American Sports Thread

Started by magickingdom, October 28, 2007, 06:02:17 PM

Oraisteach

Hate the Steelers, but the Rooneys are a great family.

mc_grens

Happy for the rooneys. Happy for polamalu. Can't stand Hines ward.

mattockranger

what do the rooneys do??

Bloody steelers!! Great game! great ending!! poor oul cardinals!!

classic and great advert for NFL!!

will to win is important the will to prepare to win is vital

Oraisteach

mattockranger

will to win is important the will to prepare to win is vital

They could at least have covered the frigging spread, wankers.  :-[

Superb game & well worth staying up for
Thought the Cards had it

Had backed under the points as well as Fitzgerald for the last td though :-\

Quote from: tyssam5 on February 02, 2009, 04:03:59 AM
They could at least have covered the frigging spread, w**kers.  :-[

Yeah!

Very enjoyable and no going to bed early! I think the best team won but it was a very spirited show by Arizona. Must check who got MVP - its usually someone on the winning team isn't it? There were a few strong candidates on the losing side.

All in all a very good game and great specatacle. Hope Bruce's balls are ok!

Whats the craic with them being "World" Champions  ::)

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 02, 2009, 10:47:24 AM
Whats the craic with them being "World" Champions  ::)

They are the best American football team in the world! You cant argue with that!

I actually think that it originates from the fact that it used to be sponsered by a newspaper called "The World" and it used to be that the winners were called "the Worlds champions"

Why can't Setanta do something like this ??  :D :D :D :D :D

Super Bowl porn hits US viewers 

Larry Fitzgerald was scoring for the Cardinals when the coverage was hit
US sports fans in Arizona got a surprise when their TV coverage of American football's Super Bowl was interrupted by a pornographic film.

Tuscon-based KVOA-TV said it was "dismayed and disappointed" after some cable viewers had their match coverage disrupted towards the end of the game.

The company said the material was only seen by viewers of one cable network.

"KVOA will investigate what happened and make sure our viewers get answers," company president Gary Nielsen said.
"When the NBC feed of the Super Bowl was transmitted from KVOA to local cable providers and through over-the-air antennas, there was no pornographic material," he added.

Comcast, the cable company whose viewers saw the material, said it was investigating.

Local media outlets reported that they received calls from furious viewers.

The clip showed a woman unzipping a man's trousers, followed by a graphic act between the two.

"I just figured it was another commercial until I looked up," viewer Cora King told the Arizona Daily Star.

"Then he did his little dance with everything hanging out."

The interruption happened just after the last touchdown by the Arizona Cardinals, who lost the match to the Pittsburgh Steelers

Great Leap Forward

As a Bengals fan last night brought back horrible memories of Superbowl 23 when they scored too early and Montana marched the 49's down the field to score the winning TD with 34 seconds to go.

I t was really exciting but I was gutted for the Cards. I felt it was the Steelers year about 12 weeks into the season because everything seemed to be going for them. It turned out that way in the play-offs with the Colts and the Titans bowing out of the AFC and the Giants and Panthers biting the dust in the NFC.

It's a pity Dockett couldn't have got to Ben just one more time at the start of that last drive and maybe just have backed them up a bit further.

For a big fella Roethlisberger is so nimble in the pocket. On the final drive last night I thought the Cardinals were close to sacking him about four times but he kept ducking and diving and running and eventually he gets the ball to a free receiver.

Poor old AZ must have been tearing his hair out.

I was gutted for the Cards to be honest. Larry Fitz looking at the replay of the winning TD in absolute horror. All he could say was "NO, NO, NO, NO"

I'm sick. Gutted. So many little swing moments, so close and yet so far away. A poor, nervous start, followed by a good goalline stand and a field goal conceded. Then falling 10-0 down, coming back to 10-7, getting an interception and a likely field goal at least to tie at half time. Then marching all they way to first and goal, and all of a sudden a little fade to Fitzgerald and it's 14-10 Cards, surely. No, a seam route to Boldin, cut off by the linebacker. Gutted. Now what the f*ck. Jaysus he's going all the way. No way. Surely his knee was down. No. Touchdown. 17-10. Bollox.

Then the stand and the fieldgoal, only 20-7, still a 2 TD game. Then the harsh penalty on the FG attempt, so they get another 3 goes. Another stand. Re-kick. phew.

Then the Cardinals find their groove, on Offense and Defense. Warner and Fitz start to click. Breaston, Boldin, Urban and co moving the sticks. TD. Why didn't we throw that ball to Fitzgerald in the first half. No one better at that fade route. 20-14.

Defense steps up. Safety. Class. a TD now and we're a full FG ahead.

Then Larry Fitz gets his huge TD play as the Steelers give him the freedom of Tampa. Cardinals up by three!! Holy Jaysus. Wait a minute nearly 3 minutes left. Damn. Why didn't Polumalu tackle him about 6 yards out and give the cardinals a first and goal. Waste time. 3 minutes is too long. Ah well, at least they'll only get a Field Goal and OT.

Holding Call. Yes. 1st and 20. One last stand Cardinals. Oh no. First down. Back looking for Field Goal range again. Then Stupid Cards safety slips on the pass play, and Holmes goes to the 10 yard line. Feck it. Nearly be better to let him score then and have over a minute for Warner and co. Fade route left. Incomplete. Phew. Fade route right, over 3 defensive backs. What a catch. Unbelievable.

Sick.

Fair play to the Steelers though, they are a great franchise and it was a gutsy call to throw passes down there. An INT and the game was over. But what a pass and catch for the TD. On a sixpence.

I'm delighted at the year the Cardinals had, and now they have to keep competing. Question marks over Warner, James and Boldin in free Agency times, but apart from James and Warner it's a young team.

Oh how close though. How damn close.

Without trying to sound like I know the first thing about American Football because I don't..
I think the Arizona players were all guilty of ball watching right at the end..Why was yer man that caught the ball left on his own.... ??? There was no one behind him..First thing I was taught as a defender when playing soccer was always keep yer man in front of you when defending a long ball..
Zonal defense just doesn't work,mark the man first I say :D

Anyway apart from that as I am still off sick from work I stayed up late and watched all the match,can't say I'm converted into a fan of the sport but it was a exciting game true enough,bit like something you'd see Disney come up with in a movie