
Post by: mayoaremagic on March 29, 2017, 09:57:04 AM
Yeah, really surprised the hit on Cillian wasn't red. He looked like a boxer struggling to get back on his feet. Vaughan too took a few belts.

Mayo should keep quiet about it though, let the GAA do what they want with it. We should keep it in the locker should we meet again later this year.

Mayo have the players to play defensive counter attack football. Thats what we did in the finals last year and it got us over the line today, just. That's how we will beat the other top teams. We can get away with open expansive football against weaker opposition.

Still think McLoughlin has to be played in sweeper role.

Nally will push for a starting place come the summer.

A fit Barrett too adds more strength at the back
Post by: Cunny Funt on March 29, 2017, 01:36:20 PM
Quote from: mayoaremagic on March 29, 2017, 09:57:04 AM
Yeah, really surprised the hit on Cillian wasn't red. He looked like a boxer struggling to get back on his feet. Vaughan too took a few belts.

Mayo should keep quiet about it though, let the GAA do what they want with it. We should keep it in the locker should we meet again later this year.

Mayo have the players to play defensive counter attack football. Thats what we did in the finals last year and it got us over the line today, just. That's how we will beat the other top teams. We can get away with open expansive football against weaker opposition.

WTF?

You copy and paste a mayonaze comment on mayogaablog from March 26 at 5:32 pm and try to pass it off as your own view here.
Post by: ballinaman on March 29, 2017, 01:45:37 PM
Quote from: mayoaremagic on March 29, 2017, 09:57:04 AM

How's Darragh Coen playing these days?
Post by: mayoaremagic on March 30, 2017, 11:11:03 AM
One match ban for Mattie Donnelly. RTE highlighted this incident yet no suspensions from Dublin Kerry game?