GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: meathie on June 05, 2007, 01:29:18 PM

Title: Meath vs Dublin 17th June
Post by: meathie on June 05, 2007, 01:29:18 PM
I thought I would start a new thread about the replay where we can talk aboutthe actual upcoming game and not gg etc etc! I hear that the game is def on sunday at 4pm. would it be such a bad idea to have it at 6pm? anyone see any problems. To meath crew, I thought Crawfrd was terrible and chicken sh*t on sunday and hope he is left off the next day. Would like to see Farrell Ward and Bray in ff line with Sherridan Geraghty (depending) and Byrne in half forward line.
Title: Re: Meath vs Dublin 17th June
Post by: Jinxy on June 05, 2007, 01:36:43 PM
Playing it later in the evening is a theoretical possibility but I'd say the guards would issue a firm "No" if the suggestion was put to them.
Post by: Hound on June 05, 2007, 01:59:15 PM
Quote from: meathie on June 05, 2007, 01:29:18 PM
I hear that the game is def on sunday at 4pm.
I dont think that's definite yet. From the RTE website:

'There is the possibility of a change but we won't know until we meet on Tuesday to discuss it.' RTÉ Sport's Paul Byrnes on the possibility of changing Sunday week's Sunday Game schedule to accommodate the Dublin v Meath Leinster SFC replay.

Post by: AZOffaly on June 05, 2007, 03:10:58 PM
why can't they play it Saturday eveing?
Post by: Louth Exile on June 05, 2007, 04:52:28 PM
Leinster council seem to have a taken a stance that we set the game as being at 4pm on Sunday and that is the end of it! They are dead set against the Staurday night ans as alright pointed out the Gardai are unlikely to allow it to go ahead at 6pm
Post by: AZOffaly on June 05, 2007, 04:54:39 PM
So it will be in direct competition with Waterford and Cork in the hurling then?
Post by: Billys Boots on June 05, 2007, 04:54:47 PM
Quotewhy can't they play it Saturday eveing?

That would interfere unjustifiably with the Dubs' drinking time - it must coincide with the 'Holy Hour' on Sunday, in keeping with tradition.  Next thing you'll be asking for them to give some respect to opposition's free-takers.  Get a grip.  ::)
Post by: armaghniac on June 05, 2007, 04:58:25 PM
Quoteas alright pointed out the Gardai are unlikely to allow it to go ahead at 6pm
Why exactly might Saturday evening be OK while Sunday 6pm is not?
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on June 05, 2007, 05:07:07 PM
It won't be on Saturday as Brian Farrell of Meath would then not be available as his ban doesn't expire till the Sat night...
Post by: Msgr. Horan on June 05, 2007, 05:13:58 PM
Sure no worries if it clashes, the second replay wont clash with anything.
Post by: armaghniac on June 05, 2007, 05:38:07 PM
QuoteSure no worries if it clashes, the second replay wont clash with anything.

No, but if there is many more of these Leinster replays then the Qualifiers are fecked up, you have Mayo, Armagh, Cavan, Westmeath  etc waiting for a game and even at present the Leinster semi is only one week before round 1.
Post by: Rossfan on June 05, 2007, 06:02:57 PM
All this fuss about live TV for this game - was there a belief in Dublinmeath that RTE would simply drop one of the games from the lesser remote(from Dublin 4) Provinces?
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 05, 2007, 06:44:15 PM
Next weekend has turned into one of the best weekends there'll be in the gaa championships all year. Cork v Waterford in the hurling should be a cracker - the current league champions v the 2005/6 all ireland champions. Tyrone v Donegal is also another very big game and hugely significent to both teams, it also see's the current league champions v the 2003/5 all ireland champions. Then there's the replay of Dublin Meath. The 1st game was brilliant and Meath look to be in a position to knock the Dubs of the top of the pile in Leinster in front of a packed Croke Park. From a selfish point of view it would have been great if the Dublin Meath match was on live on the Saturday as Ill be in Clones on the Sunday. If not deferred coverage at 6 (or even better 6.30) wouldnt be to bad on the Sunday. It would be some day for the armchair fan if all 3 game are covered in a row.
Post by: fearglasmor on June 05, 2007, 06:55:19 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 05, 2007, 06:02:57 PM
All this fuss about live TV for this game - was there a belief in Dublinmeath that RTE would simply drop one of the games from the lesser remote(from Dublin 4) Provinces?

I think all the fuss as you call it being created by RTE and their media comrades.  I don't believe Dublin, Meath or the Leinster Council are too concerned about it.
Post by: Louth Exile on June 05, 2007, 09:25:56 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 05, 2007, 04:58:25 PM
Quoteas alright pointed out the Gardai are unlikely to allow it to go ahead at 6pm
Why exactly might Saturday evening be OK while Sunday 6pm is not?
I don't know myself, but that is what Colm Keyes wrote in today's indo....
The easy solution is to show full deferred coverage straight after the other two games
Post by: INDIANA on June 05, 2007, 11:05:32 PM
meath will not play on sat- to be honest i wouldn't blame them for that either.
Post by: mannix on June 05, 2007, 11:51:58 PM
They should have it on the saturday afternoon.
Post by: Declan on June 06, 2007, 06:55:59 AM
Now talking about putting the games on RTE1 and RTE2
Post by: Main Street on June 06, 2007, 08:19:57 AM
Yes, it's on the breaking news about the TV coverage.
http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/breaking/2007/0606/breaking7.htm (http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/breaking/2007/0606/breaking7.htm)
Post by: Jinxy on June 06, 2007, 09:09:01 AM
Makes sense in fairness. Better than messing with the throw-in time anyway.
Post by: Louth Exile on June 06, 2007, 10:21:03 AM
Quote from: Declan on June 06, 2007, 06:55:59 AM
Now talking about putting the games on RTE1 and RTE2

Just yesterday they completely ruled this out as an option ::)
Post by: Louth Exile on June 06, 2007, 03:41:33 PM
Hot off the Press..... (i mean hoganstand)

"To facilitate live T.V. coverage of the Dublin v Meath Bank of Ireland S.F.C. Replay on Sunday 17th June 2007 the Leinster Council has agreed to defer the game to 4.15p.m.

The first Quarter Final - Louth v Wexford - will now have a starting time of 2.20p.m."

They don't say anymore than this at the moment

Post by: The Claw on June 06, 2007, 04:18:02 PM
I think one of the reasons they wouldnt play it on saturday is becasue the meath hurlers are out in the Christy Ring on the saturday.
Post by: Gnevin on June 06, 2007, 04:23:50 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on June 06, 2007, 03:41:33 PM

"To facilitate live T.V. coverage of the Dublin v Meath Bank of Ireland S.F.C. Replay on Sunday 17th June 2007 the Leinster Council has agreed to defer the game to 4.15p.m.

The first Quarter Final - Louth v Wexford - will now have a starting time of 2.20p.m."

15 min delay ,  can get in an extra pint before hand now :D :P
Post by: prewtna on June 06, 2007, 05:21:26 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on June 06, 2007, 04:23:50 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on June 06, 2007, 03:41:33 PM

15 min delay ,  can get in an extra pint before hand now :D :P

forgive my ignorance....

how exactly will 15min delay allow live coverage of the match?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 06, 2007, 05:28:11 PM
I presume the Sunday Matinee will be finished on RTE 1 by then. They can leave RTE 2 showing Tryone-Donegal and Cork-Waterford.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 06, 2007, 07:54:10 PM
I think this is a terrible decision by the GAA to allow this to happen. It imo shows disrespect to a very significent hurling game on that day involving the league champions. If they couldnt accomadate this match at another time then surely deferred coverage would have been the sensible option? What a Sunday its going to be anyway!
Post by: prewtna on June 06, 2007, 08:09:17 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on June 06, 2007, 07:54:10 PM
I think this is a terrible decision by the GAA to allow this to happen. It imo shows disrespect to a very significent hurling game on that day involving the league champions. If they couldnt accomadate this match at another time then surely deferred coverage would have been the sensible option? What a Sunday its going to be anyway!

ya im inclined to agree with you.
they said in the press release that the hurling should get a head-start! ok so half the country will watch the start of the hurling then change channels to watch the football and then flick back at half-time! do they realise that the 400,000 (or whatever it was) that watched the drawn game is about the sum total of people who would watch GAA on any given sunday anyway?! im one of them. id watch the hurling if it was on its own but when the football comes on il be changing channels.

no offence intended to the hurlers of this country but coming from the plain of the yew tree its football ive grown up with.

i think the gaa should hang its head in shame - leinster council especially. hurling is sufering a slow dying death anyway so theres no need for the hierarchy to help it along the way.
Post by: Hardy on June 06, 2007, 09:30:48 PM
You can't force people to watch hurling lads. It's a free country. Maybe we should lock everyone in their homes when there's a big hurling match on, jam the satellites and hand out free rabbits-ears aerials.

If it had been the other way around, would people be complaining that this was "showing disrespect to a big football match"?

It's a very good solution, and accommodates the interests of everyone - the GAA, RTÉ and the supporters, who can now watch whichever game they choose. Everyone, that is, except people who believe we shouldn't have a choice when there's hurling to be watched. What are they afraid of? Surely, hurling being such a superior game and all, as they keep insisting, the discerning will watch it in their hundreds of thousands and ignore that ould football match.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 06, 2007, 09:55:45 PM
Your right Hardy you cant force people to watch hurling. However what the gaa doing here will inevitably lead to a huge drop in the hurling figures. Hurling is strugling recently and every effort should be made to promote it. Next Sunday will be one of the clashes of the entire championship. An improving Waterford team who look capable of finally ending their All Ireland drought after winning the league coming up against the 2005/6 all ireland champions. This is a great match to promote the game. RTE still would have got huge viewing figures for the Meath Dublin match (and maybe more as a lot more people will be back from club games) if theyd showed it deferred at 6. They simply had to avoid giving the score out during the hurling. Would have been a win win situation as both games would have got big viewing figures. An own goal in my opinion. It'll not matter to me as Ill be in Clones to see if this Tyrone team really are finished.
Post by: Hardy on June 06, 2007, 10:00:55 PM
Fair enough - a deferred viewing (for one or other game) might have sufficed.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 06, 2007, 11:10:34 PM
I'll be watching the hurling
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 06, 2007, 11:34:28 PM
Your lucky im a hunk so  :D
Post by: Hardy on June 10, 2007, 06:58:54 PM
Pillar gives directions to Kilberry as news breaks that Cian Ward starts on Sunday.

(http://www.geocities.com/hardyarse/pillar.jpg)
Post by: Fishead_Sam on June 10, 2007, 07:05:00 PM
I think that people from footballing counties will tune into the football & those from hurling the hurling, there will be alot of switching back and forth between the two channels with people switching to one or the other if one game is great & the other is a boxing match(I am not implying anything about the Dublin - Meath Match or the Cork hurlers  ;) )
Post by: agorm on June 11, 2007, 01:31:27 PM
I hear that Pat McEneaney is refereeing the replay. Hopefully he will not be influenced by the media furore over Geraghty. I would say that both teams will be happy with him.
Post by: Louth Exile on June 11, 2007, 01:43:04 PM
Quote from: agorm on June 11, 2007, 01:31:27 PM
I hear that Pat McEneaney is refereeing the replay. Hopefully he will not be influenced by the media furore over Geraghty. I would say that both teams will be happy with him.
Well if there is one man who wpn't pay any heed to the bulls**t in the media its Pat. You would swear that there was only one game next weekend if the media were to be believed, to be honest its gone way over the top:
1. Back page of yesterday's Sunday World - big Sold Out headline. Not a fact as Dublin or Louth have not yet distributed tickets!!
2. Sunday game last night - in one breath Spillane went from talking about Offaly & Carlow to bringing up the GG incident again. I would thought he should have faced disciplinary measures, he didn't, its over with, forget about it.
3. Spillane last night - he should no better, its one thing a Dublin radio station doing a competition to win tickets to the Dublin Meath game, thats fine. Spillane last night should have been offering tickets to the double header in Croker Park next week! It is a complete insult to Louth & Wexford
Rant over... I'll be at the game on Sunday enjoying hopefully, despite the hype.
Post by: his holiness nb on June 11, 2007, 02:06:26 PM
Exile, best to just ignore the hype, if its any consolation it probably does Dublin more harm than anyone, and gives non Dubs an excuse to moan about the attention we get.

When it comes to the Dubs, the media is a joke, but they are all in Dublin so its always gonna be like that.
Post by: dinvincible on June 11, 2007, 03:54:34 PM
Quote from: agorm on June 11, 2007, 01:31:27 PM

Best ref around at the minute im not sure our Dublin neighbours would agree though
Post by: Hardy on June 11, 2007, 04:18:16 PM
That's a relief - I was dreading the thought that it might be Bannon or Collins. Is Collins still reffing? I haven't seen him in a while.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 11, 2007, 07:44:00 PM
Yeah I assumed when Spillane referred to the big game next Sunday that he was talking about Tyrone Donegal! Instead he didnt mention it but talked about 2 teams who havent one an all ireland between them this millenium. The big game has to be the clash of the National League Champions (who have already defeated Armagh) and the 2003/5 All Ireland champions. To be fair I really enjoyed the 1st Dublin Meath game and look forward to watching it on Sunday evening. Its just a pity it couldnt have been played on Saturday.
Post by: stephenite on June 12, 2007, 05:12:30 AM
When big decisions have needed to be made, Pat generally favous Meath

Never thought '96 would make this bitter :P
Post by: Sky Blue on June 12, 2007, 07:38:35 AM
When are tickets distributed? I've been promised two but the guy didn't know when he would have them.
Post by: his holiness nb on June 12, 2007, 08:58:08 AM
Who is "the guy"
A club official, parnell pass distibutor, or a tout?
Post by: Stagmeister on June 12, 2007, 09:06:31 AM
KEITH BARR IN THE INDO...

Tuesday June 12 2007

CHAMPAGNE boys, jokers, chokers and actors . . . it's not easy being a Dublin footballer these days with some of the flak you have to face.

It's easy for pundits to play to the gallery but when I heard that Kildare club football was awash with brilliant half-forwards compared to the Dublin squad, I had to pick myself up off the floor. Jayzus lads, get a grip!

There is a 'special' analysis reserved by commentators for the Dubs, one that would rarely be applied to good country lads. And when this analysis strays into the realm of abuse, which seems to be happening increasingly, any decent points to be made are lost in the wash.

What all this criticism should do is provide enough ammunition for the Dublin camp to start another bloody rising. How they use that motivation, though, is critical. Sunday's replay against Meath is a very interesting clash on many levels, but particularly on the line. Colm Coyle won the day in the drawn game because of his switches and substitutions.

Now he must decide whether these mid-game changes will shape his starting line-up, particularly as chief score-taker Brian Farrell is available again. Does he start Cian Ward, even though there is a belief in Meath that he doesn't create enough of his own scores?

Obsession

If Farrell and Ward start, who makes way - Peter Curran, Peadar Byrne? Will he start Nigel Crawford in midfield or is the obsession with Ciarán Whelan too big a risk?

While Dublin will probably remain favourites, there is a new pressure on Meath - expectation. Once the old values of Meath football had been restored by Coyle, their supporters will expect the graph to continue to rise, including beating Dublin. What if he starts Ward and he misses a series of chances, will the bench work as well the next day?

I continue to maintain that Meath are an average side with obvious potential. But I don't see an O'Rourke, Flynn, Stafford or a McEntee in the current line-up and they have a long road to travel before I change my mind.

Pillar Caffrey has his own imponderables. Having only made one substitution last time, he has plenty of scope.

I would switch things around fairly radically because I think it is imperative to go for the jugular playing against a Meath team with renewed belief. Paul Griffin would have to convince me that he will up the ante the next day, otherwise I would be inclined to move Barry Cahill to corner-back.

Shane Ryan and Collie Moran would be better employed as wing half-backs because the half-forward line is not contributing enough to the scoreboard. I would introduce Mark Vaughan and Bernard Brogan to the wing half-forward berths and play Jason Sherlock at centre-forward.

I'm not privy to the exact extent of Jason's injury but it sounds like one that could be patched up for the day with the aid of a good strapping and a jab, especially for a game of this importance. I would gamble with him because there is more to this replay than just safe passage to a date with Offaly. I think Jason could cause problems for Anthony Moyles and that is excuse enough to risk playing him.

Dublin need to line out with more scoring forwards and it is too much to ask Alan Brogan and Conal Keaney to always come up with the goods.

Choker tag

One of the reasons Dublin are coming in for such abuse about being chokers is because they are not converting enough chances, from frees and open play, thereby putting pressure on themselves. Vaughan's presence on the pitch the next day would give them another vital option.

I'm already on record as saying that I would ditch the pre-match circus. It does nothing to help their focus; therefore it serves no purpose. Players need to be greedy, selfish b***tards. Their own focus and performance are paramount and supporters, friends, family - even the clock and scoreboard - need to be ignored for the 70 minutes.

A tasty win over the old enemy should be incentive enough for any man in a blue jersey. Earn your right to march over to Hill 16 - after the game.

So Coyle joins Caffrey in the spotlight next Sunday and whoever plays their cards right will win the day. I believe it will be Dublin.

It's only June and already the stakes are sky high.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on June 12, 2007, 09:41:57 AM
Amazing an intelligent posting on Hogan Stand that I actually could agree with...

Now for the footballers - I reckon I've cracked it ! I know you will all think I am mad but here's my starting 15 if the current squad of players is to win SAM.

Cluxton
Henry McConnell Shaugho

Cahill JMcGee Griffen

DMcGee Ryan

Whelan Cullen Bonner

Brogan Keaney Sherlock

Why ? Hear me out !

- We are conceding too many scores and why ? Cullen is class footballer but gets lost when teams move him away from 6. He is a man we need on the ball as much as possible. DMcG and Ryaner poor on the ball but savage ball winners so keep it simple ; win it, pass it to Cullen and job done. Imagine how good three boys inside would be with Cullen providing the ball ?

- Cahill and Griffs are class footballers, let them off. They can mark but when we have the ball they would give us serious options. Pace, power and both are leaders who would lift it when under pressure.

- Johnny has never let Dublin down, ever. If 11 goes roaming well then it can be switched on the pitch but he will hold centre back and will add huge physicality.

- Darren and Ryaner need no explanation - will win a mountain of ball and they just need to keep it simple.

- Whelo and Bonner ? Options from kick outs and can also take a score and hurt defences by running at them. They will also be huge players in the crucial middle third when we have been losing big time when pressure is on. Breaks win tight games and Cahill, Griffs, McGee x 2, Ryaner, Cullen and Bonner would give me more confidence then anyone we have out there.

- Game plan A - get the ball in FAST and EARLY, what a full forward line. Game plan B - for 15 mins let Whelo and Bonner run at them and draw frees and the defender. Game plan C - closing out the game or slowing it down just get Cullen on the ball as much as possible. Leave the rest to him, he is that good.

Frees ? Cullen from the left, Keaney from the right. When game opens up then Mossy, Connolly and Vaughan may do damage but they are just not good enough to start. Left hand side of our attack is so weak its not funny ; you have to be either electric or physical and mobile and Mossy and Connolly are neither. We were carrying Connolly, Mossy and Collie the last day from our six forwards and this cannot happen again. All three would be good from the bench and give us options.

Shaugho was class but wouldnt be too worried if Goggins or whoever is in at 4. Just release Griffs and Cahill. Casey has a great heart and gives everything but like Mossy and Connolly, just not good enough. Cullen would be a class centre forward and would also kick a few scores per game. Bonner would do the donkey work which so often goes unnoticed. But what a full forward line ; if they get ball........... mayhem ! Very strong team physically up the middle, leaders in the right positions and all in all I'd love to see this starting 15. What you think boys ? Don't even try and tell me its not ar better then what started last Sunday's game !
Post by: Gnevin on June 12, 2007, 10:59:47 AM
I cant understand Dubs need to play players out of position, Is their not a full back and a few decent half forwards in the county?

Post by: darbyo on June 12, 2007, 11:36:04 AM
QuoteJohnny has never let Dublin down, ever. If 11 goes roaming well then it can be switched on the pitch but he will hold centre back and will add huge physicality.

- Darren and Ryaner need no explanation - will win a mountain of ball and they just need to keep it simple.

- Whelo and Bonner ? Options from kick outs and can also take a score and hurt defences by running at them. They will also be huge players in the crucial middle third when we have been losing big time when pressure is on.

Lots of assumptions there DFS, McConnell doesn't look an inter-county full back to me(from limited exposure, granted). The 2 Magee's and Bonner would be weak enough too IMO. The full forward line has loads of potential but the three of them rarely deliver on the same day. Against quaility full back lines I'd say they are more than capable of coming off second best. Griffen and Cahill have been very impressive at different times over the years, but Griffen is having a poor time of it recently and neither are in the T. O'Se/P.Jordan/A.Lynch class, i.e rarely fail to get the better of their man.

Dublins problem IMO is that they have plenty of good footballers but very few brilliant footballers, and those that they have are not consistent enough. Ye are probably good enough to win an All-Ireland but only with a nice bit of luck and a fairly easy run to the final. Though in fairness you could say that about quite a few teams. This is the year for a team like Dublin to win Sam IMO, Kerry are in transition, Tyrone are crippled with injuries again, Armagh will be tough to beat but don't have enough to win it.  Donegal and Cork are coming with better teams than the likes of Dublin, in a year or two I'd say they could be two of the power houses, with Cork in particular looking good for the next 4-6 years.
Post by: Gnevin on June 12, 2007, 11:51:08 AM
Quote from: darbyo on June 12, 2007, 11:36:04 AM
QuoteJohnny has never let Dublin down, ever. If 11 goes roaming well then it can be switched on the pitch but he will hold centre back and will add huge physicality.

- Whelo and Bonner ? Options from kick outs and can also take a score and hurt defences by running at them. They will also be huge players in the crucial middle third when we have been losing big time when pressure is on.

Lots of assumptions there DFS, McConnell doesn't look an inter-county full back to me(
Thats because he's not he's a midfielder , stuck in their to cover
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on June 12, 2007, 12:07:39 PM
Well Canty, Heaney, McAnallan, Moynihan, O'Sullivan etc are all players who weren't full backs and were converted....so why not McConnell...admittedly he is still young but should be able to learn...

I think most full back lines would struggle with that full forward line especially if they stayed close to goals and got provided decent ball....

A half forward line of Whelan, Cullen, Bonnar would all be capable of winning ball and providing it inside - not many half back lines would have guys able to beat all 3 of these in the air...

Magee and Ryan in midfield would just provide a solid barrier in midfield with Ryan only making the odd sortie forward...

Magee at chb just providing a significant presence a la McGeeney at centre back and just controlling the centre and not letting players run through the middle....
Post by: magpie seanie on June 12, 2007, 01:02:10 PM
Excellent article by Keith Barr there. Hit a lot of nails on the head.
Post by: Jinxy on June 12, 2007, 02:33:14 PM
Is the Dublin team normally named on the Tuesday evening?
Post by: Stagmeister on June 12, 2007, 02:40:28 PM
Yeah Keith Barr knows his stuff alright...I regularly read his articles and he always seems to be spot on with his analysis.
Post by: Stagmeister on June 12, 2007, 02:41:10 PM
Yeah the team is due to be named after training this evening...
Post by: INDIANA on June 12, 2007, 02:46:47 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on June 12, 2007, 09:41:57 AM
Amazing an intelligent posting on Hogan Stand that I actually could agree with...

Now for the footballers - I reckon I've cracked it ! I know you will all think I am mad but here's my starting 15 if the current squad of players is to win SAM.

Cluxton
Henry McConnell Shaugho

Cahill JMcGee Griffen

DMcGee Ryan

Whelan Cullen Bonner

Brogan Keaney Sherlock

Why ? Hear me out !

- We are conceding too many scores and why ? Cullen is class footballer but gets lost when teams move him away from 6. He is a man we need on the ball as much as possible. DMcG and Ryaner poor on the ball but savage ball winners so keep it simple ; win it, pass it to Cullen and job done. Imagine how good three boys inside would be with Cullen providing the ball ?

- Cahill and Griffs are class footballers, let them off. They can mark but when we have the ball they would give us serious options. Pace, power and both are leaders who would lift it when under pressure.

- Johnny has never let Dublin down, ever. If 11 goes roaming well then it can be switched on the pitch but he will hold centre back and will add huge physicality.

- Whelo and Bonner ? Options from kick outs and can also take a score and hurt defences by running at them. They will also be huge players in the crucial middle third when we have been losing big time when pressure is on. Breaks win tight games and Cahill, Griffs, McGee x 2, Ryaner, Cullen and Bonner would give me more confidence then anyone we have out there.

- Game plan A - get the ball in FAST and EARLY, what a full forward line. Game plan B - for 15 mins let Whelo and Bonner run at them and draw frees and the defender. Game plan C - closing out the game or slowing it down just get Cullen on the ball as much as possible. Leave the rest to him, he is that good.

Frees ? Cullen from the left, Keaney from the right. When game opens up then Mossy, Connolly and Vaughan may do damage but they are just not good enough to start. Left hand side of our attack is so weak its not funny ; you have to be either electric or physical and mobile and Mossy and Connolly are neither. We were carrying Connolly, Mossy and Collie the last day from our six forwards and this cannot happen again. All three would be good from the bench and give us options.

Shaugho was class but wouldnt be too worried if Goggins or whoever is in at 4. Just release Griffs and Cahill. Casey has a great heart and gives everything but like Mossy and Connolly, just not good enough. Cullen would be a class centre forward and would also kick a few scores per game. Bonner would do the donkey work which so often goes unnoticed. But what a full forward line ; if they get ball........... mayhem ! Very strong team physically up the middle, leaders in the right positions and all in all I'd love to see this starting 15. What you think boys ? Don't even try and tell me its not ar better then what started last Sunday's game !

Had to rub my eyes to then read it again -then i remembered it came from hoganstand and i brightened up again.

Point 1- griffin has been struggling but shocko has played absolutely no intercounty football this season-absolutely none. Now i wouldn't necessarily agree with that but this ain't a game for someone making their first start of the year. You could do it against one of the lesser lights in Leinster but not meath.
Point 2 Johnny Magee can't run anymore. In the wide open spaces of Croke park he'd be pissed on. You could use him for 15-20 mins or against someone like armagh but there is no way you'd get away with him on sunday in 22-23 degrees. Not  a prayer.

Point3- whelan has never been effective anywhere bar midfield- so i'm not going to elaborate on that because it shouldn't require elaboration.

Point 4- i don't think bonner is  ahalf forward- he doesn't play there at club level and i don't think he'd be any more effective than collie moran. He's not particularily quick although he'd win afew kickouts. unconvinced of that move to be honest.

Point 5- cullen has never taken frees even in a league game - i don;t think sunday is the place to start. Anyway vaughan is starting on sunday and kicking the frees. Just for the record on Connolly- he's actually the fastest dublin forward- timed so to say he sin't quick is bullshit. It was probbaly too soon for him the last day-he's only 19 and the day got to him a bit. Would consider moving cullen but personally i'd tell him to play  a different role at 6 which the dublin managment aren't  or seem incapable of him instructing him. Mossie is our best goal scorer -so i don't see the sense in dropping him - we won't outpoint meath and he's our best goal poacher. I think meath are ropey in the full back line.

Point 6 -jayo isn't fit- i'd play him at 11 if fit but you pick your best 2 midfielders and don't accomodate the other because you feel you have to.That team would be tanked on sunday- i'd put a mortgage on it.
Title: Re:
Post by: joemamas on June 13, 2007, 01:20:44 AM
is the game on setanta ,
Post by: Hound on June 13, 2007, 07:22:30 AM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on June 12, 2007, 09:41:57 AM

I wouldnt be adverse to bringing in Shocko and playing Griffin at 7. Griffin is class, and I disagree about some people's views that he's playing poorly. He was our second best back the last day.

Cahill on the other hand has been shíte this year. Brennan should be in ahead of him.

As for the ball winners - how many balls did Shane and Darren win last time? Not many, and none respectively. Shane's a great man for getting free and winning ball that way - but if we're looking to win 50/50 ball in the centre of the field, Whelan is the only man we have. Magee can sometimes have days when he catches a lot of ball (tho was cleaned by Ward last day) but even in those good days he manages to drop the ball most of the time within 3 seconds of catching it.

Quote from: INDIANA on June 12, 2007, 02:46:47 PM
Anyway vaughan is starting on sunday and kicking the frees. Just for the record on Connolly- he's actually the fastest dublin forward- timed so to say he sin't quick is bullshit. It was probbaly too soon for him the last day-he's only 19 and the day got to him a bit.
Are you sure about Vaughan starting ahead of Connolly (I would have thought it'd be Cosgrove, but I'd like to see Vaughan in)? The same 15 has been named as last time, not that that means a whole heap. Of course that brings us back to if Vaughan is good enough to start this time, why wasnt he good enough to get 10 or 15 mins the last day?

I find it hard to bellieve Connolly is the fastest man on the Dublin team. Depends on the distance I suppose. And in fairness he has the languid loppy style that maybe makes him look less pacy than he is.
Post by: Stagmeister on June 13, 2007, 07:42:06 AM
Dublin have named the same 15 that started against Meath in the drawn encounter for Sunday's Leinster SFC quarter-final replay in Croke Park (4.15).

DUBLIN (SF v Meath): S Cluxton; D Henry, R McConnell, P Griffin; P Casey, B Cullen, B Cahill; C Whelan, D Magee; C Moran, S Ryan, D Connolly; C Keaney, A Brogan, T Quinn.
Post by: Davitt Man on June 13, 2007, 08:27:59 AM
Quote from: Stagmeister on June 12, 2007, 02:40:28 PM
Yeah Keith Barr knows his stuff alright...I regularly read his articles and he always seems to be spot on with his analysis.

I dunno Keith Barr can be a bit off the wall at times, i dont agree with him putting barry cahill corner back, Cahill is too big to be a corner man and would get skinned in there, they tried him at full back last year and that didnt work out for him so why keith barr reckons he would be a good corner man is beyond me.
Post by: Gnevin on June 13, 2007, 09:26:47 AM
Quote from: Stagmeister on June 13, 2007, 07:42:06 AM
Dublin have named the same 15 that started against Meath in the drawn encounter for Sunday's Leinster SFC quarter-final replay in Croke Park (4.15).

DUBLIN (SF v Meath): S Cluxton; D Henry, R McConnell, P Griffin; P Casey, B Cullen, B Cahill; C Whelan, D Magee; C Moran, S Ryan, D Connolly; C Keaney, A Brogan, T Quinn.
Am not impressed with this team i thought  Moran was terrible last time ,  Connolly struggled and the half back where poor .
I can't belive their is no place for Vaughan , B Brogan or Shocko . Play crap and be 100% sure of your place some system
Post by: Stagmeister on June 13, 2007, 09:33:57 AM
Quote from: Davitt Man on June 13, 2007, 08:27:59 AM
I dunno Keith Barr can be a bit off the wall at times, i dont agree with him putting barry cahill corner back, Cahill is too big to be a corner man and would get skinned in there, they tried him at full back last year and that didnt work out for him so why keith barr reckons he would be a good corner man is beyond me.

I wouldnt play Cahill corner back either...dont think its that off the wall a statement though, the fact he didnt cut it at full back wouldnt have any bearing on how he might perform in the corner though as they are totally different positions. I'd agree with everything else Barr said in that article though and with most stuff he writes in general.
Post by: Hardy on June 13, 2007, 09:42:23 AM
I'm happy with that team!

It looks like a vote of misplaced confidence in an outfit that struggled in nearly every line last week. Are they happy that they've dealt with the capability of all of Geraghty, Sheridan and Farrell to win their own ball in front of the goals? Have they dealt with the hole on the middle of the defence? How are the two midfielders who couldn't cope with Mark Ward last week going to manage it this time? Has Connolly now been blooded and is he ready to deliver a performance on Sunday that justifies keeping B. Brogan, Vaughan and Bonner out of the team?

And above all else, the Dublin management have shown their lack of a clue in persisting without a reliable free-taker. Vaughan should be in the team for the one reason that he's the nearest thing to a reliable free-taker in the panel. Whatever happens on Sunday, no team can go all the way without a 90% reliable free-taker. Even if Quinn were to slot 10 out of 10 this week (and we know he won't – it'll be x out of x in the first half and 0 out of y when the fat is in the fire) he's not the man for the job, long term.
Post by: Davitt Man on June 13, 2007, 09:44:59 AM
Quote from: Stagmeister on June 13, 2007, 09:33:57 AM
Quote from: Davitt Man on June 13, 2007, 08:27:59 AM

I wouldnt play Cahill corner back either...dont think its that off the wall a statement though, the fact he didnt cut it at full back wouldnt have any bearing on how he might perform in the corner though as they are totally different positions. I'd agree with everything else Barr said in that article though and with most stuff he writes in general.

I didnt say that was an off the wall statement i meant in general he can be off the wall, the few times i have read his articles he takes the lazy option and just has a go at mangement and the players.

Totally different positions i agree but you need one thing in both positions and that is speed off the spot which i dont think Cahill has and the way modern day football is played full fowards and corner forwards are nearly the same apart from kerry so if Cahill was full back he would struggle against small nippy forwards at full forward (like he did last year) and corner forwards.
Post by: Stagmeister on June 13, 2007, 09:56:14 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on June 13, 2007, 09:26:47 AM
Am not impressed with this team i thought  Moran was terrible last time ,  Connolly struggled and the half back where poor .
I can't belive their is no place for Vaughan , B Brogan or Shocko . Play crap and be 100% sure of your place some system

Totally agree with you...Not impressed either.
Would also like to see Vaughan, Brogan and shaughnessy given a run.
Both Vaughan and B Brogan have way more scoring potential than Moran, Dublins forward line is weak enough without playing defenders in it.
If keaney has an off day this wkend which he is prone to having now and again that puts a serious amt of pressure on A Brogan and Quinn to perform because I cant see where else the scores are coming from unless Connolly can improve considerably from last weeks display.

Sick of hearing about how good Vaughan and B Brogan are supposed to be and never seeing them get there chance.
Obviously no one knows if they are good enough for Senior inter county but there's only one way to find out, thought this wkend was a great opportunity to throw them both in.
Vaughan is 22 now and has been on the panel for 3 yrs...think he's only started 2 championship games in that time...
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 13, 2007, 10:00:24 AM
Barry Cahill does a good job at corner back - think it or even full back are his best positions for Dublin (maybe midfield too....but thats a diff argument).
Cannot believe Dublin named the same side. Am hoping they dont line out that way and its just a ploy by caffrey - but I doubt it
Post by: Gnevin on June 13, 2007, 10:07:00 AM
Quote from: Stagmeister on June 13, 2007, 09:56:14 AM

Vaughan is 22 now and has been on the panel for 3 yrs...think he's only started 2 championship games in that time...

The management will do what they did last year and give him no games then unfairly through him on in a panic situation where we are desperate for scores and he's not match fit
Post by: Davitt Man on June 13, 2007, 10:09:38 AM
Quote from: Stagmeister on June 13, 2007, 09:56:14 AM

Totally agree with you...Not impressed either.
Would also like to see Vaughan, Brogan and shaughnessy given a run.
Both Vaughan and B Brogan have way more scoring potential than Moran, Dublins forward line is weak enough without playing defenders in it.
If keaney has an off day this wkend which he is prone to having now and again that puts a serious amt of pressure on A Brogan and Quinn to perform because I cant see where else the scores are coming from unless Connolly can improve considerably from last weeks display.

Sick of hearing about how good Vaughan and B Brogan are supposed to be and never seeing them get there chance.
Obviously no one knows if they are good enough for Senior inter county but there's only one way to find out, thought this wkend was a great opportunity to throw them both in.

biggest mistake this year, making Collie Moran captain so more than likely he is going to get his place everyday,Mayo made the same mistake making Chucky captain even though he isnt guaranteed a spot on the starting 15

Connolly looked too laid back the last day but that was his 1st c\ship start and so he should have learnt that the pace of c\ship football is alot different to league football so give him another chance and see how he does.

My biggest worry if i was a dub is the full back spot, trying to convert a midfielder into a full back isnt the awnser but RMC seems to be the only answer dublin have at the moment. Mayo tried to convert a midfielder into a full back (kilcullen) and in the league semi final he was hauled off after 20mins rather harshly and we havent seen him since. And now we are back at square 1 with another midfielder (Heaney) playing at 3.

The best way for Dublin to beat Meath is to do a meath on it and let every ball go long and fast into brogan and keaney, they had the meath full back line under serious pressure early on the last day.
Post by: Gnevin on June 13, 2007, 10:12:29 AM
Quote from: Davitt Man on June 13, 2007, 10:09:38 AM
The best way for Dublin to beat Meath is to do a meath on it and let every ball go long and fast into brogan and keaney, they had the meath full back line under serious pressure early on the last day.
Yeah when they where poxy playing at full forward then the musicial chairs begins and everyone moves out of position.

The players really must be tired of this "system" by now 
Post by: Stagmeister on June 13, 2007, 10:22:00 AM
biggest mistake this year, making Collie Moran captain so more than likely he is going to get his place everyday,Mayo made the same mistake making Chucky captain even though he isnt guaranteed a spot on the starting 15

Connolly looked too laid back the last day but that was his 1st c\ship start and so he should have learnt that the pace of c\ship football is alot different to league football so give him another chance and see how he does.

That seems to be Connollys biggest problem, too laid back and finds it hard to keep his concentration for the 70 mins...He didnt perform at all the last day so on form he prob deserved to be dropped but I think they are prob right to give him another go...there's no point giving a young fella his debut and dropping him after one game if he plays bad, its gonna take them a few games to get the feel of it so you just have to show a bit of faith in them for 2 to 3 games if at all possible.

Thats what they did to Vaughan last yr...dropped him after the longford game even though he didnt even play that badly...these sort of players need to be given a proper run in the team to see whether they are up to it or not.
Post by: Davitt Man on June 13, 2007, 10:25:40 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on June 13, 2007, 10:12:29 AM
Yeah when they where poxy playing at full forward then the musicial chairs begins and everyone moves out of position.

The players really must be tired of this "system" by now 

Ya the musical chairs system is a joke, leave brogan keaney and mossie close to goal and let the half forwards play musical chairs, the dublin half forward line is very weak, no real scoring threat there at all, need to get jayo back fast where he can direct the play from the 40.
Post by: darbyo on June 13, 2007, 10:29:25 AM
I don't think that the Dublin team named will actually start. Unless the management have no faith in the subs to perform at this level then I can't see the reason for persisting with the same 15. Making Moran captain was a poor move alright, just can't see Dublin winning Sam with that half forward or half back line.
Post by: Stagmeister on June 13, 2007, 10:53:16 AM
I dont think they really rotated the forward line in the first game at all, not to the extent they were last year anyway...Brogan and Keaney seemed to be staying in close enough to the goal for the whole game...
They miss Jayo big time...he's the brains of the operation...always seems to pick the right pass out.

Hopefully they will give Connolly a go with the frees this wkend...I know its a lot for him to take on but anythings better than Mossie who'll miss at least one for each he scores
Post by: magpie seanie on June 13, 2007, 11:05:44 AM
If that Dublin team starts then Pillar is a bigger fool than I thought he was. Surely that's just a line they're feeding Meath.
Post by: Hound on June 13, 2007, 12:27:08 PM
I doubt he's even picked the team yet. May not do so until Sunday morning to give Sherlock and Bonner as much time as possible to get fit.  The team issued was purely for the purposes of having something in the programme. Caffrey has done the same regularly in his tenure. In saying that, if those lads dont make it, I wouldnt be shocked to see the same 15 line-out again. Disappointed, but not shocked. Its not actually a bad team - even though it looked like one for the final 50 minutes of the first game!

Plenty of big decisions for Caffrey to make.

Full back.
The McConnell experiment seemed to be abandoned in the second half last time, when Ross played more in the half back line than the full back line. Does he try it one more time? Does he just play 3 corner backs (which will work fine when a team plays 2 in the FF line as many do) and let Henry continue on Geraghty? Does he revert to Barry Cahill, who I believe was actually improving as a full back last year? Paddy Christie?

Bryan Cullen
Centre back or half forward? We saw how he was taken out of the game by following Kevin Reilly to the sideline for most of the match. Maybe he should be told to hold his position. Some people say Cullen is "too loose" for centre back, and IMO the only evidence for saying that was the time we played Mayo is Parnell Park and McDonald went roaming and Cullen held his position. I remember Cullen getting dogs abuse for that, despite it being a management decision and Cullen actually having a very good game, inlcuidng scoring a critical monster point late on. Its not an easy question to answer when the centre forward goes roaming. I suppose you could say that if its a McDonald someone needs to follow him, if its a Reilly its more important not to leave a hole in the middle. I think Cullen is too good a point scorer to keep him away from the forwards. I think if you swapped Cullen and Moran you'd improve the team. I can't remember Moran having a bad game for Dublin at half back. Its rare when he has a good one at half forward.

Midfield
I'd love to drop Darren Magee, on the basis that you can't play as badly as he did without suffering consequences. Maybe Pillar's given him a roasting these last two weeks and he'll come out all guns blazing to rectify matters, but I'd love to see McConnell get a chance in his proper position.

Free-taking
I don't know that Vaughan or Connolly would be any more reliable than Quinn. Mossy is a lovely footballer with ball in hand, and would probably improve further if the pressure of free-taking was taken off him. Although again it wouldnt be unfair to drop him based on his general performance last time. Its an awful pity that for various reasons Vaughan has never had a proper run of games in the league - so nobody has any clue still whether he's up to intercounty or not.

Post by: The Hill is Blue on June 13, 2007, 12:34:06 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 13, 2007, 09:42:23 AM
I'm happy with that team!

It looks like a vote of misplaced confidence in an outfit that struggled in nearly every line last week. Are they happy that they've dealt with the capability of all of Geraghty, Sheridan and Farrell to win their own ball in front of the goals? Have they dealt with the hole on the middle of the defence? How are the two midfielders who couldn't cope with Mark Ward last week going to manage it this time? Has Connolly now been blooded and is he ready to deliver a performance on Sunday that justifies keeping B. Brogan, Vaughan and Bonner out of the team?

And above all else, the Dublin management have shown their lack of a clue in persisting without a reliable free-taker. Vaughan should be in the team for the one reason that he's the nearest thing to a reliable free-taker in the panel. Whatever happens on Sunday, no team can go all the way without a 90% reliable free-taker. Even if Quinn were to slot 10 out of 10 this week (and we know he won't – it'll be x out of x in the first half and 0 out of y when the fat is in the fire) he's not the man for the job, long term.

You've left a few hostages to fortune there, Hardy. It seems that all Meath will have to do is turn up.

Roll on Sunday.  ;D
Post by: Hardy on June 13, 2007, 12:51:08 PM
In a way you're right, HIB. If we just turn up and play well, that's all that's expected. It's a most unusual background for a Dublin-Meath encounter, but given where we're trying to climb out of, if we don't get beaten by much by the overwhelming favourites for Leinster and the strong fancies for the AI title, that will represent progress and we'll go into the qualifiers happy and confident. All the pressure is on Dublin. And any tiny little contribution I can make to increase that pressure, I'm more than happy to!
Post by: INDIANA on June 13, 2007, 12:57:56 PM
In a way you're right, HIB. If we just turn up and play well, that's all that's expected. It's a most unusual background for a Dublin-Meath encounter, but given where we're trying to climb out of, if we don't get beaten by much by the overwhelming favourites for Leinster and the strong fancies for the AI title, that will represent progress and we'll go into the qualifiers happy and confident. All the pressure is on Dublin. And any tiny little contribution I can make to increase that pressure, I'm more than happy to!  

wouldn't agree -this idea a team has nothing to lose is bullshit. everyone expects meath to perform on sunday the last day they didn't because everyone said they were a div 2 outfit- i think there is huge pressue on meath on sunday to see if they can step up to the plate and put back to back performances together.
This sunday their support expect - two weeks ago they hoped- there is a big difference.

Post by: Billys Boots on June 13, 2007, 01:00:10 PM
Quotethis idea a team has nothing to lose is bullshit

It must be great to know everything Yoda!
Post by: Star Spangler on June 13, 2007, 01:02:29 PM
QuoteAll the pressure is on Dublin.

A Meath win so!  :D
Post by: Hound on June 13, 2007, 01:22:06 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 13, 2007, 12:51:08 PM
Hardy, we've moved on from the first game. We're talking about the replay here.
Post by: Hardy on June 13, 2007, 02:24:18 PM
Great scrambling to try and distribute the pressure, lads but it's plain as the frown on Pillar's face where the pressure is concentrated. THe Meath team, management and supporters are going around with grins on their faces, just happy to be the thorn in Dublin's side again. Don't get me wrong – we fully expect to do the job this time but if we don't there'll be nothing but satisfaction at a good start for the new management and eager anticipation of the qualifiers.

No public recriminations, no media inquests, no accusations of lack of bottle, no pressure on management to deliver or quit, no expectation from supporters to be continually acknowledged as part of the team and saluted from the pitch, no nagging doubts, no jitters, no yips standing over the free, no haunting foreboding when the team takes the lead that it's just certain to be hauled back (again), no glum, scowling, anxiety-contorted faces.

No pressure.
Post by: Stagmeister on June 13, 2007, 02:58:12 PM
I suppose your right Hardy Dublin would be going in to this game under more pressure than Meath...but I dont think the pressure is going to have any bearing on the outcome of the game because at the end of the day Dublin know that if they play to about 80% of their potential they should win the game with two or three points to spare where as Meath need to perform at their best to have any chance of winning

Also whichever 1 of the dublin defenders sees that tub of lard Joe Sheridan waiting for them on the pitch Sunday def wont be feeling the pressure...they'll be thinkin more along the lines of This is my lucky day!!

BTW good luck in the qualifiers seeing as your already consigned to defeat...back to scraping past the likes of leitrim after extra time, ye really showed ye're bottle in that tight win if only the dubs were capable of pulling off such impressive victorys!!
Post by: Hardy on June 13, 2007, 03:04:43 PM

As I was saying ...
Post by: The Hill is Blue on June 13, 2007, 03:20:52 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 13, 2007, 02:24:18 PM
– we fully expect to do the job this time but if we don't there'll be nothing but satisfaction at a good start for the new management and eager anticipation of the qualifiers.

That's how Luke Dempsey felt about Longford's moral victory against the Dubs last year.

One swallow does not a summer make.

Post by: Hardy on June 13, 2007, 03:36:10 PM
But one more stumble can a summer ruin. 

(Just keeping that pressure on  :)).
Post by: Star Spangler on June 13, 2007, 03:38:27 PM
Interesting reading.  As a neutral I can see the badly hidden nervousness in the posts by the Dublin supporters and this tells me this could be a game not to miss on tv!
Post by: Stagmeister on June 13, 2007, 03:43:21 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 13, 2007, 03:36:10 PM
But one more stumble can a summer ruin. 

(Just keeping that pressure on  :)).

It would actually take two more stumbles to ruin the summer with the qualifiers in operation
Post by: Declan on June 13, 2007, 03:44:51 PM
Watched the first game again last night. Brolly and O'Rourke went for Meath in the replay on the basis of same old Dublin and it's hard to blame them. I disagree with them though - Dublin by 2
Post by: dubsnsubs on June 13, 2007, 04:35:30 PM
Analysis of the Dublin team v Meath........
Stephen Cluxton....Dodgy Temprement, poor under high ball, poor kick outs.
David Henry...Not tight enough, driven by revenge for the two thumps, not a real corner back.
Ross McConnell..Inexperienced, not a real full back, not a good man marker.
Paul Griffin...Nowhere near Bray for his 3 points last match. Going through rough patch. Not good.
Paul Casey...Not a footballer. Cant pass. Should be replaced.
Bryan Cullen.. Not a great centre back. Found wanting last 3 games in Croker. Dodgy.
Barry Cahill..Hasnt shone in HB line. Probably should be on subs bench.
Ciaran Whelan..Too tempremental. Drifts in and out of games. Past his sell by date.
Darren Magee..Too slow, not up to pace of Champo, leaves too much to Whelo.
Collie Moran.. Converted HB. Does'nt score enough. Not captain material.
Shane Ryan...Not a forward. Cant shoot better suited to HB line or midfield.
Diarmuid Connolly...Too young and inexperienced, probably should'nt start, wont score enough.
Conal Keaney...Really a converted hurler, should score more goals, has had bad days.
Alan Brogan...Too selfish, does'nt score enough, cheats for his goals, does'nt look up.
Mossy Quinn...Cant take frees, drifts in and out of games, has been found wanting on big occassion.
Management...Dont react quick enough, dodgy team selections.

Prediction......Dubs to win by 5 or 6!
Post by: Hardy on June 13, 2007, 04:39:21 PM
Post by: INDIANA on June 13, 2007, 07:01:21 PM
Great scrambling to try and distribute the pressure, lads but it's plain as the frown on Pillar's face where the pressure is concentrated. THe Meath team, management and supporters are going around with grins on their faces, just happy to be the thorn in Dublin's side again. Don't get me wrong – we fully expect to do the job this time but if we don't there'll be nothing but satisfaction at a good start for the new management and eager anticipation of the qualifiers.

Satisfaction at getting beaten? Jesus how the mighty have fallen. Shit or burst for both teams on sunday-the losers are out of the all-ireland race because neither will emerge from the backdoor-that  i will guarantee. Meath can play the PR game but their public expect on sunday and getting beaten by dublin won't be acceptable (unless meath are going soft compared to previous teams)
Post by: Gnevin on June 13, 2007, 07:15:13 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 13, 2007, 07:01:21 PM

Satisfaction at getting beaten? Jesus how the mighty have fallen. Shit or burst for both teams on sunday-the losers are out of the all-ireland race because neither will emerge from the backdoor-that  i will guarantee. Meath can play the PR game but their public expect on sunday and getting beaten by dublin won't be acceptable (unless meath are going soft compared to previous teams)
They've got soft Indiana , they didn't even try to get Whelo sent off the last time ,afraid to start on him :P
Post by: INDIANA on June 13, 2007, 07:20:45 PM
true mind you with some of the rumours i've heard coming out of the dublin camp this week- you'd wonder how  much chance we have-some of them quite unbelievable-if true.
Post by: Hardy on June 13, 2007, 07:59:55 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 13, 2007, 07:01:21 PM
Satisfaction at getting beaten? Jesus how the mighty have fallen ...

Indeed we have. Haven't you noticed – we've not been around for a few years while you've been making non-stop headlines, almost winning this and nearly winning that and favourites to win the other, which you would have but for unluckily losing imposing leads, a few times.

We're a Division 2 team now, you see. No expectations. No pressure. Our carefree youngsters have no idea what it must be like to have the weight of a capital's expectations on their shoulders and the pressure of a demanding media, prying into every slip, analysing every miss, probing every management mistake.

We might be coming back, though and that's great, for now. No pressure on us. We're here to enjoy ourselves. ;D
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 13, 2007, 08:34:49 PM
The Meath support seems to have been quite poor this last few years, any sign of it returning for Sunday? Surely a county like Meath should be able to get 25-30000 for a match like this. Its very hard to call again on Sunday but I think Meath will do it. With there top scoring forward back its a potent full forward line. Not totally convinced by Joe Sheridan in the full forward line, would Ward be the better option? Who will Farrell come in for? Meath do seem to have good options at the minute in the forwards.
Post by: Hound on June 13, 2007, 09:30:28 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 13, 2007, 07:20:45 PM
true mind you with some of the rumours i've heard coming out of the dublin camp this week- you'd wonder how  much chance we have-some of them quite unbelievable-if true.
Well spill the beans Indi. Nothing like a good ole rumour , even if nothing to substantiate it.
Post by: ExiledGael on June 13, 2007, 09:39:33 PM
Air the washing Indiana!
Post by: INDIANA on June 13, 2007, 10:50:37 PM
allegedly and i emphasiase allegedly- vaughan was selected and the players vetoed it so now he isn't playing.
I don't for one minute believe it - but some people's sources (good ones) claim it's a fact and are pretty adamant about it.
I only hope it's part of the bullshit hype that follows the dublin football team.
I would say from the way they have been lining out in training -the team selected will be different. I can't believe that the above could be possibly true- so i refuse to believe it.
Because if it is we're f*****.
Post by: Hound on June 14, 2007, 08:35:14 AM
I wonder is Clontarf's Kevin Leahy anywhere near a call-up...

10 points in the Leinster Junior quarter-final including 9 frees.
8 points in the Leinster Junior semi-final including 3 frees and 1 45.

Obviously a completely different level, but clearly he knows where the posts are. Having said that I'd prefer to see Vaughan and/or Brogan getting runs.
Post by: Hound on June 14, 2007, 08:52:32 AM
Good rumour Indiana! Trouble in the camp! Players revolt! Selectors lose authority!

On the other hand, if it is true that Caffrey wants to start Vaughan, then it does make sense not to name him in the team as if he was named, most of the focus would be on him in the lead-up to the game.

Darren Magee hurt his wrist in training this week and went for an X-Ray, so is a doubtful starter.
Post by: Declan on June 14, 2007, 08:58:22 AM
Hound is Leahy not a Kickhams man? Impressive return alright.
Rumours/leaks from squads are part and parcel of the talk in every county so wouldn't concern myself with any of that ould nonsense. 
Post by: northsideboy on June 14, 2007, 09:37:54 AM
He was a Clontarf player alright who transferred northwestwards to the Mun.
Post by: Hound on June 14, 2007, 09:39:51 AM
Didnt realise he'd transferred.  With Kickhams being a senior team, this'll be the last year he's eiligible for the Dublin juniors so.
Post by: INDIANA on June 14, 2007, 10:21:56 AM
he's obviously playing well. and he's a good player
he hasn't shown much though in the senior club championship -needs to do something there.
wicklow were incredibly poor lads
Post by: Hound on June 14, 2007, 12:37:24 PM
Brian Talty says there's nothing wrong with Magee that he knows of and that barring a miracle Sherlock and Bonner will not make the bench on Sunday
Post by: agorm on June 14, 2007, 01:16:44 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on June 13, 2007, 08:34:49 PM
The Meath support seems to have been quite poor this last few years, any sign of it returning for Sunday? Surely a county like Meath should be able to get 25-30000 for a match like this. Its very hard to call again on Sunday but I think Meath will do it. With there top scoring forward back its a potent full forward line. Not totally convinced by Joe Sheridan in the full forward line, would Ward be the better option? Who will Farrell come in for? Meath do seem to have good options at the minute in the forwards.

it's hard to bring 25K people when we only get 8K tickets! Tickets seem to be even more difficult to get for this one. For games like this there should be no tickets going to Ticketmaster and any tickets sent through Leinster Council should only be to people that have a record of purchase in previous games. It's galling that there were 4K empty seats the last day and many people could not get tickets.

The 82K tickets should break down something like this
Dublin 20K
Meath 15K
Louth 15K
Wexford 15K
Remainder to Leinster Council etc etc.

Post by: Dinny Breen on June 14, 2007, 01:34:14 PM
QuoteMeath 15K

Hardly fair to the Dubs considering Meath only sold approx 4000 tickets for the Kildare game. Why should the Meath bandwagon be catered for ahead of Dublin supporters who regularly filled Croke Park since 2000?
Post by: Hardy on June 14, 2007, 02:07:25 PM
Agorm - emailed you there.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on June 14, 2007, 02:14:41 PM
Quote from: agorm on June 14, 2007, 01:16:44 PM

it's hard to bring 25K people when we only get 8K tickets! Tickets seem to be even more difficult to get for this one. For games like this there should be no tickets going to Ticketmaster and any tickets sent through Leinster Council should only be to people that have a record of purchase in previous games. It's galling that there were 4K empty seats the last day and many people could not get tickets.

Dublin 20K
Meath 15K
Louth 15K
Wexford 15K

On what basis at all can you argue for that split of tickets?????

Population base - No
Player base - No
Attendance at previous matches - No
Post by: Declan on June 14, 2007, 02:17:20 PM
QuoteTickets seem to be even more difficult to get for this one

Correct. I know that our club had requests for about 250 and when I was last speaking to Sec was told that they only expected to get about 100!!!
Post by: darbyo on June 14, 2007, 02:35:50 PM
QuoteFor games like this there should be no tickets going to Ticketmaster and any tickets sent through Leinster Council should only be to people that have a record of purchase in previous games. It's galling that there were 4K empty seats the last day and many people could not get tickets.

100% correct, is it not possible for the name, address and number of tickets of the purchaser to be recorded by each county?. This would then be kept on a central database in headquarters, so when tickets are allocated to the county the most loyal supporters are contacted and offered the best tickets. this would have the added benefit of encouraging people to attend league and 1st round championship games to give themselves the best chance of getting a ticket to the big games.
Post by: Tankie on June 14, 2007, 07:39:13 PM
Quote from: agorm on June 14, 2007, 01:16:44 PM

Dublin 20K
Meath 15K
Louth 15K
Wexford 15K

Thats a crazy breakdown, i think that this would be more fair and realistic:

Dublin 45K
Meath 10K
Louth 5K
Wexford 8K
Post by: Hardy on June 15, 2007, 08:11:19 AM
The Meath team is announced - Brian Farrell named at no. 15, GG at no.10, at the expense of Peter Curran. No other changes.
Post by: Hound on June 15, 2007, 09:34:49 AM
I would have put Wexford as the worst supported football team (in numbers attending terms) that competes in Leinster.

Well it seems GG is fit enough to play in the half forward line. Good news and bad news - he'll be more involved but further away from the goals. I'd imagine Barry Cahill will be the man with the job of curtailing his influence.
Post by: Sky Blue on June 15, 2007, 09:48:51 AM
A senior double header makes no sense to anyone. The should have put a ladies game or a minor match on before the big one. Louth-Wexford would be better suited to Portlaois or Tullamore. You'll find that 20,000 Dubs will miss the match. Now how on God's Earth does that promot the GAA in the Capital? I just can't understand what the GAA are trying to achieve sometime. Complete maddness!
Post by: Hardy on June 15, 2007, 09:53:47 AM
Quote from: Hound on June 15, 2007, 09:34:49 AM
Well it seems GG is fit enough to play in the half forward line. Good news and bad news - he'll be more involved but further away from the goals. I'd imagine Barry Cahill will be the man with the job of curtailing his influence.

I always preferred to see him in the half forward line myself - always thought he was more dangerous and gave more options when running at the defence. But, for this game, I think it would have been better to leave him on the edge of the square, as he showed he can win his ball there against the Dublin full back line, score goals, cause penalty-conceding panic, break ball for Farrell and Sheridan and ruffle ( :)) the corner back, who might feel he needs to prove something and get a card or two in the process.

It might happen anyway. The announced positions are just numbers on the programme. And it might not make sense to place GG at a half forward, given the amount of ground half forwards are expected to cover these days. It might line up as Bray, Reilly, Byrne, Sheridan, Geraghty, Farrell.
Post by: Hardy on June 15, 2007, 10:20:52 AM
I have a spare ticket for Sunday (seated, but don't know location yet) if anyone here is stuck.
Post by: thejuice on June 15, 2007, 11:39:04 AM
The Meath team to play Dublin in Sunday's Leinster SFC replay is as follows

Brendan Murphy

Eoghan Harrington
Darren Fay
Niall McKeigue

Seamus Kenny
Anthony Moyles
Caoimhin King

Mark Ward
Nigel Crawford

Graham Geraghty
Kevin Reilly
Peadar Byrne

Stephen Bray
Joe Sheridan
Brian Farrell

There is one change in personnel from the drawn game.
Brian Farrell returns at the expense of Peter Curran.
Graham Geraghty moves out from the corner to the half-forward
line to facilitate Farrell's return
Post by: magpie seanie on June 15, 2007, 12:18:06 PM
Hardy - nothing I'd like more than to take that ticket off your hands but we have our own fish to fry on Sunday le cunamh Dé. Savage weekend in prospect.
Post by: EannaAbu on June 15, 2007, 01:14:26 PM
cant believe ward didnt get a jersey for sunday after his 5 points the last day
Post by: Hound on June 15, 2007, 02:30:16 PM
Quote from: EannaAbu on June 15, 2007, 01:14:26 PM
cant believe ward didnt get a jersey for sunday after his 5 points the last day
Handy man to have in reserve, and no harm for all the forwards to know there's a man waiting in the wings who'll be brought on sharpish if they don't perform. On the downside, it could affect Ward's morale if he's thinking "what more can I do to get into the team?".
Post by: Louth Exile on June 15, 2007, 10:56:59 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 15, 2007, 09:53:47 AM
It might line up as Bray, Reilly, Byrne, Sheridan, Geraghty, Farrell.

I think you could well be right on this one, I think Bray would be more suited to the wing than the corner myself
Post by: Tatler Jack on June 17, 2007, 05:46:40 PM
Dubs 3 points up with a few minutes left. Think they will hold out.

Now 4 up...Dubs got the last 3 scores

0-16 to 0-12 final score.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 17, 2007, 08:40:18 PM
When is the Offaly/Dublin match
Post by: cill_dara on June 17, 2007, 09:01:00 PM
Next week I think, Pillar was complaining about the 1 week break so presume so!
Post by: Jinxy on June 17, 2007, 09:01:39 PM
Very disappointed with Byrne, King, Ward, Sheridan and Reilly today. The gamble the selectors took in starting Cian Ward didn't pay off. Farrell looked dangerous when he came on. We played the first half effectively with 2 forwards. Stephen Bray however is an absolute legend. Didn't deserve to be on the losing team today. Qualifier draw should be very interesting. I think we need to draw one of the big guns first off. We also need Kenny back. Badly missed today.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 17, 2007, 09:02:20 PM
Ah yeah sure you can't have the mighty Dubs playing two weeks in a row but it's alright for Louth and Wicklow to play 3 weeks in a row ::)
Post by: INDIANA on June 17, 2007, 09:24:56 PM
thought dublin by far the better team and 7-8 points would have been a better reflection of their dominance. i didn't expect dublin to be so dominant and quietly fancied meath. Bt i think meath are probably not as good as i thought they were. Should have started farrell- but bar casey the dublin backs got to grips with the meath forwards with all bar casey outstanding.
I think whelan and ryan won midfield and with vaughan outstanding up front we seemed to have the edge today. The tight finish will stand to dublin i think and it was nice to get one over the old enemy.
Couldn't understand why meath left harrington on vaughan as he was destroyed- mc keigue was destroyed by brogan as well but alan didn't make it tell on the scoreboard. bar the last 5 mins fay dominated keaney but keaney showed his class by being there when dublin needed him. Bray is a real class act -calling into question how casey remained on him for so long.
All in all a good day for dublin- think meath could go well iin the qualifiers but there are some real banana skins in the qualifier draw.
Post by: Hound on June 17, 2007, 10:46:45 PM
First of all Graham Geraghty:
Its one thing having your fancy-dan forward who never lays a hand on anyone having a dive, but when you get a so called hard man getting a push in the chest and going down holding his face and screaming in pretend agony, all you can say is Liar, Cheat, Coward, sc**bag.

Otherwise Meath are definitely a coming team. This will do them the world of good. Theyll be as good as Dublin within 1 to 2 years, and may very well surpass them and kick on to challenge for Sam. Some lovely footballers - but will need Fay to stay on for as long as possible. Legend of a full back.

Disagree with Indiana to a small extent. Just because Bray played great doesnt mean Casey had a bad game. Just like Keaney getting some very important scores over the two games doesnt mean Fay was anything less than super. Dublin defended terrificly to a man. I complained after the first game that Meath were the tougher team who were fighting harder. That certainly wasnt the case this time - every Dub on the pitch fought for their lives, and we can't ask more than that. Quality-wise our passing was often poor. Cullen was dire with ball-in-hand, never seen him waste so much ball - Cahill wasted a lot too, but won a lot more. Whelan won midifeld - those Meath supporters waiting for him to go missing, were left waiting. Ryan was super beside him and it would be a big mistake for Pillar to bring back Magee next time - Darren is perfect sub for the last 15 mins.

Worst game I've ever seen Alan Brogan have. Think the missed goal chance early on affected him. But still he popped up for the insurance point off him weak foot, so I'm hopeful itll be business as usual next time. Great stuff from Keaney, who wasnt having the most influential of games, to grab those two points late on. As for Marko - GENUIS!! I'm sure he'll frustrate as much as inspire, but its clear he has to be our number one man from placed balls.

Well done to Pillar Caffrey for once. Definitely outperformed his opposite number. Coyle made a huge mistake not starting Farrell. And also took off Sheridan way too early - just when Joe looked like he might have a half decent game against the Dubs. Great move by Pillar to move Cullen into a sweeper position with Moran going back to half back. IMO that ensured the Dubs win. Generally the substitutions worked, though I wouldnt have taken Shane off.

Hard to see the Dubs troubling Kerry or Tyrone, but hopefully we'll be as good as anyone else out there.
Post by: INDIANA on June 17, 2007, 10:59:07 PM
Disagree with Indiana to a small extent. Just because Bray played great doesnt mean Casey had a bad game."

generally i agree with most of your views but that's bullshit. A back's contribution is solely derived from the contribution of his direct opponent. Bray scored 4 from play -enough said only playing because Caffrey likes him- it ain't on performance.
I've watched a re-run and casey was roasted. Cahill and cullen got on alot of ball but their distribution at times was dire. but to be fair to both of them they were a hundred times better at getting onto the breaks than the first game.
Post by: agorm on June 17, 2007, 11:55:24 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 17, 2007, 10:46:45 PM
First of all Graham Geraghty:
Its one thing having your fancy-dan forward who never lays a hand on anyone having a dive, but when you get a so called hard man getting a push in the chest and going down holding his face and screaming in pretend agony, all you can say is Liar, Cheat, Coward, sc**bag.

I dont think that you can say that Geraghty should not have gone down He was pushed full force by Whelan after already being knocked off balance. Maybe you were beside the incident and saw him screaming in pretend agony. I was acroos the pitch and did not see that at the time or later on TV. Geraghty is certainly no angel but he is a player some people love to hate. He almost pulled the game out of the hat. Dont forget some of the majestic performances that he has put in against the dubs over the years.
Your other comments regarding Geraghty should be reported to the moderator.

Regarding the game, while dublin deserved to win for someone to say that they were 7/8 points the better team is just laughable. They only pulled away at the end when Meath needed to commit more to attack. A number of incidents could have gone either way and Meath could have drawn level or even gone ahead.

Coyler probably should have started Farrell but hindsight is always so clear. We have a few serious problems. Some of our backs are slow and we missed kenny's ability to win breaking ball. We dont have a centre half forward, also Joe Sheridan really has departed the last chance saloon - he may do well against a lower quality opposition in the qualifiers but against a top level team on a big day he just does not cut the mustard.

he game should bring the dubs on but they do not seem to be able to get a consistency into their performance but will take Offaly quite easily and set up a humdinger of a Leinster final probably against Laois.

Post by: blast05 on June 17, 2007, 11:56:19 PM
Hound, you're well out of line with one personal comment re Geraghty. You should remove it, no need to resort to that level

Edit: i see agorm has already suggested the same.

A couple of comments:
I'd love to warm to the Dubs but just can't seem to.
This shite of standing in front of the Hill (btw, i thought there was supposed to be a flick for ends for the warm up following last year semi - did Meath lose it twice or what ?) turns me off.
The level of booing for opposition frees turns me off and generally by the second half the other teams fans resort to the same level.
The fans that arrive late - like the 2 lads that arrived today after 20 minutes and were completely tanked and sat in front of me and turned giving the fingers and extreme verbals to the Meath folk around me on every Dublin score - turns me off.
The abuse of the "Maor Uisce" by having backroom staff fulfilling the role running on with instructions - effectively Dublin had 2 or 3 runners today - what is the rule on this ? Should Dublin county board not be banned for this ?
Pillar having the young fella beside him on the sideline near fulltime in most matches - doesn't bug me as such but it would annoy me if i was a Dub. Should the county board not be fined for this ?

I've gone in with an open mind to the last 2 games just looking to be entertained and not taking sides but ended up almost hoping Meath would beat them .. and by jaysus that takes extremes.
Anyway, have a sneaking suspicion Offaly will be much more troublesome next week than what is expected. Dublin might not be able to raise themselves to the levels required again so soon in a game they will be red hot favourites for .....

Post by: stephenite on June 18, 2007, 12:07:50 AM
Agreed - take that down re his wife.

Post by: INDIANA on June 18, 2007, 01:22:40 AM
A couple of comments:
This shite of standing in front of the Hill (btw, i thought there was supposed to be a flick for ends for the warm up following last year semi - did Meath lose it twice or what ?) turns me off.
The level of booing for opposition frees turns me off and generally by the second half the other teams fans resort to the same level.
The fans that arrive late - like the 2 lads that arrived today after 20 minutes and were completely tanked and sat in front of me and turned giving the fingers and extreme verbals to the Meath folk around me on every Dublin score - turns me off.
The abuse of the "Maor Uisce" by having backroom staff fulfilling the role running on with instructions - effectively Dublin had 2 or 3 runners today - what is the rule on this ? Should Dublin county board not be banned for this ?
Pillar having the young fella beside him on the sideline near fulltime in most matches - doesn't bug me as such but it would annoy me if i was a Dub. Should the county board not be fined for this ?

I've gone in with an open mind to the last 2 games just looking to be entertained and not taking sides but ended up almost hoping Meath would beat them .. and by jaysus that takes extremes.
Anyway, have a sneaking suspicion Offaly will be much more troublesome next week than what is expected. Dublin might not be able to raise themselves to the levels required again so soon in a game they will be red hot favourites for .....

Again i re-iterate the point that opposition fans are as bad and if you want to be selective in your judgement then it says more about your intelligence than anyone else. You really are an asshole of the highest order with some of your above comments but i suppose i must make allownaces for the fact that you're a few peas short of  a pod.
As long as we beat offaly i don't care what score it is- after some of the shite we're had to put up with in recent weeks - i'm going to sit back nicely and relax and enjoy and read the comments flooding about how much everyone hates Dublin. And I'll console myself with the fact oh yeah  we  WON.   ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
C'mon you boys in Blue!

Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 18, 2007, 01:26:26 AM
QuoteAgain i re-iterate the point that opposition fans are as bad

No their not The Dubs are the worst every county has them but the Dubs take the biscuit
And no need to tell me about the scary experience  ::) you had at a Laois game 4 years ago you've told me that one on 3 occasions now
Post by: Barney on June 18, 2007, 08:11:44 AM
QuotePillar was complaining about the 1 week break so presume so!

He's going to miss out on the overtime why wouldn't he?

I felt Dublin were 7/8 points a better team. Look at the wide count, they really turned the screw the last twenty minutes of the first half and should have had Meath dead and buried.

Can't figure out Joe Sheridan. He has all the attributes to be a really top player but just seems very lazy. If he comes up against a team like Mayo that make any half decent forward look good he will score big, but can't see it against the big guns.

Dublin should go on to take Leinster and it could be Cork/Kerry in a quarter final which would be the real serious test.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2007, 08:46:56 AM
Never doubted Dublin would win the replay as probably one of the few people in the country I had seen Meath play against Kildare and just don't rate them, they just seem to lack speed, Joe Sheridan been the most obvious example. Dublin yesterday were at least 8 points the better side and it was interesting to see with Keaney and Brogan both subdued, someone else stepped up to the mark, tipped Vaughan for the top about 3 years ago, he has the talent, he just needs the consistency..

Big congrats to the ref yesterday, he fell for one of Moran's dives yesterday but copped on pretty quickly and then turned down 3 dives in a row and should be commended for good reffing, Moran should not be on that Dubln team, he's the worse inter-county captain that I can think of since Ray Silke. GG was pushed to the ground and overacted, not his best moment but was it any worse than Ray Cosgrove last week  ::)

And Dublin supporters, enjoy your win but one thing worse than an ungracious loser is an ungracious winner.
Post by: Sky Blue on June 18, 2007, 08:51:07 AM
I never had any doubt about the outcome! I don't give a flying one for your opinion Dinny Breen. We won well and are as entitled as anyone to celebrate.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2007, 08:58:30 AM
QuoteWe won well and are as entitled as anyone to celebrate.

Of course you are but do it with dignity and stop being so precious....
Post by: his holiness nb on June 18, 2007, 09:03:54 AM
Great win, great confidence boost. But its a long way to go, Offaly will be a serious test and could catch us out.

Regarding all the pre match hullaballoo, it was nice to see the Dubs not coming to the hill to celebrate after the win, they need to get the heads down and not get caught up in the hype and to me it signalled that the first thing they were thinking of after the final whistle was "Offaly".
Ecouraging stuff, but not AI winning level, still a lot of improving to do.
Post by: blast05 on June 18, 2007, 09:38:03 AM
QuoteYou really are an asshole of the highest order with some of your above comments

You're gas - resort to petty little childish stuff if you haven't got the ammunition to counter my points. I suppose its all about reading and interpreting every comment in a certain way in order to develop a seige mentality in your mind ... whatever does it for you.
At least you've given me a laugh early on a Monday morning.
Watch the video and tell me at what stage of the match the Meath supporters en masse started booing the Dublin frees - about halfway through the 2nd half i made it. Dublin en masse were at it from the first Meath free. I won't bother re-iterating the other points i made.

Quotebut i suppose i must make allownaces for the fact that you're a few peas short of  a pod.

Figure out how to use the quote button before making comments like that  ::)

For the record, my support of the Dubs is a bit like my support of the Corrib gas project, i want them to win despite knowing such a wish is going against my better instincts.

Post by: Maximus Marillius on June 18, 2007, 09:38:48 AM
Listen to the punters on the Sunday Game talking up the Dubs as serious contenders...I just had to laugh...Meath are a division two team...the Duds could only draw with them and then it took until the last five minutes in the replay to put them away. No Sam in Dublin this season again....which is a pity...for the Dubs bring a special atmosphere to Croke Park
Post by: INDIANA on June 18, 2007, 09:42:10 AM
Of course you are but do it with dignity and stop being so precious...."

fed up with the sort of unwarranted abuse we get on a daily basis here - some people like that tulip  post just to wind us up with  no comment on the game itself- is it any wonder.don't bother re-iterating the point blast- there is no need to make yourself look like an ungrateful plonker twice.
As for All-Ireland contenders i never said we were - i still wodn't look beyond kerry and tyrone
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on June 18, 2007, 09:56:48 AM
Good win for Dublin in the type of game they required.....winning but the opposition closing at the end before pulling away....great free taking by Vaughan who also played well in open play....Whelan eclipsed Ward in midfield today and we won far more breaking ball - I thought Moran and Cahill seemed to win a lot of this....
Good to also see us winning without Brogan/Keaney playing well also...

I wouldn't rush out to anoint Tyrone yet as they had 1 good performance against a Donegal team who totally lost shape/control....
Post by: blast05 on June 18, 2007, 10:00:53 AM
Quotere-iterating the point blast- there is no need to make yourself look like an ungrateful plonker twice

Oh i see, my crime is that i am ungrateful to the Dubs for bringing so much drama, excitement, colour, passion, etc to the championship given that they are the only team that are capable of doing this

And again i say, its easier to make childish comments to enhance the siege mentality than to actually counter the points i make
Post by: Declan on June 18, 2007, 10:59:03 AM
Satisfactory win yesterday and for a change it was good to see Dublin score the last few points in a tight game.Fair play to Vaughan even after missing his first free. Brogan's confidence seemed to go through the floor after the goal miss and as someone said earlier was as poor as a I can remember him in the last couple of years. However bandwagon rolls on till sunday.
On a separate note can the guards or stewards not do anything about the dopeheads openly smoking joints in the stands. In a family section yesterday - Lower Canal and 3 buckos puffing away merrily but nothing done about it. Only saving grace is that they were too relaxed to be concerned with what was going on!!
Post by: Hardy on June 18, 2007, 11:31:51 AM
Well-deserved win for Dublin and they will see the manner of the win as a big monkey off their backs. That could be very important to them in the rest of the campaign. Like most people here, though, I just don't think they have the quality to go all he way.

As regards Meath's performance I'm happy enough, though disappointed at the performance on the sideline. Yesterday has dented confidence that was growing in the sharpness and shrewdness of the management. Nothing was done about the struggling midfield. I didn't think it was a case of clear dominance of the two Dublin midfielders over our two – I thought all four played well, Dublin's slightly better. The difference was our complete failure with breaking ball and the difference there was the absence of Kenny. We should have done more to make it harder in there by bringing more bodies into that area.

And I can't fathom why, having put Geraghty on the edge of the square because we knew he would win ball against Henry every time, we then failed to use the tactic and starved him of the one-on-one contests that he was going to thrive on. Except twice. And both times he won the ball, scored once and hit the post the other time. (I also couldn't fathom why Dublin left Henry on him). For those who say Dublin were eight points the better team, this point alone shows that to be rubbish. If GG's shot had gone in we'd probably have won. If we'd used him properly, he'd have won it on his own.

Anyway, the only differences that really mattered between the teams were (1) Mark Vaughan – a hugely impressive display and he must be a fixture in the team now and (2) a few bad decisions by our inexperienced lads when we were back to within a point, on a roll and had their backs to the wall. 8-point gap? Don't be ridiculous.

I'm happy, though, that we're making progress. This is a 3-year project. Let's see where we are in 2009. Overall the signs are promising.

It seems we can never have a post-match debate without Graham Geraghty featuring in it. Most here know I'm a great admirer of his. However, I was disgusted with his dive after the push by Whelan. I hate that more than anything else in the game and most of all I hate to see a Meath player do it. Forget the whinging nonsense over a few wayward swings in the other game  It's time for red cards and, where necessary, post-match video citing for this stuff (but by a proper commission, not by Pat Spillane). It has to be stamped out or we might as well give up and go watch soccer.

Hound, you're usually a reasonable commentator here, but your gutter comments about Geraghty are disgusting – on a par with some of the chanting by the scum around me in the Hogan Stand. Fair play to you for being man enough at least to delete the worst of them.
Post by: Gnevin on June 18, 2007, 11:50:31 AM
Good game , great atmosphere i was in bits watching it . When Meath got it back to a point with a couple of minutes to go i really thought we had thrown it away again. Roll on next sunday !
Post by: Hardy on June 18, 2007, 11:54:07 AM
I forgot to say - what a player Darren Fay is. Probably the performance of his career yesterday.
Post by: Uladh on June 18, 2007, 11:58:15 AM

Entertaining game yesterday and i'll leave it to those who were at it. one question though...

Does anyone else think alan brogan fouls the ball when he's trying to break clear of a tackle? he holds the ball in the air out in front of himself and runs as though this offering of the ball is part of the "bouncing the ball" process. frequently he'll take 7 or 8 steps in the process of bouncing it and then his 4 after before toe tapping.
Post by: highorlow on June 18, 2007, 12:07:35 PM
QuoteA couple of comments:

This is the usual at matchs these days and its unfair to pin it on the Dubs alone. The GAA fans have become noticably more agressive over the last few seasons in general. Its only a small few.

My opinion on this is that its stemming from the players. Did you see Keaney yesterday going physco at the Meath back when he scored. This carry on started last year with Donaghy against Armagh. Its childish and has no place in the game. Eoin Kelly also did it yesterday to the Cork fans after his goal. I think i read somewhere that some of the Tyrone lads were at it.

The only honorable player yesterday on view was Mark Vaughan - he got on with the job without any bullshit. He didn't even bother collecting his MOM award last night. Teams need more like him.
Post by: northsideboy on June 18, 2007, 12:18:32 PM
Quote from: Declan on June 18, 2007, 10:59:03 AM

On a separate note can the guards or stewards not do anything about the dopeheads openly smoking joints in the stands. In a family section yesterday - Lower Canal and 3 buckos puffing away merrily but nothing done about it. Only saving grace is that they were too relaxed to be concerned with what was going on!!
Declan, did you bring the matter to the stewards in the Canal End?
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on June 18, 2007, 12:20:47 PM
Quote from: highorlow on June 18, 2007, 12:07:35 PM
This is the usual at matchs these days and its unfair to pin it on the Dubs alone. The GAA fans have become noticably more agressive over the last few seasons in general. Its only a small few.

My opinion on this is that its stemming from the players. Did you see Keaney yesterday going physco at the Meath back when he scored. This carry on started last year with Donaghy against Armagh. Its childish and has no place in the game. Eoin Kelly also did it yesterday to the Cork fans after his goal. I think i read somewhere that some of the Tyrone lads were at it.

The only honorable player yesterday on view was Mark Vaughan - he got on with the job without any bullshit. He didn't even bother collecting his MOM award last night. Teams need more like him.

I'd say a lot of this comes in relation to what the backs etc have been saying before to the players....I would say some of the Meath defenders might have been talking about Dublin being chokers etc when they started coming back.....and Eoin Kelly probably remembered Corcoran's comments etc.....

Thought the best was near the end one of the Meath forwards gave Casey a clip on the back of the head and Casey just pointed to the scoreboard and seemed to say - just look at that...
Post by: INDIANA on June 18, 2007, 12:26:10 PM
And again i say, its easier to make childish comments to enhance the siege mentality than to actually counter the points i make

I would have to be an idiot to waste my valubale time talking about "maor uisce's" - pillar and his son etc. We had a highly entertaining game yesterday which i'm happy to debate with anyone -but all this extraneous bullshit you're bringing into it -is just that -bullshit and does a dis-service to both sets of players- and quite frankly says more about you then anything else.
Post by: highorlow on June 18, 2007, 12:34:51 PM
QuoteI'd say a lot of this comes in relation to what the backs etc have been saying before to the players.

Thats been going on for years.

The animated reaction from the players is recent enough.

Keaney been a smart lad will, i imagine be embarressed with todays photo in the indo (if Pillar allows them to buy papers?).

Sportsmanship is leaving our games and is affecting small pockets of rival fans....
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on June 18, 2007, 12:37:48 PM
Quote from: highorlow on June 18, 2007, 12:34:51 PM
QuoteI'd say a lot of this comes in relation to what the backs etc have been saying before to the players.

Thats been going on for years.

The animated reaction from the players is recent enough.

Keaney been a smart lad will, i imagine be embarressed with todays photo in the indo (if Pillar allows them to buy papers?).

Sportsmanship is leaving our games and is affecting small pockets of rival fans....

Highorlow - but in the old days you could hit someone who mouthed off a good tackle/shoulder etc to make them pay but unfortunately today it has become a far more sanitised sport in that regard...

With the diving, appealing, looking for cards, mouthing at the ref, hitting the ref, appealing every suspension etc its obvious that sportsmanship is leaving but does anyone have the balls to do anything about it......
Post by: highorlow on June 18, 2007, 12:45:19 PM
Quotebut in the old days you could hit someone who mouthed off a good tackle/shoulder etc to make them pay but unfortunately today it has become a far more sanitised sport in that regard...

True, and the camera's are picking up everything these days.

Its time the GAA introduced the Sin Bin...
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on June 18, 2007, 12:47:47 PM
Quote from: highorlow on June 18, 2007, 12:45:19 PM
Quotebut in the old days you could hit someone who mouthed off a good tackle/shoulder etc to make them pay but unfortunately today it has become a far more sanitised sport in that regard...

True, and the camera's are picking up everything these days.

Its time the GAA introduced the Sin Bin...

We had that but there were certain managers/provinces that refused to accept it as being a requirement!!!! The problem is that the camera picks up the hitting back but won't pick up the abuse given beforehand.....
Post by: blast05 on June 18, 2007, 12:49:01 PM
QuoteI would have to be an idiot to waste my valubale time talking about "maor uisce's" - pillar and his son etc. We had a highly entertaining game yesterday which i'm happy to debate with anyone -but all this extraneous bullshit you're bringing into it -is just that -bullshit and does a dis-service to both sets of players- and quite frankly says more about you then anything else.

I didn't really want to debate it in the first place - just posting observations as to why i find it difficult to warm to the Dubs depsite wanting to. If somebody wanted to debate it, then fine, i would.
The fact however that you replied with offensive and childish tripe entitles me to at least stand up for myself and ask you why you thought my comments were as you said .... but no, it seems you think you can set the agenda for the debate here.
Chip, shoulder, etc.
Anyway, QED for me.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2007, 01:08:07 PM
Quote8-point gap? Don't be ridiculous.

I'm not myopic in my views, Dublin hit a tremendous amount of wides, at one stage it was 10 - 2, Brogan kicked five including two good goal chances not to metion Collie Morans open goal that he missed. Meath were only close because of Dublin ineptitude, Bray was the only player who rose to the challenge. Personally speaking I don't think any side in the qualifiers will be too worried about playing Meath at home, in Navan maybe. Anyway if my Aunty had balls she would of course be my uncle....
Post by: INDIANA on June 18, 2007, 01:15:40 PM
The fact however that you replied with offensive and childish tripe entitles me to at least stand up for myself and ask you why you thought my comments were as you said

nobody else responded either to you (take a hint)- case closed.
Post by: Hardy on June 18, 2007, 03:12:31 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2007, 01:08:07 PM
I'm not myopic in my views
Dinny – do you mean to imply I'm myopic? Maybe you're right, but I can't win the argument if we start from that premise, so let's just debate the facts.

Dublin hit a tremendous amount of wides, at one stage it was 10 - 2, Brogan kicked five including two good goal chances not to metion Collie Morans open goal that he missed.
How does the fact that they can't convert scores make them an 8-point better team?

QuoteMeath were only close because of Dublin ineptitude
So what you mean is that if Dublin weren't inept, they'd be an eight point better team. What were you saying about your aunt?

QuoteBray was the only player who rose to the challenge.
With due respect, I think that's nonsense. Darren Fay would have been arguably man of the match, if it wasn't for Vaughan (I have an aunt too!). Geraghty was absolutely outstanding (dive notwithstanding), anytime he had even a chance of possession. Moyles was excellent. Far from being an 8-point inferior team, for a team with only one player rising to the challenge, Meath came very close to winning it and four points was an exaggeration of the difference between the sides. (OK – I can't say that's a fact, but it's an opinion I'll support all night).

QuotePersonally speaking I don't think any side in the qualifiers will be too worried about playing Meath at home, in Navan maybe.
I'd agree with that – even in Navan. Meath are not good qualifier competitors. And their home record is nothing to ehhh ... write home about. Geraghty as much as said in yesterday's Tribune that he found it hard to get motivated for the qualifiers. And, as agorm was suggesting, it wouldn't be a surprise to see them using the qualifiers to try some things, blood some lads, etc.

QuoteAnyway if my Aunty had balls she would of course be my uncle....
And if she was from Dublin, that alone would give her a good chance of getting a spot in the full back line.
Post by: Uladh on June 18, 2007, 03:35:40 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 18, 2007, 03:12:31 PM
And if she was from Dublin, that alone would give her a good chance of getting a spot in the full back line.

well certainly at right half back
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 18, 2007, 03:41:53 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 18, 2007, 11:54:07 AM
I forgot to say - what a player Darren Fay is. Probably the performance of his career yesterday.

And that's saying something. Darren Fay is comfortably the best fullback I've ever seen by a country mile, every time I watch him my admiration grows all the more. Dubs, Aussies, he doesn't care, he just takes them on and comes out on top every time. What Cavan wouldn't give for a player of this stature.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on June 18, 2007, 04:19:35 PM
Quote from: Uladh on June 18, 2007, 03:35:40 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 18, 2007, 03:12:31 PM

well certainly at right half back

I don't think Casey did to bad yesterday at all.......Bray scored 4 points but Casey was tightly marking him each time I thought and sometimes you just have to accept the forward did really well...
Post by: Jinxy on June 18, 2007, 04:23:31 PM
Dinny, you seemed to be obsessed with myopia (Myopiaphobia I believe it is called ;D). Dublin were not 8 points the better team yesterday but they WERE the better team. How is failure to kick the ball over the bar any more telling than failing to catch a ball, or slipping to allow a forward in behind you, giving away silly free's etc.? Lets not forget either that meath had their share of wides at pivotal moments in the 2nd half. GG hitting the post was massive. That goes in and we are all square coming into the final moments. At that stage it's anyones game. If Farrell started we would have had more than 2 dangerous forwards to look for during our dominant period in the first half. Instead we had 2 immobile inside forwards in Ward and Sheridan. All that fast low ball that went into Joe and came straight back out would have been perfect for Farrell. Did you see the point he kicked after GG hit the post? Through the eye of a needle. Dublin deserved their victory no doubt, but lets not stretch it.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on June 18, 2007, 04:29:01 PM
Well done to the Boys in Blue yesterday. They rose to the occasion both on the field and on the sideline.

They won't get carried away by the result – after all one swallow does not a summer make – but yesterday was a day to savour.

Post by: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2007, 05:14:07 PM
Firstly I meant to say that Bray was the only Meath forward that rose to the match, GG only showed his genius at times and I thought he was under-utilised by Meath. Fay was of course exceptional.

QuoteIf GG's shot had gone in we'd probably have won. If we'd used him properly, he'd have won it on his own.

Hardy, this is a quote from you, hence why I feel the need to make the point that Dublin created way more chances than Meath, so if they had scored all their chances they would have won by more than the 4 points, the fact that they created more opportunities than Meath and even allowing for Keaney and Brogan mis-firing still won by 4, I just feel an 8 point difference would have been a truer reflection of the game I witnessed as a neutral.

I think a lot people got carried away with Meaths performance in the first game simply because it was Meath. They still have a lot to do for me to believe they are back..

Supporters from competing counties cannot be objective in their opinions certainly not in days after a game when passions are still high, Hound been the best example in a while, so Hardy and Jinxy although I can feel your excitement in this Meath team I wouldn't be too excited as it could be an Emperor without any clothes...
Post by: INDIANA on June 18, 2007, 06:53:51 PM
i'd have to agree with dinny- i know i'm biased but- i watched the match back and i came to the conclusion had we taken our chances we'd have won easier. granted not taking your chances is  a flaw- but we dominated the breaks and only for bray - our backs excelled.
I wouldn't agree with dsfm - casey was too far off his man and allowed him to run at him. you can't let a forward like bray get the ball. Obviosuly meath should have started farrell but geragthy didn't lead when meath needed him. He stands around with his hands on his hips waiting for armchair service to come in. any ball out to the wing in the latter stages and geragthy can't get it because he doesn't have 70 mins anymore.
Have to be honest though dublin need to raise it about 30% to get near the top 2- the tight finish will stand to them though- dublin badly needed a finish like that. i didn't see anything from either team though that suggests they'd beat kerry and tyrone yet. You have to quantify who tyrone are missing - donegal were shite but they were still unbeaten all year.
Post by: Hardy on June 18, 2007, 07:00:21 PM
Of course if you took more chances you'd win by more. If we'd taken more chances we'd have won. When it starts raining the ground gets wet. For God's sake.

I think you misunderstand Geraghty's role - it was to stay on the edge of the square and beat Henry(which he did with ease any time he had the chance). But he didn't get enough service - to the extent that he did break ranks and come out to forage at times in the second half.
Post by: INDIANA on June 18, 2007, 07:12:24 PM
Unless the ball comes in high Geragthy is in trouble. i think they are wasting their time playing it out to the wing for him . Farrell and bray would be a good inside line- not sure where they will accomodate geragthy because himself and farrell are very similar in style-in that they like to be the main man up front.
Post by: Hardy on June 18, 2007, 07:51:44 PM
Sorry - I edited my first post there - it was gobbledegook before.

Quote from: INDIANA on June 18, 2007, 07:12:24 PM
Unless the ball comes in high Geragthy is in trouble.

See above. Have you ever seen Geraghty play before? There was one man in trouble in there and it wasn't Geraghty.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2007, 08:16:06 PM
QuoteOf course if you took more chances you'd win by more. If we'd taken more chances we'd have won. When it starts raining the ground gets wet. For God's sake.

That is not the point, Dublin created more chances, a lot more than Meath because simply they were the better team, maybe I should give the Meath defence more credit but the Dublin forwards were poor yesterday. You seem to think Meath competed wel andl had a chance to win, they competed but they're a limited team and never looked like winning, 9/10 I would expect Dublin to beat them.
Post by: Hardy on June 18, 2007, 08:50:24 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2007, 08:16:06 PM
QuoteOf course if you took more chances you'd win by more. If we'd taken more chances we'd have won. When it starts raining the ground gets wet. For God's sake.

That is not the point, Dublin created more chances, a lot more than Meath because simply they were the better team, maybe I should give the Meath defence more credit but the Dublin forwards were poor yesterday. You seem to think Meath competed wel andl had a chance to win, they competed but they're a limited team and never looked like winning, 9/10 I would expect Dublin to beat them.

We're all limited teams. Do you really think Meath had no chance to win?

The point I'm disputing is that the team that creates the most chances is the better team. That's nonsense. The team that wins is the better team, better by the amount by which they won. That's how the game works.

For example, the Meath team of '87-'88 created relatively few chances. The full forward line typically carved out wins from about 40% midfield possession and had a conversion rate of over 80%. The team shot two wides in the AIF replay of '88. Their wides per game were rarely over 5. By your argument, they were inferior to the teams they beat because Dublin, Mayo, Roscommon and Cork on several occasions – the teams they played and beat in the big games - nearly always had more possession and way more chances than Meath. Strangely, though, Meath managed to win all those games.

But no argument on one thing – Dublin were the better team. By four points as it turned out. Not 8-9 as you bizarrely claim.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 18, 2007, 08:58:23 PM
Chances created in a game indicate that the team with the greater amount of them (all else being equal) has the greater potential to be better, no more no less. It's all about scoring in the game itself, scoring chances carved out are an irrelevance in the game itself,  otherwise there'd be points too in football for wides (as per Aussie Rules).
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2007, 11:04:53 PM
I think this is becoming a question of semantics, maybe I should use my language better.  The amount of possession and chances they had, they could have won the game by 8 points. They were the better side at creating chances, how anyone can argue that is beyond me, were they the better side at converted the chances I don't know as I don't have the stats available and I'd be surprised myself if they were. Putting everything into context tackling, positioning, primary possession won, distribution, chances created, shot selection, subsitutions Dublin were easily the better side and I find it bizarre that someone cannot understand the abstract notion that a team looked 8 points better than the opposition (have you never done a handicap bet) or maybe you just watch everything through a black and white TV. I never said Meath didn't have a chance I just said they never looked like winning...

Anyway I'll take my abstruse mutterings from this thread and we'll all bizarrely agree Dublin were the better team by 4 points.
Post by: INDIANA on June 18, 2007, 11:21:50 PM
dinny it's ok i agree with you ;D.
your explanation is perfect - that was my gut instinct on watching it  a second time. if you consider alan brogan missed 1-5 on his own.
Post by: Hardy on June 18, 2007, 11:37:19 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2007, 11:04:53 PM
I find it bizarre that someone cannot understand the abstract notion that a team looked 8 points better than the opposition (have you never done a handicap bet)

Ah now it's not lack of understanding at all. I understand very well that people say this all the time, but I contend that it means nothing. A team could have 90% of the possession, shoot 25 wides and score three points, while the other team shoots no wides and five points  from their 10% possession. Which is the better team?

QuoteAnyway I'll take my abstruse mutterings from this thread and we'll all bizarrely agree Dublin were the better team by 4 points.

Wahey! Anyway – there's two of us in it and you can't beat a few abstruse mutterings for  a bit of crack.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 19, 2007, 08:07:27 AM
QuoteA team could have 90% of the possession, shoot 25 wides and score three points, while the other team shoots no wides and five points  from their 10% possession

What's Kildare got to do with this  :o
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 19, 2007, 09:28:28 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 18, 2007, 11:21:50 PM
dinny it's ok i agree with you ;D.
your explanation is perfect - that was my gut instinct on watching it  a second time. if you consider alan brogan missed 1-5 on his own.

Yes, exactly, he MISSED 1-5 on his own, i.e., he didn't score them. That's bad shooting, plain as. But potentially, on another day, he'd put them under and over, but on this particular day he wasn't good enough. Possession per se means nothing of itself unless you're good enough to score from the chances created.  Dublin didn't miss as many against Mayo in the first half of the semi last year, and what happened... they collapsed, for whatever reason.  These wides on Sunday, perversely, may have kept them on their toes, and kept complacency at bay.

I understand very well what's being said here, my point is that it's a total irrelevance.
Post by: thejuice on June 20, 2007, 12:46:16 PM
Well took me till wednesday to find a computer. Theres not much point in saying much as most of you covered what i have to say. But my take is that Dublin were the better team, and just had that bit more potential going forward and they had Mark Vaughn kicking the frees that were going wide a forthnight ago. I think Meath players and fans should be optimistic going into the qualifiers, we are getting stronger as time goes by. If Geraghty had netted that chance we were winners, but Dublin had their goal chances too which evens it out.

I didnt see the Gerathy-Whelan incident clearly and would like another look at it. The papers(more percisely Keith Barr) said Gerathy dived from a push, where-as others said it was a box in the face. either way i think it was a case of what goes around comes around.
Post by: Uladh on June 20, 2007, 02:00:06 PM

Didn't get any comment on this one...

Quote from: Uladh on June 18, 2007, 11:58:15 AM
Does anyone else think alan brogan fouls the ball when he's trying to break clear of a tackle? he holds the ball in the air out in front of himself and runs as though this offering of the ball is part of the "bouncing the ball" process. frequently he'll take 7 or 8 steps in the process of bouncing it and then his 4 after before toe tapping.

any thoughts?
Post by: magpie seanie on June 20, 2007, 02:04:54 PM
I saw what you meant on the highlights when he went through for his early goal chance. Interesting alright though I'm not exactly sure what to think about it.
Post by: Davitt Man on June 20, 2007, 02:06:18 PM
Broagn came up with this clever trick a few years ago, it works well on a dry day when he can hold the dry ball in one hand. He takes about 7\8 steps everytime as he goes by a man, and hops the ball quite clever
Post by: Uladh on June 20, 2007, 02:16:37 PM

but is holding the ball out in front of yourself considered as part of the act of bouncing the ball?
personally i think its a foul.
Post by: Davitt Man on June 20, 2007, 03:39:07 PM
Quote from: Uladh on June 20, 2007, 02:16:37 PM

but is holding the ball out in front of yourself considered as part of the act of bouncing the ball?

Thats the question, i dont think it is so it should a free everytime for steps
Post by: his holiness nb on June 20, 2007, 04:55:27 PM
Quote from: Uladh on June 20, 2007, 02:16:37 PM

Sure hes just another dirty cheating dub, no better than Hitler  ;)