Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Rufus T Firefly on December 09, 2006, 01:20:21 AM

Title: The Greatest Non GAA Sporting Moment, EVER!
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on December 09, 2006, 01:20:21 AM
Check out the reactions of Pele, Tostao and the crowd behind the nets!   :D

(http://www.chesterfield-fc.premiumtv.co.uk/javaImages/f6/2/0,,10435~262902,00.jpg)

(http://br.i1.yimg.com/br.yimg.com/i/br/copa/banks150.jpg)

(http://www.englandfootballonline.com/images/Plyrs/Banks,%20Gordon1970WC.bmp)

(http://sportsiconscouk.pre-dns-change.com/images/banks.JPG)

Title: Re: The Greatest Non GAA Sporting Moment, EVER!
Post by: laoislad on December 09, 2006, 01:31:20 AM
For me this will never be topped

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/a0025133_17521433.jpg)

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/istanbul_2_1280-1.jpg)

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/UCLFinalResult.jpg)
Post by: turk on December 09, 2006, 05:22:09 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on December 09, 2006, 01:20:21 AM

Not taking away from Pele, but Tony Cascarino was regularly knocking them in from a few yards out for Millwall in the 80s . . .
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 09, 2006, 05:24:17 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 09, 2006, 01:31:20 AM
For me this will never be topped

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/a0025133_17521433.jpg)

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/istanbul_2_1280-1.jpg)

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/UCLFinalResult.jpg)

WHAT WAS THE GUY IN THE SUIT TEXTING?????  "HOME IN HALF AN HOUR DEAR"
Post by: ziggysego on December 09, 2006, 08:07:47 PM
(http://www.zeenews.com/images/Beckham-news.jpg)
Post by: ONeill on December 09, 2006, 08:39:51 PM
(http://bigbluetube.com/dbimgs/BBT118hi0.jpg)
Post by: laoislad on December 09, 2006, 08:41:43 PM
He Shoots
(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/Heshoots.jpg)

He Scores
(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/hescores.jpg)

He Tumbles
(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/hetumbles.jpg)

He Celebrates
(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/hecelebrates.jpg)
Post by: Square Ball on December 09, 2006, 08:44:58 PM
Maybe not the greatest sporting one, but a historical one

(http://www.medaloffreedom.com/JesseOwens_1936Olympics.jpg)
how do you put photos on?

Cheers Rufus

Post by: Rufus T Firefly on December 09, 2006, 08:45:30 PM
Quote from: turk on December 09, 2006, 05:22:09 PM

Not taking away from Pele, but Tony Cascarino was regularly knocking them in from a few yards out for Millwall in the 80s . . .

Good point Turk - not taking away from Pele or Caz, but I was knocking in two goals every three nights, at Sherry's Field Council Grounds over the winter of 2004/2005!

Any word of that greatest moment before laoislad uses up all the rest!?!?!  ::)
Post by: Jack Dempsey on December 09, 2006, 08:46:27 PM
Mine would be watching Collins beat Chris Eubank in Millstreet. Even the entrances were pure class. (http://www.allsportgallery.co.uk/thumbnails/Z0222619thm.jpg) Wouldnt be his biggest fan now though
Post by: laoislad on December 09, 2006, 08:51:08 PM
(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/_41667548_trophy_getty.jpg)

Good point Turk - still not taking away from Pele but I was knocking in two goals every three nights, at Sherry's Field Council Grounds over the winter of 2004/2005! Any word of that greatest moment before laoislad uses up all the rest!?!?!  ::)

Feck off i've only done 2 well 3 now but even still feck off :P :P
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on December 09, 2006, 08:56:33 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on December 09, 2006, 08:44:58 PM
Maybe not the greatest sporting one, but a historical one

(http://www.medaloffreedom.com/JesseOwens_1936Olympics.jpg/img%5D%3Cbr%20/%3E%3Cbr%20/%3Ehow%20do%20you%20put%20photos%20on?%3Cbr%20/%3E%3Cbr%20/%3E%3Cbr%20/%3E%5B/quote%5D%3Cbr%20/%3E%3Cbr%20/%3EYour%20second%20%5B%20should%20be%20moved%20to%20just%20before%20the%20/img%20at%20the%20end%20-%20I%20think!%20%3Cbr%20/%3E%3Cbr%20/%3E%5Bimg%5Dhttp://www.medaloffreedom.com/JesseOwens_1936Olympics.jpg)

And laoislad is going like an express - his 'moments' wouild fill the Christmas TV schedule at this rate!  :P
Post by: laoislad on December 09, 2006, 08:58:12 PM
Well im off to pub now so its all yours Rufus ::)
Post by: Orior on December 09, 2006, 09:04:31 PM
The Greatest Non GAA Sporting Moment, EVER, is MY Greatest Non GAA Sporting Moment, EVER!

Sorry, I dont have a picture, but it was a 10k road race in Newry in 1985. I finished about 15th in a time of 34:30.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 09, 2006, 10:14:56 PM
Quote from: Orior on December 09, 2006, 09:04:31 PM
The Greatest Non GAA Sporting Moment, EVER, is MY Greatest Non GAA Sporting Moment, EVER!

Sorry, I dont have a picture, but it was a 10k road race in Newry in 1985. I finished about 15th in a time of 34:30.
And we all  remember where we were when the news broke.  ;D

(http://www.geocities.com/thepointfc/Bonner.jpg)
Post by: J70 on December 09, 2006, 11:22:48 PM
I'm a Liverpool fan, but Michael Thomas' goal in the last minute of the '88-'89 season to win the league has got to be up there. What a way to win the league!

"It's all up for grabs now!"

(http://www.channel4.com/sport/microsites/S/sportuncovered/images/premiershipbattle/image2.jpg)
Title: Not as good as Owens but a great moment in Irish sport
Post by: Donagh on December 09, 2006, 11:31:42 PM
(http://www.clones.ie/pics/images/mcgact2.jpg)

(http://www.clones.ie/pics/images/bmg4.jpg)
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 11, 2006, 12:27:43 AM
(http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1532/42021036zarajumps270sq1.th.jpg) (http://img213.imageshack.us/my.php?image=42021036zarajumps270sq1.jpg)

The greatest non-sporting moment this year?? ;D
Post by: TORGAEL on December 11, 2006, 08:16:16 AM
The greatest non gaa sporting moment for me was Eamonn Coughlan winning the 5000m at the world athletics championships in 1983. The smile on his face as he came round the last bend was a joy to behold.
Post by: maddog on December 11, 2006, 08:46:31 AM
(http://www.france-cyclisme.com/nicolas/roche.jpg)

Stephen Roche completes the treble of Giro D'italia, Tour de france, and World Championship all in one year, only ever done before by Eddy Merckx.
Post by: rosnarun on December 11, 2006, 11:10:29 AM
hail to the cheif!
how can you better england v germany 1938

(http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d33/rosnarun/soccer_fascism_4.jpg)
Post by: ludermor on December 11, 2006, 11:14:29 AM
Didnt ireland do the same thing the following year?
Post by: johnneycool on December 11, 2006, 11:28:45 AM
(http://static.flickr.com/29/47679646_12388137a7_m.jpg)

I'm shocked that this hasn't appeared yet!!!

Post by: dubnut on December 11, 2006, 11:30:23 AM
whats up with that picture it looks like Ashley Cole was painted on!
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on December 11, 2006, 02:10:22 PM
Michael Kiernans dropped goal v England at Lansdowne Rd in 1985 to win the Triple Crown.  Absolute Magic and has to be up there with some of the greatest sporting moments.  Apologies for not including a picture of same...........................
Post by: Evil Genius on December 11, 2006, 07:19:42 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vf6cbkIp-w8
Post by: ultachna on December 11, 2006, 09:18:35 PM
2004, Manchester City beat rivals Manchester Utd 4-1, 2004
yeh i know the result at the weekend but still was sweet at the time, started off a great paddys weekend if i can recall and ireland beat england in the 6 nations the week before, watched the rugby in the union in liverpool, some craic
Post by: ziggysego on December 11, 2006, 09:28:29 PM
For me, it was when Ireland beat England in the 6 Nations in 2004. I was in a traditional England pub, in Brentwood, Essex. Surrounded by the English taunting about the Fortress Twickenham. I just waited, for a knew my moment would come.... and it did. ;)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 12, 2006, 10:34:38 AM
Of all the live non GAA games I've been at this was the one that gave me the most goosebumps...

(http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o312/CroinahEireann/Liverpool0-2Celtic-Hartsonscores.jpg)

(http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/38986000/jpg/_38986451_hartson_goal_get300x200.jpg)

France - Ireland in the Stade De France is a close second...
Post by: Mayo4Sam on December 12, 2006, 12:47:39 PM
(http://www.clubi.ie/fpage/history/pics/93nirvire1.jpg)
Post by: Kerry Mike on December 12, 2006, 01:42:40 PM
Ray Houghton v England - 1988 (Cant find a pic but what a moment)
Only recently topped by Munster lifting the H-Cup in 06

My other Irish sporting favourites:
Dawn Run - gold Cup
Dennis Taylor - winning the snooker
Barry McGuigan v Pedroza
Collins v Eubank in Millstreet
Eamon Coughlan - World Championship Gold
Sonia O'Sullivan in Sydney
Marcus O'Sullivan and his Mannamaker indoor miles
Michelle Smith's Gold's in Atlanta (until we found out the real story)
John Tracy Winning the World cross Country Championship in the mud in Limerick and his silver in the marathon in LA in 84.
Stephen Roche in 87 (when he collasped on the mountain top in the Tour de France, stirring stuff and then going on to win the Tour)
Sean Kelly on the cobbles on a wet day in the Paris-Roubais and his help to Roche to secure the treble
Ginger McLoughlin try and winning the triple crown in 82
Michael Kiernans drop goal to win in 85
Shane Horgan try to secure the triple crown last year.

Other International sporting moments:
Muhammad Ali Lighting the Olympic Flame in Atlanta was a special moment
Jesso Owens - 4 Golds
Carl Lewis - 4 Golds
Cantona's kick to the crowd
United's European Cup in 99
Liverpools European Cup in 05
South Africa winning the Rugby world cup.
Jonny Wilkinson's drop goal to win it for England in 03 was a pressure kick.
Post by: maddog on December 12, 2006, 04:38:06 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on December 12, 2006, 01:42:40 PM
Ray Houghton v England - 1988 (Cant find a pic but what a moment)
Only recently topped by Munster lifting the H-Cup in 06

My other Irish sporting favourites:
Dawn Run - gold Cup
Dennis Taylor - winning the snooker
Barry McGuigan v Pedroza
Collins v Eubank in Millstreet
Eamon Coughlan - World Championship Gold
Sonia O'Sullivan in Sydney
Marcus O'Sullivan and his Mannamaker indoor miles
Michelle Smith's Gold's in Atlanta (until we found out the real story)
John Tracy Winning the World cross Country Championship in the mud in Limerick and his silver in the marathon in LA in 84.
Stephen Roche in 87 (when he collasped on the mountain top in the Tour de France, stirring stuff and then going on to win the Tour)
Sean Kelly on the cobbles on a wet day in the Paris-Roubais and his help to Roche to secure the treble
Ginger McLoughlin try and winning the triple crown in 82
Michael Kiernans drop goal to win in 85
Shane Horgan try to secure the triple crown last year.

Other International sporting moments:
Muhammad Ali Lighting the Olympic Flame in Atlanta was a special moment
Jesso Owens - 4 Golds
Carl Lewis - 4 Golds
Cantona's kick to the crowd
United's European Cup in 99
Liverpools European Cup in 05
South Africa winning the Rugby world cup.
Jonny Wilkinson's drop goal to win it for England in 03 was a pressure kick.

When you mention Kelly's helping of Roche Mike it wasnt the case. Roche slogged his guts out that day for Kelly to win the worlds, it was only about 5k from home the front group split. Kelly and Argentin were marking each other out of it and Kelly found himself in the second group. Roche being no sprinter took a chance inside the last kilometre as he knew Kelly couldnt get across the gap without knackering himself so he went for it, up the inside of Rolf Sorensen from Denmark and the others for split second hesitated in chasing Roche, and the rest is history. Still a great moment though
Post by: Mayo4Sam on December 12, 2006, 04:58:19 PM
QuoteStephen Roche in 87 (when he collasped on the mountain top in the Tour de France, stirring stuff and then going on to win the Tour)

Remind you or anybody recently? ::)

IMHO cycling and all achievements belonging to it are tainted
Post by: maddog on December 12, 2006, 05:00:45 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on December 12, 2006, 04:58:19 PM
QuoteStephen Roche in 87 (when he collasped on the mountain top in the Tour de France, stirring stuff and then going on to win the Tour)

Remind you or anybody recently? ::)

IMHO cycling and all achievements belonging to it are tainted

Must throw the throphies in the skip so. ::)
Post by: MW on December 12, 2006, 06:11:09 PM

Good God, your knowledge of World Cup folklore merits a Grade F.

Those aren't pictures of a goal, those are the iconic images of a save from Gordon Banks that is often called 'the greatest save of all time'.
Post by: Farrandeelin on December 12, 2006, 06:14:22 PM
United's treble win in 99 is my favourite non GAA sporting event.
Post by: Lone Shark on December 12, 2006, 07:00:40 PM
The only Irish sports star to remain unsurpassed to this day going on to secure immortality ....

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/39864000/jpg/_39864945_arkle_millhse203.jpg)
Post by: turk on December 12, 2006, 07:11:24 PM
Quote from: MW on December 12, 2006, 06:11:09 PM

Those aren't pictures of a goal, those are the iconic images of a save from Gordon Banks that is often called 'the greatest save of all time'.

Hi MW

I'm aware it wasn't a goal.

We can only take this world cup moment based on the footage we have of it. Banks made a superb save - no one will argue that, but my opinion (and i'm happy to give my opinion on this, and not just eat what's spoonfed to me) is that it was a poor finish by Pele. He should have scored from there and not headered it down so much.

Incidentally this save (great save) and Bobby Moore's tackle on Pele in the same match are often cited as the reasons that this was the best soccer match of all time. The match was reshown on BBC1 when Brazil and England met in 2002 world cup - just like some of the All ireland gold matches, it hasn't aged well! It makes for fairly lame fare watching it now.

cheers
Post by: ONeill on December 12, 2006, 07:15:13 PM
(http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/events/1996/olympics/daily/july25/images/swim1.jpg)
Post by: muppet on December 12, 2006, 07:25:38 PM
 O'Neill is that John Hayes?
Post by: ONeill on December 12, 2006, 07:29:50 PM
It's Galvin honing his pre-All-Ireland aquatic skills.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on December 12, 2006, 10:03:19 PM
Quote from: turk on December 12, 2006, 07:11:24 PM
Quote from: MW on December 12, 2006, 06:11:09 PM

Hi MW

I'm aware it wasn't a goal.

We can only take this world cup moment based on the footage we have of it. Banks made a superb save - no one will argue that, but my opinion (and i'm happy to give my opinion on this, and not just eat what's spoonfed to me) is that it was a poor finish by Pele. He should have scored from there and not headered it down so much.

Incidentally this save (great save) and Bobby Moore's tackle on Pele in the same match are often cited as the reasons that this was the best soccer match of all time. The match was reshown on BBC1 when Brazil and England met in 2002 world cup - just like some of the All ireland gold matches, it hasn't aged well! It makes for fairly lame fare watching it now.

cheers

The save was just unbelievable and my favourite non GAA sporting moment of all time. It was not just the save though. That move started, if memory serves me correctly, with a shot/cross from Francis Lee on the England right that Felix gathered well. He rolled the ball to Carlos Alberto who advanced towards half way and hit the most brilliant pass, with the outside of his right boot, over 50 or so yards, inside Terry Cooper and into the path of Jairzinho. His first touch was too heavy and he sent the ball, bouncing on a rock hard surface, hurtling towards the end line. He sprinted after it and somehow got his foot around it to send over the perfect cross. The rest is history!  8)

By the way Turk - agree about watching the match again, though I would suggest that no matter what match you watch in it's entirety, you will always fast forward some bits. That game though was a marvellous occasion, between the first and second best teams in the world, with great players on both sides! Tremendous!
Post by: turk on December 12, 2006, 10:25:57 PM
was Franny Lee playing for England in that match Rufus?? Merciful hour!!

By the way, Bobby Moore never took that necklace - he was sound

cheers
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on September 23, 2007, 01:33:56 AM
I know I started this thread many moons ago with Banks' save from Pele - but was reading the Guardian a week or two back and they pointed me to this beauty on youtube. I'd always wanted to see The Try From The End Of The World , but only managed to for the first time last week.

It's the second try in the clip below, and given the circumstances (wrapping up an away series win by any team in New Zealand for the first time in about 600 years, in the last minute of the second and last test) this has to beat any try scored anywhere.

By the way - the first try ain't bad either!  :o

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C_yL2gnof2g&mode=related&search=

Post by: Turlough O Carolan on September 23, 2007, 06:26:10 AM
Not a sport I care for but hard to beat the final 3 seconds of the 1972 Olympic basketball final for drama.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=5sMX65Y3wPc
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 23, 2007, 07:58:36 AM
Quote from: Turlough O Carolan on September 23, 2007, 06:26:10 AM
Not a sport I care for but hard to beat the final 3 seconds of the 1972 Olympic basketball final for drama.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=5sMX65Y3wPc

It's no

Miracle On Ice (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XlISw4GonvQ)
Post by: deiseach on September 23, 2007, 01:19:17 PM
Quote from: turk on December 12, 2006, 07:11:24 PM

Context counts. Which is why I'd like to add to your caveat the following caveat:

FT Brazil 1-0 England (Jairzinho 59')

The spirit of Dunkirk lives on
Post by: hoopsaaa on September 23, 2007, 01:21:58 PM
Mickey THomas making in 2.1 at Anfield ;)
Post by: heganboy on September 24, 2007, 06:17:29 PM
This is a brilliant compilation from a US point of view. Its what ESPN closed out the 1999 with. A lot of the clips are baseball and US football, but there are some crackers in there too.
Even the grumpiest fecker has to like something in there. 6 minutes and 52 of class.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gDs4eOO_92c
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 24, 2007, 07:22:40 PM
Quote from: hoopsaaa on September 23, 2007, 01:21:58 PM
Mickey THomas making in 2.1 at Anfield ;)

Mickey Owen making it 2-1 in Cardiff  :P
Post by: Declan on September 25, 2007, 08:00:33 AM
QuoteThis is a brilliant compilation from a US point of view. Its what ESPN closed out the 1999 with. A lot of the clips are baseball and US football, but there are some crackers in there too.

Some good stuff in there alright and finishing with that iconic picture of Ali standing over Liston brilliant
Post by: deiseach on September 25, 2007, 08:59:49 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on September 24, 2007, 07:22:40 PM
Mickey Owen making it 2-1 in Cardiff  :P

Mmm, that was nice.

Mickey Owen making it 2-0 in Cardiff in the 2003 Worthington Cup final - still have my stub!
Post by: bennydorano on June 26, 2014, 06:30:01 PM
Just watched Willie Anderson & Ireland facing down the Haka at Lansdowne Rd on youtube, still sends shivers down the spine. The original & best, see a couple of French efforts there too.

There's a fine one of NZ armed forces in Afghanistan doing one for dead colleagues.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 08, 2014, 11:52:40 PM
Germany 7 Brazil 1 In Brazil
we not forget that one in a hurry
Post by: 5 Sams on July 09, 2014, 12:29:52 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 08, 2014, 11:52:40 PM
Germany 7 Brazil 1 In Brazil
we not forget that one in a hurry

Post by: Aerlik on July 14, 2014, 06:20:34 PM
Wakanohana beating his brother Takanohana to win the Emperor's Cup, leading to his promotion to Yokozuna.  1998, I think.