GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Spiritof98 on November 22, 2006, 11:29:32 AM

Title: 2006 All Stars
Post by: Spiritof98 on November 22, 2006, 11:29:32 AM
The Football All-stars are due to be announced today can someone post them up when this happens.

Cheers!
Title: Re: 2007 All Stars
Post by: Barney on November 22, 2006, 11:33:20 AM
Can never understand why the whole thing is not announced live.

Hopefully Alan Dillon and Conor Mortimer get the awards they deserve.
Post by: OkeyDoke on November 22, 2006, 11:35:14 AM
Quote from: Barney on November 22, 2006, 11:33:20 AM
Can never understand why the whole thing is not announced live.

Hopefully Alan Dillon and Conor Mortimer get the awards they deserve.
Would like to see McGarritty get one also - he was excellent up to the final. I'd expect these 3 to be the only Mayo players on the team
Post by: Uladh on November 22, 2006, 11:36:48 AM

Ithought they were over?
Post by: Northside Dub on November 22, 2006, 11:38:26 AM
id say Dillon and Mortimor are definites! just hope it isn't as big a shambles as last years awards!!
Id say Clucko and Brogan dor the dubs are definites!
Post by: Spiritof98 on November 22, 2006, 11:44:43 AM
After Canavan's showing in the Ulster Club he might be in line for one. esp if Logie is still on the panel. >:( ;D
Post by: dubnut on November 22, 2006, 11:45:25 AM
2007? :-\
Post by: liihb on November 22, 2006, 11:50:57 AM
Any idea what the process is for announcing these? Should be more of a fanfare about it
Post by: full back on November 22, 2006, 12:00:16 PM
Quote from: Uladh on November 22, 2006, 11:36:48 AM

Ithought they were over?

Thats was the 2006 GPA's
Post by: Uladh on November 22, 2006, 12:02:17 PM

Righto.

same thing
Post by: Over the Bar on November 22, 2006, 12:03:01 PM
Well I always suspected some of the back-door draws were pre-arranged and fixed, but I had no idea the All-Stars were pre-determained a whole year in advance!
Post by: dubnut on November 22, 2006, 12:04:31 PM
2207, yeah I reckon Tyrone will get 8 players on today, as apparantly they are going to beat Kerry in next years final  ;)
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 22, 2006, 12:11:30 PM
I hope keith higgins gets one
Post by: liihb on November 22, 2006, 12:13:21 PM
I don't, I want Tom O Sullivan to get one to help me win some money! Don't think he will though  :-\
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 22, 2006, 12:43:23 PM
Well i dont want tom o'sullivan to win one just so u don't win any money!  ;)
Post by: liihb on November 22, 2006, 01:13:39 PM
I've a funny feeling we both might be disappointed....
Post by: venter on November 22, 2006, 03:05:23 PM
Conor Mort and Alan Dillon are the latest Mayo all stars! Fair play to them.
Post by: StoneWall on November 22, 2006, 03:11:38 PM
Any chance of the full list Venter?
Post by: Spiritof98 on November 22, 2006, 03:12:58 PM
Nothing on RTE as yet
Post by: venter on November 22, 2006, 03:13:54 PM
Sorry thats all I know, Stonewall!
Post by: magpie seanie on November 22, 2006, 03:25:33 PM
Cluxton, Marc O'Se, Barry Owens, Karol Lacey, Moynihan, Ger Spillane, O'Mahoney, Dara O'Se, Nick Murphy, Galvin, Brogan, Dillon, Mortimer, Donaghy, Ronan Clarke.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 22, 2006, 03:28:02 PM
No Slashers??? Jaysus, de boys will be up in arms...
Post by: Northside Dub on November 22, 2006, 03:29:05 PM
Congrats to Ckucko and Brogan, i knew the pair of them were definites!!
Post by: full back on November 22, 2006, 03:29:58 PM
Was Ciaran Mc Donald nominated for player of the year at the GPA's?
Title: Well Done Clarkie Lad
Post by: Spiritof98 on November 22, 2006, 03:32:23 PM
Congrats to Ronan Clarke on his All-star.

Glad to see Dillon getting one as well, really was magnificent against Dublin
Post by: ludermor on November 22, 2006, 03:33:27 PM
I still feel that several mayo lads got penalised for having a bad all ireland. McGaritty was super all year, keith Higgins was excellant until the semi, and most of all David Heaney. He got raosted by donaghy for 15 mins but that has cost him the all star again, this time to a lad who played how many games?
Post by: dodo on November 22, 2006, 03:39:57 PM
Kerry          6
Mayo          2
Dublin         2
Cork           2
Fermanagh  1
Armagh       1
Donegal       1

Keith Higgins got roasted twice, in the AISF and AIF. Hardly unlucky.

Heaney recovered to have good second half against Laois in drawn game. Was ate in final.

McGarrity is most unfortunate, but was absent really in final. Therefore didn't deserve it.
Post by: OkeyDoke on November 22, 2006, 03:42:18 PM
Heaney wasn't even nominated for an all-star- well done to Dillon and C Mort, hope it doesn't go to Morts head
Post by: Northside Dub on November 22, 2006, 03:47:32 PM
It's not possible for him to get an even bigger head than he already has, is it? ::) :o
Post by: OkeyDoke on November 22, 2006, 03:48:45 PM
Quote from: Northside Dub on November 22, 2006, 03:47:32 PM
It's not possible for him to get an even bigger head than he already has, is it? ::) :o

Tut,tut..... ;)
Post by: FermPundit on November 22, 2006, 04:00:50 PM
Fair play to Barry Owens. A Fermanagh man with 2 All Stars is some achievement.
Post by: Spiritof98 on November 22, 2006, 04:02:34 PM
Fair play to him but Clarkie roasted him in Clones this year
Post by: Bud Wiser on November 22, 2006, 04:05:05 PM
No All-Star for Laois.  Kerry get six.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 22, 2006, 04:08:26 PM
Fair play to barry owens is right, class act
Congrats to mort and dillon, both deserved it
Post by: dubnut on November 22, 2006, 04:08:50 PM
"No All-Star for Laois.  Kerry get six"

Seems reasonable all things considered.
Post by: aontroim abu on November 22, 2006, 04:11:37 PM
Kerry tops with six Vodafone GAA All-stars

Wednesday, November 22

All-Ireland champions Kerry have come out on top with six players honoured on the 2006 Vodafone GAA All-Stars football selection.

Compared to the record low of just three counties being represented on last year's selection, this time there are players from seven different counties on the team, with two from Mayo, Dublin and Cork while Fermanagh, Donegal and Armagh have one each.

The six Kingdom players are Marc O Se, Seamus Moynihan, Aidan O'Mahony, Darragh O Se, Paul Galvin and Kieran Donaghy.

It is the third All-star award for both Darragh O Se and Seamus Moynihan of Kerry while ten players, Marc O Se, Karl Lacey, Ger Spillane, Aidan O'Nahony, Nicholas Murphy, Alan Brogan, Alan Dillon, Conor Mortimor, Kieran Donaghy and Ronan Clarke are honoured for the first time.

The team was selected by a panel of journalists and the hurling team will be announced at a banquet at the City West Hotel on Friday night, along with the players of the year in both codes.

2006 Vodafone GAA Football All-Stars:

S Cluxton (Dublin); M O Se (Kerry), B Owens (Fermanagh), K Lacey (Donegal); S Moynihan (Kerry), G Spillane (Cork), A O'Mahony (Kerry); D O Se (Kerry), N Murphy (Cork); P Galvin (Kerry), A Brogan (Dublin), A Dillon (Mayo); C Mortimer (Mayo), K Donaghy (Kerry), R Clarke (Armagh
Post by: FermPundit on November 22, 2006, 04:14:01 PM
I was a bit surprised that he got an All Star but bar the Armagh game he was very consistent in every other game. Do the panel take into consideration National league form when naming the All Stars or is it simply based on championship performances?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 22, 2006, 04:14:15 PM
Seems fair enough.  Cluxton/Quirke was a toss up as was Spillane/Cullen.  With no really outstanding FB displays by anyone else Owens desrves his.  Fair play to Karol Lacey.  Mortimor may have lost out on the back of a poor Final but there was no real challenger so he held on.  

Bud do you think Laois deserved any?
Post by: Jack Dempsey on November 22, 2006, 04:19:41 PM
only players unlucky imo are McDonald, Masters, Cullen, T O'Sullivan & McCarthy ( not even a nomination ). only 15 can be picked though. no real arguements from me
Post by: umgolaarmagh on November 22, 2006, 04:25:55 PM
I thought Bellew might have got the Fullback position, Only seen Owens play once and that was against Armagh and he was cleaned on the day by Clarke and was guilty of constant fouling. He must have improved in the next game or 2 to justify the award

Post by: magpie seanie on November 22, 2006, 04:27:42 PM
Sure wasn't Bellew fecked outta the way like a little boy by Donaghy
Post by: dubnut on November 22, 2006, 04:28:03 PM
"I thought Bellew might have got the Fullback position"
Post by: umgolaarmagh on November 22, 2006, 04:29:50 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on November 22, 2006, 04:27:42 PM
Sure wasn't Bellew fecked outta the way like a little boy by Donaghy

Wasnt Owens fecked outta the way like a little boy by Clarke in the ulster Championship  :P
Post by: dubnut on November 22, 2006, 04:31:05 PM
In fairness I dont think anyone outside of Armagh (and few within) believe Bellew deserved an all star this year!
Post by: Jack Dempsey on November 22, 2006, 04:35:10 PM
McCarthy from Kerry was the best full back in Ireland again this year. Canty was unlucky with injury. McCarthy has a few dodgy minutes against armagh but battle back in the 2nd half of that game. I remember Kerry leaving 2 on 2 at the back. Gutsy stuff. 
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on November 22, 2006, 04:38:41 PM
Jesus lads any forward who scores 2-12 in the final qualifier, QF, Semi and final, helps to lift Sam, was his counties best player in the league surley deserves an All-Star. Cooper wasn't as good in '06 as he was in '02, '04 or '05 but he was still worthy of an allstar. He is pure class.
Post by: dubnut on November 22, 2006, 04:42:21 PM
I think Coopers problem is he set his standards so high early on.
Even when he is below par he is still better than most.
Post by: Jack Dempsey on November 22, 2006, 04:43:28 PM
you are probably right, better season than mortimer but not as good as he is used to.
Post by: magpie seanie on November 22, 2006, 04:54:22 PM
QuoteWasnt Owens fecked outta the way like a little boy by Clarke in the ulster Championship

Not sure, I didn't see it. Everyone saw what Donaghy did to Bellew. To suggest Bellew should have got the Allstar is a joke and an example of the kind of shit that loses us good contributers on this board.
Post by: umgolaarmagh on November 22, 2006, 04:57:49 PM
Will go watch it again!!
Post by: Kerry Mike on November 22, 2006, 05:05:10 PM
Six for Kerry seems about right given we won the double. Hard to argue with any of the 6 except maybe Moynihan.

Marc O'Se had a great year in league and championship and was always in line for an All Star. He also has the distinction of becoming Kerry's 100th All Star (see Below)

Aidan O'Mahoney was also very consistant and putting Ciaran McDonald in his arse pocket for the AI final was his clincher. Moynihan was himself, very consistant though I thought he struggled in Munster and also in the Armagh game in the first half, but his final performances in the league and AI final were excellent and he can retire happy now.

Darragh O'Se was the outstanding midfielder of the year and he really stood up against Armagh and then against Cork when Kerry needed him. Deserved award. Maybe the awards for the 2 brothers will drive Tomas on for a bigger season next year than he had in this one.

Paul Galvin was my Kerry player of the year and when we needed tough ball to be won he was stuck in everything including any bit of scelping that went on, only other Kerry player besides Colm Cooper to score in every game. A vital part of the kerry team with his hunger, and battling qualities for the ball. Very fast and skilful on the ball too. Needs a cooler head at times and to improve his bottle throwing.  

Kieran Donaghy was having a fine season slotting in as Darragh O'Se partner in midfield and people were talking about him as a long term replacement for O'Se. And then he got sent off against Cork for a nothing tackle and missed the Munster final replay. But his and our season just took off after that. Thrown in at full forward for the first time against Longford in a brave move by Jack O'Connor, the first few balls into him he caused havoc and full backs all over the country started having nightmares. He had a hand in most of the 11 goals we scored in the last 3 games and his crackers against Armagh and Mayo will live long in the memory. Will find it hard to produce an encore in 2007

The high ball grabbed, full back David Heaney shrugged off and WHAM!, the net almost torn from the rigging. Nine minutes old, the game already over...

As for the other nominations, No goal keeper really stood out and Cluxton gets its probably for his kick outs rather than actual goalkeeping skills. Owen and Lacey had good years but Tom O'Sullivan can probably feel the odd one out. Ger Spillane was just about the pick of centre backs and probably nudges out Bryan Cullen with Motnihan being picked out of position to push out Higgins. Nicky Murphy had a good year too and will enjoy the "knees up" at the All Stars do.

Brogan was the best 11 by a long way but if Declan O'Sullivan had a full year of good form he might have pushed him close. Dillon played well until the AIF but gets the award on merit for his scoring. Morty The Blond also gets in for his points scoring throughout the year and 2 last minute winners but he can count himself lucky that Colm Cooper had an off season and even with that the Gooch was not far away.
Clarke in the other corner really had no opposition and he played well against Kerry.

Kerry's All Stars List:
1971: D. O'Sullivan
1972: D. O'Sullivan, M. O'Connell
1973: J. O'Keeffe
1974: P. Lynch
1975: G. Power, J. O'Keeffe, J. Egan, P. O'Mahony, M. O'Sullivan
1976: P. Spillane, M. Sheehy, G. Power, J. O'Keeffe, G. O'Keeffe
1977: P. Spillane, J. Egan
1978: P. Spillane, M. Sheehy, G. Power, J. O'Keeffe, J. Egan, P. Lynch
1979: P. Spillane, M. Sheehy, G. Power, J. O'Keeffe, T. Kennelly, S. Walsh
1980: P. Spillane, G. Power, J. O'Shea, J. Egan, E. Liston, T. Kennelly, C. Nelligan
1981: P. Spillane, M. Sheehy, J. O'Shea, P. O Se, E. Liston, P. Lynch, S. Walsh, J. Deenihan, D. Moran
1982: M. Sheehy, J. O'Shea, J. Egan, P. O Se, E. Liston
1983: J. O'Shea, P. O Se
1984: P. Spillane, M. Sheehy, J. O'Shea, P. O Se, E. Liston, T. Doyle, T. Spillane
1985: P. Spillane, J. O'Shea, P. O Se, T. Doyle, M. Spillane
1986: P. Spillane, M. Sheehy, G. Power, T. Doyle, T. Spillane, C. Nelligan
1987: T. Spillane, G. Lynch
1988: M. Fitzgerald
1989: C. Murphy
1996: M. Fitzgerald
1997: M. Fitzgerald, D. O'Keeffe, S. Moynihan, E. Breen, P. Laide
2000: D. O'Keeffe, S. Moynihan, M. McCarthy, D. O Se, L. Hassett, MF Russell
2001: J. Crowley
2002: D O Se, C Cooper
2004: D Murphy, T O'Sullivan, M McCarthy, T O Se, P Galvin, C Cooper
2005: D. Murphy, M. McCarthy, T. O Se, C. Cooper
2006: M. O Se, S. Moynihan, A O Mahoney, D. O Se, P. Galvin, K. Donaghy
Post by: Barney on November 22, 2006, 05:06:31 PM
Delighted for the Mayo lads. Fair play to Conoreen and Alan. Both richly deserved. Unfortunately could not make an arguement for any of the other lads. Their capitulation in the Final muddied the waters. Keith Higgins should be Young Player of the Year. Excellent through most of the championship, superb in the league and u21 championship.

Now Gooch had a dire Munster championship by any standards but improved as the year went on. Mortimer still had a better year. Particularly in Croke Park. Scored 4 points from play in 3/4 big games against Griffin and Higgins who are often lauded here. The Final was bad but so was the supply!  
Post by: Erne Man1 on November 22, 2006, 05:09:14 PM
Fermanagh played armagh twice this year - unless my memory is wrong Owens got MOTM in the drawn game, and Clarke got MOTM in the replay - 2 class acts with not much separating them whenever they meet.
Barry got his all-star on the basis of exposure this year - in Fermanagh's 2 televised games this year, v Armagh and Donegal he was man of the match in both. He was pretty steady all year without being spectacular.
He got his award becuase he didn't really have any competition - Bellew was poor apart from the Donegal game (he was brutal both days against Fermanagh), Heaney is a CHB/Midfielder playing full back and looks it against quality forwards (Donaghy, Keaney and even Garvan for a half) got the better of him this year, and both Kerry and Dublin lack quality at full-back
Post by: Barney on November 22, 2006, 05:11:51 PM
Agree. I think Heaney had a distinctly average year. He pulled us into games at times through being a good captain but as a full-back he was poor.
Post by: StoneWall on November 22, 2006, 05:58:14 PM
ALL STARS SELECTION COMMITTEE:

Martin Breheny (Irish Independent), Jim O'Sullivan (Irish Examiner), Brian Carthy (RTÉ Radio), Michael Lyster (RTÉ TV), Eamon O'Hara (Irish News), Peter Sweeney (Irish Star), Martan Ó Ciadhra (RnaG), Seán Moran (The Irish Times), Adrian Logan (UTV), Alan Milton (Irish Sun), Keith Duggan (The Irish Times), Colm Keys (Irish Independent), Frank Roche (Evening Herald) and Seán McGoldrick (Sunday World). :o :o :o
Post by: Josey Whales on November 22, 2006, 07:14:00 PM
i know i'm biased but i think Cullen's ommision is a disgrace. No argument with Spillane or O mahoney but Moynihan got a sympathy vote.
Post by: Jack Dempsey on November 22, 2006, 07:41:19 PM
Quote from: Erne Man1 on November 22, 2006, 05:09:14 PM
both Kerry and Dublin lack quality at full-back

Kerry do lack quality at full but only because Mike McCarthy has retired
Post by: dodo on November 22, 2006, 07:44:30 PM
Quote from: Josey Whales on November 22, 2006, 07:14:00 PM
i know i'm biased but i think Cullen's ommision is a disgrace. No argument with Spillane or O mahoney but Moynihan got a sympathy vote.

How can it be a disgrace. Dublin got 2 All Stars. Brogan deserves every accolade he gets. Cluxton is a good keeper who hardly stood out this year and yet gets recognised because he is a Dub and always gets talked up. Cullen is a very good footballer but is always talked about as being better than he is. I think that he will continue to improve and has the potential to be a future All Star automatic.

Was he deserving so much for this to be a disgrace ?  
Post by: Josey Whales on November 22, 2006, 08:02:59 PM
i didn't think Moynihan had  a good year and the reality is the journalists know what side their bread is buttered on. I don't think he deserved one. That's my opinion . He was poor in the munster championship and only really had a good final- which in fairness was an armchair ride because Mayo didn't show . I wonder would he have got one had he not retired.
I think Mc Carthy from Kerry can call himself unlucky- i'd have picked him somewhere in the backs. Brian Kavanagh as well must have been close. Paul Griffin can't have been far away either.
Post by: ONeill on November 22, 2006, 08:07:58 PM
I think this is a fairly acceptable line-up, with the possible exception of McCarthy's omission a talking point. Good to see Ulster nabbing three All-Stars with Lacey's inclusion particularly pleasing. I wonder will PTG's recent important contributions to the club competition mean a recount will be the order of the day.
Post by: magickingdom on November 22, 2006, 08:54:14 PM
delighted for seamus moynihan and paul galvin in particular. since kerry are the best team in the country by a mile they could have given one to mccarthy as well...
Post by: stephenite on November 22, 2006, 09:06:26 PM
Would it be fair to say that Mcgarrity and D. O'se cancelled each other out in the final ? I don't think either of them had great games, whilst O'Se was immense all year, Mcgarrity wasn't that far behind him in terms of work rate and ball winning.
Hard to argue with the team I suppose but I still feel McGarrity should have sneaked in ahead on Murphy, possibly. Maybe
Post by: Jack Dempsey on November 22, 2006, 09:28:50 PM
Quote from: stephenite on November 22, 2006, 09:06:26 PM
Would it be fair to say that Mcgarrity and D. O'se cancelled each other out in the final ? I don't think either of them had great games, whilst O'Se was immense all year, Mcgarrity wasn't that far behind him in terms of work rate and ball winning.
Hard to argue with the team I suppose but I still feel McGarrity should have sneaked in ahead on Murphy, possibly. Maybe

McGarritty missed most of laois replay and most of semi final through injury. That is what cost him in my book. Also Did nothing in the final.

The funny thing about Mike McCarthy is he didnt even get a nomination. Did miss most of the league though.
Post by: J70 on November 22, 2006, 09:44:17 PM
Delighted for Karl Lacey. Richly deserved award, as he was superb all season (and last year, in what was a poor season for the team), even popping up from corner back to get two points against Derry.
Post by: Johno07 on November 22, 2006, 10:23:19 PM
Lads whats this about Mortimer being lucky, I know hes a bit of a pleb and i dont particularly like him myself but he was topscorer from both play and frees plus the all-stars are based on the whole year not just one match so theres no arguing with his selection.
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on November 23, 2006, 09:14:31 AM
All in all, there is very little anyone can argue with the selection, for my piece

I thought McCarthy (kerry) could have got in, other than that i think the selection committee, got it right.
Title: Re: 2006 All Stars
Post by: Hound on November 23, 2006, 10:35:21 AM
Quoteyet gets recognised because he is a Dub and always gets talked up
Such utter bollíx.

Dublin get their first All Stars in 4 years and still people come out with this thrash.

Must have been nobody talking about Dublin last year when they became the first Leinster champions to receive no All Star awards. Nobody must talk about Ciaran Whelan that he's only got one award in 11 years. Or maybe the mythical overhyping that is so hyped by many culchies actually makes it harder for Dubs to get All Stars...

I didnt see all Mayo games during the year, but I saw a few. And while Dillon and Mort had good years, I thought McDonald contributed more than either. He's another who suffers at the hands of begrudgers, when he's brilliant he's brilliant, when he's not brilliant he's shíte.
Title: Hound
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 23, 2006, 10:38:20 AM
I was at all but the mayo matches bar the london match and dillon and mortimer were both better player over the course of the season.
Sillon was our best player and mort did the scoring.
Post by: nrico2006 on November 23, 2006, 10:38:38 AM
Surprised owens got one, played 1 good game, then roasted by Clarke in replay.  Cooper was average for the majority of the year, maybe family issues contributed, but he didnt deserve one.  Be interesting championship next year, with a hungry injury free tyrone back in the frame
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 23, 2006, 11:11:10 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on November 22, 2006, 04:54:22 PM
QuoteWasnt Owens fecked outta the way like a little boy by Clarke in the ulster Championship

Not sure, I didn't see it. Everyone saw what Donaghy did to Bellew. To suggest Bellew should have got the Allstar is a joke and an example of the kind of shit that loses us good contributers on this board.

New Board; same old same old. Francie did not really deserve one, but to claim otherwise is not the fantasy that you suggest.

It was far from a vintage year as regards full backs and it could have gone to others. Francie was shortlisted, so him getting it would not have been inconceivable as Owens didn't particularly stand out.

It was commented on here at the time, certainly by Hardy if my memory serves me well, that the ref effectively killed the Francie v Donaghey contest with his use of the yellow early on and the immortal line "once more and you're off!" It was after this that Donaghey did the damage.

Edit - forgot to add - congratulations to Ronan Clarke - well deserved!  :)
Post by: muscles magoo on November 23, 2006, 11:15:52 AM
Owens award was a soft one.
Hard to argue too hard against any of the rest although there will always be fellas in hard luck when there is only 15 places up for grabs.
Post by: Lone Shark on November 23, 2006, 11:41:02 AM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on November 23, 2006, 11:11:10 AM

It was commented on here at the time, certainly by Hardy if my memory serves me well, that the ref effectively killed the Francie v Donaghey contest with his use of the yellow early on and the immortal line "once more and you're off!" It was after this that Donaghey did the damage.

At the risk of coming across a little bit high and mighty which is not the attention, I would suggest Francie killed the contest by fouling him so many times and forcing the Ref into doing this. It's not like his card was unwarranted, he had been blatantly hanging out of Donaghy all day. Blaming the Ref is a little bit disingenuous to my mind.

I will say this - it was harsh on Francie that of the nominated full backs, he was the only one that actually had to mark Donaghy this year, the other two were untested in that regard and it's fair to say that they mightn't have done any better. Francie failed a test that neither owens nor Canty sat, as it were.
Post by: Gnevin on November 23, 2006, 11:53:54 AM
Over all very fair  cullen must of just missed out but i can see why with the quality in the line up. Well deserved for Brogan and Culxton
Post by: dubnut on November 23, 2006, 01:05:46 PM
"Cluxton is a good keeper who hardly stood out this year and yet gets recognised because he is a Dub"

If all it takes to tip the scales in your favour in being a Dub then surely Cullen would have got one too?
Silly argument, I am not argueing for Cullens inclusion, I think the selection was more or less right, but that shite sickens my hole.
Post by: Northside Dub on November 23, 2006, 02:41:28 PM
Good selection, probably the fairest in a few years! both Clucko and Brogan rightfully deserved theirs! i didnt expect anymore than what we got!
Post by: Datsun Donaghy on November 23, 2006, 03:33:31 PM
QuoteAt the risk of coming across a little bit high and mighty which is not the attention, I would suggest Francie killed the contest by fouling him so many times and forcing the Ref into doing this. It's not like his card was unwarranted, he had been blatantly hanging out of Donaghy all day. Blaming the Ref is a little bit disingenuous to my mind.

Definitely not high and mighty!  Definitely not a reference to the Armagh v Kerry match which I attended and Donaghy's post match comments are a testament to the fact that you have called this one all wrong my friend!
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on November 23, 2006, 03:48:20 PM
as had been said before wasnt a good year for full backs....
despite being roasted by Ronan Clarke in one of the games i thought Owens did play alot of football over the cours eof the championship,so id say he deserves it.
Cluxtons placement of his kickouts are something every goalkeeper could be learn from...
How many times did he find Shane Ryan Free during the championship..hes a very good keeper,so no complaints there from me.
While im a big admirer of Seamus Moynihan, i dont know how he got an all star on front of Bryan Cullen...Thought Cullen was magnificant throughout the championship...albeit a little disappointing against Mayo.
Midfield...Thought Paul McGrane had a storming year,but its hard to see past Murphy and O Se...
Agree with the forward selections.
Post by: Hound on November 23, 2006, 03:54:52 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on November 23, 2006, 10:38:20 AM
I was at all but the mayo matches bar the london match and dillon and mortimer were both better player over the course of the season.
Sillon was our best player and mort did the scoring.

You forgot the "in my opinion" bit.
Its funny that despite Dillon being the better player all year, he didnt get half the stick for not performing in the final.

I thought Bellew did reasonably well on Donaghy, although obviously in the end Donaghy got the better of him. I thought the yellow card was a 50/50 decision, could have gone either way. Also in their duel, Donaghy got more assistance from his teammates than Francie did.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 23, 2006, 04:08:00 PM
Quote from: Lone Shark on November 23, 2006, 11:41:02 AM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on November 23, 2006, 11:11:10 AM

At the risk of coming across a little bit high and mighty which is not the attention, I would suggest Francie killed the contest by fouling him so many times and forcing the Ref into doing this. It's not like his card was unwarranted, he had been blatantly hanging out of Donaghy all day. Blaming the Ref is a little bit disingenuous to my mind.

I will say this - it was harsh on Francie that of the nominated full backs, he was the only one that actually had to mark Donaghy this year, the other two were untested in that regard and it's fair to say that they mightn't have done any better. Francie failed a test that neither owens nor Canty sat, as it were.

No, that's fair enough Lone Shark - what I would say is that I watched Owens do something similar to Ronan Clarke over 140 minutes plus and he was never in any danger of leaving the pitch. I just get the impression with Francie it's a case of 'give a dog a bad name'.   
Post by: slow corner back on November 23, 2006, 10:26:03 PM
Enough of this football malarkey, whats the betting for the hurling all stars? Cats to clean up again? Kilkenny 6 or 7, Cork four or five, Waterford two probably Ken McGrath and big Dan, Clare one or two plus Eoin Kelly from Tipp hard to see anyone outside this making the cut.
Post by: DuperDee on November 23, 2006, 11:14:45 PM
The talk of Francie not getting a all star is strange. He has a limited amount of football ability. What you get from him every day is everything he has got and some days that is not enough. For a number of years he was protected with Geezer sweeping. He was never exposed as the space in front of his was closed down. When Armagh started to struggle defensively francie suffered. McKeever is a very good centre half but was not a natural sweeper like Geezer. I looked forward to the Kerry game as i thought the contest with Donaghy would be a good one. The truth is that Francie met someone who was stronger in the air and matched his physical strength. The real difference with donaghy was that when he hit the ground with the ball he was a footballer. He had just too much in the locker for Francie. Donaghy had more to offer than height and Francie could not cope. He will still be able to do a job but will have more diffucult days ahead that all star days
Title: Is Cluxton another sacrosanct like O'Leary
Post by: Bogball XV on November 23, 2006, 11:52:39 PM
Why does everyone think CLuxton is the best keeper in the game right now?  Why did everyone think that O'leary was the best keeper of his era?  I have never seen either of them do much of note, now, I'm not saying they're crap, but given how little they're tested then why does everyone rate them so highly??
For my money the best keepers of the past 20 yrs have been:
Martin MacNamara - best shot stopper in the game, prone to the odd mistake though!!
Declan O'Keefe
Cormac O'Sullivan
John O'Leary - he must be I suppose, he got a wild pile of allstars, but a lot of goalkeeper allstars are by default imo
Damian McCusker
Gary Walsh
Fergal Byron?
Cluxton?
Diarmuid Murphy
Reilly James? from Cavan made some super saves in 2005, but didn't get the chance to shine this year.

BTW this isn't an anti-Dub rant, I thought Cullen was robbed last year and again this year tbh.
Post by: Gnevin on November 24, 2006, 09:26:49 AM
Yeah your right O'Leary only won  8 Leinster Titles    2 All-Ireland    5 All-Stars  while doing nothing of note glad we cleared that up and good thing too your" this isn't an anti-Dub rant" was starting too look like an anti Dublin rant . 

I also love that you say they both  done nothing of note and then included them in a 10 player short-list of the best keeper in the last 20 years . Goal keeping must really be gone too the dog  since after the 80's
Post by: OkeyDoke on November 24, 2006, 09:28:45 AM
Peter Burke was an excellent keeper, saved Mayo's bacon on many occassions.
Great shot stopper, great leader and a booming kickout
Post by: dubnut on November 24, 2006, 09:41:33 AM
"Why does everyone think CLuxton is the best keeper in the game right now?  Why did everyone think that O'leary was the best keeper of his era?  I have never seen either of them do much of note"

Just saying its not an Anti Dub rant doesnt make it true  ;)

To say you havent seen either do much of note is ridiculous, Cluxton didnt have as much to do this year as the team were dominant in most games.
But anyone who has watched him regularly over the past few years will have seen him pull off a huge amount of brilliant saves.
And to say O'Leary didnt do much of note is just ridiculous!

Incidentally rumour has it O'Leary will be running for FF in north Dublin in next years election.
Post by: Gnevin on November 24, 2006, 09:58:48 AM
Its not rumour it's confirmed http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_O%27Leary_%28Gaelic_footballer%29  he's a finna fáil

Of course he'll do "nothing of note"
Post by: blanketattack on November 24, 2006, 10:25:31 AM
Seamus Moynihan was completely deserving of his All-Star. He was Kerry's Man Of The Match in the Munster Final and the semi-final. He also played well in the final and 1/4 final.

Cullen only played well against Leinster opposition. In his one game against non-Leinster opposition he was poor. Seeing that this year was the first time a Leinster team made it to the All-Ireland semi-final since 2002, the good displays against Leinster can't considered to be worth that much in the big scheme of things.
Mike McCarthy's poor display against Ronan Clarke cost him his All-Star.
I can't understand Armagh people using Bellew's yellow card as an excuse (I bet Francie isn't). There's been dozens of occasions where backs get early yellow cards and still go on to completely dominate their man.
Post by: North Longford on November 24, 2006, 12:45:55 PM
QuoteSeamus Moynihan was completely deserving of his All-Star. He was Kerry's Man Of The Match in the Munster Final and the semi-final. He also played well in the final and 1/4 final.

Blanket you judiciously ommited the Longford game.
If Francie is losing an All star for one bad game then Seamus is lucky as ge got a far bigger roasting than francie did
Post by: Bogball XV on November 24, 2006, 12:58:00 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 24, 2006, 09:58:48 AM
Its not rumour it's confirmed http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_O%27Leary_%28Gaelic_footballer%29  he's a finna fáil

Of course he'll do "nothing of note"
Well if he's anything like the other north dublin ff's the only thing of note he'll do is to take a few bribes and maybe mow down the odd pedestrian.
Listing his honours is hardlly a way of explaining how he was rated so highly - listing important saves might be more beneficial to your arguments.
Quote from: dubnut on November 24, 2006, 09:41:33 AM
To say you havent seen either do much of note is ridiculous, Cluxton didnt have as much to do this year as the team were dominant in most games.
But anyone who has watched him regularly over the past few years will have seen him pull off a huge amount of brilliant saves.
And to say O'Leary didnt do much of note is just ridiculous!
I say I have seen neither do anything of note, is a statement of fact - i said that, because I have not.  I do appreciate that I haven't seen much of either bar big games, but I can't recall any great stops from either.  This used to really bug me about O'Leary, he always reknowned as the greatest keeper in the game, Cluxton has now been awarded the mantle - i'm just asking why?
If, as you point out, Cluxton didn't do much this year, why on earth did he get the allstar over the likes of Quirke, who I did see make a number of excellent saves this year.
Oh, and to the Mayo lad, yeah Burke was another great shot stopper.
Post by: Canalman on November 25, 2006, 12:25:25 PM
BOGBALL XV , Cluxton got an Allstar only for 2006, as far as I have read nobody has said he is the greatest in game.
Jeez the anti Dublin bias has not gone away you know.
Post by: deiseach on November 25, 2006, 12:58:15 PM
Quote from: slow corner back on November 23, 2006, 10:26:03 PM
Enough of this football malarkey, whats the betting for the hurling all stars? Cats to clean up again? Kilkenny 6 or 7, Cork four or five, Waterford two probably Ken McGrath and big Dan, Clare one or two plus Eoin Kelly from Tipp hard to see anyone outside this making the cut.

Ha. This is a football board these days, with a bit of hurling to add some colour (microcosm of the GAA, now that I think about it).

Pleased with Waterford's haul. I thought only Dan would get one because Kilkenny and Cork would hoover up 13 awards before they looked outside of the All-Ireland final. But good to see Tony Browne's Herculean displays have not gone unnoticed - is eight years the longest gap between a first and second award? - and Eoin Murphy showing it ain't just the marquee names who can play. Hopefully this will encourage the panel to make a right go at it next year. Yes, very pleased indeed.
Post by: Uladh on November 25, 2006, 03:17:10 PM

Does the selection of Donal Og last night clear the gpa of previous charges of bias in recognising him on their team?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on November 26, 2006, 07:17:39 AM
QuoteIt was commented on here at the time, certainly by Hardy if my memory serves me well, that the ref effectively killed the Francie v Donaghey contest with his use of the yellow early on and the immortal line "once more and you're off!" It was after this that Donaghey did the damage.

If applying the rules and leveling the playing field "Killed the contest" then perhaps Armagh had no business showing up. To paraphrase Kieran McGeeney "if it's pulling and dragging they want then we'll pull and drag !" 
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 26, 2006, 11:06:13 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on November 26, 2006, 07:17:39 AM
QuoteIt was commented on here at the time, certainly by Hardy if my memory serves me well, that the ref effectively killed the Francie v Donaghey contest with his use of the yellow early on and the immortal line "once more and you're off!" It was after this that Donaghey did the damage.

If applying the rules and leveling the playing field "Killed the contest" then perhaps Armagh had no business showing up. To paraphrase Kieran McGeeney "if it's pulling and dragging they want then we'll pull and drag !" 

Mike, don't take the quote out of context - I would have thought that you'd more in you than that.

I've no problem believing that the ref can justify his actions that day via the rule book. My issue is with double standards, i.e. one for Francie and another for the rest. As an example of this, I watched the current All Star full back pull, drag, haul and wrestle Ronan Clarke over two games - and the ball was fifty yards away!!

By all means book players for pulling - but let's do it to more than just those that the press/fans/opposition give a bad reputation to!  ;) 
Title: Young POTY
Post by: stephenite on November 27, 2006, 01:32:11 AM
Congratulations to Keith Higgins on the well deserved award for young player of the year