GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: manfromdelmonte on January 14, 2017, 10:15:41 PM

Title: Under 12 championships - no more Go Games
Post by: manfromdelmonte on January 14, 2017, 10:15:41 PM
Has anyone else heard the rule change at Under 12 level that 13 a side championships are to be allowed run in football and hurling thus doing away with the Go Games format at U12 level, which has been pared back to U11 level?

Title: Re: Under 12 championships - no more Go Games
Post by: Ty4Sam on January 14, 2017, 10:21:41 PM
First I've heard of it  but if true it's a step in the right direction. Competitiveness is natural to that age group, let them play and experience winning but more importantly losing. GoGames is a fantastic initiative but I think U12 is a bit too old to ask kids to play non competitively.
Post by: No wides on January 14, 2017, 10:40:24 PM
And a bit to young to allow kids who are developing at a slower rate to sit all season on the sideline.  It may drive kids away.
Post by: Ty4Sam on January 14, 2017, 10:49:17 PM
Completely understand your point, I really do. I think more emphasis should be put on managers to give all kids game time. I'm not promoting a win at all costs championship but I think encouraging competitiveness is a good thing no matter how far down the development line you are.
Post by: JimStynes on January 15, 2017, 12:32:18 AM
I'm not sure. I would start competitive around Under 14 age group!
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on January 15, 2017, 03:31:02 AM
Really feel we are wrapping the kids in cotton wool, it's the same in all walks of life. I was a young parent and now as I turn 34 I have a 13 year old girl in 2nd year and a 10 year old that will be a 1st year in September. Some of the stuff they come out with is dumbfounding, the letters we get home from school need an hour of your time and they come every second day. The rules and regulations that teachers and coaches have to abide by are rediculus. The three best coaches I played under scared the living crap out of me because I knew they would not take any SH1T. There is no fear factor anymore with the modern day child because they know they have you tied up in knots. When it comes to developing footballers let them play go games till 10. Then let them compete. Yes the stronger will survive at first but then the smaller will grow up round them and will be stronger because of the experience. The participation era yes let's everyone play who's to say it's isn't driving away talented youngsters that need a competitive edge and they go and get it at rugby of soccer.
Post by: JimStynes on January 15, 2017, 11:58:33 AM
I am all for competitive games. But at under 12 I think it should be 9 a side and ensuring more children get game time, while keeping it competitive at the same time.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on January 15, 2017, 12:54:15 PM
I too think that 12 year olds should be playing competitive games. Its in their nature to want to win games. Losing is important too.
Some kids get too used to winning, then when they start to lose games at U14 and U16 they don't want to play anymore!

However, what many clubs will do is play talented 11 and 10 year olds instead of the weaker 12 year olds as the need to win a game in a championship becomes the priority.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 15, 2017, 06:50:55 PM
In Tipp it hasn't been Go Games at U12 for 2 years now.
Post by: TheManInBlack on January 15, 2017, 07:19:30 PM
I was under the impression that one of the reasons for doing away with U12 championships was down to the moronic behaviour of mentors and parents. Competition is one thing, but being possibly intimadated out of a 'sporting' pursuit is another. Therefore players walking away at 12.
Post by: Avondhu star on January 15, 2017, 07:25:07 PM
The one big issue not being addressed is the loss of players particularly when they enter secondary school. If kids dont get game time they will quickly go off the sport and find something else to do. Coaches and managers really dont care about losing weaker young lads as long as they can field a team and supplement a panel by bringing up a strong player from a younger age group. There are plenty so called weaker lads though who stuck with it and developed into fine players as they grew physically.
Post by: rosnarun on January 16, 2017, 11:22:13 AM
Quote from: Avondhu star on January 15, 2017, 07:25:07 PM
The one big issue not being addressed is the loss of players particularly when they enter secondary school. If kids dont get game time they will quickly go off the sport and find something else to do. Coaches and managers really dont care about losing weaker young lads as long as they can field a team and supplement a panel by bringing up a strong player from a younger age group. There are plenty so called weaker lads though who stuck with it and developed into fine players as they grew physically.
i think thats where internal competitions such as schools leagues should come into it. Kids don't really mind who they are playing as long as they are getting a game . Games should be competitive but not necessarily with in structured competitions 
Post by: AZOffaly on January 16, 2017, 11:31:37 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on January 16, 2017, 11:22:13 AM
i think thats where internal competitions such as schools leagues should come into it. Kids don't really mind who they are playing as long as they are getting a game . Games should be competitive but not necessarily with in structured competitions

I think there is an onus on clubs and boards to make sure they organise secondary and tertiary competitions for clubs who have numbers. We have 3 U12 teams, and luckily enough in North Tipp there are sufficient numbers to play competitions at 3 separate grades, so basically everyone of them is getting regular games.

At U14 we had two teams last year, but probably enough for 3 teams this year. And that's where it gets tricky. The 'probably enough' comment. Or those clubs who might have say 24 U14s. You can obviously bump it up with U12s to make 2 teams, but I'd also like to see a seperate schedule, even at 7 aside, where the clubs can bring 10 players and play against other clubs in a similar position. Make it competitive and call it the U14 Supplementary Championship or something. The kids need to know they are playing something that is worth playing, not some sort of blitz thing for the weaker guys. Make a rule that you can only play 3 or 4 of your U14 team that played in the grades above.

That way you'd be guaranteed games for the 6 or 7 lads in a panel of 24 that are getting very limited if any game time with the top team in the age group. If you don't have a B team entered, this is where you start to lose lads.
Post by: uimhr ocht on January 16, 2017, 05:46:09 PM
Was it croke park done away with the u12 championship or was it up to each county to decide weather to have it or go games,we have a competetive league but no chship.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on January 16, 2017, 06:21:50 PM
Quote from: uimhr ocht on January 16, 2017, 05:46:09 PM
Was it croke park done away with the u12 championship or was it up to each county to decide weather to have it or go games,we have a competetive league but no chship.
Croke Park directive

Post by: Downtheroad on January 16, 2017, 08:26:10 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on January 14, 2017, 10:15:41 PM
Has anyone else heard the rule change at Under 12 level that 13 a side championships are to be allowed run in football and hurling thus doing away with the Go Games format at U12 level, which has been pared back to U11 level?
I think the background to this is that underage is going to u13,15,17 in some if not all counties.It's is a good idea where there will be a clear divide between underage and adult so that both can run without interference with each other as happens at the moment. We all know the problem with minors playing too many games. 
Post by: manfromdelmonte on January 16, 2017, 08:29:39 PM
Quote from: Downtheroad on January 16, 2017, 08:26:10 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on January 14, 2017, 10:15:41 PM
I think the background to this is that underage is going to u13,15,17 in some if not all counties.It's is a good idea where there will be a clear divide between underage and adult so that both can run without interference with each other as happens at the moment. We all know the problem with minors playing too many games.
In most counties most minors don't play enough.gsmes
Post by: Avondhu star on January 17, 2017, 10:05:30 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on January 16, 2017, 11:22:13 AM
From a parents viewpoint there is nothing worse than rushing from work on a Summer evening in order to get lads to matches half way across the county or even locally and the lad doesnt even get a run out maybe because of big panels or the coach bringing up a stronger player from a younger team. I can understand why young lads would walk away. There is nothing wrong with competition but participation is also important
Post by: johnneycool on January 17, 2017, 04:29:29 PM
Quote from: Ty4Sam on January 14, 2017, 10:21:41 PM
First I've heard of it  but if true it's a step in the right direction. Competitiveness is natural to that age group, let them play and experience winning but more importantly losing. GoGames is a fantastic initiative but I think U12 is a bit too old to ask kids to play non competitively.

Kids are inherently competitive and that should never be stymied, but its the behaviour of parents and coaches are the worry.

With Go games coaches are more inclined to give the weaker lads a run out as it doesn't matter in terms of who scored what plus parents especially of the stronger kids are more inclined to see past their wee Jonny not getting to do everything in pursuit of a "victory".

Remove that and there's now pressure on coaches and dickhead parents putting pressure on their kids to chase a bit of tin at the end of the year.

Wee Jonny should have taken that free you know.
Post by: The Insider on January 19, 2017, 02:37:20 AM
Longford have been doing this for the last 4 years , we also have a cross border competition with Leitrim clubs that has been successful going into its 4th year this May . Caters for all sizes of clubs . Groups of 4 teams with 2 from each county . Finals alternate between Pearse Park and Pairc Sean each year depending on pairings . Leitrim likely to move to the odd year grades this year . Longford sticking with the traditional grades for now
Post by: The Gs Man on January 19, 2017, 11:55:53 AM
We're planning to give every U12 at least a half this year whether we're 10 up at half-time or 10 down.

Your wee shy kid at U 12 may be your senior midfielder in 8 years time.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 19, 2017, 12:07:44 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on January 19, 2017, 11:55:53 AM
We're planning to give every U12 at least a half this year whether we're 10 up at half-time or 10 down.

Your wee shy kid at U 12 may be your senior midfielder in 8 years time.

You're 100% correct but try telling that to the big lads Dad who's trying to relive his failed sporting career through his 11 year old man child!
Post by: The Gs Man on January 19, 2017, 01:12:35 PM
I hear ye Seanie!  We'll cross that bridge when we come to it though.

You can't do right for doing wrong sometimes.  Sticking to our principles though and hopefully people will see the bigger picture.

In an ideal world all clubs would follow the same principle and it would level things out.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 19, 2017, 01:18:40 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on January 19, 2017, 01:12:35 PM
I hear ye Seanie!  We'll cross that bridge when we come to it though.

You can't do right for doing wrong sometimes.  Sticking to our principles though and hopefully people will see the bigger picture.

In an ideal world all clubs would follow the same principle and it would level things out.

Also just be aware of the other kids, particularly the better ones.Kids are, has been stated, competitive. If you are bringing off better lads, to bring on weaker lads, then you'll have to make sure the better kids don't start getting pissed off, or angry at the weaker kids. Two issues can occur there

1 - The better kids start getting disillusioned and pissed off with the game and/or with the weaker kids. "We lost because you came on"
2 - The weaker kids start getting scared to turn up because they know they have to play. "I'm not going because I don't want the others to shout at me".

That's a reason why I prefer to tke the parental grief up front, and field several teams (numbers allowing) at levels that are challenging enough for all the players, without being daunting or frightening for the weaker lads. Some kids think they should be higher, while their parents can get thick. But as long as everyone knows you are trying to give lads maximum playing time at a level they can enjoy and improve at, then it tends to work itself out.

Post by: The Gs Man on January 19, 2017, 01:32:37 PM
Good points there AZ and will definitely take them on board.

I'm moving up from U 10 Go Games to help out with the U 12s.  Luckily the U 12 coaches are staying on as well and they employed the same system last year.

As you say, being up front with the parents and trying to get them to see the bigger picture will be the biggest issue to overcome.

We've a big enough panel for 1 team but not enough for 2 teams so we'll be getting a lot of challenge matches organised as well.  Some kids might get more game time than others (this will bring problems no doubt) but we'll be guaranteeing every kid a half. 
Post by: AZOffaly on January 19, 2017, 01:48:26 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on January 19, 2017, 01:32:37 PM
Good points there AZ and will definitely take them on board.

I'm moving up from U 10 Go Games to help out with the U 12s.  Luckily the U 12 coaches are staying on as well and they employed the same system last year.

As you say, being up front with the parents and trying to get them to see the bigger picture will be the biggest issue to overcome.

We've a big enough panel for 1 team but not enough for 2 teams so we'll be getting a lot of challenge matches organised as well.  Some kids might get more game time than others (this will bring problems no doubt) but we'll be guaranteeing every kid a half.

Yeah it sounds like ye know what yer doing. I know we walked ourselves into issues a couple of years ago because of best intentions. We never really got the parental buy in up front, so they thought our u12 coaches were basically brain dead idiots. Giving everyone equal time sounds great until you are in a close game and you have to take off a better player to put on a weaker one. It's the right thing to do, but it takes belief in your approach to do it. All you can do is try and explain up front what you are doing.

I had a situation myself with a development squad where I committed that every player would get a game. We had 3 group games, and a 'final' in our tournament, spread over 4 weeks. The problem was that by the final, because of a combination of bad circumstances and poor planning by me, we had one lad who hadn't played at all. We were playing the third game, which was when I had slated him to come on, and because of the way the game was going, I couldn't bring him on because the other lads would have gone mental. We were winning by 8 points and needed to win by 11 (we thought) to make the final. As it transpired, we made the final because the final positions were based on scores conceded rather than score difference (We won 2 and lost 1).

Anyway, after the game I spoke to the young lad and apologised to him, and I promised him that he would play the next week, come hell or high water. I reiterated to my co-selectors that this was happening, and we picked him to start, ahead of one of the better players. I reasoned that I'd prefer to start him, give him a half at least, and bring on the other lad if the game was close. But either way I was a bit ashamed of myself for not playing him the previous week, and I knew it was more important for him to play, than for us to win a poxy tournament. I also reasoned it would be better for the other lads to see the better lad coming on, rather than being taken off to be replaced by someone weaker.

I was happy enough with that, and then when I got to the location, and we were about to name the starting lineup, the young lad came up to me and said he hurt his ankle playing outside with his mates the night before. I felt so bad for him, and tried to make sure he was really unable to go, but he was certain.

It was only after I told him that I was really sorry, and that he would have started, that I saw relief in his face and I realised he no more wanted to play than the man in the moon. He felt nervous because he knew he had to play at some stage, and the final was the only game left. So he faked an injury (I believe).

Now this was a divisional side, so they were all reasonable standard, and this lad would have been in no way embarrassed, but because I made an arse of not bringing him on in an earlier game, he played no football with us in 'competitive' games. He played a challenge match or two alright. I've been doing this for a few years now, and it's the first time it happened to me, and it's a lesson I'll learn. But as well as what I'm learning from it, it also pinpointed that topic of a young lad feeling out of his depth. I had no idea he felt like that, I assumed he'd be raging he wasn't playing. At club level that may be even more of a problem, so look out for it, and try build up their confidence, but also put them in situations where they can gain confidence, rather than just firing them in in 'pressure' situations, or where they are completely out of their depth.
Post by: The Gs Man on January 19, 2017, 02:12:59 PM
Good advice again AZ.  Hadn't really thought of it from that point of view before, so will definitely discuss this with the rest of the coaches.

I've been involved with U 8 and U 10, but this is the first year at U 12 and I expect it to be a lot more difficult coming out of the GO Games format.

A steep learning curve ahead no doubt!

Another issue we have is that most of our coaches have their own kid playing in the age group.  I can foresee problems with this with perceived bias.  Although I'm more likely to substitute my kid first which may not be fair on him either.

Any experience in this area?
Post by: No wides on January 19, 2017, 02:16:49 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on January 19, 2017, 02:12:59 PM
Good advice again AZ.  Hadn't really thought of it from that point of view before, so will definitely discuss this with the rest of the coaches.

I've been involved with U 8 and U 10, but this is the first year at U 12 and I expect it to be a lot more difficult coming out of the GO Games format.

Another issue we have is that most of our coaches have their own kid playing in the age group.  I can foresee problems with this with perceived bias.  Although I'm more likely to substitute my kid first which may not be fair on him either.

This is a huge issue in my opinion, coaches following their kids, its not the bias of their son, I have found it is the bias for their son's mates is the issue.  Personally I think if you want to coach, coach but following your kid doesn't help the coach or the kid.
Post by: Avondhu star on January 19, 2017, 02:20:21 PM
Of course too there can be a big difference in the physical build up of a lad born in January and a lad born in December.  I think once kids hit 12 you have to have competition. But getting around player loss is difficult. Kids will have some many distractions and all the good underage coaching could be wasted. Of course many parents just use gaa nurseries as their babysitter on a Saturday morning while they go off for brunch. I don't know how many times I've seen the car pull up, back door open and little Johnny hop out with his gear bag and away the car goes.
Post by: The Gs Man on January 19, 2017, 02:27:01 PM
Quote from: No wides on January 19, 2017, 02:16:49 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on January 19, 2017, 02:12:59 PM

This is a huge issue in my opinion, coaches following their kids, its not the bias of their son, I have found it is the bias for their son's mates is the issue.  Personally I think if you want to coach, coach but following your kid doesn't help the coach or the kid.

I can see your point here No Wides, but with us being small rural club, coaches are hard to come by and most of our underage teams would be coached by parents. 

It's a difficult situation alright. 
Post by: AZOffaly on January 19, 2017, 02:36:48 PM
My experience in that area is limited because I have stopped coaching my son's age group for that particular reason. I feel like I'd be too hard on him, not because I would not want to be biased towards him, but because I am always more aware of what he is doing in a match, good and bad, and I'm too aware of the bad so I feel like I'm constantly 'coaching' him, and I want to be his Da, not his coach. I still help out with that age group (because they have 3 teams I am sometimes given a team to look after for a blitz or whatever), but I always try to take a team he is not on, or else if he is on the team I'm with, I am very conscious that I try not focus on what he is doing. And I always ask him afterwards, first thing, 'Did you enjoy that? Ye did very well, ye are coming on a lot'. He knows himself if he does well or not, and he asks me for tips, or advice, and I'm only too delighted to give it, but I really, really don't want to be the 'You need to get stuck in more, you need to get faster, you need to practise more etc etc' type of Da. I prefer to encourage him to work on his skills, work on reading the game, and enjoying himself, and I find I can do that easier when I'm not his coach.

I also said it to him by the way, because it's important he understands the reason I'm not coaching him is based on wanting the best for him, not because I think it's not worth my time or something like that. Initally he wanted me to continue coaching them, but now I think he prefers it like this.

Post by: johnneycool on January 19, 2017, 03:22:50 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 19, 2017, 02:36:48 PM
My experience in that area is limited because I have stopped coaching my son's age group for that particular reason. I feel like I'd be too hard on him, not because I would not want to be biased towards him, but because I am always more aware of what he is doing in a match, good and bad, and I'm too aware of the bad so I feel like I'm constantly 'coaching' him, and I want to be his Da, not his coach. I still help out with that age group (because they have 3 teams I am sometimes given a team to look after for a blitz or whatever), but I always try to take a team he is not on, or else if he is on the team I'm with, I am very conscious that I try not focus on what he is doing. And I always ask him afterwards, first thing, 'Did you enjoy that? Ye did very well, ye are coming on a lot'. He knows himself if he does well or not, and he asks me for tips, or advice, and I'm only too delighted to give it, but I really, really don't want to be the 'You need to get stuck in more, you need to get faster, you need to practise more etc etc' type of Da. I prefer to encourage him to work on his skills, work on reading the game, and enjoying himself, and I find I can do that easier when I'm not his coach.

I also said it to him by the way, because it's important he understands the reason I'm not coaching him is based on wanting the best for him, not because I think it's not worth my time or something like that. Initally he wanted me to continue coaching them, but now I think he prefers it like this.

I've been in that situation as well and IMO you're better stepping out of it, but there are other parents/coaches who it doesn't seem to bother and to be fair don't treat their own kids any differently to the others.

In relation to U12's, in Down Hurling there's a league of fixtures so to speak, but no winners at the end of the year (used to grade into separate leagues later on) and the games are three periods of 20 minutes. The score is kept for only the first period and the third period with the middle period set aside to give the weaker lads a run out and IMO it works pretty well by in large and I'd hate to see it change.

Post by: AZOffaly on January 19, 2017, 03:24:37 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on January 19, 2017, 03:22:50 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 19, 2017, 02:36:48 PM

I've been in that situation as well and IMO you're better stepping out of it, but there are other parents/coaches who it doesn't seem to bother and to be fair don't treat their own kids any differently to the others.

In relation to U12's, in Down Hurling there's a league of fixtures so to speak, but no winners at the end of the year (used to grade into separate leagues later on) and the games are three periods of 20 minutes. The score is kept for only the first period and the third period with the middle period set aside to give the weaker lads a run out and IMO it works pretty well by in large and I'd hate to see it change.

That sounds like a great idea.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 19, 2017, 03:50:50 PM
Interesting discussion. Thanks guys. I've been involved with our U6 and U8 teams in recent years both coaching and planning/organising and our biggest problem was rival clubs. We had big numbers and entered two squads or roughly equal ability, boys and girls together. Our nearest and dearest, despite us outlining this plan at the outset and them being contacted to "remind" them, arrived out with their 11 strongest lads and whipped our U8's. The cheers of their supporters gall me to this day. The one nugget from that day was just before the final quarter when I was saying a few words to them about how their skills were improving...."what's the score?" one lad said. Our mantra as coaches was always to say "it's level" but we were being whipped. There was a silence and I just said..."we got a couple of scores in that period....I think it's about level", cringing at myself as I said it. Quick as a flash one of the young lads says - yeah, I think it's level, come on guys, and away off they went. The kids didn't really notice....it was only us adults who were fuming. I learned a lesson there and then.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 19, 2017, 03:55:28 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 19, 2017, 03:50:50 PM
Interesting discussion. Thanks guys. I've been involved with our U6 and U8 teams in recent years both coaching and planning/organising and our biggest problem was rival clubs. We had big numbers and entered two squads or roughly equal ability, boys and girls together. Our nearest and dearest, despite us outlining this plan at the outset and them being contacted to "remind" them, arrived out with their 11 strongest lads and whipped our U8's. The cheers of their supporters gall me to this day. The one nugget from that day was just before the final quarter when I was saying a few words to them about how their skills were improving...."what's the score?" one lad said. Our mantra as coaches was always to say "it's level" but we were being whipped. There was a silence and I just said..."we got a couple of scores in that period....I think it's about level", cringing at myself as I said it. Quick as a flash one of the young lads says - yeah, I think it's level, come on guys, and away off they went. The kids didn't really notice....it was only us adults who were fuming. I learned a lesson there and then.

I'll give you a better one. There was a rule (u12s I think) where you had to play all players at least a half. So we used to bring maybe 18 players (This was before we had enough for two teams).  IT was 13 a side I think. Anyway, some of the other clubs actually told their weaker players to stay at home, so they only brought 14 or 15, that way they only had to bring on 2 subs instead of our 5 or 6. It was unreal.
Post by: The Gs Man on January 19, 2017, 04:11:31 PM
I hope their seniors get relegated!  :P
Post by: No wides on January 19, 2017, 06:40:38 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 19, 2017, 03:55:28 PM

I'll give you a better one. There was a rule (u12s I think) where you had to play all players at least a half. So we used to bring maybe 18 players (This was before we had enough for two teams).  IT was 13 a side I think. Anyway, some of the other clubs actually told their weaker players to stay at home, so they only brought 14 or 15, that way they only had to bring on 2 subs instead of our 5 or 6. It was unreal.

I have been to blitz where stonger teams bring best 11 and one sub with a similar mindset those who get the text are invited. What that says to the other lads or why coaches dont see what that says is mind boggling.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on January 19, 2017, 10:13:55 PM
I was at an U12 blitz last year where our club had the bare minimum of players due to holidays etc

One of our young lads got injured during a game
In the next game the opposing neighbouring club refused to start with the same number of players
"Not our fault ye didn't bring enough players"
They played on. Also didn't make any substitutions until they had us well bet.
Our parents and club learned a very valuable lesson about that club in that one incident
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 20, 2017, 10:45:57 AM
A good tip to deal with the loudmouth at games is to approach them and ask them would they mind helping out with stats for the team. They'll be so busy entering details onto their phone to comment plus you'll have some data for the team.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 20, 2017, 11:42:50 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 20, 2017, 10:45:57 AM
A good tip to deal with the loudmouth at games is to approach them and ask them would they mind helping out with stats for the team. They'll be so busy entering details onto their phone to comment plus you'll have some data for the team.

That's actually a great idea and our coaching officer has quietly floated that recently. Stats and analysis are a huge part of the game now and while I'd not panic too much about them at those ages it's no harm to get kids familiar with them.....they'll have to deal with them in great detail throughout their lives.
Post by: johnneycool on January 20, 2017, 12:36:41 PM
Quote from: No wides on January 19, 2017, 06:40:38 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 19, 2017, 03:55:28 PM

I have been to blitz where stonger teams bring best 11 and one sub with a similar mindset those who get the text are invited. What that says to the other lads or why coaches dont see what that says is mind boggling.

We'd a dickhead manager in our club doing that at underage blitzes where he'd only bring the strong hurlers to 7 or 9 aside blitzes at U10, U12 and so on and now he can't understand why he's struggling to get a panel for U14's and U16's when you go 15 aside.

Post by: Avondhu star on January 20, 2017, 08:49:25 PM
As regards fathers coaching teams with their son playing I recall under 14 with my son. I was a selector coach etc. I know he didnt like it but no one else would do it. In any case in one game he retaliated against a lad who hit him a slap. He got the red card. After the game I had to address the team about the red carx and keeping discipline. I told them that Mike was wrong to retaliate and that the referee was in charge of dishing out punishment. I also said that if I ever saw any of them taking abuse from an opponent and not defending themselves I would take them off. The son and I were tge best of buddies afterwards
Post by: omagh_gael on January 20, 2017, 10:22:29 PM
Some great advice here lads. I've just started out coaching/helping out with the u-6s in my local club and my eldest son is playing. Hard to understand some of the attitudes at underage out there!