Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: armaghniac on May 20, 2021, 10:03:27 PM

Title: People you admire
Post by: armaghniac on May 20, 2021, 10:03:27 PM
Sometimes on TV etc you see people that you can only admire.
I remember thinking this a couple of years ago when there was a woman from Tallaght who was campaigning for an old person, her connection with this person was that she had been hired as a cleaner.

Tonight, I am watching the father of those 3 children who were killed by their mother and I do not think that I would have the composure and strength that he has.
Title: Re: People you admire
Post by: Armagh18 on May 20, 2021, 10:17:38 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 20, 2021, 10:03:27 PM
Sometimes on TV etc you see people that you can only admire.
I remember thinking this a couple of years ago when there was a woman from Tallaght who was campaigning for an old person, her connection with this person was that she had been hired as a cleaner.

Tonight, I am watching the father of those 3 children who were killed by their mother and I do not think that I would have the composure and strength that he has.
Read the first paragraph and immediately thought of that poor man. Amazing strength and composure to speak the way he has.  Heartbreaking story.
Post by: An Watcher on May 20, 2021, 10:20:45 PM
Read the story today and remember it happening but going to stay away from it now. Terrible tragedy
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 20, 2021, 10:25:24 PM
Bernadette Devlin, there's someone to admire
Post by: From the Bunker on May 20, 2021, 10:31:24 PM
Not many to admire the last 15 months.

History is not going to be kind.

Post by: Angelo on May 20, 2021, 10:43:04 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 20, 2021, 10:25:24 PM

Inspirational figure.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 20, 2021, 10:58:43 PM
I was never one for politics, though growing up Hume was hard to beat, and as BC1 said Devlin was something else.

For me on a personal note, my parents are hard to beat, my club mentors, who brought me to the club and steered me away from the madness going on around me. My wife who (slowly  ;D) educated me on many things.

I've admiration for certain sports people both amateur and professional from GAA, Teddy McCarthy was immense and the Galway hurling team of the late 80's

The professionals,  I've always admired Keane, Roy. His drive his standards, while he'd have been so hard to deal with he'd be the one that you'd need in a battle.

During the troubles there are certain things that stick with you, the news regarding the deaths on all sides, and the families that were interviewed, praying for forgiveness to the killers! That's strength

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 21, 2021, 09:26:24 AM
Her face to face show with Eamonn Mailie was a great hour of TV if you can get the chance to watch. Incredible stories. 
Post by: seafoid on May 21, 2021, 09:52:27 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 20, 2021, 10:25:24 PM
She is a laoch.
Eamonn Ryan, the Cork ladies GF coach who died recently

Post by: bennydorano on May 21, 2021, 10:05:31 AM
Mickley Harte, I've said it before on a similar thread years ago. It's been open season on Mickey by twitter gobshites for a few years, mainly for giving character references to people in trouble with the authorities, and while I understand people have every right to object to that, it has only increased my admiration of him, being prepared to put his reputation and whatever else on the line to help a person out knowing the flack that was coming his way. There's no Religion in me, hasn't been since I was a child, but when I see the undoubted faith that Mickey wears like a shield I feel envious sometimes.
Post by: Substandard on May 21, 2021, 10:14:21 AM
An interesting thread, looking forward to this as a break from the usual sniping on other threads.
Some characters will be divisive- Mickey Harte would be one, and for what it's worth,  I do admire him.
Mandela would be my choice,  but I think we often attach aspirations to figures we admire that they may or may not live up to: Roy Keane would be another for me, but I would tend to focus on what I would consider the ideals he represents for me, and consequently downplay or ignore the negatives.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on May 21, 2021, 10:19:34 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on May 21, 2021, 10:05:31 AM
Mickley Harte, I've said it before on a similar thread years ago. It's been open season on Mickey by twitter gobshites for a few years, mainly for giving character references to people in trouble with the authorities, and while I understand people have every right to object to that, it has only increased my admiration of him, being prepared to put his reputation and whatever else on the line to help a person out knowing the flack that was coming his way. There's no Religion in me, hasn't been since I was a child, but when I see the undoubted faith that Mickey wears like a shield I feel envious sometimes.

Can't wait to Trailer reads this.
Post by: johnnycool on May 21, 2021, 10:29:43 AM
Quote from: Substandard on May 21, 2021, 10:14:21 AM
An interesting thread, looking forward to this as a break from the usual sniping on other threads.
Some characters will be divisive- Mickey Harte would be one, and for what it's worth,  I do admire him.
Mandela would be my choice,  but I think we often attach aspirations to figures we admire that they may or may not live up to: Roy Keane would be another for me, but I would tend to focus on what I would consider the ideals he represents for me, and consequently downplay or ignore the negatives.

I think we can admire aspects of a person and dislike other aspects of them for instance I admire greatly Micky Harte for the way he's dealt with the murder of his daughter, the strength he has shown throughout all that is inspirational. Some of the other things mentioned he's been involved with are questionable.

Individuals are more complex than that but I do love Bernadette Devlin for the way she articulates with a deep passion the struggles of the downtrodden.
Her speech she gave about the Irish having no right to be racist needs taught in all Irish Schools..

Post by: Itchy on May 21, 2021, 11:36:18 AM
Robert Fisk who sadly passed away last year. A legend of a journalist.
Post by: trailer on May 21, 2021, 11:59:34 AM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on May 21, 2021, 10:19:34 AM

You know what I Harte is to be admired he has had huge personal tragedy befall him and yet was able deal with it with huge grace. So I admire that about him.
I just disliked his football and felt he held Tyrone back and that ended up costing them more than he won with them.
Post by: Rudi on May 21, 2021, 12:18:54 PM
Interesting thread. I met John Hume once, hard to explain felt elevated & a better person just in his company. I think he was a seriously good man. Our current local parish priest is another great selfless man, who puts others first before himself. I think thats the mark of a good person, someone who has empathy for others who struggle.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 21, 2021, 01:07:26 PM
Quote from: trailer on May 21, 2021, 11:59:34 AM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on May 21, 2021, 10:19:34 AM

You know what I Harte is to be admired he has had huge personal tragedy befall him and yet was able deal with it with huge grace. So I admire that about him.
I just disliked his football and felt he held Tyrone back and that ended up costing them more than he won with them.

I think this is very fair.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 21, 2021, 01:08:51 PM
Might ruffle a few feathers here. The hunger strikers. Not for their reasons for being in prison but their determination. People like Gerry common who have been the victims of huge miscarriages of justice but continue to work for others in the same boat. Palestinians.

John Hume 
Post by: Angelo on May 21, 2021, 01:45:59 PM
Tommy Burns.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 21, 2021, 02:02:43 PM
My admiration is primarily for ordinary people who work selflessly for others, people who can turn personal tragedy into something positive and generally decent ordinary individuals. I admire technical people. There has been a myth for years that the smartest have a degree but some of the dumbest people I have ever met went to uni (granted the Poly  ;D) but I have a lot of time for sparks, joiners and mechanics etc. as I'm useless at all that stuff and it's all highly skilled in its own right!
Post by: laoislad on May 21, 2021, 02:22:47 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 21, 2021, 02:02:43 PM
My admiration is primarily for ordinary people who work selflessly for others, people who can turn personal tragedy into something positive and generally decent ordinary individuals. I admire technical people. There has been a myth for years that the smartest have a degree but some of the dumbest people I have ever met went to uni (granted the Poly  ;D) but I have a lot of time for sparks, joiners and mechanics etc. as I'm useless at all that stuff and it's all highly skilled in its own right!
I love you too buddy 🥰
Post by: tiempo on May 21, 2021, 02:25:55 PM
Detective Gerry Lynch, hard as nails cnut  8)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WlorlsDJyV0
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 21, 2021, 04:33:01 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 21, 2021, 02:22:47 PM
I love you too buddy 🥰
I should have said good sparks just to rule you out  :D
Post by: grounded on May 21, 2021, 06:27:57 PM
I had the misfortune/fortune to have experience in both the Royal hospital for sick children Belfast and Crumlin children's hospital.
           I got my eyes opened. Admiration yes,  for both the tireless work the staff do, but more so admiration for the kids themselves and the spirit they show everyday. 
      Puts all of the trivial day to day things in perspective.

Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 21, 2021, 06:30:55 PM
Paul Keating. Sharp as a tack, has the gift of the gab to this day, and is still interesting to listen to. Underrated and under-appreciated in his time. Drove through some consequential reforms and set Australia up for three decades of uninterrupted growth; a rare achievement. I still get a kick out of watching his parliamentary performances on YouTube. Wasn't afraid to stick it to the British establishment either.

A lot of former Prime Ministers are interesting to listen to. They've been there, done that, seen how it all works, and now they have the benefit of hindsight and none of the constraints on what they can say.

Tony Blair 1.0, not to be confused with Tony Blair 2.0 who invaded Iraq. I liked his policy of deregulating industry and taxing the resulting growth to fund better public services, although there was a ton of wasteful spending in there that could have been better invested. And I always appreciate what he did for peace in Ireland. His background gave him an understanding of the topic that is rare in British politicians, so we're lucky that we had Albert Reynolds and Bill Clinton in office at the same time. Shame about his Iraq legacy though. I often wonder if things had gone differently in Kosovo, would he have gotten addicted to the use of military force?

Albert Reynolds. Underrated. A man with a self-made business background, the type of person that isn't always welcome in Irish political circles which is more friendly to the public sector paper-pusher types (a problem that also exists in the GAA, IMHO). I loved watching him shred John Bruton in the election debate. A master debater. And his role in bringing peace to the north was crucial. He understood the importance of a united nationalist consensus at a critical time in the negotiations, and was unashamed in backing the nationalist side. Sticking up for the unionists was a job for the Brits. Shame about how he was brought down though, I think it was an oversight rather than anything malicious on his part. as he said, "It's the little things that trip you up."

John Hume, Bernadette McAliskey, Seamus Mallon - a great generation of leaders.

Joe Kernan - Another great example of leadership.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 21, 2021, 06:33:22 PM

Ever see The Boys from the Blackstuff? There's a great scene in there where a plasterer is talking about how he takes pride in his work, knowing it'll be in place and in use long after he's gone, and how he respects the people who originally built the building he's working on. Really thought-provoking stuff. Blue collar work doesn't get the respect it deserves.
Post by: Silver hill on May 22, 2021, 11:03:09 AM
Dr David Hickey; just a wonderful human being in every sense.
Post by: sid waddell on May 22, 2021, 11:23:34 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on May 21, 2021, 06:33:22 PM

Ever see The Boys from the Blackstuff? There's a great scene in there where a plasterer is talking about how he takes pride in his work, knowing it'll be in place and in use long after he's gone, and how he respects the people who originally built the building he's working on. Really thought-provoking stuff. Blue collar work doesn't get the respect it deserves.
Snowy Malone

He dies a minute later

One of the best television drama series ever made

So is Auf Wiedersehen Pet from around the same time although more of a comedy drama
Post by: michaelg on May 22, 2021, 11:25:35 AM
People who give up their free time to coach kids' sports teams.  Heathcare workers too - Had an operation a few years back and the elvel of care from every single person I encountered was amazing.  Teachers too, the vast maority of who always go the extra mile for benefit of their students.
Post by: JimStynes on May 22, 2021, 01:15:10 PM
Teachers. Especially for their work over lockdown.
Post by: north_antrim_hound on May 22, 2021, 02:33:40 PM
As a Liverpool fan I have no problem saying Marcus Rashford. Has gave  half of his wages to charity and seems very sincere about his concerns for people less fortunate than himself.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 22, 2021, 03:59:45 PM
Quote from: michaelg on May 22, 2021, 11:25:35 AM
People who give up their free time to coach kids' sports teams.  Heathcare workers too - Had an operation a few years back and the elvel of care from every single person I encountered was amazing.  Teachers too, the vast maority of who always go the extra mile for benefit of their students.

Most do it to make sure their Son/Daughter gets sorted.
Post by: MK on May 22, 2021, 06:10:28 PM

For his considerable sporting achievements alone Jim Stynes(not the one on here ;)) was undoubtedly someone to be admired.

However, his determination and endless drive whilst  battling serious health issues clearly marks him out as one-off and a true inspiration.
Post by: bennydorano on May 22, 2021, 06:13:05 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 22, 2021, 03:59:45 PM

The cycnic in me was thinking exactly the same, but there are some there through thick & thin with no direct family connections.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 22, 2021, 07:24:11 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on May 22, 2021, 06:13:05 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 22, 2021, 03:59:45 PM

The cycnic in me was thinking exactly the same, but there are some there through thick & thin with no direct family connections.

The older year of the my young lads group has 7 (yes Seven coaches). Every second year we are exposed to them. All are fathers of players. That's 7 places gone before a ball is kicked. To be fair none of the players are useless and well worth their place. The problem is there is biased agendas.

It's so hard to get volunteers and impossible to get genetically impartial volunteers.

On top of this, like many rural clubs - you get families that have huge influence within the club. Their kids will always have a better chance.
Post by: Rois on May 22, 2021, 08:40:06 PM
Fr Peter McVerry
Paul McCusker, Belfast SDLP and soup kitchen coordinator

The poor souls standing with SVP boxes outside mass, week in, week out, rain or shine.
Post by: ardtole on May 22, 2021, 08:44:14 PM
Fr Peter McVerry a very good suggestion.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 22, 2021, 09:38:09 PM
Quote from: ardtole on May 22, 2021, 08:44:14 PM
Fr Peter McVerry a very good suggestion.

Yes he is but unfortunately the charity has become a parody of charities.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 22, 2021, 10:09:10 PM
Quote from: Rois on May 22, 2021, 08:40:06 PM
Fr Peter McVerry
Paul McCusker, Belfast SDLP and soup kitchen coordinator

The poor souls standing with SVP boxes outside mass, week in, week out, rain or shine.
Throw Colin and Eithne Bell into the mix.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 22, 2021, 10:15:41 PM
That is a good shout. Those bells are fantastic people. To take such a tragic event in your life and to turn it into something that provides so much help to others is something else. They deserve massive respect.
Post by: 6th sam on May 23, 2021, 12:36:11 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 22, 2021, 10:15:41 PM
That is a good shout. Those bells are fantastic people. To take such a tragic event in your life and to turn it into something that provides so much help to others is something else. They deserve massive respect.
Incredible charity borne out of massive personal tragedy. Enormous help to grieving families
Post by: michaelg on May 23, 2021, 12:44:38 AM
Quote from: 6th sam on May 23, 2021, 12:36:11 AM
Incredible charity borne out of massive personal tragedy. Enormous help to grieving families
Amazing folk who's charity helped my family after the death of a family member overseas.  Lovely too that they won the Lotto (Or lottery?) and my understanding is that they used the money to help their charity, which again speaks volumes about the kind ot people that they are are.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 23, 2021, 08:19:12 AM
Quote from: michaelg on May 23, 2021, 12:44:38 AM
Amazing folk who's charity helped my family after the death of a family member overseas.  Lovely too that they won the Lotto (Or lottery?) and my understanding is that they used the money to help their charity, which again speaks volumes about the kind ot people that they are are.

Yes that's correct. Proud to say that the club I am now involved in don't have a club sponsor on the jersey, we have the KBRT Trust as our 'sponsor'. A portion of all jersey sales goes to the charity. Shameless plug!!!

http://wolfetonesgaa.ie/KBRT-Jersey/?fbclid=IwAR2QwQFg4Phw1zLOKx4YPJBMkBdr4SlQeKB-Tvx4y93WjQPN8KVHjmHJCao

Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 23, 2021, 10:03:22 PM
Good man BC1, hopefully I'll get a run out at the Valley
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 23, 2021, 10:44:59 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 23, 2021, 10:03:22 PM

Funny I was wondering would I see you!  We play our home games in the SW in Jordanstown.  I'm over round Woodlands too with the Masters so ye never know!!
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 23, 2021, 11:24:12 PM
I have great respect for Mickey Harte because of his dtremendous dignity under pressure as he coped with the death of his daughter. I have reservations about much that Mickey has done but, like Aidan McGinely of recent times., Mickey and his wife were an inspitation to us all.
More controversial perhaps, I admire Arlene Foster who crossed deep sectarian divides to attend the Harte funeral.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 23, 2021, 11:29:53 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 23, 2021, 10:44:59 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 23, 2021, 10:03:22 PM

Funny I was wondering would I see you!  We play our home games in the SW in Jordanstown.  I'm over round Woodlands too with the Masters so ye never know!!

Jordanstown would be handy, not much travel for me, walking distance  ;D

Post by: thewobbler on May 24, 2021, 12:13:43 AM
I respect Phil Mickelson
Post by: BennyCake on May 24, 2021, 12:45:00 AM

Yes, absolutely. They do fantastic work.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on May 24, 2021, 01:43:50 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 24, 2021, 12:45:00 AM

Yes, absolutely. They do fantastic work.

+1. As someone who has had to help out with the repatriation of a friend's remains from Australia, it is impossible to underestimate how much that help means to people in a time of most dire need.
A fantastic charity borne out of great suffering
Post by: balladmaker on May 24, 2021, 08:15:34 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 24, 2021, 12:13:43 AM
I respect Phil Mickelson

+1. Difficult not to respect someone who carries themselves so well and to have won in 4 different decades is pretty special.
Post by: Ronnie on June 04, 2021, 12:03:50 AM
Strange, but interesting thread tho not many replies.   I can't find Fionn's one about people we've no respect for.   I would like to take Dominic Cummings out of my top 5 & put Van Morrison in.  Anyone help/direct me?  Ill maybe name 5 admirable people later.
Post by: Olly on June 04, 2021, 12:12:01 AM
Michael Barrymore. He got a lot of abuse cos of swimming pools etc but it realistically came from the game show he hosted and people preferred Wogan.
Post by: Ronnie on June 04, 2021, 07:44:54 AM
please
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 04, 2021, 09:10:41 AM
Ronnies been Ollied
Post by: johnnycool on June 04, 2021, 09:29:30 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 04, 2021, 09:10:41 AM
Ronnies been Ollied

Ronnies a green horn to Ollies wiles  ;D
Post by: Keyser soze on June 04, 2021, 09:32:51 AM
I admire Ollie.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 04, 2021, 11:19:41 AM
Nurses. Put in long shifts and do their best despite many different sicknesses. I honestly don't know how they do it.
Post by: BennyCake on June 04, 2021, 01:25:40 PM
Not sure if it's been mentioned yet, but BallHopper deserves a mention.

I've been following his journey through his illness and treatment, and he's been a true inspiration.
Post by: Itchy on June 04, 2021, 01:37:05 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 23, 2021, 11:24:12 PM
I have great respect for Mickey Harte because of his dtremendous dignity under pressure as he coped with the death of his daughter. I have reservations about much that Mickey has done but, like Aidan McGinely of recent times., Mickey and his wife were an inspitation to us all.
More controversial perhaps, I admire Arlene Foster who crossed deep sectarian divides to attend the Harte funeral.

Jesus Christ I am only after seeing this beauty. You admire a sectarian bigot for momentarily setting aside her sectarianism to attend the funeral of a catholic girl murdered in a foreign country on her honeymoon. There was no "deep sectarian divide" to cross - what a bizarre thing to say. I think it shows the total lack of understanding you have for matters in the North.
Post by: trailer on June 04, 2021, 02:01:03 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 04, 2021, 01:37:05 PM

Jesus Christ I am only after seeing this beauty. You admire a sectarian bigot for momentarily setting aside her sectarianism to attend the funeral of a catholic girl murdered in a foreign country on her honeymoon. There was no "deep sectarian divide" to cross - what a bizarre thing to say. I think it shows the total lack of understanding you have for matters in the North.

I definitely don't admire Arlene... and I'd be more forgiving than most. She has no grace whatsoever, no humility and no willingness to meet the Nationalist community half way. Ironically she's talked more about reaching out to Nationalists more since she's been toppled than she ever did as leader. Sorry Lar, but not for me.
Post by: Ronnie on June 04, 2021, 02:03:26 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on June 04, 2021, 01:25:40 PM
Not sure if it's been mentioned yet, but BallHopper deserves a mention.

I've been following his journey through his illness and treatment, and he's been a true inspiration.

I agree.  Read that.  Face it & deal with it.
Post by: haranguerer on June 04, 2021, 02:15:05 PM

I do not understand this in the slightest
Post by: BennyCake on June 04, 2021, 03:13:14 PM

What about the 2018 Arlene Football final? Fair play to her for that  ::)

Tbh, things like attending sports/funerals across the divide shouldn't even raise an eyelid. Public figures should lead the way and it should become the norm that nobody would even notice. Arlene got more coverage in that final than Donegal or Cavan.
Post by: Ronnie on June 04, 2021, 11:53:38 PM
The Pope
The Queen
  The Chief Rabbi
    The Dal Lama
     The President

No particular order.   This thread definitely needs rules.

I'll suggest number 1:

Proper sportspeople (i.e.  not just games people) Olympic year and that... are not allowed
Post by: Olly on June 05, 2021, 10:38:27 PM
I admire myself. I crammed two binworths of rubbish into one bin.
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 05, 2021, 10:58:34 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on June 04, 2021, 02:15:05 PM

What do you not understand? Do you think she should not have attended in order to conform with the usual stereotypes? Her religious beliefs prevented here attending the mass but she turned up for the graveside ceremonies and in doing so she probably upset more of her own supporters than anyone else.
There was nothing to be gained politically by her going there- just a token of respect for the ordeal the Harte and McAravey families were going through.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on June 06, 2021, 02:00:04 AM
Quote from: Ronnie on June 04, 2021, 11:53:38 PM
The Pope
The Queen
  The Chief Rabbi
    The Dal Lama
     The President

No particular order.   This thread definitely needs rules.

I'll suggest number 1:

Proper sportspeople (i.e.  not just games people) Olympic year and that... are not allowed

You admire the Pope? You admire Queen Elizabeth?
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 06, 2021, 06:18:46 AM

+1 to all this. All she crossed was her own bigotry to attend the graveyard afterwards, which is no big deal in fairness.
Post by: Ronnie on June 06, 2021, 07:35:07 AM
Yes I admire The Pope & The Queen.  I also admire Arlene Foster.  How many GAA people have attended Remembrance Day over the years?   Loads, but maybe a larger % that are from faiths other than RC.  RD has been held for a long time.  I can't believe I have the type this.
Post by: trailer on June 06, 2021, 04:07:58 PM
Quote from: Ronnie on June 06, 2021, 07:35:07 AM
Yes I admire The Pope & The Queen.  I also admire Arlene Foster.  How many GAA people have attended Remembrance Day over the years?   Loads, but maybe a larger % that are from faiths other than RC.  RD has been held for a long time.  I can't believe I have the type this.

Equating Remembrance Sunday with a GAA game is f**king mental. Seek help.
Post by: Itchy on June 06, 2021, 04:41:52 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 05, 2021, 10:58:34 PM

What do you not understand? Do you think she should not have attended in order to conform with the usual stereotypes? Her religious beliefs prevented here attending the mass but she turned up for the graveside ceremonies and in doing so she probably upset more of her own supporters than anyone else.
There was nothing to be gained politically by her going there- just a token of respect for the ordeal the Harte and McAravey families were going through.

She upset nobody. People in the north have been going to funerals of other denominations for 100 years. If you admire someone for this you are setting the bar at an incredibly low level.

For me, Arlene is a sad bigot that did nothing for her people only snarl at themmuns on the other side. Totally wasted her opportunity and of course proved to corrupt too.
Post by: general_lee on June 06, 2021, 05:03:27 PM
I wouldn't say I admire Arlene but I certainly empathise. What she went through growing up anyone would be entitled to be a hell of a lot more bitter than she is.
Post by: Ronnie on June 07, 2021, 05:17:42 AM
RULES (if original poster agrees):

1.No Sportspeople
2.No Politicians.

The second rule means I've to take out Joe Biden & put someone else in so:

THE POPE
Queen Elizabeth the second
THE CHIEF RABBI
DIA LAMA
Ball Hopper
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 07, 2021, 07:31:10 AM
Jaysus Ronnie yer takin this fierce serious
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 07, 2021, 08:26:50 AM

Good man Itchy,  you're in flying form as always!
(And, as usual, you are missing my point.)
That's no surprise as it takes a pretty open-minded, non-judgemental individual; one who doesn't see everything in black or white terms, to understand what I mean.
I know I shouldn't bother my posterior even attempting a reply but maybe there are more tolerant nationalists who will appreciate what I am trying to say.

Not everybody who was traumatised by what they experienced in childhood is a Catholic and the young Arlene Kelly is no exception.  Protestant children know just as little about poolitics or religious discrimination as Catholic kids do.
As an 8 year old, her daddy barely survived an assassination attempt on his life. As she grew older, she found out that the man suspected of the attempt on her father's life is regarded as a hero by a large section of the nationalist community.
As a teenager, the Provos tried to assassinate the driver of the school bus she was on. Her best pal was killed and she was badly injured by the blast. To kill one unsuspecting adult, those who planted the bomb were prepared to put the lives of innocent children at risk.
After all that, how can anyone expect her not to be bitter?
What she did by going to the Harte funeral and also turning up at a Gaelic football game made her few friends on the nationalist side but made her countless enemies on her side of the fence.
I admire her for that and I  don't give two flying fiddlesticks if anybody wants to disagree with me.
Post by: Itchy on June 07, 2021, 10:31:05 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 07, 2021, 08:26:50 AM

That's no surprise as it takes a pretty open-minded, non-judgemental individual; one who doesn't see everything in black or white terms, to understand what I mean.
I know I shouldn't bother my posterior even attempting a reply but maybe there are more tolerant nationalists who will appreciate what I am trying to say.

Not everybody who was traumatised by what they experienced in childhood is a Catholic and the young Arlene Kelly is no exception.  Protestant children know just as little about poolitics or religious discrimination as Catholic kids do.
As an 8 year old, her daddy barely survived an assassination attempt on his life. As she grew older, she found out that the man suspected of the attempt on her father's life is regarded as a hero by a large section of the nationalist community.
As a teenager, the Provos tried to assassinate the driver of the school bus she was on. Her best pal was killed and she was badly injured by the blast. To kill one unsuspecting adult, those who planted the bomb were prepared to put the lives of innocent children at risk.
What she did by going to the Harte funeral and also turning up at a Gaelic football game made her few friends on the nationalist side but made her countless enemies on her side of the fence.
I admire her for that and I  don't give two flying fiddlesticks if anybody wants to disagree with me.

Maybe I am missing your point but if you tried making it in a few concise sentences instead of rambling post it might be easier. Can I paraphrase, you admire Arlene as she had a difficult childhood being brought up in the troubles to such an extent she hated catholics and should be admired for setting that aside to attend a funeral of an innocent Catholic lady.

I think that's total bollox, as per the fine post written above.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 07, 2021, 10:49:53 AM
maybe Ronnies no politicians rule wasnt so daft....
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 07, 2021, 11:44:36 AM
Quote from: Itchy on June 07, 2021, 10:31:05 AM

Maybe I am missing your point but if you tried making it in a few concise sentences instead of rambling post it might be easier. Can I paraphrase, you admire Arlene as she had a difficult childhood being brought up in the troubles to such an extent she hated catholics and should be admired for setting that aside to attend a funeral of an innocent Catholic lady.

If I wrote what I have to say on the back of a postage stamp or I filled out 50 ages, you wouldn't see a word of it!
But I am just hoping that there are some broad-minded nationalists who realise that there is an Edwin Poots for every Itchy and there will be no peace on this island until their pernicious influence is somehow curbed.
I disagree with maybe 95%, or even more, of what she says or does but I accept that she is not 100% intolerant or bigoted.
As for future comments from me on this subject, please refer to the last sentence of my last post.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on June 07, 2021, 12:48:12 PM
Poots attended a McKenna football match in 2008, becoming the first DUP minister to attend a GAA fixture, long before Arlene Foster did.

Do I win a prize?
Post by: Itchy on June 07, 2021, 12:49:46 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 07, 2021, 11:44:36 AM
Quote from: Itchy on June 07, 2021, 10:31:05 AM

If I wrote what I have to say on the back of a postage stamp or I filled out 50 ages, you wouldn't see a word of it!
But I am just hoping that there are some broad-minded nationalists who realise that there is an Edwin Poots for every Itchy and there will be no peace on this island until their pernicious influence is somehow curbed.
I disagree with maybe 95%, or even more, of what she says or does but I accept that she is not 100% intolerant or bigoted.
As for future comments from me on this subject, please refer to the last sentence of my last post.

If you think I'm the other side of the Poots coin your even more stupid than I thought.

For the record I would ban religion in school, all schools would be mixed religion, I'd be open to a change of flag and anthem and indeed a devolved ulster parliament. That's my vision of what a 32 county Ireland could look like, a hell of a lot more generous than what Arlene and her ilk gave to nationalists in the north. I imagine quite a few nationalists would not agree with me on that either. So again more poor judgement from you.
Post by: Itchy on June 07, 2021, 12:50:29 PM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on June 07, 2021, 12:48:12 PM
Poots attended a McKenna football match in 2008, becoming the first DUP minister to attend a GAA fixture, long before Arlene Foster did.

Do I win a prize?

I really admire the man
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 07, 2021, 02:32:41 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 07, 2021, 12:50:29 PM

Do I win a prize?

I really admire the man
??
But not Arlene Foster? What's the difference between one Unionist bigot or another?
So you'd ban all religion in schools? You'd run into trouble with Poots then since he believes all in says in the Bible.
I never knew he attended any sort of a GAA match.
Well, far play to him for doing so. He can't be, same as Foster, a totally bitter anti-Taig then.
Post by: armaghniac on June 07, 2021, 02:37:50 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 07, 2021, 02:32:41 PM

Do I win a prize?

I really admire the man
??
But not Arlene Foster? What's the difference between one Unionist bigot or another?
So you'd ban all religion in schools? You'd run into trouble with Poots then since he believes all in says in the Bible.
Well, far play to him for doing so. He can't be, same as Foster, a totally bitter anti-Taig then.

Poots as minister attended that game. I don't admire him, but he is somewhat willing to do his job.
Foster as First Minister and Fermanagh MLA should have attended on the same basis, perhaps Stalford who attended with her deserves more credit
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 07, 2021, 03:01:42 PM
I admire Angelo for his ability to keep an argument going for about 50 pages or so.
Post by: Itchy on June 07, 2021, 03:05:56 PM

Do I win a prize?

I really admire the man
??

Seems sarcasm is way over your head every bit as much as northern issues. Even Poot's mother wouldn't admire him.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 07, 2021, 03:06:43 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 07, 2021, 03:01:42 PM
I admire Angelo for his ability to keep an argument going for about 50 pages or so.

I admire anyone who keeps up with Angelo's arguments!
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 07, 2021, 03:14:03 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 07, 2021, 02:37:50 PM

Do I win a prize?

I really admire the man
??

Poots as minister attended that game. I don't admire him, but he is somewhat willing to do his job.
Foster as First Minister and Fermanagh MLA should have attended on the same basis, perhaps Stalford who attended with her deserves more credit
I don't follow you ...
Do you mean that she wasn't a state minister at the time, so it was no big deal. I never thought of it that way.
In any event, she was taking an infinitely greater political risk by attending the Harte funeral. That was a double whammy, religious  and cultural, for the extremists on her side of the community divide.
Incidentally, the man Itchy admires wouldn't dream of attending a Catholic ceremony of any sort. Creationists regard Catholics as idolators and all pre-doomed to everlasting damnation in the fires of hell   
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 07, 2021, 03:19:45 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 07, 2021, 03:05:56 PM

Do I win a prize?

I really admire the man
??

Seems sarcasm is way over your head every bit as much as northern issues. Even Poot's mother wouldn't admire him.
Yeah? If that's your best attempt at sarcasm it's as undercooked as your political maturity.
Post by: trailer on June 07, 2021, 03:38:31 PM
Attending a football match should be part of their job and not something to be "admired". The GAA is an apolitical organisation and by allowing Unionists to think they are on some sort of outreach program normalises the thought that the GAA is anti protestant or even anti British. It is not. It is a sporting organisation like Golf Ireland or IRFU.
Post by: laoislad on June 07, 2021, 03:48:27 PM
Katie Taylor.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 07, 2021, 04:05:04 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 07, 2021, 03:48:27 PM
Katie Taylor.
I thought the weather was too sunny for fishing.
Post by: laoislad on June 07, 2021, 04:08:33 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 07, 2021, 04:05:04 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 07, 2021, 03:48:27 PM
Katie Taylor.
I thought the weather was too sunny for fishing.
I'm not fishing. I think she is great.
Post by: Itchy on June 07, 2021, 04:56:20 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 07, 2021, 03:19:45 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 07, 2021, 03:05:56 PM

Do I win a prize?

I really admire the man
??

Yeah? If that's your best attempt at sarcasm it's as undercooked as your political maturity.

Good man Lar,  you imply I'm the opposite of a hardline loyalist in a post and in the next you believe me when I say I admire Edwin Poots, who even more backward and bigoted than Arlene, thinks the world is 3k years old etc.
Post by: Itchy on June 07, 2021, 05:03:02 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 07, 2021, 03:14:03 PM

Do I win a prize?

I really admire the man
??

I don't follow you ...
Do you mean that she wasn't a state minister at the time, so it was no big deal. I never thought of it that way.
In any event, she was taking an infinitely greater political risk by attending the Harte funeral. That was a double whammy, religious  and cultural, for the extremists on her side of the community divide.
Incidentally, the man Itchy admires wouldn't dream of attending a Catholic ceremony of any sort. Creationists regard Catholics as idolators and all pre-doomed to everlasting damnation in the fires of hell

I do really admire Poots. I think he's right about the Dinosaurs being a trick and for sure catholics are doomed. He also dead right about those gays being an abomination. However, when he demonstrates his hard-core love of GAA by attending a McKenna cup match, well that really elevated him to a god like status for me.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 07, 2021, 05:03:42 PM
Do many elected Sinn Fein and SDLP politicians attend local and international Rugby, Cricket and Hockey matches?
Post by: haranguerer on June 07, 2021, 05:32:25 PM

I think you are mixing up a number of things here. Can you tell me how her religious beliefs prevent her attending the mass? In any event 'in doing so she upset a number of her own supporters' - are you really excusing her bigotry and those of her supporters by admiring her for taking a slight step away from it? Your bar is set incredibly low. And of course there was something to gain politically (not that I'm saying that was necessarily what her attendance was for) - hasn't she fooled people like you into thinking she's a decent sort despite being a hateful bigot (as you state yourself in your response)?
Post by: haranguerer on June 07, 2021, 05:39:17 PM
Lar, posted my response before having read the rest of the replies. I do wonder how it is that many seem keen to fall over themselves to bestow praise on a unionist for looking sideways at them but would never even consider anything the other way as at all noteworthy in any respect. Where does that come from? Hard to see it as anything but tugging the forelock  :-\

Post by: Itchy on June 07, 2021, 06:02:49 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 07, 2021, 05:03:42 PM
Do many elected Sinn Fein and SDLP politicians attend local and international Rugby, Cricket and Hockey matches?

Quite a few I would guess in case of rugby. Hockey and cricket have hardly any support base, I wouldnt even know where to watch one.
Post by: yellowcard on June 07, 2021, 07:25:55 PM

Of all the people and for all the reasons you could have chosen, I find that choice simply bizarre. Unless it was designed simply to provoke a reaction.

I have to admit that Arlene Foster would definitely not be at the forefront of people whom I admire. Then to state the reason being her attendance at a funeral of a young girl who was tragically murdered on her honeymoon in what became national headlines at the time. As a public representative was it not her duty to attend the funeral or is the 'admiration' bar really set that low.
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 07, 2021, 08:44:34 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on June 07, 2021, 05:32:25 PM

I think you are mixing up a number of things here. Can you tell me how her religious beliefs prevent her attending the mass? In any event 'in doing so she upset a number of her own supporters' - are you really excusing her bigotry and those of her supporters by admiring her for taking a slight step away from it? Your bar is set incredibly low. And of course there was something to gain politically (not that I'm saying that was necessarily what her attendance was for) - hasn't she fooled people like you into thinking she's a decent sort despite being a hateful bigot (as you state yourself in your response)?
She hasn't fooled me in the slightest. It goes against my nature to admit that I find anything done by the DUP or any of its members to be worthy of praise but to an impartial observer that would make me a bigot also.
I am told that the reason she attended the Harte funeral was because she felt sorry for Mrs harte  and genuinely wanted to show her understanding of a mother's grief. One mother expressing concern for another in her time of deepest grief is a human trait that crosses all sorts of political and cultural divisions.
I'm afraid I don't see how she could have hoped to gain anything politically by doing what she did- contrary to her perceived form. I can't warm to the DUP in any shape or form and the fact that Arlene is not  longer in that party doesn't bother me one way or the other.

One mother showing support for another rises above sectarian battle lines for me.

PS I must really be losing the plot big time! ;D
I recall seeing a (very reasonable) post by imtommygunne and I intended responding to it but when I went to look for it again, I couldn't' find it.
I'm genuinely stuck for time at the moment but I'll resume my search when I get a chance. ( Maybe 'll be locked up first.) Lol
Post by: Ronnie on June 08, 2021, 02:06:49 AM

Do I win a prize?

I really admire the man
??

5 now Are:
Armaghaic
The pope
Ball hopper
Dai lama
Myself.   (As everyone does if they use. A mirror]
Chief rabbi

3rd rule:

Why 5

Close it now .   Politicians & golf.   Full f'ing stop
Post by: Ronnie on June 08, 2021, 03:14:12 AM
Quote from: Main Street on March 24, 2016, 11:05:02 PM
It's been 5 years  coming but Radovan Karadzic has lived long enough to be found guilty of genocide and sentenced to 40 years.
Genocide at Srebenica of course,  but it  should also be mentioned that it was the scene of one of the greatest acts of cowardice by NATO and  an armed 800 strong UN force (Dutch) under the command of Thom Karremans, who was promoted after his ignominious retreat to Netherlands.
Post by: Ronnie on June 08, 2021, 03:23:04 AM
Discussion Boards - used as a board for discussion are - are an invaluable friend especially when someone is going through a hard time.   I never knew of this oversight/poor decision etc... Mistakes happen.   I'm adding Main Street and resigning my membership after tonight.   Forever.  I am doing this for a reason.   So:
Armaghniac
Ball Hopper
The Pope
The Queen

Rule 1 proper sports
Rule 2 no paid politicians
Rule 3 must be a discussion board member
Post by: Ronnie on June 08, 2021, 03:24:23 AM
Rule 4

Only 5 people
Post by: Snapchap on June 08, 2021, 05:40:44 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 07, 2021, 05:03:42 PM

Martin McGuinness spoke of his "particular disappointment" when, to quote a BBC article:

Mrs Foster turned down an offer to attend both a Northern Ireland and Republic of Ireland football match with him at 2016 European Championships.

"They refused to go. I wasn't asking her to go to a 1916 commemoration, it was a football match, it was an opportunity to reach out. Arlene went to the Northern Ireland match and I went to both."
Post by: haranguerer on June 08, 2021, 08:24:37 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 07, 2021, 08:44:34 PM

She hasn't fooled me in the slightest. It goes against my nature to admit that I find anything done by the DUP or any of its members to be worthy of praise but to an impartial observer that would make me a bigot also.
I am told that the reason she attended the Harte funeral was because she felt sorry for Mrs harte  and genuinely wanted to show her understanding of a mother's grief. One mother expressing concern for another in her time of deepest grief is a human trait that crosses all sorts of political and cultural divisions.
I'm afraid I don't see how she could have hoped to gain anything politically by doing what she did- contrary to her perceived form. I can't warm to the DUP in any shape or form and the fact that Arlene is not  longer in that party doesn't bother me one way or the other.

One mother showing support for another rises above sectarian battle lines for me.

I recall seeing a (very reasonable) post by imtommygunne and I intended responding to it but when I went to look for it again, I couldn't' find it.
I'm genuinely stuck for time at the moment but I'll resume my search when I get a chance. ( Maybe 'll be locked up first.) Lol

'Sectarian battle lines' are not a major, or even a minor feature, of life in the north. I think you have swallowed a narrative on the Troubles which northern nationalists would not recognise.

Many people attend funerals of those of other faiths and always have done. That Arlene has deliberately drawn such attention to any such gesture she makes, when the rest of us would consider it the most basic of human decency, should tell you all you need to know about her.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 08, 2021, 09:10:32 AM
i find it hard to judge her at the minute because Edwin Poots makes her look good. Once that settles down I guess we can reflect better. My view on her and the same on Pengelly would be that they come across much more reasonable when they're not in the DUP and they when they are in there they are clearing playing to the masses. That doesn't make it any better. In fact it makes it worse as you don't fully know where they stand really.

(North South meetings, GAA matches and catholic funerals are, the way he is going anyway, not things which Poots looks like he would go anywhere near had he the choice and then there's gay blood etc so at the minute Arlene smells of roses but the dust needs to settle.)
Post by: haranguerer on June 08, 2021, 09:22:44 AM
I think she should be judged like anyone else, against general standards of human decency, not the standards of the DUP.

She is far worse than Poots because she was happy to go along with whatever suppression of rights kept her in power, while seemingly not actually supporting what she was doing (as she'd have us believe now) herself. How could you be any more heinous than going along with all of that for pure personal interest. At least Poots professes to believe in the misguided principles he supports. Arlene is now backtracking to try to sanitise herself for a future career. And judging by on here it'll work.

Her spiel about 'the dup not being the party she joined' - its just absolute crap. They were even worse when she joined them. Also coming out with that they weren't the party she thought they were - as someone pointed out in Twitter, as the leader for the last 5 years, they are the party she led them to be. She is a publicity hungry nasty piece of work.

References have been made to her past trauma - she is far from alone in this in the political arena in the north. She deserves sympathy for that, but she doesn't deserve allowances for that in her political career; if she can't get past it then its quite clearly not the career for her.
Post by: BennyCake on June 08, 2021, 09:50:43 AM
I think Arlene will use every opportunity to get a dig at the DUP. They screwed her over, and she will delight in making an attack on them, and at the same time making herself look better, which will only benefit her and the next step she takes.

But to be honest, there's a lot of organisations that people are a part of, but as individuals they aren't allowed to speak their opinion, and have to follow policy. But then again Arlene, and all DUP members know the score before they join.

Not comparing the DUP to the GAA, but I'm sure there were many who didn't agree with Rule 21, 42 or banning of players who played soccer. Likewise, the Catholic Church. I'm sure there are/were many Clergy who didn't/don't agree with certain rules, but tow the line (I actually think that's why Pope Benedict stood down. Because he wasn't prepared to tow the line in terms of the new direction the church was going on certain issues).
Post by: Keyser soze on June 08, 2021, 10:00:19 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on June 08, 2021, 09:50:43 AM
I think Arlene will use every opportunity to get a dig at the DUP. They screwed her over, and she will delight in making an attack on them, and at the same time making herself look better, which will only benefit her and the next step she takes.

But to be honest, there's a lot of organisations that people are a part of, but as individuals they aren't allowed to speak their opinion, and have to follow policy. But then again Arlene, and all DUP members know the score before they join.

Not comparing the DUP to the GAA, but I'm sure there were many who didn't agree with Rule 21, 42 or banning of players who played soccer. Likewise, the Catholic Church. I'm sure there are/were many Clergy who didn't/don't agree with certain rules, but tow the line (I actually think that's why Pope Benedict stood down. Because he wasn't prepared to tow the line in terms of the new direction the church was going on certain issues).

The correct terminology is 'toe the line'.
Post by: BennyCake on June 08, 2021, 10:09:28 AM
Quote from: Keyser soze on June 08, 2021, 10:00:19 AM

The correct terminology is 'toe the line'.

I put that in deliberately to see who was paying attention.
Post by: johnnycool on June 08, 2021, 11:15:06 AM

Apart from toe/towing the line, I'm interested in this new direction the Catholic Church is going, in what way has Pope Francey changed anything?
Post by: Itchy on June 08, 2021, 11:16:54 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on June 08, 2021, 11:15:06 AM

Apart from toe/towing the line, I'm interested in this new direction the Catholic Church is going, in what way has Pope Francey changed anything?

Pope Francis is to be admired for the way he embraced marketing. The results are amazing, he does nothing significantly different than any other pope but people think he is some sort of revolutionary.
Post by: johnnycool on June 08, 2021, 11:24:36 AM
Quote from: Itchy on June 08, 2021, 11:16:54 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on June 08, 2021, 11:15:06 AM

Pope Francis is to be admired for the way he embraced marketing. The results are amazing, he does nothing significantly different than any other pope but people think he is some sort of revolutionary.

Well yes, I'll give him that. He's talked a great talk so far.
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 08, 2021, 11:35:38 AM
This is my final post on this topic. It has gone decidedly off-topic.
The purpose of the thread was fairly uncomplicated; posters were invited to express their personal opinions and there should be no need for anyone to reply with abuse of any sort.
That sort of schoolground behaviour may be okay on topics of a broader nature but I see no need for it here.
To recap one last time; In my (very) personal opinion Arlene Foster suffered at least as much personal tragedy at the hands of the Provos as any nationalist did because of loyalist paramilitaries. IMO again, I think she has every reason to feel bitter. I don't like her politics but I acknowledge that she left her sectarian overcoat behind her on at least  two occasions. That's my personal opinion- more or less and it will remain so.
Post by: seafoid on June 08, 2021, 11:40:27 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 08, 2021, 11:35:38 AM
The purpose of the thread was fairly uncomplicated; posters were invited to express their personal opinions and there should be no need for anyone to reply with abuse of any sort.
That sort of schoolground behaviour may be okay on topics of a broader nature but I see no need for it here.
To recap one last time; In my (very) personal opinion Arlene Foster suffered at least as much personal tragedy at the hands of the Provos as any nationalist did because of loyalist paramilitaries. IMO again, I think she has every reason to feel bitter. I don't like her politics but I acknowledge that she left her sectarian overcoat behind her on at least  two occasions. That's my personal opinion- more or less and it will remain so.

Arlene Foster told the FT  she would probably leave the north if there was a united Ireland.
I was very surprised by that.
Post by: KickItInAndStartClapping on June 08, 2021, 12:23:13 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on June 08, 2021, 08:24:37 AM

'Sectarian battle lines' are not a major, or even a minor feature, of life in the north. I think you have swallowed a narrative on the Troubles which northern nationalists would not recognise.

Many people attend funerals of those of other faiths and always have done. That Arlene has deliberately drawn such attention to any such gesture she makes, when the rest of us would consider it the most basic of human decency, should tell you all you need to know about her.

After reading this thrilling discussion and seeing that Lar Naparka has decided to post his "last post" I would like to state that i
Post by: Itchy on June 08, 2021, 01:08:30 PM

Nothing wrong with what you write above. However you are changing your tune Lar. Above you say "I don't like her politics but I acknowledge that she left her sectarian overcoat behind her on at least  two occasions" but in your opening post, of all the people in the world you could chose to admire (the actual purpose of this thread was to list people you admire) you selected Arlene. Is it fair to say your position has somewhat shifted now?
Post by: Itchy on June 08, 2021, 01:10:19 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 08, 2021, 11:40:27 AM

Arlene Foster told the FT  she would probably leave the north if there was a united Ireland.

Were you really surprised. I am not surprised all she would say that. However, whether she means it or not I dont know.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 08, 2021, 01:14:39 PM
Quote from: KickItInAndStartClapping on June 08, 2021, 12:23:13 PM

After reading this thrilling discussion and seeing that Lar Naparka has decided to post his "last post" I would like to state that i

...come on, you can't leave us hanging like this!!
Post by: KickItInAndStartClapping on June 08, 2021, 02:03:03 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 08, 2021, 01:14:39 PM
Quote from: KickItInAndStartClapping on June 08, 2021, 12:23:13 PM

...come on, you can't leave us hanging like this!!

;D ;D ;D
Wi-fi cut out :o
Post by: HiMucker on June 08, 2021, 02:28:24 PM
A fella in Derry, Daniel Quigley, who lost his father Colm (who was probably the best triathlete in the town) to suicide 10 years ago, is currently training to undertake 10 Ironmen in 10 days, to raise money for Pieta House. Absolutely incredible.
Post by: KickItInAndStartClapping on June 08, 2021, 02:33:03 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on June 08, 2021, 02:28:24 PM
A fella in Derry, Daniel Quigley, who lost his father Colm (who was probably the best triathlete in the town) to suicide 10 years ago, is currently training to undertake 10 Ironmen in 10 days, to raise money for Pieta House. Absolutely incredible.

How far exactly is and Ironman?
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on June 08, 2021, 02:35:37 PM

I read a piece about that in the Irish News a few weeks ago, incredible indeed! Hopefully he can stay injury free throughout to complete it, a serious undertaking! Best of luck to him
Post by: KickItInAndStartClapping on June 08, 2021, 02:38:55 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 08, 2021, 01:10:19 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 08, 2021, 11:40:27 AM

Were you really surprised. I am not surprised all she would say that. However, whether she means it or not I dont know.

She is coming out with controversial statements like this to desperately cling on to any relevancy before she is replaced by Givan next week.
Post by: HiMucker on June 08, 2021, 02:44:17 PM
Quote from: KickItInAndStartClapping on June 08, 2021, 02:33:03 PM

2.4 mile swim followed by a 112 mile cycle finished with a nice wee 26.2 mile marathon run lol
Post by: Ronnie on October 15, 2021, 11:40:29 PM
Who were the winners / poll-toppers in this thread?
Post by: Gmac on October 16, 2021, 01:18:58 AM
Quote from: Ronnie on October 15, 2021, 11:40:29 PM
Who were the winners / poll-toppers in this thread?
sid Waddell
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on October 16, 2021, 07:37:41 AM
Sally Rooney
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 16, 2021, 08:31:35 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on June 08, 2021, 02:44:17 PM

2.4 mile swim followed by a 112 mile cycle finished with a nice wee 26.2 mile marathon run lol

The 'decathon' is that distance ten times in ten days.... There's an Offaly man that did it a few years ago, he won the race, it's outrageous
Post by: seafoid on October 16, 2021, 08:37:02 AM
Dooher and Logan

Irish Times

Logan: "My thinking is, let's get the head down and see if we can win this, because I have been that soldier that came out the wrong end and it is not easy rectified 
"No goals, no goals! That was the big thing," says Logan when asked what went through his mind as the clock ran down. 

"There does come a tipping point in the line when you think 'you know what, we might be home,' but then you're even afraid to think that, because we've all had our shocks in football matches. So no goals was the big thing, and just who was out on their feet, and had we anybody left to put in. 

"So essentially that, and the same principles apply to all matches "

"The question I would say is: why do you have to wait a year or two," explained Dooher before the team departed Croke Park on Saturday evening. 

"You only get one chance and you make the most of it whenever you can.
Post by: shark on October 16, 2021, 08:46:17 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 16, 2021, 08:31:35 AM

The 'decathon' is that distance ten times in ten days.... There's an Offaly man that did it a few years ago, he won the race, it's outrageous

I presume you mean Gerry Duffy. From Mullingar.
Post by: seafoid on October 16, 2021, 08:54:57 AM
Ireland should have a modern merit system

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Order_of_Canada

The provinces could also have one

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Order_of_Ontario

Doesn't have to be Lords and Sirs
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 16, 2021, 09:20:45 AM
Quote from: shark on October 16, 2021, 08:46:17 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 16, 2021, 08:31:35 AM

I presume you mean Gerry Duffy. From Mullingar.

Midlands man then lol! Met him at a conference in Croke, he does inspirational speeches
Post by: armaghniac on March 14, 2022, 10:22:23 PM
I admire this woman who went on the Russian news with an anti war placard
https://twitter.com/maxseddon/status/1503445657805373446

Post by: Wildweasel74 on March 14, 2022, 11:28:49 PM
Brave woman, gulag awaits unfortunately