Olympics Paris 2024

Started by weareros, July 23, 2024, 03:00:32 PM

square_ball

Yeah that Algerian boxer today isn't transgender from what I've been reading. It's the testosterone levels same as Semenya situation in the athletics.

This thread is all the proof anyone needs of how sensationalist and misinformed (or poorly informed) people can be when it comes to the topic of fairness in women's sport in the modern age.

It's not that anything has just come to light, or there's been sudden dramatic revelations - there has NEVER been a suggestion that Khelif is transgender (i.e. biologically male competing against females).

The question of fairness/correctness of participation is a separate one entirely. Similar to Caster Semenya.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: Saffrongael on August 01, 2024, 12:58:43 PMRidiculous, probably turned him on, beating up a woman
A person's mind can indeed be totally warped.
You must consider your own.
I mean, wtf have you come up with here?

Duine Inteacht Eile

A pile on?
Against anyone who questioned?

From you?

Fcukin irony alert!!

Big day tomorrow. Medal opportunities in rowing, sailing and equestrian. In rowing, can Paul O'Donovan and Fintan McCarthy do it again?
Track and Field starts too. The 4 x 400m mixed relay will have to qualify for final without Rhasidat due to her heavy schedule.

Friday 1 August
(In order of start time)

GOLF
0844 Men's singles round 2: Shane Lowry

1106 Men's singles round 2: Rory McIlroy

ATHLETICS
1005-1031 Men's 1500m Heats: Andrew Coscoran (Heat 1), Luke McCann (Heat 2) and Cathal Doyle (Heat 3)

1710-1754 Women's 5000m round 1 Heat 2: Jodie McCann

1810-1826 Mixed 4x400m relay Heat 2: Ireland (Team TBC)

1910-1958 Men's shot put qualifying Group B: Eric Favors

SWIMMING
1014-1035 Women's 200m individual medley Heat 5 : Ellen Walshe

2022-2036 Women's 200m individual medley semi-finals: Ellen Walshe (if qualified)

ROWING
1030-1042 Men's pair final: Ross Carrigan and Nathan Twomey

1102-1114 Men's lightweight double sculls final: Paul O'Donovan and Fintan McCarthy

1122-1134 Women's lightweight double sculls final: Margaret Cremen and Aoife Casey

SAILING
1110-1206 Women's dinghy race 3: Eve McMahon

1218-1314 Women's dinghy race 4: Eve McMahon

1430-1526 Men's dinghy race 3: Finn Lynch

1538-1634 Men's dinghy race 4: Finn Lynch

TBC Skiff medal race: Robert Dickson and Sean Waddilove

EQUESTRIAN
1300-1500 Show jumping team event final: Ireland (Daniel Coyle and Legacy, Cian O'Connor and Maurice, Shane Sweetnam and James Kann Cruz)

BOXING
1430 Women's 57kg (featherweight) –round of 16: Michaela Walsh v Svetlana Staneva (BUL)

CANOE SLALOM
1430-1527 Men's kayak cross time trial: Liam Jegou and Noel Hendrick

1540-1637 Women's kayak cross time trial: Madison Corcoran

HOCKEY
1600 Men's Pool B: New Zealand v Ireland

Yes, the ones who started demanding to know how the man could be allowed to fight are the real victims here. Won't somebody please think of the internet morons who raced to accuse Khelif of looking to beat up women because she's some sort of sexual deviant.

It's in no way surprising that there are nuances at play here that the vast majority of people either don't want to or are incapable of understanding.

Why was she banned from the World Championships? We're still waiting to hear. The IBA, as incompetent and corrupt an organisation as you'll find anywhere in the sporting world, have been suitably vague.

https://www.rte.ie/news/primetime/2024/0731/1462837-explained-the-gender-controversy-miring-womens-olympic-boxing/

As for Khelif, I don't think she should be allowed to compete, just like I don't think Semenya should have been. Women's sport is either a protected category or it's not.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: Truthsayer on August 01, 2024, 11:27:06 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on August 01, 2024, 11:22:35 PMA pile on?

From you?

Fcukin irony alert!!

A pile on... thats right dear!  :D

The only pile I see is the pile of people clearly making cnuts of themselves on social media platforms who thought this was an easy one but didn't know fcuk all about it.
You are one of them.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: Truthsayer on July 28, 2024, 06:44:27 PMArmagh name on the Sam Maguire Cup! F*** the begrudgers. Was plenty of them as well in 2021 when Tyrone won it.. jealousy.
Hard man language

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: Truthsayer on August 01, 2024, 11:47:00 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on August 01, 2024, 11:42:41 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on July 28, 2024, 06:44:27 PMArmagh name on the Sam Maguire Cup! F*** the begrudgers. Was plenty of them as well in 2021 when Tyrone won it.. jealousy.
Hard man language

:D  :D  :D  f*** the begrudgers is well known Irish slang... is actually title of a song as well: try harder I'm sure you'll dig out something...
https://irishhiddentreasures.com/feck-the-begrudgers/
I can write feck on here...

Truthsayer

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on August 01, 2024, 11:54:09 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on August 01, 2024, 11:47:00 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on August 01, 2024, 11:42:41 PM
Hard man language

:D  :D  :D  f*** the begrudgers is well known Irish slang... is actually title of a song as well: try harder I'm sure you'll dig out something...
https://irishhiddentreasures.com/feck-the-begrudgers/
I can write feck on here...
Good man! : )

Capt Pat

Quote from: nrico2006 on August 01, 2024, 10:09:07 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on August 01, 2024, 04:12:46 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on August 01, 2024, 04:07:42 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on August 01, 2024, 04:05:48 PMWhat age were these two lads when they transitioned?

Poor Caster Semenya, born and raised female but isn't allowed to run at the Olympics,  yet two boys can batter women.

I don't think this is a case of transitioning from what I have heard today. I've also heard that a lot of the controversy is coming from the Russian boxing body who lost control of the IOC boxing administration.

So a lot more to this story than meets the eye.

"🇩🇿 The Algerian boxer everyone is talking about was born with a vagina. 

Yes, Imane is a woman, she was born a woman, in Algeria, where lunatics who change their gender are prohibited very strictly, if not with the death penalty.

However, she suffers from hyperandrogenism (androgen levels in the blood higher than normal), a disease that results in a testosterone level higher than normal and xy chromosomes. 

This is a natural disorder.

I too fell for this fake news, but I did some research and discovered the truth.
"

Need a bit more digging into this one...

So neither of the two boxers are transgender. Changes the context of the situation. The Italian boxer today was being a drama queen; a boxer who felt that a punch hurt her ffs. It's not like the Algerian is new on the scene and is unbeaten. I think both Broadhurst and Harrington have both beat her in the recent oast.

True enough. The Italian one let all the controversy get to her thinking she was fighting a man. She psyched herself out before entering the ring.

The Algerian Boxer is a woman with high levels of testosterone. It's been put out there, that makes her a man. Such crap, it makes her a girl with a strength and power advantage. I think both Irish girls had beat her in the past. The case of the runner was totally different.

Quote from: Truthsayer on August 01, 2024, 11:38:03 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on August 01, 2024, 11:32:40 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on August 01, 2024, 11:27:06 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on August 01, 2024, 11:22:35 PMA pile on?

From you?

Fcukin irony alert!!

A pile on... thats right dear!  :D

The only pile I see is the pile of people clearly making cnuts of themselves on social media platforms who thought this was an easy one but didn't know fcuk all about it.
You are one of them.

Getting past your big hard man foul language - fact is Khelif was barred from taking part in the World Championship but is allowed in the Olympics. Is fair to call out that inconsistency. Now cool your wee jets, it's a discussion board not somewhere to vent misplaced anger.

You neee to look at why she was barred previously

burdizzo

Why are we suddenly getting so many medals?! Usually if we got one or two it was a cause for national celebration. Now I can't keep up!

Quote from: burdizzo on August 02, 2024, 07:05:17 AMWhy are we suddenly getting so many medals?! Usually if we got one or two it was a cause for national celebration. Now I can't keep up!

The big centre on the m50 has been a huge success.