GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on April 23, 2019, 02:01:39 AM

Title: Leinster U-20 Football Championship 2019
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on April 23, 2019, 02:01:39 AM
Laois U-20 football boss O'Loughlin hits out at 'mind-boggling' fixture list
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/04/21/laois-u-20-football-boss-oloughlin-hits-out-at-mind-boggling-fixture-list/

(https://www.laoistoday.ie/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/Billy-OLoughlin-640x427.jpg)
Title: Re: Leinster U-20 Football Championship 2019
Post by: MasterJ on June 25, 2019, 09:15:13 PM
Wow they bet Kildare by three.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 26, 2019, 12:20:50 AM
Great win, away to Westmeath next Tuesday evening.

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/06/25/super-second-half-sees-laois-u-20s-dump-all-ireland-champions-kildare-out/ (https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/06/25/super-second-half-sees-laois-u-20s-dump-all-ireland-champions-kildare-out/)
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 02, 2019, 11:38:32 PM
Another great win tonight. On to the semi-finals next..

Laois            2-20
Westmeath  0-20 
    AET

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/07/02/laois-u-20s-see-off-westmeath-in-extra-time-to-reach-leinster-semi-final/
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 09, 2019, 06:37:23 PM
Best of luck to our U-20s tonight v Meath in O'Moore Park.

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/07/08/laois-u-20-football-team-named-for-leinster-football-semi-final-v-meath/
Post by: redsetanta on July 09, 2019, 08:39:11 PM
Very dominant against Meath.
Post by: redsetanta on July 09, 2019, 09:22:54 PM
Comprehensive win in the end. Bring on the dubs
Post by: BallyroanAbu on July 09, 2019, 09:46:23 PM
Really good tonight, great week for Laois GAA.  Lacey at full back was immense, so many played well.  Great to see
Post by: Jd on July 09, 2019, 10:13:31 PM
Is that full back Eamonn Lacey's son. I thought he was brilliant tonight
Post by: the sash on July 09, 2019, 10:38:15 PM
great win for the 20's tonight.  been a progresive year for laois in all codes.  quick question, could this win  delay the club championship?
Post by: Heshs Umpire on July 09, 2019, 10:53:10 PM
That was one of the worst Meath underage teams I ever saw. Not taking from our lads who actually played a little sloppily throughout the game tonight and still won easily. Huge room for improvement and a great chance against Dublin in the final.
Very good displays from Lacey, Coffey, Dowling and O'Flynn. Byron very solid. Slevin, Kinsella and Barry all very skilful lads. Big Dan a real handful.
As for the club championship, I think it will have to be delayed a bit. I know my own club are due to play the first round four days after the Leinster under 20 final and we haven't had the chance to play even one game with the under 20 lads.
Post by: G@@ on July 09, 2019, 10:59:37 PM
Great result tonight. A comprehensive win.
Post by: High Fielder on July 09, 2019, 11:07:30 PM
I get the feeling this team is capable of so much better. Let's be honest here, a lot of our play was sloppy as Hesh said, and sometimes really poor. Midfield didn't function properly and the forwards are not as economical as they should be. One or two of them are selfish. But our full back line was dominant and O'Flynn is a credit to himself and his club. Works like a dog. As a team though, there is room for big improvement
Post by: Nameless on July 09, 2019, 11:09:31 PM
I agree with Hesh, Meath were woeful. Maybe we made them look bad but I thought we weren't at our best either. We missed a lot of chances and still won by 9. Whelan had an off day, Barry missed a few, I agree with the lads picked out by Hesh also. Owens looked dangerous when he came on. The ball into big Dan was again hit and miss. Dublin have walked their side of the draw so the final against them will obviously be a step up, probably a few steps up but that will tell us more about these lads. First final at this level since 09 so it's all very encouraging.
Post by: Giovanni on July 09, 2019, 11:12:30 PM
My first time to see these lads this year. Very impressive. I agree that it looked like they had plenty more in the tank (and it was a bit sloppy at times) but there were no obvious weaknesses and the bench looked very strong.

It's true that Meath didn't look great but these didn't turn into bad players overnight. We had too much for them in physical terms and in skill levels. Thought O Flynn, Coffey, Kinsella and Owens when he came on were all very good. Full back line also very good.

Very impressive
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on July 09, 2019, 11:43:46 PM
I thought Meath, after beating a fancied Offaly team, would be far better than that. I think they had a number of U-18's starting tonight. They'll probably be better next year.

Our forward unit didn't work in tandem tonight, especially in the second half. Whelan is a serious prospect, but his shot selection at times can be off. I'd say Kinsella was our best forward tonight, he works hard and utilises the ball well. A couple of other lads mixed the good with the bad. Owens has to be close to starting, he's looked very lively when he's come on the last few games.

Tyrell and Dunne are a good midfield partnership, both can offer something at senior level next year. That said, the Meath midfield were poor. I'd imagine Dublin will have midfielders in the make-up of Brian Fenton, big and mobile. They'll need to step it up for that.

Some of our backs were outstanding. The Portlaoise lad Dowling is small in stature but is very quick and well able to get stuck in. My man of the match would be Lacey though, won nearly every ball coming out and is well able to play ball as well. O'Flynn is a big plus to have at this grade as well. Also, Byron's distribution was very good, and he made a few good saves.

The final against Dublin will be a big step up on this, they won Leinster with that bunch at minor and probably should've made an All-Ireland final. Ciaran Archer I can remember ran the show when our U-17's lost to them last year, so Lacey will need to be at his best to stop him at full-forward.

Best of luck to the lads in the final, seem to be a talented bunch with good attitudes.
Post by: Laois fan on July 09, 2019, 11:54:41 PM
Very impressive performance did what they had to do and then eased up which is understandable.lacey is a big powerful pacey full back,fair dues to o flynn he fully commits to everything,backs as a whole defended excellently and moved the ball out very well.Coffey was pick of the forwards putting in a serious shift prob not whelans best game but still kicked two super points,barry was a bit rusty which is understandable given lack of games.Think we only kicked three balls into Dan getting 1.1 from it,while hes not a constant threat he is just a constant worry for opposition
Post by: on the hop on July 10, 2019, 09:27:50 AM
This is a good group to keep together, there is a basis of a senior team if developed. I think a good few are underage again next year. U-17 team in 2017 was

Gorman, dowling, o Flynn, Mohane, horgan, saunders, slevin, Rogers, swayne, Brophy, Coffey, McCaul,Barry, Dunne and Owens.
Post by: Chrimtain on July 10, 2019, 09:43:58 AM
Just goes to show that winning minor titles is not a prerequisite.

If we can bring these guys into a setup under John Sugrue, the future might be bright.
Post by: Chrimtain on July 10, 2019, 09:51:37 AM
I see someone on the Hoganstand site suggests that 'Laois easily beat meath and will face Dublin who Hammered wexford to make the final. Should be an easy leinster final win for the Dubs. They've dominated u20/21 in Leinster over the last 10 years and will continue to do so. The rest of us have no chance'.

Are Dublin that far ahead at this level?
Post by: Giovanni on July 10, 2019, 09:57:09 AM
They'll have to be pretty good to beat this team.
Post by: Laoiseabu on July 10, 2019, 10:43:23 AM
Quote from: Chrimtain on July 10, 2019, 09:51:37 AM
I see someone on the Hoganstand site suggests that 'Laois easily beat meath and will face Dublin who Hammered wexford to make the final. Should be an easy leinster final win for the Dubs. They've dominated u20/21 in Leinster over the last 10 years and will continue to do so. The rest of us have no chance'.

Are Dublin that far ahead at this level?
Dublin are not as far ahead as everyone at this level as everyone thinks . Sure didn't Kildare beat them in the Leinster minor final last week aswell. The only level where Dublin are far ahead is senior but that's an exceptional bunch . We have a chance in the final although it will be a big step up from Meath . Their full foward Ciarán Archer is the man doing all the damage so billy needs to come up with a strategy to nullify him .
Post by: Don Draper on July 10, 2019, 10:59:26 AM
Quote from: Giovanni on July 10, 2019, 09:57:09 AM
They'll have to be pretty good to beat this team.
They've beaten kildare and Meath, safe to say they're pretty good.
Post by: Giovanni on July 10, 2019, 11:17:01 AM
I think you're talking about a different "they".

Post by: Don Draper on July 10, 2019, 11:25:34 AM
Quote from: Giovanni on July 10, 2019, 11:17:01 AM
I think you're talking about a different "they".
Works both ways I guess
Post by: Giovanni on July 10, 2019, 11:59:10 AM
Not really.
Post by: Don Draper on July 10, 2019, 12:39:13 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on July 10, 2019, 11:59:10 AM
Not really.
Dublin will need to be pretty good to beat Laois.
Laois will need to be pretty good to beat Dublin.
Post by: Tony on July 10, 2019, 12:46:04 PM
It's amazing what 2 years can do. 2 years ago the consensus was that Laois football was on the way down will no end in sight. No players up coming. Aging team. Division 4 and maybe stay there for most of the next 5-10 years. But now the U-20's are in the Leinster final with a decent shot against Dublin, we've been in the last 12 in senior the last couple of years, and we're back up to where we belong in senior league - Div 2. I didn't see it coming, but it's great. A lot of great work has gone on behind the scenes, respect and congrats to all who have made it happen. Long may it continue.
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on July 10, 2019, 01:16:45 PM
O'Connor Park Friday week. Should be a super game of football, by far the two best teams left. I'd like to see Owen's starting because I think he offers something a bit different up front. He's a real direct runner, while some of the other are more passers than runners.

I'd say Billy will probably go with the same team though. It will be interesting to see what Dublin do with Big Dan. Meath had quite a small chap on him. Dublin probably have someone bigger to mark him.
Post by: High Fielder on July 10, 2019, 09:56:00 PM
Until I've seen this team functioning to its optimum, no team really frightens me. We mixed the sublime with the ridiculous last night, and we won easily. On form lines, which are not always a good gauge, we have nothing to fear. It's Dublin. They deserve respect because you expect Dublin to have good teams, but this is a good team and I'm convinced there's more to come from them. It would be great if they could peak Friday week, but I'm nagged by Mullingar and the underwhelming second half last night. We should have put Meath to the sword and we didn't. I saw a bit of ruthlessness in Newbridge, but not since. All these teams would put us out the gate given the chance, so if we get a similar opportunity, we should drive the nail in deep. Win, lose or draw, they're a good crop. I'd like to think they are more than capable of getting some silverware, and my only hope is that they don't have regrets at the final whistle. I'm looking forward to it already.
Post by: redsetanta on July 10, 2019, 10:21:42 PM
Good post there Highfielder
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 11, 2019, 01:40:54 AM
Quote from: The PRO on July 10, 2019, 12:59:07 PM
Great win last night. I'll try and do ratings (someone here used to do it before) but I know it's completely dangerous! Don't attack me. Do your own ratings!  ;D

Byron 8 – Excellent kickouts and two top class saves. I'd imagine he will become Brody's number two sooner rather than later.

Dowling 8 – Great little bit of stuff. Sticky as hell. Another off the Portlaoise conveyor belt.

Lacey 8 – Plays quite like the da who I'm old enough to remember well. Tough, fast, sticky. Good prospect.

Mohan 7.5 – Solid, unspectacular. Rarely got turned and good passer out from the back.

Slevin 8 – Lively, very skilful. Nice point too.

O'Flynn 8.5 – Some prospect. Gives it everything and has all the skills too. Made one mistake at the very end when game was in the bag anyway.

Brophy 7 – Good display. Solid and willing to get forward

E Dunne 7.5 – Very good, hardworking display. Does all the simple things well.

Tyrell 7.5 – Remarks would be almost interchangeable with Dunne. Needs to work on the tackling. Having gotten an early yellow last night, another ref could well have given him another before half time.

Barry 7 – A mixed bag. Three fine frees but thought from play he was sloppy. The game will improve him.

Doran 7 – One really good point just after half time but the game bypassed him a lot otherwise.

Coffey 9 – Edged Kinsella for man of the match. Covered a lot of ground, two fine points, brilliant pass for the goal, never wasted a ball.

Kinsella 8.5 – Brilliant. Hardworker, tricky on the ball, always gives the right pass and can score too.

McCormack 7.5 – Big Dan! Reminds me of another former underage prospect Daryl Hayden who disappeared off the scene completely. Nice fisted point. Good awareness for the goal but there's something missing I think in terms of the way the team play.

Whelan 7.5 – Bad night on the frees but two great scores from play. Great to win with him a bit below par.

Owens 8 – Looked very lively when he came on, took a great score, but ran into tackles unnecessarily a few times.

N Dunne 7.5  - Looked good both times he came on. Definitely an option in midfield or anywhere in the forwards.

I couldn't rate the other subs. Too short a time on the field.

Very good assessment there Pro, just reposted it here as it might get more views on this thread.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 12, 2019, 12:54:42 AM
This seems to be a very strong Dublin side and we will have to be at our very best to beat them. We certainly have the players to do it but for once they are going to have to do it for the full hour, not in patches like they have been doing up till now.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/u-20-gaelic-football/ciarn-archer-stars-as-dublin-beat-wexford-to-make-u20-leinster-final-38297976.html
https://www.the42.ie/dublin-wexford-u20-football-report-parnell-park-4716734-Jul2019/
Post by: High Fielder on July 12, 2019, 11:22:15 AM
Hopefully Laois people will come out. It's at a nice time, near enough to us and no work the next day. Don't just settle for TG4. A good crowd supporting the lads could make a significant difference, and we don't get many chances like this. So come on folks, get off yer arses and give these lads some proper backing.
Post by: redsetanta on July 12, 2019, 12:05:41 PM
Dublin 1/4
Laois 5/2

Handy win for us!
Post by: High Fielder on July 12, 2019, 12:46:21 PM
We were 1/8 to win in Mullingar. At this level, those sort of prices can mean very little. Meath were favourites the other night. It's like the Kildare forum after we beat them. A poster wrote something like Kildare should be beating Laois no matter what team they put out. You will get a lot of that GAA snobbery these days. I'd be amazed if those odds actually reflected a proper assessment of ability. They say more about the GAA world's obsession with all things Dublin to me. We'll be alright if we focus on out own game. We won't be too far off.
Post by: Unlaoised on July 12, 2019, 03:21:23 PM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 11, 2019, 01:40:54 AM
Quote from: The PRO on July 10, 2019, 12:59:07 PM
Great win last night. I'll try and do ratings (someone here used to do it before) but I know it's completely dangerous! Don't attack me. Do your own ratings!  ;D

Byron 8 – Excellent kickouts and two top class saves. I'd imagine he will become Brody's number two sooner rather than later.

Dowling 8 – Great little bit of stuff. Sticky as hell. Another off the Portlaoise conveyor belt.

Lacey 8 – Plays quite like the da who I'm old enough to remember well. Tough, fast, sticky. Good prospect.

Mohan 7.5 – Solid, unspectacular. Rarely got turned and good passer out from the back.

Slevin 8 – Lively, very skilful. Nice point too.

O'Flynn 8.5 – Some prospect. Gives it everything and has all the skills too. Made one mistake at the very end when game was in the bag anyway.

Brophy 7 – Good display. Solid and willing to get forward

E Dunne 7.5 – Very good, hardworking display. Does all the simple things well.

Tyrell 7.5 – Remarks would be almost interchangeable with Dunne. Needs to work on the tackling. Having gotten an early yellow last night, another ref could well have given him another before half time.

Barry 7 – A mixed bag. Three fine frees but thought from play he was sloppy. The game will improve him.

Doran 7 – One really good point just after half time but the game bypassed him a lot otherwise.

Coffey 9 – Edged Kinsella for man of the match. Covered a lot of ground, two fine points, brilliant pass for the goal, never wasted a ball.

Kinsella 8.5 – Brilliant. Hardworker, tricky on the ball, always gives the right pass and can score too.

McCormack 7.5 – Big Dan! Reminds me of another former underage prospect Daryl Hayden who disappeared off the scene completely. Nice fisted point. Good awareness for the goal but there's something missing I think in terms of the way the team play.

Whelan 7.5 – Bad night on the frees but two great scores from play. Great to win with him a bit below par.

Owens 8 – Looked very lively when he came on, took a great score, but ran into tackles unnecessarily a few times.

N Dunne 7.5  - Looked good both times he came on. Definitely an option in midfield or anywhere in the forwards.

I couldn't rate the other subs. Too short a time on the field.

Very good assessment there Pro, just reposted it here as it might get more views on this thread.

Hard to argue with that...A tad generous with Tyrell I thought he wasnt up too much .
Post by: Joeythelips on July 17, 2019, 07:29:41 AM
TG4 are showing the final live.
Post by: Joeythelips on July 19, 2019, 10:53:37 AM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/07/19/profiled-the-laois-u-20-footballers-vying-for-leinster-championship-glory/ (https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/07/19/profiled-the-laois-u-20-footballers-vying-for-leinster-championship-glory/)

Sounds like a fine squad of players, and so many are still underage next year there is a bright future for some of these lads. Is also good for them that we have a senior manager who does not go on reputation, these lads know if they put in the hard yards Sugrue will give them their chance. Exciting times.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 19, 2019, 03:14:49 PM
They are a fine squad of players, a lot of big, useful players which is what's needed at this level.
Best of luck to them tonight, they are well capable of beating the dubs in this one..
Post by: GAA-SMART on July 19, 2019, 08:03:45 PM
Mixed first half, slow start and handed them a goal.. 6 down but the game is still there for us.
Post by: Don Draper on July 19, 2019, 08:47:01 PM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 19, 2019, 03:14:49 PM
They are a fine squad of players, a lot of big, useful players which is what's needed at this level.
Best of luck to them tonight, they are well capable of beating the dubs in this one..
You see this is what we need to temper in Laois. These lads have a bit of potential, but they've a huge way to go to make it as senior intercounty players. A few of them got tough lessons tonight, I couldn't give a f**k about the result if they learn from them. You'd hope they're humble enough to do so. If they're not, they'll do sweet f**k all.
Post by: Giovanni on July 19, 2019, 10:00:37 PM
And no one's more temperate than your good self. As a matter of interest, what did you learn from the result?
Post by: High Fielder on July 19, 2019, 10:24:53 PM
Very similar problems to the Seniors. Nowhere near good enough getting primary or secondary possession, and as a result, a tsunami is thrown at our backs. Sometimes we allowed them far too much freedom, but in fairness, they were slick and really well prepared. Our tackling at all levels is ridiculously bad, and we have to, just have to find a way to stop getting beaten so badly. I felt we could have done to Meath what was done to us tonight, but we didn't, and for me that's weak.

The players in this team are all well capable. The same is true of a lot of players in Laois. The level of coaching is poor however, and there's no point sugaring that pill. Mental scarring after mental scarring is taking its toll.

As for Dublin, clearly nervy being run at. Freakishly mobile and strong. Looked like men against boys or professionals against amateurs at times. Well drilled, clever movement and always supporting. I don't think they'd beat Cork on what I saw of Cork last night, but they have areas they could improve on and I'm sure they will. The ref didn't alter the result, but he was a disgrace. I hope he has to sit and watch an equally inept display some time, just so he knows how it feels. It's hard enough getting any traction in a game like that without someone like him glorying in the limelight. As I said, he didn't beat us, but he was a disgrace.
Post by: Don Draper on July 19, 2019, 10:35:32 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on July 19, 2019, 10:00:37 PM
And no one's more temperate than your good self. As a matter of interest, what did you learn from the result?
Don't f**k up short kick outs
Post by: Giovanni on July 19, 2019, 11:28:31 PM
Agree with High Fielder. There are plenty of really good footballers but for some reason Laois teams seem to have no clue what to do when we don't have the ball. This is a coaching issue.

Apart from that, I just thought we didn't really seem to be at it. With a few notable exceptions (like O Flynn, Kinsella and Whelan) we just didn't seem tuned in or fully concentrated.

The line did a poor job with the matchups too in my opinion.

And finally the referee. As HF says, it wasn't the reason for the loss but he was a total joke. Really hard to understand how lads like that get big matches to referee.
Post by: on the hop on July 19, 2019, 11:32:33 PM
Very good post highfielder, sums up how I felt. Massive chance missed with the strength of Dublin overage and the coming strength of kildare to win a final at this grade. We won't  get to many chances again. With so many underage next year, we will need them all especially Saunders but I hope someone seriously does a review of the year and tries to incorporate a strength and conditioning plan. I know a year might not make a huge difference but going forward he really need to up things. Dublin will always have massive teams but there was a noticeable difference tonight.

As underdogs we probably needed everything to go right, the ref certainly didn't help and favored them in most 50/50 decisions. I am amazed at him moving in frees, if he was getting abused that much then book them. The team gets frustrated along with the crowd and things start to unravel. Tactically we were shocking naive, we went zonal on there kick outs and it worked at times but when they went short the forwards should really have worked harder stopping coming out. They had no problems fouling far up the field. They had an out ball on the height distance on the wing, could we not have switched the wing back and wing forward just for the kick outs. They had us well scouted and problems we had with Westmeath in terms of the running game were not corrected. If Coffey vacates the wing to be the floating  link man there has to be a plan to counteract the space he leaves. He is either a centre forward or not. Jack Owens should have started, you either use dan or you don't.

There are lots of good players there, whether they develop into good seniors remains to be seen.
Post by: Downtheroad on July 20, 2019, 12:03:48 AM
I was disappointed with the result as I thought we would put up a much better show. Still think there are a lot of players with potential who will learn from tonight and progress to senior. I thought one of our problems was that we didn't track back and a number of scores came from mistakes at critical times. Now I'm been a bit petty here but what the hell is it with promising Laois teams and haircuts? Tonight we had every player with more or less the same haircut. Might have been more in their line to concentrate on the football. We had the same nonsense back in the 90s with the successful minor teams who underachieved at senior level by any yardstick. One of my abiding memories was all their flashy hairstyles that were doing the rounds when there were going well at underage. All I'm saying I would prefer substance to style.   
Post by: redsetanta on July 20, 2019, 12:28:16 AM
The hairstyles were 2005 minors.
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on July 20, 2019, 01:41:26 AM
Quote from: Downtheroad on July 20, 2019, 12:03:48 AM
I was disappointed with the result as I thought we would put up a much better show. Still think there are a lot of players with potential who will learn from tonight and progress to senior. I thought one of our problems was that we didn't track back and a number of scores came from mistakes at critical times. Now I'm been a bit petty here but what the hell is it with promising Laois teams and haircuts? Tonight we had every player with more or less the same haircut. Might have been more in their line to concentrate on the football. We had the same nonsense back in the 90s with the successful minor teams who underachieved at senior level by any yardstick. One of my abiding memories was all their flashy hairstyles that were doing the rounds when there were going well at underage. All I'm saying I would prefer substance to style.

Dublin had far better haircuts. That's why they're so successful. People think it's because of the money, population, structures etc..nope, it's the barbers that they get a trim in.

Joking aside, I thought we were fairly competitive in patches with Dublin, but as usual with Dublin teams, their pace, power and fitness gets them past opposition usually. Watching some of their players stride past Laois players without breaking a sweat was something to behold.

If we want to compete at the highest level in any age grade, we have to be able to match that. I believe we've performed better in recent years on that side if things, but we still have a way to go.

Lacey struggled at full-back on a top underage prospect in Archer. That's no slight on the Ballylinan man either, as he's been one of the best performers of the U-20 campaign. I would've likes go see Saunders there though. I think he's more of a natural full-back, whereas Lacey usually plays higher up the field, even at centre-back.

The corner-back Dowling is remarkable in that he's so small you dont think he'll be able to compete at this level, but he's so tigerish that he makes it work. It'll be interesting to see if he can nail down a starting place for Portlaoise in the championship, which is never easy.

I think Slevin hasn't had the best year so far. He was a player who stood out at minor level, but maybe with injuries he's just fallen back a bit. Hope he can get back to his best. Brophy is a livewire at wing-back, running up and down the field all day. Not sure he has the football in him to kick Senior for Laois next year. He has another year at U-20 level so let's see how he goes.

O'Flynn played decent on the first half but faded a bit in the second. He should be looking to start for the Senior team next year. Rob Tyrell and Eoin Dunne both showed flashes of brilliance at midfield, but both will need to become more mobile to compete at Division 2 next year.

Coffey had an off day, but he was exceptional the last day. While he can play a few poor passes at times, I like the way he always looks to kick early ball in. A sign of a good footballer. Barry had another day where things just didn't go right, but I saw enough of him at Senior this year to know he has what it takes

Doran at centre-forward kicked possibly the score of the match in the first half, but again he needs to become more mobile to play Senior. Whelan and Kinsella kicked some quality scores, and both should be on the Senior panel next year.

I counted only two or three balls were kicked into Dan McCormack. Why play him at all if you're not going to utilise him Strange.

Jack Owen's should've been starting after the Westmeath game in my opinion. He has too much talent to sit on the bench.

Hopefully a few of these kick on and make solid inter-county players. With Begley, Timmons, and a few others not getting any younger, we need some of these lads to step up. I have plenty if faith in a lot of them.

With regards to Billy O'Loughlin, I feel he came in for unfair criticism when he took the job. He seems to be a very honest bloke when it comes to speaking to the media, and tells it as it is. I think he's gotten the best out of this team, and they've played some brilliant football under him. I certainly wouldn't be against him staying on another year. The crop of players he'd have next year is arguably more talented, with a lot of this year's team still underage.

On yo club championship now. A lot of these lads will hopefully shine in that, along with a few more hidden gems and we can compete well in Division 2 next season. Laois are on the up lads.
Post by: GAA-SMART on July 20, 2019, 08:19:32 AM
Quote from: Downtheroad on July 20, 2019, 12:03:48 AM

Haircuts.. would ye get a life. They are young lads. They can have any haircut they want without getting a judgment on something like this. Youll find that many people have that certain style haircut, not just lads who have Laois jerseys.

Anyway where to now ? Are Donnacha, Billy, Surgue staying on?
Post by: Tony on July 20, 2019, 09:34:55 AM
Quote from: Downtheroad on July 20, 2019, 12:03:48 AMNow I'm been a bit petty here but what the hell is it with promising Laois teams and haircuts? Tonight we had every player with more or less the same haircut. Might have been more in their line to concentrate on the football. We had the same nonsense back in the 90s with the successful minor teams who underachieved at senior level by any yardstick. One of my abiding memories was all their flashy hairstyles that were doing the rounds when there were going well at underage. All I'm saying I would prefer substance to style.
What a dumb comment.
Post by: The PRO on July 20, 2019, 02:06:57 PM
Quote from: Downtheroad on July 20, 2019, 12:03:48 AMNow I'm been a bit petty here but what the hell is it with promising Laois teams and haircuts? Tonight we had every player with more or less the same haircut. Might have been more in their line to concentrate on the football. We had the same nonsense back in the 90s with the successful minor teams who underachieved at senior level by any yardstick. One of my abiding memories was all their flashy hairstyles that were doing the rounds when there were going well at underage. All I'm saying I would prefer substance to style.
Are you trying to win some kind of "dumbest post of the year" award? Near every 19 and 20 year old chap in the country has the same haircut. Including the Dublin team....
Post by: vetoldthe on July 21, 2019, 07:49:59 PM
There are lots of good young footballers in our County,
but after watching our seniors, u20, and minors this season
we are crying out for a top class coach,
when Eddie Brennan got the job over our hurlers the first thing
he did was to get a first class coach [Niall Cororan]
the improvement in that team in 8 or 9 months was hard to beleive
their skill level and first touch was much improved,
they were well drilled,
there tackling was very good,
and tracking back,
and got their match-ups good,
they worked their socks off,

So until we get top coaches over our footballers
we are going to stay at the same level and never get near the big teams.

Post by: thegreeenandgold on July 21, 2019, 07:59:53 PM
Quote from: vetoldthe on July 21, 2019, 07:49:59 PM
they were well drilled,
and tracking back,

Why did the Hurlers win something ?  They did pretty much the same at Senior Level as the footballers,  at U20 level and Minor the footballers were far more competitive.  Joe McDonagh is essentially Intermediate, I'd be happy to come back and listen to you next year when they back it up.
Post by: GAA-SMART on July 21, 2019, 08:10:43 PM
they were well drilled,
and tracking back,

The footballs have gotten and have got top class coaches.. with respect to the Hurlers, great what they achieved but lets see them next year but to compare the two now is farcical.. 20s Hurlers and Minors Hurlers gone well before their football counterparts.
Post by: Mad Mentor on July 22, 2019, 08:15:32 AM
It didn't take long for the hurling v football "who pissed higher up the wall?" debate to start.
Post by: Don Draper on July 22, 2019, 08:52:35 AM
Quote from: Mad Mentor on July 22, 2019, 08:15:32 AM
It didn't take long for the hurling v football "who pissed higher up the wall?" debate to start.
Plenty of lads will have been seething to see the hurlers get a bit of recognition over the past few weeks.
Post by: thegreeenandgold on July 22, 2019, 09:55:43 AM
Any different from a lot of the hurling side wanting football outlawed after a good year ?  Some of the tripe on here.  Hurlers are due their moment, but some people immediately want football gone. #Hurlingsnobs same racket as Sunday Game que Worlds greatest game etc
Post by: Don Draper on July 22, 2019, 09:59:37 AM
Quote from: thegreeenandgold on July 22, 2019, 09:55:43 AM
Any different from a lot of the hurling side wanting football outlawed after a good year ?  Some of the tripe on here.  Hurlers are due their moment, but some people immediately want football gone. #Hurlingsnobs same racket as Sunday Game que Worlds greatest game etc
Who wants football gone? Relax. No one is out to get you.

Unless someone really is out to get you. I dont know really. Someone could be I guess. Maybe watch out just in case.
Post by: High Fielder on July 22, 2019, 10:21:20 AM
Let's not fabricate something that at the moment doesn't exist. It was an exceptional year for the hurlers and a decent enough year for the footballers. In both codes, we are a long way off the top sides in the country, so neither code can thumb its nose at the other and even if it could, it would be meaningless to do so. The make up of our county makes it very unlikely that we'll ever be really competitive in either code. The numbers are just not there. We rely as ever on an exceptional bunch to win us something. The reality is that in top counties, players are being discarded that could do a job for the likes of us. I'm being deadly serious when I say that we could do worse than try and get some players back who may have some Laois blood in them. The key for us is to try and get lads committed to Laois, its pitfalls and its lack of glamour. We can only keep trying, and in fairness, both codes did as well as they could this year.
Post by: Chrimtain on July 22, 2019, 10:27:39 AM
Due to circumstances beyond my control, I wasn't able to be at the match on Friday evening, but I was able to watch it on TG4. I will be shot down for these observation, but was indiscipline a problem with this team? The referee did us no favours, that goes without saying, but the Laois management appeared to become wrapped up in an ongoing battle with the referee and linesmen and I wonder did the players eventually fall into the same trap? With the camera focussing on the Laois management a lot, the TG4 commentator seemed amused at the ongoing battle of words that was going on.

Perhaps I am way off he mark, but someone who was the match remarked to me that, to him, the Dublin players appeared to be a lot less verbose than some of the Laois lads.
Post by: High Fielder on July 22, 2019, 10:43:41 AM
I felt their frustration Chrimtain. It just felt like he was trying to get under our skin. The best refs are the ones you don't see, but he was attracting plenty of focus. At key moments, he made decisions that knocked us off our stride. He wasn't the difference between winning and losing by a long chalk, but he was a sickening little Kildare p***k. They're usually the worse kind of sickening little pricks in my experience.
Post by: Chrimtain on July 22, 2019, 10:56:33 AM
Quote from: High Fielder on July 22, 2019, 10:43:41 AM
I felt their frustration Chrimtain. It just felt like he was trying to get under our skin. The best refs are the ones you don't see, but he was attracting plenty of focus. At key moments, he made decisions that knocked us off our stride. He wasn't the difference between winning and losing by a long chalk, but he was a sickening little Kildare p***k. They're usually the worse kind of sickening little pricks in my experience.

Fair enough High Fielder. I accept that a bad referee can make the most disciplined of teams lose their cool, and, in fairness, when I saw this Laois team in earlier rounds, there did not appear to be a problem with discipline at all.
Post by: High Fielder on July 22, 2019, 11:08:08 AM
Frustration brings out the worst in fellas. We were struggling to get a foothold at times and this jumped up little gobshite seemed determined to drive the nail in. But getting back to the team, it was a massive dose of reality for some of them. We looked weak side by side with the Dubs. Our conditioning was miles behind. Their basics, tackling, passing and movement, were streets ahead of ours. It's becoming clear that coaching in the county is old fashioned and just poor. We cannot expect our Senior coaches to make silk purses out of sow's ears, and I know that's not the best phrase to use. But let's not kid ourselves. We have a lot of work to do at underage.
Post by: Don Draper on July 22, 2019, 11:10:34 AM
Lads need to learn to handle adversity better. Its weak to say the referee is to blame for any or part of it. Our reaction to the referee is a reflection of our own mindfulness. This is as much a requirement nowadays as S&C. I hope these players are encouraged to learn and grow from and not allowed to blame "that Kildare p***k" as some would have it. Nothing will be gained in defeat if this is allowed.
Post by: High Fielder on July 22, 2019, 11:13:23 AM
They were my words, but it was widely accepted that he did us no favours. I haven't met anyone yet who blamed him for the defeat. The responsibility for that rests with ourselves. But it did need to be said all the same
Post by: The PRO on July 22, 2019, 12:11:07 PM
Quote from: High Fielder on July 22, 2019, 11:13:23 AM
They were my words, but it was widely accepted that he did us no favours. I haven't met anyone yet who blamed him for the defeat. The responsibility for that rests with ourselves. But it did need to be said all the same
Correct. It's not impossible for the referee to be poor (which he was) and also not the cause of our defeat. Felt sorry for young Mohan who had a brilliant game and at an important stage in second half was fouled coming out with the ball, turned over and ref correctly then gave a free in to Dublin. Was a free out first all day long.
Huge gap between the two teams though. Not dissimilar to senior really. Dubs first, everyone else miles behind.
Post by: Keyser Söze on July 22, 2019, 01:04:19 PM
Quote from: thegreeenandgold on July 21, 2019, 07:59:53 PM
they were well drilled,
and tracking back,

Why did the Hurlers win something ?  They did pretty much the same at Senior Level as the footballers,  at U20 level and Minor the footballers were far more competitive.  Joe McDonagh is essentially Intermediate, I'd be happy to come back and listen to you next year when they back it up.

Well if you want to be smart, yes they did, they won the Joe McDonagh Cup, surely that at least matches a Division 4 league final?
Also beat a team ranked higher than them in the championship.
Haven't seen any such snide remarks about the Laois Senior Football team.
The reality is that they are around the same level. A good bit better than the lower half ranked teams and a good bit off the next level (Top 8 in football, top 9 in hurling). As of this year the hurlers have closed the gap a little, the footballers haven't. The reverse was true last year. No biggie.
Try to keep the bitterness under wraps like a good boy.

Also, your argument re Minor & u20 doesn't stack up at all.
Minor footballers drew with Carlow and beat Longford & Westmeath. Lost a semi final
to eventual champions Kildare.
Minor hurlers beat Kildare, Antrim & Westmeath. Lost a quarter final to eventual champions Wexford.
That's practically an identical run.

The U20 footballers beat Kildare, Westmeath & Meath before being well beaten by eventual champions Dublin.
The U20 hurlers with a much tougher draw were well beaten by Kilkenny (eventual champions) first day out.
The difference here was largely the draw and games to prepare, but the footballers took advantage of it & had a couple of good wins.

I see no evidence that the minor & u20s were far more competitive.
Post by: thegreeenandgold on July 22, 2019, 01:12:01 PM
Minor Footballers beaten by 3 points by Kildare I'd say that's more competitive than the hammering dished out by Wexford.

As for U20's stop it

Your points fair enough on Seniors.

Post by: The PRO on July 22, 2019, 03:01:28 PM
they were well drilled,
and tracking back,

Sugrue brought in two coaches this year with the seniors. I thought the seniors had a decent enough year. Sean Cotter was one and a fellow Kerryman of Sugrue was the other. Can't recall his name.
I think O'Loughlin could have done with a really top level coach in his backroom team.
Know nothing about Donncha and the minors regarding level of coaching.
Corcoran seems to be the real deal with the hurlers alright.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on July 22, 2019, 03:37:53 PM
We are behind the times in a few different areas. Teams will only get so far at any age level now without playing to a well drilled system. Looking at the U20s on Friday there was plenty of individual skill and promising players for the future but the setup seemed very 1992 like. Pumping the ball into a static and big full forward. Who does that any more? Not filtering your forwards back to tackle and harrass? Not having a well drilled (and low risk) kick out strategy. We also don't get the ball forward fast enough, can't tackle and can't break a tackle. Maybe it's too much to expect that level of organization at under age but it is a limiter. Dublin were extremely well organized and took advantage of our structural weaknesses. We seem to rely on individual brilliance. Physical conditioning can come later but some of the other skills and instincts need to be coached at a much earlier stage.

Post by: Keyser Söze on July 22, 2019, 04:17:51 PM
Quote from: thegreeenandgold on July 22, 2019, 01:12:01 PM
Minor Footballers beaten by 3 points by Kildare I'd say that's more competitive than the hammering dished out by Wexford.

As for U20's stop it

The minor footballers were lucky to draw with Carlow. Do you want to keep playing this game?
How do you think the U20 footballers would have competed if they had drawn Dublin in the first round?
Post by: blueandwhite1 on July 22, 2019, 04:34:27 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on July 22, 2019, 04:17:51 PM

As for U20's stop it

The minor footballers were lucky to draw with Carlow. Do you want to keep playing this game?
How do you think the U20 footballers would have competed if they had drawn Dublin in the first round?

Lads, this is a completely pointless and unhelpful discussion. There will be no winners.
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on July 22, 2019, 05:41:41 PM
Hurlers had the better year at Senior level. They have an opportunity now to build on this year and try to stay up in the Leinster championship next year. I saw enough from the minor and U-20 hurlers to know that they can bring more talent into the squad in the coming years.

The footballers had an average enough year in the championship, but more importantly gained promotion and will play Division 2 football next year. The standard of league football is crucial because it helps teams get up to the intensity required for playing the big boys in the championship.

The minor and U-20 footballers also have an array of talent throughout the squad, but to turn them into Senior footballers a lot of work needs to be put in with their S&C.

I just hope that both Sugrue and Brennan stay on. Those two men are some of the main reasons why football and hurling has been turned on its head in the county and there's the possibility of a bright future for Laois in both codes.
Post by: GAA-SMART on July 22, 2019, 05:42:43 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on July 22, 2019, 03:37:53 PM
We are behind the times in a few different areas. Teams will only get so far at any age level now without playing to a well drilled system. Looking at the U20s on Friday there was plenty of individual skill and promising players for the future but the setup seemed very 1992 like. Pumping the ball into a static and big full forward. Who does that any more? Not filtering your forwards back to tackle and harrass? Not having a well drilled (and low risk) kick out strategy. We also don't get the ball forward fast enough, can't tackle and can't break a tackle. Maybe it's too much to expect that level of organization at under age but it is a limiter. Dublin were extremely well organized and took advantage of our structural weaknesses. We seem to rely on individual brilliance. Physical conditioning can come later but some of the other skills and instincts need to be coached at a much earlier stage.

I think we are getting there, ive watched a fair few U15 games and U14 games even watched the 16s, (16s being the worst) however did win against Monaghan the last group game so must of improved. But its also a very difficult year losing guys to minor then reintergrating them. The 14s for a new team are playing very well and you can see an element of shape even at this early stage. The 15s have been very impressive in the games I have seen and have excellent defensive shape for a group of players that struggled with last years set up. These things take time but we are getting their and the 20s getting to a leinster final is highly positive even with the result.
Post by: Keyser Söze on July 22, 2019, 09:28:38 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on July 22, 2019, 04:34:27 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on July 22, 2019, 04:17:51 PM

As for U20's stop it

Lads, this is a completely pointless and unhelpful discussion. There will be no winners.

Agreed, but bitterness shouldn't be left unchallenged.
Post by: Chrimtain on July 24, 2019, 02:29:35 PM
Interesting points made by Billy O'Loughlin. Too many clubs in the county not producing good young players........

http://hoganstand.com/Article/Index/302097

Post by: GAA-SMART on July 24, 2019, 04:31:57 PM
U15 Football – Adam Mangan Tournament Cup Semi Final
LOETB CoE (1) 12:30 Laois v Cork
U15 Football – Adam Mangan Tournament Shield Semi Final
LOETB CoE (2) 12:30 Laois B v Cork B

Anyone thats intersted. Nice to be competitive at the development ages.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on July 24, 2019, 11:42:01 PM
Quote from: GAA-SMART on July 24, 2019, 04:31:57 PM
U15 Football – Adam Mangan Tournament Cup Semi Final
LOETB CoE (1) 12:30 Laois v Cork
U15 Football – Adam Mangan Tournament Shield Semi Final
LOETB CoE (2) 12:30 Laois B v Cork B

Anyone thats intersted. Nice to be competitive at the development ages.

What date are those games on ?
Post by: GAA-SMART on July 24, 2019, 11:47:14 PM
Coming Saturday.. were on the secretary fixture list today that the club got.
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on July 26, 2019, 09:26:19 AM
Quote from: Chrimtain on July 24, 2019, 02:29:35 PM
Interesting points made by Billy O'Loughlin. Too many clubs in the county.

Fixed that for you.
Post by: The PRO on July 30, 2019, 05:40:53 PM
Quote from: Dave like the tv channel on July 26, 2019, 09:26:19 AM
Quote from: Chrimtain on July 24, 2019, 02:29:35 PM
Interesting points made by Billy O'Loughlin. Too many clubs in the county.

Fixed that for you.
Just your opinion I guess. What clubs do you think shouldn't exist as a matter of interest?
Post by: GAA-SMART on September 04, 2019, 07:00:22 PM
Any word on the 20s for next year ? Is Billy staying on