We need to talk about Mrs Brown's Boys...

Started by RedHand88, December 28, 2019, 10:00:30 AM

I just don't get it. I really don't. Why is this show so popular?

GetOverTheBar

Quote from: RedHand88 on December 28, 2019, 10:00:30 AM
I just don't get it. I really don't. Why is this show so popular?

Fall in society IQ?

Oh Christ. I can't stand this shite.

The movie Agnes Browne, with Angelica Houston, was actually good, but I've no idea how it morphed into this bollocks.

I get the impression it's watched by old biddies, who titter at the odd f word being thrown in for absolutely no reason. Brutal stuff.

4.6m watched it on BBC on Christmas day and I'm sure another half million to a million on RTE the same night. What is the appeal? The panto style "jokes" where he runs around pushing cameramen out of the way and wrecking the set are cringe.

Watched it once years ago. Switched channel after 5 minutes and have ignored it ever since.
Wise choice I believe.

Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on December 28, 2019, 03:56:45 PM
Why are you watching it?

To not be unsociable at Christmas. Id be on my own if I didn't watch it.

Quote from: RedHand88 on December 28, 2019, 05:23:32 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on December 28, 2019, 03:56:45 PM
Why are you watching it?

To not be unsociable at Christmas. Id be on my own if I didn't watch it.

I'd rather be on my own then, if that's the options.

Is it wrong to find give my head peace funny??

Alexa saying Londonderry, h as etch and having a countdown until July the 12th.

Don't get Fr. ted either; broad, obvious, one-joke comedy.

Lads it's all a bit of craic FFS
I find mrs. Brown fr Ted and Tim mcgarry all good fun
And if you saw their bank balances you wouldn't disagree
It ain't serious TV
Let's have a laugh for half an hour in our week

Quote from: imtommygunn on December 28, 2019, 09:37:09 PM
Is it wrong to find give my head peace funny??

Alexa saying Londonderry, h as etch and having a countdown until July the 12th.

That was almost as bad!

Pure scutter, the Brits go mad for it, says it all. ::)

Dire Ear