Sinn Fein? They have gone away, you know.

Started by Trevor Hill, January 18, 2010, 12:28:52 AM

(N.B. I very rarely shop in marks and sparks ;D)

I have found worse examples of fishing for your religion in scotland than I have here. I was out one night in edinburgh and a friend of a friend, who was an arsehole, spent the whole night trying to get religion out of me with various poorly masked questions which I wouldn't give an answer to.

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: imtommygunn on March 11, 2021, 11:20:45 AM

I have found worse examples of fishing for your religion in scotland than I have here. I was out one night in edinburgh and a friend of a friend, who was an arsehole, spent the whole night trying to get religion out of me with various poorly masked questions which I wouldn't give an answer to.

;D ;D Fair play .

Im away to do a bit , btw, the 2 for £10 deal is delightful in M&S.

I don't get it at all... I work in a Republican town and we had a lad in to test the smoke alarms.

He had a few tattoos and looked fairly normal ... one of the older lads turned to the other after he left and said "aye he's definitely a prod". I soon chastised the 2 of them. What the f**k does it matter? He came in said hello tested the smoke alarm and was out I'm really not sure what his religion had to do with anything.

For me it's definitely a thing in the older generations who were teenagers or older in the 80s where it was a big deal if a Protestant came into a Caholic workplace and to be fair most are trying to steer clear of that kind of talk but old habits die hard.

Certainly very few under the age of 40 I know would talk like that at all and thankfully it's dying out!

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on March 11, 2021, 11:30:33 AM

;D ;D Fair play .

Thinks it 12 quid now for the meal deal in M&S

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on March 11, 2021, 11:09:03 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 11, 2021, 11:00:05 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on March 11, 2021, 10:29:43 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 11, 2021, 10:28:58 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on March 11, 2021, 10:00:14 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 11, 2021, 09:56:40 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on March 11, 2021, 09:50:19 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 11, 2021, 09:38:21 AM
QuoteI can pretty much guarantee that most northern nationalists have  been involved in a conversation over the last week where something bad was said about protestants.

Can you explain the above statement?

Forget SF for a post. I don't care about them and you have a made a statement about northern nationalists and not SF. What is that statement about? Where has it come from?

Based on what I see and hear every single week, most nationalists will quite willingly engage in conversations that are negative about protestants, its engrained in us all, we don't like to admit it

I don't see that at all.

Occasionally anti DUP sentiments.

That's a fairly broad brush statement which tbh is nonsense.

Probably work with women

I work in IT. Barely a woman in the place.

Tbh that statement is absolute nonsense.

IT-more or less women then lol. All yous brainy boys wile mild mannered

I would work in what I assume is a completely mixed environment where I would assume most people wouldn't even know what religion most other people are. It doesn't come up as no one cares.

Main hobby outside work is running and that is the same. Never comes up.

I guess it depends on your environment. Also where I live is completely mixed.

snob, you probably shop at Marks and Sparks and meet up with your muckers for "coffee" and a quick flick though the FT, there are literally no working class mixed areas(probably a few but very very little). PLus we all know  religion within 3-4 questions, where u from, what school you go to, whats your name, what sport u play?

I would live in a fairly predominate prod area, though its not an estate.. I was out at my mums one day and the kids were around 5 or 6 and being heavily involved with my club I'd been looking after the under 12 hurling teams for a few years, so the garage completely stacked with hurls, helmets cones and balls..

We'd be living there about a year or so, so usual chit chat and nothing like asking where ya from and what school di ya go to, not the done thing in fairness around there.

Anyways back to the story, my wife gave me a call and said you may get back to the house and oversee the game Amy (my eldest daughter) has arranged in the street, I pulls into the street, its a cul de sac and low and behold there was a full on street hurling match on, Amy had the kids in the street into teams and helmets on and nets (cones) arranged striking the soft hurling ball up and down the streets.. I didn't have to announce to anyone in the street that I was from the Falls, my kids did it for me!

QuoteI can pretty much guarantee that most northern nationalists have  been involved in a conversation over the last week where something bad was said about protestants.

Forget SF for a post. I don't care about them and you have a made a statement about northern nationalists and not SF. What is that statement about? Where has it come from?

Based on what I see and hear every single week, most nationalists will quite willingly engage in conversations that are negative about protestants, its engrained in us all, we don't like to admit it

I don't see that at all.

Probably work with women

Sexist as well now Fear, you're on a roll these days.

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on March 11, 2021, 10:58:37 AM
Quote from: Franko on March 11, 2021, 10:55:01 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on March 11, 2021, 10:11:39 AM
Quote from: Franko on March 11, 2021, 10:05:47 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on March 11, 2021, 09:13:16 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on March 11, 2021, 08:29:17 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on March 11, 2021, 06:58:07 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 10, 2021, 10:07:05 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on March 10, 2021, 04:58:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 10, 2021, 04:54:48 PM
https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/politics/arid-40241705.html

Leo is making a bit of a dick out of himself recently.

The more you see the less likeable he is. What's that saying - if he was a lollipop he'd eat himself? Comes across very ego centric all about me.

(I know most politicians are but he is definitely up there...)

Undoubted tube at times, but let's be honest must be very very few protestants on island supporting SF. And I think it's becoming more widely accepted now that SF can't be leaders on unity push if we are to convince unionists. I'm telling you most Shinners( and others) sectarianise about protestants every single day. It's often cloaked in poor tasting humour. I can pretty much guarantee that most northern nationalists have  been involved in a conversation over the last week where something bad was said about protestants.

Is this a serious post?

Yes. Who hasn't heard the word "Hun", "black/orange bast%%ds", "f**k them , hell rub it up the feckers with Brexit etc" used recently. Stop lying lads. You know its true. Sectarianism and division underpins almost everything we do in the north. Suck it up. People are so cute about this stuff, ach sure its only a bit of craic etc

Definitely a Derry thing.

No normal people hear this sort of stuff on a weekly basis about 'protestants'

You need to broaden your horizons

Ach I know, you are right, that's why there are virtually only a handful of prods on here, we generally don't go to school together, we broadly don't play sport together, we don't worship together, we broadly don't socialise together, we broadly don't LIVE together. All them normal people that love prods so much and never say anything bad go to massive lengths to stay away from them in nearly every aspect of their lives. Very odd that

Anyone who goes to massive lengths to stay away from protestants is certainly not normal

If this is something that is normal to you then you should probably be looking a bit closer to home when trying to find the problem

Explain our demographics then please, in a sentence if you can, because as far as can see we have peace and we have not changed any of the above

People and families live where they've always lived

Were you expecting everyone to up sticks and move house on Holy Saturday 1998?

People tend to want to stay round their family and those they grew up with.  Hence, you don't remove segregation overnight.  It will take generations.

Same with sports - children play the sports they are introduced to by their parents... which tend to be the sports their parents played/watched... again... it takes generations to homogenise these things

Sectarian enclaves still exist but they are far from the norm

Unfortunately, you seem to be slap bang in the middle of one

Quote from: Rossfan on March 11, 2021, 11:50:28 AM
Talking of sexism ;D

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/politics/arid-40242149.html

Positive discrimination  ;)

And if a protestant woman from a minority group becomes available they'll be a shoo-in.

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 11, 2021, 11:36:11 AM

;D ;D Fair play .

Not if you go in 9:45

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: johnnycool on March 11, 2021, 11:48:42 AM

I don't see that at all.

Probably work with women

Ach I jest lad, that's all, for the craic, my mas actually a woman, so is the wife and most of the wains, son is LGBT, so im not at all narrow minded there.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 11, 2021, 11:36:11 AM

;D ;D Fair play .

The b**tards.

MR I hope you are not one of these former working class west belfast people. There's a boy I know who moved from west to south and when asked where he was from one night, I think at a pantomime,  he said south belfast and has never lived that down to this day. I hope you're not one of them  ;D

themac_23

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 11, 2021, 11:46:35 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on March 11, 2021, 11:09:03 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 11, 2021, 11:00:05 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on March 11, 2021, 10:29:43 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 11, 2021, 10:28:58 AM

I don't see that at all.

Probably work with women

I work in IT. Barely a woman in the place.

Tbh that statement is absolute nonsense.

IT-more or less women then lol. All yous brainy boys wile mild mannered

I would work in what I assume is a completely mixed environment where I would assume most people wouldn't even know what religion most other people are. It doesn't come up as no one cares.

Main hobby outside work is running and that is the same. Never comes up.

I guess it depends on your environment. Also where I live is completely mixed.

snob, you probably shop at Marks and Sparks and meet up with your muckers for "coffee" and a quick flick though the FT, there are literally no working class mixed areas(probably a few but very very little). PLus we all know  religion within 3-4 questions, where u from, what school you go to, whats your name, what sport u play?

I would live in a fairly predominate prod area, though its not an estate.. I was out at my mums one day and the kids were around 5 or 6 and being heavily involved with my club I'd been looking after the under 12 hurling teams for a few years, so the garage completely stacked with hurls, helmets cones and balls..

We'd be living there about a year or so, so usual chit chat and nothing like asking where ya from and what school di ya go to, not the done thing in fairness around there.

Anyways back to the story, my wife gave me a call and said you may get back to the house and oversee the game Amy (my eldest daughter) has arranged in the street, I pulls into the street, its a cul de sac and low and behold there was a full on street hurling match on, Amy had the kids in the street into teams and helmets on and nets (cones) arranged striking the soft hurling ball up and down the streets.. I didn't have to announce to anyone in the street that I was from the Falls, my kids did it for me!

how many of them did ya send off  :P

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on March 11, 2021, 09:13:16 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on March 11, 2021, 08:29:17 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on March 11, 2021, 06:58:07 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 10, 2021, 10:07:05 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on March 10, 2021, 04:58:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 10, 2021, 04:54:48 PM
https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/politics/arid-40241705.html

Leo is making a bit of a dick out of himself recently.

The more you see the less likeable he is. What's that saying - if he was a lollipop he'd eat himself? Comes across very ego centric all about me.

(I know most politicians are but he is definitely up there...)

Undoubted tube at times, but let's be honest must be very very few protestants on island supporting SF. And I think it's becoming more widely accepted now that SF can't be leaders on unity push if we are to convince unionists. I'm telling you most Shinners( and others) sectarianise about protestants every single day. It's often cloaked in poor tasting humour. I can pretty much guarantee that most northern nationalists have  been involved in a conversation over the last week where something bad was said about protestants.

Is this a serious post?

Yes. Who hasn't heard the word "Hun", "black/orange bast%%ds", "f**k them , hell rub it up the feckers with Brexit etc" used recently. Stop lying lads. You know its true. Sectarianism and division underpins almost everything we do in the north. Suck it up. People are so cute about this stuff, ach sure its only a bit of craic etc

Clearly wasn't a serious post then

Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on March 11, 2021, 12:13:00 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on March 11, 2021, 11:48:42 AM

I don't see that at all.

Probably work with women

Ach I jest lad, that's all, for the craic, my mas actually a woman, so is the wife and most of the wains, son is LGBT, so im not at all narrow minded there.

This made me chuckle