Recent posts

GAA Discussion / Re: Murder of a GAA Chairman
Last post by Derryman forever - Today at 12:29:18 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 03, 2024, 11:16:42 PMI used to take my dad away for weekends every so often, headed to Derry one time, was a late Saturday afternoon and heading into town, at the corner of the street when pulling into town, the Lundy burning was happening in a street we passed, I said to the taxi man was it a bit controversial, he didn't give it a second and said, no one is bothered, let them at it and soon enough it'll disappear.

That's gotta happen, kids will eventually go "WTF" and it will die a death

Was refreshing (at the time) to hear.

If only we'd known you were in Derry. We'd a bought you a pint or two
GAA Discussion / Re: Joe Brolly
Last post by onefineday - Today at 12:24:57 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on May 03, 2024, 05:19:16 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on May 03, 2024, 03:48:01 PM
Quote from: ck on May 03, 2024, 03:36:52 PMGenuinely starting to feel sorry for Brolly. GAA people who once valued his opinion now laugh at him, not with him and no-one believes a word he says.
This is true. The only reason he's still in the media at all now seems to be to laugh at him. I don't know anyone who would actually pay any heed to him apart from an eye roll. T'is a sorry state and he's even managed to turn his own against him. Pity, he was entertaining once.

He speaks well on a wide range of non GAA topics on the Free State, some very enjoyable episodes
I haven't listened as I gave up paying heed to him years ago when I heard him tell blatant lies to illustrate a point about an underage team that I had close connections with, I'd say by now most of us have similar stories!
But, he is a good talker and if you aren't familiar with a topic to the extent you are on gaa, then he might make sense, to people informed on those topics, he's probably as full of the same shite that he is when talking about football!!
Tyrone / Re: Tyrone Club Football and H...
Last post by Rebel84 - May 03, 2024, 11:59:39 PM
Jaysus that's a bad oul beating for Killyman in the opening league game in Div3.
Last post by Wildweasel74 - May 03, 2024, 11:38:53 PM
Bit of a rant alright.and a major McGuiness love in. Love to know what his problem is with Harte so badly. Give out about him been paid but glossed over O'Rourke been paid.
Derry / Re: Derry Club Football & Hurl...
Last post by p3427977 - May 03, 2024, 11:29:28 PM
Quote from: Estimator on May 03, 2024, 09:07:44 PMI see Conleth McGuckian was starting for Glen this evening..I assume that means that he has left the county panel??
Yeah
Last post by Truthsayer - May 03, 2024, 11:27:50 PM
Jimmy record against Harte in championship is 3-0. Harte should have stepped away from Tyrone bout 2010 got left behind by the best coaches then.. cudnt get the better of Kerry, Dublin or Mayo from 2008. No coincidence Tyrone won Sam year after he went. He's not the Messiah!
GAA Discussion / Re: Murder of a GAA Chairman
Last post by Milltown Row2 - May 03, 2024, 11:16:42 PM
I used to take my dad away for weekends every so often, headed to Derry one time, was a late Saturday afternoon and heading into town, at the corner of the street when pulling into town, the Lundy burning was happening in a street we passed, I said to the taxi man was it a bit controversial, he didn't give it a second and said, no one is bothered, let them at it and soon enough it'll disappear.

That's gotta happen, kids will eventually go "WTF" and it will die a death

Was refreshing (at the time) to hear.
Laois / Re: 2024 Joe McDonagh Cup
Last post by G@@ - May 03, 2024, 11:07:07 PM
Very quiet on here ahead of a very important fixture tomorrow. This arguably is the most important game of the rest of the campaign. Win this tomorrow and we've one foot firmly planted in the final.

Strong team announced and based on form this year so far, one couldn't complain with that starting 15.

Best of luck lads tomorrow. Any sort of win will do!  ;D
Derry / Re: Derry Club Football & Hurl...
Last post by Wildweasel74 - May 03, 2024, 10:42:00 PM
N O' Donnell came on for Ballinderry, thought he was still on the outskirts of the panel.
General discussion / Re: The Late Late show
Last post by Tubberman - May 03, 2024, 10:33:56 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on May 03, 2024, 10:18:08 PMFeckin' Rosenstock...again!!!

Nothing new at all other than trying to be a bit of innuendo about Michael D, and even that is stale.
Surely everyone has heard those impressions a hundred times before.