Down Club Hurling & Football

Started by Lecale2, November 10, 2006, 12:06:55 AM

Splash

It's never a bad thing to have 1 or 2 quality players, but depending on them too much is a risky strategy.

The u17s sounds like it was handled much like an after thought to be honest.

Going off both performances against Antrim, there's a work to be done yet.

Splash

Down had a massive victory over Tyrone last weekend. 9-26 to 0-13. And it probably could have been a higher score if Down were a little more ruthless.

It has massively boosted the points difference as you would expect.

What is the biggest win for Down hurlers? It surely can't be too far off that?

Wasn't that long ago we were on the receiving end of a similar beating against Laois.

It's not a nice thing to do to a team- we know what it feels like better than anyone. But look, the job's done. There seems to be a lot of things going right in Tyrone, and that was the first time they were blown away all year. Hopefully it does them no real damage. Good to see hurling growing across Ulster.

Beat Kerry tomorrow, and Down will be back in Division 1 for the first time in nearly 20 years.

I think Derry beating Meath today has done Down a bit of a favour, but ultimately, Down's future is in their own hands tomorrow.

Tralee is not an easy place to go, but Down and Kerry have been tit for tat over the years, and despite Kerry's bad form as of late, I'm still expecting a battle.

All the talk at the start of the year was of Kerry's Fionán Mackessy lining out for Kilkenny. Undoubtably a loss, and I see Shane Conway hasn't been named to start tomorrow, but there are plenty of hurlers in Kerry who have been a thorn in the side of this Down team before.

It's a tough place to go, and Down haven't the best record in the Kingdom, but Down will know what is required. We have Kerry at home in the championship as far as I'm aware, and whilst it's always a good marker to play them in the league to compare, there a bigger things on the line tomorrow.

Best of luck to the team and management. One last push. Up Down.

Mourne Red

Well done to the hurlers.. Divison 1 Hurling for them next year. Fair play to management and players for the years of development and training put in to get to where they are now. Not be a full hen house from Leitrim to Ards peninsula tonight

downtothecore

Well Done Hurlers... a tight knit group of lads who are now delivering on their potential.

Well done to the hurlers, much deserved win and promotion.

This group is in their prime, mid to late 20's with the odd one early 30's so hopefully they'll all commit to giving Div1B a good rattle next year.

Interesting interview with Eoin Sands after the game, there is indeed quite a few lads on the team whose fathers would have been on Down teams who played in Div1 in the past, the Sands brothers themselves, da Noel played, Viper Keith, his da also Noel, Darragh Mallon, his da is Marty Mallon, Tom McGrattan, son of big Ger, the Savage brothers Phelim and Liam, Gazza's sons, Pierce O'g, his Da, Pierce played under Sean McGuinness along the brother Jerome, Donal Hughes, Danny Hogs son and Paul Sheehan who's Da was Eoghan Sheehan I believe who also played for Down in and around that first era when Down made it into Div1 and stayed there for quite a few years.

ardtole

I saw a Blaney mentioned in the minor hurling team, I'm presuming the son or nephew of Greg.

Nephew as far as I know.

(He was on the u20 team but I think he's about football teams too).

Quote from: imtommygunn on March 10, 2025, 09:57:49 AMNephew as far as I know.

(He was on the u20 team but I think he's about football teams too).

Mickeys son, Liam.

Mickey was the best hurler of all the Blaneys stick wise, had a turn of pace and deadly left hand.

DownFanatic

Brilliant achievement for our hurlers getting to 1B. Do we have the ability and depth to sustain a period at this level or would that be a huge ask?

Quote from: DownFanatic on March 10, 2025, 11:38:08 AMBrilliant achievement for our hurlers getting to 1B. Do we have the ability and depth to sustain a period at this level or would that be a huge ask?

It will be a huge ask.

We will in all likelihood be playing the likes of Clare, Wexford, and either Waterford or Dublin.

And that's not to mention Antrim and Carlow (who beat KK in the Leinster round robin last year) so it's a big step up in standard.

Sure, what's the worse that can happen?

Splash

Quote from: Splash on March 10, 2025, 01:52:36 PMAn amazing day for Down Hurling.

Division 1 for the first time in nearly 20 years.

Delighted.

It's no secret here how tough things can be in the Down hurling world, so a massive congratulations to all the players, management, and anyone involved with the teams.

We spent so long stuck in Division 2B, and finally broke through that glass ceiling. To get promoted 5 years later- after many people would have tipped Down to be relegated- is admirable.

I remember when we won 2B, Antrim won 2A the same year. I was delighted for them, but I remember thinking, 'wouldn't that be great.' A great day.

Down didn't make it easy on themselves, but they'll not worry too much about that now.

There's no two ways about it- Division 1 is going to be a big step up. But this is where we want to be. In all likelihood we'll be playing Clare- the All Ireland Champions. I know it's the league, but who cares? This is the next step for Down.

It's too early to know if Down will manage to stay up. In all likelihood, Kildare will be promoted with us. That's a game Down definitely can target. Antrim and Carlow are two good sides, but Down have beaten both in recent years. Sustaining Division 1 status is not out of the realms of possibility. But we'll worry about that next year.

Couldn't ask for much more this year. A lot of sons on that team as mentioned above. Good to see hurlers from Carryduff, Warrenpoint, Ballela, and other teams also included though.

A great day for Down. They have done us all proud. A lot of work has been put in over the past few years, and it really is paying off. I hope having our hurlers competing against the top teams inspires more people to take up the small ball, or to get their kids involved. The fact Down have reached this level with so few resources is testament to the dedication and quality in this small hurling world.

Up Down.

Truth hurts

Will there be any hurling games in Pairc Esler next year? Or would the hurlers prefer the Ards?

Splash

I am assuming the home games will be in Ballycran.

I understand that. Ballycran has been more than good to Down over the years. It is a fortress, Down are rarely beat there.

It is a massive pity though. It would be a great exhibition to potentially have the Munster/Leinster/All Ireland Champions in Newry.

It's not out of the realms of possibility to say the footballers could be in Div 3 next year. If the powers that be have any sort of cop on, they'd arrange double headers against Wexford, Clare and Antrim (assuming all results go to form, all these teams will be in Division 3 football and Division 1 hurling). Would do everybody a world of good.

Hopefully the hurlers get at least one game in Newry, but I'd say Ballycran is more likely.

Unfortunately I don't think antrim will be in division 3 football next year...

Yeah double headers would be great. You have to credit Sheehan here - really has done a great job with Down hurlers.

Truth hurts

A massive game on Saturday for us, The pitch in Newry, which has been in bad nick for the last few games, will benefit from a decent week's weather.