GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Hound on December 19, 2007, 08:28:12 AM

Title: Mickey Harte wants Gaelic Football in the Olympics
Post by: Hound on December 19, 2007, 08:28:12 AM
"I call upon the GAA to make a proposal to the International Olympic Committee that Gaelic Football become an exhibition sport at the Olympic Games. People will then see the quality of the product that we have and we can then further appreciate the potential of our own games."

Good man Mickey.

Ireland v United Kingdom in the final me reckons  ;)

Title: Re: Mickey Harte wants Gaelic Football in the Olympics
Post by: Out in Front on December 19, 2007, 08:42:06 AM
Would the boys from the six counties would have the option of declaring for either Ireland or Great Britain & Northern Ireland (as it's called)?

What a team GB & NI could have...and the real prospect of 15 (or 30 if you include the whole panel) 'British' olympic gold medals too!
Post by: Hound on December 19, 2007, 08:59:24 AM
Quote from: Out in Front on December 19, 2007, 08:42:06 AM
Would the boys from the six counties would have the option of declaring for either Ireland or Great Britain & Northern Ireland (as it's called)?

What a team GB & NI could have...and the real prospect of 15 (or 30 if you include the whole panel) 'British' olympic gold medals too!
Not a hope in hell of it ever happening, but suspending reality for a moment to answer your question - Yes, the boys in the six counties would have a choice. I'm sure GB would end up with a decent team from 6 county lads who didnt make the Ireland squad and who wanted to experience the Olympics. They'd probably get the odd lad from the south too, who have British parents/grandparents.
Post by: thejuice on December 19, 2007, 09:32:50 AM
Yes I think its a great idea, if they can get feckin baseball into it why not Gaelic football.
Post by: orangeman on December 19, 2007, 09:42:35 AM
Northern Ireland could have their own team in it with Ian Junior and Conor Murphy a two man full forward line.
Post by: orangeman on December 19, 2007, 09:43:29 AM
Obviously Martin Mc Guinness would be in goals to make sure that nothing gets past him. !  ;) :D ;D
Post by: SeanSouth on December 19, 2007, 09:47:46 AM
Cavanagh and Jordan could double up in the highboard diving........
Post by: AZOffaly on December 19, 2007, 09:55:34 AM
QuoteYes I think its a great idea, if they can get feckin baseball into it why not Gaelic football.

Because baseball is played on a serious level in America, Mexico, most of the Carribean including Cuba, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico etc, Japan and Korea. There are a number of other countries where it is played by amateurs.

Who would play in the Olympics GAA tournament? County selections? Club players from places like America, UK, Hong Kong, etc?

One thing for sure, to be an exhibition sport, you couldn't have Ireland, with the county players, playing against anyone.
Post by: thejuice on December 19, 2007, 10:09:18 AM
sorry, i thought only US and Japan played baseball to any serious level. anyhoo, perhaps not letting Ireland in would be the only way to keep it competitive and interesting for other nations, although there might be concerns over the quality of the product although ive seen some very good players abroad
Post by: tayto on December 19, 2007, 10:33:54 AM
The European Board want to get Football and hurling recognised as olmypic sports. This dosent mean they'd be played in the olympics but that you get an official stamp of approval from the Olympic Commitee. This would free up grant aid in most European countries who link Olympic recognition to their sports capital grants. A very worthwhile idea in fairness and i see no reason why it couldn't be done.
Post by: Star Spangler on December 19, 2007, 10:46:43 AM
Absolutely no reason when you see some of the other sports "recognized" by the IOC.  It seems the sport must be "recognized" first before it can be added to the Olympic program either as a demonstration sport or an event.   This is taken from Wiki.  Wtf is Wushu??

Recognized sports

The following sports are not part of the Olympic program, but are recognized by the IOC.[12] Their respective International Federations (IFs) are responsible for ensuring that the sport's activities follow the Olympic Charter.

A recognized sport may be added to the Olympic program in future Games, by recommendation of the IOC Olympic Programme Commission and a vote by the IOC members. Usually, the sport will appear as a demonstration sport or an event of similar status before being officially promoted.[6] On July 11, 2005, the IOC voted to drop baseball and softball from the Olympic program for 2012, [13] a decision that was reaffirmed on February 9, 2006.[8] Nevertheless, the IOC members rejected their replacement with karate and squash, which were selected from a list that included golf, roller sports and rugby sevens. Recognized sports that are not part of the competition schedule for an Olympic Games, including the following, usually become part of the schedule of the World Games. On December 12, 2007, the IOC Executive Board approved the provisional recognition of the sport of cricket [14] .

* Air sports
    * Bandy
    * Billiard sports
    * Boules
    * Bowling
    * Bridge
    * Chess
    * Cricket
    * DanceSport
    * Golf
    * Karate
    * Korfball
    * Lifesaving
    * Motorcycle sport
    * Mountaineering/
      Climbing
    * Netball
    * Orienteering
    * Pelote Basque
    * Polo
    * Powerboating
    * Racquetball
    * Roller sports
    * Rugby
    * Squash
    * Sumo
    * Surfing
    * Tug of war
    * Underwater sports
    * Water skiing
    * Wushu

Post by: tayto on December 19, 2007, 12:11:55 PM
Roller sports? dear god. Surely the olympics, and sport as a whole should try to help indigenous sports like Football and Hurling, Viv la difference and all that.
Post by: rrhf on December 19, 2007, 12:28:15 PM
Could ye imagine the British team standing for the anthem?? :D
Post by: under the bar on December 19, 2007, 12:42:17 PM
Hardy-hands should also be an Olympic sport.  All nations can enter a team.
Post by: carnaross on December 19, 2007, 01:16:25 PM
I posted this on December 6.

"When I was in Birmingham for a club game about 18 months ago, I suggested to some people from Herts about the possibility of having Gaelic as a guest Olympic sport at the 2012 games. It was deemed to be a great idea, especially with 8 years to organise. I mentioned it again at a Yorkshire County Board meeting shortly afterwards and was told that the lads in London were already looking into it. I suggested an under 21's competition for tems throughout the country, so you'd be looking at building up the current 12-14's players for it. What better incentive is there to keep lads playing? I'm betting it'll be another opportunity missed by the powers that be. Maybe it could be something for the new County Development Officers to focus on. Ah sure, maybe i'm thinking too far outside the box for some people?"

My sentiments remain the same!!
Post by: dublinfella on December 19, 2007, 01:51:36 PM
Quote from: tayto on December 19, 2007, 10:33:54 AM
The European Board want to get Football and hurling recognised as olmypic sports. This dosent mean they'd be played in the olympics but that you get an official stamp of approval from the Olympic Commitee. This would free up grant aid in most European countries who link Olympic recognition to their sports capital grants. A very worthwhile idea in fairness and i see no reason why it couldn't be done.

so its all about finding a loophole to con money out of local authorities on the continent?  ???

All this thread shows is that Mickey Hart doenst understand what the European Board are trying to do.
Post by: tayto on December 19, 2007, 01:55:44 PM
Christ you're some muppet.

It's about getting legitimate grants that are open to any sport, i know i know, you soccer clowns can't get yer heads around this basic premise. Sher why would you when you can get the local authorities to build your facilities.

Mick Harte, god forbid, might have his own ideas.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 19, 2007, 01:56:23 PM
Quote from: Hound on December 19, 2007, 08:28:12 AM
"I call upon the GAA to make a proposal to the International Olympic Committee that Gaelic Football become an exhibition sport at the Olympic Games. People will then see the quality of the product that we have and we can then further appreciate the potential of our own games."

Good man Mickey.

Ireland v United Kingdom in the final me reckons  ;)

I'd say this is a complete non runner. They couldn't get rugby 7's into the Olympics and it's played all over the globe with regular international tournaments.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on December 19, 2007, 01:56:51 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on December 19, 2007, 01:51:36 PM
Quote from: tayto on December 19, 2007, 10:33:54 AM

so its all about finding a loophole to con money out of local authorities on the continent?  ???

All this thread shows is that Mickey Hart doenst understand what the European Board are trying to do.

Its not conning money out of the local authorities you f*cking w*nker.......the rules in place over there are in order to receive funding you need to be registered as an Olympic Sport - If you knew anything about the effort people put into playing/training etc over there you would know that they literally just want somewhere to officially play rather than using cricket/rugby grounds and for building the infrastructure....especially as they put in some amount of work in converting the locals also....
Post by: dublinfella on December 19, 2007, 02:49:48 PM
Quote from: tayto on December 19, 2007, 01:55:44 PM
Christ you're some muppet.

It's about getting legitimate grants that are open to any sport, i know i know, you soccer clowns can't get yer heads around this basic premise. Sher why would you when you can get the local authorities to build your facilities.

Mick Harte, god forbid, might have his own ideas.

but the GAA are trying to get the local authorities to build them facilities?!? are you even reading what you are typing ffs.

where exactly do you need to be an olympic sport to get grants? the original article referred to Holland and I believe that isnt the case, there is a regional sport called nerfball which gets state funding.
Post by: Leo on December 19, 2007, 09:55:08 PM
There is a thread in Mickey Harte's thinking that is far more relevant and that is the proper promotion of GAA abroad to give it its own international dimension. I touched on this in another debate - the appalling waste of effort and talent that goes into shambolic hybrid Aussie game and the degrading circus that is GAA stateside.

If only a fraction of the Croke Park money could be used to properly develop our games in England, USA etc. Sadly as immigration strictures in some countries will see the Irish influence demise so these opportunities decrease. Think of the squandered riches when US cities were awash with Irish immigrants who were never given the tools with which to attract indigineous talent and instead just had their own little petty kickabout. Too late now  I fear.
Post by: ziggysego on December 19, 2007, 09:57:35 PM
Mickey Harte has been saying this for year. Usually around the time of the International Rules Series. He says those times, that is would be a great way to show-case our sport to the world and help in us encouraging other nations in taking it up, not just ex-pats.
Post by: tayto on December 19, 2007, 10:39:05 PM
Quote from: Leo on December 19, 2007, 09:55:08 PM
Think of the squandered riches when US cities were awash with Irish immigrants who were never given the tools with which to attract indigineous talent and instead just had their own little petty kickabout. Too late now  I fear.

there's an upside and downside to everything. Think of the rural clubs that struggled when everyone had to emigrate. Us clubs will be forced to recruit locals now that the Irish are staying at home, long term that's a far healthier situation.
Post by: scalder on December 20, 2007, 10:40:22 AM
Ah lads why just Gaelic football when we have hurling, being a game that predates the Olympics themselves, surely this is a game worthy of exposition at the Olympics?
Post by: thejuice on December 20, 2007, 12:50:15 PM
Quote from: scalder on December 20, 2007, 10:40:22 AM
Ah lads why just Gaelic football when we have hurling, being a game that predates the Olympics themselves, surely this is a game worthy of exposition at the Olympics?

Yes indeed,