Fitness Holiday

Started by Karl Kennedy, June 05, 2018, 06:39:10 PM

Karl Kennedy

Has anyone ever went on a fitness holiday/camp? Thinking of doing a week somewhere this summer with plenty of exercise/classes/training. Somewhere in the sun, probably Europe. Have looked at some holiday camps but they are very dear. Has anyone any experience of being on a cheap week away to a resort where there has happened to have been regular fitness classes in the area or on beach etc that you could attend? Think that option would work out much cheaper than a specific fitness camp.

What kind of training are you after? Lanzarote and that club la santa are great spots. I know a tightwad who stayed in the next town and just used to sneak into club lasanta to use the facilities. He got away with it too! Staying near there worth considering though especially if you are into cycling

If you are after bike, run swim you wouldn't need to go anywhere specific. If you want gym classes I wouldn't be too sure.

Karl Kennedy

Things like circuit training, cardio work, running, HITT type of training. Wouldn't be into cycling but would the pool for recovery. Thinking 2/3 sessions per day morning / afternoon / evening with recovery in between. Wouldn't care about the partying when over there, just want a good week of activity.

Wouldn't be sure then. I'd be more into the endurance stuff.

That club la santa would have classes but it has a 50 metre pool and a track so would be more geared towards endurance.

I have done 1 training camp holiday in mallorca quite a few years back and it was good. We'd a blowout at the end but no booze all week. If you are into the fitness it can be a very enjoyable holiday though I wouldn't be sure on the hitt stuff.

Quote from: imtommygunn on June 05, 2018, 08:28:31 PM

That club la santa would have classes but it has a 50 metre pool and a track so would be more geared towards endurance.

I have done 1 training camp holiday in mallorca quite a few years back and it was good. We'd a blowout at the end but no booze all week. If you are into the fitness it can be a very enjoyable holiday though I wouldn't be sure on the hitt stuff.

Hitt in summer in Spain ! Feck

I would imagine most major coastal cities have a primal movement personal trainer or class you could join? Maybe one class and one PT session per day and then enjoy the area. Here's a group in Mallorca for example: http://www.barefootmallorca.com/ 600EURO for 10 sessions over the course of your stay. Might be what you're looking for....

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 05, 2018, 08:51:37 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 05, 2018, 08:28:31 PM

Hitt in summer in Spain ! Feck

The hiit classes in Spain couldn't be any warner than the gyms here at the minute (the ones setup in industrial units).. Ours is like high altitude training, hard to get the lungs filled. I wouldn't mind a holiday like it, though 2 classes max and a pint or 2 in the evening! Blow out to finish of course

A hotel with a good gym in the grounds or next door is just as good imho once you have a program to follow

If you got somewhere with a crossfit place next door
Then mix it up with some cycling or running
Walking or swimming for recovery

You can come to my house. I'll run the living shite out of you for a small fee no bother.

Each to their own but this thread is the exact opposite of what my mental model of a holiday is.

I have been reading this thread in utter disbelief . . . don't get me wrong fair play... but I can't even I don't have the words to describe how alien this sounds to me.

Are you training for anything in particular?

Sounds bizarre but I know plenty that head off for training in Spain Italy, mainly triathletes but they enjoy the craic too! I run every morning when away, family think I'm mad but it fairly sets you up for the day!

When I go holidays I like to smoke 20 fags a day and drink 10 - 15 alcoholic beverages everyday. I get a taxi everywhere. I refuse to walk.
When you are doing crossfit or aqua aerobics at 5am please think of me.

Squad of us went to Tenerife in January for a cycling trip and it really opened my eyes to what a holiday could and should be, fantastic mix of socialising and training. One of my best ever holidays.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 06, 2018, 05:11:02 PM
Sounds bizarre but I know plenty that head off for training in Spain Italy, mainly triathletes but they enjoy the craic too! I run every morning when away, family think I'm mad but it fairly sets you up for the day!

I'll run in the evening just before heading out for dinner and sipping the first beer.. Fairly sets you up for the evening!