Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: BennyCake on April 24, 2013, 07:22:42 PM

Title: El Camino De Santiago
Post by: BennyCake on April 24, 2013, 07:22:42 PM
I've heard quite a lot lately about the pilgrimage trail in Northern Spain, the 'El Camino De Santiago' (or the way of St James).

I recently watched the film 'The Way' (starring Martin Sheen, Emilio Estevez and James Nesbitt), and then happened to see a TG4 series, following a RnaG presenter Ronan from Donegal, who also walked the Camino. I've heard it on the radio, and seen in numerous newspapers and magazines too.

I've noticed there's a few walking trails now in Ireland as well. Most notably, the one from Westport to Achill Island. 

I'm not sure I could ever do the Camino (approx 500 miles), but I would think about walking the shorter trails. 

In the film, Martin Sheen is a 60-something year old, who is obviously not a keen walker, but literally flies through the 500 mile trail, So, I don't think it's as easy as just turning up with no training done beforehand. It does seem very tough.

I'm wondering if anyone has ever walked the Camino, or something similar? I'd like to hear about your experiences, or of people you know that may have walked it (or something similar).
Title: Re: El Camino De Santiago
Post by: Rois on April 24, 2013, 08:43:02 PM
I know a man who has done part of it. My cousin is planning on doing it this year.

The film would really inspire you - I loved it, bought it on DVD and have shared it around friends and family.

There's a book called Buen Camino written jointly by an Irish father and daughter who started with Croagh Patrick and it led them to the Camino.

The sports shop out at Dundrum in Dublin, can't rem the name but it is one with its doors to the outside - it seems to run talks on it pretty frequently.
Post by: Billys Boots on April 25, 2013, 09:01:16 AM
A friend of mine does it fairly regularly, well bits of it anyway.  He reckons it does him the world of good, psychologically.  And he's an atheist.   ;)
Post by: Declan on April 25, 2013, 09:22:13 AM
QuoteA friend of mine does it fairly regularly, well bits of it anyway.  He reckons it does him the world of good, psychologically.  And he's an atheist.   

Brilliant. Or as Dara O'Briain says I don't believe in God anymore but I'm still an Irish catholic
Post by: Geoff Tipps on April 25, 2013, 09:47:31 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on April 24, 2013, 07:22:42 PM
I've heard quite a lot lately about the pilgrimage trail in Northern Spain, the 'El Camino De Santiago' (or the way of St James).

I recently watched the film 'The Way' (starring Martin Sheen, Emilio Estevez and James Nesbitt), and then happened to see a TG4 series, following a RnaG presenter Ronan from Donegal, who also walked the Camino. I've heard it on the radio, and seen in numerous newspapers and magazines too.

I've noticed there's a few walking trails now in Ireland as well. Most notably, the one from Westport to Achill Island.

I'm not sure I could ever do the Camino (approx 500 miles), but I would think about walking the shorter trails.

In the film, Martin Sheen is a 60-something year old, who is obviously not a keen walker, but literally flies through the 500 mile trail, So, I don't think it's as easy as just turning up with no training done beforehand. It does seem very tough.

I'm wondering if anyone has ever walked the Camino, or something similar? I'd like to hear about your experiences, or of people you know that may have walked it (or something similar).

There are a number of different routes. The most popular one starts in St Jean Pied de Port, just inside the French border.
I walked about 150 miles of this route and have to say in the height of summer, it's quite demanding!
Accommodation along the way is quite basic. Of course you can choose to stay at hotels or guest houses but you won't
get the same out of the experience if you don't stay in the pilgrim's hostels.
Overall it's a great way to spend a couple of weeks.
Two things I would certainly recommend - do some training beforehand and buy walking poles. They are invaluable especially when walking down hills.
Post by: Hound on April 25, 2013, 10:03:45 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on April 24, 2013, 07:22:42 PM
In the film, Martin Sheen is a 60-something year old, who is obviously not a keen walker, but literally flies through the 500 mile trail
Helicopter, or is he a super hero in it?
Post by: Canalman on April 25, 2013, 11:01:54 AM
Quote from: Declan on April 25, 2013, 09:22:13 AM
QuoteA friend of mine does it fairly regularly, well bits of it anyway.  He reckons it does him the world of good, psychologically.  And he's an atheist.   

Brilliant. Or as Dara O'Briain says I don't believe in God anymore but I'm still an Irish catholic

New term I believe is a Census Catholic.
Post by: Hardy on April 25, 2013, 11:18:17 AM
Quote from: Declan on April 25, 2013, 09:22:13 AM

Likewise, I know a fair number of people, from atheists to sceptics, who have done this. They all loved it and a large proportion repeated it, or intend to.

I don't know of anyone who did the whole thing. The usual procedure seems to be to walk the last however-many miles into Santiago that you can do in the time you have available. There are organised tours where you walk 10-20 miles a day and your gear gets delivered to your next lodgings, etc.
Post by: Hardy on April 25, 2013, 11:24:39 AM
The "No' a lo' o' people know this" slot.

St. James's Gate in Dublin, nowadays known as the home of (an indifferent brand of) stout, is so named because it was the starting point in Ireland for the pilgrim route to Santiago de Compostella.
Post by: seafoid on April 25, 2013, 11:35:21 AM
I think Santiago was Santiago Matamoros, the Muslim killer. Did he drone much?
Post by: ardal on April 25, 2013, 11:49:15 AM
The camino depends on when you tackle it. In the height of summer or winter is can be a real pain.

Pyscially the toughtest part is from sant Jean Pied de port to roncas valles (northern Navarra), but as it's at the start you're ready for it. Only a basic level of fitness is required.

More importantly is the clothing you wear and the weight you carry in your backpack / rucksack.

The accommoadation and price you pay is second to nothing you'll experience back home. Clean, welcoming, comfortable.

Plan to walk minimal distances per day. For the more advantureous we're talikng 30km, but most of us should keep around the 20/25 km mark.

If you start 100km (I think) from Santiago de C. and get the camino passport stamped you can still get the cert at the end; but that's cheating in my book.

The most interesting parts for me where going up and over fron Sant Jean de pied and then the bits at the latter stages entering galciaxz. La Rioja is a bit flat and windy for my liking.

Companianship beats everything hands down. Not a believer but the people are great and the characters you meet are next to none.
Post by: Arthur_Friend on April 25, 2013, 11:50:00 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on April 25, 2013, 09:01:16 AM
A friend of mine does it fairly regularly, well bits of it anyway.  He reckons it does him the world of good, psychologically.  And he's an atheist.   ;)

Who'd have thought going for a walk through beautiful countryside would make you feel good.
Post by: BennyCake on December 04, 2015, 06:43:18 PM
Good documentary on during the week on RTE featuring women who had overcome cancer, took to walking part of the route.

I'd still like to give it a go. Probably not all at once though. Wouldn't be fit for a months walking nor could afford it in one go.
Post by: The Iceman on December 04, 2015, 08:19:32 PM
We've been talking about the Camino for a long time - even toyed with the idea of moving to St Jean pied de Port and opening a guest house
May still happen.
Something very alluring about it - for Christians and non Christians alike.
Post by: thejuice on December 04, 2015, 08:30:39 PM
My folks have walked bits of it. They started in St Jean in France. Can't remember what stages they did. However there is more than one route and my wife who is from the north of Spain says the coastal route is the most impressive.
Post by: Boycey on December 04, 2015, 09:03:53 PM
I've never done the Camino and in all honesty probably never wil but I've holidayed several times along that northern Spanish region both on the coast and inland and it's a really really beautiful area. Such a refreshing change from the resorts of Southern Spain and it's cheap as chips  8)
Post by: moysider on December 04, 2015, 09:08:26 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 25, 2013, 11:35:21 AM

I doubt it. I doubt he killed any Muslims either. But that is his name 'Slayer of Moors'

If my memory serves me correctly the legend has it that the Apostle James went to Spain and founded the church there. Centuries later he miraculously appeared on a horse in a battle between Christians and Moors and creeled all around him. For this he became patron saint of Spain. He's supposed to be buried in the The Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela.

Myself and Mrs Moysider have often talked about doing it. Hope to get around to it sometime. 
Post by: Rois on December 04, 2015, 09:37:55 PM
My folks did a part of it in October - they are both 69. They did an escorted tour where they stayed in hotels and got bussed in and out every day but they still did so much walking.
Post by: The Iceman on December 04, 2015, 09:49:29 PM
Quote from: moysider on December 04, 2015, 09:08:26 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 25, 2013, 11:35:21 AM

I doubt it. I doubt he killed any Muslims either. But that is his name 'Slayer of Moors'

If my memory serves me correctly the legend has it that the Apostle James went to Spain and founded the church there. Centuries later he miraculously appeared on a horse in a battle between Christians and Moors and creeled all around him. For this he became patron saint of Spain. He's supposed to be buried in the The Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela.

Myself and Mrs Moysider have often talked about doing it. Hope to get around to it sometime.

Never happened from what I heard - couldn't find much online about it but there this:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saint_James_Matamoros (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saint_James_Matamoros)
Post by: moysider on December 04, 2015, 10:19:06 PM

You'd have to commit a month to it.
Doing 20 miles a day it would take 25 days and no rest day :-\
Post by: easytiger95 on December 04, 2015, 11:11:03 PM
Stayed in San Sebastian during the summer and walked a very small part of the coastal route. Might go back and do the whole thing some day. An absolutely beautiful part of the world - great scenery, great food and great vino. Dunno how that plays into the spirituality but I certainly came home refreshed.
Post by: ONeill on December 04, 2015, 11:21:20 PM
Anyone who brings up the word Camino at a party should be skinned alive.
Post by: Denn Forever on December 05, 2015, 02:14:16 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 04, 2015, 11:21:20 PM

Unless they are Muscle car fans.

(https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/d/d0/1968_El_Camino.jpg)

Post by: ashman on December 05, 2015, 08:51:00 PM

Agree and worse if they add "spiritual ".
Post by: David McKeown on December 06, 2015, 04:36:58 PM
My dad finished it a couple of weeks ago. Started it in late September and did the whole thing. He's 74 and won't be that fit. I thought it an extradoniary achievement given his health problems.
Post by: BennyCake on December 06, 2015, 04:54:08 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on December 06, 2015, 04:36:58 PM
My dad finished it a couple of weeks ago. Started it in late September and did the whole thing. He's 74 and won't be that fit. I thought it an extradoniary achievement given his health problems.

Fair play. Had he any useful snippets of info?
Post by: David McKeown on December 06, 2015, 10:09:07 PM
I'll certainly ask him. I know he really enjoyed it and he wouldn't have been the most spiritual people before going. I spoke with plenty of people who did it before he went though as I was genuinely worried about it. They all shared the view you had to travel incredibly light with a wear one wash one policy. Also as silly as it sounds the shoes should be probably worn in and treated months before you go.
Post by: ashman on December 06, 2015, 10:47:18 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on December 06, 2015, 04:36:58 PM

Respect to the man .
Post by: Canalman on December 06, 2015, 11:30:15 PM

Sadly correct. Cue for some bore(s) usually droneing on about doing it for an hour or so.
Post by: BennyCake on February 18, 2018, 10:40:33 AM
Gerry Kelly walks the Camino, Radio Six Counties/Ulster 12.30pm today if anyone is interested.

Still have a hankering to do it myself at some stage. Will be interesting to hear what he has to say.
Post by: Orior on February 18, 2018, 11:30:37 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on February 18, 2018, 10:40:33 AM
Gerry Kelly walks the Camino, Radio Six Counties/Ulster 12.30pm today if anyone is interested.

Still have a hankering to do it myself at some stage. Will be interesting to hear what he has to say.

Get the bus to Portadown and walk back to Newry along the towpath. It will lift your soul. The idea of the Canal was first pitched by engineers working for king William as he marched down to the battle of the Boyne in 1689. The Canal was finished circa 1740.

That walk would tell you if you are ready for the Camino. I'd love to do it. Some people stay in hostels while others stay in hotels. The latter seems to be against the spirit of the walk.
Post by: gallsman on February 18, 2018, 11:38:39 AM

Was his car clamped again?
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 18, 2018, 11:53:27 AM
Quote from: gallsman on February 18, 2018, 11:38:39 AM

The other Gerry Kelly.
Post by: Orior on February 18, 2018, 12:54:38 PM
Gerry Kelly is on Radio Ulster now, talking about the Camino.
Post by: BennyCake on February 18, 2018, 01:07:00 PM

Post by: BennyCake on February 18, 2018, 01:14:53 PM
Quote from: Orior on February 18, 2018, 11:30:37 AM

Get the bus to Portadown and walk back to Newry along the towpath. It will lift your soul. The idea of the Canal was first pitched by engineers working for king William as he marched down to the battle of the Boyne in 1689. The Canal was finished circa 1740.

That walk would tell you if you are ready for the Camino. I'd love to do it. Some people stay in hostels while others stay in hotels. The latter seems to be against the spirit of the walk.

I haven't walked the Newry canal path but I've done it on bicycle. It's not a bad spin. Would be much better if canal was properly cleaned up and in use.

I suppose it would be a good tester for anyone thinking of doing the Camino. I think it's about 17 miles so you'd need to be covering that sort of distance on the Camino every day.
Post by: Hardy on February 18, 2018, 01:46:10 PM

Get the bus to Portadown and walk back to Newry along the towpath. It will lift your soul.

I'd say that applies no matter how you leave Portadown.
Post by: Orior on February 18, 2018, 02:02:01 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 18, 2018, 01:46:10 PM

Get the bus to Portadown and walk back to Newry along the towpath. It will lift your soul.

I'd say that applies no matter how you leave Portadown.

Very good!
Post by: gallsman on February 18, 2018, 02:11:19 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 18, 2018, 11:53:27 AM

The other Gerry Kelly.

Thanks for that Tony...
Post by: BennyCake on March 19, 2018, 11:28:33 PM
Pilgrimage on BBC2 or iplayer. Neil Morrissey, Ed Byrne, Heather Small and others walk the Camino.

Have it recorded, not watched yet.
Post by: paddyjohn on March 20, 2018, 10:23:17 AM
I work with a guy who has done this as last 2/3years after the death of his wife. Says it was the best thing he ever done.
Post by: rosnarun on March 20, 2018, 11:03:00 AM
here one that has every thing ancient history, pilgrimage a st Patrick and a famine connection ,
a good starter can be done in one day , you could do Westport achill next day if you still have energy though that really just following old train tracks but has been make very walkable of cycle if you like bike hire available all along the line

From Ballintubber Abbey stretching out to Croagh Patrick is Tóchar Phádraig, the ancient pilgrim path.

Originally it was the chariot road that went from Rathcruachan, the seat of the Kings and Queens of Connacht, to Aughagower and Cruachan Aille, as Croagh Patrick was called in Pre-Christian times.

Quest-Brochure-PictureAfter St Patrick's time pilgrims began to traverse that same road to the holy mountain and over time it became known as Tóchar Phádraig or St Patrick's Causeway.

After the pilgrimages to Jerusalem ceased in the C13th due to the taking over of the Holy Places by the Saracens, the pilgrimages to Croagh Patrick became even more important. When Ballintubber Abbey was built in 1216 a hostel was also put in place to cater for the many pilgrims. This hostel, the remains of which can be seen today in the grounds, incorporated a place for both ritual washing and actual cleansing. It is called Danchora or the 'Bath of the righteous'.

After 1588 it went into decline as a public road and in Penal times it ceased to be used as a pilgrim path. In 1987 it was restored and every year hundreds of pilgrims walk Tóchar Phádraig on pilgrimage – a distance of 22 miles (35km).
Post by: gallsman on April 05, 2018, 04:51:47 PM
Show on BBC over the last few weeks following some "celebrities" of varying degrees of faith walking the Camino. Pretty interesting and entertaining.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 05, 2018, 05:09:31 PM
It's a long walk
Much of the walk is quite boring.
Days merge into each other.
You start out early to avoid sun and to have time in the evening.
Took me 30 days from France to Santiago.

Looking back, I'd have preferred a week or two walking in alps, Kerry or so somewhere else scenic
Post by: BennyCake on April 05, 2018, 05:31:15 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on April 05, 2018, 05:09:31 PM
It's a long walk

Looking back, I'd have preferred a week or two walking in alps, Kerry or so somewhere else scenic

Was it physically tough? Would you need to do anything each day to prevent injury? I'd have thought lugging a backpack around for a month would be the toughest part of it?
Post by: easytiger95 on April 05, 2018, 06:06:36 PM
It's a long walk

Does the scenery vary by route? I'm told the coastal route is better than the inland ones.

Post by: The Iceman on April 05, 2018, 07:59:36 PM
It's a long walk

why did you go? what were you seeking or were you just out for a walk? did you mix with people? meet people you connected with?
It's a pilgrimage, a journey - I'm very surprised to hear your account of it
Post by: gallsman on April 05, 2018, 10:31:48 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 05, 2018, 07:59:36 PM

It's a walk. Whether you're doing it for pilgrimage or not is entirely down to the individual.
Post by: The Iceman on April 05, 2018, 10:47:38 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 05, 2018, 10:31:48 PM

It's a walk. Whether you're doing it for pilgrimage or not is entirely down to the individual.
I disagree. It isn't just a walk. It's a walk that traces the footsteps of a disciple of Christ. It has always been more than just a stroll down a country lane. People do it with a purpose.  To go with no purpose and then write the whole experience off because you went with the wrong intention isn't a fair representation of it.

It's like someone going to Croke Park the day after a match and saying it's a total shit hole what's all the fuss about.

Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 05, 2018, 11:33:42 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 05, 2018, 10:47:38 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 05, 2018, 10:31:48 PM

I disagree. It isn't just a walk. It's a walk that traces the footsteps of a disciple of Christ. It has always been more than just a stroll down a country lane. People do it with a purpose.  To go with no purpose and then write the whole experience off because you went with the wrong intention isn't a fair representation of it.

It's like someone going to Croke Park the day after a match and saying it's a total shit hole what's all the fuss about.
[/quote

Would it be like booking a hotel for the AI final and discovering you were on the wrong weekend then thinking the atmosphere was crap?]
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 06, 2018, 12:12:33 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on April 05, 2018, 05:31:15 PM
It's a long walk

Was it physically tough? Would you need to do anything each day to prevent injury? I'd have thought lugging a backpack around for a month would be the toughest part of it?
I walked from St Jean along the French route
Yes it is quite demanding
I didn't do enough walking in advance of it
Blisters, fatigue

I met so many people along the way. Still in contact with a retired couple from nova scotia
Walked with different people every day, dinner with different people every day, plenty of drinks in various towns and villages

Why did I do It? I'm not religious at all. Was interested in the challenge and the social aspect of it.

Some sections of the walk are along roads. You might as well be in kildare. Some of the villages and towns  slong the way were interesting

As I said, would I do It all again? Not along the French route due to proximity to roads for much of the way

a few weeks hiking in the Sierras in California, Olympic National Park or up in British Columbia would be a much nicer experience. Or just go to NZ for a few weeks and do some of the great walks
Post by: The Iceman on April 06, 2018, 04:53:42 PM
right, because those are walks, hiking trails known for their scenery and beauty.....
It's like going for an island getaway to lough derg.....
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 06, 2018, 05:57:30 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 06, 2018, 04:53:42 PM
right, because those are walks, hiking trails known for their scenery and beauty.....
It's like going for an island getaway to lough derg.....
Ok.
The northern Camino is meant to be very scenic

My point was, if spending a few grand on a walking holiday, you might as well go somewhere scenic
Post by: gallsman on April 06, 2018, 06:07:48 PM
It's famous though, and a renowned challenge, so lots of people just do it for the craic. A bucket list item.