Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Master Yoda on December 11, 2009, 09:31:00 AM

Title: Weddings
Post by: Master Yoda on December 11, 2009, 09:31:00 AM
Anybody else sick of weddings? I have been at at least 8 weddings a year for the past 5 years. Sick to the f**king teeth of them. >:(
Title: Re: Weddings
Post by: thebandit on December 11, 2009, 09:33:34 AM
I had 5 in a month last year....
Post by: Rois on December 11, 2009, 09:55:56 AM
How much should you spend on a present  :P
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 11, 2009, 10:02:00 AM
and should you take a half bottle to it?

such a mingling of threads,lol

Post by: Master Yoda on December 11, 2009, 10:06:56 AM
Quote from: thebandit on December 11, 2009, 09:33:34 AM

Thats bad, the worst I've ever had was 3 in 7 days and one was my sister, one the wifes sister and the other one my best mate who I was groomsman for.

Quote from: Rois on December 11, 2009, 09:55:56 AM

At least £100.
Post by: thebigfella on December 11, 2009, 10:09:19 AM
Quote from: Master Yoda on December 11, 2009, 10:06:56 AM

Thats bad, the worst I've ever had was 3 in 7 days and one was my sister, one the wifes sister and the other one my best mate who I was groomsman for.

At least £100.

Miserable cnut, that will not cover the cost of the meal, wine, cars, brides dress etc  :D
Post by: Master Yoda on December 11, 2009, 10:13:57 AM
Quote from: Master Yoda on December 11, 2009, 09:31:00 AM
Anybody else sick of weddings? I have been at at least 8 weddings a year for the past 5 years. Sick to the f**king teeth of them. >:(

I know it's gettin to the stage £100 not enough.
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 11, 2009, 10:02:00 AM
and should you take a half bottle to it?

such a mingling of threads,lol

taking a half bottle dosen't save you any money you just drink more and get totally air-locked because you f**k it into you as fast as you can.
Post by: sammymaguire on December 11, 2009, 10:19:15 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on December 11, 2009, 10:09:19 AM

At least £100.

Miserable cnut, that will not cover the cost of the meal, wine, cars, brides dress etc  :D

this is an old topic... everyone has their own opinion

(http://cdn.epltalk.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/04/alex-ferguson-yawn.jpg) (http://dsc.discovery.com/news/2008/12/15/gallery/yawn-324x205.jpg)
Post by: Canalman on December 11, 2009, 10:23:12 AM
Personally sick of them. Pricey and vey formulaic but appreciate alot of people love them. Those gimps that organize a "sweep" for guessing the length of the speeches are something else.
Post by: Master Yoda on December 11, 2009, 10:26:16 AM
Quote from: sammymaguire on December 11, 2009, 10:19:15 AM

At least £100.

(http://cdn.epltalk.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/04/alex-ferguson-yawn.jpg) (http://dsc.discovery.com/news/2008/12/15/gallery/yawn-324x205.jpg)

Don't read it then dickhead.
Post by: sammymaguire on December 11, 2009, 10:32:10 AM
a little touchy today MY?  ???  ::)  :-\ the comments on here are all being re-hashed from about 3 months ago thats all
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 11, 2009, 10:35:20 AM
i think; but im only guessing mind, that rois was trying to be clever/funny when she made her little comment.....

whooooooosh
Post by: sammymaguire on December 11, 2009, 10:38:16 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 11, 2009, 10:35:20 AM
i think; but im only guessing mind, that rois was trying to be clever/funny when she made her little comment.....

whooooooosh

you got it in one kid, ask pints!  :-X
Post by: thebigfella on December 11, 2009, 10:40:37 AM

At least £100.

Yep I see the joke was completely lost on you  ::)
Post by: redhugh on December 11, 2009, 10:41:47 AM

I'd say 20 quid should cover you Rois ;D
Post by: Doogie Browser on December 11, 2009, 10:45:48 AM
Quote from: Canalman on December 11, 2009, 10:23:12 AM
Those gimps that organize a "sweep" for guessing the length of the speeches are something else.
I f**king hate those tossers too!
Post by: sammymaguire on December 11, 2009, 10:46:46 AM
no fatfella - I got it. But my reaction remains the same. See Fergie bites his nails something terra
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 11, 2009, 11:05:37 AM
Someone needs to get Fergie nose trimmers for Christmas!
Post by: haranguerer on December 11, 2009, 11:14:31 AM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on December 11, 2009, 10:45:48 AM
Those gimps that organize a "sweep" for guessing the length of the speeches are something else.
I f**king hate those t**sers too!

Its like a lot of things, the first time it was done it was probably funny, the second, not so much, at this point its sad as f**k.
Post by: thebigfella on December 11, 2009, 11:39:26 AM
Quote from: sammymaguire on December 11, 2009, 10:46:46 AM
no fatfella - I got it. But my reaction remains the same. See Fergie bites his nails something terra

Very clever, a play on my name. Now that is funny.
Post by: sammymaguire on December 11, 2009, 11:43:03 AM
just a wee dig, BIG fellas are normally fat - no harm meant if you are just big, in case you might beat me up  :o

I take that back bigfella, those sort of insinuations are like cyber-bullying and since I wrote it I have been feeling bad. I was only joking with you and I hope you did not take my comments to heart.

My apologies.
Post by: thebandit on December 11, 2009, 12:00:29 PM
Seriously though.... how much should you give for an evening invitation?
Post by: redhugh on December 11, 2009, 12:11:20 PM
Quote from: thebandit on December 11, 2009, 12:00:29 PM
Seriously though.... how much should you give for an evening invitation?

£5 and a bottle of Blue Nun should sort it.
Post by: Rois on December 11, 2009, 12:23:00 PM

At least £100.

I remember the last discussion - didn't think anyone would take the bait!
Post by: saffron sam2 on December 11, 2009, 12:26:43 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on December 11, 2009, 11:14:31 AM

Its like a lot of things, the first time it was done it was probably funny, the second, not so much, at this point its sad as f**k.

I won it at my wedding. Had to ad lib a wee bit though.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 11, 2009, 01:16:45 PM
the "sweep" thing......on the other hand you have the "keys" thing........that wan cracks me up every time i swear :D

its like theyre sayin the wife is a ho'bag innit
Post by: thebigfella on December 14, 2009, 12:22:55 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on December 11, 2009, 11:43:03 AM
just a wee dig, BIG fellas are normally fat - no harm meant if you are just big, in case you might beat me up  :o

I take that back bigfella, those sort of insinuations are like cyber-bullying and since I wrote it I have been feeling bad. I was only joking with you and I hope you did not take my comments to heart.

My apologies.

None taken, 6ft and under 10 stone at the moment so i'll not be beating you up  ;) Sure a big gust of wind knocks me off my feet.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 14, 2009, 12:24:38 PM

Post by: Treasurer on December 14, 2009, 06:43:33 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 14, 2009, 12:24:38 PM

You can now even get a "kit" from Paddy Power for this - they were left on the table at a recent wedding I was at.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 14, 2009, 06:50:13 PM
Quote from: Treasurer on December 14, 2009, 06:43:33 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 14, 2009, 12:24:38 PM

You can now even get a "kit" from Paddy Power for this - they were left on the table at a recent wedding I was at.

Oh Jesus what a pair of ****s
I also hate when the bestman/Groom actually makes a comment about it in their speech
One wedding I was at the groom actually had a stopwatch in front of him and started going on about the length of the speeches for those betting on them ::)
I thought it was pretty tacky to be honest
Post by: ONeill on July 15, 2010, 12:15:15 AM
Great feckin wedding - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gZdiL4cIJsA&feature=player_embedded#!
Post by: maggie on September 10, 2010, 07:30:53 PM
Just wanted to wish LL all the best for his big day tomorrow. Hope the weather holds up for youse. Have a great day
Post by: ross4life on September 10, 2010, 07:38:42 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 15, 2010, 12:15:15 AM
Great feckin wedding - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gZdiL4cIJsA&feature=player_embedded#!

Jesus...
Quote from: maggie on September 10, 2010, 07:30:53 PM
Just wanted to wish LL all the best for his big day tomorrow. Hope the weather holds up for youse. Have a great day

Well at least i now know why he's been so ratty the last few days, we may have our differences but all the best for the big day LL plus enjoy New York & Vegas
Post by: leenie on September 10, 2010, 07:48:53 PM
the real laoislad

i hope you have a wonderful day tommorrow and a great marriage.... ;D..

:) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)

good luck dude!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 10, 2010, 11:07:06 PM
Aye Thanks  :)
....Probably should get to bed now
Post by: Niall Quinn on September 10, 2010, 11:14:29 PM
(http://lh4.ggpht.com/_yvW-X6z_0NI/SFAtTLGXCvI/AAAAAAAACc0/Vjk56PHeVH8/s640/Debbie%20Mcgee.jpg)
Could it be magic?
Post by: deiseach on September 10, 2010, 11:20:15 PM
Nothing to it for the man, just hit your mark and say your lines. The only luck you'll need is for Liverpool to win on Sunday
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 10, 2010, 11:25:53 PM
Good luck the morra. If you need any advice for the consummation tomorrow night don't be afraid to log on and we'll talk you through it.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 10, 2010, 11:33:06 PM
Good luck to Laois Lad and Debbie

I've an invite to the afters with anyone here from "the midlands".

He's horrid fussy, our Laoislad. Wants to maintain the standards.

Who could blame him?

Best of luck RLL
Post by: deiseach on September 10, 2010, 11:36:06 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 10, 2010, 11:33:06 PM

Where is this wedding? My sister-in-law has been known to turn up the opening of an envelope
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 10, 2010, 11:58:10 PM
Quote from: deiseach on September 10, 2010, 11:36:06 PM

Where is this wedding? My sister-in-law has been known to turn up the opening of an envelope
He was saying earlier that the reception is upstairs in some pub in Tallaght.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 11, 2010, 12:05:21 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 10, 2010, 11:58:10 PM
Quote from: deiseach on September 10, 2010, 11:36:06 PM

LOL As if  :D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 11, 2010, 12:06:13 AM
Good luck to Laois Lad and Debbie

He's horrid fussy, our Laoislad. Wants to maintain the standards.

Who could blame him?

Best of luck RLL

Thanks SS...Sure I might see ya tomorrow night so!

Right it is bed time for sure.....
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on September 11, 2010, 12:07:10 AM
Hope yourself and the missus have a great day RLL.
Post by: Minder on September 11, 2010, 12:17:12 AM
Good luck LL, remember it's a marathon not a sprint. That especially applies in the honeymoon suite tomorrow night.
Post by: Puckoon on September 11, 2010, 12:53:22 AM
Good luck slim - keep it between the ditches.

Post by: deiseach on September 11, 2010, 09:39:59 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 10, 2010, 11:58:10 PM

Let me guess the names of the groomsmen: Anto, Barney, Rocky and Jem.
Post by: Rouge_Diablo on September 11, 2010, 09:47:52 AM
Is it raining?
Post by: ziggysego on September 11, 2010, 06:18:45 PM
I hope Mr. & Mrs. The Real LaoisLad are having a great day.

(http://rugarvey.files.wordpress.com/2010/07/funny-wedding-photo.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on September 11, 2010, 06:21:44 PM
(http://www.profilebrand.com/funny-pictures/category/people/382_help-me-wedding.jpg)
Post by: maggie on October 15, 2010, 02:27:53 PM
Congrats to Mhic Easmuint on his recent engagement.
Post by: thejuice on January 05, 2015, 12:57:22 PM
I'm thinking of getting a magician for my brothers wedding as a surprise for him. Just wondering if anyone had one that was good and wondering how much did they charge? Wedding is on the south east.
Post by: Bingo on January 05, 2015, 01:00:14 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 05, 2015, 12:57:22 PM
I'm thinking of getting a magician for my brothers wedding as a surprise for him. Just wondering if anyone had one that was good and wondering how much did they charge? Wedding is on the south east.

I'm not sure but you'll have to pay top dollar to get one that will help make him disappear on the day.
Post by: thejuice on January 06, 2015, 09:15:50 AM
Anyone else got advice before I let this thread slide back to the murky depths of the board?
Post by: BenDover on January 06, 2015, 09:20:33 AM
I went to school with this guy and he was good then http://www.caolanmcbride.com ye could try him.
Post by: thejuice on January 06, 2015, 10:09:52 AM
Thanks I'll take a look
Post by: 5 Sams on January 06, 2015, 11:29:44 AM
Quote from: thejuice on January 06, 2015, 09:15:50 AM
Anyone else got advice before I let this thread slide back to the murky depths of the board?

Saw this boy at a wedding last year and he was excellent.

www.jack.ie
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 05, 2015, 12:51:12 AM
http://www.joe.ie/life-style/interesting-infographic-reveals-the-most-expensive-counties-in-which-to-get-married-in-ireland/486961