Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: bombidal on August 23, 2010, 04:50:59 PM

Title: Rose of Tralee
Post by: bombidal on August 23, 2010, 04:50:59 PM

Mighty fine competition in store tonight and tomorrow evening. Im taking Down & London verus the field. Much better tv than Liverpool v City thats for sure
Title: Re: Rose of Tralee
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 23, 2010, 05:01:15 PM
Listen for a while
And I'll tell you the story
of How I fell in love with The Rose Of Tralee

It was about five o'clock in the morning
I was only after gettin' off the mail boat.
I was walking down the North Wall
Minding me own business
With me suitcase under me arm
Sitting down every minute
'Til a voice behind me went
Hello, hello, hello
Where do you think you're going
at this hour of the morning?

I turned around
And who do you think was standin' behind me
Only the Rose of Tralee
And she wearin' a grand new blue Ban Gardaí's uniform
I thought she was a chief super
How's it going there Rose
Jasus girleen the last time I saw you
was down below there in The Dome
upstairs in the tent with Gaybo in the Pretty Polly tights
And all them beauty queens from
Tashkent, Istanbul, Bangkok and Liverpool and...........
How's she cuttin there Rose...
Can you account for your movements sez she
Ah Rose, there's no need to be like that
But I can give you all the movements you want
You'd better sharpen your pencil
You're goin' to be busy little woman
Christy's got a memory like a super-grass
I can remember things that never happened at all,

The first thing I can remember
Is the 7th of May 1945
At the back of Donnelly's Hollow
The night before
Pa Connolly drove the Roadstone lorry
Into the Seven Springs
And St. Brigid started rollin' out the Tintawn
Across the Curragh of Kildare
Then I woke up one morning
It was after gettin conscripted into the altar boys
I was ringin the bells and swingin the thurible
Sure the smell of the incense
Would remind you of the inside of an Arab's tent
And no sign of Ghaddafi nowhere
In those days Down in Newbridge Co. Kildare
An altar boy would get a pound for a funeral
Two pound for a wedding
And a good kick up in the arse
If he didn't put enough wine in the chalice at the early mass.
Ah Ita Missa Est; says Rose
and Gloria Tibi Domine; says I
I didn't know you had to have the Latin
To get into Templemore
I love to hear the old bit of Latin
The old Tridentine
I can't stand them Folk Masses
All them trendy priests Trippin' over each other
To sing ballads At half time in the Bingo
Sure the Nine First Fridays Never killed anyone

Well ! The next thing I knew, Rose
I was servin' me time to be
A corner boy up in the Curragh Camp
I was trying to teach the sheep how to talk Irish
Then I got a job selling lambs balls to mushroom farmers
that couldn't afford horseshite
One day I was walkin' across the Curragh of Kildare
And I fell into an officer's mess
I ended up in the F.C.A.
Squarebashin' around the wet canteen
Until the commanding officer heard
That me Granny once confessed
To a fellow whose Sister's brother in law was
Married to a man whoseFirst cousin used to fill
Hot water bottles for Patrick Sarsfield Before the battle of Clongorey
I had to go on the run.

I ran so fast thatI ended up in Paddington
A million miles away from Mary Horan's

Diggin' Footins Scrapin' Pots
Pullin' cable Startin' Drotts
Boilin' Kettles Makin' Tea
Diggin' Deep Rose and Thrown Away

I was a disposable PaddyServin' me time to be a
Co-Pilot on a kango hammer in Shepherd's Bush
Doin' 86 MPH on a JCB down the Kilburn High Road
When the SPG flagged me down and held me under the PTA
Until I got away and went underground with the Green Murphy
One Thursday night I was headin' down the Hammersmith Broadway
I met a friend of mine from Ballaghadereenin the Co. Roscommon
Who was a demolition expert - Georgian houses were his speciality
Any chance for a start?What would you know about demolition? (I've been well known to demolish a rake of large bottles)
Well, Monday mornin' came
Myself, Roger Sherlock, Liam Farrell,Martin Byrnes, Raymond Roland Tony Rohr
We was paintin' a door
We gave her six coats and three coats more- that was just the undercoat
The ganger was fond of a tune-thursday never came too soon
We were gettin' five pounds a day and all we could ate
But it's an awful job Tryin' to eat all day
To make a long story short, Rose
I went lookin' for digs
I went up and knocked at the door,this big English woman comes out
took one look at me and she went
Get away from my door sez she
There'll be absolutely no blacks nor paddies gettin' in here.'
So I let on I was a white South African
And I tried to join the British Army to better myself
I volunteered as sub-contractor buildin' houses with no doors nor handles on them
The recruiting officer says to me
'What ye bin doin' lately then, Paddy?

I was helpin' O'Brien to shift it Sir says I
Before that I was spreadin' the toxic all over the Golden Vale
Helpin' Mr. Gallagher cover Stephen's Green in concrete Sir
Helpin' Sam Stevenson block all the daylight out of Dublin
Helpin' Dr. Smurfit relocate the Liffey
Helpin' Lord O'Reilly to count the golden beans
I was dolin' out the Diddly-Eye for Dr. Darragh
Puttin in the bugs for Cathaoirleach
Vacuum packin' T-Bone steaks for Larry Maith an Fear seekin' out the heart of the Green Core.
Bejasus Paddy you're overqualified for the British Army
I'm afraid I'll have to deport you out of England.
and he did......Total Exclusion

Here I am, Rose Ar ais arís
This is some welcome for a returned emmigrant
Céad Míle Fáilte my arse
With your pioneer pin and your fáinneAnd your white star for not cursing
Jaysus, it would be more in your line togive me a lift in the squad car into town
And she did.

There wew were Cruisin' down Capel Street in the White Squad
Looking for the Early Morning House
will ye look Rose There's Paddy Slattery.
'You're welcome home, Christy', says Paddy
Big Slate!
'I suppose you and your girlfriend are looking for a drink'
Well, off came the cap. She flung it into the back seat of the squad
And in with her like a bat out a hell (left right, left right)
'I'll have a Brandy with a small drop of Port I never drink pints when I'm on duty'
Brandy and Port!
T'was like throwin' water into a barrel of sawdust
She lowered it up andof course..........No wallet
Roll on the Holy Hour', says I
I'll see you tonight sez she 'twill be my twist'

Ladies and Gentlemen there I was outside the GPO waitin for The most beautiful Kerry woman in the whole wide world
Here she comes, Holy Mother of Sweet Divine Jesus in Heaven would you ever look at.that .... Sashaying down the Boulevardin her Doc's and her 501's
Hey Rose!..... Over here........
'What's on your mind big fellah' says she to me
(I was wearin me platforms)
I wouldn't mind a bit of a dance, Rose
She took me to a discoin the Gardai club in Harcourt Street
Le Baton Rouge.........A tidy little spot up Harcourt Street
Watch out for the quadruple parking, bald tyres and no tax discs
In there.. I wonder what they'll do with the two tonnes of hash?
Jaysus you'll find out in there, gay bikers on acid
Myself and the Rose of Tralee danced the night away
Until about five O'clock in the morning when says she to me
'Fancy comin' back to my place then Lofty?'
Does a bear shite in the woods?
Away with us, me hangin out of her on the back of the Honda 50
Up through Rathmines and Rathgar into Ranelagh,

pullin into the 24-7 open 9-11, 6 days a week
Two donor kebabs and the Leinster Leader
Up to her place thenTwo up, two down,
She pulled the cork out of the Blue Nun
And I got sick all over the Rottweiler
And she put some music onLovely new CD.,,,,,, Daniel
Oh then fare thee well sweet Donegal
The Roses and Gweedore
Oh Rose. Oh Daniel
Ah Here,I suppose a rasher sandwich is out of the question?

That's how I met up with The Roseof Tralee
Post by: comethekingdom on August 23, 2010, 10:12:17 PM
Class song. Good man Christy!!!
Post by: sammymaguire on August 23, 2010, 10:31:47 PM
Daithi is making a right pig's ear of chatting to those girls on stage, a cardboard cut out of Ray D'Arcy would have done a better job!! That Jessica from Carlow looks the winner all over, money pouring in for her too
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 23, 2010, 10:41:53 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on August 23, 2010, 10:31:47 PM
Daithi is making a right pig's ear of chatting to those girls on stage, a cardboard cut out of Ray D'Arcy would have done a better job!! That Jessica from Carlow looks the winner all over, money pouring in for her too

Ya she was hot and seemed good ould craic too.
Post by: ross4life on August 23, 2010, 10:44:39 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 23, 2010, 10:41:53 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on August 23, 2010, 10:31:47 PM

Ya she was hot and seemed good ould craic too.

No good without pictures
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 23, 2010, 10:55:36 PM
Was the Leix bird on it yet
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 23, 2010, 11:02:46 PM
The San Francisco Rose from Roscommon, nice but of stuff with the redhead and seems like a cheeky wan.
Post by: comethekingdom on August 23, 2010, 11:08:37 PM
Nothing worse than the yappy yanks though.
Post by: ross4life on August 23, 2010, 11:13:42 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 23, 2010, 11:02:46 PM
The San Francisco Rose from Roscommon, nice but of stuff with the redhead and seems like a cheeky wan.

Yup two rossies on it this year
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 23, 2010, 11:14:51 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 23, 2010, 11:13:42 PM

Is there any good looking women in Roscommon?
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 23, 2010, 11:15:05 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on August 23, 2010, 11:08:37 PM
Nothing worse than the yappy yanks though.

That New Orleans girl was nice though.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 23, 2010, 11:15:58 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 23, 2010, 11:14:51 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 23, 2010, 11:13:42 PM

Is there any good looking women in Roscommon?

I can tell you for a fact, that Rossie women are unreal.
Post by: ross4life on August 23, 2010, 11:19:06 PM
For me the leitrim rose is the best looking on that stage now

(http://www.eventcapture.ie/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/ed0418003829.jpg)

Shes from ballinamore it a shame i didn't see her when i was there last weekend  :P
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 23, 2010, 11:29:04 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 23, 2010, 11:19:06 PM
For me the leitrim rose is the best looking on that stage now

(http://www.eventcapture.ie/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/ed0418003829.jpg)

Shes from ballinamore it a shame i didn't see her when i was there last weekend  :P

I'll have the Rose, you can have the other one ross4life
Post by: winsamsoon on August 24, 2010, 02:04:31 AM
Was down there myself from friday lads and it is some craic. See the Leitrim Rose and all of her followers in Sean Og's as the group sang go on home british soldiers lol. a week of that would kill a donkey lads
Post by: samboswig on August 24, 2010, 10:37:56 AM
" Don't they all have lovely bottoms "
Post by: The Iceman on August 24, 2010, 03:08:55 PM
Is this really the best of County Armagh???
http://www.roseoftralee.ie/catalog/popup_image.php/cPath/80/products_id/501 (http://www.roseoftralee.ie/catalog/popup_image.php/cPath/80/products_id/501)
Post by: sammymaguire on August 25, 2010, 08:58:00 AM
The judges decided to stay away from the dumb blonde this year again. London Rose seemed genuinely shocked to have won and will represent the festival proud for next 12 months.
Post by: sammymaguire on August 25, 2010, 08:58:47 AM
There were no dumb blondes to start off with of course ;-)
Post by: laoislad on August 22, 2011, 10:06:05 PM
Lovely girls
Post by: laoislad on August 22, 2011, 10:31:07 PM
Manky looking bird with a manky Nordie accent on it now.
Post by: 5 Sams on August 22, 2011, 10:41:02 PM
Down Rose played a blinder...
Post by: laoislad on August 22, 2011, 10:52:48 PM
Come on Laois!
Post by: Leonardo on August 22, 2011, 10:57:25 PM
Nicole was brilliant - up Down
Post by: ross4life on August 22, 2011, 10:59:53 PM
Has the Roscommon rose been on yet?
Post by: ballinaman on August 22, 2011, 11:03:09 PM
Jeez..some of these are wrecked!
Post by: trileacman on August 22, 2011, 11:16:21 PM
Jaysus i could staple daithi's mouth shut.
Post by: ONeill on August 22, 2011, 11:16:40 PM
Jesus, my ears.
Post by: Rois on August 22, 2011, 11:17:47 PM
Down girl wouldn't win if it was based on tonight alone but I quite liked the dress.

Derry Rose, what are you wearing??!!

Ach feck it, I'm just jealous.

Post by: ONeill on August 22, 2011, 11:18:50 PM
Why do Derry wemen talk through their nose?
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 22, 2011, 11:44:47 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 22, 2011, 11:18:50 PM
Why do Derry wemen talk through their nose?
Because their mouths are busy on other tasks?
Post by: DrinkingHarp on August 23, 2011, 04:32:53 AM
The one from Perth best of this bunch, Derry close second.

http://roseoftralee.ie/v5/roses/international-roses-2011
Post by: Wee Roddy on August 23, 2011, 08:34:22 AM
Dublin for me I think ;)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 23, 2011, 10:24:02 AM
Big Apple
(http://roseoftralee.ie/v5/images/joomgallery/thumbnails/international_roses_2011_9/big-apple-caitlin-mcneil_20110707_1189290113.jpg)

or
South Australia
(http://roseoftralee.ie/v5/images/joomgallery/thumbnails/international_roses_2011_9/south_australia-_susan_gellard_20110712_1955739158.jpg)

or
Tipperary
(http://roseoftralee.ie/v5/images/joomgallery/thumbnails/international_roses_2011_9/tipperary-noirin-ryan_20110707_1404609352.jpg)

or finally but not least
Toronto
(http://roseoftralee.ie/v5/images/joomgallery/thumbnails/international_roses_2011_9/toronto-aileen-doyle_20110707_1121544247.jpg)
Post by: Onion Bag on August 23, 2011, 10:28:37 AM
There was a whole of them like weeds never mind a Rose
Post by: Minder on August 23, 2011, 10:37:43 AM
I hear Darby O'Gill was in the audience.
Post by: new devil on August 23, 2011, 11:08:01 AM
I know the New York rose pretty well GBA Abd that's not her...how's she getting on?
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 23, 2011, 11:27:16 AM
Big drop in standard after the SF doll.
Post by: tommysmith on August 23, 2011, 11:31:03 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 23, 2011, 11:27:16 AM
Big drop in standard after the SF doll.

What county was the Sinn Fein rose from?
Post by: whiskeysteve on August 23, 2011, 11:36:47 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on August 23, 2011, 04:32:53 AM
The one from Perth best of this bunch, Derry close second.

http://roseoftralee.ie/v5/roses/international-roses-2011

Thanks for that link, productivity just plummeted.

(http://roseoftralee.ie/v5/images/joomgallery/thumbnails/international_roses_2011_9/south_australia-_susan_gellard_20110712_1955739158.jpg)

"she can count to ten in five languages"

yerrah, shes a smart one!
Post by: laoislad on August 23, 2011, 12:07:38 PM

Perth,Derry and Roscommon are the best of a poor enough bunch IMO.

Sunderland,Down,New York and Washington would be the worst.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 23, 2011, 12:22:48 PM
Quote from: new devil on August 23, 2011, 11:08:01 AM
I know the New York rose pretty well GBA Abd that's not her...how's she getting on?

There is a New York Rose as well as a "Big Apple" Rose, 2 different girls.
Post by: ross4life on August 23, 2011, 04:28:56 PM
Sunderland rose the worst i saw better looking girls in Whelans over the weekend.

(http://img.rasset.ie/0004e7f0-372.jpg)

I'm going to biased but i think the Roscommon rose is the best.

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/242717_208550305849121_100000824592327_492624_8236328_o.jpg)

Post by: laoislad on August 23, 2011, 05:36:31 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 23, 2011, 12:07:38 PM

Gonna have to change my opinion. The Derry one looks good in that picture but just seen her on Tv there now and she ain't that great.
The San Francisco one was very nice though.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 23, 2011, 06:29:04 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 23, 2011, 05:36:31 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 23, 2011, 12:07:38 PM

Gonna have to change my opinion. The Derry one looks good in that picture but just seen her on Tv there now and she ain't that great.
The San Francisco one was very nice though.
Sure I picked her out at the start!
Post by: Minder on August 23, 2011, 06:36:13 PM
The Derry wan is off the market, she is getting married next month.

To her uncle.
Post by: sheamy on August 23, 2011, 07:03:46 PM
Dublin def have one victory over Donegal this week anyway. No contest!
Post by: ross4life on August 23, 2011, 09:53:56 PM
I didn't know the Sydney rose was Dermot Earley's niece.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 23, 2011, 09:55:16 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 23, 2011, 09:53:56 PM
How would you know?!
Post by: Rois on August 23, 2011, 09:57:53 PM
It says it on the Rose website.

I really liked that Sydney Rose, I wouldn't mind if she won. That New Zealand one would put you to sleep.
Post by: ross4life on August 23, 2011, 10:00:48 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 23, 2011, 09:55:16 PM
How would you know?!
If i checked the local newspaper i would have known.
Post by: Mickey Linden on August 23, 2011, 10:06:11 PM
Whos going to win lads? I met them all last week at the cliffs of moher. Thought the Dublin Rose was good craic and had a sneaky punt on her at 33/1.
On tonights showing I liked the Sydney Rose. She can still be backed at 8/1 too
Post by: Aaron Boone on August 23, 2011, 10:17:05 PM
I just don't see why the popularity of the Rose of Tralee show, never have.
Post by: laoislad on August 23, 2011, 10:19:06 PM

Why would you think everyone needed to know that you didn't know?
Post by: Minder on August 23, 2011, 10:21:43 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on August 23, 2011, 10:17:05 PM

Harmless enough but does perpetuate the image a lot of people abroad have of us.
Post by: laoislad on August 23, 2011, 10:25:39 PM
Perth rose best looking by a mile.
Post by: maggie on August 23, 2011, 10:26:38 PM
Its been watched in our house every year since I can remember! Me and my friends used to dream of being a Rose, sadly we are overage now...On a side note, I liked the
Wexford Rose's dress.
Post by: ross4life on August 23, 2011, 10:28:44 PM
Roisin looking lovely & yes i needed to tell everyone that too laoislad  :-*
Post by: laoislad on August 23, 2011, 10:33:15 PM
Lucky for her she is good looking,she can't sing a note.
Post by: whiskeysteve on August 23, 2011, 10:34:57 PM
Amy Winehouse is spinning
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 23, 2011, 10:36:06 PM
I watched about five minutes of this show once back in Gaybo's day. I thought "WTF is this?" and watched something else instead.
Post by: ross4life on August 23, 2011, 10:37:00 PM
Yeah she can't sing. How many teachers now?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 23, 2011, 10:44:20 PM
Quote from: Minder on August 23, 2011, 10:21:43 PM

Harmless enough but does perpetuate the image a lot of people abroad have of us.
Bit of a contradiction there
Post by: Minder on August 23, 2011, 10:52:30 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 23, 2011, 10:44:20 PM
Quote from: Minder on August 23, 2011, 10:21:43 PM

Bit of a contradiction there

Not really, it just doesent stir any great emotion with me and isn't worth getting worked up over.
Post by: mc_grens on August 23, 2011, 11:02:54 PM
If only Imelda May didn't have that stupid accent.
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 23, 2011, 11:18:31 PM
What a county we have. great TV. C'mon the Kingdom
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 23, 2011, 11:22:57 PM
Shhhhhh

Wait for it...

The pale moon was rising above the Green mountains...

Nice to see a win for the Aussies .that will secure a few work visas for the paddys
Post by: orangeman on August 23, 2011, 11:23:50 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 23, 2011, 11:22:57 PM
Shhhhhh

Wait for it...

The pale moon was rising above the Green mountains...

Nice to see a win for the Aussies .that will secure a few work visas for the paddys

I never thought of it like that. Cute hoors !
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 23, 2011, 11:27:27 PM
So proud to be from Kerry tonight there is a tear in my eye

She was lovely and fair..

Fair fucks keep it lit and f**k the begrudgers
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 23, 2011, 11:43:39 PM
Chicago Rose was fair lively. I'd say some escort will be rode rock solid by her tonight.

Dublin Rose :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MahY3MSRug0 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MahY3MSRug0)

Post by: Tony Baloney on August 24, 2011, 12:11:40 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 23, 2011, 11:43:39 PM
Chicago Rose was fair lively. I'd say some escort will be rode rock solid by her tonight.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MahY3MSRug0 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MahY3MSRug0)
The f**king Dubs letting the side down as usual. Wick.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 24, 2011, 12:33:00 AM

Brilliant :D, she basically turned up hadnt anything rehearsed and winged it..

The chicago one is the only one thats single, the mother is all right ;)
Post by: Orior on August 24, 2011, 12:41:51 AM
Oh for the love of God. What next - pole dancing?
Post by: Capt Pat on August 24, 2011, 12:42:42 AM
I saw her doing the disco damcing. She looked like a mad yoke. The only bit of the show I saw it was a bit of a shock.
Post by: ONeill on August 24, 2011, 10:09:30 AM
Some of the comments on that youtube clip are rightly funny:

Scarlet Johansson for her Grandmother. I guess she really believed all those drunk people in Coppers telling her she was a deadly dancer.

Stay in school and don't do drugs kids.

Camera man is shit!!! couldnt see her shuffling!!

Some deadly stills from 29 secs to 35.

Post by: ONeill on August 24, 2011, 10:15:31 AM
Searched the net there with no success. There was a Rose of Tralee winner about 10-15 years ago whose closing ceremony was ruined when her granny came on stage to give her a hug and got her glasses caught in yer woman's crown.The closing credits were a riot - they were trying to separate the granny from her head.

I rolled around the house laughing for the guts of a week.
Post by: whiskeysteve on August 24, 2011, 10:19:46 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 24, 2011, 10:15:31 AM
Searched the net there with no success. There was a Rose of Tralee winner about 10-15 years ago whose closing ceremony was ruined when her granny came on stage to give her a hug and got her glasses caught in yer woman's crown.The closing credits were a riot - they were trying to separate the granny from her head.

I rolled around the house laughing for the guts of a week.

I feckin knew I remembered something about a past winner bawling her eyes out and then getting something stuck in her tiara and continuing to weep and the hair getting wrecked trying to pull free!!

Said to someone last night about it but could barely remember it at the time!
Post by: ONeill on August 24, 2011, 10:21:56 AM
What would you give to see that again? Can find any mention of it online.
Post by: sheamy on August 24, 2011, 10:36:27 AM
Quote from: Capt Pat on August 24, 2011, 12:42:42 AM
I saw her doing the disco damcing. She looked like a mad yoke. The only bit of the show I saw it was a bit of a shock.

That was deadly! The face on her dancing was the best. Went from beauty queen to 'wearing a shellsuit and selling lighters outside croker' with that dance.

Follow O'Neill's advice. Pause bang on 0:30 til you see the head on her! Imagine a nice bite to eat with that, a few pints and then off for a wee dance where she turns into that. You'd either leg it or say what the hell, I'm heading north again tomorrow.
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 24, 2011, 11:14:21 AM
QuoteYou'd either leg it or say what the hell, I'm heading north again tomorrow.

Post by: armaghniac on August 20, 2012, 09:07:45 PM
Good to see the GAA get a mention this year. When the Darwin Rose produced here Granda's AI medal, she cautioned Daithi not to run off with it as they were scarce in Kerry this year. He got his own back when someone from Ontario had Tyrone relations.
Post by: Rois on August 21, 2012, 09:21:12 AM
I thought Dathai was in bad aul form last night -  not incredibly nice to some of the girls!

Also missed out in a few where the Irishness came into it. 

Still very funny though.
Post by: thebigfella on August 21, 2012, 12:12:15 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 20, 2012, 09:07:45 PM
Good to see the GAA get a mention this year. When the Darwin Rose produced here Granda's AI medal, she cautioned Daithi not to run off with it as they were scarce in Kerry this year. He got his own back when someone from Ontario had Tyrone relations.

Post by: The Iceman on August 21, 2012, 02:19:43 PM
The occupied 6 don't seem to be interested anymore. All about personality it seems...
http://www.roseoftralee.ie/roses/irish-final-roses-2012 (http://www.roseoftralee.ie/roses/irish-final-roses-2012)
Post by: Feckitt on August 21, 2012, 02:24:16 PM
What ?
Post by: wildrover on August 21, 2012, 02:28:02 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on August 21, 2012, 02:19:43 PM
The occupied 6 don't seem to be interested anymore. All about personality it seems...
http://www.roseoftralee.ie/roses/irish-final-roses-2012 (http://www.roseoftralee.ie/roses/irish-final-roses-2012)

Yes because there is a blatant North/South divide in terms of prettiness... ???

And the grass is greener down there...And the guinness better down there...And the Tayto crisps tastier (wait...that one is true actually  :-[)...
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on August 21, 2012, 04:46:58 PM

feckin pricless
Post by: deiseach on August 22, 2012, 10:22:04 AM
I know the winner's cousin. Now I know where all the personality in the family went...
Post by: EC Unique on August 22, 2012, 11:54:32 AM
Quote from: deiseach on August 22, 2012, 10:22:04 AM
I know the winner's cousin. Now I know where all the personality in the family went...

Wher did the looks go.. She is a bad looking brute!
Post by: Feckitt on August 22, 2012, 12:25:29 PM
Jesus Christ would you lads ever catch a f**king grip.  EC Unique you should delete that immediately. 
Post by: deiseach on August 22, 2012, 12:34:11 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on August 22, 2012, 12:25:29 PM
Jesus Christ would you lads ever catch a f**king grip.  EC Unique you should delete that immediately.

I was wondering whether anyone would mis-interpret what I said. I meant all the personality went to the Rose because it sure as hell didn't go to her cousin!
Post by: wildrover on August 22, 2012, 12:44:26 PM
Quote from: deiseach on August 22, 2012, 12:34:11 PM

I was wondering whether anyone would mis-interpret what I said. I meant all the personality went to the Rose because it sure as hell didn't go to her cousin!

Deiseach deserves an apology...

EC Unique deserves a boot in the balls...
Post by: Jonah on August 22, 2012, 12:47:20 PM
Quote from: wildrover on August 22, 2012, 12:44:26 PM
Quote from: deiseach on August 22, 2012, 12:34:11 PM

EC Unique deserves a boot in the balls...

I don't think it is the first nor the last time someone will think that! ;D
Post by: deiseach on August 22, 2012, 12:50:04 PM
Quote from: wildrover on August 22, 2012, 12:44:26 PM
Deiseach deserves an apology...

Nah, I was being deliberately obtuse. You never know who could be reading it ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on August 22, 2012, 12:52:14 PM
You kind of ruined that with your follow up post then :)
Post by: deiseach on August 22, 2012, 12:54:00 PM
Damn you, AZ, with your logic and reason!
Post by: winghalfun on August 22, 2012, 12:58:13 PM
Class.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4o99f2ErLo (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4o99f2ErLo)

"Have you ever put a cow through a mincing machine?" ;D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on August 22, 2012, 01:16:44 PM
Good man Savage. That 'lassie' from Longford looks the rale deal.

Rose of Tralee is dreadful stuff - yet one is compelled to watch it if flicking through the channels you come across it (QUIET DOWN THE BACK)
Post by: ONeill on August 22, 2012, 02:18:22 PM
Thought yer man put the Tyrone Rose in her box.

Daithi: You didn't have a good experience down in Kerry this year, did you?

Tyrone Rose: I've three words for you Daithi: two thousand and three, two thousand and five and two thousand and eight

Daithi: That's more like thirty.
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on August 23, 2012, 07:14:15 AM
He actually said - I've 36 words for you.
Post by: ONeill on August 23, 2012, 10:49:30 AM
So he did, so he did.
Post by: Rois on August 19, 2013, 10:18:25 PM
Woohoo, my favourite dress slagging show is on!
Post by: Orior on August 19, 2013, 10:46:33 PM
Quote from: Mikhail Prokhorov on August 21, 2012, 04:46:58 PM

feckin pricless

I like the comment on youtube - your move David Brent
Post by: lawnseed on August 19, 2013, 11:09:39 PM
shane filan.. oooohhh aaaaahh singing brother can you spare a dime...  ::)

Post by: Aaron Boone on August 20, 2013, 10:00:06 PM
New Zealand Rose on who works as structural engineer in Chirstchurch. 10-15 year rebuild project she says.

North Carolina Rose now 1/2, has she been on yet?
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 20, 2013, 11:21:05 PM
Philly and Kerry are decent.
Post by: BennyCake on August 20, 2013, 11:27:54 PM
Daithi gets a free feed tomorrow night so. The Texan is paying.
Post by: johnneycool on August 21, 2013, 08:26:18 AM
The Sidney Rose had that ride-ability factor, wasn't as good a talker as some, but that's a plus in my book.
Post by: lawnseed on August 21, 2013, 09:08:05 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on August 21, 2013, 08:26:18 AM
The Sidney Rose had that ride-ability factor, wasn't as good a talker as some, but that's a plus in my book.
yes and yes. johnny you have got taste. she had a wee look about her. she'd have been my choice 8)
Post by: laoislad on August 21, 2013, 09:10:43 PM
Rule 1
Post by: theskull1 on August 21, 2013, 10:01:43 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 21, 2013, 09:10:43 PM
Rule 1

(http://roseoftralee.ie/roses/international-roses-2013/international-roses-2013/sydney-aus)

Nice but those lips look as if they've had a bit of augmentation
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 21, 2013, 10:07:05 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on August 21, 2013, 10:01:43 PM
Rule 1

http://roseoftralee.ie/roses/international-roses-2013/international-roses-2013/sydney-aus (http://roseoftralee.ie/roses/international-roses-2013/international-roses-2013/sydney-aus)

(http://roseoftralee.ie/roses/international-roses-2013/image?view=image&format=raw&type=img&id=244)
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 21, 2013, 10:22:36 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 21, 2013, 10:07:05 PM
Rule 1

http://roseoftralee.ie/roses/international-roses-2013/international-roses-2013/sydney-aus (http://roseoftralee.ie/roses/international-roses-2013/international-roses-2013/sydney-aus)

(http://roseoftralee.ie/roses/international-roses-2013/image?view=image&format=raw&type=img&id=244)
Looks like it and is one of her eyes a bit wonky?
Post by: BennyCake on August 21, 2013, 10:30:13 PM

The blonde from Dunquin, the South Australia rose, popped my cork.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 21, 2013, 10:37:06 PM
(http://roseoftralee.ie/roses/international-roses-2013/image?view=image&format=raw&type=img&id=252)

Quote from: BennyCake on August 21, 2013, 10:30:13 PM

Do I f**king have to do everything round here...
Post by: bannside on August 21, 2013, 10:59:05 PM
Had an oul year or two around Tralee Festival back in the day.

Twas 1984 I think. Was having a beer with a friend in the Brandon who was going out with one of the contestants. (They ended up getting married a few years later and I was his best man)

Anyway, the friend says that one of the chief organisers had just whispered quietly to her "that it might be a good idea if she were to prepare a few words for the following night - don't forget the judges/sponsors etc"

So I took this as a cue to hit the bookies the next day, and give it Dixie. A monkey at 16`s took her the whole way down to about 6/4 - and she duly obliged. Winner all right!

What a great place for a weeks crack. Did the escort thing for a few years but even better crack just out on the streets, Brogue inn etc.

Now Im sitting at home watching it with the family and breaking into a laugh every so often and they haven't a clue what I`m laughing about. Bloody good job too!

Which reminds me of what I was going to say. Yes, if North Carolina was down as low as 1/2 - then by God the word must have got out again this year too........
Post by: BennyCake on August 21, 2013, 11:26:50 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 21, 2013, 10:37:06 PM
(http://roseoftralee.ie/roses/international-roses-2013/image?view=image&format=raw&type=img&id=252)

Thats the one! Thanks, Tony.

Now, where did I put that laminator?...
Post by: 5 Sams on August 22, 2013, 12:17:19 AM
Lovely hurlin lads ;)
Post by: johnneycool on August 22, 2013, 08:49:48 AM
Rule 1

That picture doesn't do her justice, but she looked better on the show the other night.
Here's another picture of her allegedly;

(http://www.gadgetguy.com.au/cms/wp-content/uploads/optus-4g1.jpg)
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 22, 2013, 09:05:15 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 21, 2013, 10:22:36 PM
Rule 1

Jeez youse have high standards. She's a cracker.
Post by: orangeman on August 22, 2013, 09:37:18 AM
Result fixed.

What a shocker.
Post by: sheamy on August 22, 2013, 09:38:44 AM
Love this thread. Never disappoints.

Who do you reckon would be the provincial winners?

(We'll allow London and NY into Connacht.)
Post by: J70 on August 22, 2013, 02:41:57 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 22, 2013, 09:05:15 AM
Rule 1

Some lads here are either full of it or delusional!
Post by: laoislad on August 22, 2013, 02:48:01 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 21, 2013, 10:37:06 PM

Meh....6/10.
Post by: Nally Stand on August 22, 2013, 02:50:23 PM
(http://image1.frequency.com/uri/w234_h132_ctrim_ll/_/item/6/5/9/4/Father_Ted_Sheep_Competition_Scene_65949602_thumbnail.jpg)
STOP!! This contest is a sham, and a fraud, and a... sham!

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/family-crest-causes-rose-of-tralee-conspiracy-furore-240646.html (http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/family-crest-causes-rose-of-tralee-conspiracy-furore-240646.html)
Post by: sheamy on August 22, 2013, 02:59:34 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on August 22, 2012, 11:54:32 AM
Quote from: deiseach on August 22, 2012, 10:22:04 AM

Wher did the looks go.. She is a bad looking brute!

This is still my favourite post of all time  ;D
Post by: Aristo 60 on August 22, 2013, 04:25:22 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 22, 2013, 02:41:57 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 22, 2013, 09:05:15 AM
Rule 1

Some lads here are either full of it or delusional!

Did anyone see this one's auld doll?? An ex Killarney Rose I think.. She'd still got it in buckets!  ;D
Post by: armaghniac on August 22, 2013, 05:20:23 PM
Do Australians prefer to be upside down?
Post by: BennyCake on August 22, 2013, 05:52:42 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on August 22, 2013, 02:50:23 PM
(http://image1.frequency.com/uri/w234_h132_ctrim_ll/_/item/6/5/9/4/Father_Ted_Sheep_Competition_Scene_65949602_thumbnail.jpg)

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/family-crest-causes-rose-of-tralee-conspiracy-furore-240646.html (http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/family-crest-causes-rose-of-tralee-conspiracy-furore-240646.html)

Fuckin' hell.
Post by: johnneycool on August 23, 2013, 09:19:18 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 22, 2013, 05:52:42 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on August 22, 2013, 02:50:23 PM

Fuckin' hell.

Look lads it was just a coincidence that her family crest was on the cutlery already, nothing to see here, move along...

;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Syferus on August 18, 2014, 08:57:00 PM
C'mon lads. Yer slackin'.
Post by: Sidney on August 18, 2014, 11:31:31 PM
"My Lovely Little Ireland"

by the Darwin Rose (accompanied by a twee piano backing track)

I'm from Cork
I eat too much pork
Didn't like where I was
So I went to Oz
I was sick of the rain
so I got on a plane
now I'm here in the sun
having lots of fun
I'm living the dream
But I need lots of suncream
But I'm bored on my own
and now I miss home
but I'll never say that
cos I'll look like a twat
but I guess its too late
after all my Facebook status updates
saying its 33 degrees in the shade
Oh God I wish I had stayed

Oh My Lovely Little Ireland
You're no longer part of me
As I stand here on this stage
Reciting this poem so twee
Though I'm gone away from home now
ne'er to return no more
I'll always hold you in my heart
Oh Christ I'm such a bore
Post by: muppet on August 19, 2014, 12:08:15 AM
Quote from: Sidney on August 18, 2014, 11:31:31 PM
"My Lovely Little Ireland"

by the Darwin Rose (accompanied by a twee piano backing track)

I'm from Cork
I eat too much pork
Didn't like where I was
So I went to Oz
I was sick of the rain
so I got on a plane
now I'm here in the sun
having lots of fun
I'm living the dream
But I need lots of suncream
But I'm bored on my own
and now I miss home
but I'll never say that
cos I'll look like a t**t
but I guess its too late
after all my Facebook status updates
saying its 33 degrees in the shade
Oh God I wish I had stayed

Oh My Lovely Little Ireland
You're no longer part of me
As I stand here on this stage
Reciting this poem so twee
Though I'm gone away from home now
ne'er to return no more
I'll always hold you in my heart
Oh Christ I'm such a bore

Aren't you the Sidney Rose?
Post by: Sidney on August 19, 2014, 09:04:05 AM
Quote from: muppet on August 19, 2014, 12:08:15 AM

Aren't you the Sidney Rose?
I wouldn't mind entering the Sydney Rose.

Not the Darwin one though. Too much of a Jungle Judy for my liking.
Post by: johnneycool on August 19, 2014, 09:40:55 AM
There was a 'rose' from California or somewhere with grey hair and forearms a prop forward would be proud off, she must have had a great personality!!
Post by: Kidder81 on August 19, 2014, 09:57:17 AM
Savage Eye - Rose of Tralee

http://youtu.be/J4o99f2ErLo
Post by: seafoid on August 19, 2014, 10:14:45 AM
It would be gas if one of the foreign Roses brought up the topic of abortion in Ireland. All that syrupy mush about lovely women but basic rights are missing
Post by: Sidney on August 19, 2014, 10:55:02 AM
Quote from: seafoid on August 19, 2014, 10:14:45 AM
It would be gas if one of the foreign Roses brought up the topic of abortion in Ireland. All that syrupy mush about lovely women but basic rights are missing
That would be a right thorn in the Rose bush alright.
Post by: Syferus on August 19, 2014, 11:22:51 AM

It wouldn't be right if one of them doesn't storm the stage waving a Palestinian flag. Total insensitive bollixs.
Post by: Sidney on August 19, 2014, 11:25:04 AM
I was hoping the Abu Dhabi Rose would walk on wearing a burqa.
Post by: seafoid on August 19, 2014, 11:29:28 AM
Quote from: Syferus on August 19, 2014, 11:22:51 AM

It wouldn't be right if one of them doesn't storm the stage waving a Palestinian flag. Total insensitive bollixs.
I thought the Roscommon Rose would talk about the time the crossbar broke and Ros had their greatest ever victory over Galway . When was that again ?
Post by: muppet on August 19, 2014, 11:34:30 AM
Quote from: seafoid on August 19, 2014, 11:29:28 AM

I thought the Roscommon Rose would talk about the time the crossbar broke and Ros had their greatest ever victory over Galway . When was that again ?

I am checking the Annals of the 4 Masters as I type.
Post by: Syferus on August 19, 2014, 11:41:54 AM
Quote from: seafoid on August 19, 2014, 11:29:28 AM

Same year as ye last were relevant in the All-Ireland race. First county to beat that year's All-Ireland champions in the championship :-*

The Rose of Tralee is a bit of harmless fluff. No one wants (apart from Armagh lads..) to mix politics with fun.
Post by: ONeill on August 19, 2014, 11:49:09 AM
Lovely bunch of women:

http://www.roseoftralee.ie/roses/regional-roses/irish-roses
http://www.roseoftralee.ie/roses/international-roses-2014

Down memory lane:

http://www.roseoftralee.ie/roses/roses-of-tralee
Post by: balladmaker on August 19, 2014, 12:09:51 PM
I'd the pleasure of meeting the Boston & New England Rose, Michelle Prior, on Sunday evening, a very pleasant lady and well up for a bit of craic, she could be in with a shout tonight:

http://www.roseoftralee.ie/roses/international-roses-2014/international-roses-2014/boston-int
Post by: Sidney on August 19, 2014, 12:12:11 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on August 19, 2014, 12:09:51 PM
I'd the pleasure of meeting the Boston & New England Rose, Michelle Prior, on Sunday evening, a very pleasant lady and well up for a bit of craic, she could be in with a shout tonight:

http://www.roseoftralee.ie/roses/international-roses-2014/international-roses-2014/boston-int
Did she put out?
Post by: ONeill on August 19, 2014, 12:14:02 PM
http://www.roseoftralee.ie/roses/international-roses-2014/international-roses-2014/cork

Corker.
Post by: Sidney on August 19, 2014, 12:18:35 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 19, 2014, 12:14:02 PM
http://www.roseoftralee.ie/roses/international-roses-2014/international-roses-2014/cork

Corker.
Any time I've seen pictures of her up to now she's been carrying a bit of timber.
Post by: J OGorman on August 19, 2014, 12:21:04 PM
Carlow's Miriam Smyth is my favourite
Post by: muppet on August 19, 2014, 12:33:50 PM

Corker.

The real star of the show, just for Shane:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2XqYM6Blrfs (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2XqYM6Blrfs)
Post by: ONeill on August 19, 2014, 12:40:18 PM
Quote from: Sidney on August 19, 2014, 12:18:35 PM

Corker.
Any time I've seen pictures of her up to now she's been carrying a bit of timber.

Ah come on now.

https://twitter.com/AnnaGCork
Post by: Sidney on August 19, 2014, 12:47:39 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 19, 2014, 12:40:18 PM
Quote from: Sidney on August 19, 2014, 12:18:35 PM

Corker.

Ah come on now.

https://twitter.com/AnnaGCork
Definitely carrying timber.

(http://cdn3.independent.ie/incoming/article30000578.ece/76d57/ALTERNATES/h342/AnnaGeary-cover+(Read-Only).jpg)
Post by: ONeill on August 19, 2014, 12:55:32 PM
Nice one.

Post by: BennyCake on August 19, 2014, 11:20:58 PM
Sure they all have lovely bottoms...
Post by: From the Bunker on August 19, 2014, 11:27:13 PM
Mayo for Sam!
Post by: Syferus on August 19, 2014, 11:30:50 PM
At least ye'll win something this year.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 19, 2014, 11:39:52 PM
According to The Mort on twitter she's from the Galway side of Shrule. I didn't even know Shrule had a Galway side. ;D
Post by: From the Bunker on August 19, 2014, 11:41:58 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 19, 2014, 11:39:52 PM
According to The Mort on twitter she's from the Galway side of Shrule. I didn't even know Shrule had a Galway side. ;D

She said on ROT that her bedroom was on the Mayo side! Bet she says that to all the boys! :P
Post by: Syferus on August 20, 2014, 12:09:42 AM
The Thriller sounds like someone who got turned down. First the Rose of Tralee, then Fr. Horan.
Post by: Sidney on August 20, 2014, 12:35:36 AM
Quote from: Syferus on August 20, 2014, 12:09:42 AM
The Thriller sounds like someone who got turned down. First the Rose of Tralee, then Fr. Horan.
Mortimer is special in that he's one of the few people who can make Rose of Tralee escorts not look like complete and utter simpletons.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 20, 2014, 09:55:00 AM
Harsh. I don't see the escorts as simpletons. Young lads trying to get a job that will give them serious scoring potential seems fairly smart to me :)
Post by: mouview on August 20, 2014, 10:28:37 AM
That a tat on the inside of her right arm?
Post by: Sidney on August 20, 2014, 12:01:52 PM
Simpletons all over Ireland still are smiling this morning after posting "but they ALL have lovely bottoms" on their Facebook and Twitter pages during the Rose of Tralee.

In a display of Irish comedy prowess not seen since "Upwardly Mobile", users of the social media networks made the comments in their hundreds, in many cases in combination with smiley face emoticons to emphasise the devastating and original humour of what they'd written.

Bernard Og O'Shaughnessy, of Gort, said "I remember that Father Ted episode where they were walking around the traffic cones, and then Father Ted said "but they ALL have lovely bottoms", so I thought it would be class to write that on my page and make everyone laugh. All my friends thought it was hilarious when I posted it."

Bazza "the Indestructible" Reynolds, of Longford, said "Ha ha, deadly. It's funny 'cos it's true. They DO all have lovely bottoms. Deadly. I still can't believe I made such a funny comment."

Derek "i'm a fuckin ledge" Doyle (@delboyunoitmakessense87) of Athy took to Twitter to write "But dey all hav luvly bottoms #hilarious #lolzers #haaaahaaa". After picking up four new Twitter followers, two retweets and three "favourites" in the wake of his comment, Doyle has vowed to finally fulfil his dream of becoming a Rose of Tralee escort next year, after twice being rejected in the past for being "not stupid enough".
Post by: AZOffaly on August 20, 2014, 12:04:46 PM
Is 'simpleton' your word of the day today? :)
Post by: Sidney on August 20, 2014, 12:09:56 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 20, 2014, 12:04:46 PM
Word of today, yesterday, and the day before that. But not tomorrow.
Post by: muppet on August 22, 2014, 05:38:54 PM
Quote from: Sidney on August 20, 2014, 12:09:56 PM

CAO 2nd round?  ;)
Post by: Sidney on August 22, 2014, 05:42:23 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 22, 2014, 05:38:54 PM
Quote from: Sidney on August 20, 2014, 12:09:56 PM

CAO 2nd round?  ;)
Yeah, as if I ever had to wait for the CAO second round before knowing what course I'd got.  ;D
Post by: ONeill on August 24, 2014, 01:15:12 PM
Holy smokes. Turns out she's one of those gays. The Church'll go mad. Rosaries for a month.
Post by: Syferus on August 24, 2014, 01:29:50 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 24, 2014, 01:15:12 PM
Holy smokes. Turns out she's one of those gays. The Church'll go mad. Rosaries for a month.

Explains why even the Thriller failed in his attempt to woo her.
Post by: beer baron on August 24, 2014, 01:31:55 PM
There'll be a recount of the votes yet  :P
Post by: Nigel White on August 24, 2014, 05:28:22 PM
This is the worst thing to affect the Irish Beauty Pageant scene since the previous winner of the Craggy Island Lovely Girls Competition had the get stripped of her title for appearing in a film Stallion Farm
Post by: orangeman on August 24, 2014, 11:32:44 PM

TV ratings were in decline. This will give it a much needed boost.
Post by: Sidney on August 24, 2014, 11:37:17 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 24, 2014, 11:32:44 PM

1.7m? I don't think so.
Post by: Syferus on August 25, 2014, 12:08:46 AM
Quote from: orangeman on August 24, 2014, 11:32:44 PM

A show that's on once a year? Wtf?

It's an absolutely mammoth draw on TV.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on August 25, 2014, 08:20:33 AM

f*ckin hell
Post by: Hardy on August 25, 2014, 09:39:53 AM
Rose of Tralee committee have clarified - she's Lebanese, OK? Lebanese. Haha. Silly us.
Post by: Rois on August 17, 2015, 08:12:52 PM
It's back, woohoo!
Post by: Gaffer on August 17, 2015, 10:08:40 PM
Rose of Tralee on TV = Teachers' holidays will soon be over!!!!
Post by: Aristo 60 on August 17, 2015, 10:09:29 PM
Quote from: Rois on August 17, 2015, 08:12:52 PM
It's back, woohoo!

Did you ever consider it Rois?
Post by: Rois on August 17, 2015, 10:31:45 PM
Wasn't pretty enough - though my extra curricular activity list read like a Rose of Tralee application form.
Post by: Aristo 60 on August 17, 2015, 10:36:13 PM
I couldn't have been an escort. Couldn't cope with a non down woman      ;D
Post by: Syferus on August 17, 2015, 10:44:19 PM
Great to see Dathi getting a dig at Tyrone. Or Tipp as he called them first time round.

Tyrone have a well-known sense of humour anyways.
Post by: The Iceman on August 17, 2015, 10:58:02 PM
Quote from: Rois on August 17, 2015, 10:31:45 PM
Wasn't pretty enough - though my extra curricular activity list read like a Rose of Tralee application form.
Did you see the Ulster rose about 10 years ago - think she may have been Cavan? I'd vote for you Rois ;)
Post by: Hereiam on August 17, 2015, 11:19:52 PM
Jesus that Perth rose would do ur head in.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 17, 2015, 11:29:33 PM
I nominate leenie for the gaaboard Rose. :P
Post by: 5 Sams on August 17, 2015, 11:47:25 PM
Waterford Whispers..
Class..http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2015/08/17/the-10-most-controversial-rose-of-tralee-moments/
Post by: sid waddell on August 18, 2015, 12:07:55 AM
I hear the Tyrone Rose goes down easy.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 18, 2015, 01:26:46 AM
(https://fbcdn-photos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xpt1/v/t1.0-0/11891099_10155896421285246_5565316537779761983_n.jpg?efg=eyJpIjoidCJ9&oh=1e5b0d463ec8482667aacd04a02299ad&oe=5675F57C&__gda__=1447615861_15f22112959daa6d2a3fd38030795312)

Post by: MoChara on August 18, 2015, 12:11:33 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 17, 2015, 11:47:25 PM
Waterford Whispers..
Class..http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2015/08/17/the-10-most-controversial-rose-of-tralee-moments/

Waterford whispers are some craic.
Post by: timmyot501 on August 18, 2015, 11:29:33 PM
So who was the villa player. Yer one hadn't a clue anyway
Post by: Billys Boots on August 19, 2015, 01:47:49 PM
http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2015/08/19/poems-punches-not-so-lovely-girls-wwns-rose-of-tralee-expose/ (http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2015/08/19/poems-punches-not-so-lovely-girls-wwns-rose-of-tralee-expose/)

I don't know what to say.  Genuinely.
Post by: muppet on August 19, 2015, 01:59:05 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on August 19, 2015, 01:47:49 PM
http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2015/08/19/poems-punches-not-so-lovely-girls-wwns-rose-of-tralee-expose/ (http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2015/08/19/poems-punches-not-so-lovely-girls-wwns-rose-of-tralee-expose/)

I don't know what to say.  Genuinely.

The Savage Eye take on it: http://youtu.be/cE0vR1_rnHg (http://youtu.be/cE0vR1_rnHg)
Post by: AZOffaly on August 22, 2016, 10:27:06 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 22, 2016, 10:23:50 PM
Some header priest just took to the stage campaigning for fathers 4 justice.

I doubt he was a real priest 😌 I saw lads on Twitter asking about Farmers for Justice 😌
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 22, 2016, 10:33:19 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cqff5y-WgAEoixE.jpg:small)
Fr Ted lovely Girls competition.
Post by: ONeill on August 22, 2016, 10:35:35 PM
Some lovely girls

http://www.roseoftralee.ie/roses

No Antrim Rose....
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 23, 2016, 12:38:48 AM
Florida.
Post by: laoislad on August 23, 2016, 07:59:42 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 23, 2016, 12:38:48 AM
Florida.
Top 5 in no particular order.
Abu Dhabi
Carlow
Kilkenny
Longford
North Carolina.

Florida,Kerry and Leitrim not bad also.

The Toronto Rose Petra might have been called Peter a few years ago.....
Post by: Ash Smoker on August 23, 2016, 09:53:44 AM
Quote from: AQMP on August 23, 2016, 09:36:30 AM
The Sydney Rose was a bit of a header!
She was really frosty from what I saw. The kind of girl you go over to chat up and 10 seconds later you regret ever bothering.
What did she say about repealing the 8th amendment? I missed that bit.
Post by: seafoid on August 23, 2016, 11:19:01 AM
Quote from: Ash Smoker on August 23, 2016, 09:53:44 AM
Quote from: AQMP on August 23, 2016, 09:36:30 AM
The Sydney Rose was a bit of a header!
She was really frosty from what I saw. The kind of girl you go over to chat up and 10 seconds later you regret ever bothering.
What did she say about repealing the 8th amendment? I missed that bit.

Sydney Rose Brianna Parkins has called for the eighth amendment of the Constitution on abortion to be repealed.
Ms Parkins (25) made the call on stage during the live final of the Rose of Tralee festival on Monday night.
She told presenter Dáithí Ó Sé: "I think we can do better here in Ireland. I think it is time to give women a say on their own reproductive rights. I would love to see a referendum on the eighth coming up soon. That would be my dream."

Ms Parkins, whose mother comes from the Liberties in Dublin, was nominated for a journalism award for her work in exposing conditions in brothels in her native Sydney. She now works for the Australian state broadcaster ABC.
She described herself as a "professional BS detector", exposing untruths told by other journalists, and somebody who also campaigns for women's rights focusing particularly on domestic violence.
Post by: Syferus on August 23, 2016, 12:20:20 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 23, 2016, 07:59:42 AM
Florida.
Abu Dhabi
Carlow
Kilkenny
Longford
North Carolina.

What a tool.
Post by: Orior on August 23, 2016, 12:36:34 PM
Florida.
Abu Dhabi
Carlow
Kilkenny
Longford
North Carolina.

Clearly, you've gone alphabetical. Is your missus called Zoe?
Post by: saffronandblue on August 23, 2016, 10:02:54 PM
Chicago Rose has it won.....bookies don't lie. For the past few years the winner is leaked it seems....someone doing well out of it.  Could be wrong but I doubt it
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on August 23, 2016, 10:36:40 PM

I'll be sure to pass on your observations to her friend who works in the office with me   ;)

She'll be devastated I'm sure
Post by: Samforever on August 23, 2016, 10:44:42 PM

Yeah the words pig and grunt comes to mind when you see someone post a comment like that
Post by: SHEEDY on August 23, 2016, 11:10:00 PM
Can't watch this without thinking of the 'lovely girls' on father Ted. One of my favourite episodes. ;D
Post by: laoislad on August 23, 2016, 11:13:27 PM
Quote from: saffronandblue on August 23, 2016, 10:02:54 PM
Chicago Rose has it won.....bookies don't lie. For the past few years the winner is leaked it seems....someone doing well out of it.  Could be wrong but I doubt it
Chicago it is.
Post by: saffronandblue on August 23, 2016, 11:30:34 PM
Someone on the inside is making a killing every year.  The bookies have to be aware of it at this stage. Not sure how it has never has got media attention...
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 24, 2016, 12:13:50 AM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on August 23, 2016, 10:36:40 PM

I'll be sure to pass on your observations to her friend who works in the office with me   ;)

Laoislad is a sexist pig? Who knew?!
Post by: orangeman on August 24, 2016, 12:32:26 AM
Kilkenny rose ticked all the boxes - I thought she would have won it. And Nathan Carter isn't a bad singer.
Post by: laoislad on August 24, 2016, 07:24:06 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 24, 2016, 12:13:50 AM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on August 23, 2016, 10:36:40 PM

Laoislad is a sexist pig? Who knew?!
Shut up you stirring shit! ;D
Post by: AZOffaly on August 24, 2016, 11:59:08 AM
The Offaly Rose had lovely technique in pucking the balls into the crowd. A lovely swing!
Post by: screenexile on August 24, 2016, 12:13:08 PM
Jesus... is there any danger of this muck ending?

The Irish have done well to shun the bejaysus, begorrah top o the morning nonsense that the World views us by the last twenty or so years and then we have the f**king Rose of Tralee to ruin it all!!

It's an abomination and surely after Father Ted they should have binned it!!
Post by: seafoid on August 24, 2016, 12:22:34 PM
Quote from: screenexile on August 24, 2016, 12:13:08 PM

The Irish have done well to shun the bejaysus, begorrah top o the morning nonsense that the World views us by the last twenty or so years and then we have the f**king Rose of Tralee to ruin it all!!

I was thinking the same thing. Doesn't belong on telly.
Post by: johnneycool on August 24, 2016, 12:25:11 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on August 23, 2016, 11:10:00 PM
Can't watch this without thinking of the 'lovely girls' on father Ted. One of my favourite episodes. ;D

Quote from: screenexile on August 24, 2016, 12:13:08 PM

That Fr Ted episode has really put the tin hat on this for me as well, just can't take it serious any more, but those cute Kerry hoors keep fleecing the tourists each year with it and they'll continue to do so until the €uro's from it dry up.

Post by: Boycey on August 24, 2016, 12:34:34 PM
It wouldn't be my cup of tea either but there is a very simple solution to it lads, just don't watch it... The fact that it's on live tv and attracts such a worldwide interest suggests there is a market locally and globally for it..
Post by: seafoid on August 26, 2016, 06:38:16 AM
ViewIng figures down by one third over 6 years. Young wans are not interested
In terms of the overall situation  RTE has a huge challenge with people under 20 who don't and won't watch telly. The licence fee discussion will get interesting.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 26, 2016, 09:16:23 AM
Broadcast tv is dying on it's feet sf. It's not specific to rose of tralee. Viewing figures can't be trusted any more. People will either watch it back or stream it later if they're going to watch it.

Industry wide problem.
Post by: seafoid on August 26, 2016, 09:24:59 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 26, 2016, 09:16:23 AM
Broadcast tv is dying on it's feet sf. It's not specific to rose of tralee. Viewing figures can't be trusted any more. People will either watch it back or stream it later if they're going to watch it.

Industry wide problem.
yeah. But the RoT has its own specific problems.
Internet has destroyed the telly business model. People can watch what they want when they want. Telly advertising is down as well. The vast majority of ad money now goes through Google and FB.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 26, 2016, 09:29:55 AM
Yeah but how do you know the rot "problems" you talk about are not the tv broadcasting problems? Do the numbers constitute recordings and streamings of it?
Post by: seafoid on August 26, 2016, 09:35:09 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 26, 2016, 09:29:55 AM
Yeah but how do you know the rot "problems" you talk about are not the tv broadcasting problems? Do the numbers constitute recordings and streamings of it?
Do you know about views on the RTE player Vs views live? I imagine people wouldn't watch as much online
I would like to see viewing stats by age for the RoT. I bet they are focused on 40+
Post by: Rois on August 21, 2017, 08:21:20 PM
It's back!!
Post by: Aristo 60 on August 21, 2017, 11:00:32 PM
This is just a sympathy post Rois!

Come on the Down Rose!
Post by: BennyCake on August 21, 2017, 11:16:02 PM
Do they all have lovely bottoms this year?
Post by: Cunny Funt on August 21, 2017, 11:22:25 PM
(http://img2.thejournal.ie/inline/2565741/original?width=500&version=2565741)
Post by: BennyCake on August 21, 2017, 11:36:30 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on August 21, 2017, 11:22:25 PM
(http://img2.thejournal.ie/inline/2565741/original?width=500&version=2565741)

Is that thon Geldof gobshite I see in the crowd?
Post by: Don Johnson on August 22, 2017, 09:13:31 AM
Quote from: saffronandblue on August 23, 2016, 11:30:34 PM
Someone on the inside is making a killing every year.  The bookies have to be aware of it at this stage. Not sure how it has never has got media attention...

You do realise that the bookies would only take maybe a £10 or £20 bet tops on this shite?
Post by: 02 on August 22, 2017, 10:40:10 AM
Ireland's greatest export :\
Post by: MoChara on August 22, 2017, 10:50:22 AM
Quote from: 02 on August 22, 2017, 10:40:10 AM

Except for Bono, I think we're all glad he got exported out of the country away to f**k from the rest of us.
Post by: BennyCake on August 22, 2017, 12:10:27 PM
Quote from: MoChara on August 22, 2017, 10:50:22 AM
Quote from: 02 on August 22, 2017, 10:40:10 AM

Except for Bono, I think we're all glad he got exported out of the country away to f**k from the rest of us.

Amen to that.
Post by: Gaffer on August 22, 2017, 09:56:54 PM
C'mon Tyrone ....Rose!!!! Where are ye?
Post by: saffronandblue on August 22, 2017, 10:14:49 PM
Down Rose has won......same every year......by 9pm the money starts flooding in on the winner.....someone makes a killing.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on August 22, 2017, 11:04:49 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on August 21, 2017, 11:00:32 PM
Come on the Down Rose!

Same here, given her Derry family links.
Post by: Cunny Funt on August 22, 2017, 11:26:44 PM
Offaly winner. She was 20/1 a big outsider.
Post by: StGallsGAA on August 22, 2017, 11:26:59 PM
Fcuk me thon NZ one wud be hard to put up with!  ::) :-X
Post by: BennyCake on August 22, 2017, 11:31:01 PM
Daithi will get a free feed in the Thai Cottage tomorrow night with herself. And she's paying. No wonder he's smiling.
Post by: saffronandblue on August 22, 2017, 11:31:47 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on August 22, 2017, 11:26:59 PM
Fcuk me thon NZ one wud be hard to put up with!  ::) :-X
Great comment, I'm still laughing.....
Post by: Helix on August 22, 2017, 11:53:20 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on August 22, 2017, 11:26:44 PM
Offaly winner. She was 20/1 a big outsider.

She was even money on Paddy Power 5 mins before winner announced.  8)
Post by: StGallsGAA on August 22, 2017, 11:57:32 PM
The last time an Offaly woman won anything it probably involved farm machinery.
Post by: joemamas on August 23, 2017, 01:39:30 AM
Quote from: Gaffer on August 22, 2017, 09:56:54 PM

She got a red card, not shocked given where event took place
Post by: Gaffer on August 23, 2017, 10:03:23 AM
Quote from: joemamas on August 23, 2017, 01:39:30 AM
Quote from: Gaffer on August 22, 2017, 09:56:54 PM

She got a red card, not shocked given where event took place

Wee Barry wont be happy. Expect a Sinn Fein statement condeming the exclusion!!!
Post by: Orior on August 25, 2017, 09:05:08 AM
Commiserations to the Down Rose - a second cousin of mine
Post by: Cunny Funt on August 20, 2018, 10:35:16 PM
Anyone watching the lovely girls competition? they all have lovely bottoms apparently.
Post by: Rois on August 21, 2018, 12:16:38 AM
Yep, saw most of it. The Carlow Rose has gone down a storm. joe.ie was live tweeting during it, very funny.
Post by: tyrone girl on August 21, 2018, 09:55:56 AM
Recorded it last night as wasnt sure when the Tyrone Rose was on. Will skip through last nights and watch tonights. Have heard great reviews about the Carlow Rose this morning from what i have been reading online.
Post by: tyrone girl on August 21, 2018, 03:25:27 PM
Just realising Tyrone Rose isnt in the top 32  :-\
Post by: AQMP on August 21, 2018, 04:24:08 PM
Quote from: Rois on August 21, 2018, 12:16:38 AM
Yep, saw most of it. The Carlow Rose has gone down a storm. joe.ie was live tweeting during it, very funny.

The Newfoundland Rose has to win!
Post by: Cunny Funt on August 21, 2018, 11:39:07 PM
Waterford winner.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DlKEo5qXgAIoB8Y.jpg)

For some reason the London rose was 1/5 on before betting was suspended

Post by: Gold on August 21, 2018, 11:42:33 PM
London was too sickly sweet

Shocked at winner though tbf.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 22, 2018, 12:19:28 AM
She called out Rascism in Ireland! An awkward moment at the Lovely Girls Competition and it probably swung the decision. Well done her!
Post by: BennyCake on August 22, 2018, 09:41:47 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 22, 2018, 12:19:28 AM
She called out Rascism in Ireland! An awkward moment at the Lovely Girls Competition and it probably swung the decision. Well done her!

It's turning into Eurovision!
Post by: seafoid on August 22, 2018, 10:08:31 AM
The Rose of Tralee is a throwback to at least the 1980s.
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on August 22, 2018, 04:01:53 PM
Poster is now banned for 10 days. No point responding to him here for a while.
Post by: Hardy on August 22, 2018, 04:36:55 PM
Can't even remember his name - what was it again?
Post by: AZOffaly on August 22, 2018, 04:39:40 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 22, 2018, 04:36:55 PM
Can't even remember his name - what was it again?

Al Jolson
Post by: Hardy on August 22, 2018, 04:41:44 PM
 :)
Post by: omaghjoe on August 22, 2018, 05:50:20 PM
Who got banned?
Post by: Syferus on August 22, 2018, 06:27:22 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on August 22, 2018, 05:50:20 PM
Who got banned?

Not me :-*
Post by: Mickey Linden on August 22, 2018, 09:14:29 PM
Quote from: Gaaboardmod3 on August 22, 2018, 04:01:53 PM

Anyone know why anyone got banned? Not looking for specifics but wondering am i missing something ovbvious?
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on August 22, 2018, 09:41:36 PM
Some boy said The bl*cks instead of bl*cks. Cue outrage.

Dont ban me...
Post by: The Iceman on August 22, 2018, 10:16:54 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on August 22, 2018, 09:41:36 PM

Dont ban me...
used the word blacks?
or the N word?
Post by: Syferus on August 22, 2018, 10:21:36 PM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on August 22, 2018, 09:14:29 PM
Quote from: Gaaboardmod3 on August 22, 2018, 04:01:53 PM

Anyone know why anyone got banned? Not looking for specifics but wondering am i missing something ovbvious?

Racism. Posts were deleted.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on August 23, 2018, 12:29:48 AM
Quote from: The Iceman on August 22, 2018, 10:16:54 PM

Dont ban me...
used the word blacks?
or the N word?

Blacks. From my standing it was the The in front of it which caused the outrage...
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on August 23, 2018, 12:34:18 AM
There was a y after the k and before the s - and he grouped them together disparagingly.
Post by: armaghniac on August 23, 2018, 11:27:44 AM
Quote from: Syferus on August 22, 2018, 06:27:22 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on August 22, 2018, 05:50:20 PM
Who got banned?

Not me :-*

Drat!
Post by: Aristo 60 on August 23, 2018, 11:35:16 AM
Do the mods have data on all the bans handed out over the years?

It might make an interesting pie chart and social commentary piece.

Post by: Dinny Breen on August 23, 2018, 01:57:57 PM
One of the Dubs reported me for racism...all I said was we would have no cleaners or anyone to work in the local fast food joints in Kildare only for the Dubs...
Post by: Itchy on August 23, 2018, 02:03:10 PM
Always reminds me of this classic...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4o99f2ErLo
Post by: Syferus on August 23, 2018, 03:12:04 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on August 23, 2018, 12:29:48 AM
Quote from: The Iceman on August 22, 2018, 10:16:54 PM

Dont ban me...
used the word blacks?
or the N word?

Blacks. From my standing it was the The in front of it which caused the outrage...

A man skating on the thin ice of trying to pretend 'the racism wasn't so bad' when someone is already banned takes a special level of genius.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on August 23, 2018, 03:36:34 PM
Thanks syphilis. From you ill take that as a compliment;

If i was banned i think id be ok
Post by: seafoid on August 21, 2019, 09:13:01 AM
https://www.independent.ie/entertainment/festivals/people-find-it-very-hard-to-get-their-heads-around-a-positive-thing-dith-s-launches-rose-of-tralee-2019-38419830.html

"Last month the Irish Greyhound Board (IGB) ended its long-term sponsorship of the Rose of Tralee after organisers and participants of the festival received online threats."
Post by: Capt Pat on August 21, 2019, 10:32:29 PM
I see Gabby Logan(nee yorath) was on the rose of tralee when she was 18. It was up on the rte website earlier today. She doesn't say what her Irish connection is.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 21, 2019, 10:52:26 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on August 21, 2019, 10:32:29 PM
I see Gabby Logan(nee yorath) was on the rose of tralee when she was 18. It was up on the rte website earlier today. She doesn't say what her Irish connection is.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EXyeycVt9Nw (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EXyeycVt9Nw)
Post by: seafoid on April 27, 2020, 10:37:50 AM
Stop the RoT

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/coronavirus-rose-of-tralee-postponed-for-first-time-in-61-years-1.4238833
Post by: Cunny Funt on August 23, 2022, 11:34:22 PM
Westmeath can't stop winning, first the Tailteann cup and tonight the Rose of Tralee.
Post by: armaghniac on August 24, 2022, 01:19:54 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on August 23, 2022, 11:34:22 PM
Westmeath can't stop winning, first the Tailteann cup and tonight the Rose of Tralee.

They certainly are at the centre of things.
Post by: Cunny Funt on August 22, 2023, 11:22:08 PM
New York the winner this year.

https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2023-roses/2023/0811/1399325-new-york-rose/
Post by: AustinPowers on August 22, 2023, 11:27:00 PM
Sure they all  had lovely bottoms
Post by: Gold on August 22, 2023, 11:52:37 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on August 22, 2023, 11:22:08 PM
New York the winner this year.

https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2023-roses/2023/0811/1399325-new-york-rose/

Some year they're having
Post by: seafoid on August 23, 2023, 07:19:10 AM
Great breeding. Parents are hurling fans.