GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 17, 2014, 07:56:01 AM

Title: Corcaigh v Tír Eoghain, D1R614, Páirc Uí Rinn, Sunday 30th March @ 2pm
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 17, 2014, 07:56:01 AM
After yesterday's sequence of results perhaps not as intimidating a prospect as it might have appeared in the immediate aftermath of the Kerry rout; questions remain, however, that if Killarney is to be shown as an aberration then Tyrone need to demonstrate a much deeper resistance to quality forward play, particularly around the half-back line.
Title: Re: Corcaigh v Tír Eoghain, D1R614, Páirc Uí Rinn, Sunday 30th March @ 3pm
Post by: orangeman on March 17, 2014, 08:59:28 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 17, 2014, 07:56:01 AM
After yesterday's sequence of results perhaps not as intimidating a prospect as it might have appeared in the immediate aftermath of the Kerry rout; questions remain, however, that if Killarney is to be shown as an aberration then Tyrone need to demonstrate a much deeper resistance to quality forward play, particularly around the half-back line.

Cork always prove very troublesome for whatever reason for Cork.

A Cork win.
Title: Re: Corcaigh v Tír Eoghain, D1R614, Páirc Uí Rinn, Sunday 30th March @ 3pm
Post by: trileacman on March 17, 2014, 05:18:43 PM
Agreed, our record v these lads in the last 10 years must be poor enough. When was our last win?

They always seem to have the height and strength in the middle 3rd to punish a Mickey Harte team's greatest weakness, our ball-winning in the middle. Their big men bullied us out of it in '09 and it's always seemed to be that way since. This years team is certainly not a physically tall or strong given the retirements but you'd still fancy them, especially playing in Cork. Defence was asleep the last day though, and a less cynical me would say we're due to make hay with our strength up front.

Hard to pick the 15 for this. Matty still at 6? Weakens our attack though, especially in the face of McCurry's injury. Sean isn't at his previous level, hard to consistently preform at that level fair enough but you'd need more from him. McGinley should retain that half-forward role, possible place for RON in the forwards? What's the story on McNamee?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on March 17, 2014, 06:24:06 PM
Not as tall? both midfielders against Derry were over 6ft 4 and a 6ft 4 half back, they havent got any smaller
Post by: tyroneman on March 17, 2014, 06:37:48 PM
Tyrone will be hockyed. No doubt about it. Same as playing Kerry in Killarney. Playing Cork away only leaves one result.

The Westmeath game answered no questions defensively.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 17, 2014, 07:34:51 PM
So what was the story with Mattie's injury then?
Post by: omagh_gael on March 17, 2014, 08:41:15 PM
Last win was in '11? Colly Cavanagh with a speculative lobbed goal in dying seconds?

Trileacman, McCurry was rested on Sunday due to the under 21 match this Wednesday,  unless I have missed something?

Fuzzman, there appears to be no story there re Matty's injury. A strange one, was this mentioned by someone in tbe camp or was the only source the teamtalk article?
Post by: trileacman on March 17, 2014, 09:48:17 PM
Sorry I'm wrong about McCurry, misread Fear's post in the Westmeath thread thought Matty and McCurry were "injured".

Yeah it was 2010 and Colm did score a chipped goal. Looked it up there; http://munster.gaa.ie/2010/03/13/nfl-division-1-tyrone-v-cork/ (http://munster.gaa.ie/2010/03/13/nfl-division-1-tyrone-v-cork/)

Some change in personnel in both sides.

CORK (SF v Tyrone): K. O'Halloran; R. Carey, M. Shields, E. Cotter; P. Kissane, G. Spillane, N. O'Leary; A. O'Connor, P. O'Neill; P. Kerrigan, D. O'Connor, P. Kelly; D. Goulding, N. Murphy, C. O'Neill.

J. Curran; D. Carlin, J. McMahon, C. McCarron; D. Harte, C. Gormley, R. McMenamin; A. Cassidy, C. Cavanagh; M. Donnelly, B. McGuigan, R. Mulgrew; T. McGuigan, M. Penrose, O. Mulligan.
Post by: orangeman on March 17, 2014, 09:53:44 PM
Quote from: trileacman on March 17, 2014, 09:48:17 PM
Sorry I'm wrong about McCurry, misread Fear's post in the Westmeath thread thought Matty and McCurry were "injured".

Yeah it was 2010 and Colm did score a chipped goal. Looked it up there; http://munster.gaa.ie/2010/03/13/nfl-division-1-tyrone-v-cork/ (http://munster.gaa.ie/2010/03/13/nfl-division-1-tyrone-v-cork/)

Some change in personnel in both sides.

CORK (SF v Tyrone): K. O'Halloran; R. Carey, M. Shields, E. Cotter; P. Kissane, G. Spillane, N. O'Leary; A. O'Connor, P. O'Neill; P. Kerrigan, D. O'Connor, P. Kelly; D. Goulding, N. Murphy, C. O'Neill.

J. Curran; D. Carlin, J. McMahon, C. McCarron; D. Harte, C. Gormley, R. McMenamin; A. Cassidy, C. Cavanagh; M. Donnelly, B. McGuigan, R. Mulgrew; T. McGuigan, M. Penrose, O. Mulligan.

Massive changes on the Tyrone team and the same can be said for the Cork team as well. Many changes in personnel all round.
Title: Re: Corcaigh v Tír Eoghain, D1R614, Páirc Uí Rinn, Sunday 30th March @ 2pm
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 24, 2014, 07:05:20 PM
The original throw-in time for this one was 3pm, but it has been advanced by 1 hour it seems to 2pm.
Title: Re: Corcaigh v Tír Eoghain, D1R614, Páirc Uí Rinn, Sunday 30th March @ 2pm
Post by: trileacman on March 25, 2014, 12:02:24 AM
The league final last year done a lot for our development and the run to the semi's. Need to win on Sunday to get back on that track. Wins that are not as important to Dublin, Mayo or Kerry to ensure a successful year.
Post by: orangeman on March 25, 2014, 12:15:57 AM
Cork will be going flat out to beat Tyrone to ensure qualification in a top spot and then be in a position to donate the 2 points the following week to their good neighbours.
Post by: Redhand Santa on March 25, 2014, 07:15:01 PM
You'd nearly think they were trying to ensure as low a crowd as possible at this one. Clashing it with the cork hurling game and then putting both the cork games on tv will ensure an even lower attendance than the average cork game.

A bit of joined up thinking should have lead to a decent football hurling double header.
Post by: ONeill on March 25, 2014, 10:41:35 PM
Cork 4-13
Tyrone 0-10
Post by: Fuzzman on March 26, 2014, 02:29:18 PM
Have you any more Lotto numbers there Shane.

Any word on Conor Gormley, Joey or Justin?
With the game live on TG4 on Sunday at 2pm I'll not be making the long journey this time.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on March 26, 2014, 05:49:37 PM
Probably not far off Cork's championship 15. Giving young Hanrahan a run in goal and Colm O'Neill will replace Hayes obviously if fit, but can see most of the rest lining up that way come summer.

They've been targetting this game clearly, would expect a home win here.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 27, 2014, 07:08:32 AM
Why would they be targeting this game in particular.
Will be interesting to see if Mickey has abandoned the man for man attacking with gay abandonment. I also expect to see McGinley line out at wing forward now for the rest of the season. He can run, score and work his ass off whilst getting back to help the defense.
The big question for me is who is his best 6 defenders and do they include McNabb(if fit of course), Joey, Justy and block and who goes where. I hope he stops chopping and changing like he did last year. It might develop the squad as a whole but it leaves a very unsettled team in my opinion.
Post by: Muzz on March 27, 2014, 12:46:16 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 26, 2014, 02:29:18 PM
Have you any more Lotto numbers there Shane.

Any word on Conor Gormley, Joey or Justin?
With the game live on TG4 on Sunday at 2pm I'll not be making the long journey this time.

From yesterdays Irish News

"Stevie O'Neill is coming along well.  He is not that far away.  Conor Gormley is back in training as is Marty Penrose" said Devlin (Gavin).

"Big Joe McMahon just started training again last week which is very good news."  "Justin McMahon is back out as well.  He has trained the last two or three weeks so he is maybe further ahead than anyone"
Post by: Fuzzman on March 27, 2014, 04:51:16 PM
I am expecting Conor, Justy and Penrose to me named in the team for Sunday
I will not be expecting to see Stevie til June
Post by: CD on March 27, 2014, 07:32:27 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 27, 2014, 04:51:16 PM
Be brilliant to see all three lads out. Will certainly add some (much needed?) steel and experience there. Would love to see Justy playing a full summer.
Post by: tyroneman on March 27, 2014, 08:35:36 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 27, 2014, 04:51:16 PM

Bench only.

Comórtas: Sraith Náisiúnta Peil
Cluiche: Tír Eoghain v Corcaigh
Ionad: Páirc Uí Rinn, Corcaigh
Dáta: 30-03-14

1 - Niall Morgan - Éadan na dTorc
2 - Aidan McCrory - Aireagal Chiaráin
3 - Ronan McNamee - Achadh Uí Aráin
4 - Ryan McKenna - Eaglais
5 - Tiernan McCann - Coill an Chlochair
6 - Matthew Donnelly - Trí Leac
7 - Peter Harte - Aireagal Chiaráin
8 - Colm Cavanagh - An Mhaigh
9 - Sean Cavanagh - An Mhaigh
10 - Ciaran McGinley - Aireagal Chiaráin
11 - Shay McGuigan - Ard Bó
12 - Mark Donnelly - An Charraig Mhór
13 - Darren McCurry - Éadán na dTorc
14 - Kyle Coney - Ard Bó
15 - Connor McAliskey - Cluain Eo

16 - Michael O'Neill - Cluain Eo
17 - Kevin Gallagher - An Baile Nua
18 - Conor Gormley - An Charraig Mhór
19 - Conan Grugan - An Omaigh
20 - Peter Hughes - Eiscreach
21 - Plunkett Kane - Oileán a'Ghuail
22 - PJ Lavery - Cluain Eo
23 - Danny McBride - An Srath Ban
24 - Emmett McKenna - Eaglais
25 - Niall McKenna - Domhnach Mór
26 - Justin McMahon - An Omaigh
Post by: BennyHarp on March 27, 2014, 08:53:00 PM
What's the story with Conor Clarke?
Post by: tyroneman on March 27, 2014, 08:58:22 PM
I can see that defence getting torn a new one  :(
Post by: Fuzzman on March 27, 2014, 09:31:21 PM
No McNabb again and why has he named McNamee at fb the last three games?
Prior to that he wasn't getting a look in.
That full back line sure looks weak. I'd say Colm O'Neill is licking his lips
Post by: tyroneboi on March 27, 2014, 09:34:21 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 27, 2014, 09:31:21 PM
No McNabb again and why has he named McNamee at fb the last three games?
Prior to that he wasn't getting a look in.
That full back line sure looks weak. I'd say Colm O'Neill is licking his lips

He's not on though Brian Hurley at full forward is a hell of a player as well!
Post by: Redhand Santa on March 27, 2014, 10:03:54 PM
After what happened in Kerry I feel that this is a very big game in tyrone's season, the most important to date. If we have genuine aims of competing for an Ireland we have to be consistent against the big teams. Over the last few years we've consistently beat teams outside he top 4 or 5 but struggled against the very best.

No disrespect to Westmeath but we were always likely to win that one. This is the first chance to prove that Kerry was a one off. I'd like to see the team go out and fight hard for every ball round the middle. And to produce a really energetic performance.

It's not a bad team. Should be full of running and plenty of scoring potential. I think we'll be a lot more competitive than some think.
Post by: reddgnhand on March 27, 2014, 10:22:45 PM
That full back line will be destroyed. Wouldn't rate any of them.
Post by: Redhand Santa on March 27, 2014, 10:29:32 PM
If they're left isolated and cork get a constant supply of good quality ball in then I'm sure they will. If tyrone are to win they'll need to at least break even round the middle and work their arses off. From what I've saw of him mcnamee deserves another go at full back and McKenna might be as good an option as we have at corner back.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 28, 2014, 07:24:00 AM
For information, the Cork team is:

Cork: David Hanrahan, Eoin Cadogan, Tom Clancy, Noel Galvin, Tomás Clancy, Michael Shields, James Loughrey, Aidan Walsh, Fintan Goold, John O'Rourke, Paul Kerrigan, Mark Collins, Daniel Goulding, Brian Hurley, John Hayes.

This will be a real test if the prigress this team have made, that Kerry game could have a massive impact psychologically if we don't beat a 'big' team over the next two weeks. Like others have said,  that full back line has me panicking. The only way I can see us prevailing is If we've a top class performance from our middle 8. This in itself is worrying as we haven't been great on this element of our game all year. Our performances going forward and racking up huge scores have put a gloss on the chinks further back down the field. Hoping for the best on Sunday but Cork have always been our bogey team and I can never recall us winning down there. Therefore I predict a 2-3 point loss and hopefully we can get a positive result in Omagh the following week.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 28, 2014, 11:06:48 AM
I have to say lads I've very negative about this game.
That full back line is a very weak, the half back line isn't too bad though I haven't saw enough of McCann.
Midfield I fear will get wiped out again as both are too easily bullied out of it as we saw in Killarney though Sean might be getting back some of his mojo the more games he gets.
If we are as slow to breaking ball as we were that day then our full back line will be under a lot of pressure and made to look bad again. I like young McKenna in the corner and think he will be there come championship time but I can't see the other two lads being first choice. We've all said McCrory has the pace to be a good CB but he just won't be aggressive enough or ever take the risk to get to the ball before his man in case he gets turned.
Hopefully McNamee proves me wrong but I just can't see him competing with Hurley.

I'm all for giving young lads their chance but so far I've been disappointed with Shay McGuigan. I know it took Brian a good while to settle into the team as well when he started out so Mickey is probably right to give him loads of chances but so far I've been very disappointed by the young lad but it's early days for him I know.
Coney at 14 is also getting plenty of chances and maybe he just needs to get back his confidence to make him the player we hoped he'd be from a minor. People tell me he hasn't a great attitude and that he shouldn't be near the starting 15 but whilst I think he'll never be the player we all hoped he still could be one of our best scoring forwards and he has the physic to win his own ball.
With Mattie probably better suited to 6 then it will be interesting to see how much ball Kyle will win on Sunday. I often think that Coney is thinking what is he gonna do with the ball before he gets it into his hands and so often he fumbles it. A bit like what Mugsy used to do.
I've a feeling we'll see Block and Justy coming on as subs in this game but sadly I think it will be when we're getting hammered in the second half

Hope I'm wrong but sorry for the negativity. Cork man sitting near me here isn't saying much about the game.

Can we afford to lose this game and still make the semis IF we beat Dublin. Will we probably be battling with the Dubs for 4th place?
Post by: Mr. Nakata on March 28, 2014, 01:22:19 PM
I would rather see PJ Quinn and Tierney in the corners, they deserve a shot at redemption. Both completely roasted in Killarney yes but offered zero protection from the players in front of them. I wonder is it a case of beard thinking...you boys clearly aren't up to it...hope not. For me they are more aggressive and sticky than the players selected...suppose it can only be a matter of time before Gormley and Joe slot in to that defense.
Post by: trileacman on March 28, 2014, 11:33:24 PM
I've thought that Shay has shown promise, he can certainly pick a pass and deserves a right bit more time before we write him off. Coney on the other hand, IMO hasn't delivered and still lives off his reputation as a county minor which is a long way from where we are now. Shown well for Ardboe most notably that county final v Dromore they should have won but for me has had plenty of county chances and failed to live up to it. I don't mind us giving him a few more goes but I can't fathom lads having such little patience with younger players whilst simultaneously affording Coney leniency because of what he done in a minor shirt.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 29, 2014, 07:56:46 AM
Is big Clarke injured or in the subs?
He's one of many who probably deserves to be in the starting lineup but we're not sure of his best position. He can certainly push forward and take his score.
Yeah I'd stick with Shay a while as well and I'd say he'll come good. I like the way he's got the bigger stature to his older brothers.
I know it's early days for a lot of these new young lads but even with the older lads, only Block seems to be the only real man that show some aggression and give the others a kick up the arse. What I mean is we have too many nicey nice guys like Joey, Justy, both Cavanaghs and others who are too easy pushed about. We've witnessed that v Donegal the last three years
Post by: CD on March 29, 2014, 08:33:15 AM
Shay has the makings of a really good player. I have a feeling he won't feature quite so much this summer but is being conditioned for next year. Mickey has done this a lot in recent years - given players plenty of time in league even when their form has been up and down and then used them more the following year - McCurry, Donnelly, McGinley etc.

Don't agree with your comment re. the McMahons and Cavanaghs being nicey nice Fuzzaman! They're all nice lads off the pitch but they are certainly combative on it. Don't know where you get that from! Donegal didn't push them about, they targeted space around Joe and Sean and got so many bodies around them that Joe kept giving up possession and Sean was running the ball into brick walls. I thought this was more a case of (a) no plan B as loads of posters have commented on here over the past few seasons and (b) the lack of any other leaders on the pitch to step up and take responsibility from our two key ball carriers. Surely this says more about the lads around them than Sean and Joe?
Agree with Trileacman re. Coney as well. I'm on the fence with him.

I'm assuming Clarke as a knock and wouldn't be surprised if he is on the bench or even starting! Mickey might have gone back to the drawing board when he saw that Cork 15! Looks way too strong for us at the minute. Anticipating a 5/6 point defeat.
Post by: tyroneman on March 29, 2014, 11:04:07 AM
Quote.  Coney on the other hand, IMO hasn't delivered and still lives off his reputation as a county minor which is a long way from where we are now       

Think that's very harsh to be honest. Coney hasn't had 1 full uninjured season yet in Senior football  to show what he can do.

When he got the run of games in the league a few years ago he was outstanding. That is until he got injured again.

I wouldn't be judging him until he gets well into a second injury free season.

Does big Sean look like a former player of the year at the minute while trying to get back up to speed?

Give Coney a chance.
Post by: ONeill on March 29, 2014, 12:07:00 PM
After the mauling in Kerry, this game will say a lot about our chances to progress into the late Summer.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2014, 04:32:21 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on March 29, 2014, 11:04:07 AM
Quote.  Coney on the other hand, IMO hasn't delivered and still lives off his reputation as a county minor which is a long way from where we are now       

Think that's very harsh to be honest. Coney hasn't had 1 full uninjured season yet in Senior football  to show what he can do.

When he got the run of games in the league a few years ago he was outstanding. That is until he got injured again.

That's very true. He was really finding his feet and form at the Senior grade until injury intervened, and we could really be doing with a rediscovery of that attacking potency right now.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 29, 2014, 04:57:37 PM
A fit, firing on all cylinders Kyle could be massive for us. He could free up Matty Donnelly to rove further out the field as it is clear we need him, Joe and Conor round our half back/full back line. Be fantastic to have a fully fit Justin back as well. It would leave a championship team along the lines of:

Niall Morgan
Justy
Clarke
Pj Quinn
Harte
Joe McMahon
Conor Gormley
Sean Cav
Colm Cav
McGinley
Ronan O'Neill
Matty Donnely
McAliskey
Kyle Coney
Darren McCurry

That's not even factoring in SoN. Although it's hard to tell if Mickey would start and replace him, if he is fit, or send him on for the last 20/25 mins.
Post by: shawshank on March 29, 2014, 05:01:54 PM
All you need now is wee Pete fit and your in business. Let's face he is retired as long as Justy.
Post by: ziggysego on March 30, 2014, 01:55:37 PM
What's the black kit some of the Tyrone players are wearing?  It's nice looking.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 30, 2014, 02:36:22 PM
That's the referee Zig ;-)

Good first half so far, Kyle showing up well.
Post by: Family guy on March 30, 2014, 02:37:40 PM
Good first half for the over rated minor  :)
Post by: trileacman on March 30, 2014, 02:40:17 PM
Coney making me eat my words a bit here. It's ironic that Coney the bigger, taller man is an excellent finisher but poor at winning possession whilst McCurry has won alot of ball he shouldn't including that last free but his distribution has been v poor. McKenna has been awful, McNamee impressive, he's getting to grips with Hurley the longer the game goes on.

McCurry/Coney interplay is beautiful to watch, reminds me off the GOD/SON/Mugsy triad of '05. What happened McCann? Was going well. Petey's best half in a couple games. Colm is a foul machine, Christ he makes it hard on himself. Mark D, Sean and Shea have been very quiet. Doing the donkey work in the middle maybe. McGinley is nailed on for a starting wing forward spot come championship, lets us play 7 backs to cover a shite defence.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 30, 2014, 02:44:42 PM
Brilliant stuff from Kyle, if he can stay injury free for rest of year and show this kind of form we could go places. That point of the outside of the boot from the left wing was fantastic.

Quick mention to defensive display which has been top notch so far.

Could we see Justy or Block now early in 2nd half?
Post by: Carmen Stateside on March 30, 2014, 02:45:39 PM
Great half from Coney. Defense has stepped up in the last ten of the half.
Post by: tyroneman on March 30, 2014, 02:48:23 PM
If we hadn't given a very soft goal away we would be in a very decent position. Not even a challenge from Sean on Kerrigan as he ran through. Seems miles off the pace.
Post by: ziggysego on March 30, 2014, 02:48:46 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 30, 2014, 02:36:22 PM
That's the referee Zig ;-)

Good first half so far, Kyle showing up well.

Smart ass lol

Coney and McCurry are working great together this afternoon. As someone said above, has the air of God/Mugsy/SoN.
Post by: seafoid on March 30, 2014, 03:00:29 PM
That Hunky Dorys logo looks awful on the throne jersey 
Post by: Rois on March 30, 2014, 03:08:29 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 30, 2014, 03:00:29 PM
That Hunky Dorys logo looks awful on the throne jersey
The £125k doesn't look too bad in the bank account
Post by: trileacman on March 30, 2014, 03:35:55 PM
Penrose got us that draw, some telling interventions at the end by him.
Post by: Onthe40 on March 30, 2014, 03:39:54 PM
tyrones changes in the 2nd half made them stronger whereas corks arguably made them weaker - Colm Oneill aside...
Post by: tyroneman on March 30, 2014, 03:47:37 PM
Is it head to head then scoring difference?
Post by: rrhf on March 30, 2014, 04:01:23 PM
Agree on the 40.  The new men in linked well and cleverly thread the game through  the Cork defence.  Coney done very well throughout, The team that won a minor all ireland in 1988 are now being given chances and they are delivering. Major problem in Tyrone football is we that development squads have turned all our wiry corner backs and high filding midfielders into point scorers and link men.  That might take the scrapping of the development squads or certainly their re calibration. 
Post by: Archie Mitchell on March 30, 2014, 04:17:15 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on March 30, 2014, 03:47:37 PM

Think it could be head to head if 2 teams tied but scoring difference if more than 2 tied.
Post by: Dubh driocht on March 30, 2014, 04:18:47 PM
Quote from: rrhf on March 30, 2014, 04:01:23 PM
Agree on the 40.  The new men in linked well and cleverly thread the game through  the Cork defence.  Coney done very well throughout, The team that won a minor all ireland in 1988 are now being given chances and they are delivering. Major problem in Tyrone football is we that development squads have turned all our wiry corner backs and high filding midfielders into point scorers and link men.  That might take the scrapping of the development squads or certainly their re calibration.
Some shape for men in their 40s. Good game, Coney was wonderful, we'll travel to Omagh more in hope than expectation. Mind you, that did happen in 2008  ;)
Post by: screenexile on March 30, 2014, 05:11:08 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on March 30, 2014, 04:17:15 PM

Think it could be head to head if 2 teams tied but scoring difference if more than 2 tied.

Yeah it's head to head Derry are 2nd in the table even with a better score difference than Cork. Looking forward to the SFs now it looks like Cork, Derry, Tyrone and the Dubs/Mayo. They should all be good games. What's the story with venues for the Semi's?
Post by: muppet on March 30, 2014, 05:15:46 PM
Quote from: Dubh driocht on March 30, 2014, 04:18:47 PM
Quote from: rrhf on March 30, 2014, 04:01:23 PM
Some shape for men in their 40s. Good game, Coney was wonderful, we'll travel to Omagh more in hope than expectation. Mind you, that did happen in 2008  ;)

Their patience at waiting so long for their chance has to be admired.  ;D
Post by: BennyHarp on March 30, 2014, 05:16:27 PM
Hopefully a few lads on here will lay off Kyle Coney for a while now!
Post by: cornerback on March 30, 2014, 06:10:56 PM
Conor Gormley's stamp/foot placement? Accidental or deliberate?
Post by: Archie Mitchell on March 30, 2014, 06:23:25 PM
Quote from: screenexile on March 30, 2014, 05:11:08 PM

Yeah it's head to head Derry are 2nd in the table even with a better score difference than Cork. Looking forward to the SFs now it looks like Cork, Derry, Tyrone and the Dubs/Mayo. They should all be good games. What's the story with venues for the Semi's?

Last year both semi finals were in Croke Park - Tyrone v Kildare and Dublin v Mayo
Scheduled for Sunday 13th April this year.

I wouldn't say Tyrone are through yet, think Cork and Derry are and will be between Tyrone, Dublin and Mayo for the last 2 spots.
Post by: tyroneboi on March 30, 2014, 07:13:08 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on March 30, 2014, 06:23:25 PM
Quote from: screenexile on March 30, 2014, 05:11:08 PM

Last year both semi finals were in Croke Park - Tyrone v Kildare and Dublin v Mayo
Scheduled for Sunday 13th April this year.

I wouldn't say Tyrone are through yet, think Cork and Derry are and will be between Tyrone, Dublin and Mayo for the last 2 spots.

Tyrone definitely not there yet - I would probably fancy Mayo to beat a Derry team already assured of a semi final spot and similarly Kerry then to beat Cork already qualified too. Take a big performance for Tyrone to beat Dublin next week. Last 2 semi final spots between 4 teams then.
Post by: tyroneboi on March 30, 2014, 07:14:01 PM
Quote from: cornerback on March 30, 2014, 06:10:56 PM

Looked pretty deliberate to me - could have definitely avoided doing it!
Post by: Archie Mitchell on March 30, 2014, 07:50:59 PM
Coldrick didn't seem to be applying the new rules today anyway. Very rarely let advantage go and bring back for a free, especially in the incident when Donnelly was hurt, McCurry put ball over bar but he gave a free and it was missed. Also Cork should have had a few black cards near the end.
Post by: CD on March 30, 2014, 09:05:12 PM
I must say - Kyle Coney was fantastic today. Now that's the player i saw in 2008. I had said i was on the fence about his inclusion but if he continues to put in brilliant displays like this i'll be totally won over. I know one swallow doesn't make a summer but it seems his rehabilitation from a series of injuries is finally over! Great to see!!
Post by: ONeill on March 30, 2014, 09:09:33 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on March 30, 2014, 07:14:01 PM
Quote from: cornerback on March 30, 2014, 06:10:56 PM

Looked pretty deliberate to me - could have definitely avoided doing it!

A blast from the past. Brought a tear to my eye.

Tyrone were well set up defensively for the last 15 mins of the first half. The half backs were staying put, Colm and Sean were helping out and even the half forwards were working hard shielding the full back line. And let's be honest, they need it. The early ball into our full forward line allowed this to happen and things were sticking to McCurry and Kyle.

The second half and things went to pot. I don't know if there was a breeze against us but the early ball ceased to be a tactic and the half backs were repeatedly crossing the half back line en masse. Cork would turn us over, break and the amount of space in front of the full back line was frightening. We simply cannot leave the full back line exposed. If the CHF position is vacant teams appear to cut us to shreds.

We're not picking up much breaking ball around the middle any more. I thought McBride might help out there but he seemed to be playing nowhere in particular. We need Mark Donnelly and Penrose buzzing around the middle.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 30, 2014, 09:17:08 PM
Quote from: CD on March 30, 2014, 09:05:12 PM
I must say - Kyle Coney was fantastic today. Now that's the player i saw in 2008. I had said i was on the fence about his inclusion but if he continues to put in brilliant displays like this i'll be totally won over. I know one swallow doesn't make a summer but it seems his rehabilitation from a series of injuries is finally over! Great to see!!

Quote from: CD on March 03, 2014, 09:20:39 PM
Quote from: time ticking away on March 03, 2014, 06:16:18 PM
Quote from: hugh the root on March 03, 2014, 01:37:26 PM
Kildare were the much better team as they had a bit of height and power about them.Fair play to whoever brought on Coney as he was the reason why Tyrone got back into the game.he looks like a footballer and I just hope he gets a deserving start in Killarney
;D Are you Kyle or Gavin

Easiest lad I've ever seen to block down. His kicking technique is really strange. He hates sticky corner backs, doesn't use his height effectively and is too slow/lazy to play in the half forward line where he'd have a bit more room. If you only watch the highlights of games and see him swing over a couple of frees or a handy point when the game's already won (see McKenna Cup Final) you'd imagine he's a star..Reached his level when he was 18 and bigger than everyone else. I fear the rest of his career at county level will be anticlimax in comparison. In fairness to him, injuries haven't helped but he can be an unbelievably frustrating player. There's only so many years you can live of the promise shown one summer afternoon in Croker

Yes, you were on the fence about him!  ;)
Post by: CD on March 30, 2014, 09:22:41 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 30, 2014, 09:17:08 PM
Quote from: CD on March 30, 2014, 09:05:12 PM

Quote from: CD on March 03, 2014, 09:20:39 PM
Quote from: time ticking away on March 03, 2014, 06:16:18 PM
Quote from: hugh the root on March 03, 2014, 01:37:26 PM
Kildare were the much better team as they had a bit of height and power about them.Fair play to whoever brought on Coney as he was the reason why Tyrone got back into the game.he looks like a footballer and I just hope he gets a deserving start in Killarney
;D Are you Kyle or Gavin

Easiest lad I've ever seen to block down. His kicking technique is really strange. He hates sticky corner backs, doesn't use his height effectively and is too slow/lazy to play in the half forward line where he'd have a bit more room. If you only watch the highlights of games and see him swing over a couple of frees or a handy point when the game's already won (see McKenna Cup Final) you'd imagine he's a star..Reached his level when he was 18 and bigger than everyone else. I fear the rest of his career at county level will be anticlimax in comparison. In fairness to him, injuries haven't helped but he can be an unbelievably frustrating player. There's only so many years you can live of the promise shown one summer afternoon in Croker

Yes, you were on the fence about him!  ;)

Brilliant!  ;D Still on a bit of that fence in fairness!!
Post by: Main Street on March 30, 2014, 09:57:28 PM
Quote from: trileacman on March 30, 2014, 03:35:55 PM
Rather, the ref buying cavanagh going to ground easily, was the telling intervention at the end.
Post by: orangeman on March 30, 2014, 10:14:13 PM
Good game of football. Last night's match and today's match were top drawer entertainment.

Draw a fair enough result today.
Post by: Redhand Santa on March 30, 2014, 11:14:17 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 30, 2014, 09:57:28 PM
Rather, the ref buying cavanagh going to ground easily, was the telling intervention at the end.

Only for the deliberate pull down cavanagh was bursting through, nonsense comment.

Thought we played well for large parts of the game but can't afford to switch of for periods and stop competing for breaking ball in the middle and stop following men back.

Some lovely football at times with great scores particularly from coney. Wouldn't mind if we'd gormley and joe fit for the half back line seeing how mattie d and coney would do together up front with mccurry playing of them. Might be danger they'd cancel each other out but I think they'd be dangerous. Then mark donnelly and penrose trying to pick up breaks around the middle. Could even play Clarke around there to support the 2 cavanaghs.

Thought mcnamee did pretty well overall today. McKenna started poorly but improved as it went on. Pity pj is obviously injured again as he'd be a cert for the corner too ahead of mcrory. Was disappointed with Mcginley and Mcaliskey in the forwards today.
Post by: Jinxy on March 30, 2014, 11:20:49 PM

Nonsense.
The black card was brought in to protect players like Sean Cavanagh, from players like Sean Cavanagh.
Post by: sam03/05 on March 30, 2014, 11:31:14 PM
Mattie Donnelly is wasted at number 6, and to be honest he still does not close up the middle, as Cork often ran through us at will. I would say his best position is where he played last year number 10. Would like to see Ronan McNabb play 6, if he is not fit (which is often) then either Gormley or Joe McMahon would be good options.
Tyrone will have a serious squad if everyone fit, players like Stevie O'Neill, Penrose will give great competition for places.
However at the end of the day when it comes to the really big games in Croker (Quarter/ Semi) we will be cleaned out as we simply don't have the defenders in the full back positions.
McCrory, McKenna, PJ, McNamee, Tierney all simply not good enough at the highest level.
Post by: ONeill on March 31, 2014, 12:03:46 AM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on March 30, 2014, 11:14:17 PM

Only for the deliberate pull down cavanagh was bursting through, nonsense comment.

Thought we played well for large parts of the game but can't afford to switch of for periods and stop competing for breaking ball in the middle and stop following men back.

Some lovely football at times with great scores particularly from coney. Wouldn't mind if we'd gormley and joe fit for the half back line seeing how mattie d and coney would do together up front with mccurry playing of them. Might be danger they'd cancel each other out but I think they'd be dangerous. Then mark donnelly and penrose trying to pick up breaks around the middle. Could even play Clarke around there to support the 2 cavanaghs.

Thought mcnamee did pretty well overall today. McKenna started poorly but improved as it went on. Pity pj is obviously injured again as he'd be a cert for the corner too ahead of mcrory. Was disappointed with Mcginley and Mcaliskey in the forwards today.

McAliskey not showing it at county level. Strange conundrum. Great club players.
Post by: Onthe40 on March 31, 2014, 09:29:21 AM
Have to agree on McAliskey..not cutting it for me..have seen him 3-4 times now and doesnt offer the same threat as the other forwards..doesnt seem to have the ability to be able to engineer space or take a man on the way coney and mc curry were able to yesterday..cork goal actually came from him getting blocked down in the forward line. Whilst he is accurate and has ability to bang a ball over the bar from distance, getting hinself to the position to do this is his problem.
McGinley showed promise  towards the end of last year I thought, but having been tried in the half back and half forward line, his chances are running out now...
Post by: Fuzzman on March 31, 2014, 03:21:45 PM
Didn't get to see the whole game but have it recorded so will watch it tonight hopefully.
Of what I did see we looked to have done well to come back after their second goal.
I was pleasantly surprised how well the FB line held out but Colm O'Neill's goal looked like he wriggled free a bit too easy.

I'm probably being too hard on him again but I really haven't seem Mattie play that well this year as yet. A lot of ye were calling out for him to play CHB but it doesn't look like he's doing that well there either. Was glad to see Block and Penrose coming back into the team and I can never understand how many of ye don't rate Penrose. He's a real work horse and good for winning dirty ball.

Did any of ye see Kerrigan near the end? There was a Cork pass went over the sideline and he hopped off the bench and kicked the ball away to waste a few seconds. As soon as he did it he went hiding back into the bench as he probably remembered he'd be on tv. Then at the very end he was first up out of the bench and was away into the changing rooms.
He's a great player though and very hard to catch once he gets in his stride. A bit like big Sean but of course without the "diving"  ???
I think the Monaghan lads will never like big Sean in the same way most Armagh lads never warmed to him and Jordan
Post by: omagh_gael on March 31, 2014, 04:18:43 PM
Mattie has been arguably been our best performer this year Fuzz, was always going to find it difficult to shine in the CHB position this last few games due to our lack of first phase and second phase ball at midfield. Hopefully this improves with the likes of block, Joey and Penrose returning allowing Matty himself, along with others, to focus/improve this area.
Post by: Redhand Santa on March 31, 2014, 09:31:51 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 31, 2014, 03:21:45 PM
Didn't get to see the whole game but have it recorded so will watch it tonight hopefully.
Of what I did see we looked to have done well to come back after their second goal.
I was pleasantly surprised how well the FB line held out but Colm O'Neill's goal looked like he wriggled free a bit too easy.

I'm probably being too hard on him again but I really haven't seem Mattie play that well this year as yet. A lot of ye were calling out for him to play CHB but it doesn't look like he's doing that well there either. Was glad to see Block and Penrose coming back into the team and I can never understand how many of ye don't rate Penrose. He's a real work horse and good for winning dirty ball.

Did any of ye see Kerrigan near the end? There was a Cork pass went over the sideline and he hopped off the bench and kicked the ball away to waste a few seconds. As soon as he did it he went hiding back into the bench as he probably remembered he'd be on tv. Then at the very end he was first up out of the bench and was away into the changing rooms.
He's a great player though and very hard to catch once he gets in his stride. A bit like big Sean but of course without the "diving"  ???
I think the Monaghan lads will never like big Sean in the same way most Armagh lads never warmed to him and Jordan

Did you see the Mayo game?
Post by: nrico2006 on April 01, 2014, 08:30:08 AM
I don't understand why Mattie Donnelly was moved after the performance he produced (along with McCurry and O'Neill) against Mayo.
Post by: Fuzzman on April 01, 2014, 10:35:29 AM
No didn't see that game but heard he was very good the first half scoring 5 from play and a bit quieter the 2nd half.

Yeah I think he has it in him to be a great player and he looked very good in the Sigerson but to me McCurry has really pushed on from last year and now as well as being a talented confident young lad, he seems to be working much harder and can even win his own ball this year.
Whereas I just feel Mattie seems to have maybe bulked up too much and lacks a wee bit of pace that you need in the FF line to get away from a man. I'm sure he'll prove me wrong this week and I'll end up feeling like Trileacman but maybe I have unrealistic high hopes for him.

Watched a bit of the highlights of the Cork match last night and Mattie was outpaced a few times by his man but I suppose Kerrigan will outpace most defenders. I'd say Block or Joey will end up CHB come championship.

Did any of the rest of ye not see the Kerrigan incident where he kicked the ball away to time waste and then he hid in the dugout. Then at the very end he left the pitch asap. Was funny.
It looked like we did better around MF on Sunday would that be right?
Are Sean & Colm the most likely pairing there now?
I noticed in Killarney how often Colm goes up with one hand and uses the other hand to hold a man off.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 01, 2014, 01:24:13 PM
Both Cavanaghs were quiet Sunday.  Tyrone still not getting enough men to the break ball.  Cork took control of the game in the middle during second half.
Post by: nrico2006 on April 01, 2014, 01:44:45 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on April 01, 2014, 10:35:29 AM
No didn't see that game but heard he was very good the first half scoring 5 from play and a bit quieter the 2nd half.

Yeah I think he has it in him to be a great player and he looked very good in the Sigerson but to me McCurry has really pushed on from last year and now as well as being a talented confident young lad, he seems to be working much harder and can even win his own ball this year.
Whereas I just feel Mattie seems to have maybe bulked up too much and lacks a wee bit of pace that you need in the FF line to get away from a man. I'm sure he'll prove me wrong this week and I'll end up feeling like Trileacman but maybe I have unrealistic high hopes for him.

Watched a bit of the highlights of the Cork match last night and Mattie was outpaced a few times by his man but I suppose Kerrigan will outpace most defenders. I'd say Block or Joey will end up CHB come championship.

Did any of the rest of ye not see the Kerrigan incident where he kicked the ball away to time waste and then he hid in the dugout. Then at the very end he left the pitch asap. Was funny.
I noticed in Killarney how often Colm goes up with one hand and uses the other hand to hold a man off.

Kerrigan is arguably the fastest man in the game. 
Post by: orangeman on April 01, 2014, 02:34:00 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 01, 2014, 08:30:08 AM
I don't understand why Mattie Donnelly was moved after the performance he produced (along with McCurry and O'Neill) against Mayo.

Needs must.
Post by: sensethetone on April 01, 2014, 02:44:08 PM
Quote from: orangeman on April 01, 2014, 02:34:00 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 01, 2014, 08:30:08 AM

Needs must.

the defence is tighter with mattie at no6, although they let in 3:26 in 2 games :o
Post by: nrico2006 on April 01, 2014, 03:08:49 PM
Danny McBride at six should have been tried by now. 
Post by: BennyHarp on April 01, 2014, 03:32:27 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on April 01, 2014, 10:35:29 AM

McCurry has been helped immensely by Tyrone getting the ball in much faster and sharper. I think this has been a major improvement in our game from last year. McCurry now is confident that when he makes the run the ball is coming - last year he was making several runs before 5 hand passes were made outfield and eventually the ball was delivered - by which time he was bottled up by men swarming back. He is turning into a class player and if him and Coney can produce that sort of performance in the summer then we will at least always keep the scoreboard ticking over.
Post by: Fuzzman on April 02, 2014, 11:04:57 AM
Very good point BennyH and I'd say the other forwards are also benefiting from that. I'd say Coney will also benefit from playing teams who don't play a sweeper and so it's easier to kick the ball in faster and more direct.
I'd say SoN will be chomping at the bit to play under the new rules as every year for the past 6 or 7 years he's got 2 men pulling and dragging at him. Hopefully he can get fit and we haven't seen the last of Stevie just yet.

Any more news on Justy or Joey or should we just leave forget about them til the summer.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 02, 2014, 07:24:22 PM
Lads, didn't want to start a new thread but presume some of ye have heard the latest on McCarron...hope its an April fool or something, but if it's not.. :-\
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 02, 2014, 08:27:45 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 02, 2014, 07:24:22 PM
Lads, didn't want to start a new thread but presume some of ye have heard the latest on McCarron...hope its an April fool or something, but if it's not.. :-\

:-\ :-\ ...best not to contribute to the brouhaha.

Post by: Syferus on April 02, 2014, 08:31:42 PM
Jaysus. I hope the lad gets his life back on track.
Post by: CD on April 02, 2014, 08:42:41 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on April 02, 2014, 08:27:45 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 02, 2014, 07:24:22 PM

:-\ :-\ ...best not to contribute to the brouhaha.

Holy Good God Almighty! I've only just read about this! Surely it's a remnant from yesterday's April Fool nonsense!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 03, 2014, 06:46:45 PM
Topic abit of track and not really anything to do with gaelic football, so best left unsaid
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on April 03, 2014, 10:00:42 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 03, 2014, 06:46:45 PM
Topic abit of track and not really anything to do with gaelic football, so best left unsaid

I don't want to get into great detail, but it was on the front of one of the papers today so you can't just ignore it.

Seems the lad is getting some help now which is a start anyway.
Post by: BennyHarp on April 03, 2014, 10:36:36 PM
I think what Wilweasels point was that this is a match thread to discuss the Cork v Tyrone game. It's not really anything to do with an ex-Tyrone player currently playing for another county and what's happening in his private life.
Post by: nrico2006 on April 04, 2014, 08:23:19 AM
Ssssh, you're apparently not allowed to talk about anything here concerning footballers. 
Post by: Syferus on April 04, 2014, 06:34:58 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on April 03, 2014, 10:36:36 PM
I think what Wilweasels point was that this is a match thread to discuss the Cork v Tyrone game. It's not really anything to do with an ex-Tyrone player currently playing for another county and what's happening in his private life.

To be fair far more people would be peeved if that tact was took and a thread was made about it.

The response here has been correct and sympathetic, absolutely nothing to complain about.